Hotel mogul Butch Stewart

The Barbados government recently announced that it has signed an MOU with Butch Stewart’s Sandals to manage the former Almond Beach Village property.  BU family member Due Diligence has submitted the following research to inform debate.

Neal and Massey buys control of BS&T in 2008, and by 2012 has acquired all the shares of BS&T; and in May 2012 had the shares BS&T delisted.

“Neal and Massy Holdings Ltd’s (N&M) request to have its Barbados Shipping & Trading Company Ltd (BS&T) delisted from the T&T Stock Exchange (TTSE) was made as a result of the T&T-based conglomerate acquiring all 100 per cent of its shares. So said Gervase Warner, chief executive officer, N&M Group. “Last September we made an offer to the BS&T shareholders for the rest of the outstanding shares, and now that BS&T is 100 per cent owned by Neal and Massy, it becomes a subsidiary of Neal and Massy. “Now that we acquired all of the outstanding shares of BS&T…there was no opportunity for anyone to trade shares anymore.” BS&T’s delisting means change, Warner said. “What you can expect is that Neal and Massy would be a little more prominent in Barbados than it has been in the past. We will continue to respect the fact that BS&T has a long history and heritage in Barbados. “It is 100 per cent-owned by Neal and Massy, the parent company, there are no organisational changes above and beyond what we have already done.”

On May 28, 2012, the TTSE issued a statement notifying the investing public that: “Pursuant to an Order of the Securities Exchange dated April 27, 2012, made under Section 45 of the Securities Industry Act, 1995, BS&T would be delisted from the stock exchange effective Monday, May 28, 2012.”

In the BS&T purchase N&M got stuck with the shares of Almond Resorts Inc. (ARI), which was in a business with which they were not familiar. After two years of owning and operating (and feeding) ARI, N&M decided they did not want to continue pouring money into the ARI sink hole.

In April 2012, Warner had told the regional media that Almond was buckling under more than US$51 million in accumulated debt. “The challenge we had after the financial crisis is (that) it started to lose a lot of money, precious little capital or cash was left for upgrading properties, and that lead to more significant cash flow losses from those hotels.” Warner explained the situation got so chronic, the parent company needed to inject capital into the business. “We’ve had to support them with cash injections from N&M. We’ve got to a point where we feel we need to pass them into ownership hands, where people would be able to put the kind of capital into it, to have the performance of these properties turned around,” he said. Warner said the Barbadian economy is contracting and has faced such challenges as downgrading of the economy.

Five hotels—Almond Resorts Incorporated—were included in the February 2008 acquisition of BS&T, but those properties suffered from the global financial meltdown. And the huge debts were racking up. In N&M’s 2011 annual report, chairman Arthur Lok Jack said: “Given the uncertainty of the world economic environment and the significant investments necessary to upgrade the hotels in Barbados and St Lucia, the Group took the decision to substantially dispose of its investments in Almond Resorts Incorporated and its associated hotels.”  The plan to sell-off Almond hotels was in the cards since 2011. In April 2012, Ralph Taylor, chief executive officer of Almond Resorts, said Almond Beach Village (Barbados) will close April 30 amidst “the deteriorating quality of the product.

First to go were the two St. Lucia properties; one was sold and the management contract for the second which ARI managed was terminated. Then to the Barbados properties.

In July 2012 they sold Almond Beach Club, to Fairweather Holding Co., which operates Elite Island Resorts  for $33 million, the proceeds of which was used to pay down bank debt that had been incurred to keep ARI afloat. Fairweather Holding Co., which operates Elite Island Resorts, has agreed to buy Almond Beach Club in St James for $33 million, but about $30 million of that sum is going to Scotiabank to reduce Almond’s outstanding debt to that institution. This was revealed in an information memorandum sent to shareholders of Almond Resorts Inc (ARI) yesterday, in which the board of directors urged shareholders to agree to the purchase.

What’s more, the remaining $3 million left from the purchase sum is going to be used to meet the severance obligations to the hotel’s 160 workers, who are expected to end their contract of employment with Almond. Fairweather Holding Co., a company incorporated in Nevis, has agreed to buy the hotel as a going concern and so the employees are expected to be rehired by it under new terms.

Do not know who owns Fairweather/Elite – maybe Bernie Weatherhead or Goddards? Anyway, Barbados problem number 1 is solved. Next up is the Casuarina.

Some time in 2012, N&M start negotiating with Jamaican hotel operator Couples to take over Casuarina. January 4, 2013, the Jamaica Gleaner reports the Couples is finalizing negotiations to purchase Casuarina.

“Couples Resorts is finalising a deal to acquire a hotel in Barbados, making it the first Jamaican resort group to venture into that market. It’s also Couples’ first venture outside of its home market. Couples chief executive officer, Glenn Lawrence, confirmed plans on Wednesday to purchase the 280-room Almond Casuarina Beach (ACB) Club in the eastern Caribbean island.

“We are involved in firm negotiations,” said Lawrence, adding that the deal was expected to conclude on or before January 31, at which time more details would be forthcoming.

For whatever reason, Couples did not purchase the property; but January 29, 2013, announced it had agreed to manage Casuarina ( it turns out)under a lease.

Glen Lawrence, CEO at Couples Resorts announced earlier this week than recent plans to undertake the 280 room resort known as Almond Casuarina Beach Resort, were a success and are in effect from February 10th 2013. It’s a truly exciting time for everyone at Couples Resorts, we consistently strive to be the best in the business, and this new venture means that under our management Almond Casuarina will undergo a US$3 million dollar refurbishment program, bringing the resort to the well-known 5* standards of Couples Resorts Jamaica.

Barbados Problem # 2 resolved – temporarily. Finally they had to solve the biggest problem of them all, Barbados Problem # 3, Almond Beach Village.

After inviting proposals in 2012, a short list of 3 bidders was agreed, Sandals, Doyle and a third unidentified bidders speculated to Jada/Preconco/Bjerkhamn. By April 2013 none of them was able to come to an agreement to purchase the ABV property.

Business Monday: No buyer yet for Almond Beach Village –4/29/2013

SOME buyers keen on acquiring Almond Beach Village (ABV) are in the process of organising financing to make the purchase. That’s the view of Chairman of Almond Resorts Incorporated (ARI), Arthur Lok Jack, and Director, E. Gervase Warner, as they revealed additional losses of the hotel Group. Almond Beach Village was closed last year – April 30, 2012, to be exact. On August 2, 2012, Almond Beach Club, another hotel in the Group, was sold to the Fairweather Group.

So far no buyer has come forward to acquire the property, although several parties have shown an interest  – read full article

Having done their due diligence, the private sector investors, Sandals, Doyle et al, were not prepared to invest in the ABV property. So N&M turned to the buyer of last resort; the Barbados taxpayer. On September 11, 2013, it was announced that BTI (the taxpayer) had agreed to purchase the ABV property for $53 million.

The future of the Almond Beach Village property at Heywoods in St. Peter, as planned by Government, is starting to take shape.

Barbados TODAY has learnt that the Freundel Stuart Cabinet has determined it will purchase the property from Neal and Massy of Trinidad for US$53 million, with an initial cash payment of US$25 million and the balance of US$28 million being paid over three years at an interest rate that is still to be agreed between the two parties.

Additionally, after an initial Cabinet decision instructed the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. to work with Sandals Resort International “to have a Sandals Beaches Resort in Barbados within three to four weeks”, that body last week determined that Sandals be given the nod to operate and manage a rebuilt Almond under the Beaches brand, with an option to purchase the property at a future date.

So having done his due diligence and deciding he did not want to (or maybe did not have capital) buy the ABV property, Butch Stewart arranged for Freundel Stuart buy it, demolish the old plant and equipment and build a new facility for him, Sandals/Beaches, to operate for Freundel and company, with an option to purchase the property at a future date.

What further concessions of the type Stewart negotiated with Grenada have not been disclosed; but having gained the practice of negotiating with one insolvent country, it seems reasonable to assume that he would take no less from another insolvent country.

As a bonus or as a further incentive or to save face, the Stuart/Sealy/Sinckler team, apparently arranged for Mr. Stewart to take over the Casuarina property, which N&M had leased to Couples and was rebranded Couples only months before.

One MOU will result in government leasing the Almond Village to Sandals which will operate it under its international brand, Beaches while the other contract, provides for Sandals to buy over the former Almond Casaurina property, in Dover, Christ Church, now Couples.

DD has seen no details, price, terms etc. of the deal to buy over the Casuarina property, included on the N&M website, so the deal to buy over Casuarina may be pending; or may turn out to be simply Sandals taking over its operations from Couples. What a deal.  If, after running the new resort to be built by the taxpayer, Mr Stewart decides he wants to buy it he can.  If not, he can walk away.  Now that is really managing his risk.

Stuart, Sealy and Sinckler on one side of the “negotiating” table; and Stewart , his accountants and lawyers on the other side. Clearly, Barbados needed Butch more than Butch needed Barbados.

68 responses to “Sandals Almond Chronology”

1. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Please Check, Just for the record ALL the NINE revoked Directors of the BTA were PROMISED a position on ONE of the new marketing/product entities by the current Minister of Tourism. This was one of the many broken promises made by the MOT. If you are asking if I would be interested, then ONLY if they begged me or asked in the national interest from a person who I trust.
    I will try and find the link and send it to BU.

2. Adrian
    Revoked means FIRED, ok? 3 out of the 9 asked the minister revoke their appointments because of alternative committments. the other 6 were the trouble makers the Minister was complained about and whom the Minister agreed to FIRE. The Cabinet has never agreed to split the board of of the bta so don’t believe that nonsense. the Minister, the chairman and the PS wanted wunna FIRED but they needed a way to control the political fallout.

3. you Adrian were singled out as particlarly difficult, meddlesome, mischievous and often conflicted.

4. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

18 March 2009 – Barbados Advocate
    Verbatim QUOTE:

‘Sealy said the former Directors had not been discarded as they had all received invitations to be part of the new tourism product development company’.
    ‘We have not sacked or chased away or fired anyone’.

Please Check – are you suggesting the Minister was lying then?

I am sure my invitation is still in the post but you might be able to speak on behalf of the other EIGHT ‘not sacked’ Directors!

5. Machinery Edition Avatar
    Machinery Edition

Adrian
    Sealy was NOT lying………….he was just being a politician. by the way did they ever create the new marketing development board or send you an invitation to join?
    anyway now that we have that out of the way I guess we can see that you often do and write what is in your interest. thats why you suggested a new marketing boartd as the number 1 thing for Sealy to do to help tourism in Barbados, causing you would get back a pick and that would stop the shame of being FIRED.
    come bout here with you english accent and translucent skin confusing people like if you make yourself and then mek God next, and always showing off like you alone knows any and everything bout tourism and hotels in Barbados.

6. AC …unt just about time for you to chime in ,…….it is pretty hard not to sound self serving when you speak about tourism problems and you own a rental property, but what really gets under your skin ? ME … that you cant blame the govt because they are all black, and if you did you would have to admit you guys could screw-up the lords prayer let alone a country

7. Changes at BTA

3/18/2009

By Shawn Cumberbatch

AFTER earning a record $2.4 billion from tourism last year, Government is giving the sector an institutional shake-up in the midst of a 7.7 decline in long-stay visitor arrivals.

The Barbados Tourism Authority’s (BTA) board has been trimmed by seven and separate tourism marketing and product development companies are being created as part of a major restructuring exercise, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy announced yesterday.

BTA chairman, Ralph Taylor, and his deputy, Austin Husbands, have been retained as have Denis Roach, Alvin Jemmott, Michael Yearwood, Stephen Alleyne, and representatives from the Barbados Workers Union, Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs and Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Tourism, Andrew Cox.

The new directors of the 11-member board are Dr. Kerry Hall, and Government Senator Peter Gilkes, while those not retained from the old board were Sunil Chatrani, Dr Jeannine Comma, David Jean-Marie, Adrian Loveridge, Eric Mapp, Roseanne Myers, Bernard Weatherhead, and Shelly Williams.

Speaking during at the tourism media briefing Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Sealy said the former directors had not been discarded as they had all received invitations to be part of the new tourism product development company. The existing BTA is to be eventually amalgamated into the new marketing company.

“We have adjusted the composition of the board with a view of moving forward toward the restructured arrangements for the public sector. We have not sacked or chased away or fired anyone we are merely inviting them to be part of this exercise as we go forward to have the best institutional arrangements in order to take Barbados’ tourism to the next level,” the minister said.

“The Ministry of Tourism will continue to be responsible for policy and will direct policy at that level. However, the Barbados Tourism Authority as we know it will be adjusted to the point where we will have an entity which is responsible for marketing Barbados exclusively and then another entity that will be responsible for product development. And in so doing we will have two entities that are engaged in two activities that are crucial to the long term survival of our tourism industry,” he told an audience including BTA board members, staff and hoteliers.

The big tourism changes were announced simultaneously with news that even though Caribbean Tourism Organisation statistics showed the island’s tourism revenue was some $2.4 billion in 2008, long-stay arrivals last year dropped by a slight 1.1 per cent with 566 763 visitors vacationing here and there was a 7.7 drop in arrivals so far this year.

At the same time officials are moving to haul back a decline in airlift from key markets including the United Kingdom (UK), United States (US) and Caribbean that had significantly contributed to this drop.

Sealy said year-to-date the main UK market was down 9.2 per cent, US decreased by 14 per cent down, Trinidad and CARICOM “are both down in double digits”, while arrivals from Canada had increased by 11.9 per cent, and Germany 2.1 per cent.

The minister said 2009 “will be a challenging period for tourism in Barbados”, and that officials were “projecting a fall in business no greater than what is being experienced”.

“We are expected to minimise the impact with a number of airline initiatives, and while the impact of these initiatives will take effect during the latter half of the year, these will ensure growth from 2010 and beyond. So we are preparing ourselves very much for the future,” he stated.

And another link:

http://the-trident.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=3308

8. David

There must be something wrong with the Barbados Today article and the Trident link.

They are both dated March 2009, and it is now 2013. Surely the MOT would not announce a major restructuring and 4 1/2 years later nothing has been implemented.

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

I am going to continue to raise the following points until they are answered TRUTHFULLY.
    1) What is the initial dollar value investment being made by Sandals/Beaches?
    2) From which date will the waiver of VAT on consumables take place.
    3) Will the waiver of VAT apply to Sandals Casuarina and which date will it be applied from?
    4) What OTHER concessions have been granted to Sandals/Beaches that were NOT detailed either verbally or in writing by the Minister of Tourism in Parliament on Tuesday?

10. Adrian

Do not hold your breath for answers.

I think you know the answer to your first question.

11. I’ve just read the list if BTA directors not retained on the BTA Board during the “re-structuring”. It’s pretty obvious why they were set aside, because from what I know of them, they all know what they are talking about when it comes to tourism. They would speak up in the face of any foolishness. A Minister wants “yes men” or fawning sycophants on the Board, not people who would use their experience and knowledge to improve the situation.

12. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Peltdownman,

YES! I am glad you pointed that out.
    They included a former Resident Manager of Sandy Lane, the now CEO of the 488 rooms Elegant Hotels on Barbados, Shelly Williams, Roseanne Myers, CEO of Atlantis Submarines Barbados, etc. People who have a proven record of SUCCESS in tourism.

13. Loveridge don’t worry yourself your 6 room establishment poses no threatand has no appeal to not even the vagrants of the area,
    This is the best thing to have happened for the Tourism plant in Barbados in about 20 years and you as per usual in your trivial childish style would like to rip it apart.

Maybe it is for your own mindset that you have been unable to elevate yourself to anything more meaningful in tourism.

14. Tell me more | October 25, 2013 at 6:00 PM |
    sO LOVERIDGE ONLY HAS A SIX ROOM PLACE

HOW MANY ROOMS DO YOU HAVE?

ISNT HE ENTITLED TO AN OPINION?

ISNT TOURISM ALL OF OUR BUISNESS?

15. […] Sandals Almond Chronology […]

16. Adrian. You do have a point. People seems to be confused by nuff pretty talk and overlook reality. In the end, Barbados will find itself in nuff financial doo doo. We would have purchased the Almond property – give it to Weatherhead to manage for a few months. Who will be responsible for the clean-up of the property before handing over to Weatherhead? Will the cost of clean-up be included in the buy-out price? The taxpayers will have to fork out money to knock down the damn property and to make matters worst, finance the rebuilding of the hotel to Sandals specifications and hand it to Butch on a gold platter. This is the most stupid decision I have ever heard. We are working a BOLT system in reverse. Then to capped the nonsense, we are Couples hotel that is up and running to give it to the same Butch on another gold platter. We have to ask ourselves, will this SANDALS entity ever come to tuition since we are talking two years down the road? We are looking at over $53 million to purchase, then another BLANK CHEQUE to rebuild. Where will BTI get all that money from? Where is the audit for the said BTI? I vex

17. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Tell me why;
    You forgot the hint in the newspaper story that it is now not even certain if the new Sandals will be at ABV or at Silver Sands. Altogether. Very Interesting!

18. In a September 2012 blog Telling It Like It Is wrote of Butch Stewart

“He does not work for any Tourist Board he does not run any government agency, he’s not depending on any government. Alfoso Dass and her crowd always lambasting the government . They should cut the crap of demanding more and more taxpayer funds and be like private sector go getter Butch. If Dass and them so bright they must get up off their fat racist asses and do like Butch Stewart . Stop blaming govrnment Butch Stewart dont blame governments”

DD says “He is certainly telling it like it is – well sort of. Stewart does not work of for any Tourist Board; but he certainly does run the GOB, on which he is depending to build him a Beaches”