Who believes Barbados is ready to treat Ebola?

It is interesting to observe how Barbados has reacted to the Ebola threat. In spite of the assurance from the Barbados government that surveillance measures are in place at the airport and the seaport, in real terms, we know the surveillance is NOT a robust method to screen Ebola affected travellers seeking to enter Barbados.

Given the importance of tourism to Barbados and service economies in the region, a decision to ban incoming non Barbadians who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should have been axiomatic. The region should have acted in concert given our vulnerability as a tourism destination. The fact that St. Lucia, St. Vincent and a few neighbouring islands have banned travellers from visiting who have visited Africa means nothing if the region is perceived by the outside world as one space.

BU is of the view  individuals who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should not be permitted to enter Barbados (and the Caribbean space). The embargo should also extend to imports vulnerable to the virus.

355 responses to “Impose Ban on Travellers from Africa NOW!”

1. I was viewing a discussion a few minutes ago involving the question: should we close our borders to the people of West Africa to prevent the continual spread of Ebola. And a White jumped and said that: “We should definitely close our borders to the people of West Africa to contained Ebola over there”. And then an African American female reply by saying: “Every time we close our borders here in America, it seems to be for people of color”. Isn’t that a fact Pachamama?

2. So far the following countries have sent teams to West Africa in the fight against Ebola
    Cuba
    United States.
    United Kingdom, Medics and Royal Engineers to build isolation and treatment centers.
    China.
    Perhaps at a later date we will see a CARICOM medical team joining the above. As in the past we have sent a team of policemen to Zimbabwe,and during the 19th century, the West India Regiment ,with a battalion stationed at St Ann’s Fort,and others stationed in what is now Caricom, were in and out of West Africa on numerous times , engaged in skirmishes there.

3. Bush Tea

Do you have problem with a woman assuming her rightful place as the male’s equal? Or do still believe that she ought be chained to the stove and kitchen- sink in perpetuity? I cannot see how any intelligent person could think that a woman ought remain enveloped in a perpetual role of servitude?

4. Colonel Buggy… You think there will be Bajans among them, since 94% want nothing to do with Africans and are so panic stricken they won’t even want to travel.

I do hope this will put a stop to government Ministers travel plans and save us some money.

5. Colonial Buggy

I remember when the guys were sent to Africa back in the 1970’s. My very friend aka Space- monkey/ Watson, who used to be a member of the Royal Barbados Police Band, did some hard time in Africa Buggy.

6. @ Bush Tea,
    The BU cream is rising to the top. It is very interesting that the protagonists on this post are all remaining firm to their central beliefs.

Bush Tea your views on the fairer sex are no longer in vogue! However the tenets of your argument are reasonable, valid and understandable.
    I believe that we as a black race can all feel proud of the achievement of Nigeria in blocking the spread of ebola within her territory. It is rare to hear positive news about this chaotic country. Bravo Nigeria.

Some 400 years ago Africans were been shipped over to the new world. Apparently this pattern is now been repeated. The exception been that the trip made by this group is now voluntary:
    Brazil: The ‘El Dorado’ for international migrants
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-29617698

7. For Bushie –

8. Exclaimer, are you serious guy?
    The tenets of Bush Tea’s argument belongs in the Museum of Antiquities, beside the Spinning -Wheel and Silver-Axe.

9. @ Pacha
    No disrespect intended in “laughing off” your comment today. On the contrary…..
    Fact is that you have casually raised a number of other important questions (as is your wont) which would require pretty extensive responses in order to do them justice.
    Bushie would not expect you to know this, but the concept of male and female does not apply to BBE. It is but a temporary physical construct designed to facilitate the project called “life on Earth”…so your rant about the “sex” of BBE is irrelevant to Bushie.

In respect of our initial reaction to AIDS being a similar “circle the wagons” impulse……you are correct. Based on the information (more a LACK of information) at the time it may well have been a reasonable initial response.
    Prevention REALLY is better than cure yuh know……

@ Exclaimer
    Bush Tea your views on the fairer sex are no longer in vogue!
    Of course you are correct. However that does not make Bushie’s views wrong.
    A bit of research will reveal a direct correlation between the enfranchisement of the fairer sex in the various areas of leadership in our world and the level of chaos that results.
    You will also find an inverse relationship between their direct involvement in some “low priority” areas of life (such as children and family, relationships, preventative health, and social harmony) and the levels of chaos in THOSE areas.
    But you are right. Such views are no longer in vogue.
    Bushie can only speak to the DESIGNED parameters of the system….not the “adopted brass bowlery”.

LOL @ the Dompster
    Bushie did I infated (sic) your ego……?
    Ha ha ha …now how would you manage that ? …by hitting Bushie with a past participle? 🙂
    LOL…..if it has been your experience that there is an equality between yourself and normal women, then Bushie would strongly suggest that you change your name to Dompsie and stop fooling the BU family – and keep yourself far from CASWELL and Baffy, hear? …..cause those fellows don’t mek that kinda sport with the kind of attributes that you must have…

10. Buggy.. Barbados isn’t sending anyone because its not over yet, and aid workers would be scared they wouldn’t be allowed back.

11. @ Dompey,
    I trust that you believe in the freedom of speech. Bushie is entitled to share his views with the BU family. I know that he means no harm. On a serious note Pachamama’s clip was very disturbing.

It surprises me that a country which worships at the high alter of capitalism and the free market manages to produce programmes of the quality of Democracy Org. We in the UK are crying out for a similar progressive news media format.

Time for me to retire.

12. so what is the score ,the africans IN or OUT,, going by the comments it is a fifty fifty split, however in the meantime while all( get) their irons well sharpened , the race card is not going to win the war of words, the card was well played and rightfully so in the first initial outbreaks in africa when the wealthy nations sat back and did nothing, however going forward the wealthy nations has stepped up to the plate and all but thrown the racist card off the table, while accomplishing the unbeatable task of having both blacks and whites agreeing that the SECURITY CARD is the most influential card to be played at this time, since nobody wants EBOLA showing up at their back door. NOBODY<

13. Le Dragon de St George Avatar
    Le Dragon de St George

@ Pachamama
    Si vous voulez utiliser des expressions françaises, alors s’il vous plaît recherche les et assurez-vous qu’ils ont exacts. C’ests “cordon sanitaire”.

14. Exclaimer, Hitler’s views got 7 million Jews killed, and Joseph Stalin, Pol Pot, Mao Zedong and Idi Amin probably hundredth of millions.

15. Exclaimer

I know a lot about the Freedom of Speech. I know that speech which falls outside the frontier of constitutional protection is illegal. Speech which disturbs the natural order of society is deed illegal and punishable by law. A I know that there is no such thing as an absolute or unconditional right to freedom of speech. And speech also carries with it a personal responsibility.

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC; You asked above. So what is the score now?

I guess that the Barbados Government will make the easiest and most simplistic decision. i.e. Ban the entry of residents and recent visitors from the West African countries that are still officially doing surveillance and where there are still ongoing infections. A detailed strategic plan to quickly and effectively bring any fortuitous introduction of the disease here to a swift end must be a serious and urgent policy initiative by Government. This plan should have input from all the agencies that are or will be involved in any material aspect of control of the disease, Private Sector as well as Governmental.

It is quite possible that Government has already developed such a plan but there is a serious need to have buy-in from the population at large if the plan is to fly.

The examples of Nigeria and Senegal and also the USA and Belgium clearly demonstrate that we will have to ensure that our first responders are all well trained, have adequate resources, safe equipment and protocols and have well worked out Emergency plans for any eventuality. If this is done it appears that the spread of Ebola can be limited and controlled and that the main persons at risk – caregivers exposed to infected persons at a late stage of the disease or after death – can be protected through the use of the best available training, equipment, other resources and motivational incentives.

I have absolutely no doubt that Barbados could quickly control an incursion of Ebola if all the above factors are brought into play but this would mean that Government would have to make the Ebola programme a high priority one and give it all the resources it requires. Failing this, there is a high probability that as the incursions of the disease into the US and Europe are quickly licked and Donors hold back somewhat in their funding of assistance in reducing the scourge of Ebola in West Africa, that the hype and overkill will soon vanish from the headlines of the News and our Government’s plans for Ebola might well suffer a relapse until the next incursion, out of West Africa, occurs.

So yes! I expect that we will join the Nations banning travel to or from the west african countries which have acknowledged recent outbreaks of Ebola. To do otherwise would be politically unwise for an unpopular Government with a slim majority. But who knows? Freundel might once again surprise me, and family ties with some of those countries might still play a role in whatever decision is taken.

17. the govt by all accounts will be following protocol given by the WHO which has so far indicted that banning is not the way to go,

18. btw ,,wishing OSA a speedy recovery

19. lawson | October 20, 2014 at 7:25 PM |

Buggy.. Barbados isn’t sending anyone because its not over yet, and aid workers would be scared they wouldn’t be allowed back.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    If that is so ? Then I have here 30 names of people who should be made to “volunteer ” to go on the ebola front line.

20. Bush Tea

It is funny how you sidestepped Eugine Charles when you spoke of the chaos the female species have caused in the area of leadership. Eugine Charles goes down in history as the first female in the Western Hemisphere to be elected Prime Minister of a democratically elected government. Bushie, your elevator definitely does not go to the top floor brother because how could you in a good conscience attributed the total chaos to the female leadership? When men have been screwing up this world from as far as the Edenic Adam and to the cerebral insufficiency George W. Bush.

21. St George's Dragon Avatar

The rumour is that Owen Arthur has Ebola. Or is it a bowl a… rum.

22. ST georges Dragon…

HA! HA! u should be playing for the west indies team a top of the line fast bowler,

23. Since when does anyone make fun at the sickness of another?

@are-we-there-yet

The decision to ban travel or not from West Africa is a political one.

24. for the politicians whatever side taken they will be no winners, right now there is a division and any smart politician would take the high road and let this ban or no ban play itself out,as day by day the chances would become increasing lest that western govts would have to take a lead a role in instituting a ban of africa as rules and guidelines implemented would be sufficient in controlling the borders allowing barbados sufficient headway to follow those leads

BTW DAvid u asked a pertinent question which must be answered
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Since when does anyone make fun at the sickness of another?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    in the year when David Thompson was deathly sick and the BLP yardfowls made it their job to make fun of him.

25. So by your response that makes you a yardfowl of a different colour.

26. Before we demolished the relatively new and now defunct and abandoned Louis Lynch Secondary school in Roebuck Street, perhaps we should take the opportunity to sanitise it and convert it into an isolation center. The relatively new , defunct and abandoned NIS building on Fairchild Street is another candidate. Barbados is awashed with many buildings built after November 30, 1966 that are now lying idle, and are ready for their final destruction when the parrows of Bridgetown take over.

27. David | October 20, 2014 at 11:17 PM |

So by your response that makes you a yardfowl of a different colour.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    No! it makes u a speckled fowl for engaging

28. BU sides with the leader of the Opposition and BAMP on the issue of locating the Isolation Centre next to a school, idiotic!

In the present climate it will be a hard sell and given the possibility of a mutating virus (Crusoe) why the location?

29. David

‘It’s a political issue…”

Yes, how absurd when the issue is straightforwardly a medical one. And yet – seemingly not ‘political’ to our Caribbean neighbours. Do we owe a duty also to them? Or is it once again THIS GOVERNMENT which has lost the plot?

30. @ David
    Why the location?
    Did the Chief Medical Officer not make some comment about avoiding having persons with chickungunya congregate together in an effort to avoid spreading the disease?
    With that kinda logic Bushie is surprised that the isolation center is not IN the damn school……

Look people …we can’t even cure a simple ZR virus, or even get it to wear a uniform or obey traffic rules….shiite man …be reasonable… ….wunna expect them to have a coherent EBOLA Plan?

Well at least they have the obvious one – cross figures and hope for the best…..worse case – dust to dust, ashes to ashes……

31. Missed the comment by the chief medical officer but if she said as you suggested don’t knock it. If we congregate those mosquitoes pregnant with Chick V are able to feast in one go, buffet style.

32. In BU’s words ” Given the importance of tourism to Barbados and service economies in the region, a decision to ban incoming non Barbadians who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should have been axiomatic”

So Barbadians who visited Africa will be given a free ride? What about Bajans like yours truly who is in the same room with at least two people (Ghana & Nigeria) daily and who is acquainted with a Liberian (haven’t seen him since July)? As a rule I don’t ask any of these people if they have relatives or other friends visiting from their native countries that may be partying or generally socialising with them. Should I cut them off lest they picked up some strain of something which they are anxious to share with me? Recently No 2 son has been spending time with a young lady of Congolese parentage perhaps I should inform him to cast his net a bit wider otherwise I might have to ban him from coming ‘round de place.

As a Bajan I think I should be on that banned list cause God knows what mischief I may have been up to hobnobbing with those Africans, but if you don’t want to ban me, put a dome around de island so it can be hermetically sealed to keep those Africans and their friends from bringing their deadly diseases to the rock. At least none of the Garbage will get in and conversely none will get out

33. Bush Tea

What has obeying the traffic ordinances to do with one basic survival? It is bad comparison and obviously speaks to the poor infrastructure of a mind void of knowledge, common-sense and the ability to apply practical reason to a given situation.

Why don’t you leave the concept of reasoning alone because it isn’t yours forte. And concentrate on what you do best, spew and parrot a hold lot of crap on BU day and night. Mr, you’re worse than the itch, which when you scratch it on the left butt cheek, it turns up on the right cheek. You feel me Bushie? You just can’t seem to shake it off because it is like the energizer bunny which keeps on coming and coming.

34. SERGEANT

Good point Sergeant because I also have a lot of Ghanian friends here in America. And has even eaten some of their kinky and Foo Foo, smothered in deep in peanut gravy and bush meat. (Its a bite size piece of Heaven Bushie) Now, should I be quarantined in one of the sweat boxes Bajans calls a room, up at Sir Grantley Adams Airport. When I return to Barbados sometime later this year?

35. Sergeant, I am constantly around African people here in my part of the world; they’re Like the sand on the sea shore around here. And I could only assume that this is due in part to they clannish and cliquish mentality. They’re running neck and neck with the East Indian and Chinese in my part of the world.

36. BU – I agree fully and I will quote Bush Tea, as I cant put it much better?

Bush Tea | October 21, 2014 at 12:09 AM | @ David
    Why the location?
    Did the Chief Medical Officer not make some comment about avoiding having persons with chickungunya congregate together in an effort to avoid spreading the disease?
    With that kinda logic Bushie is surprised that the isolation center is not IN the damn school……
    Look people …we can’t even cure a simple ZR virus, or even get it to wear a uniform or obey traffic rules….shiite man …be reasonable… ….wunna expect them to have a coherent EBOLA Plan?

Well at least they have the obvious one – cross figures and hope for the best…..worse case – dust to dust, ashes to ashes……

Bush Tea, a strong cover drive, gone for four. Definitely accurate.

Sad, true. Incompetence gone amok.

What if a person vomiting at the airport after arrival? Right there in the hall?
    What if a hotel calls the clinic and says they have a sick person vomiting with high fever?

Do they go to A&E, to sit for the requisite 8 hrs before being seen?

What of a person just vomiting in a taxi?

Do all of the relevant stakeholders have a PROTOCOL to follow?

David Ellis pushed on this point yesterday on Brass Tacks and he was 100% right.

And Bushie is right.

The ONLY plan is * dah ent gine come here, stupse , nuh’.

Where has our quality of government gone??????

37. Oh loss, Bushie getting sprayed with bouncers for talking common sense.

Good for you Bushie, play the ball back down the pitch.

People comparing Ebola to AIDS?

Ebola 70% DEAD.

Bush, I don’t think dem know what DEAD is.

Maybe DR. GP can ellighten summa dem.

I cannot believe it. Idiocy reigns supreme over commonsense, even Islandgal like she been drinking. ‘Man, cumma, we can deal with dat there virus, doan stop travel;.

Madness.

38. Once more… are you people fuh REAL???????????

39. @ Dompey,
    You have painted a wonderful description of Ghanaian cuisine. I like fou fou; however I draw a line at bush meat.

West Africans have been importing – illegally – bush meat into the UK for decades.

Ebola: Is bush meat behind the outbreak?
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-29604204

40. Nigeria declared Ebola free

According to WHO, the success of Nigeria — Africa’s most populous nation — was attributable to ample funding, quick action and assistance from the WHO, the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and the non-profit Doctors Without Borders.
    The organization noted Nigeria had resources unavailable to the poorer nations of West Africa, including experienced epidemiologists and a virology lab associated with a teaching hospital at Lagos University.

41. The point some of you is that Barbados has nothing to lose and more to gain by imposing a ban on travel from areas where the Ebola outbreak is rampant. Barbadians returning home are able to be monitored with a little more assurance. It is a risk mitigation intervention and obviously does not guarantee 100 success. Amazing.

42. the extremist on both sides will be calling for drastic action exclusive of the fall out and backlash presented in their radical solutions going forward.. i for one believe that securing our borders is necessary as a preventive measure ,however going forward i also believe that such a response should not occur because of the actions taken by a few but with practicality and slow and meticulous methods bordering on facts and circumstances going on( on) a day to day experience,, right now america seems to have slowed the initial Fear which had permeated society and has so far proven that with quick and rapid response the virus can be treated with a success rate, those among us who are still being fearful and are advocating methods of isolation better be aware that when the dust is cleared the message which will be written would not be pretty but one of Condemnation against socialites who dared to isolate Africa in their time of need ,

43. @Exclaimer

To your comment, Bajans on the ground will continue to lack confidence in a local Ebola strategy because of the stony silence which shrouds this administration about EVERYTHING. So far we have had announcements about isolation centre, policy documents etc. The nitty gritty stuff how groups and individuals should act in certain situations.

Barbados unlike USA and other developed countries can withstand an Ebola punch, the jury is out on Barbados.

44. @AC

You are the closest embodiment to a “cyberspace transvestite” that I have ever seen!

Six consecutive cohesive and coherent comments and repartees that astound.

Please I beg you let that other party post under their own identity. They HAVE TO BE A SIGNIFICUNT OTHER!! That is the only reason that, armed with your password, the can post such dribble at times and get you cussed soooo bad

It appears as if they sleep late, your coherent posts are early mornings, late nights and weekends mostly

I take my hat off to you man, you really epitomize for better or for worse when you allow that mujin to post under your name.

You are a man who works in a substantive position where people are under your control/command/orders and you have mastered the art of being married/involved with a lesser being euphemism for intellectual non equal

I am going to go out on a limb and say that you are the male and they are your partner of some legal standing…your posts are like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

45. To be honest, one can understand why Stuart and his band are mostly silent. ….”better to be silent and thought to be fools …etc”

Perhaps Dompey and ac can learn something here …LOL.. ha ha

The only concern that Bushie has is this situation where ac seems to be agreeing with the need for some kind of control of movement of potential carriers. This is worrying.
    ….has the bushman overlooked something?
    ….is this the same ac?
    ….has the husband returned from Arizona?
    …or is she suffering from headache and high fever….?

@ Sargeant and his donkey
    Short answer….YES!
    Both you AND your donkey should be quarantined should wunna attempt to return to Bim after fraternizing with potential carriers and eating shiite food.
    Indeed, if wunna CARED anything about this place wunna would STAY AWAY…..not only because of the EBOLA threat, but also because we already have enough brass bowls bout here in this small island. We have no more room for two big ones……
    …turn up at Grantley Adams and it is straight to the Convent school fuh wunna asses…. 🙂 fuh three weeks…

46. @ David [BU]

“The stony silence which shrouds…”

Colourful language befitting of this and the previous administration sealed by the verb “shroud” reminiscent of the flag that covers the coffins of dead soldiers or the cowl that drapes the apparition of death.

De old English teachers would commend you on that kaleidoscope of synchronized words that so aptly embody the knell of our nation is experiencing at the hands of these assassins much like a church bell doing a death toll..

When the election bell rings do you think that we the Bulbadian congregants trapped by these silent assassins will remember how they bungled through each and every saga or, as history so well reveals, elect these and other bvhkvnts in their stead?

47. “To be honest, one can understand why Stuart and his band are mostly silent. ….”better to be silent and thought to be fools …etc” ”

They are in quarantine wunna forget they were mingling with Africans at that conference in Samoa. They traveled with Africans when they left Samoa and they were in line with Africans at the airports in Canada, UK and USA. So we gine ban anyone who has traveled recently and may not know the nationality of the person they sat next to or the people they stood next to.

Bushie you are such an ignorant Bush Negro please hush yuh mouth. Yuh forget how yuh love eating bush meat? It mekking yuh hallucinate and got yuh talking shoite!

48. Exclaimer, I no longer touch the African bush meat, but I did prior to the Ebola outbreak. Now, perhaps, we should try to get Bush Tea started on a diet of African-Bush-Meat and wait with our fingers cross. (lol) I could picture PG in the background saying to Pachamama: “Don’t waste the good Bush Meat Dompey; Bush Tea is a hopeless case.”

49. The simple question is ‘Have we done ALL we can to prevent ebola taking hold here.’ If the absence of a ban means ‘No’ – what then? A half-truth is, after all, a lie.

50. PDYR.ac can squash your mysticism and daydreams surrounding the many who dwell inside and outside the life of ac by telling u the truth or ac can let you continue to live in a fanatical world of make belive shourded by with myths and jekyll and Hyde and continual paranoi attraction to the many ac,s