Who believes Barbados is ready to treat Ebola?

It is interesting to observe how Barbados has reacted to the Ebola threat. In spite of the assurance from the Barbados government that surveillance measures are in place at the airport and the seaport, in real terms, we know the surveillance is NOT a robust method to screen Ebola affected travellers seeking to enter Barbados.

Given the importance of tourism to Barbados and service economies in the region, a decision to ban incoming non Barbadians who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should have been axiomatic. The region should have acted in concert given our vulnerability as a tourism destination. The fact that St. Lucia, St. Vincent and a few neighbouring islands have banned travellers from visiting who have visited Africa means nothing if the region is perceived by the outside world as one space.

BU is of the view  individuals who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should not be permitted to enter Barbados (and the Caribbean space). The embargo should also extend to imports vulnerable to the virus.

355 responses to “Impose Ban on Travellers from Africa NOW!”

1. @PODRYR

You position can be challenged because as at today we have two reported cases of Ebola in the US presumably as a result of the authorities underestimating how to adequately respond. The risk is negligible compared to the landscape in West Africa which is Ebola infested. It is risk mitigation we are discussing.

2. Note Nigeria has been declared Ebola free by not having a reported infection in a 6 week period.

http://www.oregonlive.com/today/index.ssf/2014/10/travel_ban_latin_america_carib.html

3. Isnt it odd that the mostly white countries have kept their doors open and the black ones have closed their doors to the threat of ebola
    Isnt it odd that the mostly black countries have banned their money from leaving their own country to help in Africa in case it contacts ebola lol

4. @Lawson

If it is eluding you, neighbouring countries are forced to accept a high risk given their borders.

5. No David I just hate this racist prattle, but that does not negate the fact that everybody should be doing something to help if we really are an international community. Every little bit helps. But when your involvement in most international discussions are entered palm up it is probably difficult to get your head around ponying up aid to someone else.

6. In response to your post David.

One has to pay credit to where credit is due. Well done Nigeria!

Ebola crisis: Nigeria declared free of virus
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-29685127

7. @Lawson

There is little an underresourced island like Barbados can do.

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; Re. your 6:04 am post;

You could bet that I am following that story. To me, what it is confirming is that within 30 days or so the US is likely to have eliminated this outbreak without banning travellers from any country, just heightened surveillance at all its ports and the institution of proper protocols for protection of its frontline staff that might come in contact with putative ebola carriers from any country. Within 2 months the hysteria will be over. The Nigeria story has very important parallels with the American one and shows that the virus can be stopped.

This analysis will not be acceptable by most of our posters but the facts point almost inexorably in that direction.

9. @ David
    Wuh yuh gine do with Bajans who travel to Africa all the time as part of their work. Even your backward minister of foreign affairs was just encouraging Bajans to invest in Africa. We guess their rights are of little consequence when it comes to your humanitarian nationalism.

10. Indeed, a preverse humanitarian nationalism!

11. David
    There has never been a people so hated by themselves. Bajans, in the main don’t even recognize themselves as African. And all kinds of specious arguments are made to deny self. Not only Bajans, even African walk around trying to deny self.

We know that we are the only people in the world who unrepentant claim a African ancestry. Nobody really want Africa. For most it is better to lay claim to a few rocks in the sea and make up a fictitious history on somebody’s land. They call themselves Bajans, Caribbean people and all kinds of euphemisms. Anything to avoid THE truism.

In those circumstances, it will always be easy to threaten the citizenship of people like us who ignore the western bullshit and travel home, to African, when needs be! If that means we are to be declared persona non grata, so let it be.

12. Pacha
    So don’t you always do what is most practical and doable to protect your loved ones from all possible threats?
    Why do you lock your doors at night when your loved ones are all asleep?
    Why do you go to the trouble of buying insurance?

Seems logical that if there is a credible threat of someone bringing an UNMANAGEABLE Virus to Barbados – with our jackass government who can’t even resolve an issue with bus transport- our BEST BET is to institute PREVENTIVE measures where ever possible.

Bushie don’t understand this racist talk….the bushman would even ban African snails – if they could bring EBOLA ……

13. @ Pachamama,
    You talk good sense as always however Bush Tea’s analysis is succinct and credible.

14. @Are-we-there-yet

You probably note that there is a push to review the 21 day incubation period to 40 days which is based on 1976 data analysis.

15. Bushie
    Where has this country ever taken an action to stop White people from coming to Barbados. Even once! When AIDS was rampaging White males in Western capitals there was not even the inkling that such an action was in the offing. But this harshest of treatments could popularly be reserved for Africans or those like us who travel there often.

What about our rights to manage our own lives and travel wherever we want to in spite of edits from any government? Where is your ‘christian’ consciousness to help the sick? And if you want to help, might it not be better to send medical workers to the affected areas, like Cuba has, and fight this war where it originates? Instead of wetting your house and shouting fire! And would you have no obligation to those fighting this battle to allow them to return home. Where is your christian charity in this matter?

We are surely disappointed that you would want to find all types of pretexts instead of taking responsibility for a common threat. You cited security. If this thing really starts to spread do you really believe that taking such an action would be of any benefit?

It smacks as being highly disingenuous to suppose that because we have a feckless government draconian measures must be taken against Black people from Africa or traveling to Africa. Barbados has always had bad government and we so no measurable difference between this lot and those of yore.

16. Oh!what a tangle web we weave when we practiced to deceive.who would have thought that the as this virus mutates it would have caused an ethical andmoral division among the african brothers and sisters in the carribbean .a virus that has now become morally aireborne. A line of reason and commonsense must be drawn in the sand

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re. your 9:14 am post you might recall that in one of my early posts on Ebola in another BU blog, I suggested that the Duncan associates quarantine should be increased to 42 days from 21. This would be to make assurance doubly sure. But I think, all things considered re. the epidemiology of the disease, and from the features of this current outbreak specifically, that it is unlikely that the Duncans people will show symptoms of the disease in an extended quarantine period.

18. @Are-we-there-yet

Noted, next evolution is to have documented position on the virus as to whether it has mutated

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You know why I have to always say Barbados approach to matters tends to be always nay nay, take a look in the nations e news and read the article on BAMP’s response to the location of the EBOLA Isolation structure. Now EBOLA has a high mortality rate and the government felt that such a highly contagious disease can be effectively controlled in a residential area close to a school. I mean after all we are fully equip to deal with any possible outbreaks. We have the experts, protective gear and our public health services are fully trained in isolation and detection methods. I mean who the heck made the decision and were there not any discussions on the matter. Stuuuuuuuuuupse. Wuh gaw lidee i tell ya.

20. David I understand the under resourced part but you are a nation with many nurses and caretakers that could go and help and learn . But I can understand it may be difficult getting volunteers if the govt in keeping with its austerity program is only buying one way tickets. Maybe you can tag along with cuba who is sending many doctors and nurses.

21. Pachamama

Where have you gotten the term: humanitarian-nationalism from? I have read many books and never have I saw such a term. I have heard of democratic- humanitarianism and social -egalitarianism, but never humanitarian nationalism. What does it mean?

22. A guest at a hotel is feeling “sick”.

They call an ambulance which takes him to the QEH emergency department.

He is examined and found to have a high temperature and symptoms of Ebola.

Dove the GOB / MOH have “game plan” in place to deal with this?

23. @Hants

How many hasmats suits do we have?

24. @ DOMPEY
    http://www.ilo.org/century/events/WCMS_189525/lang–en/index.htm
    We don’t wait until somebody use a term to give it credence. We are intelligent enough about words to use them however we see fit. We are wordsmiths who artfully use words however we feel like, without anybody permission.

25. Pacha this is one rare moment I can agree with you in totality. These fraudulent Christians that always saying that the world coming to an end and their Jesus going to come and fix thing now singing another tune. What about people collecting some money to send to these countries to help find a cure for this disease. What about helping sending foodstuff and medical supplies for these poor countries.

The reason Ebola has so many casualties is because of the lack of proper healthcare facilities. Wanting to ban people from West African Nations is a lot of bullshit. How many people do we get from these nations on a regular basis? Do we have any direct flights to these countries? Don’t you all think that if any one traveling from these countries with Ebola will want to come to little Barbados and hope they get some good free healthcare? We cannot even take care of our own properly.

When the PM and all his entourage went to Samoa and sat amongst other people from African Nations . Shook hands with these people, ate laugh and conversed with these people were they checked or quarantined when they arrived Barbados. When the PM was hospitalized in Canada did anyone check up on him or quarantined when he arrived Barbados?

If those of you believe that your sweet Jesus will be coming to save wunna backsides, if he came in from West Africa wunna gine crucify him all over again or won’t give him a chance to step foot pon this soil.

How about all of you panic stricken fools put some commonsense into your heads and start thinking of how we as a Black Nation help our brothers and sisters in Africa when they need us most.

David I am ashamed of you! Bushie you have shown your true colours you old fart. Pieceoftherockyeah…My respect to you sweetheart.

26. @ Pacha
    The weakness of you argument is exposed on closer analysis.
    The difference between AIDS and EBOLA ….and even between Capitalism and EBOLA….. Is that transmission of AIDS and brass bowlery (victims of capitalism) is by abject ignorance, idiocy and laziness.
    Even if we had a hotel full of AIDS tourists, the only jackasses who will be at risk will be our perverts …..and those foolish enough to be sexually involved with such.
    Although we have had generations of white capitalists come and exploit our brothers and sisters, brass bowls still insists on selling their assets to more whites….Boss man…..yuh CANNOT help a brass bowl …..OK?

But with EBOLA, our innocent doctors, (the few who can be so described), nurses, hotel workers, ordinary citizens, etc. …..WHO MAY WELL BE NON-brass…….are at risk.

We gotta treat EBOLA differently…….

27. @ Islandgal
    There is a VERY GOOD reason why the bible says that women make bad leaders. Wunna does talk a lotta emotional shiite at critical times……
    Um does sound real sweet….BUT THEN EVERYBODY DOES DEAD HEAR?

War is hell and Devils tend to win.

Go in the kitchen and do something useful……Bushie passing there shortly….. 🙂

28. Bushtea you have been banned please remain in quarantine you are full of shoite and I don’t want to be contaminated.

There are one or two Barbadians who have worked with Ebola in Africa. They know much more than we do on how to contain the spread of this disease. They have first hand experience yet they have not been asked to assist in the decision making process. I wonder why?

29. What now must be isolated or quarantine is the stupidty of those who have pulled out the racist card as a line of defense despite all the evedience that depicts total control of the virus is absolutely necessary in order to slow down its rapid progress worldwide.

30. @ Bushie
    The same arguments were made when AIDS first emerged are being made now by you. The same thing people are saying about Ebola now were said about AIDS. Remember Gabby’s song?

You are the one who has exposed an imprecision of the highest order. In that one act you have dis-own your Jesus. He would hardly be walking on the next side of the road to avoid the Ebola suffering Pharisee, if we have our memory about your book.

We don’t know how innocent your doctor and nurses are. Seems to us again that we are more christian than even you. That we still see suffering old people and children in the QEH for days at a time, if not many hours. Why have your innocent medical people not fixed that. Educated from the public’s purse.

Oh Bushie
    African people were always maternalistic not paternalistic, like the acili you follow. Being maternalistic we are accustomed to women being in charge. A woman (Isis) as God. Many female gods. There is no better person to be a god than a female. Your wicked bible is wrong!

It is your christian paternalism that has the world in trouble. Your christian religion removed Isis and instituted a ghost instead. So instead of father, mother and son as gods. We now have father, son and holy ghost. A woman became a ghost. This is where the foundation for the generalization of men being with men started. Are you now a supporter of that behaviour because you can’t have it both ways. No pun intended!

31. @ Bushie
    When we see any male give birth is an appropriate time to attribute godlike qualities. Until then no male anywhere will be god for us, period!

32. @islandgal

Yours is an emotional rant. When dealing with Ebola it calls for dispassionate logical thought.

There is a high risk of Ebola from people embarking from West Africa. There is a confidence that US, UK and the developed world have the health care infrastructure to contain Ebola.

33. Bush Tea

In the book of Judges when God was unable to find a good man to lead the Nation of Israel, He appointed a woman by the name of Deborah. So please study your Bible and stop spreading misinformation. God had great confidence in the leadership qualities of this woman and for that simple reason, He chose her to lead His people.

34. @ David
    You were overly harsh with islangirl. You say West Africa, when in fact we are only talking about 3 countries’ borders. West Africa represents orders of magnitude greater.

You are also overly generous about the health systems of the countries mentioned. While they are much better than most, we are still unsure about the level of development you cited, have used systems in the countries mentioned.

35. @Pacha

The bottomline, there is not out of control Ebola issue in the developed world. We can’t say the same about West Africa. Are you aware Liberia can be labelled almost a failed state?

Why did neighbouring African countries ban travel the three West Africa countries?

36. Bush Tea

Throughout human history, there are many examples of women leading Nations with great skill and confidence. Queen Victoria led Great Britian for 60 long years and did it with an ovetwhelming confidence. Bushie, have you heard the old adage which goes a little like this: ” If you want something said ask a man, and if you want something done ask a woman.”

37. @ David
    We actually travel to these countries and was in Liberia many months ago. We travel to these places and understand these countries better than most. Better that those who would sit comfortably on a resort island and pontificate.

38. @Pacha

Do you disagree that Liberia is unable to provide basic services which many believe qualifies it for failed state status?

39. I want to congratulate Pacha and Islandgal for offering their assistance to the peoples of Liberia in the fight against Ebola. When are you leaving?

40. David
    Yes, however Barbados is also unable to provide basic services too, medical services. It that also a ‘failed state’ – whatever that means.

41. Off message:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-29686797
    Tide is High writer and singer John Holt dies at 67

42. @ Bullen robert ross
    As soon as you ass gets better!

43. @Pacha

Deliberately you have taken failed state reference out of context. Please see front page of the Nation, BAMP has expressed similar commonsnse concern about travel from Western Africa.

On Monday, 20 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

44. @ David
    We can’t be swayed by what BAMP thinks. They may know the local capabilities but there are issues here which are more complex.

Again, it is easy to say three west African countries closed their borders. But if you have ever gone to these so-called borders areas you would appreciate that even than is impossible.

45. With your vast amount of knowledge of West Africa, Pacha, your assistance would be invaluable, surely. I would not wish to think that your diet still consists of limitless amounts of rant and cant. Meanwhile, I wonder what your credentials actually are for telling us here what we should do. In short dear Pacha…don’t worry about me. Put your body where your mouth is.

46. LOL…..
    …look IslandGal, you could ban Bushie or not….you is still the Bushman’s numero uno…..sweet fuh days….
    But don’t ever think of leading Bushie ANYWHERE except through that bedroom door hear? When we have reach the stage where emotional effeminate leadership is unavoidable then it is time to pass around the koolaid…..
    This world is a hard, cruel, unforgiving place. There IS a place in it for rabbits and jackasses…..to be eaten, beaten and ridden to death (which explains Dompey 😉 ) BUT the LEADERS of this world will always be cold calculating LIONS who make rational, logical and sensible decisions.

Just because Africa has some kind of sentimental, emotional and historic meaning for black bajans DOES NOT justify allowing a situation where some, possibly even innocent, traveller could walk into this small unprepared place with EBOLA……
    Wunna women may have some kind of emotional climax talking shiite …..but when the shit hits the fan and WUNNA see all wunna family falling like flies um going be a whole different song wunna singing….

@ Pacha
    Your emotions are overpowering your reasoning….
    Take a deep breath and put on your academic cap.

@ Dompey
    When you feel “full of it” …why don’t you go to the toilet and have a crap nuh.?…perhaps it would prevent the stuff overflowing from your keyboard…
    Wuh if God selected a woman ” because he could not find a good man” …what does that say about the whole shiite?
    Skippa, given a choice between men like you ….God would have been forced to look for some decent woman to eek out some amount of balls too….
    It is called Hobson’s choice.
    …don’t forget to flush.

47. Bush Tea

Your reference to ‘cap’….you left out the ‘R’. But on Dompey….you know something, he’ll still be going on gojng on when you’re pushing up daisies and the whacker has been taken away by the fellas who collect scrap metal.

48. Bushie, did I infated your ego? I am so sorry my dear; never thought you were the emotional type of brother?

49. Ross, your boy Bushie is ready for comedy central…. he gifted with that rare kind of humour boy. lol

50. @ Bushie
    We are not alone in suggesting the impracticability of a corridor sanitaire around a country. We seem to remember most international agencies and governments are so minded.

Our positions are our positions. Because they don’t agree with yours makes them so less valid, as mine. Your attempt to laugh off my questions to you is just a duck.

Anyhow, this issue will soon loose its media support and life will soon go back to your normalcy.