Who believes Barbados is ready to treat Ebola?

It is interesting to observe how Barbados has reacted to the Ebola threat. In spite of the assurance from the Barbados government that surveillance measures are in place at the airport and the seaport, in real terms, we know the surveillance is NOT a robust method to screen Ebola affected travellers seeking to enter Barbados.

Given the importance of tourism to Barbados and service economies in the region, a decision to ban incoming non Barbadians who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should have been axiomatic. The region should have acted in concert given our vulnerability as a tourism destination. The fact that St. Lucia, St. Vincent and a few neighbouring islands have banned travellers from visiting who have visited Africa means nothing if the region is perceived by the outside world as one space.

BU is of the viewย  individuals who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should not be permitted to enter Barbados (and the Caribbean space). The embargo should also extend to imports vulnerable to the virus.

355 responses to “Impose Ban on Travellers from Africa NOW!”

1. Cryus the Virus Avatar

Curious how this West Africa/Ebola issue has caused black bajans to be suspicious of and insulting towards the people of their paternal homeland.

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re your 10:48 pm post:

That’s essentially what I was saying.

The decision is ultimately a political one. However it should be informed by its Technicians who should be armed with all the facts on all relevant aspects of the disease and its epidemiology and who would give that advice to the politicians for them to take the decision.

I therefore guessed that in the context of this Government’s always doing the most politically expedient thing, the Government will most likely go with following the other Governments in the region and instituting an outright ban on West African countries which have not licked the current outbreak of Ebola.

I do not expect them to include Nigeria and Senegal in the list of banned countries as there would be no scientific justification for doing so. I would also not expect them to ban travel to and from regions of the USA and Europe even if new foci or outbreaks develop in these countries and they are still in the process of eradication and not yet declared free by WHO.

However, AC, who always has inside information, tells us that Government will go with the WHO advice of not to ban. She has been largely right in the past when she lets some information slip out on Government’s projected actions on BU. I would be surprised, but if they go down that road it might again be a signpost that lack of funds to do what they would normally do is the ultimate rationale for everything that is being done at present in Barbados by Government and it might beg the question, are we there yet?

The other aspect is the “wait and see and hope” proclivity of this Government. That might trump any other consideration. There might be no decision re. banning or not banning in the near future. Perhaps that is what the history of our Government so far indicates is the most likely direction we will take.

3. How these Christians frauds bout here are the biggest hypocrites. As I said before Banning West Africans won’t stop Ebola. Tracing and checking passports and refusing entry anyone who has been in the region where the outbreak is not under control and has been there during the last 30 days is a more sensible approach. They could be American, Canadian,British, European and West African. So only banning West Africans won’t stop Ebola. And pray tell me how many West Africans do come to visit Barbados?

It seems that it is mostly white people going to Africa to help fight this Ebola crisis. Where are you hypocritical Christians? Remember the Good Samaritan? This is a chance for all of you to show your God that you are willing to put your life on the line for him by helping your brothers and sister in need. Any volunteers?

A treatment center must be thought out and be guided first hand by people who have worked and had experience treating Ebola. There are Barbadians in Barbados with that expertise.

4. What govt is doing is right it is a clear cut stragety that removes them from the hysteria and fearmongering that has been the principle “drivers” seeking quick fixes and a”call for action” but instead have wisely and correctly chosen to rely on america,s input before making haphazard and maybe regretable decisions

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Ac; If what you say is correct then I think the Government has made the right choice. When yuh tink dey gine uhnunks dat? I hope we will not have to wait until next year to find out what is the official policy.

6. There have been a lot of people here in defiance of logic or common sense supported an ill-founded proffer centrally based on an innate hatred of the African. It did not matter to this motley crew that the trajectory of global opinion was a torrent going in the opposite direction. Or that their position was consistent with some of the most racist elements in US society. Or that their Jesus would chastise them for their devilish works and would foresworn knowledge of them. Or that public health requirements eluded they lack of logic. Anytime the African comes up against any western argument she can expect to loose that encounter. These are the kinds of misdirections which leave us in the state we shall be in, until the end comes.

7. Firstly i belive govt have already initiated simliar programmes that have been recommended by WHo as a matter of fact many of which have been debated here on BU

8. The WHO is a world health organization and while the government may take advice on whether to ban etc this is where it ends. To ban or not to ban rest squarely on the head of Prime Minister Stuart.

@Pacha

Yours is an emotional rant as well.

On Tuesday, 21 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

9. LOL @ Islandgal
    Ever since your food critic article you have been behaving strange yuh….? …almost a little “ac-ish”…
    Who said anything about banning West Africans? Is the whole point of the blog not about banning unregulated travellers WHO RECENTLY VISITED THOSE AFFECTED COUNTRIES?
    If Bushie’s English is fair then that means black, white blue and green persons or things that MAY HAVE been BEEN exposed and who may thus pose a THREAT to unprepared brass bowls…even African snails like Dompey…..

What yuh cooking today sweetie?

10. Is The US Government The Master Criminal Of Our Time?

Paul Craig Roberts

UPDATE: As I read this notice from ClinicalTrials.gov, a service of the US National Institutes of Health, the US Government and Pharmaceutical corporations have been conducting ebola tests on humans.

This is official confirmation of Dr. Boyle and Dr. Broderickโ€™s reports that the US government has conducted ebola experiments. Perhaps the vaccine was not effective, and those on whom the experiment was conducted came down with ebola and perhaps also employees in the US bio-warfare laboratories located in Africa where the experiment was conducted.

It appears that the test consists of giving an ebola vaccine and then exposing the unaware person to ebola, apparently an engineered version for bio-warfare. Whatever the tests are, it is clear that Boyle and Broderick in their articles below are correct that experimentation with ebola by the US government is underway.

http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2014/10/20/us-government-master-criminal-time/

11. Bush Tea, African Bush Meat is always available brother.

12. @ Greenie
    The evidence is in. Yes PCR, your government is the embodiment of evil, of all times!
    By Dr. Cyril Broderick, Professor of Plant Pathology
    October 19, 2014 “ICH” – “Liberian Observer” –

Are bio weapons being tested on Africans. Reports have linked the Ebola virus outbreak to an attempt to reduce Africaโ€™s population. Liberia happens to be the continents’ fastest growing population.
    Dear World Citizens:

I have read a number of articles from your Internet outreach as well as articles from other sources about the casualties in Liberia and other West African countries about the human devastation caused by the Ebola virus. About a week ago, I read an article published in the Internet news summary publication of the Friends of Liberia that said that there was an agreement that the initiation of the Ebola outbreak in West Africa was due to the contact of a two-year old child with bats that had flown in from the Congo. That report made me disconcerted with the reporting about Ebola, and it stimulated a response to the โ€œFriends of Liberia,โ€ saying that African people are not ignorant and gullible, as is being implicated. A response from Dr. Verlon Stone said that the article was not theirs, and that โ€œFriends of Liberiaโ€ was simply providing a service. He then asked if he could publish my letter in their Internet forum. I gave my permission, but I have not seen it published. Because of the widespread loss of life, fear, physiological trauma, and despair among Liberians and other West African citizens, it is incumbent that I make a contribution to the resolution of this devastating situation, which may continue to recur, if it is not properly and adequately confronted. I will address the situation in five (5) points:

1. EBOLA IS A GENETICALLY MODIFIED ORGANISM (GMO)
      http://www.informationclearinghouse.info/article40013.htm

13. Now we have Ports refusing ships which have docked in West African ports. It will continue to get messy because when the emotion is stripped away our little islands are not equipped to deal with ebola. In fact we don’t have the resources to manage rigorous protocols. May God help us.

14. We wonder how many more times the so-called conspiracy theorists have to be right before the sheeple consider that they are idiots. How many times?

15. First and foremost PMStuart is a sticker for legalities which is why so many will proffer him to be slow and indecisive and given the many legal and binding agreements signed and reenacted within the global community it should be understandable by right thinking people that under these catastrophic circumstances that he would rather yield to guidance given by the international community than to tow the line of politcal opportunity and expedience

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; Is it possible to get a link here to Dr Sherlock Bradshaw’s letter, titled “Nothing Learnt from H1N1” to the Editor in yesterday’s Nation paper. I think it is an essential read for anyone who is interested in the topic of Government’s history in combatting recent Infectious diseases of potential importance to Barbados such as H1N1 and now Ebola.

He writes in his letter;

The need for sensible, thorough, information gathering and passenger screening at Ports of entry should go without saying.
    There is certainly no need for the blanket travel bans which we have seen implemented in some of our sister territories against (predictably) certain African countries. You can be sure that their travel bans will not extend to the US and Europe, which also now have Ebola sufferers. ….

Green Monkey;

Re. your 11:36 am post, perhaps BU should invite Dr Lucas and PHD to comment directly on the information given there to advise us all on where the disinformation lies.

17. @are-we-there-yet

Do you have confidence in local health authority who when asked if we have to treat with more than 4 Ebola patients (our Isolation Centre accommodates 4 beds) his response was that ‘it would spread’. Corey Layne made this public a moment ago. Screen does nothing in a scenario where there is an ecubation period of 21 days. No one person can speak authoritatively on whether to ban or not, it is driven by a philosophical and economic position.

18. I know that I have stated here in the past that I work for the state government here in America. Well, as a response to the Ebola crisis in West Africa, my boss the governor, has placed restriction on the travel of all state employees until further notice. (Isn’t that a bitch). Sorry.

Also, (New Ebola Measures) are in placed in practically, all of the doctors offices throughout my state. When you visit a doctor’s office now: you’re ask if you were out off the country in the past month, and if it is determine that you did, and are showing any symptoms of Ebola, you’re then taken to an isolation room, and the CDC is notified immediately of your condition.

19. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; I’m losing such confidence everytime more information becomes available on the positions that they have taken re. pushback from BAMP or interactions with parents re, the St Ursula Convent affair.

It would appear that there is a high level of incompetence in the current Min Health authorities. (I wonder if Dr. Ferdinand still has some input or if she can give guidance still) The reliance on boiler plate, generic designs and protocols from PAHO speaks to an inability to make changes consistent with our special situation and needs. eg. It is laughable that they would site a new quarantine clinic next to a school presumably because PAHO might have indicated that such a clinic must be say 30 ft from a fence or that possibly highly infectious blood samples should be treated perhaps along with but definitely with the same equipment as that used for normal patients or that the Defence Force facility should even be considered as a quarantine facility for an outbreak.

It boggles the mind!

Nevertheless, I cannot see the ultimate utility of outright banning of travel to or from Africa or West africa as a viable solution to the problem. Island gal’s solution seems much more feasible. Standard intensive screening and pre-screening is likely to pay greater dividends. Outright bans will not stop people from coming to Barbados who have a pressing need to do so and who have the resources to mask indirect travel thrugh third countries. And, really, does anyone know how many of such travellers there are at any time o and from affected countries. I suspect that it is an insignificant number.

But the decision as you have constantly reiterated, rests with Freundel Stuart alone. It is his call. But if his history of making important decisions is typical of what will happen with this one. It will take a long time, might involve a commission, and will be likely to be one which is far from anything that most of us think is likely.

20. Domphey you work for the state ?, it is very kind of you to take time away from the work that you are being paid to do to educate us here

21. @Are-we-there-yet

Yon need to investigate what is risk mitigation. It takes one. Have you entered Barbados recently? What screening what.

22. David
    This writer has several passports and can go in and out of countries hardly being noticed. Do you really think that the establishment of ‘barriers to entry’ could control people like the writer. Not even in first world countries.

23. Here are the countries in West Africa American citizens are told not to visit: Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. American citizens are at liberty to travel to any of the countries not mentioned in the above list.

24. The Belgian Dr. who discovered (diagnosed) ebola in Congo in the 70’s and named it after the nearby river, was on Canadian TV last week. He was either on Steve Paikin or one of the two investigative journalism programs on CBC or CTV. I remember him saying that ebola is haemoraghic and that this new type is a variant and was developed in a laboratory. He said the DNA was modified and he thought it was developed as a weapon. There is no bleeding. Only vomiting and the runs. In the first case he saw, people were bleeding through all their orifices and their pores. He opined that this new variant was more deadly.

25. @ Colonel Buggy | October 20, 2014 at 10:10 PM

You stated: “…….If that is so ? Then I have here 30 names of people who should be made to โ€œvolunteer โ€ to go on the ebola front line.”

Who are these 30 names? I am intrigued!

26. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; re. your 2:24 post.
    Yes. I spent a few years helping to develop International guidelines, procedures, etc. including several related to risk analysis and mitigation measures. So I know a little bit about risk mitigation.

No. I haven’t travelled overseas recently so I really don’t know what is the actual practice on the ground now.

Re. screening. The information that is available to Customs and other relevant authorities on travellers, where they are coming from, and what they are travelling with before they land here, is very extensive, or should be. Proper use of that information along with any other specific information that our authorities are empowered to demand from the shippers and the travellers themselves, is key to a proper surveillance system.

But, once again, banning is an action that can definitely reduce the likelihood or postpone the day that Ebola will enter here but it brings with it other problems which can be counterproductive re. its very objective.

Banning may be thought of as the ultimate measure to mitigate risk if by banning one can ensure that there is zero probability that the disease can enter once banning is put in place but, unfortunately, in biological systems one can never totally eradicate a pathogen or ensure that other components of the biological system that includes the pathogen will respect the ban. That’s why the concepts of Risk Analysis, Risk Mitigation and other derivatives of managed risk came into vogue just over 20 years ago. Prior to that banning was in widespread use but despite it several pathogens moved from their areas of origins to other countries and continents.

27. Thanks for your insight are-we-there-yet.

On 21 October 2014 22:25, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. @ are-we-there-yet | October 21, 2014 at 2:16 PM |

THANK YOU SO MUCH ! I am called emotional but I see many more emotional people here ranting and who are in panic mode. Bushie, David, Crusoe, Ross want to crucify me and won’t even LISTEN! But you all are to PIG headed to apologize!

We need clear heads and people who have had Ebola experience to assist in planning and setting up a treatment center. They will also decide on the location. We cannot plan in a panic.

29. moving forward it seems like a 99% chance that a recurrence of the duncan scenario happening is remote, as systematic measures are put in place those amongst the few lingering” fear mongers” should take note that the loudest voices of fear have been tempered and seem to have accepted or reconciled to the fact that ” all we have to FEAR is fear itself” ,this elongated strong arm indifference to govt proposals serves no real purpose except to whip up frenzy at a time where calmer and rationale heads should prevail, it does not matter where the govt ascribed a place of residence for Ebola patients as for some the cries of indifference would persist , what one should be taking into consideration is the fact that when other countries are saying NO to Africa this little rock is standing tall while the Goliath of the international world seek higher ground. BTW barbados might not have the financial clout to aid Africa but what barbados certainly have and has used to its credit is measure of pride and goodwill towards it,s african friends,, something which all should be proud of

30. Chikungunya should be looked upon as a God Send, a John the Baptist,so to speak . Some years ago before my unit was deployed on the streets of a violent city in a very violent and bloody operation ,we were put through our paces by our own ” friendly comrades” acting as the “other side”,following which ,there were a few broken arms and ribs among us ,but on the whole appreciated as good and worthwhile practice for the real thing.
    Chikungunya may be looked upon as the “friendly comrade” ,and depending in the manner in which we treat Chickungunya , may be an indication of how effective we may match up against the “other side”, Ebola ,if and when ,we hit the streets running..

31. @Exclaimer
    Who are these 30 names? I am intrigued!
    ………………………………………………………………
    The lucky prize winners whose names were pulled out of the Tambola box a few years ago.

32. i sense that the doctors comments is in response to the cavalier and negative attitude by international countries ,which was in part, a big contributor to the virus getting out of control . the doctor’s response mainly shores up or to add and to reinforce, sending a message to the western world that a slacking off of aid and efforts would be a huge mistake as it increases the potential of the virus getting out of hand in africa resulting once again in africas and the world;s misfortune

33. What about the St. Joseph Hospital as the isolation unit? Have we any ambulances properly equipped to transport anyone with this disease? Have we any medical staff that will be specifically assigned to this unit? We have a large number of doctors graduating and no jobs. Can we train some of them to assist in fighting this disease? Are they willing to work alongside Cuban doctors in Africa?

34. barbados has done its best in showing support by not closing its border sto africa , at this time of economic stress barbados can least afford the kind of financial training necessary to properly train nurses or doctors as field workers in aid to africa .what barbados must do is highly critical and crucial in the area of prevention ,that is to provide a high level of secured measures through training in its effort in preventing the virus from entering our shores,

35. St George's Dragon Avatar

For the non-conspiracy theorists amongst us:
    “Does the U.S. government own a patent for a strain of the Ebola virus?
    At last, we find a rumor thatโ€™s true. The CDC does in fact own a patent on one strain of Ebola, the Ebola Bundibugyo strain, patented in 2010. But this is not an uncommon practice. Thereโ€™s no ill intent here. The CDC has done this so that companies cannot patent it, at least up until patenting genetic material (was) declared unconstitutional by the Supreme Court last year. If a company were able to patent Ebola, it would significantly limit what groups could work on the therapy or vaccine.”
    This is an interesting factual article that deals with some of the crazier ideas that people are repeating. Read more here:
    http://www.politico.com/magazine/story/2014/10/ebola-crazy-things-people-say-111993_Page2.html#ixzz3GqGsR0qa

36. “How many times do the conspiracy theorists have to be right before the sheepie consider they are idiots”

Jesus listen to the arrogant little prat. MrBlack – sneaking around with multiple passports – lives in the Ebola post.

37. Bullen robert ross
    Those who feel a closeness to the neo-slave political-economy in Barbados are well accustomed to Black people jenuflecting and scratching where it does not itch. We have never recognized those racist norms. If you think we’ve been arrogant in the past that is nothing at all compared with real and actual levels of confidence.

Your picking at us has to do with our rejection of your BULLING ways. A rejection of the Buller’s conspiracy you wish to impose on the world through stealth. Tell your kef and kin we don’t give a brassbowl about them or their feelings.

We are here to rule the world! You may call that arrogant to us it is supreme confidence. A confidence you wayward bullen boys know not of. You are the real sneak as a central part of your bullen mentality

38. Good to see the White camera man who contracted Ebola in Liberia has been declared free of the virus.

39. islandgal246 | October 21, 2014 at 9:01 PM |
    We have a large number of doctors graduating and no jobs

As with any profession, there are ‘doctors’ and then there are Doctors.

A good mechanic will always find work. And there will be those who are avoided. Word gets around.

40. Colonel Buggy | October 21, 2014 at 8:14 PM |

Well said! It has shown our MOH to be severely lacking in ideology, planning and execution.

41. FROTH …but then yes – as a jihadist you actually believe the drivel.

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I see the Minister of Tourism is corroborating AC’s disclosure on Government’s policy on banning in this morning’s news. Very sensible policy!

43. Bullen robert ross
    We also believe that you are a bullrrrrrrrrrrr.

44. Mr Black…that is so weak. Did you lose your teeth? BTW is your spell check on this morning?

45. @Are-we-there-yet

We will see what the conclusions are after the WHO meeting in Geneva today regarding screen requirements etc. Again, bear in mind there is no right or wrong position here, it is one based on assumptions.

The minister of tourism is entitled to defend government’s position, he is wrong to refer to the decision to ban by Caricom neighbours as not ‘sensible’. These guys appear to like