The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation.
The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation – Barbados Today

OCTOBER 25, 2002 – Mascoll attacks Arthur on his connection with close friend, GEMS boss, Rodney Wilkinson, and accountant David Shorey. How could you not know that your best friend [Rodney Wilkinson], who was in your ministry, who then turned around and got a job as chief executive officer of Gems that was under your portfolio, how could you not know of his elevation? . . . There is lots to be revealed. I am a researcher and I intend to research this to the boneNation News 2002

Did Clyde Mascoll ever reveal what he discovered in his role not as politician, not as economist but as a researcher? BU suspects it was the usual rhetoric espoused by politicians who often see there role to engage the public in aimless palaver.  Since making the promise history has recorded that Mascoll resigned  from the Democratic Labour Party when it became imminent parliamentary colleagues were about to switch support to the late Davis Thompson.  The move effectively shunted his career.

Ordinary Barbadians do not want to witness Barbados earn the label of a banana republic where corruption and malfeasance becomes the norm, yet all the signs point to the fact we are well on the way. This week a report appeared in a section of the local press and has gone ignored by many. The story has piqued the interest of the BU household because of relationship of an actor mentioned to prominent others.

Ian Bourne who manages Bajan Reporter uploaded  a post titled 10 questions recently asked by a would-be 18-year-old first-time voter whenever Elections happen… Questions 5 and 6:

5 – Why was no action taken against former GEMS boss Rodney Wilkinson, despite issues of monetary accountability being raised in successive Auditor General Reports and questions raised by Sir Harold St. John?

6 – Is there a connection between Owen Arthur, his confidant Rodney Wilkinson, the red-flagging of operations at GEMS of Barbados and the opening and operating of Executive Car Rentals at Worthings, Christ Church?

The article carried in the press this week reports that several finance companies in Barbados have repossessed over 100 cars from Executive Car Rentals effectively closing the business.   According to the report Executive Car Rentals owes MILLIONS to creditors.

BU’s concern will dissipate if the questions posed by the Bajan Reporter article are answered and when Mascoll shares the conclusion of the research he promised in 2002.

131 responses to “Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam”

1. But David, in history, to bring a civilization to success or development, whatever that means, there have always been ‘leaders’.

Churchill, Lincoln, Clive Lloyd, Barrow, etc etc.

And charisma and cunning do move mountains, ably demonstrated by the following that such as ‘The Duke’ in Westerns, Elvis, MJ, our very own Ri Ri.
    even the brutal nutcase Hitler demonstrated that a man can move mountains with the supporting cast.

The thing is, yes, a system is important, but without the RIGHT people any system will be bent and broken, because those making decisions are immoral or corrupt or both.

So, THAT is why the emphasis on the RIGHT one.

Remember, Morpheus looked long and hard for ‘The One’.

That was not a coincidence. And art reflecting life.

David, it IS the individual, that determines.

Because ultimately, garbage in and garbage out , of a system, any system,

The individual makes decisions, not the machine.

Enjoy your day and cheer up. Tomorrow is another day!!

2. @Crusoe

Yes and leaders may or may not emerge which is different to those in waiting being conferred a rite of passage.

3. @ David
    YES DAVID.
    You are getting a bit habitual to say the least..
    a. A question disguised as a statement
    b. Making a personal statement and pretending it is someone else’s
    c. Guilt trips
    d. Confrontational statements
    e. The “silent treatment”
    f. The “no way out” question
    g. Lie
    What’s your skirted poison today…
    STRIKE UP THE BAND..

4. Most of the comments here are bovine excrement of the harshest quality

5. In preparation for CWC2007 and ‘perhaps’ other considerations the Arthur government gave some generous concessions to the hired car sector.

HIRED CARS

The introduction of the Sustainable Tourism legislation has seen us provide incentives not only to the accommodation segment of the sector but to every other area apparently with the exception of hired cars. In 1982 Mr. Speaker, hired cars paid a permit fee of $500.00 and a renewal fee of $250.00 with taxis paying $500.00 and $100.00, respectively.

In 1985, the renewal fee was removed, but the permit fee in each case was increased to $2,500.00 and the road tax standardised at $1,200.00 for hired cars and $500.00 for taxis.

Now, Mr. Speaker, under my watch in 1996 while the fees and taxes payable by the owners of hired cars were left untouched, I reduced the permit fee payable for a taxi to $1,500.00; the road tax to $250.00 and reintroduced a renewal fee of $500.00 thereby lowering their tax burden from $3000.00 to $2250.00.

As stated earlier, Mr. Speaker, I have been listening and I propose to respond to the concerns of the owners of hired cars by reducing the cost of a permit by $500.00 to $2,000.00. Also, the practice of charging $1,200 Road Tax for all vehicles will be discontinued and the new tax chargeable will be $600 per vehicle.

See 2006 Budget 2006 (around the time the Rodney Wilkinson Executive Car Rentals was established)

6. David, have you consider the possibility that maybe Barbados set of economic circumstances are such that: no matter the leader or leaders elected; the current state of affairs could possibly remain as they were?

7. Mountain pussy …I got muh shot gun loaded so yuh better get back up the mountain yuh just climb down from. SCAT do !

8. leave the man alone do
    he only challenging
    isnt dat what we do in the bu rum shop
    besides he is speaking the truth
    everyday…same people same shit nothing new nothing to learn

9. WI vs Bangladesh 27-2 (trail by 457)

10. Bush Tea aint no better than the politicians.

11. @ Dompey
    Bushie’s greatest fear is not fear itself, but that in important matters of thought, people like you and ac may coincide with the bushman….

@ Crusoe
    What do you understand by the concept that ” those who have been faithful in small things, I will make you rulers over great areas.” (or some shiite like that…)

When you say that MIA “has not had a chance”…..are you talking about Mia Amor…? Or another Mia?
    Shiite ….she has had so many chances that she must have won the LOTTO by now…..or perhaps those “winnings” came via VECO, Four Seasons etc….
    Using your logic why don’t we make ac our PM and Dompey minister of education? They “have not yet had a chance” either…. to piss into the Bajan brass bowl collection either…
    …and they are about as intelligent as the incumbents…..

…fair is fair.

Interestingly, the bible speaks of a time when things will be so desperate that we will be scraping the bottom of the barrel looking for leaders….when men will say ” look, you have good clothes and a nice smile…why don’t you accept the post of leader….” (or some shiite like that…)

This is the ultimate sign that the end is imminent…..and coming as it does after 60 years of ABSOLUTELY FREE EDUCATION.
    …what a waste of damn money…..

12. Here is an example of what BT just stated. When Mia was in charge of CBC a mobbaton of lesbians and her friends landed jobs. Shyte that will continue no doubt under her leadership.

13. @ Enuff
    Bush Tea has no need to be better than ANYONE…not even Dompey.

Bushie is not seeking ANY office, gifts, rewards, bribes, friends, praise, love, admiration, encouragement…or any such shiite.

Bushie just looking around for any kind of shiite weed that needs whacking…..
    ….and you are a known source of weed fertilization…. 🙂
    Ha Ha Ha
    You and GP……

14. Now, one of the most instrumental as well as innovative leaders in our present time FDR, who Crusoe has forgotten to note in his examples of great leaders during tested times; brought America out of a ten year Great-Economic-Depression. So it seems to me that there are those here who are demanding immediate change in the current state of affairs on the one hand, but who on the other hand, are also ignorant of the political affairs, as it relates to crisis of this nature.

15. he who nose evating bout evating is talking about what he knows nothing
    WHAT A SEEDPICKER!
    WHERE DOES THE BIBLE SAY THIS
    Interestingly, the bible speaks of a time when things will be so desperate that we will be scraping the bottom of the barrel looking for leaders….when men will say ” look, you have good clothes and a nice smile…why don’t you accept the post of leader….” (or some shiite like that…)
    WHERE DOES THE BIBLE SAY THIS?

I JUST CHALLENGING

16. The Nation newspaper reports the police “were looking into allegations regarding what they described as a car/money racket AND (BU) that statements had been taken from personnel at companies involved…”

17. Bush Tea, as the Native American used to say to the White man:” You speak with a Fork tongue.” A word of instruction Bushie: it’s time you look for a place of political comfort and stay cemented to it because right about now your credibility regarding your political convictions seems to be in question.

18. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Owen Arthur’s tentacles go very far in the money of Barbados. Rather he made a meaningful contribution or not he made sure that he receive plenty returns for his years of service as well. Arthur owns and runs an entire Offshore sector…..

19. Wonder if the Barbados Revenue Authority (BRA) moved or moving in to audit and see if they paid in all their VAT, Duty, PAYE etc. NIS office checking to see if NIS contributions paid?

20. islandgal- you is de pussy not me- uh old dry up one too

21. Mia life style ain’t got one shite to do with the state of the economy. I’m sure that they have a few in the DLP that might be wearing pads in dem ass. If she along with creditable advisers can bring some ease to the poor working class, well shite she got my vote.

Last election de old people would have to pay bus fare. Now some areas can’t even get a bus. If they do get one they have to walk long distances. This is the price of progress.

It was never so bad yet. Health care, Transportation, Education. Wa next, wa next, Wa next.

I pay my shite tax but I ain’t hear a word bout my income tax. I ain’t even know if I gine get it. Anyone get theirs yet,

22. REAL TALK September 7, 2014 at 1:12 PM “I pay my shite tax but I ain’t hear a word bout my income tax. I ain’t even know if I gine get it. Anyone get theirs yet?

I pay my shite tax too, all $650.00 of it but I ain’t hear a word about my income tax refund yet.

23. I will continue to say that we do not parent our sons well. I blame this whole thing on multiple generations of absentee Bajan fathers. Black absentee fathers of black children, and especially on white absentee fathers of half black/half white children.

So called fathers who never permit their own sons to spend a day under their roofs.

Where was Rodney’s father between the time the baby boy was born to the time he became an adult?

And where was his father’s father?

And where was his mother’s father between the time she was born and to the time her own infant son was born?

We sow the wind by absenting ourselves from our children’s lives and then we act surprised that we end up with deeply [emotionally/psychologically] wounded adults who try heal their emotional wounds with things, and more things, and more and more and more things.

But things can NEVER heal the emotional wounds caused by parental abandonment, especially the abandonment of boys by the so-called men who begat them.

We will be reaping more like this. Much much more because fathers are abandoning their children at a far higher rate than 60 years ago.

We have sown the wind and we are reaping the hurricane.

Fathers are important.

Good fathers are vital.

It is time to call every father home.

24. “Personal choices within reason, I am in support of”

I am not one to critique the personal choices of others, but if we’re willing to regain the standard of Morality that we had been accustomed to, then it is only fitting that we call into question the personal choices of our public officials, with respect to they lifestyle.

Now, too often we talk about the declining standard of Morality in our society, and its impact on the younger generation of Barbadians, but it seems as though we’re willing to compromise our Moral standards in the face of an emerging political-correctness. Now, Mia’s lifestyle ought to be call into question because as a public official, her position alone conveys a certain level of influence upon the malliable and impressionable minds of the young people of Barbados. And perhaps, my expressed opinion here falls short of the general psychology of the young people of Barbados, and just perhaps, they’re much more tolerant and open-minded to the moral -decrepititudes of the modern age? And finally, we ought not abdicate neither should we abandon the dictates of our moral-conscience, in view of the invading spirit of the Secular -Humanist worldview.

25. Mountain Pussy…..I will only say this twice…..tek yuh rass and climb back up yuh mountain before my bushman hunt yuh down wid he wacker! Run fuh de hills yuh old cat!

26. Simple Simon

Have you heard the old adage which states that,” Children need Presence and not Presents?”

27. Simon, I have Question for you sir: why is it that Hispanic males in America who have they fathers in the home, and Blacks who without, are just as likely to be involved with criminal justice system as Blacks? In the case of the Hispanic male, the father is in the home, so the presence of the father in the home as far as the Hispanic male is concern,does little to break the cycle of juvenile- delinquency.

28. @ David
    The bankrutcy laws in Barbados need changing to allow entrepreneurs to fail in business and have a path back. Right now the government constantly steps in to save a ‘connnected’ few, sometimes before their invest, a la Butch Stewart. We talk about entrepreneurship all the time but if yuh owe the corner shop 3 cents and can’t pay gossip and rumour kill yuh dead in Babadus. Worse than immediate ruination real entrepreneurs could be held at her majesty’s pleasure (sic) for debt. No real western country continues with this BS, putting people in jail as a result of a business failure. We learn more from failure than we do from success. In fact about 95% of all small businesses fail within 2 years.

29. And having an LLC or a PL does not help much because local banks always ask for the personal guarantees from the principals. So there is no legal firewall between the asets of a business and one’s personal property.

30. Of course they maybe some trust arrangements which maybe helpful but most business spend most of their time trying to make ends meet.

31. Simple Simon

You’re an utopian ideologue and a big dreamer brother. Now, doesn’t Bible makes room for the husband as well as the wife to seperate if the two can’t see eye to eye. And furthermore, a father does not necessarily have be in the home for a boy to learn the characteristics which are conducive to malehood. The church is the next best option for any single mother who is raising a boy child. And there are also mentoring programs in the church and other social organizations which instruct boys on how to become productive citizens.

32. @Pachamama | September 7, 2014 at 4:33 PM |

Fully agree that no one should go to jail for debt. If you are in jail, how in heck can you pay anything back?? Silly.

33. @Pacha

This case is more than about delinquent debt payment.

34. why don,t u david unfold your hand and stop pussy footing,,it is obvious that your are trying to plant a seed of illegalities attaching them to a connection between wilkinson and arthur,,instead your are on pretentious fishing game with the BU household,

35. Dompey | September 7, 2014 at 11:28 AM |

David, have you consider the possibility that maybe Barbados set of economic circumstances are such that: no matter the leader or leaders elected; the current state of affairs could possibly remain as they were?

Dompey, if the mentality of the elected leader/leaders never changes, the current state of affairs will remain indefinitely…ergo THINGS WILL NEVER CHANGE IN BARBADOS.

36. Who recalls what the late Bree St.John had to say about Wilkinson when he was forced to part ways with GEMS albeit with a payout.

37. o.k david .,,,,a hints,,,,,,amm i don;t recalled need to expounded or better yet,expanded .

38. Who use to be regularly seen in pajamas at the house and is the godfather of whose children?

39. Dompey | September 7, 2014 at 4:50 PM |
    Simple Simon
    Now, doesn’t Bible makes room for the husband as well as the wife to seperate if the two can’t see eye to eye.
    THIS CONCEPT APPEARS IN ………
    WHICH BIBLE?
    WHICH BOOK?
    WHICH CHAPTER?
    WHICH VERSE?

40. @ David
    Yes, we recognized that earlier. We would be the first to! But we have also raised a boardering point which might give incentive to some entrepreneurs to take risks.

41. David I hope you are multi tasking and enjoying an awesome day.

Lewis, Serena, Kraigg and Suleman. what a great day for a sports junkie like me.

42. @Pacha

Not aware we send failed business people to prison for debt except where men who defy court orders to pay child monies.

43. David i believe pachaman can answer that,,he is into the twilight zone ,U FO/s and conspiracy theories,,,,

44. Yes indeed Hants, Sarena was so strong, she will obviously win many more than 18 slams.

45. Life Changer + on September 6, 2014 at 6:05 AM
    @ David.
    More relevant – I wonder why you continue to strike up the Band about who’s fit to run the country…
    Who is in charge of the transparency process ? – seems to be taking a long time ….. 7 years and counting, do the “DLP boys” need more time to blow smoke up people’s arses.
    By the way Hammilton by 20 .4 seconds …..Massa

Not a bad for a guess – check the posting time and date.

BUDDIE

46. Well Well

It is clear from your above comment that you’re a pragmatist in some respect, but adhering to an idealist position, I am quite confident that things shall change for the betterment of the people of Barbados. Moreover,I was taught quite early, that it isn’t within one’s best interest to adhere to an absolute position for fear of having to eat one’s very words.

47. Can we get back to the real subject matter re Rodney Wilkinson.David
    requested further and better particulars on the Anguilla episode.Can we have that or any pertinent data on Wilkinson and why he is where he is in the car rental racket so called.Is it rue that he was also selling cars that were not his.

48. @Gabriel

BU is aware Wilkinson did a stint in Anguilla and had to flee to Barbados the details though we are not aware.

49. Well Well, taking an absolute position in any given endeavor is quite the same as the liberal who moves to the far left of the political spectrum, or the conservative who moves to the far right. Allow me to inform your thinking for just one moment Well Well: occupying the middle-ground is where you ought to be at all times.

50. Now now Dompey, this isn’t Facebook
    This is the BU.

The BU -affect or effect?

In general use, affect is only used as a verb, whereas effect is commonly used as a noun and only in formal contexts as a verb. What causes confusion is that they have very similar pronunciations and closely related meanings. If one thing affects [acts upon] another, it has an effect on it [causes it to change]. Notice also that you can affect [cause a change in] people as well as things, but you can only effect [bring about] things such as changes: The election has affected our entire society, for it has effected major changes in the government.The bad blogging has a bad effect [not affect] on David and the BU.

No transparency – No vote – No power.