The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation.
The office of Executive Car Rental closed and under police investigation – Barbados Today

OCTOBER 25, 2002 – Mascoll attacks Arthur on his connection with close friend, GEMS boss, Rodney Wilkinson, and accountant David Shorey. How could you not know that your best friend [Rodney Wilkinson], who was in your ministry, who then turned around and got a job as chief executive officer of Gems that was under your portfolio, how could you not know of his elevation? . . . There is lots to be revealed. I am a researcher and I intend to research this to the boneNation News 2002

Did Clyde Mascoll ever reveal what he discovered in his role not as politician, not as economist but as a researcher? BU suspects it was the usual rhetoric espoused by politicians who often see there role to engage the public in aimless palaver.  Since making the promise history has recorded that Mascoll resigned  from the Democratic Labour Party when it became imminent parliamentary colleagues were about to switch support to the late Davis Thompson.  The move effectively shunted his career.

Ordinary Barbadians do not want to witness Barbados earn the label of a banana republic where corruption and malfeasance becomes the norm, yet all the signs point to the fact we are well on the way. This week a report appeared in a section of the local press and has gone ignored by many. The story has piqued the interest of the BU household because of relationship of an actor mentioned to prominent others.

Ian Bourne who manages Bajan Reporter uploaded  a post titled 10 questions recently asked by a would-be 18-year-old first-time voter whenever Elections happen… Questions 5 and 6:

5 – Why was no action taken against former GEMS boss Rodney Wilkinson, despite issues of monetary accountability being raised in successive Auditor General Reports and questions raised by Sir Harold St. John?

6 – Is there a connection between Owen Arthur, his confidant Rodney Wilkinson, the red-flagging of operations at GEMS of Barbados and the opening and operating of Executive Car Rentals at Worthings, Christ Church?

The article carried in the press this week reports that several finance companies in Barbados have repossessed over 100 cars from Executive Car Rentals effectively closing the business.   According to the report Executive Car Rentals owes MILLIONS to creditors.

BU’s concern will dissipate if the questions posed by the Bajan Reporter article are answered and when Mascoll shares the conclusion of the research he promised in 2002.

131 responses to “Former Owen Arthur Bagman in a Jam”

1. Nuh wunda Arf trying tuh ‘ease out’…premonition? Duh used to seh dat he and Wilkie own de cars.

2. Yep……someone asked me if that was true…lol

3. Very likely the company over extended itself. And with the economy as tight as it is there is no market for high end rental cars anymore. Although there is still some market for cars which rent for $80 BDS a day or less. So since the money is slow coming in the finance companies have repossessed their stock, because surely we understand that a one man company such as Executive Car Rentals was unlikely to have “owned” the vehicles which they rented to others.

4. @Simple Simon

Did you read with understanding the Barbados Today article and the one in the Nation? The police don’t get involved in repossessions.

5. And another thing we Bajans admire and like to emulate flashy. For example how many people admire a Barbados Exhibitioner like Richard Hoad who decided to own and manage a small farm. He is doing useful work producing food [and we all have to eat every day] but I doubt very much that Hoad is rich.

But we admire millionaire/billionaire car dealers…I guess Rodney wanted to be more like the wealthy car dealers and less like the productive farmer.

Rodney could have stayed n the country and worked a few acres of family or rental and as some of his cousins still do…but if he had done so would he have been befriended by Prime Ministers and assorted big shots?

No. No. No.

Anyway he is probably back in England by now where he moved after Harrison College at 18 and where he earned multiple degrees in economics form the London School of Economics.

So ask his Harsun schoolmates like Hants and Georgie Porgie to comment on this.

6. Yes please sir. I can read and write a little; and think and understand albeit at a Simple Simon level.

No Prime Minister, millionaire car dealer or other assorted big shot has ever befriended me.

I too simple.

7. We really have problems in trute. You meaning after 14 years as custodian of the ‘treasury’ and a massaive and artificially created real estate bubble, bankruptcy could touch ‘the included’. We don’t know if these people can’t protect themselves from this, how in hell they could protect a country?

8. Looka trouble nuh!

9. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Drug dealers were renting cars more than other people , Moving drug across the island with out the police taking the cars for they are rentals.

Gas and road tax and insurance , Its had became cheaper to rent cars ,

DLP and BLP rob the nations , more to come , Best we walk and catch a ZR.

10. Simple Simon “So ask his Harsun schoolmates like Hants and Georgie Porgie to comment on this”

No comment.

11. Bush Tea yuh see how Simple it is to to respond to a ton of simple.

12. You Hants ga long do.

13. Funny people in politics Avatar
    Funny people in politics

David I agree with you long gone are the days that he walked into a car dealership with a cheque for $1 Mil to purchase vehicles with.
    The guy also has a severe Gambling addiction and in my view he would have spent part of these funds on feeding that addiction.
    That aside the news I am hearing is that the man is in serious and deep Shit, he waved a document to officials at Globe Finance purporting it to be from Butterfield Bank with an approval for funding but the signature cannot be traced to anyone Butterfield, his problems are severe and serious as reports state that the extent of the fraud is nearing $ 9 mil making the fraud carried out by the BLP candidate Roger Smith pale in comparison, this is not the first time that he has found himself facing fraud charges he was raced out of Anguilla when he worked at their power station there he stole a large chunk of funds from the company he worked for and Arthur sent Shorey to negotiate his release and withdrawal of court charges.
    In one instance he has 37 cars cars that loans were secured to purchase but these vehicles are unaccounted for and no where to be secured and returned as property of the lending company that can be sold to recover some of their losses.
    This one is massive and now that the lending agencies are seeing no hope of recovering their funds the police have been called in it is now a police matter and a court date to follow.

14. Hants

I guess Harrison College in the minds of some who have attended it, is the psychological equal to that of Yale or Harvard in the United States of America, but I beg to defer with that perspective because it isn’t all it cut out to be academically speaking. You already know that the school isn’t worth its weight in gold, when you have the likes of Georgie Porgie; a man who is incapable of curtailing his emotions on a public blog. Is this the best we can do for a man who has attended a school of such a notable reputation? (lol) In any event, it would be of some value I suppose, to ascertain where Bush Tea attended school in Barbados, or if he has done so at all. On second thought, I’ll put my money on the fact that Bushie hasn’t made it pass 12 grade, and the public record points in that general direction.

15. @Funny people in politics

Tell us more about the Anguilla situation.

16. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The Owen Arthur led bandwagon under his leadership was a nasty piece of pig shite do do. Arthur, Mia Motley, Clyde Mascoll, George Payne, Noel Lynch, Dale Marshall, Glyne Clarke, the short pop belly shite that pack he money and run to Canada with his family and a whole bunch of their lackie et el-s are a nefarious bunch of crooked sons/daughters of bitches. Arthur is a multimillionaire and really do not give a rats ass what happens to Barbados under Motley or Stuart. – HE GOT HIS….

17. […] David OCTOBER 25, 2002 – Mascoll attacks Arthur on his connection with close friend, GEMS boss, Rodney […]

18. Yet another company who received massive taxpayers monies (TIRF) and that is no longer in business.

27.05. 2009 – $302,985.69 = Executive Car Rentals

Transparency and accountability?

And the public still has not been told where the monies from the sale of Eastry House and Silver Rock went to.

19. If the man had sticky hands and I’d s compulsive gambler does any of this really surprise any of you ?
    Also think to that he was put in place by a govt that was led by his cousin and Mottley and when the reality that massive fraud was taking place nothing was attempted to be done to correct the situation, that is the contempt and impunity these fellows like Mottley and Arthur operated with.
    It is difficult to have any sympathy when the guy has a proven track record as a criminal and crook .

20. I can bet you that this company was part-owned by de short man!

21. I am elated to have noticed that there now appear to be a balanced analysis of the wrongdoing allegely committed by both political parties in Barbados. Barbados is fast becoming a Banana-Republic, well, I hardly think so David. Because as you well know: there isn’t a single country in our world today that is without some form of political corruption. Even in the Great United States of America, with its Checks and Balances, as well as its Transparency-Legislation, corruption can still be found at the Federal, State and Municipal levels of government. Now, I think before we start to promote our own self-serving agenda, that it is best we do as the great Jewish philosopher of the 13th century Moses Miamonides instructed us to do, and that is to,” Follow the evidence no matter the source.”

22. @ Executive Fraud.
    Seems that even being reminded of these ” white collar crimes ” – when money, goods, services, information or anything else of value is offered with intent to influence the actions, opinions, or decisions of the taker. You may be charged with bribery whether you offer the bribe or accept it and when one person illegally obtains property from another under cover of official right.
    All is well in Barbados……with a law unto themselves or so they think.?

“In a word, the control procedures under human rights law do not directly concern individuals guilty of international crimes, but rather are aimed at Government.Thus, insomuch as criminal acts violate guaranteed rights, the international human rights should compel governments to punish those responsible for their transgression in order to conform to the duties they have.”
    The arrogance to plaster it on the www
    As well..

23. @ Dompey | September 7, 2014 at 7:41 AM |

Well said!

24. If some of you don’t have any thing constructive to add to the blog instead of generalizations why not just read? There is crime in all countries so don’t always try to improve detection, enforcement and prosecution.

25. @ Dompey
    “….On second thought, I’ll put my money on the fact that Bushie hasn’t made it pass 12 grade, and the public record points in that general direction.”
    Sweet…..
    Touché. That sounds like a safe bet to Bushie. Shiite man….How many bushmen, ….whose goal in life is to perfect the use of a four-stroke whacker do you think made it pass 12 grade?
    Ha Ha Ha

26. @ Enuff / Prodigal
    …wunna fellows still unclear why Bushie would have voted AGAINST the BLP…..? ….even if it meant suffering the likes of Sleepy, Stinkler, and Low?
    ….and this is only the TIP of a massive iceberg.
    There is a lot more to ‘surface’ and be melted….wunna wait.

27. @Funny people in politics | September 6, 2014 at 10:03 PM |
    “the extent of the fraud is nearing $ 9 mil”

If true the DPP and his office must be moving to bring charges for those responsible…lol…or only certain people does get lock up for fraud?

28. @ Bushie
    Yuh mean ‘steel’ in everything. LOL

29. @Nostradamus

The newspaper reports point to continuing police investigations, the DDP theoretically can only decision the file after the file is handed over.

30. HAMILTON A. HILL Avatar

One day hopefully coming soon, ordinary Barbadians will rise up and put a stop to this nonsense. How do we so proudly claim to be a highly educated people, yet permit this scam time and again? There is no difference between the BLP and the DLP. The present Prime Minister put it best when he recently offered a defense of THE POLITICAL CLASS. We are about to once again trade one bunch of thieves for the other. Perhaps when enough people stay away from the polling stations so that the elected government is not really representative of the pulse of the people an uprising can bring about a change to this present system, one that does nothing but facilitate corruption in high places. Sounds crude but seems to be the only way to protect the public purse from leeches and parasites who parade as politicians.

31. @ Hamilton
    Stay away…?………That is an answer???!?
    Skippa don’t mind Baffy with that hear?

ANY set of people who cannot put together a set of honest candidates to take on community leadership responsibilities are BRASS BOWLS and DESERVE to have their asses ripped off.

When we could reasonably have believed that the David Thompson led DLP would bring change, PROSECUTE the guilty, INTRODUCE ITAL, and COMMUNICATE with the people
    …..then Bushie could see the option to try the DLP.

Now that we know that Thompson was lying about ITAL in 100 (or even 1000) days, was taking money from CLICO, was untrustworthy and likely just as crooked as the rest of the “political class”
    …and that Stuart and the others are all a waste of time and space….
    If we, as a set of people who enjoyed free education for full 60 years – all the way doctorates, are not capable of coming up with a workable alternative for leadership, then Bushie’s use of the brass bowl analogy cannot be questioned…..

32. @ Hamilton Hill
    Up to 50% has been staying away from the polls and this has made no difference. We put it to you that under this regime even if 3 people voted in every constituency the system would claim the right to rule exist, that we have a democracy, that the people made a choice etc. We have no confidence that even apathy would to let this system whither and die on any the vine for it must be purposely uprooted.

Your wish hass already proved impotent. Last election there was a nearly even outcome. However, this system does not know any interpretation than ‘winner take all’. So we have a government that does not accurately represent the feeling of the demos. And tiefing is not only amongst the political elites. Many top civil servants are on the payroll of those in whose interests policy is determined.

33. bush tea shut up… u are just as two faced and hypocritical as the politicians quick to talk out both sides of the mout,,only a few days ago u were front right and centre promoting an OSA come back and a person to be having a better prescription for the economy ,,carry u a.ss do,,u two pronged two faced bull s..h t talker,,,enufff…

34. @ ac
    It is about time that you started to demonstrate a higher level of intellectual sophistication.

35. Indeed, there is nothing wrong when comparing a set of brassbowls to see slight difference between them. That does not harm one’s overall determination that the system, as a whole, should be deestablished.

36. ac | September 7, 2014 at 9:24 AM |

That is true. That is exactly it Ms ac. This one I agree with you on.

What is telling, a few days ago on the other blog it was Owen vs Mia an Mia dis and Mia dat.

Now the words go ‘Owen and Mia’ is dis and dat.

So, how Mia in this? Anything vs Mia , is that the way guys?

I tell yuh, wunna scared of Mia,putting anything and everything on her.

Eh, Bushie….. the ol testicles bunch up and retract when yuh hear she name?

Well, get this Bushie…. et al..

PM Mottley!

Enjoy it.

37. @ Pachamama wrote ac ………” intellectual sophistication”

You may as well ask her to swim from Barbados to Miami.

38. @ bushman….I am not listening to BAFFY. I don’t think he called for any uprising. I wanted a few good men and women to infiltrate the political cesspool that is the DLP and the BLP so that the cause of the average bajan could be represented. Then as PACHAMAMA pointed out the thievery extends throughout the entire system, so that the question remains how do we bring an end to this nonsense that benefits a selected few at the expense of all others? A people must be prepared to fight for its rights. How do we bring about meaningful change in the shortest possible time?

39. The point Bush Tea et al is always making is that neither party has the appetite, will, capacity to make the change to fix the system. Continue to focus on individuals and all sensible people acknowledge the system is broken. JA, brassbowls all the labels will fit.

40. Adrian Loveridge | September 7, 2014 at 5:14 AM |

Transparency and accountability?

Good one Adrian!

41. David | September 7, 2014 at 8:01 AM | If some of you don’t have any thing constructive to add

…David, you very grumpy this Sunday morn?

42. David | September 7, 2014 at 10:07 AM | The point Bush Tea et al is

Then why was he lambasting Mia, when Mia has not yet HAD HER CHANCE??

The others have. And don’t give me this ‘she was de AG’ crap.

We all know that in Buhbimm, de PM calls the major shots.

No, I agree with ac, Bushie is biased vs Mia, because her ‘fraid fuh she.

43. @ David on September 7, 2014 at 8:01 AM

If some of you don’t have any thing constructive to add to the blog instead of generalizations why not just read? There is crime in all countries so don’t always try to improve detection, enforcement and prosecution.

Seems you are indeed “flowering” your blogs for the www viewers – about your concerns and yet lacking the ability do do anything about it…

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/crime-taking-deep-root/-
    The main drivers which develop a country or regress it is access to education, health and the feeling of security. We know where we stand on health since the cuts, we know where we stand on security according to the courts recent sentencing of violent offenders and we are in the process of limiting access to higher education shortly by barrier of financing. The message of any society to such offenders as these should be that this will not be tolerated whether people were hurt or not.
    The use of “cunning ” ends in the use of force. The damage you witness, yet you seem knowingly allow…

Oh and Hamilton did beat Massa by 20 seconds…. Fortune favours the Bold..
    BUDDY.

44. Noone is afraid of Mia, some of us know that it is a political circus being played out. The DLP will plaster her lifestyle and other ‘behavioural incidents’ all over social media when election time comes because her indiscretions are known. We know if she is unable to keep Payne, Hinkson et al in check this is also another issue waiting to play out. The ac’s and others of her ilk are supporting Mia against Arthur but will lambast her when the match DLP vs BLP time comes and we will be back to square one. Yes BU s grumpy because we are sick and tired of the same BS of placing our faith in man when the system is broken.

45. AC

What Bush Tea needs is a sufficient amount starch in his political backbone, the man haven’t a standard upon which to plant his convictions. He like the silver tongue demagogue, but only the imitation version, who writes to appease his failing sense of importance.

46. It appears that a lot of Bajans have been living off the avails of corruption.

During the “Arthur boom years” it was all about moving on up from Toyota to Benz.

Now the economy is in trouble and he Benz fuh sale.

The days of living large are done because there will be no economic boom for the foreseeable future. It will be back to basics.

Hopefully true leaders will emerge to guide Barbados to sustainable leveis of progress for all.

47. Here we go with playing the man of which many on BU are guilty. Here is an important issue and we have some of you attacking the man instead of the perspectives shared. Surely BT was commenting tongue well in cheek about Arthur because all know he is no fan. Comments even by the dullard need to be placed in context.