Shades of Herr Hitler who eradicated people for not being white enough, not to forget the KKK in the States and various white supremacist movements all over the world. And also, to some extent, the Jihadists. Unbelievable in this day and age. Henry Ford of motor car fame is quoted as saying that history was bunk. Mankind seems determined not to learn the lessons that history has taught us. – (BU).
A biracial woman has won an $10,200 payout after she was fired from her job at the Black Educators Association (BEA) in Nova Scotia, Canada because she ‘wasn’t black …
200 responses to “Not Black Enough”
Dompey
Racism is a destructive ideology; rooted in ignorance, hatred and intolerance, for our fellow human being. When we look upon every human being, we must do so we a sense DIGNITY because our hearts and minds are influenced by the way in which we look upon each other.
Now, never mine Hitler’s hatred from the Jewish people and those he had viewed as non-white, but about our intolerance( now I am speaking about the average Bajan) for those persons who speaks with an accent apart from our accent?
there is a message in this antisocial behaviour for all to learn..a society bred on hate still can thrive and be activate in spite of all that we have learn from the past….and judging from how we perceived each other . there is still unfinished business to resolve, let’s not bury our heads in the sand ..hate breeds hate,,,
Loading…
Amused
@Dompey | August 12, 2014 at 5:28 AM | As David would say, “Don’t let this go to your head.” BUT, very well said, sir. VERY well said!!!!!
I read the Mail report that David linked. I found the suggestion that the lady ought to “go and work for whitey” shocking and distressing. It is okay, it seems, to keep as a treasured pet, a dog of mixed race; but a person of mixed race is a non-person!!!??? How sick is that? That it could happen in Canada of all places is a real eye-opener.
The logical explanation is that a society will always have the fringe element that often serves as a distraction.
Loading…
Life changer +
@ David.
With a typical statement from Bajan’s
” you where not born here, so your not Bajan.” Shows typical racism.
The problem is that white people see racism as conscious hate, when racism is bigger than that. Racism is a complex system of social and political levers and pulleys set up generations ago to continue working on the behalf of whites at other people’s expense, whether whites know/like it or not. Racism is an insidious cultural disease. It is so insidious that it doesn’t care if you are a white person who likes black people or a mixed race ” red man,”
it’s still going to find a way to infect how you deal with people who don’t look like you. Yes, racism looks like hate, but hate is just one manifestation. Privilege is another. Access is another. Ignorance is another. Apathy is another. And so on. So while I agree with people who say no one is born racist, it remains a powerful system that we’re immediately born into. It’s like being born into air: you take it in as soon as you breathe. It’s not a cold that you can get over. There is no anti-racist certification class. It’s a set of socioeconomic traps and cultural values that are fired up every time we infact interact with the world. It is a thing you have to keep scooping out of the boat of your life to keep from drowning in it. I know it’s hard work, but it’s the price you pay for owning something.
Loading…
Amused
@David. You are, of course, quite correct. The trouble is that this fringe element appears to be growing. Like it did in Nazi Germany.
Loading…
Wily Coyote
A BLACK BLACK discriminating against a NOT SO BLACK, Hummmmm
Loading…
MoneyBrain
Life Changer wrote
“The problem is that white people see racism as conscious hate, when racism is bigger than that. ”
Now that is a very RACIAL statement! White people see racism as– BUT other races are NOT racial and see things perfectly correct? TOTALLY RIDICULOUS!
Firstly, there is NO SUCH ENTITY as White people that see anything COLLECTIVELY. ALL racial goupings have members that are RACISTS. DRUNKS, FOOLS, GENIUSES, Conservatives etc The proportions maybe different.
Do you seriously believe that White Bajans view racial interaction with a Single mind? Do you think that White Russians view Black people from the same perspective as other white people? Remembering that historically the average Russian has never had a conversation with a black person!
I clearly remember arriving at HC and entering my classroom one morning in Nov 1973, to discover that the desks had been seperated with a load of space down the middle. On asking what had happened in my absence due to illness, I was told it was along racial lines. I shouted at all in the classroom “are U fellas crazy” and immediately located my desk and placed it in the void and requested that all follow my lead. The problem was not totally solved, bur mostly, and indeed there was a white lout who had to call me a “N–lover” Which I duly responded “YES I DO”! Truth is, he was the chap I disliked most in the classroom anyway!
It maybe convenient to group people together but it is FAR MORE COMPLEX than that!
This is such a sad situation, that’s NEVER in many of our lifetimes are going to change. We were given a book called the bible, the so called white man’s version which has been stuffed down our throats from day one for him to gain control. But many of us don’t see our truly understand the so called white man’s plan.
If the bible has stated:- I have created you in my own form and likeness, giving you dominion over everything on this earth. If this is true. Then how have we arrived as being colors in the first place?
If we remain divided, and allow this so called white man’s ways to be our ways. Then we are in for nothing but pain and more pain. We have been freed from the chains,and the whips. But we are still slaves in our minds if we can’t see that by remaining divided even as so called black people, we can NEVER gain our freedom.
The hurtful part of this, is that man of us may have dark complexions, but we function every day as so called whites because it’s in our hearts. If so called blacks ever learn to come together as a whole, this so called white man will be in the world of trouble. So he has found a way to keep us divided through our own Governments. Give them what they think they want, and they in turn will continue to give him the leverage he needs to continue to be in control.
Wake up from this deep sleep. Climb out of the waters that you are continuing to drown in from greed and selfishness. Understand that this so call white man has very little love for any of us. He loves what we can do for him. Stand tall and stop allowing yourselves to feel or think as being lesser than anyone else. We are better than this. We are inventors, people with serious abilities to be whoever we want to be . We all came from GREAT PEOPLE, but these stories that this so called white man has given us about ourselves aren’t the truth about us.
He’s not going to change for us. We have to change ourselves and learn how to LOVE AND RESPECT ONE ANOTHER.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
If i wanted to be racial on this I would say that I cant believe that a group with mainly black men would not want to keep a sweeeet looking Brown lady close by in the hope for FUTURE CONSIDERATIONs of an EX-Curricular nature! While there may well be historical evidence of black men enjoying the proximity of such fair flesh ( I certainly would agree with such a position or positions???) it would be totally stereotypical to hold such a view.
Loading…
Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)
Children do not recognise colour or race with loaded negativity associated but are taught all the apparent differences by idiots ignorant of real truth.
Truth is every person is an individual and stereotyping is mind control.
Loading…
Hants
Amused wrote “That it could happen in Canada of all places is a real eye-opener”
This happened in Nova Scotia and does not surprise me.
Loading…
Hants
MoneyBrain “I clearly remember arriving at HC and entering my classroom one morning in Nov 1973, to discover that the desks had been separated with a load of space down the middle.”
Didn’t know HC was so radicalized in 1973. In my time at HC that would not have happened.
hey we can slice..it dice it ..all we want..but what cannot be omitted is where the genesis of all this hate started.. along life pathway there were many seeds of destruction which were planted by the sower.now harvest has begun and we wonder why so much of the crop is rotten.
Loading…
Hants
@ Amused, this reminds me of the Barbados Justice system. “and it has taken six years for it to be heard” lol
Loading…
Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)
what kind of asian are you?
Loading…
Redman
This happens in Toronto too..”Not Black enough” has been around for a long time..
Loading…
MoneyBrain
SHADISM is a major problem!
There is a brilliant documentary on this:
HUE: A Matter of Colour
covers many countries—Jam, Sth Africa, India, Phillipines etc
should be available just google
EVERY youngster should have to WATCH this!
Loading…
Hants
Learn about Nova Scotia before you come to a conclusion.
The ten provinces are Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan. The three territories are Northwest Territories, Nunavut, and Yukon.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
What years were U at HC?
NS has had racial probs for a longtime. The more rural the more likely to be so. In 1983 I was driving a black couple to a Cricket tournament in Sudbury and we stopped for Lunch in Parry Sound, the black lady with me was born in Mtl but she was visibly worried about being in a small town. I asked if she was concerned and she admitted to her perceived threat of racism. I told her that they, the local whites, better not dare to misbehave and she would have my full support, all 200lbs+.
Loading…
Hants
David Canada is a very big country with huge distances between population centres.
This is why discussions about events in Canada requires a background check.
Loading…
caribcanadian
I am a Canadian (Bajan by descent) currently in Barbados of Bajan parents. Racism is alive and well in Canada and all over the world. The word we give to this phenomenon is colorism. It’s an old issue. Light skin vs Dark skin just another tool used to divide Black people. It’s so much easier to control people by pitting one against the other. Nothing new here. If we are honest with ourselves, we would admit to the history of lighter skinned Black people, and I am one of them, having better opportunities than darker skinned Black people. It happens all the time. It is frustrating. I am not saying that the light skinned woman in this particular story is wrong however, it is time to own up to the fact that colorism exists and is passed down in families regardless of a person’s skin tone. Both White and Black communities were/are infected by the trans atlantic slave trade (black holocaust) and the hatred born of such a disgusting system. Context is very important and one should first delve in to the history before casting judgement on people. Learn about what happened to Africville, Nova Scotia. Better yet, there is a four part documentary called Hymn to Freedom that details the history of the Black communities of Canada: Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario and British Columbia. Context is everything.
Loading…
Hants
@MoneyBrain left 5th form HC 1969. That is why I was surprised at your radicalism in 1973.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
I was in LSci 6th in 1973 and 2nd Form when you left 1969. U must have been the year with Woodroofe, Richard Stoute, maybe Willi Hutchinson????
OR Phil Sobers, Steve Harris, Willi Bourne ????
Thanks, interesting to read that the developed and enlightenned Canada is challenged with race issues. Creating context for similar discussion for Barbados given the comfort Whites have for retreating to enclaves.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
Some/ most White Bajans deep down are threatened because they know they are a minority. Even the rich ones appreciate that any serious socio/ political trouble could result in them becoming Targets whether or not they have been racial or ill treated anyone of colour.
One of the factors in my leaving Bim was this very fact–the shyte hits the fan just when U looking for retirement and my $5mn BDS suddenly worth toilet paper OR my business is screwed and / or my RE! Check JA, Guy I know the first hand stories!
So I could be well liked by 10,000 darker Bajans BUT it only takes 1 who does know U to shoot U when the trouble rages! Dem cant bring U back when the peeps say “wuhlosss, MB was one the best whiteys bout hay!” “look he dead doh”
Loading…
caribcanadian
@moneybrain
I did not know that white people have no color. You must be transparent.
So you left Bim because you figured as a white person you might be a target in Barbados….Well ummmm, you may not have any where to hide as the majority of the people on this earth are so-called people of color.
Loading…
GEORGIE PORGIE
MB
OR Phil Sobers, Steve Harris, Willi Bourne ????
BY Steve Steve Harris DO YOU MEAN V A S Steve Harris?
Phil Sobers, & VAS Harris, THE ENGINEEERS WERE IN THE SAME CLASS
Willi Bourne THE FORMER BDOS AND WARWICKSHIRE FAST BOWLER WAS IN THE YEAR BEHIND THEM
Loading…
MoneyBrain
@Carib
I never said that was my primary reason. Try Tax of 70% on a lil $3,000 bonus, while still in my mid 20s!
Fully aware that 82% of the Earth darker than me.
Bottomline–if U white when serious trouble starts in Bim, U could be a very easy target! The richest Whites always getting lambasted pun here even though the commentator doesnt know whether the guy is legit or not!
Perception is that Bajan Whites are all rich—-NOT so, plenty of my family were poor and now in a few cases became well off by Education, business acumen etc.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
I was trying to ascertain Hants true year cause he might have sojourned/ tarried in 5th Form for sport!
Thought Willi B was in with Sobers and VAS Harris.
Loading…
Well Well
Moneybrain…….a year or so ago we had this discussion on another blog, another country……we all agreed that if there was no racism to begin with created by whites, just because they could not find another humane way to be creative because after all, they were just out of caves eating each other, there would be no reverse racism or any racism period.
We also agreed that racism was created as a means to an end, greed, hate, control….. a means to control and which has ignorantly destroyed the very fabric of society worldwide.
By the way, that young lady is as black as anyone can get with a mahogany colored skin, there are all different shades of black, i have a relative in Canada who whites are unable to tell her heritage, so many different bloodlines, it blurs the vision….Money, those bloodlines again…lol
Money…..you know full well whites are the minorities on earth, don’t mind Hitler with his reproductive and asinine nonsense, he was probably blacker than the Africans…..lol I don’t believe any black person will attack whites in Barbados, it would be easier and more fun to watch the ones who perpetrated all those scams against taxpayers, with the help of the politicians go broke that would be a hell of a lot more fun for sure.
I met some black Canadians who were descended from the underground railroad from the US….knowledge is power.
Most groups have experienced extreme racism for decades, the Inuit in Canada, formerly Eskimos can attest to this, blacks might have been victimized the most, but other groups can surely relate their vicious experiences handed down by the white race.
Loading…
GEORGIE PORGIE
MoneyBrain | August 12, 2014 at 3:22 PM |
I was trying to ascertain Hants true year cause he might have sojourned/ tarried in 5th Form for sport!
Thought Willi B was in with Sobers and VAS Harris.
hants entered in 63 wid men like casey,, willi bourne, john boyce, darcy boyce, black pawn,bertie cuffley, neddy ifill, aiird atherley michael lovell young capp from dayrells rd martineau, odle the hotelier etc,
black and white again and again.racism. this blog.the extent of hate towards whites is unbelievable.was there a DNA test done?i have known whites fired from scotiabank for being white.haha so.
Loading…
caribcanadian
@moneybrain
“Bottomline–if U white when serious trouble starts in Bim, U could be a very easy target! The richest Whites always getting lambasted pun here even though the commentator doesnt know whether the guy is legit or not!”
Welcome to discrimination, prejudice and bigotry….Black people have been experiencing this for centuries…Still happens all the d@#$ time. Ever hear of DWB driving while black? Cops have no clue who you are but will stop you ten times in a week because a Black man is not supposed to have a particular car, or a certain name when cops check plates or just because they can…I am from Montreal and a 30 something year old Black man with a french name driving a bmw went through this and brought it to court and won…Police harassment. (http://www.crarr.org/?q=node/19416). Or the Black teacher, in Lasalle, Montreal who was a passenger in a parked car waiting for his friend, the driver, and was harassed and pulled out of the car, beaten for what? Being a Black man ( http://www.crarr.org/?q=node/19606) and there are so many more cases.
So….now you know how it feels.
It’s unjust…It’s wrong…it’s inhuman. We can’t just hide.
“Perception is that Bajan Whites are all rich—-NOT so, plenty of my family were poor and now in a few cases became well off by Education, business acumen etc.”
It is true that the perception is that all Bajan whites are rich…I know that is not true as I come from the less well off Bajan whites. You can’t have it both ways though. The history is what it is…At some point the white community has to take responsibility for the results of their criminal acts…That’s just how it is…I wish my young Black son, who holds a BSc and is starting his Master’s in Microbiology and Immunology at McGill University next month, could live in a world that does not perceive him to be a threat, a criminal, a person to be harassed etc…I truly wish that…So you do your part in your community to eradicate the cancer and I will do my part in mine and perhaps one day we can see each other as people bound by our HUMANITY nothing more or nothing less.
Loading…
caribcanadian
@barbadosadvisoractual
When the shoe is on the other foot…you want to cry foul eh????? Nothing new for Black people…happens all the time and we are usually told to quit whining….so right back at you….QUIT WHINING…Doesn’t feel good to be told that eh????? So now you know…
man i saw a comment by hants in another column saying that the barbados
white population would disappear if they do not mix with foreign whites.
and then when i say anything about blacks i am to be killed.
racism is not only white against whoever. racism is black also against whoever.i do not like this subject. and canada has done so much and given barbados so much money over the years but yet.canada is racist now.
i have lived in canada for 25 years off and on.here it depends on the individual.we are neutral but not stupid like america when it comes to things like this . we do not even engage this.it is let us say taken for granted.
man the whole world hating all kind of thing.i had as you all well know mine.
but i done and i take a person on their personality and so now.
hate can cause much stress and i know it well.so i give to god.i let it go.
Loading…
MoneyBrain
@WW
I had an employee who was descended from Underground Railroad people, many live in Chatham and Buxton, Sth WEst Ontario.
Loading…
Pat
@Well, well
Dont forget the racism exercised in Canada, to this day, upon the native Indians. I have seen some of it with my own eyes. It would make you cry.
Loading…
Well Well
Pat……i know, a whole tribe nearly starved to death as recent as within the last few years because they did not have access to basic human necessities…..i know you know about that evil episode.
do you know that alcohol makes a native Indian go mad literally.
and they pay no tax,get free land,can open casinos,collect money from the government ,and do not have to work.because they are indigenous.
some say say the ones in canada DNA fits Chinese ancestry,.
Loading…
caribcanadian
@BARBADOSADVISOR ACTUAL
I don’t see what is untrue about the statement that Bajan whites would disappear if they did not marry foreign born whites….That’s probably true. I was born, 51 years ago, in Montreal, Canada..Canada did not just become racist. It had slavery too..you know. It’s the same issue in Quebec whereby the French population through government leadership is making sure that their community is not assimilated by the sea of English speaking people around them by make it a law that all school age children attend french language schools if the parents were not educated in English in Quebec or Canada. The law is there to ensure the survival of their community..I understand that…However it has now gone too far and the English community in Quebec, of which I am a part ( My Bajan parents made sure my sisters and I went to french schools to fully learn the language way before Quebec’s language law came in to effect) is being strangled in the hope that it disappears…In truth, it is the politicians with their own power agenda that are stoking the anti english fires in Quebec. Same old same old.
Loading…
caribcanadian
@BARBADOSADVISOR ACTUAL
“do you know that alcohol makes a native Indian go mad literally.
and they pay no tax,get free land,can open casinos,collect money from the government ,and do not have to work.because they are indigenous.
some say say the ones in canada DNA fits Chinese ancestry,.”
Are you for real? Seriously!!!!!! Such ignorance.
You’d be better served by doing more research in to the matter instead of spewing such ignorance. You should feel ashamed to show your lack of intelligence.
Loading…
Well Well
“man i saw a comment by hants in another column saying that the barbados
white population would disappear if they do not mix with foreign whites.”
Bottom line is bajan whites will disappear completely if they do not mix with other groups of people, indians, blacks, or other whites outside of Barbados, etc…there existence is precarious at best.
Money……it was an eye opener to hear what the ancestors of the underground railroad system were subjected to, i believe it was Harriet Tubman saved thousands of blacks from certain death by helping them immigrate to Canada from the evil racists and slave traders in the US. I believe there is a tribute to her somewhere near Niagara Falls….despite all that, there are way too many pockets of racism in Canada, though it’s a favorite country of mine to live, it’s so huge if you are lucky you are not affected by stupid, ignorant people.
Loading…
caribcanadian
@Well Well
“it’s so huge if you are lucky you are not affected by stupid, ignorant people.”
Not too many lucky people in Canada despite its size.
Loading…
Well Well
Quebec wants autonomy, they are landlocked, depend on other provinces for their very existence and cannot separate themselves from Canada but believe they should be an independent country, that is called ignorance, arrogance with a heavy dose of stupid racist attitudes.
Trinidad whites and English and German whites live there permanently now,Danes,and so on so that could never happen in reality.
hants hoping that and thinking that is !!!!! is racist.
look around the world is now in the worst state it has ever bin since world war 2.
Racism is a word made up by Leon Trotsky in 1927.the word was used to browbeat all dissenters of the communist ideology…still used to this day in the modern world to shut down all nonconformist.
Loading…
Well Well
Caribcanadian…….that is because people have to go to work and interact, no choice, if you have a different setup where you do not have to interact with racists, you escape, unfortunately, as you say, that is the exception rather than the rule.
so smart Carib Canadian why is alcohol banned in Alaska in Indian villages,?
also you foolish person. native Indians pay no tax, and are tax except,the government gives them money each month free, and land.you know what a reservation is?
you are a ignorant person.once again .another idiot.
when you left canada?
long time/?
things have changed.dick head. how dare you .
stupid uninformed idiot.i am sitting in canada now this second.
but of course know more than i do.
i do not argue with idiots so you out of luck.
so.
Loading…
The blogmaster invites you to join the discussion.Cancel reply