Adrian Loveridge - Hotelier
Adrian Loveridge – Hotelier

Trawling through the Internet, when it has been available this last week, I have been almost overwhelmed by the sheer number of beautifully presented and creative local world class websites, clearly built by what appear to be mostly small Barbadian entrepreneurs. Often with stunning images both in still and video format, frequently highlighted by outstanding graphics. It raises the question why any private or public sector entities feel the need to venture overseas for this expertise which is available at our doorstep.

Follow this to a logical conclusion and it is an absolute wonder why so many websites, especially in tourism, look sad, neglected, out-of date and lack the dynamic attraction that is a prerequisite these days to compete on a global stage.

The quality and resolution of images are especially critical. Thirty plus years ago, as a tour operator, I recall spending hours and sometimes days with renowned photographers attempting to capture the ‘right’ picture that would dominate the front cover of a holiday brochure. These would be placed on the shelves in thousands of travel agents throughout the UK. The exact placement in a prominent position at eye level was absolutely vital to ensure maximum pick-up and would directly influence the eventual level of bookings.

Thankfully, three decades on, the Internet and Social Media have almost eliminated what usually ended up as tons of waste paper, however the importance of quality images remain in whichever format. I remember asking a senior Thomson official at the time, what the brochure collection to booking ratio was and he responded, 50 to 1. Therefore how do we bring this abundance of locally available creative talent together with the ‘managers’ to elevate these many less than impressive websites?

An improved web presence also has a direct correlation to revenue generated and profits in tourism. The larger percentage of direct bookings attracted at rack rates obviously mean higher profits, some of which it is logical, should be used to enhance your position in the marketplace.

Our ‘tech’ expert recently reported that there has been an increasing use of mobile devices (phones and tablets) to research and book travel and this is highlighted by the leading private sector destination site, Barbados.org where 48 per cent of users are currently using a mobile device to gain access. She also points out that if managers had a more quantitative view of the value of their website they would invest more in improving, maintaining and promoting them.

Tools like Google Analytics, which is free for most businesses where it is possible to do so, down to a transaction (booking) level. Adding that it is just as important to understand and target your customer base, by geography, browsing habits, way of accessing the site, etc.

My sincere hope is under the new Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. that all these objectives will become everyday common practice and our policymakers draw on this incredible fountain of available talent and ability, who are clearly not being fully utilised at this time.

16 responses to “Opportunity to Reach Our Full Potential Beckons With the Launch of the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc”

1. We wait to see who will be appointed to lead the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. Maybe Petra Roach was brought back to give her a chance to ‘audition’ for the role. Her resume got a lot meaty with the announcement that she is one of the most influential women in tourism.

2. @ David.

BARBADOS Inc. As a word class destination has to be in the algorithm for website search engines when considering a holiday destination. What do you want from your holiday-Getting the best from traveling companions-What were the highlights of previous holidays in the past-Does the country you want to take a holiday in have political problems-Does the country have a poor record on human rights or how they treat those who live and work in tourist areas.
    Beautiful Barbados, It’s just this extra distance, along with a stable government, that makes Barbados worth a second look, especially for the work-weary. Yes, all Caribbean islands offer warm weather and a chilled-out atmosphere, clean seas and lots of air- and ocean-borne animal life, but there are the unique touches to the Barbados experience that set it apart not only from its island neighbours.
    So why should a lot more people chose Barbados? The answer seems and needs to be our stability: All the services a traveler would need are here.
    ” A greedy algorithm”-an algorithm that follows the problem solving heuristic of making BARBADOS the locally optimal choice at each stage, with the hope of finding a global optimum product In many problems, a greedy strategy does not in general produce an optimal solution, but nonetheless a greedy heuristic may yield locally optimal solutions that approximate a global optimal solution in a reasonable time. One thing to inform the Americans -slow down ENJOY. Things are rarely as urgent as they seem. A little patience goes a long way and arrogance will only slow things.
    Thank you….

3. @Lifechanger

So the potential traveller finds us what about the product?

4. Nationnews.com in an article today – under the caption BLP’s tax – reads that the BLP’s leader is suggesting the introduction of a smaller more equitable charge on all water bills, with the exception of any Barbadian who falls below the poverty line, as an alternative to this mythical non-existent Solid Waste Tax, which really though points to the expansion of government’s evil wicked TAX-stealing, TAX-robbing behaviour.

Now clearly this suggestion by Ms Mottley indicates once more the intellectual and political backwardness, bankruptcy, and disreputation of this very disgusting decrepit BLP disorganization.

If that is the most the BLP could produce at this stage, then it shows how profound and extensive the decay and drift is in the intellectual and political capacity of those who occupy the parliament of this country.

Again too it shows how unimaginative and sterile the BLP leader is, when attempting to come up with real solutions to many of this country problems, and by extension how politically unfit she is to be the so-called political leader of any government of this country.

The fact is that these DLP and BLP fools – who have somehow found themselves in the parliament of this country – continue to want the government to live off the backs of the people without the government leading the way in bringing about viable strategies and programs for its being far more efficient far more productive far more rational than it is right now.

Now, how does taking more from those people, businesses and other entities who use water in this country going to solve the fundamental deep seated social political material and financial problems of the government?

Indeed, it is not and will not, nor will it solve the solid waste management problems of Barbados.

We had thought that when this intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited DLP had sometime ago increased the charges on the remunerations of the relevant people, businesses and others using water in this country, that this same BLP had opposed the increase and had then expressed doubts about many of the claimed purposes of the increase a la the capital works at the BWA.

Now, look at this tagging, tacking on, shifting from here to there, tinkering mentality of the BLP leader.

No holistic comprehensive coherent solutions to many of our national problems!

So, what do you – the reader of this PDC submission – think about what we are herein arguing?

In closing on this contribution, we state for the umpteenth time on BU that there are no relationships what so ever between money and resources, goods and services (other than where there is physical contact), and that therefore there is no logical basis what so ever for the BLP leader’s making that suggestion just as there has been no logical basis for the government coming up with this so-called Solid Waste Tax.

5. Is this the beginning of the end for Muttley? I expect it is, game is over for her time is up. Avatar
    Is this the beginning of the end for Muttley? I expect it is, game is over for her time is up.

Kerrie Symmonds says he won’t be speaking at tonight’s Barbados Labour Party mass meeting
    Opposition Member of Parliament, Kerrie Symmonds appears to be taking issue with his Barbados Labour Party’s handling of the Municipal Solid Waste Tax

Speaking on Brasstacks Sunday, Mr Symmonds noted the high cost of managing solid waste in this country, and said Barbadians must deal with the problem…But is insisting that the new tax is not the way.

The Leader of Opposition business in the House of Assembly shared his concerns about how matter is being handled by his party.

He says that “as legislator especially one in a constituency with a large middle class, and it bothers me to the extent that I ‘m going to be brutally frank with you all now. I do not propose, because I’m uncomfortable about the situation, I will not be speaking on the Labour Party’s platform this evening, because I have to be able to take this issue very seriously. It is not about inciting public outrage alone. Barbados has a problem with solid waste disposal which it has to be able to pay for”.

Mr Symmonds also makes it clear that he has to have the interests of his constituents in focus.i David I was expecting to wake up this morning to a new posting from you on the very latest convuslion within the BLP over the lack of leadership within the BLP as now confirmed by Kerrie Symmonds, Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall and George Payne!
    I you youthful days this would have already made it to your pages without delay, LOL

6. The BTMI should be guided by the definition of TOURISM MARKETING….Tourism marketing refers to the organized, combined efforts of the national tourist bodies and/or the businesses in the tourism sector of an international, national or local area to achieve growth in tourism by maximizing the satisfaction of tourists. In doing so, the tourist bodies and businesses expect to receive profits.

Read more : http://www.ehow.com/about_6683884_definition-tourism-marketing.html#moreread

7. @ David
    I’m actually in the stages of deciding where my next adventure will take me plus family members, a potential traveler, and as a result, it was only natural that I check the Travel Warning websites. This is generally how we would start any of our travel planning, not in order to learn which countries I should circumvent, but quite the opposite, to learn which regions we should consider visiting. The simple way of being informed, even when visiting family members. Or conducting business.

Put another way; That’s like really asking the question ” Why is google so popular – or why Barbados is a world favoured Island destination and others are becoming more appealing?
    If the following list below is to long sorry, but try and imagine the possibility of say 50% more visits, to our Beautiful Island. if Barbados was advertised by automated algorithm methods, when we searched, say for our destinations including;

First thing is it is secure.
    Powerful
    EASY to get to.
    Good services
    Friendly
    Rated as a destination
    Even an app. to book those flights and accommodation with ease.
    Then with these numbers, our product has a better audience in which to truley compete.
    These everyday product searches have so far been conducted in July, with Google Sites ranking first with nearly 13 billion (up 1 percent). Microsoft Sites ranked second with 3.5 billion searches (up 1 percent), followed by Yahoo! Sites with 2.2 billion, Ask Network with 516 million and AOL, Inc. with 239 million.

Time for the “Greedy Algorithm.” Try searching this…
    THANK YOU AGAIN.

8. Is this the beginning of the end for Muttley? I is over Muttley Avatar
    Is this the beginning of the end for Muttley? I is over Muttley

Kerrie Symmonds says he won’t be speaking at tonight’s Barbados Labour Party mass meeting
    Opposition Member of Parliament, Kerrie Symmonds appears to be taking issue with his Barbados Labour Party’s handling of the Municipal Solid Waste Tax

Speaking on Brasstacks Sunday, Mr Symmonds noted the high cost of managing solid waste in this country, and said Barbadians must deal with the problem…But is insisting that the new tax is not the way.

The Leader of Opposition business in the House of Assembly shared his concerns about how matter is being handled by his party.

He says that “as legislator especially one in a constituency with a large middle class, and it bothers me to the extent that I ‘m going to be brutally frank with you all now. I do not propose, because I’m uncomfortable about the situation, I will not be speaking on the Labour Party’s platform this evening, because I have to be able to take this issue very seriously. It is not about inciting public outrage alone. Barbados has a problem with solid waste disposal which it has to be able to pay for”.

Mr Symmonds also makes it clear that he has to have the interests of his constituents in focus.i David I was expecting to wake up this morning to a new posting from you on the very latest convuslion within the BLP over the lack of leadership within the BLP as now confirmed by Kerrie Symmonds, Owen Arthur, Dale Marshall and George Payne!
    In your more youthful days this would have already made it to your pages without delay, LOL, but seriously this latest convulsion that is being played out within the leadership of the BLP where there is an absolute loss of confidence in Mottley as a leader make very well known by Owen Arthur, Kerrie Symmonds, George Payne and Dale Marshall, she is a lame duck leader with no support behind her as the airbags like Sutherland, Bradshaw and Prescod are also rans and no match to the likes of Arthur, Symmonds, Payne or Marshall, tell which of you will leave the comfort of you home to listen to an effing Sutherland, a stuttering jackass Hinkson or a stupid liar Bradshaw?

9. Kerry Simmonds , the predator that he is will always fly the Owen Arthur flag.The fact of the matter is that even if Mia were able to get fifty thousand marchers, the fractured backbone of the BLP has got to be of greater concern to Barbadians even more so than the solid waste tax.Mia Motley is in as much trouble as this government.

10. The DLP must not be fooled by the apparent rift in the BLP.

I think it is just political “strategy.” Conflict plus damage control equals unity.

11. The outlook for the island’s $4.2 billion economy is aided by investment projects including a new cruise ship pier and hotel by Sandals Resorts. The government firings will help narrow the deficit almost in half to under 5 percent of GDP in the coming fiscal year, and there is “ample scope” to raise domestic tax revenue that has been undermined by waivers, exemptions and arrears on payments.
    “The near term outlook for us will depend on vigorous and timely implementation of the proposed adjustment measures, and the consequences of policy slippage would likely be significant.”
    These are the predictions of some of the worlds top analysts. What parliament is doing seems along that track. But we need a dramatic increase in our foreign currency, with a stronger market in Tourisum, which may be partially achived by the new Touisum inc.

12. Months ago I chided the BHTA for not having a proper website. It is amazing how we can believe that changing a name can actually change the game. Call cricket horse racing um is still cricket. Until we employ people who are versed in proper employee training; customer relations and so on, our product will always take one step forward and two steps backwards ! Until we have hoteliers who respect our local crafts people and the workers on their usually run down properties our tourism will continue to flounder. Once the political ants get in the cake we will have no proper tourism product. As we bajans say say:yuh could call um anyting yuh like-um is de same ting !!

13. I have just read this slightly quirky, yet interesting, holiday review written by a journalist from the Jewish Post. Has the Barbados tourist industry reached out to the Israeli tourist market.

http://www.jpost.com/Travel/Travel-News/Sugar-sun-and-history-340795

14. i got to say this Adrian man is determined.by hell or high water.
    problem is all barbados got to offer they have else where for cheaper.
    Spain,Portugal,Greece,Hawaii,and many more where you are not harassed and ripped off and stabbed and shot. and raped.and there is proper infrastructure for this type of business.
    how about some free trips on survivor series at sandy lane for a week.
    that would be good publicity.water pretty in front sandy lane but reef dying from pollution.from poor drainage in that area. parasites,microscopic bacteria ..think i put up a video about that about 2 years now also.