The following extracted from Stephanie Chase’s Facebook page, read and weep.

Eddie Abed
Eddie Abed

@ABEDSBARBADOS I was having a great day until I walked into ABED’S & SONS COMPANY LIMITED. First let me state that I have always experienced exceptional customer service from this business up until today. My best friend and I went to purchase ribbon for our upcoming pageant like we have been doing since 2004. As we walked to the ribbon/zips/thread section I noticed that only one sales rep was on duty. He seemed to be new but very pleasant and working diligently to help customers. The line was long so it was clear that each of us would have to wait our turn.

After 37 minutes 20 seconds of waiting a young lady walked behind the ribbon desk. She did not say “Good Afternoon” or ask “Who is next in line?” Instead she picked at her nails, played with her hair and started to form conversation with sales rep who was passing by. Then she asked someone for a pen or pencil no one had so she left behind the counter and went for a pencil. When she returned she flicked though a receipt book for five minutes without looking up at any of the waiting customers. Suddenly a man walked up to the counter. She turned her attention to him and started to serve him. Clearly the 3 people who were waiting patiently in front of my best friend & I to be served were INVISIBLE. My best friend said, “That gentleman came after all of us. Is that the way it is now done?” I was shocked because normally she is never one to complain. The sales rep did not even acknowledge her comment or pay any of us attention. My best friend gently stated,, “Excuse me man we were here waiting patiently.” Again the sales rep did not acknowledge her.

By this time I had had enough. I walked to the front of the store and asked to speak to the supervisor. I was pointed to the direction of a man. I walked to him and said, “Excuse me sir, are you the supervisor?” He BARKED, “yes what you want?” I was taken aback so I said quite calmly, ‘May we step aside so that I may have a word with you?” The man SHOUTED the top of his voice “WHATEVER YOU WANT TO SAY SAY UM HERE CAUSE I AINT MOVING!” By this time his attitude, defensive stance and tone of voice indicated that he was not the most professional person to be in a senior position at this company which I have always shopped at. I said, “Sir I have a complaint to make about one of the sales reps.” to which he replied, ‘LOOK I AINT GOT NO TIME FOR U OR NO COMPLAINTS TODAY!” I said, Oh? Is that how you treat customers?” He started to holler, “WANNA SO DOES COME IN HERE TO CONFUSE THE PLACE! LOOKA IF U GOTS A PROBLEM LEFT FROM UP IN HERE!’ I was offended, insulted and extremely disturbed. I said to him, ‘I am not leaving!” to which he said, “Stop there then til Abed come downstairs like I care!” I stopped and I stared at him in shock. He looked at me grabbed a receipt book, slammed it down on the counter and said, “IF YOU COULD READ LOOKA ALL THE STORE CONTACT INFO THERE. EMAIL, TELEPHONE NUMBERS. IF YOU GOT A COMPLAINT, EMAIL UM YA ASS!” Today I learnt that customers who have problems and try to lodge a complaint are referred to as “ASSES.”

I was in too much shock to respond. However I had taken all the relevant notes on my ipad. I walked back to my best-friend who was still in the line waiting and the female sales rep was still dealing with the gentleman who was only purchasing buttons. The poor boy was struggling but trying his best to attend to the customers. Had I not needed the 40 yards of satin ribbon, pins etc. I would have taken my $151.87 cents elsewhere. It may not sound like a lot of money but I wish that Faustins or Moses had what I needed because today I encountered the worst customer service in my life from RICHARD HOLDER. Yes I got your name. Barbados is too small so even when you refused to tell me one of the staff did!!

The LORD in heaven above knows how Mr. RICHARD HOLDER – supervisor on duty treated me in front of staff & customers who shook their head in shame. You are a DISGRACE to Abed’s & Sons Company Limited and should be FIRED. To the sales rep Miss Ifill – you need to take a course in customer service because you have no manners or sense or propriety.

The best part of being in Abeds for over 90 minutes was the hug and kiss that I received from Justin xxxxx!!

I hope that Eddie Abed reads this post because I know that he too would be shocked at how his staff behaves in his absence.

223 responses to “Bad Abed’s Experience”

1. U should write him a note and go deliver it yourself when U ascertain he is there. U should be compensated in some way. Yes RH should be fired or seconded forever to a competitor!

2. The complaint was posted to Abed’s Facebook page. Social media is the friend of an ordinary citizen in a case like this one.

https://www.facebook.com/abedsbarbados/timeline

3. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Welcome to Bulbados.

The land where customer service is subservient to which of the bosses or supervisors that you are phvcking and, depending on who owns the company, you may get your head pushed down hard for you to read a sign or something.

It is called Tubby the Guard.

It is a palpable thing that is on the increase all over Bulbados and is not gender specific.

It however can be nipped in the bud by three things.

If you are white then you get a free asslicking instead of ass kicking

If you are somebody big in Bulbados like the minister son/daughter/in-betweener

or if you go to the counter, get them to write up every phvcking thing on the list and when they have put it in the cash register, tell them that you have changed your mind and to put it all back, that is if you have the time.

Because I am a pensioner I have the time and since I am neither category one or two, i resort to category three and it gives me some satisfaction to see the look on their faces.

Failing that, I know how to cuss like a sailor and use some really vitriolic language befitting a sewer so they dont really mess with the ole man.

Bienvenue a la Bulbados, hope you enjoy your stay….

4. I once went to a Car dealership poorly dressed and was maltreated so I wasted the sales guy’s time and then asked him to get the manager who I told I was going to BUY a luxury car of that exact type from the CLOSEST Dealership. Then I went back when my wife wanted one and told them that I was also going to the closest dealership.Needless to say they gave me a great deal!

5. The level of customer service meted here is incredible. This is not about a lack of customer training, we are talking ignorance of an elevated level which has no bounds.

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David [BU]

Stellar non-performance, superlative slothfulness any one of the many oxymorons that depict ineptitude at its very best or worse depending on which way you look at it, and I give you Bulbados.

Remember James Brown “say it loud, I’m Black and I’m proud” i now paraphrase, “say it loud’ I’m Bajan and I’m cretinously ingrunt”

7. There must be an ethos which permeates Abed’s that an employee would be emboldened to descend to the level of behaviour described.

8. David some retail business owners do not take responsibility for the actions of their employees.

However I would be surprised if Abed knowingly allows this to happen.

9. @David
    The writer did say that she had always received exceptional service on many prior occasions.

RH is a bloody idiot to behave like that art any time BUT certainly NOT in today’s economic climate. RH did U win the Lotto???? Have U been visiting the Green Gates Hotel? De Doris gun soon pick U up!

10. I am still in shock from the experience. At a time where our economy needs stimulation and people are in fear of losing their jobs no-one employed in the service industries should be so contemptuous towards customers.

11. They should both be fired.

12. Any time employees behave like that they are providing services to Abeds that none of you on BU can!!!

13. I hope you taped his bad behaviour. SMH when will people learn that without customers they have no job? I remember when Mrs Abed sr was working in the store I used to be so afraid to shop there. The way she used to treat and speak to people was appalling. I had stopped going into these Lebanese Syrian stores because of how they treated their employees and customers. Nest time try Samaroos up in Warrrens for your trims.

14. Thank you @islandgal246 I have heard of Samaroos but I’ve never shopped there. I will give it a try because I can not go through what I did today ever again….

15. @wellwell it seems that alot of people have encountered this treatment from RH before because many of them have since sent me private messages about how he also treated them. I can not understand how he is still employed so maybe @Lemuel is right…..something is not adding up here!

16. Hamilton Hill Avatar

That Stephanie still spent her money at that very time without taking her complaint to the next level troubles me a little bit. I would have raised that roof with Mr Holder if I were treated in such a shabby manner. Wherever the boss was he would have come running to see what the ruckus was all about. I would risk a bet that support from the other customers would have been on the cards. Stephanie needed to show Richard Holder how an ass could handle a boar pig.

17. Richard Holder you are a marked man! You have won the PIG OF THE YEAR AWARD!

18. I am feeling for Richard Holder when Island turns up with her 2 X 4!!

19. @Island
    Pig what?
    I likes my Pork!!! lol

20. I don’t understand. Why hasn’t the lady contacted management? I mean no-one can possibly excuse what she says she suffered. But she has taken a lot of trouble to fight the blue corner without seeking satisfaction from the red. I find that inherently contradictory.

Hamilton Hill – reading back I see we’re on the same page.

21. @Robertross you must excuse me because the person I went to was management I have been informed that Mr. Holder is not the supervisor but actually the ASSISTANT MANAGER in the store. I had every intention of speaking with Mr. Abed but I just wanted to get out of there as soon as possible. I would not have wanted to lose my cool and it be a case of the victim becoming the aggressor. Had I overreacted and give him a good bajan cussing people would have forgotten about how he treated me and said “i shouldn’t behave so!” I have since send a written complaint and I will be calling Mr. Abed in the morning.

22. I am sure Eddie will be very upset at this.. Customer service is piss poor this days.. Went to Bert’s this weekend to watch the game…been there 5 times for the wc season. Tried to make a reservation for lunch at 1 pm and told no reservations allowed so come early. Get ther at 12. 45 to find 2 tables with reserve signs on . Asked the manager how this was possible as we were told no reservations . Said that these tables were booked two months ago, and I am an idiot! People were vex…I told him that I would go take my business else where as this was the last time I would put up with this, last time having waited 1 hour to get a glass of water. He couldn’t care less. So I left

23. @piece ” I know how to cuss like a sailor and use some really vitriolic language befitting a sewer”

I am going to tel the madam and the pastor on you

24. @Stephanie Chase “I will be calling Mr. Abed in the morning”

I don’t think that Mr. Abed should wait for you to cal tomorrow. I think that he should call you now.

I don’t shop there much. The staff always seem hyper-alert (for shoplifters maybe?) and not that attentive to customers, as though they can’t wait to get you out of their place.

25. Maybe the store is understaffed.

Perhaps they need to put up more security cameras and such.

Then they can add a little sweetness to the customer experience,

26. I had a brief stint at Abeds during my B.C.C days, so even before you mentioned names, i already had them two in my mind.

27. And they are still working there?

Why oh why?

28. @BK the amount of private messages I have received complaining about the same man in question has left me dumbfounded as to how he could still be employed. His reputation has preceded him.

29. @Annie I took a friend of mine to celebrate her 45th birthday at Berts Bar a few years ago and the service+ food was piss poor. I’ve never been back. How dare he call you an idiot for asking a legitimate question? I think he must be off his rockers! I hope that he didn’t ruin your WC Experience and that you were able to get a table at a nearby restaurant to enjoy the finals.

30. @Stephanie

Do not let anyone here make you feel guilty because of your decision to go public, it was and will always by a good option for a customer who is affected by poor service. Barbadian consumers need to engage this option more often.

31. In Barbados very often the tail wags the dog. Employees do things and get away with it ,as they appear to be holding some secret for their superiors.
    One day a driver of a van, with the company’s logo emblazoned on the side,came up Broad Street driving like a real road hog. As he neared I cautioned him to drive more considerately. It was a Tuesday and Parliament was in session, and I am quite sure as we travelled past Parliament gate,that every member of Parliament would have heard this driver shouting at the top of his voice to me ” F*** You!.” To which I replied ,that I would call his manager and make a complaint of his behaviour. The driver then shouted, his manager’s name and telephone number to me.
    Obviously it was pointless laying a complaint against this driver. My company , mainly through me, spent tens of thousands of dollars , annually purchasing goods and services from this company. Immediately I found an alternative source. Coincidence, or not, a few months later, this company started to lay off employees,until eventually it closed down.
    If employees continue to treat customers with scant respect, believing that they will always come back, they soon realise that 1+1+1 customers withdrawing their support leaves Zero.

32. Everyone I wish to state that Mr. Abed has personally contacted me and apologized profusely for the extremely bad customer service I received today. He indicated that he is lost for words and will deal with this matter first thing in the morning and revert back to me.

33. Thanks Stephanie, the power of social media and credit to Mr. Abed for contacting you.

Now back to the Muni tax!

34. How are you today Avatar
    How are you today

Forgive him for he knows not… I too encounter poor service and my initial thought is to have the individual fired, but, after further consideration, not knowing the person’s circumstances and appreciating my good fortune, I am inclined to move on…

35. So sad but so true..The political class & the private sector are setting the example for this kind of buffoonery. Monkey see monkey do.The economy is in the toilet and the professional class in Bim behaving like idiots. One wonders what it would take to change this type of behaviour so prevalent in our society !

36. Years ago I was so infuriated by the routine, generally bad and arrogant behaviour of staff in Cave S that I posted on this blog, wrote to the Nation and complained to Cave S in detail. I can’t have been the only one. Today, it is a different story; staff are mostly attentive, polite and friendly. The same applies to staff at Supercenter, once rude and dismissive at the checkout, now much improved, really helpful, cheerful and friendly.
    Redman, this type of behaviour CAN be changed. It can be achieved with proper training, employee failure to comply with which results in disciplinary proceedings and the eventual sacking of an individual.
    These customer service and staff disciplinary procedures have come about as a way of a) retaining business and b) protecting business against cases of wrongful dismissal. Nothing to do with innate politeness or a desire to help customers then! There’s a beneficial offshoot to employees in that the employer is obliged to prove a duty of care to staff has been properly observed.
    It was really funny to watch the faces of staff at Burger King when it first opened, trained by the world wide franchise to follow customer service principles, as they winced and rolled their eyes, struggling under the pressure to work fast, be polite and efficient, not use their phones and attend to the queue.
    Workers in Barbados need to differentiate between “servile” and “service”, something they will never do on their own unless forced to do so by strict adherence to clear employment contracts outlining terms and conditions, offered to them before they are hired. If they don’t think they can hack signing, they don’t have to.

The only shred of sympathy I have for Richard Holder is that he may not have had his conditions of employment explained to him fully at the outset. Obviously he was not the candidate for any job title which incorporated the word “assist”.
    How come Richard Holder was hired in the first place, it seems he has had plenty of dissatisfied customers complaining over time, and why didn’t he have regular monitoring and training after that?
    Monitoring and training are expensive to follow out and carry through! employers may assert; yes; therefore selection has to be that much more rigorous at the outset.
    Before all this disciplining of staff can happen, there has to be in place a proper staff selection process. Now THAT is where the buck stops, right at Mr Abed’s door.
    In order for an employer to carry out his duty of care to his employees, that employer needs to ensure and prove, he has done the utmost to hire the appropriate person in the first place.

The first rule of customer service is to retain existing custom and goodwill, because advertising to bring in new custom is much harder and more expensive to do, especially with this bad publicity now going all round the world, Mr Abed.
    David, I feel sorriest for the loads of qualified, unemployed young people who must read this account and weep, keen as they are to work.
    Is it a shame or about time that the shoddy service at an esteemed, prominent establishment such as Abed’s on Swan Street should be held up in this way to scrutiny?
    Next victims, the banks and their interminable queues and indolent attitudes to service.

37. One wonders how are we evaluating the effectiveness of organizations like the Social Partnership AND NISE. It is time those expensive jaunts to exotic locations begin to payoff.

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Stephanie Chase

Why do you sound so familiar girl. Anyway the only mistake that you made was not to turn on your phone and record the incompetent son of bitch. All like now he and the other woman should be on you tube enjoying their moment of shame!!!! And if you what you say is true it is clear that this Holder fella doan give two wuk ups about his boss either…

39. Stephanie Chase | July 14, 2014 at 7:40 PM |
    @wellwell it seems that alot of people have encountered this treatment from RH before because many of them have since sent me private messages about how he also treated them. I can not understand how he is still employed so maybe @Lemuel is right…..something is not adding up here!

That is nothing new in Barbados, there was one just as ugly in personality at the former Mademoiselle, thank god they closed down, i believe his name was Michael, another idiot ruining the economy in Barbados, for some reason management at Mademoiselle was also unable to fire him, so there is definitely something more in the mortar than the pestle with these store owners.

40. It is awful how you were treated …but that is the problem with hiring locally. Col B really…..really ….you stopped buying from them and bankrupted the company put many bajans out of work because one idiot hogged the road and hurt your feelings. I bet you must have felt very proud of yourself

41. SSS……if it’s the same Stephanie Chase, she is great in a foreign language.

42. WaitingOnTheWorldToChange Avatar
    WaitingOnTheWorldToChange

Well, we are all customers at some point, each and every last one of us. I think many forget that the way they would want to be treated when purchasing whatever kind of service they too will have their time to treat someone good when it’s the other way around. People always talk about the bad they get but never the bad they give.

It is more than unfortunate what Stephanie experienced..more like disgusting and so shameful…despite what some may say..I applaud her for the strength she showed. It’s amazing how some Bajans like to call others “ingrunt/ignorant” yet would say they would do a cuss out and all sorts of stuff that really shows not how “bad” they are but how low they too could go. It’s all uncalled for..to say you can do no better than the other person puts you just like them, don’t fool yourself.

I have heard as well in the past about RH’s attitude/behavior..but mostly towards employees..no excusable reason for him to have treated Stephanie like that, but hopefully it should be rectified ’cause can’t go back in time to change anything, what’s done is done. Just hope from today the relevant change/changes have been made. That young CSR..well they are quite a few of them like that unfortunately in various businesses..training is needed and not only of knowing material or what is sold in the store. I know with some CSRs they don’t like to cause conflict with co-workers and “steal their customers” but she needed manners and could have asked her co-worker if needed help with his customers. That simple action could have changed what unfolded by having it not happened. BUT..maybe it was meant to so that RH could be dealt with ….
    Hope people realized that it was mentioned that Stephanie ALWAYS had good service from the EMPLOYEES except on that ONE DAY and got it really bad when she went to a mature black man who held “management position”…some black men with some “position” always seem to have some attitude issue..but he is the worse I’ve heard of..

What Islandgirl246 said is quite true in the post that mentioned Mrs. Abed Sr. Blacks have a history of supporting those that if they had to be in those people countries would be spitted upon and killed cause they don’t like blacks, especially Syrian/Lebanese to name a few. Blacks should know by now no one can smile in your face and take your money better than non-blacks yet talk about your race/ethnicity with their non-black friends badly. But as usual..where else can you buy from when those who are selling what you need/want are not your own color and those working trying to make money are…

Someone mentioned about not hiring locally…are they serious?!…LOL omgosh..people really are something..think their eyes are wide open yet they are “wide shut”.

People in general need to have respect..for themselves and others, which is lacking especially in this country, both the old and the young.

43. @Victor
    It is important to note that Old Cave himself about 60 yrs ago made a snide remark to my mother regarding paying the bill, my Mother ( as White as U can get with Blue eyes, pointing out this detail for those who believe that Whites have a free ride on everything) she never shopped at CS again for the 40 yrs I knew her. My family were reasonably well off to boot!!!

ASSHOLES and ARROGANCE abound!

44. Not surprised, I see NOUGHT of this dire Complaint on Abed’s facebook page, it will not rest there with me, next time I see Tony I will be asking why?

45. Colonel Buggy Avatar

lawson | July 15, 2014 at 12:11 PM |
    It is awful how you were treated …but that is the problem with hiring locally. Col B really…..really ….you stopped buying from them and bankrupted the company put many bajans out of work because one idiot hogged the road and hurt your feelings. I bet you must have felt very proud of yourself
    …………………………………………………………………………………….
    If employees continue to treat customers with scant respect, believing that they will always come back, they soon realise that 1+1+1 customers withdrawing their support leaves Zero.

46. @Waiting—-
    Sometimes when peeps get in a “high ” position they become ARROGANT and need to be FIRED!

47. But col what about the collateral damage in your quest for retribution in your case ??? I would expect that from a view from a tourist like myself but not a bajan . It is more than fair for you not to use their business but a disproportionate response with no regard of the possible fallout to guiltless people is the near sighted thinking that everyone seems to rail against on this blog. I can only assume by your stance and the flawed thought process that you are a politician.

48. Moneybrain…….I believe in boycotting any business place that fails to realize that the customer, though not always right, is the one who puts food on their table, and should be treated with respect and courtesy, this is lacking in most business places in Barbados.

Most black males who hold supervisory/managerial positions in Barbados need to be trained in how to be courteous to their own black people, give them keys to an establishment that does not belong to them and they act like they are prison officers of their own people…….lots of training in courtesy to their own people is imperative……no one has to train them how to be courteous, respectful and child-like to the minorities, they got that down pat.

49. @WW
    Dem tink dey move from de field to de house?

50. MB…………Exactly, I keep telling them their slave mentality is still in play, apparently they are waiting for someone else to come along and free up their minds from mental slavery………i wish them good luck with that.