The following extracted from Stephanie Chase’s Facebook page, read and weep.

Eddie Abed
Eddie Abed

@ABEDSBARBADOS I was having a great day until I walked into ABED’S & SONS COMPANY LIMITED. First let me state that I have always experienced exceptional customer service from this business up until today. My best friend and I went to purchase ribbon for our upcoming pageant like we have been doing since 2004. As we walked to the ribbon/zips/thread section I noticed that only one sales rep was on duty. He seemed to be new but very pleasant and working diligently to help customers. The line was long so it was clear that each of us would have to wait our turn.

After 37 minutes 20 seconds of waiting a young lady walked behind the ribbon desk. She did not say “Good Afternoon” or ask “Who is next in line?” Instead she picked at her nails, played with her hair and started to form conversation with sales rep who was passing by. Then she asked someone for a pen or pencil no one had so she left behind the counter and went for a pencil. When she returned she flicked though a receipt book for five minutes without looking up at any of the waiting customers. Suddenly a man walked up to the counter. She turned her attention to him and started to serve him. Clearly the 3 people who were waiting patiently in front of my best friend & I to be served were INVISIBLE. My best friend said, “That gentleman came after all of us. Is that the way it is now done?” I was shocked because normally she is never one to complain. The sales rep did not even acknowledge her comment or pay any of us attention. My best friend gently stated,, “Excuse me man we were here waiting patiently.” Again the sales rep did not acknowledge her.

By this time I had had enough. I walked to the front of the store and asked to speak to the supervisor. I was pointed to the direction of a man. I walked to him and said, “Excuse me sir, are you the supervisor?” He BARKED, “yes what you want?” I was taken aback so I said quite calmly, ‘May we step aside so that I may have a word with you?” The man SHOUTED the top of his voice “WHATEVER YOU WANT TO SAY SAY UM HERE CAUSE I AINT MOVING!” By this time his attitude, defensive stance and tone of voice indicated that he was not the most professional person to be in a senior position at this company which I have always shopped at. I said, “Sir I have a complaint to make about one of the sales reps.” to which he replied, ‘LOOK I AINT GOT NO TIME FOR U OR NO COMPLAINTS TODAY!” I said, Oh? Is that how you treat customers?” He started to holler, “WANNA SO DOES COME IN HERE TO CONFUSE THE PLACE! LOOKA IF U GOTS A PROBLEM LEFT FROM UP IN HERE!’ I was offended, insulted and extremely disturbed. I said to him, ‘I am not leaving!” to which he said, “Stop there then til Abed come downstairs like I care!” I stopped and I stared at him in shock. He looked at me grabbed a receipt book, slammed it down on the counter and said, “IF YOU COULD READ LOOKA ALL THE STORE CONTACT INFO THERE. EMAIL, TELEPHONE NUMBERS. IF YOU GOT A COMPLAINT, EMAIL UM YA ASS!” Today I learnt that customers who have problems and try to lodge a complaint are referred to as “ASSES.”

I was in too much shock to respond. However I had taken all the relevant notes on my ipad. I walked back to my best-friend who was still in the line waiting and the female sales rep was still dealing with the gentleman who was only purchasing buttons. The poor boy was struggling but trying his best to attend to the customers. Had I not needed the 40 yards of satin ribbon, pins etc. I would have taken my $151.87 cents elsewhere. It may not sound like a lot of money but I wish that Faustins or Moses had what I needed because today I encountered the worst customer service in my life from RICHARD HOLDER. Yes I got your name. Barbados is too small so even when you refused to tell me one of the staff did!!

The LORD in heaven above knows how Mr. RICHARD HOLDER – supervisor on duty treated me in front of staff & customers who shook their head in shame. You are a DISGRACE to Abed’s & Sons Company Limited and should be FIRED. To the sales rep Miss Ifill – you need to take a course in customer service because you have no manners or sense or propriety.

The best part of being in Abeds for over 90 minutes was the hug and kiss that I received from Justin xxxxx!!

I hope that Eddie Abed reads this post because I know that he too would be shocked at how his staff behaves in his absence.

223 responses to “Bad Abed’s Experience”

1. @Catalia | July 17, 2014 at 7:30 PM “You really think that Mr.Abeds feels good about this situation”

Dear Catalia: It is not the customers job to make Mr. Abed feel good. That is a job for Mrs. Abed.

The customers put money in his bank account and bread on his table. In return they should be treated respectfully.

2. When I used to shop in Bridgetown, I was always amused that the same lethargic clerks in Broad Street, who could not give a toss about serving customers in preference to carrying on a private conversation with colleagues, are the very first ones to complain about slow or poor service , when they came into the bank during their lunch hour to do business ,and expect the kind of service which they refuse to give customers in their own establishments.

3. Catalia July 17, 2014 at 8:35 PM “I realised that the sales rept is being blame; still up to now I don’t see anywhere mentioned that the sales rept was being disrespectful.”

Dear Catalia: Because I am much older and wiser that you or Holder or Ifill or Abed I will take the time to explain how and why and where the sales rep was being disrespectful

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 1: ” She did not say “Good Afternoon”

It was disrespectful of the sales rep not to greet the waiting customers

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 2: or ask “Who is next in line?”

It was disrespectful of the sales rep not to ask the customers how she could serve them.

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 3″ : Instead she picked at her nails, played with her hair

It is ALWAYS disrespectful to fix, or play with nails, hair or clothing etc. in the presence of customers

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 4: and started to form conversation with sales rep who was passing by.

It is disrespectful to engage in conversation with coworkers while customers are made to wait

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 5: so she left behind the counter and went for a pencil.

It is disrespectful to keep customers waiting while hunting for your work tools. A good sales rep would always have her pens etc (that is the tools of her trade) on hand. In the rare instance that she needs to move away from her work station she should ask the customers to excuse her for a minute PLEASE.

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 6: When she returned she flicked though a receipt book for five minutes

It is disrespectful for a sales rep to ignore customers and to instead engage in an administrative task. Administrative tasks can wait until no customers are present. Customers should not be made to wait.as they nmay walk away, and if enough customers walk away there goes the sales rep’s job.

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 7: without looking up at any of the waiting customers.

It is disrespectful not to make eye contact with waiting customers.

DISRESPECTFUL sales rep behavior 8 Suddenly a man walked up to the counter. She turned her attention to him and started to serve him.

It is disrespectful to serve customers other than as first come, first served. Although exceptions can be made for customers who are elderly, disabled or obviously heavily pregnant. But even so customers should be asked “Please excuse me while I serve this customer.” And when you do this do NOT refer to the customer’s age, disability or pregnancy.

Of course first come first served does not apply in a hospital’s emergency department. In a hospital emergency department the triage staff makes a heroic effort to serve the sickest first.

If the sales rep knows no better I despair for us, If the sales rep knows no better, then the employer should know better. It is the employers responsibility to provide adequate and continuing training for his staff.

The reputation of his business and his bottom line depends on it. The store is not called Ifill’s or Holder’s or Simple Simon’s. The store is called Abed’s. Mr Abed needs to do more to protect his good name and the good name of his store.

In business GOODWILL is worth money.

4. GEORGIE PORGIE July 18, 2014 at 12:39 PM ” like the time i maintained that the former prime minister would”

Not former Prime Minister, late Prime Minister.

Former Prime Minister means if he has retired, or been fired.

Late Prime Minister means when the PM is deader that a dodo, deader than a door nail, deader that David.

LOL!!!!!

5. I am always happy when customers can call out companies and staff for the nonsense they do…hopefully that can shape up the customer service industry in Barbados.

Individuals working in a Customer Service Industry need to understand that when entering or calling a business establishment, You are first greeted by them (Cust0mer Service Agent) and they manner set the tone on hope the company or store is looked at from there onward.

So while yes i agree with the person that wrote her grievance with these very bad encounter…we must also point out that if this is how a staff member behave, then the supervisor what does it say then about the people at the head of the business. Clearly no Customer Service training is being given….so Business owners start providing customer service training for your staff members.

If your service is bad always remember other stores are they that are more than willin’ to take the money with proper customer service.

6. I am always happy when customers can call out companies and staff for the nonsense they do…Hopefully letters like this can help in pushing both public and private forward in understanding that we as Barbadians also need first class customer service treatment which in term can shape up the customer service industry in Barbados.

Individuals working in the Customer Service Industry need to understand that when entering or calling a business establishment, You are first greeted by them (Customer Service Agent) and how they respond or treat a customer they manner set the tone on how the company or store is looked at from there onward.

So while yes i agree with the person that wrote about her grievance with this very bad encounter…we must also point out that if this is how a staff member behave, then the supervisor ,what does it say then about the person/s at the head of the business. Clearly no Customer Service training is being given….So business owners start providing customer service training for your staff members.(Managers,Supervisors,Receptionist etc)

If your service is bad always remember other stores are there, that are more than willin’ to take the money with proper customer service.

PS
    Word of mouth is better than any advertisement paid for..so make sure service from any level is always great or atleast try.

7. This is why people in Bimshire don’t speak out when bad things happen ca cause when they do they are cussed. @PantyLiner & @catalina or whatever your names are. The only people that want 15 minutes of fame seem to be both of you because you keep trolling the page. If you read the FB as you said you did. You would have read that the lady did post Abed contacted her and apologised. As for saying that she allowed people to cuss Holder’s daughter. She can not held responsible for what people post the same way that no one can be held responsible for your ignoramus postings. Furthermore if they employees didn’t want to be negatively affected they shouldn’t have done the cunt that they did.

8. My wife was in the store that day. It is only after she read the post she said to me that she was in the cashier line when Holder was approached and she dont know how come the woman aint whitewash Richard Holder in curse after how he treat her. She saw everything and nobody aint lying on Holder. He was wrong & ought to be lucky he still employed

9. Irate Customer Avatar
    Irate Customer

I know exactly what that lady is talking about. I had a similar encounter with Mr. Holder when I went to Abeds to purchase a suit for my son to wear to his graduation. Mr. Holder is very unprofessional and very obnoxious. He treats customer with scant disrespectful. My story goes like this. I wanted a suit with a waistcoat for my son. I perused the suits on displayed and selected one that I had liked however, when i asked for the size for my son it did not come with a blazer. My son tried the suit and it fitted. I was hesitant to purchase the suit because I really wanted the blazer. The saleslady was very helpful as she tried to find one for me. However, she did not. She went to Mr. Holder to ask about the blazer and she returned saying that all the suits do not come with blazers but you can mixed them. I was a bit concern so she suggested I speak to Mr. Holder since he was having a similar conversation with another lady who was also looking for a suit for her son. On approaching Mr. Holder I told him what I needed and he said that all suits do not come with blazers. My son was still wearing the jacket and he looked at it and said “the cut of that jacket is to high so it will not carry a blazer anyway”. Not knowing anything about suits I asked him to explain what types of suit carry a blazer so that when I return to the shelf I would know what to look for. Who told me to say that. Mr. Holder said ‘those suits cost more money”. I told him that the cost is not an issue. He said “look wha you see down there is wha we got, if you ain’t want them then go and purchase one from the competitor down the street”. I was shocked. I believed that he did not understand what I said so I said. “All I want to know is what types of suits carry blazers and which did not so I would know what to look for”. To this Mr. Holder said. “you look like a fool but you ain’t foolish. If you don’t see wha you want down there don’t ask bout it cause it ain’t there. You should go to the competitor down the street and make your purchase. I got really annoyed now and started to lose my cool. I called him an idiot and told him that I was only trying to get some info about suits not about what was on the shelf. He again said I look like a fool but I ain’t foolish. I then turned to the saleslady and told her that I would rather speak to her since Mr. Holder is an idiot and is of no use to me and we returned to the location of the suits. I might add that the saleslady was very helpful and that is the only reason why I stayed in the store and eventually made the purchase. Mr. Holder was lucky that me son was with me since I would have told him off there and then. Before I made the purchase Mr. Holder came down there and asked about the other lady. The saleslady said she had left. He replied by saying, “oh well you can’t win them all” . Mr. Abed needs to fire Mr. Holder. Think about how many customers that he turned away from the store and how many more he will. As far as I know Mr. Abed is in the business to at least try to win them all.

10. See that’s what happened when you opposed what most people think…You Get Bash…..Smh

11. When you are stupid you also get bashed.

Don’t start playing the victim.

You have not been victimized.

You have been corrected.

12. Catty Liar…goodnight I see you are back here for more corrections. You accused me for wanting to take your Mr Piggy Holder away from you when I criticized Mr Piggy Holder. Now there are more people voicing their experiences about his Highness Mr Piggy Holder. Now are you going to accuse them of “DESIRING” Mr Piggy Holder ??? When are you going to get through that donkey hair on your head that the love of your life is A PIG and should be relieved of his duties.

Jaimal you got me brekking up LOLLL “@PantyLiner & @catalina” ROTFLMAO man you made me laugh so hard. Brilliant post.

Simple Simon thank you for explaining thoroughly the rules of engagement when dealing with customers. Catty Liar pay attention and please advise Mr Piggy Holder and the Sales Associate Ms Ifill.

13. @Panti Liner….LOLL you have met your match on BU with Simple Simon. Please check the meaning of your words before posting. And please desist from criticizing the grammar on BU when you can’t write it correctly because Simple Simon will be checking ! LOLL

14. I was at a Truck Expo .laid on by one of the agencies in Bridgetown, all of the salesmen,were huddled around C.O Williams (Sir). Over on the other side were a group of men standing together, who did not seem to merit significant attraction. They collectively, just happened to be the biggest transport operators in Barbados. Namely the Transport Managers of Bartel (Lime), SSA, BL&P and BWA. Men who I understood, were primarily responsible for the purchasing of new vehicles for each individual company.

15. It amuses me when ppl try to comment to “put others in their place” and cant differentiate between simple words like “they, there & their”. Sighzz

I cannot wrap my mind around the fact ppl are trying to defend Mr. Holders behavior!!!! Yall have been exposed to bad customer service for so long you do not know or understand what good customer service is!! Both him and the sales rep were rude and out of order.

I work to hard for my money to tolerate rude & unprofessional service from businesses where I choose to spend my hard earned money. I also work in the customer service field and I expect that same professional service I give to my customers. If I encounter an outright rude rep I complain to the HIGEST ORDER!

We have experienced inferior service in
    BIM for way too long. We need to stop accepting it and spending our money and speaking out about it and keeping our money in our pockets. The advantage most of these business had was that they were manopolies. But thats not entirely the case anymore.

To the commenter saying she shouldnt have posted it before giving higher management a chance to rectify it, why not???? She went to an ASSISTANT MANAGER who treated her like she was a dog begging for a bone! She had all rights to bring it to social media and expose him.

Stephanie, the one thing I disagree with you about was the fact you still spent your money there! IDC if there was the only place selling what I wanted. I would have to find an alternative material. No way I was still giving them my money. You acted in a professional manner and that is commendable. I only regret you not taping the whole thing on your ipad!

16. If an airline steward were to shout at a passenger what would be the reaction?

17. NICE NOT “NISE” CORRECT THAT FIRST AND ALL ELSE WILL FALL INTO PLACE! #JUSTSAYING

18. Alvin Cummins
    I have now gotten a chance to catch on BU activity over the weekend, sorry to hear about your health challenges.
    Everything is going to be okay

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Alvin Cummins

The microbiologist, writer and member of the defunct BARNUFO. You are a shrewd antagonist. None the less one with a fighting spirit. Recover quickly, you need to help that the other dummy who supports the DLP with nitwit nonsense.

20. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Geeez on Bread David I see that they got more shine and sunny sun shines titles than ever before. Look permission to change my SSS, which are the really the first letters of my names. Those who want to shine can have them.

21. MzSunshine | July 20, 2014 at 8:55 AM |
    It amuses me when ppl try to comment to “put others in their place” and cant differentiate between simple words like “they, there & their”. Sighzz……
    …………………………………………………………………………………………..
    ……..I work to hard for my money…………………
    ……..most of these business had…………..
    ………..that they were manopolies……………….

We are not all perfect!!!!!

22. Goodnight. Good manners. Starts from home , no on. The. Job training. .

23. Keep It Simple Avatar
    Keep It Simple

We talk and type a lot in Barbados, both should have been fired on the spot. Train the new (replacement) staff.