Submitted by Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke
82 year old organizer Bobby Clarke leading the first march

We are marching because our country is in crisis, and we – the citizens of Barbados – intend to do something about it! We are only too aware that the official political and two party governance system has become dysfunctional. The Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister have lost their credibility! The Opposition is mired in disunity and confusion! Hardly anyone believes the Governor of the Central bank any more! And the leaders of the two major trade unions have become ineffective political playthings!

What we have in Barbados today is a broken system. And there is no way that a broken and dysfunctional Government can lead our country out of crisis! And yet we know that within the mass of the Barbadian population – within our broad, largely non- partisan Civil Society – there exists the talent and leadership ability to rescue our country.

We are therefore marching and demanding that the “political class” put aside their narrow partisan blinkers, and engage with the people and the community based Civil Society organisations of Barbados to establish a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration as an immediate emergency measure to deal with the crisis that our nation faces, and to initiate a process of long over-due Constitutional Reform.

On this march we raise the slogan:- “Let the Discussions about a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration start now!” Barbados simply cannot continue like how it is now for the next four years! We therefore say to the powers that be:- “Either rise up to the challenge of voluntarily restructuring the Government in order to transform it into a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration, or history and the people of Barbados will surely indict you!”

We are marching and calling for an Administration that will institute measures to ease the unconscionable pressure that has been placed on the mass of workers and ordinary citizens: an Administration that will reverse the QEH budget cut, and instead reduce Ministerial salaries by 40 per cent. We are marching for a Government that will stop spending untold millions of dollars on fancy office buildings, and will invest in people instead – a Government that will invest in production; invest in our talented and committed entrepreneurs; and in our artists and young people.

We are calling for a National Food Production Programme; a National Energy Conservation Programme; a National Incomes And Prices Programme; a National Employee Share Ownership Programme; and a new Developmental Agenda based on production- production for ourselves and production for export. We are marching for Integrity Legislation, and against the partisan control of trade unions! We are marching for a just and equal sharing of the resources of our country, and against a handful of big white companies monopolising Government contracts. We are marching for free education, and against partisan interference in our Statutory Corporations. We are marching for a responsible approach to Government spending, and against the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

We are marching for truth and integrity, and against lies and corruption in high places! But most of all we are marching for our country – for its future, for our future, for our children and grandchildren.

We are aware that silence – in the face of injustice, ineptitude and corruption – signifies consent. And we do not intend to be silent any longer!

85 responses to “March Organiser Explains Why ‘We’ Are MARCHING”

1. bravo. well done. best news i have heard all year.

2. We are marching because our country is in crisis, and we – the citizens of Barbados – intend to do something about it! We are only too aware that the official political and two party governance system has become dysfunctional. The Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister have lost their credibility! The Opposition is mired in disunity and confusion! Hardly anyone believes the Governor of the Central bank any more! And the leaders of the two major trade unions have become ineffective political playthings!
    ”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’

And what are YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT………..

3. Public protest and citizen advocacy is an outlet which living in a democracy afford us. It is a way of the public – in this case with no opportunity to recall elected leaders – to send a loud and strident message we are unhappy.

4. David I am truly impressed by the Bobby Clark manifesto but I will bet that you won’t find 2800 Bajans marching for “the cause” unless he pays them.

5. If they are annoyed enough with the solid waste tax that people are still wondering why they are paying it, they should march, and that is only one reason, they have many, many more, but let’s see what mood the people are in when it comes time to march.

Why are they paying the solid waste tax anyway, it seems odd and i heard some of the individual bills are really high, what’s government’s excuse, is it legal, was legislation passed, aside from it being a desperate money grab from the taxpayers, someone called it a kick-you-while-you-are-down tax.

6. We are indeed full of glee that the Great Bobby Clarke has finally rooted the protest marches in economy – the ownership structure of the country. It is about time that he came home. Bobby should now expect the real enemies of the people, including BU’s own Mrs. Slimey Snide to part company with him. Just like his friend David Comissiong, who was never a real member of the things he mouthed, has left him to his own devices, Bobby will now face the full fury of the elites. They may even be thinking about killing him. We are fairly sure that Bobby would have attracted the attentions of the local constabulary and some trans-regional intelligence agencies. Now that this war is properly joined we will up the ante with a more hostile engagement of the enemies from within.

7. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

The Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister have lost their @BOBBY?
    Both are Last Class CROOKS, LIARS AND SCUMBAGS, This VOTE BUYING COVER UP snake , Is nothing more than the lowest form ever seen on this Island,
    credibility@ Never use this word and none of the Ministers in the same mention,
    The Ministers All of them , Those who knows why and said nothing and all Who got RR to park for a rainy day.
    Pimp Masters will see JAIL before the end of their Life span, When the COP and DPP is replaced and a full AUDIT, We the Bajas will see where they All Stand, Lets hope most Hearts gives out and Shock of True Justice Fall upon them in our Life Time.

NEVER,Make Jokes with PONZI Masters and better call them as you see them , DLP or the BLP nor DBLP , Who team up together to give the People a side show of wasting time and coverup ,

All is in the LAND , Tell the Truth Bobby, If you dont know the Truth about the land Fraud ASK SOME BODY, .
    No clear titles to land , no land loans, no buildings , no workers, no tourist , no IDB loans, No IMF loans , No World Bank loans for the FUNDS the Minsters moved to their own Pvt Accounts ,

Free DUMB of COVERED UP Information will let the World see how these Niggers look to fool the white man , More Jokes,
    Head of the CB have to feel like Mr , BALLS PLANTATION hanging around a Mr DICK ,Looking like New York City Bag-men asking for loans from a Nations that dont pay their Bills or Court Judgments,
    Thank God for S&P , Moodys, and others that can see these PIMPs with out Whores , begging ,
    Next Elections they will pay, and the COST will be more high than a POT Smoker,
    We hope you suffer as you all made the Nation Suffer and look like fools for your Lies, That is DONE , and Never More

8. Both Bobby Clarke and David Comissiong said that the marches carried out in Venezuela against the Socialist government were being carried out by a small number of disgruntled persons.
    Now even if the numbers were 10000 on Saturday what would they say of those persons who are marching?

9. David
    No government in Barbados was ever topple by marching.
    The Sandiford government crumbled when his party members voted against him in a no confidence vote in PARLIAMENT. If Bobby Clarke and David Comissiong want to share political power they must run in the next election for a seat in the Parliament.

10. @Clone

People are attempting to protest, we will have t see what happens. The past is not the present or the future.

11. We all need to put on our marching shoes.I am wondering if the thousands that were sent home would have the guts to be part of the march. Bobby, I am with you on the march.

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Tell me Why | July 2, 2014 at 7:46 PM @ Most knew they got work ahead of time for the people or Party they word for or voted for,
    Most like some in the water company sit on the sides of the road all day as 9 of them stand and did not even help with the cars passing ,

Well as you can see in about 2 years they will get work again just in time for the next Election , Votes being bought and payed for by the tax payers,

13. another waste of time……….no comment

14. First time I hear ac making sense. Two beautiful words “no comment”. you deserve a knighthood.

15. so when is the march……….

16. Pachamama | July 2, 2014 at 7:06 PM |

We are indeed full of glee that the Great Bobby Clarke has finally rooted the protest marches in economy – the ownership structure of the country. It is about time that he came home. Bobby should now expect the real enemies of the people, including BU’s own Mrs. Slimey Snide to part company with him. Just like his friend David Comissiong, who was never a real member of the things he mouthed, has left him to his own devices, Bobby will now face the full fury of the elites. They may even be thinking about killing him. We are fairly sure that Bobby would have attracted the attentions of the local constabulary and some trans-regional intelligence agencies. Now that this war is properly joined we will up the ante with a more hostile engagement of the enemies from within.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

oh lawd………..good nite bosey ,,,,,,,,

17. ac

I agree with you though probably for different reasons.

But will add……. Pacha – you are a totally gutless, not very literate, paranoid schizo, just a bag of froth. But if you say you’re a man – maybe you’ll act one. See you at the march.

This is NOT about toppling governments. As David says, it is about sending messages.

Bobby

Got your message. Of course. Smile.

18. Bajan Artiste Avatar

So where all de people from Drainage? Ncc ? NHC? Transport Board? March fuh wunna children- March against de slash and burn methods of the DLP!!! DEM ent care bout we,
    Dat ent fuh we!!!
    No more, nO No more!

Talking bout Solid Waste Tax–
    another axe …..
    to we necks.
    And dey get so arrrogant—
    even cussing CARICOM
    fuh rum!

All dem studying is de Pension Post
    while tekking we down to de uttermost-
    of hardship and frustration.
    March people wunna hear!
    MARCH!!!!

‘Cause dey ent no mo’ we can bear
    Get rid o’ dis blasted political fear.
    Stand up and be counted like women and men.
    Sing a hallelujah song wid a loud Amen.

Go and March- make every foot step count
    Stand ‘pon yo justice horse
    Don’t dismount.
    Stand up and be counted like women and men
    Sing a hallelujah song wid a loud Amen!

We are people of dignity
    but not of political revelry
    will not be footballs of any party
    we gi’ yo we X
    Now you got we vex
    wax palax, bruggadung brax
    Marching time again!

19. Ross:
    I concur with your earlier comment. There is a big difference between stringing together beautiful prose and standing in the breach when the winds of SOCIAL CHANGE begin to blow!!

20. Why are people calling the talk show to suggest demonstrators should behave? Do we have a culture of bad behaviour?

21. @ David
    Why are people calling the talk show to suggest demonstrators should behave? Do we have a culture of bad behaviour?
    Bad behavior?…
    No …..but we do have a culture of sitting idly by – while being pissed on and waiting for someone from “over and away” …such as Clement Payne, Errol Barrow, or Massy …. to come and stand up for us.

….like brass bowls.

22. At least one journalist has balls to write this.

If that kind of “wuflessness”, as we Bajans know it, is not legitimate grounds for dismissing a government, then I don’t know what is.”

“legitimate grounds for dismissing a government,”

Very powerful statement.

23. And so they come out of the woodwork. The letter starts with a decent description to a real problem; but then devolves into ‘free this free that’ and ‘lets get whitey’. Nothing is free get off your racist butt and work for it Bobby. How about this – lets march to get the corrupt politicians out (both parties) and start a dialogue to identify a real leader who loves this country, is willing to do the hard work, is not afraid to call a spade a spade, and enforces laws such as petty larceny and others. How about we reward people for good ideas and efficiency through a free market system. Get government, unions and corruption out of the way.

‘Everything said and done, at the end of the day, we get the government we deserve and deserve the government we get’.

24. Good citizens are not motivated to join the political class, this lot is a classless bunch who have allowed the country to sink further in an economic and social morass.

25. Citizens dissatisfied with the Governments posturing in Hong Kong held a protest march last weekend. Know how many showed up? Estimated number was five hundred thousand! Twice the population of Barbados (approx). Does anyone here feel that if a march was held and just the number of people who used to attend the Calypso Bowl on East Coast Road turned out, that this still-born government could continue with its collective head stuck up its collective….Ask. yourself that question.

26. Middleclass Barbados will NOT march. They are afraid, too lazy and or unable to identify with the protest.

27. Middle class Bajans are busy restructuring their finances.

The only marching will be on a plane.

28. “Good behavior”…didn’t hear it…but a paradigm of fear and pharisaism

29. Good news.

SEVERAL FORMER EMPLOYEES of the Ministry of Transport and Works (MTW) turned up at the Pine, St Michael offices this morning to collect their severance payments.

30. PRESS RELEASE

MARCH AGAINST THE MUNICIPAL SOLID WASTE TAX

One of the central components of the “people’s” Protest March that is being held this Saturday is that it will be a March against the Municipal Solid Waste Tax. We, the principal organizers of the March, strongly believe that this new tax is misconceived , oppressive and extremely anti-working class, and we will be demanding that it be cancelled.

We are therefore inviting all Barbadians who oppose the Municipal Solid Waste tax to join us and to participate in our March.

Marchers will assemble at Independence Square from 9AM this Saturday the 5th of July 2014, and the March will commence at 10AM sharp.

Bobby Clarke

31. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

WILL THEY MARCH TO
    ONWARD CHRISTIAN SOLDIERS………….OR
    THERE WAS WAR IN HEAVEN
    OR
    RISE UP BRASS BOWLS AND FOLLOW

32. Bushie wants a blowjob Avatar
    Bushie wants a blowjob

The country is not at war, it faces no internal terrorist threat, and nobody is starving.

There is no need for a government of national unity.

If you want to hold formal political power, you stand for election and by the sovereign will of the people you get elected. That’s it.

If you don’t stand for election, or you stand and lose, you can’t somehow sneak into office by the back door, certainly not in the current circumstances in Barbados.

March all you want, but you don’t get to be part of a government that makes policy affecting my life unless a majority of my compatriots VOTED for you.

Clear enough?

33. Bushie wants a blowjob

I quite agree with you. Well, he probably does…it’s why he’s so grumpy.

But look…I agree with you about the ‘straight and narrow way’. I guess you must be a devout Anglican from St Luke’s. Neverthless, don’t you think it would be a good idea if Bajans stopped acting like sheep dragging their asses generally and register their sense of frustration? Or are you a black belly too?

34. @ Ross
    Don’t tell Bushie….tell IslandGal….
    You may well be setting the agenda for the debriefing session….

As to the blowjob poster….
    If you want to know who needs one …ask Fruendy….
    He nose…… 🙂

35. Here we are writing a roll of excreta and our citizens namely the pensioners, the poor people who inherited a piece of the rock due to a family member death, the unfortunate workers that were laid off and a host of people who are catching hell to make things meet. This municipal tax was ill-conceived, the MoF awoke one morning and implement a tax that will automatically seize land/property from the poor. How is it that people who are attached to the Sewerage system and presently paying a 25% addition to their water bill and now expected to pay another ,03 percent for municipal taxes. Why is it that a chattel house needing massive repairs on less than 4,000 sq ft being billed $385,00, Yet a wall structure, fenced in sitting on one and a half acres being billed the same $385,00. How on earth this BRA reaching these questionable amounts. Are these people applying figures willy dilly in order to get monies to keep the country viable?

36. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Tell me Why | July 4, 2014 at 12:35 PM |
    Here we are writing a roll of excreta
    THATS WHAT BU IS ABOUT
    DIDNT YOU KNOW DAT? LOL
    SOME TALK MORE EXCRETA THAN OTHERS
    A FEW TALK SENSE
    SOME DONT CARE, CAUSE IT DONT MATTER

37. There is a momentum generating and building among a greater number of people in respect of their interest in marching and their intention to march on Saturday 5 July, against the wickedness of DLP and BLP governments over the years, more than was perceived from a lesser number of people in respect of such and other things re the first march.

Based on such a growing momentum we shall say – without any doubt – that far more than the numbers of people that marched in the first procession will take part in the march tomorrow.

And this is so even when we do not emphasize numbers of people taking part in such events.

38. when all is said and done,(,if) this march attracts five hundred people,,one can guarantee that the the majority would be the doom and gloom choir , the success of this march would depend on its bipartisanship with a overwhelming amount of people calling for a change of govt…..any thing less would be seen as a failure,,,,,,

39. What is the crowd like this morning are BLP pimps BU David, miller, prodigal, arttaxes there ready to be lead by the nose by old hard line communists Clarke, Prescod, Commisisong?

40. ac

Do give over. In this country if there are more than 10 that’s a success.

41. March against tax, Government

Added by Carol Williams on July 5, 2014.

Saved under Economy, Local News

Protest 2

Motorists honked their horns and some residents stood on the sidewalk clapping as scores of demonstrators took to the streets of Bridgetown this morning demanding that Government scrap the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

They also called for a change in administration.

“How long have you been silent?”, shouted the woman leading the march.

“Too long!” was the vigorous response.

The two-hour march, which began just after 10 am, was organised by activist Robert Bobby Clarke.

He was disappointed with the turnout, attributing this to a “sense of fear” among residents.Protest 1

“People know they’re suffering with the new tax that they can’t pay and they’re still not coming out,” he told Barbados TODAY.

“We are saying the tax shouldn’t be there at all. We cannot run a government on taxation and we’ve done that for the last 50 years. We keep taxing the poor. We tax the poor the same as we tax the rich and the poor people are the ones who go out to vote,” he said.

Among those marching were opposition Members of Parliament Cynthia Forde and Trevor Prescod, and University of the West Indies lecturer Dr Tennyson Joseph.

42. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Bobby Clarke

Each time you march different faces come into the march and the people on the sidewalks are more supportive.

The litmus test is not in the numbers Mr. Clarke it is in the draft.

You have never seen a tsunami have you?

Unlike Hollywood depictions the wave DOES NOT HAVE to be 100 feet high and cresting.

If the topology of the beach has a steep angle close to the shore, the tsunami is still carrying the same force when it reaches the beach and will crest dramatically at the shoreline.

Your marches are like tsunamis, the people are noticing and are responding and, if you stay true to the cause, even the DLP, will note the “ambience”

What is ambience you may ask?

It is the manner in which people, when they the politicians go into the public settings, keep far away from them, like if they have an infectious disease.

Before it was customary for people to fawn over the minister but now it is very apparent that they are being avoided like a plague and that the custom to get close to the minister is something that people give them wide berth, lest the idiocy that they are infested with, rubs off during a casual encounter.

Now it is “if my friends see me talking to you, I will be ostracised… and is dem dat i got to live wid, not you wid your pockets lines wid de “muni” tax

Muni tax from puny men, the worst political party this country has ever seen, each one worse than Eric Fly

43. Here is a short vid of the demonstration today. Good to see some prominent faces. Let the movement continue.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10152104018595989

44. It is absolutely appalling that BLP jokers like Trevor Prescod and Cynthia Forde and a few of that parties’ yardfowls were to be found amongst many of those who were marching NOT only against the DLP/ government but also the BLP in parliament.

What was worse was that they attempted to project for many people – within and without the march – the march as an anti-government march, when clearly it was supposed to be a people’s march against those two intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited disorganizations.

What idiots they were!!

The Political Leader of the PDC would have had nothing of the sort.

Hence, he made it clear to those marchers – in earshot of his chants from the start of the march to when he finished it – that the event was a people’s march and that the DLP and BLP must go from the governmental corridors of power of this country NOT just Freundel Stuart, Chris Sinckler and the DLP, as the females who were up front in the march were calling out for.

What was even worse was that Mr David Comissiong and Mr Bobby Clarke did nothing – it seems – to prevent Prescod and Co from projecting the march in that way, and from perceptions of many others of their undermining of Clarke’s conceptualizing, organizing and leading of the march.

So once against it was seen that some grudgeful envious conservative reactionaries were seeking to hijack and blunt an otherwise very important genuine event for the rising up of the ordinary political people of this country against the gross and inept misrule of DLP and BLP governments in this country.

So whether or not they succeeded in their attempts at grossly distorting the central thrusts of this march, it is clear that much of this event was an unseemly contortion from a potentially serious and genuine people’s demonstration into an underlying tragic and farcical political play and manipulation, when objectively looked upon from the above described angles.

The above details are basically part of the untold story of this second march.

45. what am i reading here that the march was a combination of political old farts joined by another bunch of egotistical jackasses ,,with plenty time on their hands,,,

46. PDC,
    You are really delusional!

47. PDC you said “– the march as an anti-government march, when clearly it was supposed to be a people’s march against those two intellectually and politically backward, bankrupt and discredited disorganizations.”
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    You are trying so hard to project your ideology regarding a “No Tax” and your fight of getting rid of both political parties that you talk and talk without realising it is people, with democratic rights that can make or destroy political parties. The imposition of this horrendous tax was made by one political party and the people’s march would have contained various elements of Dees, Bees and even PDC .
    I think it was unfortunate with your outburst since the majority of the marchers including myself were concerned with the imposition of this wicked tax which we were hoping would have attracted more marchers with objection to this tax, since everybody is/will be hurting to find the funds to pay this tax. We did not march to propel PDC, we did not march to get a coalition government made up of Bobby, David, Trevor, Cynthia, Owen, Freundel or even Chris. We were marching and expecting Barbadians would have shown a force of feet with heads to let the implementers of this tax are it is killing us “the people” and that we want this tax remove. Sorry that you misinterpret the rationale of this “people’s march”

BTW, do you feel being a leader that diplomacy would be part of your presentation. You cannot be hostile to the same people you are trying to influence.

48. I don’t agree with the sense of what the PDC has written. But they do raise a serious issue – what WAS this march about?

Placards referred to the SW Tax, a government of national unity and transparency. True some tub thumpers at the front damned both political parties. Some were there to demonstrate support for the poor in spirit and the poor in fact and were essentially saying to the Government ‘Look, enough is enough. Do something. Your performance is abysmal.’

Unlike the first march, there were a fair number of white faces.

In his little speech at the end Commissiong referred very briefly to the possibility of the fringe parties playing a role. In a conversation with a young female attorney over a CS coffee at lunchtime the point was made (by her) that both Bobby and Commissiong clearly had an agenda which was not being faithfully articulated transparently.

For myself. I am glad that BLP people were there since it seems to me that this ‘protest’, to be effective, must be as broad based as possible and somehow work within the system to ensure change. But yes,of course I appreciate that the more extreme you are, the more likely that SOME change may follow. What the protest is NOT is a platform for any Party, and I have in mind particularly the fringe Parties, to attempt to feather their own nests at the expense of the open heartedness of many who marched. But sure, as it was there was something for everyone – which was why, despite earlier concerns, I felt able to march myself without regret.