Submitted by Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke
82 year old organizer Bobby Clarke leading the first march

We are marching because our country is in crisis, and we – the citizens of Barbados – intend to do something about it! We are only too aware that the official political and two party governance system has become dysfunctional. The Minister of Finance and the Prime Minister have lost their credibility! The Opposition is mired in disunity and confusion! Hardly anyone believes the Governor of the Central bank any more! And the leaders of the two major trade unions have become ineffective political playthings!

What we have in Barbados today is a broken system. And there is no way that a broken and dysfunctional Government can lead our country out of crisis! And yet we know that within the mass of the Barbadian population – within our broad, largely non- partisan Civil Society – there exists the talent and leadership ability to rescue our country.

We are therefore marching and demanding that the “political class” put aside their narrow partisan blinkers, and engage with the people and the community based Civil Society organisations of Barbados to establish a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration as an immediate emergency measure to deal with the crisis that our nation faces, and to initiate a process of long over-due Constitutional Reform.

On this march we raise the slogan:- “Let the Discussions about a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration start now!” Barbados simply cannot continue like how it is now for the next four years! We therefore say to the powers that be:- “Either rise up to the challenge of voluntarily restructuring the Government in order to transform it into a broad based Patriotic National Unity Administration, or history and the people of Barbados will surely indict you!”

We are marching and calling for an Administration that will institute measures to ease the unconscionable pressure that has been placed on the mass of workers and ordinary citizens: an Administration that will reverse the QEH budget cut, and instead reduce Ministerial salaries by 40 per cent. We are marching for a Government that will stop spending untold millions of dollars on fancy office buildings, and will invest in people instead – a Government that will invest in production; invest in our talented and committed entrepreneurs; and in our artists and young people.

We are calling for a National Food Production Programme; a National Energy Conservation Programme; a National Incomes And Prices Programme; a National Employee Share Ownership Programme; and a new Developmental Agenda based on production- production for ourselves and production for export. We are marching for Integrity Legislation, and against the partisan control of trade unions! We are marching for a just and equal sharing of the resources of our country, and against a handful of big white companies monopolising Government contracts. We are marching for free education, and against partisan interference in our Statutory Corporations. We are marching for a responsible approach to Government spending, and against the Municipal Solid Waste Tax.

We are marching for truth and integrity, and against lies and corruption in high places! But most of all we are marching for our country – for its future, for our future, for our children and grandchildren.

We are aware that silence – in the face of injustice, ineptitude and corruption – signifies consent. And we do not intend to be silent any longer!

85 responses to “March Organiser Explains Why ‘We’ Are MARCHING”

1. You cannot ‘regulate’ who want to express their right to demonstrate, it is illogical. If the PDC do (does) not like the composition then do NOT march next time around.

2. LOL
    …wunna can’t see that PDC mad as shiite…?

3. David,

It is not a question of each marcher having had a right to march.

It is a question of those two BLP officials and a few of that party’s yardfowls who – having infiltrated the march with their childish but wicked political intentions – were often seen to be calling for the removal of the DLP government, when it is so patently clear that the BLP of which they have been helping to mismanage – has been helping – especially when in government – to also create sustain many of the fundamental social political material financial problems that Mr Comissiong, Mr Clarke and many others in the march continue to speak out against.

Therefore, a march of that sort has no place for BLP, DLP officials yardfowls.

It is question of recognizing higher moral principles (more than simply legal rights) when considering any questions of who ought to be attending marches of that kind.

They had no moral right being there. None whatsoever!!

Again, both these old ramshackled DLP and BLP disorganizations MUST GO in this country.

4. @PDC

This is the dictatorship attitude you binging? Carryon!

5. a friggin march and the players and actors can.t even agree on their roles,,then got nerve to tell govt how to run the country,,,,,all wunna mad as shit,,e.. get loss ..btw i hear bobby clarke say he going to CUBA,,i think that is the right country all wunna idiots need to go,,,adios bobby,,on yuh return tell us what life is like in cuba,,, BTW before yuh leave try having a march downtown HAVANA,,,the cuban people needs a voice like yours,,,,,,,

6. David,

Let’s get something a little clear here.

You are referring to one of the PDC’s writers as PDC.

THE PDC is a political organization of members, supporters, friends and backers in this country.

Your continuing to refer to this particular writer as PDC simply does not cut it.

7. @PDC

Name your members please.

8. This particular PDC will NOT be sidetracked.

But why do not you ask the general secretaries of the ramgoat DLP and BLP disorganizations to do so?

Imagine your writing: “@BLP, name your members”; and writing “@DLP, name your members”?

Surely there are very important things for us to do on here.

9. Oh how we pray and press our hands in anticipation that the political leopards shall lose their spots. Clueless and sheep like we shall be led down the proverbial garden path!!

10. @PDC

BU will restate the question, name your executive or shut the hell up.

We know who the BLP and the DLP executive members are i.e. general sec, PR etc.

11. Bushie:
    David mad as shoite too!!!

12. fall out from the march/// how revealing that out of the fire and smoldering ashes are two waring factions,,,BU under ground and the PDC,,,,,,,,,,each calling on each other for transparency,,,,,,both mad as sh,iite….

13. Here is my Solomonesque solution, let Bobby march with his people, let the BLP have their own march and let the PDC have its own march, everybody happy?

Ross wrote that there were a “fair number of white faces” among the marchers, wait a mfm did some tourists think it was part of “Crop Over” festivities or did they lose their way to the beach? Relax people no heads will be cracked if white faces are part of the demonstration.

Lastly the march seemed to lack some authentic music with a Caribbean flavour which highlights the plight that people are trying to address, my selection is a heavy dose of Jimmy Cliff, start with “Sufferring in the land”, “Hard Road to Travel” to be followed by “Many Rivers to Cross”’ and end with “Better days are Coming”.

14. David,

Aside from the fact that you are not respecting the difference between a PDC writer and the PDC, you make the very wronged assumption that we are following or are to follow the westernized model of a political party.

Indeed, we are NOT and will NEVER be!!

15. ac

Ah but you’re a wicked fella. You lost though. Was Jesus a communist? Would he have called Cuba ‘home’ or here or US?

Now…we say we are a Christian country? Right? Everyone agreed on that (no matter what it means precisely). There were roughly as many people at yesterday’s march, and maybe even more, than there were at ‘March for Jesus’ a month ago. What does that tell us? Do we conclude ‘Poor Jesus’?

Sargeant

Cynic. The white folk were elderly, carried placards and made it to the end. More guts than many.

16. PDC
    See my comment on the other current thread,
    Check the link in the sidebars.
    What you are pushing , you know is very hard to achieve but you don’t want to succeed anyway. PDC is suffering from ‘something; delusion, allusion or confusion. Do’t know which. PDC is very arrogant and to implement what they are pushing would mean resorting to Gestapo tactics and guerilla warfare to achieve. You need to be vigilant. Asking for both the DLP and the BLP to be discarded is foolishness.

Face Reality PDC and stop living in Fantasy

17. ross are you kidding me..did you see the real march for jesus as benny hinn rolled into town,,,,,,in his lear jet,,,,,,,like thousands…..who emptied their pocket books and piggy bank to attend…wud that takes real guts and sacrifice,,,,,,,now com on man…yesterday one hundred ,,who u fooling,,,,,,,,,jesus still rules,,,,,,,u lost,,,,

18. Both these ramgoat ramshackled DLP and BLP disorganizations MUST ABSOLUTELY GO in this country.

They are primarily responsible for taking this country on a path to becoming a failed state in this 21st century, and especially when many other countries are on various upward developmental paths.

These idiotic factions have long become total unmitigated disgraces to the name and honor of this country.

Indeed, THEY MUST ABSOLUTELY GO!!

19. @PDC

Correct BU if we are wrong, We know the face of the PDC is Mark Adamson, you are suggesting you feel no obligation to declare who comprise your leadership group? You a party wanting to offer yourself as an political option?

20. ac

It’s like cricket (err) – not whether you win or lose but how you play the game don’t you think….in a democracy? That’s what David’s quarrel with PDC is about isn’t it? Playing the game?

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ David[BU]

Leave the PDC to their own wiles.

People who have sense see that they are already showing how, even now, without any power, they are already “above the law” and refuse to name the troupe (as in the collective noun for monkeys and simians) of madmens (purposely misspelt)

@ Sargeant

It should be evident from the march structure that Bobby and David are not Tsun Tzu’s and that their level of strategizing is not based on a political strategy so there is no accompanying music to capture the attention of the passers-by (that is technically incorrect, since the people who they are passing are not “passing but being passed right?)

@ Bobby Clarke

While for a few of us we recognise your ulterior motive if ” you cast out demons, then, since the disciples of Jesus, also cast out demons,” you are still achieving the appointed task which in this case is to bring the issues to the light

Again I urge you to have those with less obvious agendas, and those who are more in tune with the peoples’ needs to speak.

Let Tennyson Speak and other articulate commentators (make sure Tenny slows down) during the entire march as part of your conversation with the nation.

Get the stories of the people who are affected, the ones who fear to be there in person, but would willingly give you permission to tell theor stories all over Bulbados for people to hear.

Make the stories short BUT poignant so that in the space of you walking 3 buildings, the Passers-by hear the plight of another Bajan that, barring them having a job, could easily be theirs.

Seek out the pensioners, ole farts like me who cant bear the hot sun because of medical conditions, but will gladly recite how we cant stretch the pension to pay for food, land tax, municipal tax, house insurance, cost of living tax and all the taxes that this bereft government is placing on us

Truly, when I examine the material that we are putting up at this our hour of need, I am really amazed and saddened.

@ All

Do you understand why then, if we more privileged citizens are so taxed to stay here on this side of the veil to suffer this shame and paltry form of governance and economic vision why, each week, those of the not so educationally gifted and economically challenged take a knife or a gun and kill someone as if they were just spitting?

Does it not make sense the absolute nonsensical violence and crime that is on the increase in our society?

22. but I should have reminded you that we “SAY” we are a Christian country. Oh yes, of course Jesus rules – in the heart not through the pocket book and certainly not through incredulous and gullible idolaters.

23. Pieceuh

At the end of the march Bobby did acknowledge his organizational shortcomings . But yes, music and a system which allows voices to be heard. Also at the end Commissiong did give the lecturer an honourable mention – though I didn’t see why it was him rather than the dear old lady who waved a piece of paper in people’s faces and chanting that the devil was “in the bush” or Smith and Jones or the heckler turned expert who claimed that all Bajans ever want are freebies for that matter – though I suppose it is a very Bajan thing, this name-calling for vicarious glory.

Which reminds me to say I don’t remember seeing Zola yesterday and a very pretty brown skinned lady who was at the first march whom I was certain at the time was Island. I suppose Zola could have been getting what it’s alleged he craves for somewhere.

24. Ross are you saying that i wasn’t at the march yesterday?

25. Island

Not at all. I said what I said, ie that I did not see the pretty brown skinned lady whom I had previously thought was you. I did see a very pretty dark skinned lady and yesterday I assumed it was you. Does that get me out of the hole?

26. How about describing the lady as a pretty lady wearing such and such? Light or dark skinned should not have no bearing on what she looks like. Colour of skin is always seen first nuh?

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Islandgal246

You see why I did had to give you up?

You is too pretty and de mens dem does be looking at you too much and dat does hurt de udder menses dat does got dem eyes pun you and got dem honourable intentions en ting barring de fellow dat does be mekking suggestions bout “debriefing you en ting”

But he is a fellow dat i got respect fuh so I ent gine say nuffing bout dat but I jes gine say dat it does mek some uh we heart go pitter patter when we de rest uh fellows seeing unna pretty womens dem.

Jes to mek my point

How comes it dat Ross remembering wunna pretty ummens ovah Bobby Clarke en Commisingsong…which bring me to de use of bolts of cloth and burkas fuh unna pretty umans dem..

You see how easy it is to understand the ingrunt basis upon which we foolish men does want to implement Sharia Law and these archaic practices to hide dem women folk from observant persons like Ross

28. OK…lol

The woman I meant, the female of the species I meant, WASN’T wearing a bra (don’t ask me how I know), but was wearing a very, well, tight green cotton shorts which clearly suggested she played football and which equally clearly cut into her upper thigh or groin and, judging by the lack of ripple in the seat, a thong. That was the light skin lady. The dark one was wearing precisely the same.

29. robert ross your attention to detail is applauded. lol

30. Oh and I should have said…the light skin lady had a tattoo of a lion at the bottom of her back; the dark one had a cheetah at the bottom of hers. That’s why on the whole I preferred her…I thought life with her would be less placid and more like a detective story. Both screamed a lot at the head of the march. The former wore platforms; the latter sandals. She definitely had a bunion. The former had legs which had a tendency to bow. As I say, I found both pretty well irresistible and, Island, if you were neither I feel a sense of disappointment. BUT I’ll sure be at the next march anyway.

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

See why we march?

See why we go to war?

“Helen of Troy, the face (and other body parts) that launched a thousand ships”

When the Father placed us into the Garden of Eden with such beauty our helpmeet was such statuesque pulchritude similar to that which you are describing Ross.

Here we are, so many years hence experiencing the shadows of that existence, through a glass dimly… ultimately we can and will say all is vanity and vexation to the spirit.

By the way, that is the most charlatan way that Clarke and Commissingsong can get their numbers to swell.

Bring women, get beauty queens to coms to the marches and whaplax all uh we mens, ole farts and all, gine turn out in droves, and even if Commissingsong got 10 Peavey 45 inch speakers and a Bose Amplifier we aint gine hear a word while we salivating over them shorts, tigers, cheetahs and bears, lions or bared loins

Oh to be young again….

32. @ Pieceuhderock
    …never mind Ross…Islandgal safe with him …he was just checking out the fashion and styles and thing…
    …um is BAFFY and Caswell that we haffa keep way from Island.. …Dem is the danger men.

33. Ross you are such a liar loll. You blind as bat and stop trying to make yourself look debonair.
    Piece I was thinking we were missing de music and a loudspeaker. I was wondering how come Bobby and David didn’t have one this time. I gine have to nick one off dem roadside preachers .

34. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ IslandGirl246 (she who i did used to love one time)

I did gine len you de on from de church dat i does go to “de congregation of the Saints and those washed in de Blood” but as with things terminal, like Denis Lowe, (doah all uh we is in fact terminal) dat wud spell de end uh me, in de church, feeding my sheeps pun fridays, and in me house, where I as de lead sheeple, does get feed every day by de madam.

(I did was ask SSS if she does cook real food jes i case i get kick out en ting… but so only offer me some of her pie, and wid de sugar and all, I had was to refuse de offer)

NO Island befo’ i even hit dis sen button en ting I wants you to know dat a certain Lemuel gine run to me wife saying dat I offer to tek you out to a music hall where de music blaring pun big speakers and a nex fellow, i ent gine call he name may even mention bout how i mek mention uh cahnting pun de mike…dem is some terrible fellows dem and i want you to know dat I dissasociate myself from dem all especially dat fellow Baffy cause he is de ringleader uh dese tings…

No Island, effing you is one uh dem bounteous ladies dat Ross talk bout I would advise you to keep way from Kadooment, or de next ting at night causing dat Baffy well leh me jes say dat he hands fast if you gets my drift…

I wont be able to protect you if you is going to de night ting causing (i) de madam does doan leh me leave de house after 7 when Days Done and (ii) de eyes doan see so good at dat time so i wud not be able to see any tatoos nor anything else…

35. @RRoss
    Oh and I should have said…the light skin lady had a tattoo of a lion at the bottom of her back; the dark one had a cheetah at the bottom of hers. That’s why on the whole I preferred her
    ++++++++
    One should never get too serious about a lady with a tattoo of a Cheetah, for fear she may live up to her billing.