Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law led a march recently and many hope it is the start of more to come.

Dear Sir,

Re: Request for permission to march from Independence Square through Bridgetown and back to Independence Square on Saturday, July 5, 2014

I hereby request permission to march from Independence Square on Saturday, July 5, 2014 from 10 am to 1 pm.

a) Organised by: Robert L.M. โ€˜Bobbyโ€™ Clarke

b) Purpose of march: To demonstrate the peopleโ€™s concern in relation to the hardships they are experiencing

Lack of information on the hardships that people are going through and the apparent non-concern as shown by the Democratic Labour Party Government and the BLP

Read Full application

151 responses to “ANOTHER Request for Permission to March Under the Public Order Act‏‎ by Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I think that Bobby’s first march attracted very few people because the country is too politically polarized where most people identify themselves as either B or D, and he was asking people to march against the policies of both B and D. Those who are neither fancy themselves as independent, most of whom are scared, or they just don’t care.

Bobby is appealing to a small segment of population. If he were demonstrating against the Dem, the Bees would have swollen his numbers and vice versa. But he chose to demonstrate against all.

I sympathize with him but he must focus.

2. Well, we wish Bobby success with his continued efforts. He may have to consider how much more pressure the people of Barbados will take before a breaking point is reached. And maybe a strategy could be built by monitoring perceptions. A spontaneous combustion of anger maybe what the official opposition is waiting for. Another election maybe too far away. But the tepid response of Bajans last time was certainly not encouraging. And this when all kinds of people all over the world are up in arms against a politics of austerity. But Bajans seem to believe they should be the last ones standing – believing that some ‘hidden hand’ will intervene and save the day. This will not happen. Bobby, when the archeologists dig up our fossils they will have a ready market with high demand for the most docile, submissive slaves in the annals of human history. Rise UP!

3. Maybe if Bobby were The Grand Old Duke of York he would be able to, at least, rent a crowd of 10,000 men (and women) and march them up and down. And up again! LOL
    We wonder whether Bajans know that other people ‘laughing at we’

4. BU political analyst caswell finally emerges from his cocoon .with nothing to add except [the usual standard brand of criticism… where were YOU hiding on Friday along with your colossal band of union members,,,,,barbadian people did not attended because the message did not resonate ,,furthermore those who spoke the loudest like caswelll and others in the media who all along have been advocating such measures stayed away in droves,,,,,what does that tell you,,,,,,

5. As i said previously i hope the people of Barbados come together as a collective to let their voices be heard as one.

It’s really time for a shift from being a docile political party follower to the paid to learn understanding that the electorate and taxpayers rule the country, not DLP/BLP…..time to take back Barbados from the hands of corrupt and uncaring politicians.

6. pachaman…u lead the next march..i bet u won;t have as much guts or balls to do so,,,,,u would be just like those who you crticise,,,,,,,step out from behind the curtain of a computer and define yourself,,i mean putting it real,,u don;t even have the guts to use your real name ,

7. @ac
    Wha ac have you ever use your real name? We certainly can’t do everything. We have not seen you writing anything, of substance, here and we never bring you on the mat on that account. We ourselves don’t believe in ‘leadership’ and are sure you would not want us to play that role, as a matter of conscious. We have however supported all efforts of the mass to give voice to a current issue. In another life, we sought to drive a stake in heart of the beast, but you are not to know that. We beg your permission to ignore the expected drivel emanating from the non de plume known as ac.

8. Unfortunate caswell might be right… but what unites us? We r all suffering due to the govn’ts(plural) mistakes or inefficiency but none of us want to make a stand and say enough is enough. I don’t support the PEP but I might decide to march come July 5 because I recognize the need for change.

9. Caswell

I think you are absolutely right and have said so in the previous ‘permission’ post. Bobby mentions ‘solutions’. I hope that doesn’t mean abolition of ‘Westmonster’ – else what we have is essentially a PEP march. If that IS it then Bobby is either being used or is being manipulative and, frankly, I don’t think I’ll be there if that is the case – it is NOW which is the issue.

You’re so bad ur kinda cute.

BOBBY

Please answer.

10. pachaman i never profess to be a know it all, like u,,,i talk what i feel never brow beat any one into agreeing with any thing i say, never advocate any form of protest outside the ballot box,, with all the long winded talk u spew here on bu about protest u should be running to lead another protest ,, the fact is that not ac that get up in here on BU and spew crapolla about taking this little island to the depths of despair,,through guts and gore,,,,,no..no..not ac….but you do ,,,,,,now when called upon to step up to the plate and do better than the last fizzled protest u vex,,,negro i could not give a dam… anyhow when u talk the talk u should be prepared to walk the walk,,and put uh money where u mouth is,,,,,,u got real nerve to criticise those who didn’t attended,,when u did not even as much as lift a finger,,,,,the truth is u just like the rest have not guts,,but plenty gab,,,which does not cost u sh,iit,,,,,,,and plenty attacks like wildfire,,,sorry i mash uh corns….,welll not really,,,,cause it is people like YOU who need to have yuh heads dug in the sandpile ,,,,,,,,,… Shame on You negro ..Shame on you,,,,You too are one of the docile minds from slavery ,,,,,,go ahead and prove ac wrong and post your name,,,,i bet you neva have the guts or balls to do so,,,,,,far less to lead a march,,and to think ac thought u were a maverick,,,uh really had me fool…,,,

11. @Caswell

To your comment, Mia’s petition rally brought out thousands but lack credibility because it was a Bee thing. You maybe correct in your analysis.

12. now can one compare a political stage rally to a public protest,,,,,is ridiculous,,,,,,

the two are different,,the protest which is being dubbed a rally ,i belive should be attempting to reach out and garnish the support from a vast cross section of the public from both sides of the political fence ,,anything less than that would be perceived as a failure,, bobby or whoever would need to deliver greater than great numbers ( most importantly a cross section) in order to make significant impact and send govt a message,, bobby has his work cut out for him whether hot or cold days or any day for that matter the numbers coming from Both political sides would be significant,,,,,,not going to be good enough for only those of one political persuasion to show up, maybe good for leader ego but ..not a strong enough force to send a strong and stern message,,,, …

13. @ Pacha
    Wha ac have you ever use your real name?
    Yes she has…..but only because she is so retarded.
    She wrote a letter to the newspapers with her trademark gibberish….and they made her use her real name…
    LOL hahahahahaha
    …and she ain’t woman enough to admit it on BU…

14. Hamilton Hill Avatar

Perhaps the negative light in which Bobby has always been portrayed by the media has as much to do with the people’s response as Caswell’s take. What I want to see is a big time protest against the NUPW and the BWU.That is where the numbers are, and such a tactic might very well serve as a catalyst for bigger things. The common denominator here is the fact that whether B or D as members of those trade unions they have all been sold down the river.

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Keep Marching Bobby We watching, Help is on its way

16. bush tea u are a scandalous liar ..what letter i never write sh,,t or dog shite to that dirty rag,,,,,,,,leave that to caswell and others….

17. LOL @ ac
    you of all people should know that confession is good for the soul?

Hahaha

18. Perseverance seldom fails.Good on you Bobby. I hope it gains traction and I wish you success.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Casswell

You are spot on with your assessment – FEAR.

Yes there are many who dont give a shite but, the main issue here Mr. Franklyn is fear.

This is what the “I” fears

One. I loose my pick whether private sector or public sector because these small men do not like anyone with an opinion other than their own. You must attend a meeting with Stephen Lashley to experience that. When he is talking no one is allowed to speak unless he gives you permission, not a body!!

Two. Tacit victimization. Sinkliar “Dem does get a pension? Hold dem check fuh 6 weeks” When is de last time dat dem pay taxes pun dem land? Get Wayne Force tuh auction it forthwith!!” Please do not believe that this behaviour is the sole modus of the DLP crew. Mia used to cuss all the peoples in her meetings at the Ministry of Education and Smiley Teets Dale Marshall, the vertically and intellectually challenged buhkvnt that he is, is just as vindictive.

Three. Denial of Access to services that one is entitled to. “DEm waiting fuh an operation fuh dem heart, let dem suffer yah rasshol#” dem need de dialysis machine, dem shudda taut bout dat instead uh being in de sun behing Bobby Clarke and David Commisingsong”

Four. HE Faddah is who? “Man I is here looking at dese pictures uh de protestors dem and wait a second, dat is so-and-so, man he son trying to get a scholarship from We Jonesing, call Ronisha, sorry Ronald right now and leh he cancel dat application!!

Five. Wunna Park heah fuh whu? A protest? Man wunna ent know dat dis is a no parking spot? Ignore dat sign, I is de parking officer en I say dat you is illegal, En you talk bac? en a few golf balls come pun my hand? Officer dis driver uh dis illegally parked vehicle jes spit pun me, whaplax some jail in you bottom (en udder tings)

Fear is a funny ting Casswell.

When we did younger a fellow went to brek off a piece in Wesbury pun a grave en de watchman sneak up pun he and shine he flashlite in he face while saying “wunna wun let a man res in peace atall! I jes get dis foundation build and you trying to brek it down wid you movementations”

Well Cassie de girl she faint way but de fellow run straight tuh de wall pun Wesbury Road and jump 6 feet in de air, clear de wall widout touching it, and pass out a bus pun he way tuh Eagle Hall.

Fear causes flight or immobilizes us

20. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

that joke is awesome. ROTFLMRAO

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Piece

I could not argue with anything in your comment. By the way, you don’t sleep?

22. Casewell, this leaves one to concluded that Bobby Clarke’s march was poorly organized, and his message was somewhat inconspacious.

Caswell, if such was the case as you Hypothesized, why did he attracked those people who once supported the BLP and DLP and now think differently? Now, from what I have gather from BU for the time I have been on the blog, is the fact that a great number of people were dissatisfied with the politics of both parties, so this should have been the rallying point for the march.

23. Ignorance knows no bounds.

24. @ David
    The real question is how, in the absence of elitism, are societies to make progress when there is an abundance of ignorance.

25. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I wish to extend an apology to Mr. Clarke for any statements I made on here that was not in the best interest of his character. The SSS has made it clear how she feels about these two political parties and their lackeys. My statements towards Mr. Clarke was base on information received concerning his ties with the Barbados Labour Party. After reading in the papers his non bias critical view of what he sees as poor governmental administration by the two no good political parties, I recant all statements made by me. It would appear that the rights of citizens to be fully inform on all aspects of government operations with full disclosure, and the fact that the current administration depicts a callousness towards the pain of the people, Mr. Clarke has demonstrated to me that his interest is for the people. This second protest action has my full support. The people of Barbados need not fear victimization because the government and the employers who have instill the victimization intimidation tactic in them can also be subject to the employee victimization as well. IT CALLED UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL. You can break from one up to 5 match sticks but try putting the pack together and breaking them. Barbadians need to step up and protest for greater for the right of government to be more transparent and accountable.

26. @Pacha

It comes back to leadership. People will coalesce around a message, the hope is that message is one which is in the people’s interest, both the ignorant and the sensible.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Casswell

When you get to be my age a few things does happen

(i) things south go a little further south because of gravity
    (ii) real incidents, because of calcification of the brain, are not easily remembered
    (iii) falsification e.g. one’s erstwhile prowess and other imagined accomplishments, increase (because usually people your own age are dead and there is no one there to gainsay the lies) and
    (iv) that fellow death, being that he is near at hand causes you to sleep economically, lest he creeps up on you and the Nation Newspaper reports that “PODRYR passes away peacefully in his sleep last night around 1.12 am”

No I am one of those idiots on the other side of the BU-ian subset that feels we ole fogeys should lay down and die, who feels that “if you are awake you can fight the harbinger and claw away at the fragile thing called life to remain a nex day to torment the peeples of BIM, like Fumble and Sinckliar doing.

By the way, you and Hants did up the same time as me doah…

28. Stephen Richards Avatar
    Stephen Richards

Well done Mr Clarke, great effort–don’t give up–you will see results! Why did you not just march against the injustices of the DEMS.They are the ones in power who are creating havoc and suffering in many households-They are the ones who set the stage for the private sector to nopw do as they please–or were you afraid Sir that they would not grant you the permission? Well if the Bees were smart they would join anyway and bring their placards—BAJANS are not focusing and thinking right and the DEMS are capitalizing on the fears of the masses. BARBADOS JUST FOCUS AND WE CAN WIN AGAINST ALL THE INJUSTICE!

29. If this is a PEP march under another name then the public – which will not have read the fine print – will have been hoodwinked. What does that say of the PEP and what – even before the potential for office – makes them different from what they say is the nature of the other political parties?

30. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ My cyberspace girlfriend SSS <>

My dear pulchritious sweetheart,

I would ask you “doan gets tie up between the credentials of the messenger (in this case Bobby Clarke) and the message.

Because I tek out a full page add in the papers to say “I am not a crook, a la Richard Nixon or Parris of Clico Style, supported by nex’ crooks like Deloitter en dem, does not mek me ‘washed in the blood”

Your recant was noble but, given the nature of the man, misplaced, doan leh he tie you up wid no message, hyenas and vultures come out to feast on the body of a dead elephant or lion, they are just lovers of carrion”

The issue is that the DLP WILL NEVER get back in again but equally so what is happening in Bulbados is that we the peeple are realizing that we cannot elect waste foops nuh more and what we have, on both sides of the house, in greater quantity on the DLP’s side of course, are wasted semen, the sin of Onan.

My Sweet Sexy Siren I would caution you to view the marches for what they should be, note I did not say are, causing Commisingsong/Bobby’s tactic is NDP focused, and not as it should be bringing our countrymen out to protest the economic mayhem that is being inflicted on our peeples

You will know that it has reached the turning point when, among those who are marching you see a sixable contingent of white people and indians who are, to all intents and purposes, hurting under this yoke of economic oppression.

Before I leave you my sweet, i do have this to say for the DLPites, if this were an intentioned calamity and these were indeed evil men, i would be the first to hide here under my nom de plume, and cuss them but the sad thing about this is that these men HONESTLY, DONT HAVE A CLUE about how to solve this problem, not one clue!

And barring Owen, Mia and to a lesser degree Mascoll, the other side of our “choices” ent got a clue eider.

Your cyberspace boyfriend
    PieceuhDeRockYeahRight

Dont forget to use the >> when you write back or me madam gine see dis

31. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

sorry PEP focused, you see how de ole man brain calcified en truth?

32. @ Stephen
    “Why did you not just march against the injustices of the DEMS……”
    ….because it is such simple-mindedness that got us stuck with the DEMS in the first place….just focusing on getting rid of the thieving B’s….
    The problem is not just the DEMS or the BEES ….it is the WHOLE shiite system…so Bobby is right to march against them BOTH.

Bajans are just slow learners. We will eventually get the message – and Clarke is doing the right thing to persist against the collective ignorance.

@ Caswell
    Boss….so why can’t UNITY officially support this march? Why can’t you bring placards protesting the way your members have been treated?
    Why can’t you invite BWU and NUPW members to come and see how a REAL unionist represents the interest of its members?
    ….you may be surprised at what an opportunity this is to build something USEFUL for this country.

The truth is that the things that Bobby are saying – should be the focus of the PM…..concern for ordinary workers, ….for the disadvantaged…..for the poor.
    ….instead, Stuart seems to be concerned about lepers and his political class mates. He obviously has been reading the wrong books about leadership.

33. David | June 26, 2014 at 6:03 AM |
    “Ignorance knows no bounds.”

Good one David.

34. AC Not only Caswell wasn’t there but also David of BU and the others who openly gave support to the first march on this blog.
    I hope the authorities deny permission for this second march
    A relic of the past seeking to rekindle some sort of relevance in Barbados.Bobby Clarke should now be enjoying the sunset days of his life not trying to create unnecessary strife at this time.
    This is the time for all of us who are Barbadians and love this country to band together and work for the betterment of this nation. It is not time to engage in petty partisan politics for narrow political gains.
    It is interested that Mia Mottley,Kerry Symmonds and other in the Barbados Labour Party have pledged to work with government to find solutions to the crisis facing us.
    What are the alternatives Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong,Caswell Franklyn,David of BU and the others are offering?

35. pieceuhderockyeahright | June 26, 2014 at 8:06 AM |

You is one sick dude, yuh hear?

I had Bushie as my #1 favourite shiite talker….. but you beat he by a “piece”. I’m enjoying your contributions just as much as Bushie’s.

36. @ Ross
    …why don’t you leave the man alone nuh? …Wuh if he is PEP leader what the hell do you expect him to espouse? Why can’t you give him the benefit of the doubt?
    …Wuh every time you take a position Bushie don’t assume that you are promoting gay marriage…. Bushie makes an effort to cuss you based on the merit (usually DEmerit) of your argument.
    Sometimes it takes a thief to catch a thief….why do you think our old policemen were so effective :). …LEAVE BOBBY ALONE..

It is for OTHER VOICES to now collectively join to create a genuine BAJAN movement against the BLP/DLP shiite….
    ….Caswell and Unity who should be looking to BUP…
    ….Credit Unions whose money Sinckler looking to steal
    ….home owners who are about to be robbed with a SHIITE TAX
    …Church people who should be concerned about injustice
    ….BLP people who want to see real change

…Bushie would march too…if the bushman can find a good cause – like if the BU beauties will be there …. MINUS any weapons of course…

37. FEAR.what ..FEAR…just a bunch of yellow belly yahoos..holding a backpack of excuses..can,t wait to see the fearless caswell and his fifty strong union members in the protest line..u too bush tea …ole geezer

38. pieceuhderockyeahright wrote “By the way, you and Hants did up the same time as me doahโ€ฆ”

At our age ( over 60 ) we can do as we like when we like ?

39. Barbados – Unemployment rate. 15.6 (% of total labor force)

That leaves 84 % of total labor force some of whom must be convinced that the cause is just.
    That is the monumental task for Bobby Clarke.

40. Negroman | June 26, 2014 at 8:48 AM |
    โ€œWhat are the alternatives Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong,Caswell Franklyn,David of BU and the others are offering?โ€

I know I ainโ€™t no scholar like Walter Blackman, Georgie Porgie or Bushie. You seem to forget that this DLP administration had all the answers to the p[roblems facing Barbados and ratified them in โ€œPathways to Progressโ€ and the youth manifesto: โ€œA pledge to the young people of Barbadosโ€ in 2008 and โ€œContinuing on the pathways to progressโ€ in 2013. Three manifestos full of promises they cannot fulfill after 6 years.

Now, if these guys canโ€™t implement their own policies or manage this economy efficiently, why should Bobby Clarke, Comissiong, David BU and Caswell offer this government any alternatives?

I hate to hear you people regurgitating things Donville Inniss says… foolish talk โ€˜bout bringing solutions and working together for Barbados. When the economists, private sector and the oppositions offered solutions, they were rejected by the DLP. I remember Sinckler telling the opposition if they have solutions put them in writing and he would look at them, but they had 14 years. They accused the economists and private sector of being BLP supporters and dismissed their suggestions.

The mere fact that the DLP and supporters are constantly harping on โ€œbringing solutionsโ€ or โ€œworking together for Barbadosโ€ when they are criticized is an indirect admission that they are incompetent.

The question is, if the DLP love Barbados and Barbadians so much, why donโ€™t they resign and give up the reins of government? Why canโ€™t they work with someone, instead of someone working with them?

41. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@pieceuhderockyeahright

My sweet Piece. Pie could never compare to a good eating rock cake especially when the crust is firm. You know you packing a big wallop of a bunch. Now sweetie you should that the SSS is not gullible to the role play that happens in the Barbados political circus. I am very aware that what goes on in the day has nothing to do with what plays out at night. I extend my apology to Mr. Clarke because his views were not one-sided.I said I would apologize and that is what I did. Rather his agenda is a hidden one or not, he has sought to bring his redicule at the level of injustices committed by these two ruthless nigga nigga skin pooch-parties. Right now anything is better then them thieving deceitful lot. So I will support Mr. Clarke’s protest action because it only takes a flame to get the fire going. So if he is the flame so be it.

42. “Bushie would march tooโ€ฆif the bushman can find a good cause โ€“ like if the BU beauties will be there โ€ฆ. MINUS any weapons of courseโ€ฆ”

Wuuda shudda cudda …more SHITE TALKING from a roll of toilet paper!

43. NEGRAMAN….. Why don’t you crawl back under the rock from whence you came and remain there until you are called? You have absolutely nothing of worth to contribute.

44. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) shall again be represented at this next proposed march on Saturday, July 5, 2014 in this country.

Permission granted by the Barbados Police Department, this political event will again signify demonstrate (what many us in Barbados – not only Barbadians but also non-Barbadians – already fervently talk write about), that many of us are sick, tired, fed and frustrated with NOT ONLY these two old backward idiotic DLP and BLP governments, BUT ALSO with these government’s wicked inept and insane social political material financial policies and programs and their consonant effects

Very importantly, too, what this intended political event will signify demonstrate also (is what many people in Barbados already have been angrily talking writing about), that we are therefore prepared to act politically in this way (again for some of us) – as is our political legal rights to do so – in order to continually make our anguish disgust known to the wider Barbadian publics about the gross, reckless incorrigible misrule of these two governments.

Thus, the PDC must congratulate Mr Bobby Clarke for proposing to the country another march of a political nature and for the main purpose that he has so delineated (above), as that, this proposed march must be seen by many thousands of us in Barbados as yet another opportunity for us to stand up to the long running colossal wickedness and badness of DLP and BLP governments over the years.

This proposed procession must also be seen by us too as yet another opportunity to mobilize public support in our quest for the establishment in this country of alternative credible effective people-centered governments to these two intellectually politically bankrupt discredited jack o lantern DLP BLP governments in the medium to long term.

Now, in terms of mobilization of people for this march, a corp of volunteers of the Coalition of Pan African Organizations ought to be formed, et al, to raise as much as possible public awareness of, support for, and participation in the march itself, by they themselves using the call in programs, the so-called social media, the streets, and any social interconnections to help achieve such effects.

For, it is clear that the type of mobilization that is necessary for this type of political event will be key to the substantial national psycho-political impact desired of it by its principal organizers.

Finally, we wish to write that while it is our intention to be involved in this march on the given day, this intention is subject to change to non-participation, if there is any evidence by us that there are any DLP/BLP officials lurking in the shadows of the organizing of this exercise, and, furthermore, too, if there is any evidence by us that there is any possibility that any of those officials will turn out at the event – an event that is so markedly against their perpetual gross anti-people misrule, indeed.

So, Forwards Ever, Backwards Never!!

45. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

bush tea

me and money brain and hants coming to tek over things
    are you going to march wid us?

46. TAKE CARE OUT THERE BAJANS;
    At last, we have a few visual protesters, join the momentume. Remember, marches work, but not just in one intended way. They may work to help alleviate an issue or to worsen it. Sometimes protests bring awareness; other times they result in repression and
    retaliation. Groups organizing demonstrations do it because they are persuaded they will work, but
    many times they fail to assess the full extent and consequences that will follow, and so often they end up working against them. Those who are being protested against, particularly if theyโ€™re in political or economic power, manipulate demonstrations for their own purposes, even to try to prove their point, justify their policies, and demonise protesters.

47. couldn,t agree with u. more negroman..the problem is that the march has little influence in getting any recognition..mainly because those who are contributors have underestimate the love and patriotism most barbadians have for this country…they also look at other small nations and see the aftermath when mass demonstrations get out of control and make a calculated and conscious decisions weighing risk against benefits..they also areware that there are those who ..still does not belive in deomocratic process at the ballot box..and there called for change is suspicious ..and say NO

48. Negroman | June 26, 2014 at 8:48 AM |
    AC Not only Caswell wasnโ€™t there but also David of BU and the others who openly gave support to the first march on this blog.
    I hope the authorities deny permission for this second march
    A relic of the past seeking to rekindle some sort of relevance in Barbados.Bobby Clarke should now be enjoying the sunset days of his life not trying to create unnecessary strife at this time.
    This is the time for all of us who are Barbadians and love this country to band together and work for the betterment of this nation. It is not time to engage in petty partisan politics for narrow political gains.
    It is interested that Mia Mottley,Kerry Symmonds and other in the Barbados Labour Party have pledged to work with government to find solutions to the crisis facing us.

What are the alternatives Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong,Caswell Franklyn,David of BU and the others are offering?

The best post put up on BU for the entire year.

49. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

PUDRYR and Bushtea; Excellent posts this morning.

I however sit on the horns of a dilemma. Let me try to explain.

As a student of history, science and the arcane, I have little doubt that Barbados is at a stage where most of my family, friends and former friends are almost certain to be propelled back to a status we had in the 50’s as students of the older secondary schools who were forced by our parents to take advantage of expanding opportunities created in the main by the early progressive political parties. A status which saw us, primarily coming from lower working class families, using the new educational opportunities to later advance in the society as professionals in one field or the other. The years since then has seen some challenges along the way but none that threatened our positioning in a burgeoning middle class or even signalled the destruction of that class. None of those challenges approached those now being encountered or on the immediate horizon of these present times for, and it must be recognized and said, the current DLP government threw away the manual on how the economy of the country should be run and instead lurched from pillar to post in trying to build an economics free society in which they put their families first.

That is the overarching reason why we are in this position at this time. All other attempts to try to apportion equal blame for this situation to the immediate past and previous governments are pure froth and designed by the spinning campaign to misdirect and mislead.

The hubris of our peoples in the face of other Caribbean countries when they underwent similar but lesser challenges has, as is usually the case, come back to haunt us and will be exacerbated when we continue to suffer body blows from lenders, the rating agencies and the IMF.

In my view, we owe it to future generations to make the right choices now to ensure (to the extent possible) that Barbados does not pass this way again.

Those right choices include what we should do to let the Government and the Unions know that the population vex and that we are not sheep to be led to the slaughter and thereby that they should modify their policies to truly show a societal face.

Is the Bobby Clarke approach the right one? Given the Jonesing speech and the signs from the first Bobby Clarke march, is it now clear that we have a Government, somewhat like the Tianamen square Chinese Government, that will do everything to save its own skin and those of their friends only, and the devil take the hindmost? Should we expect the typically risk averse bajan to join with Bobby to possibly risk our image of docility and thereby our economy in the short and medium term at least?

Should the objectives of the marches be changed to pinpoint the Union and the current Government as the authors of the current situation and demand that they change course and put the people first? Should the message remain diluted to that of highlighting to the government (who already knows full well) the plight they have put most of us in? and then what?

PUDRYR, you beautifully spelt out the rationale that many of us (like you and me who have passed our biblically allotted life spans) use to justify our lack of action. Many of the youth have no such concerns. It is the under 40’s who will make the difference and there are a lot of them that are disillusioned, laid off, misguided (from our standpoint) and totally fed up. It is unlikely that a Bobby Clarke type march will reach them. Do we really want them to join the marches?

But back to the horns of my dilemma. I recognize that all the signs point to future happenings that will give birth to a new Barbados. But getting there will not be pretty, especially for us old fogies. The first thing we have to do is recognize that the times they are a changing. Bush tea has recognized this for some time now. I and a few others have recognized it also but we are somewhat intransigent.

Is the time ripe for us to come down off our figurative fences?

50. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) shall again be represented at this next proposed march on Saturday, July 5, 2014 in this country.

Permission granted by the Barbados Police Department, this political event will again signify demonstrate (what many of us in Barbados – not only Barbadians but also non-Barbadians – already fervently talk write about), that many of us are sick, tired, fed and frustrated with NOT ONLY these two old backward idiotic DLP and BLP governments, BUT ALSO with these government’s wicked inept and insane social political material financial policies and programs and their consonant effects

Very importantly, too, what this intended political event will signify demonstrate also (is what many people in Barbados already have been angrily talking writing about), that we are therefore prepared to act politically in this way (again for some of us) – as is our political legal rights to do so – in order to continually make our anguish disgust known to the wider Barbadian publics about the gross, reckless incorrigible misrule of these two governments.

Thus, the PDC must congratulate Mr Bobby Clarke for proposing to the country another march of a political nature and for the main purpose that he has so delineated (above), as that, this proposed march must be seen by many thousands of us in Barbados as yet another opportunity for us to stand up to the long running colossal wickedness and badness of DLP and BLP governments over the years.

This proposed procession must also be seen by us too as yet another opportunity to mobilize public support in our quest for the establishment in this country of alternative credible effective people-centered governments to these two intellectually politically bankrupt discredited jack o lantern DLP BLP governments in the medium to long term.

Now, in terms of mobilization of people for this march, a corp of volunteers of the Coalition of Pan African Organizations ought to be formed, et al, to raise as much as possible public awareness of, support for, and participation in the march itself, by they themselves using the call in programs, the so-called social media, the streets, and any social interconnections to help achieve such effects.

For, it is clear that the type of mobilization that is necessary for this type of political event will be key to the substantial national psycho-political impact desired of it by its principal organizers.

Finally, we wish to write that while it is our intention to be involved in this march on the given day, this intention is subject to change to non-participation, if there is any evidence by us that there are any DLP/BLP officials lurking in the shadows of the organizing of this exercise, and, furthermore, too, if there is any evidence by us that there is any possibility that any of those officials will turn out at the event – an event that is so markedly against their perpetual gross anti-people misrule, indeed.

So, Forwards Ever, Backwards Never!!