Minister of the Environment, Denis Lowe,

Six years later Barbadians continue to wait for the implementation of transparency legislation. It was a campaign promise of the incumbent government made in 2008 but in 2014 remains outstanding. BU views it as another unbroken promise which makes a mockery of the social contract we refer to as the Manifesto. How can Prime Minister Stuart, Minister of Finance Sinckler, Minster Inniss and the off again on again Minister of Agriculture Estwick seriously expect sensible Barbadians to trust government’s policies, when there is incontrovertible evidence key members of the Cabinet of Barbados lied to the electorate about the urgency to rollout transparency legislation.

There is the popular saying credited to Albert Einstein, doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results defines insanity. Over one decade of Auditor General reports which consistently detail unacceptable levels of graft and weak governance in the public sector therefore the need for government to urgently respond, yet implementation in 2014 remains a low priority. Bear in mind the public sector has to interact with the private sector to do business and are implicated in the sham. Also we recall the attempt to rollout similar legislation thirty years ago failed, the difference, it was a Barbados Labour Party government leading the charge then, or so it appeared. How are Barbadians expected to trust the policies of any government if there is clear evidence they have disregarded implementing policies to avoid scrutiny.

Both governments have been accused of squandering public funds and there is evidence to support the claim. In times of plenty inefficient allocation of resources will go unnoticed however in a guava season greater fiscal discipline must be the obvious approach. In fact commonsense suggests that fiscal discipline  must be the preferred approach in good and bad economic times. What do successful people and organizations have in common?

There is a discipline which guides how decisions are made  and IF decisions made are found to be inefficient changes are made to correct by holding central players accountable.

It is no secret BU bought into the DLP platform message promising change leading into the 2008 general election and many of our blogs are posted to support. A big part of the change promised was to root out corruption or the perception of corruption by being more transparent.    It is not good enough for this government to defend keeping MOUs secret because they were never made public by earlier administrations. This administration promised greater transparency therefore creating the opportunity to depart from what other governments have done.

BU is very concerned a certain minister has been accused of depositing his off the books funds in his mother’s account, now his mother has died, her estate has a few millions and the siblings are saying the secreted funds should be split evenly. BU has been advised the family squabble has forced one of the siblings to spill the beans to the Nation newspaper but of course they cannot print it.

A reality check: six years into a DLP administration who promised change – read greater transparency in government – and the only change has been no change.

125 responses to “No Change!”

1. “o.k let me wrappedd my head around this articles..sumbody ssid that some body told somebofy that denise lowe use his mothers bank account to stash away some of his finances…right….now the BU jury mostly blp yardfowls have unequivocally found the minister guilty..”

Granted… this is “hearsay”…. Therefore, and rightfully so, we should take this rumour with a pinch of salt, because it may not be true.

“from what i have HEARD is that alot of the legalities that are holding up the piece of legislation is coming from the blp camp who belives that full open transparency can be a hindrance and has been using the refusal of sigining certain documentation as political leverage..”

As Bushie would say, this is a lotta shiite talk……..

By prefacing a statement with “from what I have heard”, clearly signifies that the statement can also be construed as “hearsay” as well. We can also speculate that “somebody said that somebody told AC that…..”
    So what is there to make us NOT BELIEVE THE FORMER STATEMENT, but BELIEVE THE LATTER?

“alot of the legalities that are holding up the piece of legislation is coming from the blp camp who belives that full open transparency can be a hindrance and has been using the refusal of sigining certain documentation as political leverage..”

The BLP camp, through the Public Accounts Committee, sought “full open transparency” by asking about the $40M given to the National Housing Corporation without parliamentary approval (which could be interpreted as not conforming to “full open transparent” parliamentary procedure). Instead of facilitating the process of “full open transparency”, Stuart and his DLP administration brought a bill to parliament to repeal the Public Accounts Committee Act, to prevent the PAC from investigating and uncovering financial infelicities at the NHC, in the interest of “full open transparency”.

Now, the same way that this DLP administration could bring a bill to parliament to repeal the PAC Act to PREVENT the investigation of matters pertaining to the public accounts; could they not bring the ITAL bill to parliament, with the same haste, if they were actually serious about “full open transparency”?

I promise not to reply to the shiite that this imbecile contributes, but I wonder if AC really give in depth thought into her points before rushing to BU.

AC’s leader, Fruendel, must have read her BU contributions when he said “up what they say has as much value as what you would see in any garbage dump collected by the Sanitation Services Authority.”

2. well then what has a family squabble to do with politics……and yes artarexes..there is a piece of legislation which has been going back and forth between various groups and most of the hold up is coming from the blp side…now the. other side bar issues that the opposition leader drags out on occasions to fit her political purposesand which most of the time are ignored is just another pretence..proof being that in the last election campaign then blp never rsised the issue which in effect would have held the dlp feet to fire and accountability …one wonders why.

3. SSS……don’t lose it, time longer than twine, in saying that Parris was not prosecuted but i believe he has a nice banker’s draft worth millions to frame, no bank in Barbados would cash it.

According to has been said for years by the corrupt on the island, besides having a salary at the taxpayer’s expense for which they should all be grateful……”the fellas gotta make their money too yuh know”…….they see nothing wrong with that mentality and do not believe they are being corrupt thieves…….bottom line.

4. I have a few minutes and my mind is wandering, so, this 5 million in this ladies account put in by Denis Lowe, where did it come from, was it part of millions split up and shared by other ministers and MP’s in the DLP/BLP, and for what, was it a loan taken in the taxpayer’s name? was it an isolated and independent bribe? 5 million dollars does not materialize out of thin air, only bullshit does that……..so, who is the briber, the thief/thieves?……etc, etc.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@AC

I am going to give you one more chance to stop write so much shite when you come on here and read what you write before you write it. This is your last warning before I tear holes in your ass again. Firstly, you should know by now that the SSS has no allegiance to none of the two wicked thieving is ass political parties. I will praise the one doing the work and I will cuss the one that doing the work but stealing. The SSS position is clear I do not like cunt-hole thieves or their beneficiaries who receive free money from pilfering deals. I sought to give you the benefit of the doubt because I see in you intelligence and as a woman I know what is to work for what I got. I hope you work for yours and not getting it from free draw backs from the DLP that you love so much. AC for the last time write balance views and not shitety generalizations.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Are you listening to yourself. The corruptive elements in Barbados barely laugh at the blogs. For years you have been writing about the crooked DPP but to no avail. For years you have condemned the the BLP, whilst their PIMPS sought to exonerate them, for the nonsense they did to this country but to no avail. The crooked lying DLP party are doing bare shite and getting away with and we continue to blog but to any avail, I doubt much. The political system laughs at the blogs. Its only when the blogs get first hand knowledge off the real real facts that you get those criminals trying to shut it down or send out their lackeys to discredit or throw cold water on the subject at hand. You believe that obvious political criminal activity could go on like this in Europe. There asses would be made shame in a court of law. The systems in Barbados is one big mess. Even the Chief Justice whom hope was kindled has now conformed to the position of a “Clown.” He is merrily playing his part in the circus act. Stuuuuuupse…Tired of this shite…In a few years time I will have enough to come home and live outside the system. Until then won’t touch base to work in there again. To blasted corrupt and well organized. And you all know that you got to either spread your legs or have political connections to excel. Bare shite.

7. SSS which part of europe u live?

8. @SSS

Your pain is understood but you have to stay the course. Bear in mind they don’t care what the Nation newspaper print either. They will laugh until…

To the yardfowls: on the campaign in 2007/8 the DLP accused the BLP of rampant corruption – so where was the evidence?

To repeat, some on this blog who spout bullshit don’t live in Barbados and if they continue to post comments as if they live here they will be exposed because it is hypocritical.

9. SSS……..exposure will wear them down, remember, the blog is not only read in Barbados but around the world, at some point in time those corrupt ministers/opposition members will not be able to do squat anywhere in the world without them being asked to leave the people’s countries, remember, Barney (muscle mary) Lynch could not even get a green card out of the US to work here, if they lived here, they would each and everyone be in prison for their thieving corrupt, lying ways.

By the way, i noticed not many people on the blog AC included, except Art, are trying to fight the exposure about Denis Lowe and 5 million dollars, imagine that, keep pulling on that thread and the whole shit will unravel.

10. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@David.

The nation-newspaper is shitety; highly contaminated, practice and master the art of sensationalizing news, and are politically contaminated thus money compromised. The cunts in the nation if there were not so involved in the consortium could be practicing proper investigative journalism and raising hell with facts that the thieving political crooks and their lackeys could not refute. The nation is a spineless news medium and their journalist, many if not all, are only interested in the look of prestige and the things that make you appear prestigious and well to do. I have first hand knowledge that most of the female photographers and reporters are nothing short of high class whores.

@…..
    To the cunt, political or otherwise, who want to know which part of Europe I live, I will tell you shortly or you can try to obtain my IP and pinpoint my exact location..the SSS don’t fear want cunt from you corrupt bitches.

@Well Well

I do not mind the yard fowls on both sides of the fence. I notice none of them do not ever comment to anything that I say. This is more than likely due to the fact that they still have a conscience and know that they are recipients of many a falling crumb from the plates of thieving ass politicians. After all truth needs no proof and we all know that to survive in Barbados and live above the poverty and high inflation lines you either have to be rich by inheritance, a returning national with enough money to build a house and a few apartments, live off of savings or receive your overseas pension every month, and last but certainly not the least, YOU WOULD HAVE TO BE A STINKING, FILTHY THIEVING ASS POLITICIAN AND LACKEY OF THE SAME. The latter type is prevalent in Barbados and enjoying the fruits of many of their ruthless spoils in the form of apartments and rental houses, vast expenses of real estate, some other form of entertainment endeavour or have real estate outside of Barbados for which many of them already obtain. Barbados is the mecca for getting rich by corruptive means and you have absolutely nothing to fear because the peasants are to cunt-hole backward or frighten or ignorant to do anything about it.

11. SSS
    “@…..
    To the cunt, political or otherwise, who want to know which part of Europe I live, I will tell you shortly or you can try to obtain my IP and pinpoint my exact location..the SSS don’t fear want cunt from you corrupt bitches.”

Calmate!!!
    NO need to get you knickers in a twist. I’m not trying to track you or find out who or where you are. I was more thinking along the lines North, South, etc but perhaps should not have gone there…

But can you blame me when YOU write stuff like this: 🙂

“I see nothing wrong with Rhianna’s outfit – Smoking hot. AC baby you see Rhianna’s shape and boobs – THAT IS ME BOO BOO!! Its just smoking. but my boobs a little bigger.”

I bet even the likes of Zoe and GP struggle with the mental imagery.

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@….

My apologies dot dot dot dot dot

But you come over as a spy. And Yes I am of the similar body contours as Rihanna. The difference is I am more tone as I weight lift a bit and engage in rigorous physical exercise. I believe a girl should look her best and feel her best hence I identify with Rihanna 100%. What you think My BOO BOO

13. SSS

I am not a spy man…I’m an “exile” like u

14. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Exile…sorry dot dot dot dot…I am not in any exile…

15. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

I’ll just say Rihanna is viewed in the UK as someone crying out for love and attention…! Europeans are only interested in Rihanna because of where she comes from and the manner in which she portrays herself…! I would be of interest to know exactly how the people of Barbados really feel about her…

16. Nobody likes a snitch. It’s something that’s engrained into Barbadians from the moment we can speak and tell tales, that the better thing to do is to stay silent. See nothing, say nothing.
    The reality, however, is that this approach must change. For too long, we’ve also been brought up with a romantic notion that much in Barbados is perfect. But in short succession we’ve been subjected to scandals in the Parliament and the press. Indeed, one of the long term shocks for me was the scale of payments to public officials.
    Until recently I’d thought that ours was a relatively clean country where bribery is concerned; that apart from the occasional MP seeking a bung or favouritism among the Freemasons, we were more or less clean. Our courts were notable for not being dominated by white-collar fraud cases; our public institutions, despite handling huge sums of money, were not seen as hotbeds of corruption.
    Law enforcers from elsewhere now suspected different. They would point out that either we were incredibly virtuous or our police and regulators were not shining lights in the right places. The Americans loved to highlight the disparity between their conviction rates and ours – something in the Bajan prosecution system was badly wrong. Now that virtually all the pillars of our society have come crashing down, with cover-ups, exposures and disasters galore, we’ve been brought to our senses.
    We need to respond accordingly. Our prosecutors clearly require better weaponry, of the sort widely used elsewhere, such as plea-bargaining.
    More than that, however, we need to promote “whistleblowing.” Our record in this area is terrible. Late in the day, is considering whether the Barbados should begin financially “incentivising” whistleblowers so that more of them come forward.
    In the US they have the False Claims Act, which enables those who tip off the authorities to receive a share of the financial penalty levied on a firm found guilty of ripping off the US government. After the financial crisis, the Americans passed another law in the Dodd-Frank Act, saying that anyone who alerts the Securities and Exchange Commission to malpractice can receive 10 to 30 per cent of whatever the SEC recovers. Last week, one person collected $14m (£8.7m) in such a case.
    I wonder if all can account for there wealth. Or can some become legally wealthier….

17. @Anthony Ward

It is all about who will bell the cat. This is our problem.

18. Thanks David,
    Enything man made can be manipulated, its called change! In answer to your responce. In the civilised world I come from, “The cat isn’t going to tie the bell around his own neck.” Someone must oppose and dislodge the keeper. Who will step forward at the risk of his or her own life and reputation to do what must be done? Who will bell the cat? Some Barbadians know the answer without being asked. And some never will.
    What about a duel citizen with those connection’s to the world?
    It’s seems that a sonic bell or device would be easier to attach to the fat cats.
    I always wondered as a child, how do death and blind people cross a road at a crossing in Barbados, they can’t without help.
    Well, if they are blind and deaf, they really shouldn’t be out crossing roads, here in Barbados, but if they do in the future then here’s how.
    You know those buttons on the electric lamps that trigger the “walk” and “don’t walk” signals? Well, bellow them in the UK or in America there is a pad that vibrates to the sound of the beeps. If they were to touch this pad, then all they would need to do would be cross the road when the feel the vibrations speed up. There are patterned curb stones at either side to help assist. Independence for the disabled,now there’s a word for the civilised.
    I think other countries are aware of what goes on here in Barbados and sooner rather than later they will take action against this or they might start to impose sanctions. Which might take decades to lift the way Barbados reacts to things nocking the country back into heavy recession. Smart move.
    If the caribbean Supreme Court where to have these clear actions that have been going on, given them on a silver platter in front of the world they would have to take action against this fat cat regime by the impending reaction of the media which would plaster every corner of the world with the story.

Regards.

19. Lemuel

Yes! And you were a fly on the wall right? You sound like lick mouth Lou!

20. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Last week on the CBC morning Call-in show,Minister Lashley, the skinny mout one, called in after a caller had said something about $40 Million being missing from the National Housing Corporation. Minister Lashley went on to say that he was putting on his “Lawyer’s hat,” in an attempt to silence other callers, which is the norm anyway with Maurine, anytime , anyone has to call on her programme and attempt to criticise the DLP administration.
    I do hope that when this is all over, that Lashley and Company. would be swapping their Lawyer’s/ Doctor’s and Bottle Washer’s hats for government issued Dodds Hats.

21. We have to really thank the DLP for its foresightedness and good judgment during this economic melt down because let’s face it is could be worse.

22. @ Dompey
    Which part of a jackass was taken to make you, Barbados is at its worse, not one of the DLP Ministers has the foresightedness to do anything, because the devil have taken control of their minds, it look like you are made from parts, that explains why your mind is melting down, the worse is coming your way, face it jackass

23. Now we are beginning to understand what inspired the events which took place in a neighbouring island on Friday July 27, 1990

24. Watchman

You’re so gullible brother. You actually fell in the web set for because I only wanted to get a reaction from some of the BLP yardfowls here but I guess you seem to be the only Jackass around the blog to take the bait.

25. The fact that the people of Barbados have no voice to the world to account for the poverty devide, is the rich control the cash, they continually enrich themselves there friends and families and the poor have no voice to world. You cannot base an economy on such a principle because eventually those who are being robbed will rebel and when they do, they take the whole state down with them.
    It’s all because of the politics of exclusion. They also have monopolized power, used that power to extract resources from the poor to enrich themselves. They manipulate policy’s and now time to cover up there’re wealth, money and documents go missing the rich open up time for themselves to cover there wealth and no one is accountable other than the poor. The fat cats wages are secure and the is no one to “bell these cats.”
    Ever thought what would happen if there was a natural disaster? Loads of aid would flow into the Island and little would get to the man in real need.
    While you bicker and make a lot of noise, the money would disappeare into off shore accounts. “Bell” these cats now and you’ll see we’re the money is…
    No transparency law, no bells. Demand action….