Barbadians love sugar and this is no secret. We are known also as the amputation capital of the world and the high incidence of non communicable diseases is also no secret. There is evidence more Barbadians are buying into good diet and exercise albeit at too sluggish a rate.

Related link: Rational Approach To Diet, Exercise

Thanks to Bentley.

198 responses to “Metabolic Syndrome: Fatty Bum Bum”

1. @ GP
    You may be right about the chemistry of sugar, however research confirms that there is a DIRECT correlation between the levels of sugar consumed in a society and the incidence of diabetes in that society.
    Similarly, there is a direct correlation between the consumption of high fructose corn syrup and obesity.
    These are statistical realities.

In the final analysis, every thing is important for successful human existence…even the devil, 🙂 … at the same time practically EVERYTHING, taken in excess, is dangerous to health.

Sugar is needed…but how much?…and at what levels does it become toxic…? And how does this vary in different individuals…?

HFCS on the other hand, is downright nasty…..

2. Bush Tea

Show us the study or studies which indicates that there is a correlation between sugar and diabetes? Beside flapping your enormous lips of course (!)

3. BT..

You are a knowledgeable chap(you are supposed to have gone to Cawmere)….can you tell me why the animal feed suppliers hype the molasses content if as we have just ascertained it has no value?

4. Does eating too much sugar cause diabetes?

For years, scientists have said “not exactly.” Eating too much of any food, including sugar, can cause you to gain weight; it’s the resulting obesity that predisposes people to Type 2 diabetes, according to the prevailing theory.

But now the results of a large epidemiological study conducted at UC San Francisco suggest that sugar may also have a direct, independent link to diabetes.

Sanjay Basu, MD, PhDSanjay Basu, MD, PhD

Researchers examined data on global sugar availability and diabetes rates from 175 countries over the past decade. After accounting for obesity and a large array of other factors, the researchers found that increased sugar in a population’s food supply was linked to higher Type 2 diabetes rates, independent of obesity rates. Their study was published Feb. 27 in PLOS ONE.

http://www.ucsf.edu/news/2013/02/13591/quantity-sugar-food-supply-linked-diabetes-rates

5. Bush Tea

From what I have read: sugar can cause obesity and obesity can possibly, increase one’s insulin level and this in turn can ultimately lead to diabetes.

6. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@Bush Tea | April 20, 2014 at 8:46 PM | WHO KNOWS ALL AND EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERYTHING
    RE @ GP
    You may be right about the chemistry of sugar, however research confirms that there is a DIRECT correlation between the levels of sugar consumed in a society and the incidence of diabetes in that society.
    Similarly, there is a direct correlation between the consumption of high fructose corn syrup and obesity.
    These are statistical realities.

NOW CAN YOU OR THE RESEARCHERS EXPLAIN THE PATHO-PHYSIOLOGY OF THESE STATISTICAL REALITIES

HOW IS FRUCTOSE OR FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP METABOLIZED

ANY JACK ASS CAN GO ON THE INTERNET AND READ BOVINE EXCREMENT AND COME IN BU TALKING ABOUT RESEARCH

I FIND IT VERY VERY AMUSING

IS THERE NOT A DIRECT correlation between the levels of ALCOHOL consumed in a society and the incidence of diabetes in that society TOO?

I WILL AWAIT YOUR ANSWER

I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW ALL THERE IS TO KNOW ABOUT EVERYTHING

SO ENLIGHTEN ME SIR, I BEG YOU

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HOW DOES ONE BECOME OBESE ANY
    EXPLAIN HOW THAT WORKS
    GO ONLINE AND READ SOME BOVINE EXCREMENT AND THEN COME AND TEACH ME HOW THAT WORKS.

IT SHOULD BE AMUSING

8. EXPLAIN ALSO WHY IS FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP DANGEROUS.

9. Bush Tea

The last paragraph in your article is quite ambiguous because the author indicates that:” The findings do not prove that sugar causes “Diabetes”, Basu emphasized, but do prove real world support for the body of previous laboratory and experimental trails that suggest that other types of foods or obesity do not. “

10. Bush Tea

That report is bull and you know it.

11. @ GP
    Bushie keeps telling you that the proof of the pudding is in the eating… Do you think it is a coincidence that the Bushman’s cup runneth over?
    Why do you always start these fights that you never win? …you done know that when Bushie is finished you will just run off feeling sorry for yourself and cussing all BU Bloggers for being “purveyors of bovine excretement 🙂 ”
    You doth protest too much…. Bushie was simply pointing out that life is MUCH more complex than simple chemical or biological processes. There are multiple other considerations – including mental, spiritual, sociological and even metaphysical – that impact on the incidence of deseases such as diabetes and obesity.

The issue that Bushie was pushing with HFCS however, is the allegation that it is an engineered addictive product designed to promote sales at the long term expense of health.

12. @ David
    Why do you feel the need to spoon feed these BU brainiacs nuh?
    Is Google only good for use as a thesaurus?
    …besides that is old news.

It must be hard for old ‘docs’ to learn new tricks – or to unlearn the old antiquated ones learnt 40 years ago….. and to keep up with the volume of research currently ongoing…

…and not to even mention the donkeys who are so retarded that they may not even be able to grasp the fact that sugar is sweet….

13. Bush Tea

Every time we consume foods high in starches, as most West Indies seems do, our pancreas shoots out a certain amount of insulin. So if we continue to consume this high starch diet consistently, and over the course of several decades, it can over work the pancreas.
    And this can render our pancreas ineffective; resulting in a residue of insulin in the bloodstream as well as protein in the urine. So in reality, consuming large amounts of starchy foods for over a long period of time, can render the pancreas ineffective or kill it completely.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Sugar is Brown
    White -sugar has more white than sugar
    White sugar is not good and need never take ,
    – TEST , take a bowl of SALT ,,,,, SMELL IT DEEP
    take a bowl of white-sugar and SMELL IT DEEP
    NOW,take a bowl of Sugar-brown and smell it deep
    now go back and smell the white-sugar , it will smell like salt

Only use sea salt , other salt use for cleaning fish of chicken ,

white-sugar is American made , We hear a tourist did not want the lemonade for the sugar-brown made the water look dirty.

take a cup of tea or coffee , sugar-brown only and get the flavor ,no milk needed, You will use less sugar-brown , you will use more white-sugar to reach a flavor,

Barbados sugar- brown look the same color of rice
    So now we buy the Sugar-brown from Guyana,

They need to be a VAT -TAXES on all food that have side effects and unhealthy ,

There is a difference between  sugar and sweet ,

15. Georgie Porgie

Try to focus on the “pancreas” because there is where the problem lies doc. And once you have ascertain a proper understanding of how the pancreas functioning, then focus all of your energies on diet and its concatenation to diabetes.

16. @Georgie Porgie April 20, 2014 at 2:26 PM…’DOMPEY YOU CONTINUE TO SHOW THAT YOU ARE A WANNABE JACK ASS ON BU…YOU ARE TOO STUPID TO BE IN ANY OF MY BIOCHEMISTRY CLASSES.’

Man GP I think that you are being too hard on dompey. BU is not a
    university classroom. Most of us are lay people and it is not so much that we want to learn biochemistry 101, or 102 etc.

We (dompey too) want to learn how to eat better, so that we can prevent diabetes and obesity etc.

You friend Elliot Douglin does a good job on a local radio station. I think the program is called “Prescription for Ppevention” and he talks lay people talk..talk that we can understand even if we did not go to HC and even if we failed chemistry.

We need some of that here on BU too.

17. Similarly, there is a direct correlation between the consumption of high fructose corn syrup and obesity.

…………………………………………………………………………………
    Have you seen the size of many of our Members of Parliament in recent, times? Big fat and broad arses, bulging guts, and truck-tyre midriffs . I don’t know if its fructose or syrup,but for sure they are sucking the sweets,while advocating a salt diet to the masses.

18. Georgie Porgie

We haven’t even start to discuss the impact hypertensive medication on our insulin levels.

19. A couple years ago GP cover allotta this shite with a presentation and a follow up … A lotta wunna din around then … Stupse, new comers can be tiring ,,,

20. George Porgie

Dompey you continue to show that you are a wannabe jack ass on BU. You are to stupid to be in any of my biochemistry classes.

Of course not Porgie… who in their right mind would want to be in a biochemistry class, taught when the donkey -cart brought the provisions to town on Saturday mornings. And the Transport Board Buses drove without any doors? NO THANKS PORGIE. I THINK I’LL PASS ON THIS ONE BROTHER.

Do you see how you’re slowly becoming one of BU bigger laughingstock, with your pseudo claim of attending medical school?

21. Bush Tea..

I asked you to assist me with understanding molasses??….like vex wid muh over SSS.

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon | April 20, 2014 at 11:20 PM |
    Re
    We want to learn how to eat better, so that we can prevent diabetes and obesity etc.

You friend Elliot Douglin does a good job on a local radio station. I think the program is called “Prescription for Ppevention” and he talks lay people talk..talk that we can understand even if we did not go to HC and even if we failed chemistry.

We need some of that here on BU too.

BUSH TEA WILL GIVE YOU ALL OF THE ABOVE
    HE KNOWS EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERYTHING
    I HAVE TO WATCH THE IPL

23. Georgie Porgie

Eating healthy cost money doc. And learning how to eat right, calls for a serious kind of commitment. And Porgie, eating too much of the right kind of food can lead to obesity and obesity can affect the insulin levels. So doc, small portion and try to avoid too much carbohydrates… you’ll save your pancreas in the long run doc but what do I know? As a matter of fact, I haven’t been to medical school.

24. DONKEY
    YOU HAVE NOT SAID ANYTHING NEW
    BUSH TEA DIDNT GO TO MEDICAL SCHOOL EITHER BUT HE STILL KNOWS EVERYTHING ABOUT MEDICINE AND BIOCHEMISTRY AND METABOLISM

DO YOU HAVE DIRECT TV?
    GET THE WILLOW CHANNEL AND WATCH CRICKET

25. Georgie Porgie

Hay! Doc, I told you last night to focus on the pancreas because therein lies the problem. But you decide to try your hands at biochemistry and jargon that is associated with it, as though we’re impressed.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DONKEY & OTHERS
    PATHOLOGY IS THE STUDY OF DISEASE
    DISEASE RESULTS WHEN ANATOMY HAS GONE WRONG,
    OR PHYSIOLOGY HAS GONE WRONG,
    OR BIOCHEMISTRY HAS GONE WRONG

DIABETES IS A BIOCHEMICAL DISEASE
    I WISH YOU COULD HAVE HEARD DR VS EVELYN SO DESCRIBE IT ON A WARD WRONG FOR HOURS AS I DID

I DONT TRY MY HAND AT BIOCHEMISTRY SIR
    I TEACH IT AND TEACH IT WELL— AND MY STUDENTS ARE IMPRESSED. THAT IS WHAT MATTERS TO ME.

WHAT I HAVE WRITTEN IS CORRECT AND IS SIMPLE BASIC BIOCHEMISTRY

NOW GO BACK TO YOUR PASTURE AND BRAY LIKE THE OTHER KNOW IT ALL JACKASS.
    THE PANCREAS IS NOT THE ONLY ORGAN IN THE BODY
    AND A RELATIVE INSULIN LACK IS NOT ALL THERE IS TO DIABETES

HAVE YOU BEEN TO A RESTAURANT ANYWHERE AND SEEN PEOPLE ONLY TAKING IN SUGAR?

27. Fake?
    Who cares! We want to see some fronts! BRAMBLES!

28. LOL Ha Ha OHHHH shiite!!! LOL @ GP
    “BUSH TEA WILL GIVE YOU ALL OF THE ABOVE
    HE KNOWS EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERYTHING
    I HAVE TO WATCH THE IPL”
    ++++++++++++
    Man GP stop getting on like a little girl do!!
    Bush tea knows it all shiite!….that is a point?

You vex because Bushie ask you a hard question…? Shiite boss…
    What sorta teacher you is though? …..no wonder you have to resort to teaching dumb Americans of the Dompey mentality…

If you was a top drawer teacher you would simply and calmly explain the correct situation, including the folly inherent in the question being posed…..but no…. You talking bout “Bushie know it all…”

So wait….even if Bushie knew it all what the hell do you want the bushman do do…..get on foolish like dompey or ac? …just to please you…?
    Use some common sense skippa.
    If Bushie claims to to one of BBE’s boys, and if BBE knows every shiite and more…..Why would it be a surprise that Bushie knows everything? ….Wuh soon from now Bushie should ALSO know every shiite AND MORE too ….Ha Ha. 🙂

Same thing happen when you and Zoe come here talking bout wunna doing some “exegesis” of chapter this and verse that…..
    …all Bushie ask wunna was why God made the Devil ……and the two of wunna start an episode of abuse and invective against the poor bushman ….. 🙁 ….almost crucified his ass…
    LOL…..and don’t even talk bout the question bout the parables….. How Jesus was bull-shitting the multitudes….. Wunna still ain’t answer that yet either….

Man watch this GP…..Bushie done asking you anything hear…!
    …just watch you cricket…and post your Power Points bozie….

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Man watch this GP…..Bushie done asking you anything hear…!

STICK TO THAT MR KNOW IT ALL! I MEAN MR BRASS BOWL.

AS DAVID WOULD SAY, YOU HAVE THE LAST WORD
    WHAT HARD QUESTION YOU ASK ME ?

I DECIDE THAT WHEN YOU COME YOU SHOULD DO THE TEACHING AND EXPLANATION. CAUSE YOU KNOW EVA TING BOUT EVA TING

I ASKED YOU TWO OR THREE SIMPLE QUESTIONS…..AND YOU STARTED YOUR USUAL AD HOMINEMS

HOW IS FRUCTOSE OR FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP METABOLIZED

IS THERE NOT A DIRECT correlation between the levels of ALCOHOL consumed in a society and the incidence of diabetes in that society TOO?

WHAT IS SO SPECIAL ABOUT FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP?
    BTW….WHEN I POST POWER POINTS… THE TEACHING IS ACCURATE AND UP TO DATE

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MoneyBrain | April 21, 2014 at 2:50 PM |
    Fake?

Who cares! We want to see some fronts! BRAMBLES!

MB WHAT YOU ARE SEEING THERE IS SUGAR

REMEMBER THE EFFECT SUGAR HAS ON CAUSING DIABETES.
    THERE IS A DIRECT CORRELATION ACCORDING TO THE RESEARCH AVAILABLE ONLINE

31. @GP
    Diabetes, slip disc, tied tongue among other ailments! Wuhlo!

To say nothing about the wife divorcing and taking ALL the $$$$$!

32. @ GP
    Boss
    If yuh don’t have answers just say so….!
    Lol
    Yuh shouting real large there doh! 🙂

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

MB
    YOU GOT IT! LOL

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUSH TEA
    I GIVE YOU THE LAST WORD……. YOU KNOW EVERYTHING
    YOU GIVE ALL THE ANSWERS
    YOU ADVANCE THE DISCUSSION

I AM DONE

35. can any of the BU doctors explained the links( if any )connected to adults diabetes and diabetics in babies……

36. The Christian network … 🙂 Look I don’ wah to believe … Ha ha ha

37. Georgie Porgie

You’re a little more ignorant than I thought doc. Just to inform your understanding doc: 2014 marks twenty- two years that I have been working in the healthcare industry. And out of those twenty -two, I have spent five in the emergency -room environment. And I haven’t any idea what pathology means? Oh! The level of your arrogance is irritating as well as repulsive doc.

38. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the cunt AC

Ahhhh there you are again. Trying to appear on to men to be smart. Pimpy political fraud. How things in the sucking business

39. @ Vincent
    Bush Tea….I asked you to assist me with understanding molasses?
    ++++++++++++
    What is to understand?
    He went to Foundation, became a lawyer and is now PM by default….. 🙂

40. Moenybrain…….you are a real old time, old school Bajan white, I have not heard any part of the female anatomy referred to as brambles since i was about 10 years old…..lol

41. WELL WELL
    YOU DONT KNOW THAT MB LIKES TO PUT HIS HEAD IN THE BRAMBLES
    HE HAS NOT BEEN ASHAMED TO ADMIT IT ON BU

42. GP……Moneybrain just can’t help show his true colors….lol

43. By the Way……from media reports coming out of the US, appears Rihanna is now posing for Playboy in the current batch of pic, that is usually the beginning of he end for showbiz people, but we shall see, there may still be some tricks left in her.

44. @WW
    Brambles aint got nothing to do with white. That terminology I picked up from my black pals in the village and school.

Doing superior work in the correct, well known “forest” is very honorable and I can honestly attest to having never been admonished by any beneficiary! lol

45. MB……you are bad, so the black dudes were incorrigible, believe it or not, i always heard Bajan white guys talk about brambles, it was their favorite word, don’t tell me that the black dudes set the stage for your expertise…lol

46. MB
    YOU LOVE TO TICKLE YOUR BALLS THRU THE SHORT LEGS
    BEFORE PLAYING IN THE “V”? MURDAH

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE BLACK BOYS HAD TO INSTRUCT YOU I “RIGHT”-EOUSNESS? MURDAH

47. IN “RIGHT”-EOUSNESS? SORRY

48. MB
    I THINK YOU IS BARE TALK
    I HEAR YOU ALWAYS NEEDED A “THIRD MAN” BECAUSE YOU COULD NOT HELP PLAYING YOUR BALLS IN “THE GULLEY”
    MURDAH

49. @GP / WW
    I thought ya did always require a 3rd man when encountering 2 fine legs and a deep gully? Aint? lol Or as dat a 3rd ARM?
    Wunna gin lead me astray wid dis whutlessness, GP I gin havto talk with your pastor hear!