Submitted by Beresford
Dennis Clarke, General Secretary (l) Walter Maloney, President (r) ...NUPW praised fulsomely by the Prime Minister ...
Dennis Clarke, NUPW General Secretary (l) Walter Maloney, President (r) …NUPW praised fulsomely by the Prime Minister …

Un-godly. Ungracious. Unfair. Frightening.

Mia Mottley’s unapologetic and piercing summing up of the political anarchy, system disorder and personal degradation engulfing Barbadians, especially in the public sector, as Government continues its job cuts could not be more appropriate.

Not lost was the symbolism of her comments and the stance of the BLP, marking the Party’s 76th anniversary as its founding as Barbados first political organisation, which fell on Monday, the date set for the DLP to conclude its ravishing of the public sector.

History will record that as the DLP razed the economic base and social planks of the country, and betrayal after betrayal led the people to the abyss, and appeasers and DLP cliques forged alliances to excuse the violent abuse of country and citizens, the BLP spoke clearly to the whittling away of economic gains, conventions and laws; exposed Government’s sand-based prescriptions, contradictions and sheer nonsense, and stood unequivocally with those being stripped of their businesses, their jobs, the services and compensation which they are due on the back of massive tax impositions and their dignity.

The ideals and imperatives that led to the founding of the party in the first place as an institution to speak for the voiceless, stand against exploitation and what was simply wrong have been held firm and could not be needed than now.

There is no other way – except any number of condemnatory terms – to characterise the DLP Government’s wanton destruction of lives and storm of confusion resulting from the improper and, in fact, lawless terminations. The Government had time to execute its cuts in a much more palatable fashion and it was repeatedly warned of the consequences of its action and approach. The widespread anguished cries now reverberating through the land on the job cuts scream that the Government’s approach is inhumane, just wrong.

That the jobs cuts will hardly have an impact on the DLP’s own stated targets provides a backdrop of mockery that impales the Government on a spear of “don’t carishness” driven by numbers only, as Prime Minister Stuart declared, without a care to the suffering of citizens.

The cries for help increase amidst studied indifference  and now strange, desperate statements from union leaders who steadfastly refuse to take any action against the Government, and now stand condemned by their inaction and praise from the same Government that, it is belatedly discovered, is “brutalising” workers.

In this topsy-turvy Barbados, where with a few salutary exceptions no one speaks out, it’s every man for himself, and deceitfulness now reigns, the question is, after years of warnings, who is fooling who?

The putrid disarray of just the last week alone this is but a small sample of the torture and torment unleashed by the DLP and the incomprehensible pompasetting in certain quarters.

The Government, the Prime Minister himself, repeatedly staked everything on no job cuts. Cuts now abound. No one knows how many people have been terminated – and how many to come.

Staff of the BTA learn of their terminations in the media – and these are not in the 3000; just as the 390 from Drainage are not.

Personal woes unfolded as workers got physically sick in the mayhem of the Barbados Revenue Authority. People locked out of offices! In Barbados! In 2014!

The same NUPW praised fulsomely by the Prime Minister for its support has said it still has not received any lists as promised or had any response to its proposals – all cited as reasons for its inaction on behalf of its workers. The NUPW now condemns the DLP’s action as “treating people like cattle”, “in the worst possible way”,  ” wrong”, “downright cruel and unreasonable”, “inhumane”, “chaotic” and “sometimes a fiasco”.

Well thank you, NUPW!

But the NUPW still aint doing nothing!

People working for years in established posts have to revert, against the law, which states they should be appointed after acting in an established post for three years. The Government, which brought in the Employment Rights Act is now transgressing its own law.

The loss in income is wreaking havoc with people’s lives, suddenly faced with great reductions in salaries, rising taxes and the same money commitments.

Fifty-eight (58) workers at the Beautify Barbados programme sent home – 42 on holiday terminated by letters in the mail. No monies paid. All against a storyline that a new contract for the work has been given to a rich individual.

There’s the instance of the young lady who has been working for years and was given a job letter to start a new assignment on Monday, 31 March and while on the job, on the first day, given another letter abolishing the position.

The picking and choosing continues – the NUPW got offers for 7 (wow!) – to the new Barbados Revenue Authority. Like the few taken back at Transport Board and the political interference and juggling across the board. Talk about transparency!

Dennis Lowe, he of the Drainage Unit, grandstands that anyone sent home under him will be treated well. “Well” means the 390 in NEEP sent home on the last day of last year without a moment’s notice, taken and given hamcutters and soup, and up to a week ago not a cent from Government. This is the same Minister in charge of Beautify Barbados and talking about not supporting the tenet of last in first out. Of course not -the last in would be his people!

UWI announced the DLP instituted fees. From $7 000 to $18 000. There goes the dreams of children of parents sent home.

No facilities, as again promised, have been put in place for students to borrow money as promised. Meanwhile the DLP owes UWI $135 million, admissions down and students are already dropping out in a situation described as “catastrophic”.

Gasoline goes up by 24 cents a litre – almost $1 a gallon more – and Jones floats a new tax, another $80 million. A $270 million sugar factory for less than 20 000 tonnes of canes and the Minister does not meet with farmers despite a year of requests. The list of out of stock drugs moves from 40 to 76. White Hill and Mt. All communities continue their disappearing act down hillsides while a Government does nothing. And like so much else, the Sayes Court road, all 1000 metres of it, started in a huff to impress for elections remains a cavernous health hazard, lies abandoned for months.

There is no end to the madness and farce.

The correctness of Mia’s and the BLP’s actions, is the ongoing confirmation that the DLP is mind-boggling in  its tenacity, exultant even, to be adrift and has absolutely no intention of changing course.

The ultimate burden of proof is the woeful cries of the people of Barbados for decent treatment and a change to their circumstances and the hourly reports of a country coming apart at the seams.

Dale Marshall’s offer of his law firm’s competence to represent workers is an example of the BLP’s unflinching position to support the people of Barbados.

The cries of the unfortunate and those being unfaired must be heeded.

UPCOMING EVENTS

The BLP’s annual Family Day & Picnic will be held on  National Heroes Day, Monday April 28, 2014, at the East Coast Road, Ermie Bourne Highway, St. Andrew.

74 responses to “Anguish in the Land – Who Fooling Who?”

1. @DLP (formerly CBC) TV “let me reduce it to one sentence……This DLP govt will go down in history as the worst government in the history of Barbados at least since independence.”

Thanks man!!!!!!!!!!

2. @David April 5, 2014 at 8:02 PM “Correction, Marshall went to Waterford.”

It figures.

3. Simple Simeon

How could you in good conscience even suggest that the DLP government is the worse government, the island of Barbados have ever seen? When the political process is a continuum. And as the old people used say’ ” You just live a little brother.”

You should never use an absolute to describe any particular situation; always stay in the middle- ground. Because you might just have to eat your words one day. Unless you’re talking about apodictic phenomena like God and death.

4. Code Name Octopussy Avatar
    Code Name Octopussy

Many have said that this DLP Government is the worst ever but can they show in what ways.

The simple fact of the matter is that some Politicians are thieves- stealing people’s lands., money, time and other possessions and in so doing tend to be corrupt , clannish and covetous, egotistic, self centered and discriminatory. A lot of them just use the people to achieve dubious personal ends.

The people themselves have been lulled into a sense of dependency and they wait on the Politicos for handouts and favours of whatever kind. They also wait to be dictated to by the Politicos when they should be dictating to the Politicos. Similar situation to Union leaders such as Clarke and Baloney better called –Fart and Baloney-The two go together anyhow. They tell me that Clarke goes off and does his thing without reference to the members -agreeing to such things as wage freezes for the quid pro quo of no layoffs. The real issue here is the people who allow Clarke and other leaders to do as they please. One suspects that the changing demographic lends to the situation but crucially important is a lack of fight from the people themselves.

So Politicos and union bosses in Barbados are allowed to get away with nonsense and they are behaving as though they are Gods. The people seem unwilling or scared to take matters in their own hands much unlike the suffering persons of yesteryear.

Is the present DLP Government the worst ever ? The question remains and only time will tell. And what do they say about time ?

5. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

The worst Barbados Government ever cannot be extended into the future. So it has to be from Colonial times up to the present.

I agree totally that there was no other Government between 1960 and now which has been worst in any material respect of governance than this one. In fact, it will be very difficult for any future government here to approach this one in any objective measure of bad government in Barbados.

The problem has been top leadership. David Thompson was the worst PM in his short time at the helm until his death. Freundel Stuart has surpassed him totally in abysmal leadership.

With different leadership we would not be in this present dilemma. I wonder when they will see that the first step in doing better will be to have Stuart remove himself. CS has some qualities that might still make him a reasonable Minister in another Ministry and should remain a Minister if the DLP retains the Government.

But FS needs to go from Government leadership totally asap.

6. I read “Anguish in the Land – Who Fooling Who?” Submitted by Beresford – and political bias aside, I found it pulled a lot of the missing info together, in short as an overseas reader, I found it very informative. The first comment from Simple Simon | April 5, 2014 at 5:26 PM just highlights everything that is driving Barbados over the precipice and into financial oblivion.

Seem to me that you should all be worrying more about where the country will be in twelve months, and less about who went to school where.

7. @David April 6, 2014 at 12:58 PM |

We have been hearing more and more government minsters and others suggesting that some forces in Barbados have been desuading foreign investors from investing in Barbados”……………………………

This is just a talking point from this inept incompetent government. To cover up their shambolic handling of this economy, this has been their refrain. Forces in Barbados do not have to tell any investor a word to dissuade them from investing a penny here, they just have to go to Standards and Poors, Moody’s or the IMF.

So who dissuaded people on the world market from investing in the billion dollar bond issue late last year and to early this year that the Stinkliar and governor had to withdraw because no one would buy the bonds? What forces were up there telling people do not buy, pass by!

Do not be fooled by the garbage coming out this administration, they have to blame someone for their incompetency!

But wait what happen then to the bonds that BNS were to float to help UWI and were told by the MOF and the governor to hold back?

8. @ dopey donkey or dompey or whatever you call yourself

If your comprehension skills were any good you would have realised that it was not Simple Simon who claimed that this was the worst party ever in government. It was another poster who made the claim and SS was only quoting that poster. But, it seems that your comprehenion skills as well as your written English skills leave a lot to be desired. I really wish you would improve on these skills before burdening us with your tiresome comments.

9. Georgie Porgie Avatar

DE HOOD SIR

IF YOU HAD THE PRIVILEGE TO TEACH MORONS LIKE DOMPEY THE DONKEY AT ST LEONARDS AS I DID IN 74 YOU WOULD UNDERSTAND.

HE THEN WENT AND GOT A POOR EDUCATION IN THE USA, AND NOW BELOVES THAT HE IS A STELLAR SCHOLAR

10. De hood

De hood, or whatever alias you’re masquerading behind now. So I’ve made a few grammatical mistakes. BIG DEAL. NOW RUN ALONE WITH YOUR BROWNY POINTS. MAN PISS OFF.

11. @GP
    Go easy pun Domps, he knows not what he writteth at all times BUT must be commended for trying. Lets exempt him from further persecution.

12. You BU bullies seem to like to beat up on somebody at times -LOL
    You have chosen Dompey this time around

Man Give the man a break nuh !

13. @ Yagga

Hey, I’m not so concerned about the simple primay-level errors the dopey makes, it is when he tries to HOOD-wink us that he is the fount of all knowledge that he causes me to extend my eyebrows skywards.

@ G P

Hi Doc, its good to see you still dropping in here now and then. I always enjoy your discourses on medical issues as well as those of a spiritual nature even though, as you know, we don’t always see eye to eye on the latter. Still in charge of your med school?

14. @ Yagga Rowe,

Dompey is indulging in self flagellation by continuing to write tripe on BU.

The “BU bullies” will tolerate most things but when a pseudo-Intellectual uses “big words” incorrectly licks will share.

A good communicator does not need to indulge in sesquipedalian terminology that obfuscates an educational deficiency.

There you go dompey. Proof positive that anyone can write shiite regardless of where they went to school.

15. @Hants
    Somewhat Gobblesque!

Gobbles would be very proud.

16. @ MoneyBrain,

School days were “fun” in and out of the classroom.

17. @Hants
    So much sport, I never thought of seriously studying!

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants & Moneybrain
    Re Gobbles
    I recall one day Gobbles decided to keep in this class for lunch, so when the bell rang, Gobbles declared…….
    THE TINKLING APPELLATION OF THE SONOROUS METAL INDICATES THAT YOUR PERIOD OF NOURISHMENT HAS ARRIVED; BUT YE SHALL BE DEPRIVED OF IT. SO SUBSIDE.

On another day he addressed a boy thus:-

YOUNG LAD. ASSUME THE PERPENDICULAR; AND IN THAT POSTURE ADVANCE TO YON VENDOR OF EFFERVESCENT WATERS AND PURCHASE ME THE SMALLEST MEMBER OF THE COCA COLA FAMILY.

Once when we were in lower sixth doing Use of English, the bell rang. One chap sung out HEAVENS TO DING DONG ( we were into Snagglepus then)

19. Caller on Brasstacks is correct
    DLP supporters should tell their ministers that what they are doing is wrong !-re education and I might add –all the other things
    Why are Bjans accepting nonsense from these people
    Yes Arthur is blaming everybody else
    Caller is right
    He is real true Barbadian
    He supported the DLP of the past but cant support these clowns now

20. @GP

SWEEEEETTT memories.
    Excellent recall.

Not smallest member but “peasant sized” member.

21. A certain future coalitional government of Barbados and of which the PDC will be a part shall ABOLISH INTEREST RATES in this country.

22. A good communicator does not need to indulge in sesquipedalian terminology that obfuscates an educational deficiency.

LOL -LOL-LOL -LOL

23. @Yagga Rowe | April 7, 2014 at 1:32 PM |

Caller on Brasstacks is correct
    DLP supporters should tell their ministers that what they are doing is wrong !-re education and I might add –all the other things……….

Yagga,

You are right……………I thought that was one of the best presentations on Brasstacks today. I really think that Kellman should have been one of the government workers who should have been retrenched. He is so dumb and clearly has nothing much to do that he has time to call a call in programme. The dead king was really right about him.

No wonder this country is up the brown street!

24. i suspect that there are more persons like him just waiting for the opportune time
    Barbados needs to be saved
    Martyrs needed
    Estwick has receded
    Reputation depleted
    Shite from Mout secreted
    Proposal – decapitated