Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler suggested during the 2014 Estimates Debate that Opposition Leader Mia Mottley has allowed her political soul to be host for “two political germs”. Sinckler has become known for his rumshop political lexicon but did he go too far or should his vitriol be regarded as part of the cut and thrust of politics?
Chris Sinckler:Political Germs Hosted by Queen Bee
188 responses to “Chris Sinckler:Political Germs Hosted by Queen Bee”
-
@David | March 30, 2014 at 9:28 AM “Should the government create x dollars to fund party campaigns and remove the influence of deep pockets?”
No, no, no, David.
If ya tek up de tax payers money and give it to the politicians and their yard fouls, as sure as there is a God in heaven (ok Miller etc., stay offa my case) some of the politicians and their yardies will t’eif the money.
Make the parties do their own fund raising.
Pass a law (and enforce it) that no party is permitted to take more than $1,000 a year (cash, goods or services) from an individual or company.
-
WTF do politicians do anyhow except talk shite in Parliament.
Mek dem go out and do real , real fundraising. Ask Ms. Jones for $25, and Herbert in the rumshop for $10, and the good sisters in the churches for $50 a piece.
I hear that the average contribution to Obama’s campaign was $25. And he went to a lotta, lotta churches, communities etc., to beg fa dat.
We need to mek we politicians do the same.
Mek dem slap tar.
Mek dem get hot and sweaty doing fundraising.
Mek dem work,
-
“I remain a supporter of the DLP who will remain in the “freezer” in a glass house and continue pelting bout big rocks.”
Your posts a fairly sensible person you are. I cannot understand for the life of me why in this day and age you choose to align yourself to a particular political entity for good or ill and the same goes for those on the other side as well.
-
It is not your computer or Worpress it is you you Jezzebel you.
-
I hope David will answer you. Meanwhile, in one sense off subject, may I ask you about this – and Dompey if he’s around – or anyone for that matter.
On several occasions this week in the Nation reference has been made to the new fee structure at UWI. Thus the rate for law students is c$9000 annually. It is also stated that students will pay 20% of the economic cost.
First question – am I right in thinking that (say) the $9000 is the 20% – of an economic cost of $45,000 annually?
Second question – if so, who scrutinizes what the economic cost is said to be, said to be by UWI I assume. So, eg, does the economic cost include a factor for buildings and maintenance which were never necessary in the first place?
Third question – won’t this (yet again) lead to falling standards since Faculties will have to lower their admission requirements yet again (as with the ‘graduate in every household’ policy) to attract students?
Fourth question – doesn’t this mean that the UWI administration is doubly responsible for falling standards and is now identifying an ‘economic cost’ to justify the new fee system which it must itself carry responsibility for by reason of its earlier open door (and other spendthrift) policies and irrespective of this Government’s ability to pay? Or, to put it another way, is the UWI artificially inflating an economic cost to cover the debts it incurred through its own mismanagement?
You will understand that I am not against students paying fees and so am not politicking.
-
david stop lying……..it is not me,,,,,,,, the fact is that this have been going on for weeks ,, why me how can it be me,,,, when all other computers used by my associates are not having the same problem needless to say there are not involved in the the political wranglings of barbados …… but i did get permission by used of their computers or cell phones to check the deviations ..and surprise ..wonders of all wonders,,the voting system is working on their cell phones or computers while mind is turned off, david u have become the biggest yardfowl or political germ of all time now using a BU voting system to rigg and shut out bloggers whose response is unfavourable to the blp and shut out those bloggers who are in supportative of the dlp …….shame on you david.. you DIRTY BIrd……… PHEW.
-
You are a liar!
-
DAVID u can call me the liar all u want,,,,,,u have access to technology that can deceive ! infiltrate and corrupt,,,,,,,,most likely u have fallen into the trap of any one of them……..swimming in a minefield with political yardfowls and using the power of the media to scapegoat and maligned others,,,a couple weeks ago i warned YOU of such a danger ,,,,,,,,
-
You have a lot in common with Mark Fenty, anything you start BU is prepared to finish especially when you are prepared to hurl accusations which are malicious.
-
Might ac’s difficulty relate to the way her computer is or is not working? Can ac succeed in voting for herself? She attracts some votes that’s for sure so it’s not all one way. Meanwhile I am quite happy to place votes on her behalf – errrr – whenever a BLP-ite opens his mouth if that is her wish. In fact, it could be fun.
-
ross …as far as the voting is comcerned ,,, i have taken it for what it is worth another side show……….however i became suspicious at the onesided rating highly favourable to one group which sent up a red flag warning……..then lol and behold on numerous occasion i find that the system is turned off via my computer i checked with some people in the technology field and they confirmed a level of manipulation coming from the website …. right now the system is turned off again…about fifteen minutes ago it was turned on…….the friends cell phone is now on bu underground and the rating system is on….it has nothing to do with my computer but a blatant attempt of suppression…… btw the votes do not mean( jack) to me just the basic principle of “fairplay ” for all ….
-
Again you are a liar just like that time you commented you travelled to St. Lucia. You like Mark Fenty are liars among other things you have in common.
-
now look at your defense calling me a liar…when in one of your earlier post you all but confirmed what i said is true when you referred to a moniker jezzebell……a moniker which i infrequently used to get at the heart of the problem………….having said that jezzebell was allow access until u decided to to throw those comments in spasm….. in the meanwhile ac moniker was giving access at all times but shut out of the voting sytem until present…..
-
It is particularly amazing to read this thread and see commenters make suggestions to fix a problem that does not really exists. They are calling for the introduction of laws to regulate campaign financing as though there are not more than enough laws already.
Firstly, the Representation of the People Act only allows a candidate to spend a maximum of $10 per elector in each constituency. For example, if there are 6,000 registered voters in a constituency, the candidate is only allowed to spend a maximum of $60,000.
Also, the candidate is required by law to declare all campaign contributions, plus the donor must file a document stating the amount of the donation.
The problem is not that there are no laws to regulate campaign financing, as a matter of fact there are too many: the problem is that the candidates routinely break the law by lying on their election returns.
I went to the Registration Department and paid my four dollars to obtain a copy of Sinckler’s return for the last election. That return was a massive work of fiction. According the return he got no donations from anyone, not even the party, to fund his campaign; in addition, he did not have a campaign centre east of the St. Stephen’s Church and that office did not have a phone; he did not have a single poster; and there was no national meetings in his constituency.
That work of fiction was supposed to be vetted by the Supervisor of Elections who apparently did not see any of those glaring omissions.
The laws are there but they are observed in the breach and the public officers, who have responsibility for enforcing the rules, just pretend to be doing their jobs.
Put simply, the electoral system in this country is replete with fraud that is perpetrated by people who eventually refer to themselves as the Honourable or the Right Honourable member. JOKE!!
-
David; I’ve also noticed that sometimes the blog does not accept votes but it seemed to me that it was an intermittent problem, not associated with topic or poster or support of one side or another, or with any other of ac’s concerns. If one was determined to vote on a particular post one just had to come back to the post later. Also, the problem seems to have been associated more with IE than Firefox or Chrome. Its never happened to me with Chrome. Perhaps you could clear the air by explaining why it happens as I think there might be a smidgin of validity in ac’s concerns.
-
are-we’s analysis seems to make sense to me. The main issue may well entail reassurance, something which perhaps should already have been forthcoming.
-
Caswell
Well done you. BU should be very grateful to you.
-
@ ac | March 30, 2014 at 4:59 PM |
Even your computer seems to have picked up the duplicitous virus lying undercover like the Ebola.
Tell David you can’t help being a pathological liar because you have been infected by a Premier virus called Mr. Integrity who never promised anything to anybody prior to the general elections.
Is he going to keep his promise to rid the public service by the additional 1,300 parasites (as he deemed them) due by tomorrow? Or will the timetable listing the schedule of promises to the IMF germ killing machine be broken again?Ac, do you know who is responsible for silencing the erstwhile loquacious germ called Frank Alleyne? Has he also been ‘wiped’ from the dirty slate of economic advisors to the damned lying party forming the current degenerate administration?
PS: Why not tell Stinkliar the holder of a PhD in the art of C S (you know what C S stands for from the teaching video that made the rounds) to lend naïve MAM a “D” can full of ‘green-verbs’ to rid her of the two pests about to piss on her political parade?
-
@Are-we-there-yet
Will do nothing of the sort, ac has been patrolling BU long enough to know different browsers behave differently not only as it affects BU but other websites. For ac to accuse BU of being underhanded without first posing the issue as a genuine concern exposed her as a combative jackass.
-
@ are-we-there-yet? wrote “the problem seems to have been associated more with IE than Firefox or Chrome.”
There are a number of reasons why the voting may not work but the blog works better for me using Firefox and Chrome on my desktop and chrome on my Samsung tablet.
IE has not worked well for me.
-
not at all ! what is being suggest is inconsistent because all the different browers suggested i have used to test the site and they have experienced the same fate on occasion…..nothing anyone says would convince me that there was a blatant and boldfaced attempt to rig the voting by BU,,,, hence you see a highly numerical rated preference to the BLP……never have i ever seen such onesided voting until recently…… david you have been caught ,, nothing is wrong with my computer or browser,,that i can swear by. ,the other clue is when i changed my moniker the system worked fine until it was realise the comments were coming from me and thrown into spasm….i have no need to lie but when one preaches integrity and transparency…..make sure the horse they are riding does not wear blinders, ,
-
AC……..you are sinking to a new low, that is really not the way to go about the new campaign, you see, much more will come out to embarrass the DLP, but you would have already played that card……..lol
-
Caswell……thanks for the enlightenment, the campaign financing laws do exist in Barbados but neither DLP/BLP has ever adhered to them, the politicians, most of whom are lawyers, are breaking the island’s laws therefore they are as much parasites to the people in Barbados as are their parasitic political financiers.
-
now that i have gotten that off my hairy chest… i would proceed to say what i belive was a very prudent and timely comment by sincklair given the not so healthy politice climate the country is living under…only fair to say that embedded in his comment was a warning to an unsuspectible audience who should be on the look out for a virus that can cat spraddle a barbados economy with extended fangs hell bent on bringing down the govt,, hence we have political pundits like george belle zealously exercising his freddom of speech…in a most amusing format ,,,peppered with titillating nuances hinting on ways to bring down a govt that was democratically voted and assigned by the barbadian people ….this ongoing witch hunt must be made known to all and sincklair should have gone further in revealing the obvious,,,,would not be surprised if the goodly DR. estwick was not subliminally infected,
-
@ WELL WELLL”…………
where the hell did you now come from…….do you know what is going on here U OLD FOOL…..
-
AC……you are the fool, download Firefox, it’s free and stop making yourself look computer illiterate.
-
@Caswell
We have laws and where does it get us? What we are calling for is reform because the existing laws if applied and enforced may not be relevant to the times.
-
@ WELL WELL i have firefox……jackass……internet explore and u can name all i have and the same problem occur ,,,,,hence nincoompoop ..david words suggest it was not my computer taken from the horses mouth…….
David | March 30, 2014 at 3:23 PM |
It is not your computer or Worpress it is you you Jezzebel you.
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
now nincoompoop explain that comment……..firefox my ass,,,,,, i have a very good working computer,,,,,not a piece of cheap junk……...
-
The call for campaign finance reform is misplaced. On the whole, we have a comprehensive set of electoral laws that are more than adequate for the purpose. The problem is enforcement. But here is the problem: the people who are supposed to enforce the laws can only be promoted if the Prime Minister approves.
-
@Caswell
You have made the point even more forcefully that we need reform which separates appointments from political interference.
-
@ ac | March 30, 2014 at 6:29 PM |
“….i belive was a very prudent and timely comment by sincklair given the not so healthy politice climate the country is living under…only fair to say that embedded in his comment was a warning to an unsuspectible audience who should be on the look out for a virus that can cat spraddle a barbados economy with extended fangs hell bent on bringing down the govt..”So who would be doing the “cat spraddling”? The CLICO bald pooch cat called the Fowler? The foul-mouth boy Stinkliar has serious concerns with cats. Maybe his dog is not up to scratch and has a bad case of distemper.
If Yeswick was an oily pussycat from UAE instead of a neutered pit-bull from the Brereton cane-ground the classless gorilla who fancies himself as a bully in “feline categorization” would have to take a backseat and walk down Bay Street with his lying ass exposed.
-
Thanks David. I have been crying in the wilderness for years about political interference in the recruitment and promotion of public servants. Rather than do anything about the problem politicians been dismantling the Public Service only to replace it with a series of statutory boards which are controlled by ministers.
-
AC……….you still can’t stop the truth from coming you, go sleep along with your computer, you are either using google or firefox, i am sure you don’t have both running at the same time……like you, something is mentally wrong with your computer….lol
-
@Caswell
Well we have now have the Cultural Industries Commission, the Barbados Tourism Inc etc, we amalgamate to BRA but offset gains by establishing others.
-
Caswell
If there is such fraud in the political process in Barbados, then perhaps there ought and must be an independent commission comprisining of members of both parties. Who will be elected to exercise oversight over the political process. Or rather an independent commission comprising of members of citizenry; reflecting hierarchical structure of society. Of course a codes of ethics will be the guide use to address the current fraudulent practices that afflicts the political process. -
ac is the computer that is running a jackass os
-
Oh dear wunna back off AC please….she just got some demons working her computer. AC please do not accuse David for your computer problems. AC check under the desk and around yuh room fuh de culprits. I got a computer to lend yuh if yuh want. You is still my frend.
-
Well Well
I see nothing ignoble in the admission of computer illiteracy. It’s a condition which afflicts people of a certain age but usually men…..and, yes, it afflicts me – the rest is working OK though so don’t worry. Of course, if you want a younger man, dear Lawson is around somewhere…..lurking..
-
Why doesn’t de donkey stop braying? Caswell is speaking the TRUTH about the sordid state of the electoral system and enforcement of laws that govern it.
I am just tired of watching these elected monkeys parading and jumping from pillar to post pretending to solve this island’s economic woes.
-
Dompey
Yes….I suppose like an arch-blogger to ensure fair play.
-
David, perhaps, I am wrong when I express the view that the laws which governs the conduct of the members of parliament, aren’t at the root of the problem, but the enforcement of those laws I presume? A law not properly enforced is of no better value than an antiquated one which has out lived its intended purpose.
-
not surprising the reaction coming from those who have not been experiencing the level of annoyance and childishish display from BU,,, i was expecting the negative reactions however the problem seemingly in a few short hours and yes still using the same browser that i used for a number of years without having the recurring problem ,, hence no more demons or germs to blame for inflitration, of my computer,, thanks bu david,,after all you were right it was not my computer neither was it the browser,,,,,,,,,who knows what evil lurks in the hearts of man or woman ,,,,,,,,,,,,further monitoring if need hopefully *(not) would not be needed,,,,,,
-
Haha so ac is also “JEZZEBEL”. How fitting!!!
-
Still got some holy water….will travel.
-
@Robert Ross
re your question(s) on the UWI fee structure. I noticed that in this week’s UWI announcement, in inverted commas, reference is made to Government’s new policy of students paying 20% of the cost of the academic program as tuition fees. However on review of the actual written budget statement the proportion of 20% is not stated! Mr Sinckler did state that tuition fees would be imposed, that the Government would pay the economic cost and he did quote the tuition fees for the 2013/14 academic year as given by UWI. So where did this “20%” come from?
-
Ping Pong
Dunno. Beckles is on TV at this moment….re tuition fees and economic cost.
-
I just became Saiieri by writing Salieri instead of Robert Ross. Please take note if Salieri appears again. It may or may not be me.
-
Ping Pong….or anyone
Though I was travelling between rooms, I had the sense that the great man was saying that ‘economic cost’ was more a matter of impression and guesswork than hard evidence which could clearly be quantified and justified. Is this right?
Moreover – and this clearly – he blames everything on government and takes no personal responsibility.
Salieri wrote ‘gee’ but the remark has now disappeared.????? -
Will UWI Cave Hill survive? Prof Beckles expects a 60% drop in new Barbadian students, a 20% drop in new Caribbean students and a reduction in the number of continuing students!
-
ac,
Stick to arguing with David, I am enjoying this thread! You cannot defend the Stinkliar! This is sweet!