210 responses to “What is it About the Tragedy of Slavery That Provokes Top Billing (12 Years a Slave)”

1. @ac

It is not about Blacks being allowed but more about how do we as Blacks mobilize to take our place on merit.

@Ross

You are right, BU is not a big fan of homogenuity.

2. AC……….i really don’t want to get into it with you, but how higher can any black person in Barbados go from PM, AG, CJ, (GG don’t count, he’s just a messenger for buckingham palace), you see this is where we don’t see eye to eye,.

Blacks are the leaders in Barbados, why they don’t like to act like they are is quite beyond me, don’t ;blame that on whitey, your problems sometimes lie in the fact that you are unable to compartmentalize issues. If you want to look like you were born with straight red or blonde hair, fine, but don’t blame whitey cause you can’t tell the difference and don’t like yourself.

As i said, the gardener in buckingham palace and all the pedophiles in England got those pimp tiltes, sir, dame, lord, etc. etc. that should tell the black leaders in Barbados something, i can hope they recognize it someday.

3. “it is obvious that you have a neurotic disdain bordering on an inferiorty complex for people of color who are trapped having to live in a world forcing them to make at times choices based on survival.”

LOLL AC you have me laughing my tail off. And you sound really serious too. What does fake hair have to do survival choices? Hair to eat or Hare to eat? ROFL

4. @ WW
    Don’t you think it’s time you et al free your minds from the mental slaverly where you have banished them? Take a leaf from the book of the Jewish people who themseves were enslaved for hundreds of years at one time or another and they were yet able to rise above it all and press on and succeed in life and rebuild a great nation. They did not allow their minds to trapped in the past when they were o nce more free. They were able to surge ahead and puteir hard-fought for freedom to work and throw off the physical and mental shackles of their enslavement.

5. De Hood ..the BIG difference with what you have just stated is that the Jews are still waiting on their Massiah and that the Black slaves were given a Jew for a God!

6. LOL @ IG246

7. @ Islandgal
    What does fake hair have to do survival choices?
    Perhaps if you saw ac without the donkey hair you would understand…. Ha Ha
    …she had um on so long now that it has taken root – and given her a donkey brain…. 🙂

@ Ross
    ….Bushie does haffa hide from the lotta girls…. :). Too much choice…
    Islandgal has been the only holdout to date….but by Cropover she will come around…. 🙂

8. @ David- BU

Thanks for the update re Dr. Sparman, Dave.

9. de hood…… i don’t know how you view the present jews, but they are the most murderous, greedy group of people on the earth today, most of them anyway, i don’t think blacks want to immolate that crowd.

In saying that, I believe it would help for the affected blacks to go far beyond the 14th century, roll it back, as i said previously, the 4th-8th century so as to find themselves and where they originated, the great people the once were and could be again, i am sure you will agree the race is lost in the mixup that was created for them, no sense going around in circles.

10. @ WW

Why do you suggestsuggest that ”the race is lostlost in the mix-up that was created for them”? Explain. BTW, I personally feel that if we are all travellers on the same boat should we not all pitch in to help each other keep the boat steady as we face the storms of life? Failing that, perhaps we may all perish if the boat gets swamped in any particular storm.

11. De Hood………obviously you live a very sheltered life where no one has ever showed you any time of racism in a country where you make up the majority, not the minority. you see nothing wrong if blacks hate their skin color, hair texture and just dislike the sight of each other but will feel more comfortable among a group of ligther skinned, melanin poor persons, as one person said “he/she would buy their way out of the black race if they could” so tell me de hood, how do you see that group of people keeping the boat steady as they face the storms of life…..as a matter of fact, where is the boat?

12. Well Well

‘Follow the script…most do some don’t.’ You got that right…it’s why some of us get into so much trouble on BU.

13. @ WW

According to BAFBFP, I think it impertinent for to to ask that question. LOL

14. Ross………..i thought you had abandoned me…lol

de hood…….lol

15. @WW

Ok, I yield. I realise that I was not fully following the point
    you were putting forward. But tell me, why is it, according to your comment, why would anyone harbour such derogatory thoughts or feelings towards their own?

16. de hood……..the remnants of a damaged psyche is one answer without having to resort to the long history of enslaved people, adverse effects manifesting in generation after generation, no counseling has ever been made available, the problem will not go away unless the people become mentally strong, either through self-healing or counselling….of course it’s not in the best interest of the greedy for all of this to happen.

17. OF course one would not expect YOU island gal to understand the diiffering transformation blacks have to make to be inclusive ..rather it be “hair extensions” or nails or clothing ..Yes i also mention the clothes that we wear .. the clothes thatblacks are wearing including YOU are not reminiscent of african attire ..however we choose to wear them ..why not “islandgal” use the same rebelious neurotic attitude …why only single out what YOU belives distant blacks from their roots or heritage

18. AC when you bleach your skin, straighten your nose, dye your hair blonde, wear fake long hair and straighten your hair like mine is, we are all guilty to some degree of not being comfortable in our own skin and socialized into believing that is the way for us to be beautiful. That is the point I am trying to make.

19. @islandgal

There is merit in your view. At which point is it about ‘style’ over a lack of identity.

20. Good question David and a difficult one to answer. When style despises a natural look in favour of a fake look is the best I can do to answer the question. When one is comfortable with both and not afraid to go back and forth. BUT when style keeps the origins purposely hidden that is when lack of identity can be the case.

21. Look island you are over exaggerating to make apoint…not all blacks fit into that catergory maybe a ver very small percentage but in general the views that YOu have taken over all is dismissive of the man hurdles blacks have to overcome to be inclusive in a white society one of which is transformation

22. @islandgal

Would be interesting to do some research to establish the countries responsible for importing the donkey hair. From casual observation it does not appear that Caucasions and those of the Mongoloid race are into fake stuff to compare with negroes. Of true then there is the qiestion to be asked, kinky hair?

23. @ac

ac in case you have not noticed ……. Barbados in no stretch of the imagination can be classified as a ”white” society. So why do you say that folk of African descent need to do all these things to ”fit in to a white socety”? The few lingering mulattoes living in Barbados and passing for ”bajan white”would have a hard case to prove that claim elsewhere. Lol…… Capiche?

24. de hood……and therein lies the problem, black majority bajans in Barbados categorizes Barbados as a white society, ask AC, i could not make that up if i tried….seriously, do a survey and you will freak out.

25. @WW

In that case all I can say is that they seem to have a very fertile, wild imginastion, Well Well.

26. Apologies, that should be imagination. This machin seems to want to second guess wht I am trying to type.

27. David this is my take. Caucasians are into extensions to create length and fullness especially those in Hollywood. In the early years there was very little knowledge published about Black hair care and products and many black women felt that straight hair was easier to maintain. The pressing comb was the forerunner to the chemical straightener. The Black woman had been called picky head, nappy head and to have long hair was the desire by many. The hairstyles that were published were mainly for white people and many black women wanted to be fashionable copied those styles like the finger waves, the chignon and the French roll etc.

In the sixties when the Hippy movement was in full swing it was the era for a more natural being and free love. Long hair for Caucasians and Afros for the Negroes. The Afro was also symbolic for the militants like Angela Davis and great musicians like Jimmy Hendricks. Every black person sported Afros and waved the peace sign to the consternation of the older Negroes. The black man was into being black and proud.

Then in the late 70’s the African braids were creeping in and was the rage for many years influencing many Caucasians like Bo Derek. That was a crossover style that some white women adopted for some time. Black women reverted to straightening their hair and copying styles like the Bobs, the wedge cut, the pixie look made popular by the media advertizing cosmetics and perfumes. Remember the perfume Charlie? The Bob was the model’s choice of hair style. Television was the main media that swayed many to want to be like Charlie’s Angels the perfume was named after. Television had very few Black actors and those few looked nearly white. Film makers had very few parts for Blacks, some dark skinned actors like Sydney Poitier and Cicely Tyson were outstanding in their trade. It was easier to make white films with a few token Blacks that were maids or pimps.

Then the music industry started making videos featuring artists performing. The light skinned Black artist were carefully chosen not to scare off the white audiences in order to sell their music to them. Artists that were not too dark skinned and had long flowing hair or Hispanic looking was considered more marketable than the ethnically looking artists. If Aretha Franklyn and Nat Cole were to make their debut today I would hardly think they would have had the same success they had in their day.

The fans and followers were being subliminally brainwashed to believe that success looked light skinned and long hair. Hollywood and Music Industry were using extensions and weaves so why not their audience. If it is ok for them then it is ok for the general population. When people like Michael Jackson would attempt to change his race people thought that was acceptable.

Yes we live in a white dominated world however if in the 60’s we were able to discover and become proud people something went wrong somewhere to be in this state today. Black people are very gullible and will spend thousands on themselves to become more beautiful for their mates. Those mates also have a preference for light skinned long hair women something I believe stemmed from their ancestor’s enslavement.

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | March 4, 2014 at 4:36 PM |
    “..and therein lies the problem, black majority bajans in Barbados categorizes Barbados as a white society, ask AC..”

Well said, W W!
    The poor whitey (and soon-to-be Indian) is used too often as an excuse for too many of the socio-economic problems facing Bim today.
    Barbados is essentially a ‘black’ country run by a ‘black’ government.
    Blacks have limited, if any, say in the policy decisions of countries that are primarily populated and politically controlled by whites or other ethnic groupings. Why should Barbados be any different?

“De hood” certainly has a point that Barbados is no longer a ‘white’ society unless in ac’s fertile imagination. But what can we expect from ac who thinks Fumble Stuart is a black nationalist who will bring about the liberation of the black masses through mass unemployment.

29. Island said:
    “The fans and followers were being subliminally brainwashed to believe that success looked light skinned and long hair.”

And that has always been the role of hollyweird and television.

Miller……..they keep giving the energy to that myth and it continues to manifest itself into the shit they think. That’s what i keep telling AC, be careful blaming whitey for everything, even moneybrain caught on to the madness of blaming the local whites when it’s blacks in control of the island, maybe they have not realized that they are or are so stuck on buckinham palace being head of state, their own fault, that they don’t know how to take control of the society and make sure their children know it’s a black society.

30. true blacks are illegible and again your perception of black males having apreference for light skinned woman maybe simply borne out of perception, perceptions are not facts but simply unreal thoughts or imagination..,,i would dare say that the majority of black men prefer black woman…..however with the acceptance of interracial marriage …….the reverse maybe true simply now that iwhites have found a new breed of a black man who is financially stable easily accepted within their family and social peers ,,,,,,…..
    on the previous subject in reference to blacks transforming…. i belive that you isgal would rather blame blacks who are at a disadvantage in setting standards …..than those who set them howeveri challenge you to find a majority of blacks who have extensions or dyed their hair because of a preferance to be white. i dare say you would not find many,,, there would be many excuses but being white …most likely not. . it is always easier to prejudge than to face historical facts facts that prove blacks have been trapped and have been taken further away from their heritage and culture.,

31. @islandgal

A good summary better than a hypothesis for those who live the 60s 70s experience as Black.

32. in the above comment ””correction,,,,,,,true blacks are gullible……

. islandgal246 | March 4, 2014 at 5:05 PM

In the sixties when the Hippy movement was in full swing it was the era for a more natural being and free love. Long hair for Caucasians and Afros for the Negroes. The Afro was also symbolic for the militants like Angela Davis and great musicians like Jimmy Hendricks. Every black person sported Afros and waved the peace sign to the consternation of the older Negroes. The black man was into being black and proud.

so what are you saying that wearing a afro makes one more black than wearing extensions………then when whites tan their skins does that make them less white,,,,,,and why the stero typing of blacks .i never hear the same observations towards whites , your perceptions and twisted views have boxed you into a corner of prejudice,,,,, which is not at all humorous ,,,,, cicely tyson and diahanna carroll angela bassett,, oprah winfery according to your standards all of whom have wore ”as you put it fake hair would be less black or fake according to your standards lady you need to chill and face reality a reality that forces people to makecertain decisions that even though seems inappropriate to others may be simply for a purpose to survive,,,,,,i meaning i can go on ,just edifying a person image as an example of ‘blackness because they do not have extensions is rubbish,,,,,,,| .

33. AC why don’t you SHUT your mouth and just listen for a change! Keep your donkey hair and be happy! I will have to agree with Bushie that the donkey hair has replaced your brain.

34. well in my holy of hollies i never thought that weave and extensions false nails and other adorning ornaments would have been the defining moment of blackness in black history month,,,,,well maybe four days later , well i be dam…..l

35. @ Islandgalp
    LOLOLOLOL. Ha Ha
    So waitttt
    You mean you were actually trying to talk sense into ac…?

…you like you suffer a self-inflicted blow to the head with your own 2X4 yuh….

….and YES ac, …when a white person gets a tan it means that they are less white…… 🙂

Woman, if you would just hush……you would seem SOOOO much brighter…

36. bush tea this for you

37. David | March 4, 2014 at 4:14 PM |
    Would be interesting to do some research to establish the countries responsible for importing the donkey hair.
    ……………………………………………………………………
    It should come as no surprise that we in the Caribbean, and many parts of Africa, spend millions on the importation of donkey/dead people hair. Do we not generally refer to any hair other than our own ‘knotty, kinky’ hair as “Pretty Hair?” Something to be admired.!

38. @David-BU

Ok David, if you check Barbadostoday.bb you will see the result on the Dr. Sparman case is confirmed there.

That’s some great news for him and us his patients as well. I don’t know why Mikey Waldrond will not leave the man in peace. One would think that there is some jealousy involved there. Or perhaps Wadrond figures that Dr. S owes him something!

39. Islandgal

Why are you spreading misinformation about a topic that you obviously have little or no knowledge of?

” The Afro was also symbolic for militants like Angela Davis and great musician like Jimmy Hendricks”

Bullshit: the Afro had little or nothing to do with black militancy in America throughout the late 1960’s and early 1970’s.

The Afro was sported by Angela Davis and Jimmy Hendricks because is was a popular black hairstyle in the latter part of the 60’s to the early 70’s.

Do your research girl. Black hairstyles similar to the Afro, goes as far back as the 1800’s.

40. Obzonky… were these styles called Afros in the 1800’s? Or were they just unkempt hair that later evolved into the Afro? Blacks in the 1800’s probably had very little grooming accessories and had to make do with what Massa discarded or made their own and copied their hairstyles from their European masters and mistresses. Many slaves and ex slaves wore head coverings so telling me about what hairstyles were in fashion is bare bullshit on your part.

41. http://discoveringbristol.org.uk/browse/slavery/category/1801-1900-19th-century/P260/

Show me the Afros in these photos you Obzoky FOOL!

42. http://discoveringbristol.org.uk/browse/slavery/category/historic-photographs/P40/

Show me the Afros you Obzocky piece of dog shite!

43. Islandgal
    I have neither the time nor space to grapple with you over the obvious details regarding slavery in America.

But it is important that you’re aware of the fact that states such as Massachusetts and Connecticut in the United States of America, abolished slavery in their respective states as early as the 1700’s.

And as a resulted of this humanitarian moved by these two courageous states, many African American families were quite fortunated not to have had to experienced the awful and inhumane treatment slavery had to offer the people of African descent. So there were thousands of emancipated men, woman, and children of African descent who were at liberty to do as they pleased with they hair.

So girl, pickup a Black History back and educate yourself about the true reality of slavery in North America.

44. Obzocky you have a real problem..I was talking from a Caribbean, Barbados perspective you igit! I never mentioned anything about Slavery in the USA! I can only talk about the Carribean you dodo bird!

45. Islandgal

Case in point: an investigative report has shown that black comedian Wanda Sykes, haven’t any historical record which indicates that any of her family members were ever slaves in America.

46. Obzocky I REPEAT , I WAS SPEAKING FROM A CARIBBEAN PERSPECTIVE ! I was showing how North America influenced the Black people in the Caribbean. Lawd man you DEAF?

47. I really don’t care who de rass Wanda Sykes was and who her family were!

48. There is always controversy lurking…we will see how this plays out.

‘12 Years A Slave’ Oscar tarnished by feud over screenplay

Director Steve McQueen omitted screenwriter from acceptance speech after he was refused co-writing credit

<

p>

<

p align=”justify”>The director and writer of the Oscar-winning 12 Years A Slave are locked in a behind-the-scenes battle over the credit for the film’s screenplay, it has been claimed.According to The Wrap entertainment website, British filmmaker Steve McQueen requested a co-writing credit on screenwriter John Ridley’s script, which Ridley “politely declined”. They have reportedly been feuding ever since.

<

p align=”justify”>Fox Searchlight, which backed the film, is said to have taken Ridley’s side, while its producer Brad Pitt played peacemaker. The participants were allegedly encouraged to keep the matter under wraps so as not to threaten the film’s awards chances.

<

p align=”justify”>http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/films/news/12-years-a-slave-oscar-tarnished-by-feud-over-screenplay-9169210.html

49. Islandgal

Why all the hostility?

It ain’t that serious girl so just cool….

Islandgal, how often have we not been told that we can do more with honey done with vinegar?

Smile and the world smiles with you girl, cry and you cry alone sista.

Bottom line: your attitude determines you altitude.

50. It would be good if all the self proclaimed Africans on here could identify which tribe they belong to and from what part of Africa.