210 responses to “What is it About the Tragedy of Slavery That Provokes Top Billing (12 Years a Slave)”

1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olaudah_Equiano

An interesting read.

2. @Vincent

Whether one sixteenth Black we are Black and Africa is the motherland.

3. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Igbo_people_in_the_Atlantic_slave_trade

This is where many of the Caribbean slaves came from. Vincent the tribe is the Igbo.

4. From a person who never owned a slave
    From a person who never hurt a Jew
    From a person who never battered a woman
    From a person that really had no choice of my color, gender, or ethnicity
    I am really starting to get sick of being told what a bad person I am.

5. @ LOL @ Lawson
    I am really starting to get sick of being told what a bad person I am.
    ++++++++++++
    The truth hurts nuh!?
    …but it will set you free… LOL

Not to worry….in your case, one suspects that they are referring to your jokes…

6. Bushie I know my family never owned a slave … because we want the job done right. You have had near fifty years to forget about me and my ilk and chart a new direction and the only thing you seem to agree on is every body smokes. Your right my jokes suck I’ll try and do better.

7. Island Gal

You are composing from the internet. Many from ALL tribes in the south were the subject of slavery though less the further north – which is why I said what I said in my first post above. And anyone who actually knows the tribal characteristics would realize that we see them on the streets every day.

Oh and by the way – go look at real African combs – they were not and could never be cast offs. You are myth making.

Is there any ‘good’ 1/16 or ‘bad’ 1/16? A foot…an arm…the brain? Why not a 1/32 or 1/64th? Or is it rather a matter of outlook or (for men) sexual prowess? And I wonder what colour we all were in previous lives. And what of Black Madonnas…do they count?

Should middle aged black people dye their hair do you think? Or grow honourably grey like whiteys? Like the video.

“I am black ,but comely….Look not upon me because I am black, because the sun hath looked at me…..Behold thou art fair, my beloved…also our bed is green. I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys……Thy lips are like a thread of scarlet…Thou art fair, my love; there is no spot in thee….How fair is thy love [better than] the smell of thine ointments….Thy lips, O my spouse drop as the honeycomb….thy neck is as a tower of ivory…I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine.” Work it out.
    (AV – the RSV, attempting to show a timely delicacy, has “dark” for “black”.)

8. Lawson

You are expressing in a different way the ‘Song’. Good on ya. Forget BT – he got yet another rejection from Island…that makes 37 now.

9. Somehow Obzocky reminds me of that idiot Mark Fenty I can smell a pompous rat here.

10. Someone said that African art is NOW seeing the light of day. What of cubism? Not exactly “now” I think. In fact this “now’ has been ‘now’ for decades and all kinds of African art continue to fetch high prices in the art world…..as, indeed, it should. The carvings from Benin and, eg, Yoruba horseback warriors, which I know as Jagun Jagun figures, are unsurpassed.

11. “Oh and by the way – go look at real African combs – they were not and could never be cast offs. You are myth making.”

So how come we have no remaining artifacts or skills to replicate these combs? You don’t really understand that the African was stripped of everything including his dignity when he was enslaved? They had no choice but to adopt the habits and religion of their masters. They had to learn new skills to survive in these strange lands. AC now I get where you were coming from when you were referring to what Black people had to do to survive in a white society. My humblest apologies AC. But that is no excuse for fake hair. 🙂

12. Everybody changes names , religions, etc to that of the power at the time (sometimes forced) just to survive either economically or physically . Go to a jewish cemetery and see how many of the stones say Mueller, beck, braun or graf
    Robert one of my favorite shows was lovejoy, even back then there was an appreciation for Benin bronzes as they did a show about it, and what value they were.
    I can only think the reason they don’t make African combs the same is turtles are an endangered species, The problem nowadays is what is real or fake. Even the foremost authorities of art and documents are scared to give a definitive opinion because of the expertise of the fakers.

13. A gift for the guys.

https://www.facebook.com/DrFarrahGray/photos/a.10152100085488352.1073741826.172659578351/10152297949413352/?type=1

Lawson…don’t worry, i am on your side….lol

AC…..I will go with your first definition, it sounds more like you…lol, sorry if all the front and sides of your head is eating out due to weave, too bad, your choice, whitey certainly did not do that.

14. BTW isgal……..i wasn,t being dismisive of your points..i only want you to understand that when people are put under pressure and challenged ..people would do what.s in their best interest………..on another ponit of interest to afros……..there is a growing interest in the return the Afro . many well celebs are wearing them…this time using the enviroment and health issues as a bench mark..of awareness to the potential harm the chemicals used in processing presents to enviroment and health.

15. Is that an Audi?

16. Lawson………..i know, not as hairy as you would prefer, right??

17. @WW

Thanks or the eye candy gift, WW. Fantatic form and movement! Great art by the creator.

18. At this stage in life the only thing that is in that picture that I would be interested in getting into would be that Audi. Sure it may break down now and again, not start in the winter, want to be fed every so many clicks but compared to the constant drama and the high pitched whining of that red sporty model and her ilk I would pick the car every time. .Trust me its not that I don’t think she is hot, but when all things are looked at in perspective the car is cheaper and you can go for longer rides.

19. de hood…….you are welcome.

Lawson……when did you turn into such a kill joy? some would call you fuddy duddy…what happened to the viagra dude I knew and loved…lol

20. @Lawson
    At this stage in life the only thing that is in that picture that I would be interested in getting into would be that Audi.
    ++++++++++++
    I thought that only the politicians in Ottawa lost touch with reality, now it seems to have spread to other sections of the populace.

Fer gawds sake move to Hull before its too late.

21. Islandgal

You have got to be kidding if you for once think that I am Mark Fenty.

Who is Mark Fenty and why is he the focus of your wrath?

Question: have you been on Barbados Blog Watch lately? You should, if you haven’t already.

I thought I saw some very distasteful comments written about yourself and some of the regular here on the BU. But don’t take my word for it, check it out yourself.

The blog organizer at Barbados Blog Watch seems to think that some of the folks on BU are a group of semi – illiterate buffoons.

22. Obzocky……. When you come here attacking me and talking bare shite I will be on the defence. Mark Fenty is a lot like you and many here were fed up with him trying to show how intelligent and well learned he is.

Barbados Blog watch watches and comments on everything we do here on BU. He is a hater and very few go on his blog. BU is one of the most popular blogs on WordPress with thousands of hits a day. If the hater’s blog gets 2-4 hits a day he is lucky. He comes here and lurks and sometimes comment under the name of Jack Bowman. If he behaves himself he is welcome if not David will block him. To be honest he is just jealous of David’ s BU. I really don’t give a rat’s behind what he writes about me on his blog. My blog will tell a different story about me.

Thank you for your concern about my reputation.

23. For White People Who Can’t Bear to See ’12 Years a Slave’

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/rev-meg-riley/for-white-people-who-cant_b_4350036.html

24. Sargeant….Hull… really… the only good thing that came out of Quebec was the back end of an empty bus. I said she was hot, but as I said before if you see me with a black woman I am holding her for the police…except for maybe ..WELL WELL who with her hypertrichosis you cant tell what gender let alone what race she is.
    Obzocky that fella that writes the other blog is pretty funny, mentally crippled but funny. He seems to have a bit of a hate on,

25. Art, if narrowly viewed in terms of image reproduction is to misunderstand its meaning.
    In 1981 George Lamming gave a memorable address on the occasion of the opening of Carifesta here in Barbados.He reviewed ‘blackness’in our Caribbean experience.His observations continue to enchant and enlighten.
    H A Vaughan,Aime Cesaire,Franz Fanon,Jose Marti,Eric Williams,Nicolas Guillen,Louise Bennett,The Mighty Sparrow,Frank Collymore,A J Seymour among others who by their contribution have made us look beyond the pale

26. One Good Reason Why Steve McQueen Did Not Cheer for Screenwriter John Ridley’s Oscar Win—and Nor Should You

http://www.alternet.org/comments/culture/one-good-reason-why-steve-mcqueen-did-not-cheer-screenwriter-john-ridleys-oscar-win-and-nor#disqus_thread

27. Lawson…..with all of that you still love me, it’s the challenge and mystery involved……so Otttawa is shrinking huh!! never mind that, you can move and return to your viagra stud days, that will get rid of the depression.

28. Islandgal

Why would I attack you personally? I do not know and haven’t any animosity towards you. I was merely responding to some of the points you had made.

Lawson

I am quite sure Jack Bowman has his legitimate reasons for disliking the BU blog but Islandgal seems to think that Bowman’s dislike for the BU blog stems from jealousy.

29. Well Well you shouldn’t go around prescribing Viagra to people especially black people you see what it has done to Don King.
    Sure Ottawa is boring, were full of politicians lawyer accountants etc only because we don’t have the charisma to be undertakers.

30. @islandgal

The BU family is not as dumb as some believe.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | March 5, 2014 at 6:48 PM |

You are sure right there Bro!
    Look how the Minister of Tourism has taken on board the suggestion(s) the tourism industry should be treated as an export industry (FX and jobs generator) and be free from distorting uncompetitive impositions and with all concessions and investment inducements extended across the board.

These suggestions were raised time again on BU but it shamefully took Butch Stewart to read the riot act for the MoT to fall in line despite his rapacious reading of BU.

32. Well Well

Of course we age less rapidly than others. The reason is very simple and very prosaic – we have more sub-cutaneous fat. So that’s it..sadly. Definitively fatter.

For the record – I don’t need Viagra – sort yourself out. Besides it’s becoming rarer and rarer – all being bought up by young bucks who hang out at Nature’s Discount for Horny Goat Weed and other ‘make me go’ products. Wonder what the real problem is.

I know nothing about the other blog. Do you want to enlighten me? My recollection of Jack Bowman is that he pulls no punches, says exactly what he thinks and couldn’t give a toss for anyone without actually being personal. I think that’s a good thing. The last time he blogged here people were broadly supportive. Mind BU ‘support’ means what exactly?

Islandgal

For Christ’s sake – get over it….and stop creating myths (Besides BT needs you to nurse HIS myth)). Try the Benin City National Museum. Do you stupse? Well – get this – you brought that with you.

33. Robert Rasshole …..bend down and kiss your BIG toe!

34. @IG246
    Feuds involving Directors/Producers/Actors/Writers etc. are legendary in Hollywood, the Directors Guild even invented a pseudonym for Directors to use if they wanted to remove their names from a film due to “Creative differences” Google Alan Smithee.

After Ridley refused to give McQueen the credit that he sought, McQueen made two appeals to the Writers Guild of America and was turned down so perhaps Ridley had a point.

35. Island

Stupse

36. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Barbados 47 years A Slave into Slavery, Get rid of your DBLP slave drivers GOVERNMENT ,,and COW and BIZZY on house back with a Whip, They can’t run you down, so they play POLO to stay in shape.

37. Solve this riddle and end racism now

Anderson Cooper reveals he went blind for 36 hours last week after SUNBURNING his eyeballs

By Daily Mail Reporter
    18:23 04 Dec 2012, updated 19:11 04 Dec 2012

Facebook
    Twitter
    Click to open
    Google Plus
    Reddit
    Stumble Upon
    Fark
    Digg it
    LinkedIn
    Email
    Click to close
    comments
    Sustained damage after filming on water in Portugal for two hours
    Anderson Cooper has revealed that he went blind for 36 hours after sunburning his eyeballs while filming in Portugal last week.

Speaking on his talk show, Anderson Live, Cooper explained he had spent two hours on the water filming a story and, despite it being an ‘overcast day’, he woke up that night to find he could not see.

‘I wake up in the middle of the night and it feels like my eyes are on fire,’ he said. ‘And I think, “Oh maybe I have sand in my eyes or something”. I douse my eyes with water.

Scroll down for video

+6

Damage: Anderson Cooper has revealed he went blind for 36 hours after sunburning his eyes in Portugal
    ‘Anyway, it turns out I have sunburned my eyeballs and I go blind. I went blind for 36 hours.’

38. Steve McQueen acted in the classic called The Gun of Navarone in 1961. Steve was one of the greatest Arab actor of all times.

39. Our was it Omar Sharif…. help…. help…..

40. Once a JA always a JA.

41. after viewing the hair vs weave videos and the contraverserial content i am shocked and surprise that an adornment of choice by blacks would be (so) overblown to the point of division ,,,however i am believing and not surprised that this is controversary is being used as valuable tool to divided and separate a race by those who would prefer to see blacks a disunited force …..and blacks again are unaware of the bigger picture,,,,,,,,,

42. For The Men Of “12 Years A Slave”?!u It’s a taboo topic; and some might even say that it’s old conversation.

Steve McQueen – Oscar-nominated director of “12 Years A Slave” – was accompanied to the Academy Awards last night by his white partner and mother of their two children, Bianca Stigter.

Chiwetel Ejofor – the Oscar-nominated lead actor in “12 Years A Slave” – had his white girlfriend, Sari Mercer, on his arm for Hollywood’s biggest night.

43. Obzonky

Steve on his bike in The Great Escape; Omar on his camel in Lawrence – they don’t make ’em like that any more….but then…..

Anomous

YEAH

JA’s indeed……..really?

44. David

If you’re confident in your ability to perceived the obvious. Then why advocate it as though you’re not sure?

45. No time to engage on trivia.

46. IT IS COMMON SENSE.
    ANDERSON COOPER IS AN ALBINO. HE ADMITS TO THIS IN AN INTERVIEW.

47. Black actors with White girl friends who attended the Oscars, what is the point?

48. just living the dream