Three Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament were questioned today by the police in connection with a Nation newspaper story penned by Barry Alleyne. The story based on a Voice of Barbados report has to do with coverage of the Opposition walk out of parliament in July 2013.
Barbados Labour Party MPs Questioned by Police – Freedom of Expression Under Threat?
133 responses to “Barbados Labour Party MPs Questioned by Police – Freedom of Expression Under Threat?”
-
BU is asking government to confirm whether a 40ft container of riot equipment for the police which includes rubber bullets, tear gas, masks etc brought into Barbados recently.
To repeat, BU is asking for confirmation.
-
Bag Juice | December 12, 2013 at 11:22 PM |
I hope that the Opposition would have given the IMF team the whole story about this inept and incompetent government..
I cannot imagine, some โhalf trainโ, โhalf bakeโ police officers interviewing 2 former Attorney Generals of this country. (LOL) deading with the laugh
—————-
To the untrained and simple minded like me, it reeks of intimidation and muscle flexing, but I am sure that was not the intention. Maybe someone else could explain.However, one must bear in mind that it may appear so to others internationally also, including investors.
Lol. You know, it reminds me of something”’ the saying..’first they came for’…
They felt they could intimidate Myrie, she carry dem to the CCJ.
One incompetent’s pronouncement that the ‘CCJ decision changes nothing’ (one has to wonder) clearly demonstrated a complete lack of appreciation for how things SHOULD be done and some might interpret this action as now demonstrating the crass lack of appreciation for the same, yet now treating with Barbados’s own citizens, but I am sure that was not the intention.
-
The BLP piss poor opposition moaning and groaning again supported by the BLP apologists here on BU. About What?.
Ms. Mottley seems to think that the law should apply to everyone in Barbados except her and her cronies. I have never seen such an arrogant opposition in all the years of observing Barbadian politics.
Mottley with a hurriedly called news conference to say absolutely NOTHING again!Tom Adams and Bree St. John must be turning in their graves to see what the BLP has become and with this megalomaniac power hungry BLP Mottley crew.
-
Excuse me but did I actually hear BLP yardfowls cackling about freedom of the press. LORD Have Mercy. You talk about HYPOCRITES.
Check out this link for those with short memories :
http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/07/28/barbados-politics-2/ -
Why is the focus on the arrogance of the Opposition? The MP’S did not asked to be questioned by the Police and the fact that they were is news which the Opposition is within their right to exploit.
-
it seems like the opposition can only make the news when it is something negative, nothing ever seems to be positive when it comes to the blp, they role of governance seems to be contrary and chaotic, time after time it never cease to fail that every response submitted by the opposition to the media results in public chaos and discontent it is as if they are on a personal crusade of sowing seeds of doubt and mayhem in the minds of the public causing upheaval.
-
Excellent point ac ! We have heard not one specific, credible solution on policy from the BLP.
No specific spending ut alternatives put forward, just political theatrics, public relations stunts in Queens Park and the like.I repeat, A PISS POOR OPPOSITION that would be a million times worse than this hard working administration.
Replace Michael Lashley and Dr. Estwick with Trevor Prescod and Wuk Fa WUk. Wunna mekking sport at dis ting.
Keep the BLP in opposition.
-
@ac i does oft times wonder if u live in ah different Barbados
-
this is an opposition who is highly critical of the present govt but so far in the past six years have said nothing of great importance or relevancy which will be an improvement of what the present govt is doing but have been making giant strides in their role of ”chicken little”
-
A couple points, the DLP won the last mandate to govern Barbados albeit by a narrow majority. Then they should govern and avoid the constant references to BLP tenure, the garrulous behaviour and the like. What it has done is to create a toxic environment which has made even DLP supporters become disenchanted not to mention the independents. Many outside of the political circle have been expressing concerns about the government’s policies and equally its unwillingness to communicate with Barbadians. It seems the PM is only willing to be active if there is an election to be won.
This is not the time to be defending political partisan talking points, there are bigger issues, of national interest, to concern us.
-
now this news about the speaker and the allegations concerning details surrounding an article in the nation have sent the opposition and the BLP yardfowls into a political tailspin. what de f..ck. doesn;t mia and her croonies have nothing important to do than day after day seem hell bent of having an agenda of “Doom and Gloom” and chaos/ for the past six years this ongoing campaign from IMF to now this fear tactic of govt suppressing the news media continues to ran full throttle with no end in sight. Is this suppose to be the “new age” of good goverance and one of visionary leadership by the opposition. being handed to the public,
-
Can you get it in your very thick skull that the police picked up the 3 BLP MPs for questioning? The BLP did not create this distraction, the Speaker of the House who failed to act in many ealier matters has decided to act in this case.
-
@ ac | December 13, 2013 at 7:04 AM |
Within 3 weeks you ac will be singing the praises of your wise administration in seeing the necessity of sending home thousands of public sector workers and how beneficial privatization will be for the restructuring of the Barbados economy almost destroyed through the 14 mismanagement of the BLP.
You are invited to join the choir that Donville started.
-
You are already in that choir Miller
-
@ Bajanfuhlife | December 13, 2013 at 7:18 AM |
Donville has more than one choir.
Which one you want to place the miller in? The choir planning the ousting of the current leader of the band of incompetents that could soon be responsible for the devaluation of the dollar. You know the man we are talking about. The one who has lost all minute traces of Integrity about him and is now perceived as one of the worst leaders around and certainly the worst Barbados has been cursed with.
Or are you referring to the one full of hypocrites, deceivers and bold-faced liars now singing the praises of Layoffs & Privatization with such gusto as to make the devil cry? And the one of which you, โBajan fuhfakeโ, are the chief chorister. -
ac is a piece of work
unfortunately there are replicas out there in wider B’dos.
they are -
AC ….What the NATION do the DEMS? Is it because they do not behave like CBC and the ADVOCATE….slaves to the DEMS dictates……?
-
Equal Rights & Justice | December 12, 2013 at 11:14 PM |
@ ac i really feel fa u doh,u fighting fa dem and dem make u look like an โฆASS -
You are becoming a purveyor of untruths. You know full well that the Police did not ‘pick up’ the 3 opposition BLP members as you allege, they went to the Police Station freely and under their own respective sets of steam.
The DPP has permitted the investigation to proceed. There must be be some credibility to the complaint.
Freedom of the Press does not trump the Rule of Law. If the Nation Newspaper and the reporter broke the law, then they both deserve to be charged under the law and heave their fair day in a court in Barbados. -
@Bajanfuhlife | December 13, 2013 at 6:48 AM |
Excellent point ac ! We have heard not one specific, credible solution on policy from the BLP.
No specific spending ut alternatives put forward, just political theatrics, public relations stunts in Queens Park and the like.I repeat, A PISS POOR OPPOSITION that would be a million times worse than this hard working administration.
……………………………………………………….ac has NEVER made an excellent point in all her/his time on BU. Excellent only in a yardfowl’s eyes!
The BLP does not have to propose one suggestion to the government……you win, remember? You want us to forget the words of Donville and Stinkliar……………………let me refresh your fowl brain………..
“We dont want to hear nothing from wunnah…any ideas wunnah got, keep to wunnah self, wunnah had 14 years, now is we time, we gine do things we way”.
What language in the oldest Parliament in the Commonwealth! Up to recently, the Leader of the Opposition offered to sit down with the government and work together for the good of Barbados. What did the Stinkliar tell her….any ideas you got, put them down on paper. He knows everything.
What an idiot, that’s why we are where we are today! By the way, can you tell BU if it is any truth in the story going around that Stinkliar resigned but the worst PM did not accept it?
With comments like these from DLP yardfowls, no wonder this country is going off the fiscal cliff.
-
@ Wayne Boy Choy | December 13, 2013 at 9:12 AM |
“If the Nation Newspaper and the reporter broke the law, then they both deserve to be charged under the law and heave their fair day in a court in Barbados.”We agree with you (up to a point, though). The Rule of Law ought to be the overriding canon in any country which does not want to be labeled as a “Banana Republic”. The rule of law also requires that people be treated fairly during the process of its application.
So a question for you: Do you or don’t you consider threats to a person’s life is a very serious matter as enshrined in the highest law book of the Land?
So why don’t you call for similar treatment for such a more โserious case of life and limbโ and that the investigation and application of the process of justice to be conducted with respect to the politician whose life was threatened?Canโt you see through the sham in all of this monkey handling the law business called justice in Barbados?
-
Wayne boy,
Why does the same DPP according to you not permit an investigation to proceed into Leroy Parris in the CLICO affair. There certainly is credibility to the complaints made by the policyholders.
If it is one thing that cries out for justice is this matter, yet the DPP has NEVER sought to allow charges to be brought against this fraudster. Yet this man can fly about first class, roam the corridors of George Street as a colossus and this DPP sees no wrong with what this crook has inflicted on policyholders. I know of one case where this lady invested all her money in CLICO and is now vritually penniless.
Spare BU, your righteous indignation!
-
@ Prodigal Son | December 13, 2013 at 9:27 AM |
โBy the way, can you tell BU if it is any truth in the story going around that Stinkliar resigned but the worst PM did not accept it?โBefore that idiot of a yardfowl (who has replaced Carson Cadogan) get on his high paling and tries to score cheap points let me correct you and say the parliament of Barbados is the third oldest in the Commonwealth with Britain and Bermuda having first and second place respectively.
Now that should force the lying fool to focus on the germane issue in hand; namely the attempts by the blasted lying coward to run away from his own mess.
What kind of man is Fumble to allow such wreckage to hit the economy and still keep the builder of the wreckage to remain on the job? What kind of personal vindictive act is that while the economy of Barbados is sinking in quicksand?What kind of piss-poor โyard boyโ would allow his imaginary integrity and self-worth be so trampled upon as to not to walk away from the job and tell his boss where to stick his ministry if he has come to the stark realization of a cul-de-sac of incompetence he is totally out of his depth and drowning in shame?
-
There u go again with u h foul mouth speculation another untruth regarding sinckler it,s these kind of untruths that give one concern as it is also give investors another reasons to pause where a reflection of uncertainty is being level at a govt sending the wrong message of a govt in chaos. This recklessness by the opposition is sufficient to make one seek court action against the accusers defending ones reputation and in defence of the nation economy where the innuendo and false charges can do harm.
-
@ ac | December 13, 2013 at 9:59 AM |
Here is a cop-out for you.
Just blame OSA as is your refrain for creating the damage during his14 years of corruption and mismanagement. You can always say Stinkliar came and found the economy already destroyed and he was only putting the debris in one heap.
The fire is full blast under your โNo Layoffs, No Privatization asses.
You were warned many times over and you failed to with the millerโs advice.
Ask CCC who is crying now!
Donville Inniss is just one big-mouth hypocritical bandwagon hopper, thatโs all!We are really sorry for you lot of idiots trying to be gangsters! Time โs up! Game over! The Truth has arrived!
Now go and do what the miller has been telling you from day one!
-
On the subjectv of CLICO if memory serves me MIA was boldly leading the charge now all of a sudden she has gone silent this replacing heer effortswith bedlum.what happened to her all out efforts to have the policy holders money refunded or was that a campaign gimmick one which she now has abandoned replacing with political fear mongering
-
Is there any confirmation of the 40ft container of Riot Gear/Munitions arriving on the island?If so,are we in Kiev, Ukraine?Zimbabwe?Bangkok?
Has Butch heard?Has Hilton heard?Is a devaluation at hand?This is pure desperation!If true! -
The thought of riot gear in the hands of persons of the ilk of ac and Bajanfuhlife is tres frightening.
-
The MoF has announced thousands to go from the public sector workforce!
We wonder what the apologists have to say. -
yes miller, they voted for that in February 2013.
-
Caswell, I lift my hands to you. You saw it coming since May this year and the yardfowls crucify you and call you street characters and all kinds of unsavoury things. . Nation newspaper , I salute you. You called it right two Sundays ago,. Keep the good work up.
-
Miller. We now realize we were fooled when the candidates of the present government tricked us in believing that the Arthur led party was sending home people, privatizing entities, raising bus fares, making pensioners pay and a whole heap of economic hardships on our people. Today, all the tricks are gone and reality now come to light. Ac, CCC, Bajanfuhlife and all apologist who keep changing blinds only without sweeping and mopping the house.
-
@ Tell me Why | December 13, 2013 at 11:24 AM |
“Today, all the tricks are gone and reality now come to light. Ac, CCC, Bajanfuhlife and all apologist who keep changing blinds only without sweeping and mopping the house.”You have forgotten a major clown from the house of false dreams. Alvin Cummins. Alvin where art thou? Hiding in your snow house shocked with disbelief or choking on your hypocrisy?
The shit has hit the fan and we can expect them to do a smart thing like CCC and give the blogs a pass for the time being until the heat abates a bit. -
LADIES & GENTLEMEN, this is the latest news: “Some 3,000 public sector workers will be sent home next year. Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler says 2,000 employees from Central Government and statutory bodies will be retrenched from January, while the remainder will be sent off in March.
Government ministers and parliamentary secretaries will also be taking a 10 per cent pay cut as part of the measures aimed at stemming the countryโs widening fiscal deficit. More details soon! cf. MoF to the MediaWELL, WELL, WELL!
3000 families on the DOLE!
3000 families with mortgages & car notes!
3000 families with kids to send school!
3000 families who will begin 2014 in the dog house!
3000 families (only GOD knows what they will have to suffer in the next year)!
3000 families who will be making a protest vote in 2018 (if the country does not have an ELECTION in the next 18 months)!
What is niggling my FLESH is how a 10% ministerial PAYCUT justifies this action by the current government?
Why not a 50% indefinite PAYCUT? Including a sizable cut to PERKS, PRIVILEGES & LARGESSE!
-
Massive reform might be necessary to undo the damaged done to the economy due in part to the policies of “trickled Down economics” which now has turned out to be a feast at the poor expensive.
-
“Grossly insensitive’ plan to sack 200 cleaners from Parliament to fund ยฃ10,000 pay rise for MPs … Plan would have limited overall cost of running Parliament despite pay rise!”
-
@ ac
Hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa. You mean like giving all the contruction projects to Jada and Preconco for a promised amphitheatre or the small money national One Idea initiative? -
Both the DLP and BLP must be permanently removed from the political governmental landscape of this country.
-
@ miller,
Before that idiot of a yardfowl (who has replaced Carson Cadogan) get on his high paling and tries to score cheap points let me correct you and say the parliament of Barbados is the third oldest in the Commonwealth with Britain and Bermuda having first and second place respectively………….Thanks for the correction, miller. Appreciated, I meant to type one of the oldest!
-
SCHEDULES OF PERSONAL EMOLUMENTS 2011 – 2012
http://barbadosparliament.com/htmlarea/uploaded/File/Budget/Personal%20Emoluments%202011-2012.pdf
-
trickled down economics has turned out to be a game of Russian Roulette. the rich got richer while the poor got poorer and if lucky got a drop of the crumbs that fell to the floor. Now we are witnessing what poor poilcies implemented by one armed political bandits can do to a people and a nation. the bad side is that most would hurt. the good side is that those who committed and take part in the bastardisation of a county are no longer in power
-
Anon,
Travel budgets have been cut by 50%. For that I applaud him. That should keep Maxine Mcclean whom nobody ever voted for at home more often. Knowing that the shit was about to hit the fan, why was it necessary for her to go to South Africa? Certainly in the circumstances, the presence of the High Commissioner to the UK was adequate. But she feels she must be on every plane leaving GAIA.
Did the same nonsense when the Jamaican High Commissioner to Caricom came here to have discussions with her regarding the Myrie allegations. Instead of staying and allowing the PS to go to whatever jaunt she was going on, she left the lady here and jump on the plane. No wonder the Jamaicans took us to the CCJ! And won!
-
ac,
You could really hush, though.Are you aware or you cognizant of the fact that nearly every government project/contract in the last six years has gone to Jada or Preconco and a little to Cow and Bizzy to keep them happy. Not even Stinkliar brother, Roy Davis aint get many. The only trickled down was into the DLP coffers not even to the small black man whom the cheating lying dead king and the DLP promised 40% of all government work!
-
don’t forget de parliamentary secs and minister who got they ass cut at de polls
-
Gabriel | December 13, 2013 at 10:51 AM |
Is there any confirmation of the 40ft container of Riot Gear/Munitions arriving on the island?If so,are we in Kiev, Ukraine?Zimbabwe?Bangkok?
Has Butch heard?Has Hilton heard?Is a devaluation at hand?This is pure desperation!If true!
……………………………………
At this juncture wouldn’t it be wise to refrain from spreading alarm and despondency ? -
1991 ALL OVER AGAIN
DEJA VU ALL OVER AGAIN
Public Workers axed
Temporary is–well temporary -
ANON | December 13, 2013 at 12:38 PM |
“What is niggling my FLESH is how a 10% ministerial PAYCUT justifies this action by the current government?”
…bearing in mind also that in Jan 2012, the same people had a 17% salary increase.the cuts seem to be 3000 but if u listen to the entire speech, it is quite obvious that more will be sent home
-
Now with three thousand offthe govt payrole.this is indeed a golden opportunity for the leadership of the BLP to tell the public how they would have avoided or implemnted workable policies to avoid such occurence. BTW the last count here on BU was to be ten thousand
-
According to today’s Nation newspaper the three BLP MP’S were ‘summons’ to to District A Police Station. This response is to the comment that BU is the purveyor of untruths.
-
I hope that commonsense will prevail when these cuts are done and that we will not see a repeat of 1991 when both breadwinners in one house were sent home.
This thing has me off set and has affected my preparations for Christmas. What a black Friday!
This will affect not only 3000 persons, multiply this by two or three children. Not many of these temps will spend money this Christmas, thus affecting the businesses who were hoping for a little bump in sales to boost the slow period after Cropover. You can then look for more layoffs in the private sector coming!
They say history often repeats itself………….
DLP in 1991 told lies to win an election, DLP told lies in 2013 to win an election.
Within months of winning an election in 1991, all hell broke loose and the true state of the economy was revealed, in 2013, lies were told on the state of the economy, months later same thing, economy in terrible shape.In 1991 the DLP told people their jobs were safe, months later thousands were laid off and salaries cut. In 2013, the DLP told lies, “we will not send home a single person, no job cuts”, months later 3000 job cuts and MP’s pay cut by 10%.
Can we all conclude that the DLP CANNOT run a government? The answer is YES! YES! YES!