Three Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of parliament were questioned today by the police in connection with a Nation newspaper story penned by Barry Alleyne. The story based on a Voice of Barbados report has to do with coverage of the Opposition walk out of parliament in July 2013.

133 responses to “Barbados Labour Party MPs Questioned by Police – Freedom of Expression Under Threat?”

1. Ode to Foreign Investment:

Amidst the promise of great tidings
    They won in a narrow margin of ridings
    Much ado about success
    Even though things were in a dire mess

Then the criticisms came in
    And lo and behold, that was claimed to be a sin
    To argue against their way
    Was seen to be going astray

Rather than listen to good sense
    They carried on as if they were dense
    Ranting and raving about treason
    One would ask if they were exercising reason

Actions that could not be explained
    People wondered what would be gained
    Attempts to silence any others
    No respect even for decent mothers

What brand of people are these
    Could they bring us to out knees
    Even attempts to issue a bond by travelling the world around
    Were looked at in wonder, the excuses could only astound

Whereto the investors be
    I cannot see
    They have left and gone away
    Oh dear, oh dear, we are so astray.

Astounded and distraught (c) 2013

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This is just a comical distraction from the economic crisis that is plaguing this country. I certainly did not believe that the Speaker’s skin could be this thin. Isn’t there a law against wasteful deployment of the Police Force.

If I were paranoid, I would believe they are trying to blackmail the Nation into withdrawing Frankly Speaking, but I am not. LOL!

3. @Caswell’This is just a comical distraction from the economic crisis”

Quite a reasonable position that you put. Apparently another attempted bond issue was put on hold today?

The economy is in a shambles. See the Honourable Member setting up for the dismissal of public service workers in the New Year?

Worse…he is the one putting his mouth there…the TWO who should…aint saying a thing!!!!

I would advise that Honourable Member, to strongly consider his options, as a man, as a citizen of our country, who holds it to his heart.

Really!

4. One of you need to break rank now…. or go down in history as one of ‘THEM’.

5. He is the ‘onliest’speaker I ever heard say”I think the yes’s have it”.It was his first pronouncement from the chair.I dismissed him as a idyut ever since then.
    He along with the other 15 idyuts.

6. @BY BARRY ALLEYNE WED, JULY 17, 2013 – 12:08 AM “The Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) walked out of Parliament last night, citing unfair treatment from Speaker of the House, Michael Carrington. Opposition Leader Mia Mottley packed up her bags at exactly 7:04 p.m., and her 12 colleagues followed in unison and in protest, after an adamant Carrington refused to provide Mottley with a copy of the Houseโ€™s official record so as to clarify a previous statement.”

OK Mikey: Did you or did you not adamantly refuse to provide Mottley with a copy of the Houseโ€™s official record so as to clarify a previous statement.

Man up. Tell us wha’ really happen

7. Maybe Dem suspect a break from the ranks and preparing to have de cops call in at least one of the opposition the day of a critical vote. Set it up now so that in time of need Dem could send the cops to get 1 or 2 just in case. This is becoming a spectacle for the ages.. This is the JOKE of the day. Shouldn’t the cops be at the airport looking for Jamaican women to harass?

8. NOW you see why dey get rid a Dottin.

9. I wonder if a certain ‘Don’ calling de shots from behind the scenes?

10. Can anybody tell me what ever became of the petition againts the MOF by the opposition?

11. No. Freedom of Expression is not under threat. Parliament has rules and guidelines which enable them to discuss the Speaker’s ruling and/or performance. The circumstances surrounding this investigation have not been brought to light as yet, but it involves the article published which sought to imply that the Speaker’s ruling was unfair and impartial. This is not to be done.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Give the serious cutback in operational resources shouldn’t law enforcement agencies be more concerned about bringing to justice those men who allegedly were overhead leveling threats on the life of the MoF?

What is more important in this expanding banana republic? Threats to a man’s right to life as Constitutionally underscored or some vague innuendo about the belittling of the ego of some budding megalomaniac?

Sorry to say, but Bajans deserve every bit of national embarrassment being played out here of late.

13. What is there in the Barry Alleyne report to merit such action? Dale Marshall said that the speaker is claiming that the article calls his “character” into question! This happen since July. why now?

This DLP is digging its own grave. When OSA called them a bunch of wild boys, people took offense but it turns out that he was so right. This is African style dictatorial style politics.

Bajans, be warned, this DLP is a destructive wicked government.

No one would believe that this very Nation under Harold Hoyte helped this DLP win the election in 2008! Ungrateful .itches! Day is fastly catching up on the DLP!

14. De Jamaicans an Trinis musse rolling pun dem floors laughing at we.

Justifiably.

15. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2013 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

Same old same old , can never be repackage , BU needs just to go on the Attack of these crooks and stop playing with them , Its like playing is snakes , soon one or all will bite, There is enough proof , to show they are crooks, Police just need to hold them , Unless the COP is another like the last one ,?A big stage and we are watching the play, for delays

16. @Angela Dowridge

Do you mean like when the David Estwick gun matter was allowed to retire with the disolution of parliament?

17. Can anyone say why the Dale Marshall/David Estwick matter was not referred to the same DPP who all of a sudden is finding causes to be answered mainly persons who oppose government’s views.

You have a man walking all over Barbados, flying the world….he was on a flight from Miami a few nights ago but yet this same COP or DPP cannot find any cause to charge him for fleecing so many poor Barbadians.

I would not be surprised if the same DPP dont start coming after us on BU!

18. What ever became of the case of the Showdown at Poor Rakey parliament starring the badjohn from sin fillup wess and marshall dillon from sin joes if.
    And what of the matter starring Knobby from sin andruh and the poochun from sin james norf?
    More like a wild west saloon that thar parlymunt!

19. Stopโ€ˆinterfering!

Thatโ€™s the message one engineer is sending to Government as it relates to the local construction market.

According to chartered structural engineer Grenville Phillips II, Government was โ€œmeddlingโ€ instead of allowing the market to determine which construction companies would be most successful.

He suggested that Government was preventing some firms from competing while awarding contracts to one or two companies.

โ€œWhy the Government feels the need to just give and not allow competition, I donโ€™t know. What the Government does is pick winners and losers. By picking the winners it automatically picks the losers,โ€ he said
    ——————-
    when WILL the PEOPLE of BARBADOS do something ABOUT this Stinking GOVERNMENT -THE WORST EVER GOVERNMENT-

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David or any BU poster with a subscription to the full Nation Online paper;

Could you post the full “offending”article to this blog. The summary article above appears somewhat innocuous. There must be something more in the full article to justify the DPP investigating the complaint. I, and I suspect others also, would like to see the full article

Or it is another phase in a program to cow dissent as exemplified by the charging of the Nation editors for publishing supposed pornographic material. If the latter is true we should look for the widening of the net in the future.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David Blog Master:
    โ€œmillertheanunnaki | December 12, 2013 at 7:37 PM |โ€

Thanks for making the necessary adjustments to my earlier posting(s) because of gremlins in the works or an over-excited concern about the growing threat to freedom of expression in Barbados.

22. @Crusoe “NOW you see why dey get rid a Dottin”.

This is a brilliant. Now it makes sense to me. Dam, why didn’t I think of this. Brilliant. This is the only comment that brings this debacle full circle. Excellent comment. This sums it up to perfection. Now these poppets are be allowed to play monopoly with the people’s finances. This is only going to get worse I am convinced now.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David Blog Master:

Sorry again, David.
    I just identified the pesky bastard and eliminated its devilish effect.
    Please do the honours of one final adjustment.
    Thanks.

24. This comic for a speaker has been after the BLP since 2008. A man who knew nothing about parliamentary procedures. He puts Burton Hinds to shame and he was partisan.

When Mia wanted a full debate on CLICO, he refused and when Mia tried to force the issue his behavior was appalling. He threatened to put the whole BLP out. He was told you cannot do this…..you cannot put out all the BLP members…….. a member has to contravene the rules of the House to be put out.

So he has been after the BLP for years. If you listen to the debates, the Dems can say or do whatever they want and he would allow them but if a BLP rises on a point of order, he says that is no point of order, take your seat.

He is bias, I say so!

25. I have warned you people on this Blog about this DLP Government .

I was off the Blog for weeks and nobody ask for me. Tells me how much my contributions are not appreciated but the thing is that I have been true about this STINKING DLP Government

I am just tired of this Government.
    Tired of coming on BU and writing about these clowns called the DLP

But you know what , the elevation of the DLP to the reins of Government is indicative of the fact that we as a country have slipped and this slipping is reflected in all spheres–not only politically- ALL spheres.

There is a certain something missing, there seems to be a lack of commonsense, reasoning and comprehension

Too many -UNTHINKING people in Barbados walking around stupid and unaware of what is going on . They are like Zombies ! None more so than the ignorant backward Johnnies from of course–ST JOHN !!!

When you examine how Freundel Stuart moves and operates , would you seriously vote for a Government headed by someone with his approach ? The man looks funny, talks funny and is without a wife—-hello ! alarm bells !!!

I am tired talking about these Jokers
    The people who work at Jenkins sometimes act like the mad people they deal with everyday.

I dont want to be dealing with these DLP jokers everyday/

26. @Just Asking,
    Then stay off the blog. No Problem!!!

27. WHY SHOULD HE STAY OF THE BLOG IF HE IS ANTI-DLP ALVIN
    ALTHOUGH I AM SO HAPPY NOT TO SEE CCC FOR OVER 3 WEEKS

28. “Can anybody tell me what ever became of the petition againts the MOF by the opposition”

what else can you think thinker other than another stupid tactic by the woeful opposition destined to lead nowhere but to the wastepaper basket

29. “The circumstances surrounding this investigation have not been brought to light as yet, but it involves the article published which sought to imply that the Speakerโ€™s ruling was unfair and impartial. This is not to be done.”

Have the circumstances surrounding the investigation into the gun-toting incident in Parliament by Mr Estwick been brought to light by the Speaker as yet?

30. I have to remember that they are people like you in the world. I recognize that the world today is more ‘ignorant’
    Same sex marriage is now a reality.
    Make light of every thing

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | December 12, 2013 at 8:53 PM |
    “@Just Asking, Then stay off the blog. No Problem!!!”

Something you too Alvin will be doing very soon when the destructive lying party which you embrace will be sending home thousands of public sector workers and announces the privatization or closure of statutory entities like the Transport Board and NHC.
    You will certainly sound like a damn(ed) fool trying to justify those decisions you claim on numerous occasions will never occur under a DLP government as long as you are alive.
    You had better start writing your own obituary with the RIP epitaph “Here lie the remains of the biggest stranger to the Truth”.

32. This Government is torturing Bajans. Public workers are being tortured –dont know what will happen to their jobs in the new year.
    And then the threat to crack heads looms large from
    Stinkmout Bigmout

Will the Government announce cuts tomorrow -nest week- next year
    Torturers !!!
    Do you think this fair ?

33. JUST ASKING | December 12, 2013 at 8:39 PM |
    There is a certain something missing, there seems to be a lack of commonsense, reasoning and comprehension
    —————————————————————
    True
    I endorse with this sentiment

34. JUST ASKING | December 12, 2013 at 9:40 PM |
    Will the Government announce cuts tomorrow -nest week- next year
    ——————-
    Thing is, the economy is getting worse by the day, and they do not have a clue of what to do about it. This, when we are in the middle of our tourist season, so what of when we get to May-June?

We are in such deep doo-doo.

The cuts will come in January and likely discussions with IMF by early March, as we run *ever lower* on foreign exchange.

IMF will insist that privatisation of multiple entities takes place.

Also, general cuts across the public service.

Now, I predict, based on comments from certain individuals re the income tax coming down over the past few years blah balh (they said), the Government will after Xmas:
    -raise income tax
    – cut public sector jobs

* Thinking * that such measures will help.

What it will *actually* do is:
    – slam the economy into a brick wall, economy will shut down. If people aint got it, they cannot spend it. Full stop.

Then they will still have to go to the IMF, in a worse condition than if they went now, under their own volition instead of under orders, after they screw more up.

35. in a democracy a person has a right to defend their character, the only thing dictatorial about that are those who have a problem with such a right, seems like the BLP yardfowls always be the one to claim dictatorship on the horizon but have no problem chastising and being critical of people seeking recourse against unsavory allegations

36. On the subject of the original article, seems a good distraction from what is REALLY the news huh? i.e. a bank and a ‘connected’ individual.

Of course, just a coincidence.

37. @ ac. No, do you not realize that those overseas ‘with’ the funds, seeing the Police on the doorstep of newspapers and the Opposition, will run at the sight, just WHEN we need investment.

And by the way, have you not heard of ‘civil action’ ???

THAT is how you defend yourself…a civil suit, NOT using the Police to do it!

That is another matter entirely….a VERY worrying one.

And just in case you do not understand……. it is not ‘yardfowls’ that are making these claims, but people who ACTUALLY understand the issues, which obviously you do not.

DUH!!!!

38. By the way ac, why did the intended bond issue today not go ahead either , huh?
    Is it because those overseas have NO CONFIDENCE in the Government??????

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | December 12, 2013 at 9:51 PM |

Isn’t it so funny how you could discuss with a measure of sanguinity (and indeed impunity) the concept of โ€˜defending oneโ€™s characterโ€™ when you have consistently accused OSA of being Barbadosโ€™s biggest crook and criminal while in office?

Have you no shame, woman or man?

40. what i do know that any damaged that has been done can be attributed to the blp constant call for doom and gloom and not no one time espisode of police interferrence where necessary. u guys are a pathetic bunch of losers grabbing at straws and hoping to see the country drowned in economic doo doo.

41. ac | December 12, 2013 at 10:15 PM |
    what i do know that any damaged that has been done can be attributed to the blp constant call for doom and gloom
    ————–
    Absolutely idiotic reasoning. What about the delivery of a budget that was none?

What about WASTING Police and court resources over a frivolous matter when time needs to be spent addressing the real economic woes of the country?

THAT says a lot about the mentality of those in government.

And your approach of trying to put blame for their ineptness off on another group is laughable.

NO, the current economic stagnancy is of their making.

Nevermind, at least, harsh though they may be, the IMF programmes coming will have some level of reasoning and economic understanding, unlike what pertains now.

42. ac | December 12, 2013 at 10:15 PM | hoping to see the country drowned in economic doo doo.
    ———–

Surely you did comprehension in school? Have you not read above?

The country ALREADY is in economic doo-doo. That is WHY the bond issue failed. No one wants them!

Logic much? DUH!

43. Crusoe,
    Your questions to ac are above her pay grade! Too stupid to understand the shit has hit the fan and that the country is over the fiscal cliff thanks in no small measure to the incompetent people she supports, lock, stock and barrel.

It is just ac now on BU defending Dem, reality now has hit dem, no more covering up, not much NIS left to plunder only the printing of money. We warned them, they called us sore losers, doom and gloom and stick it to us…….dems now, dems again. The DLP’s chickens have come home to roost…..their lies have finally caught up with them!

My parents always told us do good and good would attend you. Barbados now has to pay. I will be sorry for those who will lose their jobs but they voted for dem……………fooled again.

44. what about the failure under the blp 14year reign of not restructuring the economy. we can go around and around up and down but the failure of the blp to restructure the economy is the big part of this whole mess and cleaning it up going take a whole lot of money and time, people would not ; be fooled believing that this economy started spinning out of control four years ago, whatever the result or consequences necessary to repair it bears sufficient evidence to state the actualities of how this all started in the first place,

45. As if three prominent lawyers will shiver in their boots when questioned by the police.
    Are these the same people who spent hours in parliament this week, paying tribute to Nelson Mandela? My God, even our own Dipper Barrow must be churning in the Caribbean Sea.
    I hope that this is not a matter of the ship is sinking,and all the rats on board are beginning to clutch at straws.

46. are-we-there-yet? Avatar

Colonel Buggy;
    I suspect this interviewing of the 3 top Opposition members and the further suggestion of going after the Nation is a unique occurrence.

It can’t be anything else but your suggestion above else we would have had similar occurences before now.

47. Equal Rights & Justice Avatar
    Equal Rights & Justice

@ ac i really feel fa u doh,u fighting fa dem and dem make u look like an …

48. I hope that the Opposition would have given the IMF team the whole story about this inept and incompetent government..
    I cannot imagine, some ‘half train’, ‘half bake’ police officers interviewing 2 former Attorney Generals of this country. (LOL) deading with the laugh

49. Knowing the late PM Thompson the way we did he must be turning in his grave at what appears to be an assault on the press. BU holds no brief for the Nation newspaper but this is nonsense. This is the same Carrington who allowed the Estwick matter to die with the last parliament.

50. David. What about the opposition DLP no-confidence walkout back in 2008 relating to the Hardwood issue. Back then, the said opposition ridiculed speaker Ishmael Roett at political meetings and in the said newspaper. Oh how things rotate. The culture minister stated that the country should get more involve in movie production. Ah wonder if we will be seeing this government movie titled “Destruction of an economy by saying Nothing”