What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH! Read Nation article PM’s Word

What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH!

Read Nation article PM’s Word

296 responses to “A Prime Minister's Word”

1. Listening to me David m.steupse.i don.t make or suggest policy unlike some yard fowls who are vindictive and contentious wanting the govt to do what they belive is right for the country. anyhow my only role is to be supporative and not to help the BLP yardfowls kick the proverbial doom and gloom can down the road. GET IT.

2. I think those of us who are unblinkered by the promises of the present government know only too well that so long as they have control of the minds of their blind and un-informed membership,they will continue in their blissful ignorance of what is good and what is worthy of the bajan people.Stuart,Jones,Inniss,Boyce,Sinckler,the Lashleys,Kellman Sealy,Estwick,Lowe are all con artists and of such an expertise of conning that it is second nature to them.As Toppin put it succinctly,their morning words and their evening words are at variance.When the Dems came on stream in the 50’s they were derisively called the Damn Li-ed Party.They have simply got more brazen in their untruths.

3. Really bush TEA ! O.K. originality um lets see how much you score Let,s start with BUP an original thought ! how many years/and counting BT have tried and failed to get it off the ground and who are these so called original leaders who supposedly to lead by example … ammmmm CASWELL . LOL

4. @Pacha

BU has taken the decision to stay away from monetizing for obvious reasons. We do not march to anyone’s drum.

5. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Caswell is correct : Be Careful what you ask for

Pacha is correct: Money has no use in and of itself. It is only when people agree that money is the currency. Money has some advantages over other currencies.

ac is wrong : and continues to be wrong; blinded by partisan loyalty.Somehow you need a c’s type around though, to give you a gauge of the level of ignorance that abounds.
    ac , you are serving your purpose, never mind what is a said of you.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Caswell Franklyn | August 19, 2013 at 10:39 AM |

You have a very fertile imagination. Only someone of your statute could cook up this baloney.

Instead of running a one man “union”, you ought to be writing fiction novels. You would be a multi millionaire by now and you would not have to be signing to the Barbados Labour Party for your supper.

7. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Carson Cadogan is just an imbecile

8. @ David
    We humbly accept your position but you are to know that when BU decides to be all that it can be we are willing to help in more than one way.

9. Thanks Pacha, if the PM is entitled to recant on his promise word on free tertiary education so too lowly BU is inspired to follow…lol.

10. Man the outside world looking in must be asking who are these bunch of free loaders expecting govt to foot an education bill per hosuehold at a cost of around 40 thousand dollars a child. i wonder which world they lliving in. Really this got to be a joke. Wunna really serious though. now to add insult to inury the jokers belly aching that they are entitled to such a privilege but don.t want to pay a dime more to help with funding the UWI .wunna got to be mad

11. Man the outside world looking in must be asking who are these bunch of free loaders expecting govt to foot an education bill per hosuehold at a cost of around 40 thousand dollars a child. i wonder which world they lliving in. Really this got to be a joke. Wunna really serious though.

LET THOSE IN THE OUTSIDE WORLD LOOKING ON AND ASKING KNOW THAT THIS AMAZING FEAT HAS BEEN ACCOMPLISHED FOR YEARS AND THAT THE AUTHOR OF THE CRAP IN THE LAST POST HAS THE ABILITY TO PERFORM THE FEAT OF PERPETUALLY AND PERENNIALLY PUTTING HER FEET IN HER MOUTH

12. Wuhloss GP these are my feet and i can put them anywhich where i please.maybe u might find them up your royal christian a..rss one day not too SOON.

13. ac must you be so case at every turn?

14. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Spoken like a true idiot.

15. Sorry David that comment was meant for AC but your comment got in before mine.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 19, 2013 at 12:43 PM |

Are we hearing the rumbling drums of Privatization beating in ac’s hear?
    Do we see ac, like the PM, donning the battle dress of war against State “nannyism” in her inexorable march to privatization and greater self reliance in a 21st Century so-called highly educated Barbados?
    A country with a national debt the magnitude of a $10 billion millstone around its fiscal neck but still trying to wet-nurse her 47 year old grownup babies parasitically sucking at her growingly sore and dried up nipples.
    What prophetic imagery by the man who has delivered his electoral sperm but is reneging on his paternal responsibilities!

Bajan children its time you get real and if you want to remain in the increasingly degenerating house called “Bim home, sweet home” you must start repaying the large mortgage your aging mummy is unable to maintain as before while working the “beaches and hotels aka streets and brothels” and in Bushie’s fecund imagination engaging in the ‘black’ art of tourism called BT prostitution.

But then again there is always the option of a reverse mortgage. Sweet living high living Bubadus can also go after the financial carrots of borrowing more and more continuing with the US$500 million for instant highlife gratification like another cocaine hit further disinheriting her children and future generations inevitably bringing to stark fruition Bushie’s vision of a nation of black serfdom peopled with over-rated paper qualifications but unable to function than being hewers of hardwood and drawers of toilet bowl water.

So ac are you for or still against the “P” word? Leave GP’s foot out of your big mouth and deal with the miller’s 12 inch of a ‘P’ for puzzle.

17. ac | August 19, 2013 at 12:43 PM |
    Man the outside world looking in must be asking who are these bunch of free loaders expecting govt to foot an education bill per hosuehold at a cost of around 40 thousand dollars a child.
    ——————-

you have to take into consideration where Barbadians came from as a people: impoverished; enslaved; denied many things.
    Errol Barrow in his wisdom and vision saw that education was the key to advancement and placed a premium on it. His vision should be respected. Please do not be so callous about such a serious matter. For heavens sake , be serious . Your last comment was hurtful !

18. Okay government apologists, here’s a suggestion, and one that I’ve made before. It starts with a question. Why are we spending $500 million on purchasing and refurbishing two hotels when our economy needs an injection of foreign direct investment (FDI)? At least one foreign company is interested in taking over Almond Beach Village (ABV). A company with huge expertise, international recognition and marketing power. If they were to purchase and re-furbish ABV, they would be doing so with THEIR money, brought in as foreign exchange. Barbados and their hotel would be marketed before the re-furbishing is even finished, as per the Sandals LaSource in Grenada. Why, why then are we going to spend OUR foreign exchange and non-existent funds to do the job ourselves? There can only be one reason. Do I have to spell it out?

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

To Ac:
    millertheanunnaki | August 19, 2013 at 3:30 PM |
    “Are we hearing the rumbling drums of Privatization beating in ac’s hear?”

Sorry ac but mi a ment to suh ya “ear” but being a Jamaican by patrimony mi kant spell too good, seen!
    You batty liking bwoys better a start learning de lingo thing fast since yunnah (h)edicated Bajuns a like a too copy we yardies so much. Ya like a copy we dutty music. Ya even copying we economic ‘istory and behavin like true folla pattern kill a Cadogan kall Carson bwoy!
    Soon end up like we in foreigner IMF man hands. Every dawg has his day and every puss his 4 o’clock” [Today for me, tomorrow for you]

To all my friendly Jamaican cousins excuse the milla; ‘e is just a ‘alf breed and just want to be like Bob and throw e corn to see who the cap fit. “Mi throw mi corn, but me no call no fowl”

Dat wicked eee!

20. @ Miller
    “But then again there is always the option of a reverse mortgage. Sweet living high living Bubadus can also go after the financial carrots of borrowing more and more continuing with the US$500 million ……”
    Serious Miller….you are beginning to make ac look sane yuh…
    You MUST be some kinda lawyer!!!

You are seriously saying that the ONLY way for Barbadians to do well is by selling the assets that our (less highly educated) foreparents accumulated? …..or by selling ourselves (our pride and dignity) to those with money? ….or by begging and borrowing…?

You ever heard about producing goods and services that are in demand by others – because they have inherent VALUE?

You ever heard about creativity and ingenuity? …and marketing?

You ever heard about competitiveness – doing it BETTER, CHEAPER and SMARTER?

The possibilities are ENDLESS ….but not for retarded brass bowls of course, …or for those who can only see themselves as porters, hotel maids or crooked parasite lawyers……
    You like you is a mock Annunaki yuh….

21. @Bush Tea

And we will buy water when that time comes. For Barbados it is about consumption over production any day of the week. This is a consequence of our investment in education, and ROI of 100 years.

22. Hey y’all,
    All you hear Staurt threatening we.Well,well,well.Imagine a party expressing its opinion on the straight jacket in which a country finds itself,then Jones backing off the UWI tuition bandwagon,only for the top dog to go to press to state “all ‘o we agree to dem tings in cabinet,ev’ry one ‘o we”.Stuart using the “R”word ya hear!Was it Menzies who said’today is a funny night’ and hold some jail for them words.Mia had better rein in her Rubbing Shoulders campaign.Stuart got he Commissioner in place and he Chief Judge in place and he top legal man is now a QC so all ya better watch what all ya saying.Buy helmet and shin gaurd while ya at it.R in de place!

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 19, 2013 at 4:09 PM |

Sarcasm my friend, satirically mock sarcasm! An ironic form of bathos in reverse wrapped in a parody designed to take the mickey out of those Bajans (without blatant intellectual offense to the likes of ac) with champagne taste but with mauby pockets and maxing out the credit cards.

You must learn to read between the lines and what is ‘esoterically’ stored underneath and not take things at superficial face value even when they are your very BT analogous words repeated for ironic effect.
    But what can one expect from a true-blue (reverse BT) dye-in-the-wool WYSIWYG Bajan to a “T” called BT who takes every thing literal in true biblical style, figuratively speaking of course.

Go back and read over the comment you might just find a really unique double entendre of paradoxical agreement with your fatalistic postulations LOL!!!

24. I think this government is not a thinking government. We may need to peacefully protest

25. Both the DLP and BLP must be permanently absolutely removed by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country from the governmental political landscape in this country.

Now is the time to use all available rational legitimate means at our disposal to do so.

This is an action call to all those people in Barbados who wish to participate in this mobilization campaign to do so.

No matter where we are from in St. Michael, St. James, St. Peter, St. Lucy, St. Andrew, St. Thomas, St. Thomas, St. George, St. John, St. Philip and Christ Church, whether we are from the heights or terraces, villages or communities, whether we are very skilled or not so skilled professionals, this is the time to create our own disciplined well oiled people centered social political movements for the total absolute liberation of the broad masses and middle classes from the filthy clutches of the DLP and BLP and money grubbing oppressors in this country.

This is the time for serious regimental political action to be taken against those kinds of fools.

For, a great enveloping and pernicious darkness must be stopped from descending on Barbados very soon.

26. Pat

Take a serious look at both sides … Seriously …!

The upside is that there is talent in both, maybe not enough of it …!

27. The only people talking about rioting is the Prime Minister of this country. Aint he look bad on my TV tonight!!! He should really look after himself and stop being such a nasty bitch.

Ronald Jones is talking about cracking heads and police shooting people.

Donville Inniss and Chris Stinkliar are saying the BLP wants to incite riots.

What is wrong with these people? Are we now in a state where we cannot criticise the government? Why are they so thin skinned? Is it because everything is unravelling and they do not have a clue what to do?

Can you imagine a PM who is so lazy, has the same portfolio as a dying man will suddenly be so busy checking on Stinkliar that he promises boldly….the projects will be delivered. Yea right!!!!!!!

28. @ BAFBFP
    LOL …TALENT? What the hell is that? ……potential?
    Pat is lamenting the lack of THINKING…..the SENSIBLE application of talent….
    …where do you see that…?

@ PDC
    “Both the DLP and BLP must be permanently absolutely removed by the broad masses and middle classes of people of this country from the governmental political landscape in this country.”
    AGREED!!! …….and put whom? ….Not wunna !!!
    Wuh wunna EVER accomplished in ANY sphere that mek wunna feel dat wunna wud be any better than Gear Box?
    ….or wunna just need the little pick to help feed wunna children too..?

29. We are too funny. Read some new trade theory.

30. After boldly declaring (another bold face lie) that there will be no more supplementals……..in the dead of the night…..in the early hours of Friday morning….this bold face liar, Stinkliar……brought a supplemental to the house for over eight hundred thousand dollars. You would not believe what it was for…..to build a canopy and an elevator at Illaro Court for this lazy ass PM we have.

And this at a time when this wicked inept incompetent government cuts the reverse tax credit for the poorest of the poor. This could have paid the $1300 for over 650 persons.

And this is a party that claims it is for poor people and that their policies are pathways to progress??? Heartless people!

31. @ Prodigal son
    Skippa you very acid….the PM like he sting yuh with that SOLID argument for the tuition fees… 🙂

You got to give Jack he jacket….
    Dipper help with the free education when our foreparents were working for a couple shillings and had no understanding of the value of a degree, or any means of paying for one for a child….

YOU REALLY think that the lotta Bajans who now have one or more degrees (paid for by the taxpayers) should be SPONGING on the same taxpayers to pay tuition for THEIR children?
    SHAME…
    Look up the meaning of MENDICANT.

32. Bush

Understood …

33. Bush Tea
    Why Education first? The ‘municipal’ tax aint promoting freeness too? Tell me how the people in NHC units gine pay?

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

From Facebook

“Life is sometimes so predictable. Bajan indigenous businesses look for safe exploitation first and foremost, they do not believe in taking risks – even good risks. Case in point. In every other Caribbean island where the CPL franchise cricket is being played some local businesses have taken a leap of faith and have invested in the tournament. Not here in Barbados. Not one took an equity interest in the Barbados Tridents. You have American and Scottish actors buying into the tournament, into the franchises, but where are the big-name local companies? Now that the tournament has been a huge success expect to see a few Bajan companies jumping on the bandwagon in 2014. And then we wonder why economic activity can be so sluggish at times in the island.”

WADE GIBBONS

35. This action call goes out to many of the thousands of younger people in Barbados (especially students) – who will be among the core social demographic groups helping to permanently absolutely remove the DLP and the BLP from the political governmental landscape of this country.

This is the time to lessen your focus and attention on sporting and entertainment activities for the time being.

For there is a greater civic duty and calling to the nation to be undertaken at this juncture.

Indeed, sports and entertainment have been used by ruling oligarchs and their minions in most places to help distract and disorient these very younger stronger more intelligent people away from naturally positioning themselves to – in whatever ways – dominate most segments of the Barbadian society.

Sports and entertainment, too, and especially the very competitive aspects of them, it must be said are used by these same oligarchs and their minions to help divide and rule and slow the rate of social material progression of those very younger stronger more intelligent people in the country.

The fact is that many years ago the rulers of the UK, USA and other powerful western countries and their domestic external supporters made sure that they had laid the social political material financial foundations for the further growth and development of their own countries and nation states, long before some of those other political oligarchs and their supporters decided to seriously organize sporting and entertainment activity on a substantial scale in the respective countries.

So our clear to the younger very politically progressive people in the country that things like English European football, time to le

36. just checking to see if any blp yarfowls. found a secret to funding the UWI,i think pachama of idea bit coin was right up bajan alley no control

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 19, 2013 at 7:55 PM |
    “Skippa you very acid….the PM like he sting yuh with that SOLID argument for the tuition fees…”

Prodigal Son has every right to be “acid”.
    What about you, Bushman? Where are your scruples? Aren’t you ashamed to face your BBE when you seek to back a damned lying hypocrite?

How can a liar ever have a sound argument that is totally bereft of the truth? The acid test for a sound a solid argument regarding the wellbeing of innocent ordinary trusting citizens is that it should be based on truth.

Where was the Truth when the PM declared that free university education at the first degree level will always prevail under his watch knowing full well such a position was totally untenable given the known historical funding context and the government disastrous fiscal performance?

But we know what happened when a certain cretin calling himself a man of God like your BBE made similar pronouncements about a dead man coming back to life like Lazarus under his watch too.

You ought to be carefully remorseful as you mention your BBE in one breath while backing liars and crooks in the other.
    Maybe a command from your favourite book you use to bash homos might put you on the spot and bring youto “Christian” understanding:
    “Do not steal. Do not lie. Do not deceive one another.” Leviticus 19:11

Why don’t you deal with the point Enuff has raised about tenants in government rented units not pulling their weight with the rising cost of waste disposal and management.
    And we don’t want to hear any shite about Greenland. You are living in the real present not some imaginary past that you would like to become a BBE too to turn back the hands of time and bury OSA in the virgin landfill.

38. @ Enuff
    Bush Tea
    Why Education first?
    As man Enuff…. You done know that WHATEVER they decided to cut first…you would have been showing how wrong and inept it was to do so….
    ..as you will with whatever they cut next 🙂 or what ever the decide NOT to cut.

Don’t you think that MIA should publish her action plan / budget (of what she would do) if elected…?

39. @Prodigal
    I will not have Stuart,Sinckler,Jones,Sealy,Kellman,the Lashleys,Lowe, Irene Garner,Quisling Boyce nor Physical Deficit Ince in my living room on my TV at anytime morning,noon or night.I am not impressed by any of their talk.
    They are all dimwits and liars.Anytime they appear, I switch channel.
    Why is it that in this so called ‘punching above its weight’country we have one local TV station only.Trinidad have several;as do Guyana and Jamaica.Why do we tolerate this one sidedness.Both BLP and DLP do it.Isn’t it shameful?

40. DLP(formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP(formerly CBC) TV

I now hearing from the DEMs that these vote buying councils (aka constituency councils) do not consume a lot of tax payers money so the BEEs should not criticise them. Now let me tell the DEMs reading this that they might think they are dealing with a nation of complete POPPETS and that everybody besides them born yesterday. Firstly as far as I know it is the Minister of Social Care that has the final decision on council members ( I stand to be corrected). Now if that doesn’t SCREAM political influence I don’t know what is!!!!!. Now any party in power influencing membership wouldcould therefore influence where the funds will go. Now intentionally or not the councils ( influenced by party in power) it will have the effect of “looking good” in the eyes of who benefiting from those funds i.e. to make a long story short it will be seen as “vote buying”. Also the DEMS think that they ever so brilliant by establishing these councils as “Local Gov’t” but they did it at the constituency level (WHY?!!!) hence this “vote buying” in our first past the post system would(possibly) influence the vote towards the ruling party’s candidate. This has to be the most CONTEMPTUOUS and most SHAMEFUL attempt to try to influence the electorate in BARBADOS’ history and it must cease IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!.
    Now more specifically relating to this issue, anybody that knows the history of the vote buying councils’ football tournament know that the DEMS should be given the award for “biggest propaganda event” in Barbados’ history. This so-called “tournament” was devised under the DEMS, through these councils, AFTER the LIMEPelican tournament to which Mia Mottley (now the Opposition Leader) is a major partner in. Now somebody(or somebodies) in the DEMS probably panicked and told themselves we got to counter LIMEPelican. The DEMS having no SHAME WHATSOEVER used taxpayers money to come up with their tournament and launched it in the very SAME MONTH as LIMEPelican. Mind you LIMEPelican outside Mia has no true “link” to any political party but the DEMs could create their tournament WHILE a sitting DEM was the BFA president. NOW this is just plain ABUSE of power by the DEMs
    The DEMS also always droning that the BEES don’t put up alternatives so let me put forward some concerning “local Gov’t”
    1) it should be at the PARISH level to avoid any(well most) perceptions of voter and voting influence.
    2) Local Gov’t should be run like an association where administration should be “voted” in by parish members.
    3) the parliamentary representatives in the parish should be “honourary” or observer members in the “councils” administration regardless of party.
    4) The councils would be quasi- independent of “central gov’t” in that government provides funding but its use determined solely by the Parish council

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 19, 2013 at 8:57 PM |
    “just checking to see if any blp yarfowls. found a secret to funding the UWI,i think pachama of idea bit coin was right up bajan alley no control”
    Here is one:

The Government should float a bond called the Tertiary Education Investment Bond to be taken up by the public made up of many cash-rich private individuals like you and Bushie with millions sitting in savings accounts at banks and credit unions. Now let us see you guys put your money where your big mouths are.

The proceeds from the bond subscription would be used to significantly recapitalize the Student Revolving Loan Fund (SRLF) with the management of the fund “outsourced” to a non-profit private sector-placed organization reporting direct to a Board of Directors which would be comprised of non-political (ministerial) appointees from a cross section of civic society but primarily from the education and training sector.

Parliament would have general (not day-to-day) oversight since the Board of Directors would have a fiduciary responsibility to the people and having to submit annual reports to a Parliamentary sub-committee made up of equal representatives from both sides of the political divide.

The funding of the operational costs of the SRLF would be from an annual subvention from Central Government, tax deductible contributions from private individuals and charities and most imaginatively from a special tax on the sale of all lottery tickets and games of chance sold by the Barbados National Lottery of its successors.

This is a start of a new funding model which can be fleshed out.
    Now let us see you shoot it down like a sitting duck since it is coming from a well known so-called BLP (Brilliantly Leveraged and Presented) yard fowl.

42. not ac whenever the blp come on tv i turned the volume up loud not to miss nothing. got to hand it to hinckson. he outsourcing everything at UWI including the gardener,

43. Looking down the road at Barbados in about 2050, we will be back at where we were in 1961, there will be just the rich and the poor. Children of the poor bajans will not be able to obtain tertiary education, but unlike 1961, these young people will rebel. Barbados will NEVER return to the days when the poor tipped their hats to the rich. We have disrupted not a can of worms but a nest of centipedes. I will not be around but I fear for my grands and great-grands. By then we might be ruled by the Chinese anyhow.

44. unsurprised and unimpressed Avatar
    unsurprised and unimpressed

@ june boy

2050? Please, you don’t have to look so far forward. Just give it 10 years. The decision to charge for fees will not be reversed. More likely future governments will give a tax credit to the middle classes if any relief at all. Also likely, BCC and SJPP will start to charge fees as well or raise entrance requirements as they will have more applicants, more competition and will be less able to demand subsidies from government (with the UWI decision as precedent).
    Still, the middle classes will be able to afford to send their children to school as many had already started planning for it. More poor people will indeed be out in the cold, but another reality will set in, with the absence of bajans with degrees needed to fill jobs, particularly if we finally succeed in attracting foreign investors, other Caribbean nationals and foreigners will come in and fill the well paying jobs. The thrust towards entrepreneurship will bypass the same poor people with no skills, just a basic education and no start up capital, they will not be able to form successful start-ups (unless you consider selling ackees side de road entrepreneurship) . We may even have trouble recruiting degree trained teachers to cover just the basic education if teaching does not pay enough to warrant an investment in a degree. If standards fall, the drift away from public primary school will continue to secondary schools for the middle classes.
    One of the great levelers and unique features of bajan society; the fact that most children from all walks of life mix through the education system will fade away.
    Classism will get worse. But, that is to be expected with this government. They are fans of lower classes, using them and keeping them poor is their bread and butter. In their eyes, it is better to give a man a free house through the UDC and get the photo op than give him an opportunity or afford him the dignity of being able to get one on his own.

At the end of the day you really can’t blame the government, they never purported to be competent or honest and who wouldn’t take advantage of a fool willing to exchange their vote for a couple Grantleys or the cost of a light bill.

45. I am thrilled at the intellectuals on BU.

For me the highest officer here is Bush Tea – I love him very very much and Baf I just can’t begin to express my love for him to find words I am speechless.

Maybe I missed alot – where is Onions?

Nuff nuff respect and great love for Georgie. Miller my friend and brain teaser Good Night to you.

I do not begin to understand why you are not leaders of our country and do not counsel at the highest level including the Governor General and Governor of the Central Bank.

You learned Guys make my Government look like Barbie play room where my girls go in and just look around and walk out.

I am getting the impression that that is exactly what you are saying the Ministers and former products of UWI, been elected through a democratic process are doing.

If the PM made a promise and could not keep it due to financial strain is not wickedness. Sickness can cause and individual to cancel a vacation trip although already booked and lose a portion but not the entire cost depending on when you cancel.

Give us some slack.

Personally I don’t listen to Sinckler – he rambles at the beginning, goes off issue and tries to keep the attention of the audience after the mind is tuned out. I read his offerings.

The middle class to pay for education – naturally I support it because you built your lavish houses forgetting that the children’s education was being paid for by the poor as well so now you have finished paying for your houses or close to doing so – pay for the tertiary education and demand greater from the UWI.

Stop whining and pay. Doctors, Lawyers, Consultants pay.

Those who have pride and cannot discuss their challenges to get assistance for tertiary education then you pay as well. Reduce overseas travel and pay for the tertiary education for your children.

Hey, tomorrow when I a getting a pension, I will have to pay for every thing under this sun because you acquired greater knowledge and less wisdom. To whom much is given much is required.

46. This action call goes out to many of the thousands of younger people (especially students) in Barbados – who will be among the core social demographic groups helping to permanently absolutely remove the DLP and the BLP from the political governmental landscape of this country.

This is the time to lessen your participation in, focus, and attention on sporting and entertainment activities for the time being.

For there is a greater civic duty and calling to the nation, to be undertaken at this juncture.

Indeed, sports and entertainment have been used by ruling oligarchs and their minions in most places to help distract and disorient these very younger stronger more intelligent people away from naturally positioning themselves – in modernistic ways – to rightfully manage lead most segments of the Barbadian society.

Sports and entertainment, too, and especially the very competitive aspects of them, it must be said are used by these same oligarchs and their minions to help divide and rule and slow the rate of social material progression of those very younger stronger more intelligent people in the country.

The fact is that many years ago the rulers of the UK, USA and other powerful western countries and their domestic external supporters made sure that they had laid the social political material financial foundations for the further growth and development of their own countries and nation states, long before some of those other political oligarchs and their supporters decided to seriously organize sporting and entertainment activity on a substantial scale in the respective countries.

So, nowhere in the annals of American society will it be, for argument sake, found that any sporting event organization league is perceived by the majority of Americans living today as being more important historically than the Boston Tea Party, the American Civil War.

Thus, what must be clear to the younger very politically progressive people in this country is that things like local cricket and football, English European World football and cricket, the IPL, the CPL, the Olympics, the put your hands pun de bumper, bring drinks somebody goin pay mentalities, even the friendly use of the internet/the computer, must be some what deemphasized in net terms, at the same time as the political control relationships that have long existed and that have remained essentially intact between the oligarchs and the masses and middle classes in Barbados are being substantially destroyed vis-a-vis the putting of these two intellectually politically bankrupt and discredited DLP/BLP and the money grubbing oppressors back into a state of non-existence.

So, as many younger people give up some measure of accustomed participation in sports and entertainment for the time being – in the thrust to utterly totally remove the DLP the BLP and the money grubbing oppressors of the vast majority of people of Barbados from the political governmental landscape of the country, such sacrifices will definitely be needed in view of the evolving of a new progressive people-centered political governmental dispensation for the country.

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This incompetent PM and his Cabinet need to go sooner rather than later, but I predict that they will hang on for dear life until 2016 so as to qualify for their pensions. While they are messing up the lives of Bajans their only discernible goal is to hold on to qualify for their pensions at age 50.

Do you remember Freundel suggesting that people should go back to the canefields, well, he has certainly found a way. If poor people cannot afford to pay to educate their children they might have no option than to look for menial work no matter how bright the children might be. Those with money will pay for their children and those without would send their children to provide the workforce to carry out menial task. The motto of the DEMS should be, “Keep them poor and ignorant”.

They claim that means testing would be done to help deserving students: by deserving I take it to mean DEMS as is their standard operating procedure. Presently, the jobs go to their political friends, in most cases, incompetent friends.

Mind you even with university degrees, most of the people elected on the Government side in 2008 were either unemployed, underemployed or unemployable.

48. Amused not to be left out I am often upright when reading your posit, the research and experience flowing from your pen keeps my attention. The Bush Tea responds and I am left in stitches.

Caswell is very informative and moves away from his point only when evidence shows differently – Caswell muh man!!! Man with strength of character I love that.

Carson keep up the posits. Like Caswell and Sir Lloyd stand firm.

I did not know truth was such an amusement – I would lime with you lot. It’s truly good to see Baf toned down from his colourful language.

I truly appreciate the updates and research, rebuttals, discussion in BU.

Don’t often get to write but I certainly read.

God bless.

Oh and again Georgie keep it up your surgical and clinical ophthamalogy practice is second to none. You are definitely the eye of this team and you do not miss a heart beat. I love it.

Blessings.

49. Brief (10:41)

You are missing one salient point and that is people who are now required to pay fees at UWI would be paying twice. The Government extracts huge sums in taxes with the understanding that those taxes would go to provide things like Education, health care and roads. They are now asking us to pay for Education and Health, and the roads are not being maintained. Where is the money that was taken off taxpayers for these purposes? We paid already. The tax burden should be reduced because we are now being called upon to provide for ourselves that which we have already paid.

50. Caswell, men like yourself are on the outside looking in and complaining.

If my eyes are closed I cannot see I have to be told or feel my way through everything.

The intellectuals are outside of Parliament and you are refusing to offer yourselves to serve inside of Parliament.

The PM has made decisions for today anticipating a better tomorrow ‘hope for the best but expect the worse’ approach. We are not shock nor can we be.

After all the talk we still have to give whatever strategy is made time to work.

Mia was asked to put her ideas on the table and DLP formerly CBC TV placed something there on the table.

Mia moved to slow and was out run by DLP formerly …

What in the budget is praiseworthy and workable? Can any of you give credit where it is due?