What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH! Read Nation article PM’s Word

What value should we place in the word of a Prime Minister. Should we dismiss Prime Minister Stuart’s promise as election campaign rhetoric? Should we dismiss the promise the late Prime Minister David Thompson made to CLICO policyholders? Are we finally willing to say to politicians, ENOUGH!

Read Nation article PM’s Word

296 responses to “A Prime Minister's Word”

1. Liverpool Station Avatar
    Liverpool Station

Freundel and Chris are bound together by the fact that they both fear ESTWICK and INNISS. The Stuart administration is facing an internal challenge and both Stuart and Sinckler are pooling resources to keep ESTWICK and INNISS from deposing them.

2. Did Inniss depose George Pilgrim at the AGM today?

3. I qill not cease fighting against you people: Bushie, Pachamama, Miller, David, sargeant. Look, Just asking, and sometimes georgie Porgie, because for the many months that I have been contriuting to these discussions I have not heard anything designed to uplift the country. In all this time from before the election, during the election eriod, after the election and now post budget, I have not heard one good thing said about politicians (remember that your elected collegues young Blpites, are also politicians so you are tarring them with the same brush. What is it you want apart from wishing the DLP to sink into the sea and disappear, Owen to get a life again, Mia not to be elected as Prime Minister and the Private sector to regain control over Black peopleresurrecting the dead and buried Massa syndrome. The people saw through this subterfuge and reelected the DLP, why can’t you accept that. Even if they are incompetent (your feelings) they are the ones elected and the people entrusted their future in their hands accept that and at least try to enjoy whatever life you have left, let the country enjoy a period of peace and tranquility and at least assist in helping it get on its feet again.Encourage all those who you assisted in trying to destroy this economy to bring back the money and let us survive. Remember that whatever takes place will affect everybody.I am tired of this constant bickering and complaining.

4. @Alvin

BU agreed with Ronald Jones when he said in parliament of the blogs some time ago that we lick left right and centre which is a departure from the benign and moribund traditional media.

5. @Pacha, this is the system we have. It serves the U.S, It serves Germany, it serves everyDempoaratic country and you can take my word for it it is the best system there is. I am older than you , I am sure, and I have lived under other systems in other countries. You do not want to experience that othe system. Trust me!!Don’t try to destroy what you have and is good. When you break an egg you can NEVER put it together again. Do not wish for things you know nothing about. Believe me the consequences will be worse than you would want or expect or even hope for. A word to the wise is sufficient. I don’t know who you are but I am giving you good sound advice. Cease and desist.

6. @ Alvin Cummings

No amount of scare mongering will help. We are generally arguing that the SYSTEM itself needs to be overthrown. Meaning both the B’s and your Dees.

Elected! Morsi thought he was ‘elected’ too, but he only had 25% of the population. And your boy Stuart barely won a close vote and wants to pretend there was a popular mandate. Democracy can’t be about just winners and losers alone. Sometimes when you ‘win’ with a small majority there has to be another interpretation. An interpretation that cannot be the same if when you have a landslide. But beyond that,which you should know, we have been arguing that the system does not work anyhow for most of the people and it should indeed be replaced, post haste!

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | August 18, 2013 at 10:11 PM |

Miller is not the one lying to the people. He is not the one having to backtrack from pre-election promises and commitments although full seized with the economic facts and financial data on the parlous almost broke state of the country.

The miller conscience is clear. Is your conscience clear Alvin, Mr. “No Layoffs& No Privatization”?
    Maybe the old lady in the Transport Board bus ad can assist you in answering the question the country has for you and your moribund leader who has lost his way and about to declare war on the poor citizens.

PS:
    Continue to stew in your own home cooked no privatization juices awaiting the final spices called IMF (Its My Fault).

The truth will always win in the end!

“There is no pillow so soft as a clear conscience.”

8. @Pacha we operate under the rule of Lsw and follow a process to change. We have had more than one political party contesting elections in this country over the years. We have not only had B Or D, we have had to, and still have the People’s Empowerment Party, We have had the New Democratic Party, we have had Independents; some of whom got elected and served in Parliament, We have hadother groups that contested elections. they followed the rule of law and adhered to the process. What you are proposing goes beyond that. You want to take matters into your own hand and engineer a complete change, but even there there is a process to follow. what is the structureyou propose? What is your agenda? What are your proposals for effective government? What are your proposals for functioning within the world community, or do you propose isolating the island behind a wall? What are your plans for the future after you get rid of the system? How would you expect the rest of the world to accept you? How would you trade? with whom would you trade…the same forms of government as the one you propose to overthrow? I already told you THINK!!!Human life is precious and the loss of a single life in a futile exercise is a waste. In The Gladiator, the hero dies and traverses the Elysian fields where he meets his wife and child who had been killed before. Believe me there are no Elysian fields to enjoy traversing.

9. @ Alvin Cummins
    It is frighten people like you that made King Dyal. The American political system is not working for the majority of the American people either. In your Mother Country hunger is on the rise, poverty is on the rise. You don’t see how many revolutions we’ve had in so many countries in the 20 years. Does this not tell you something? Revolutions in nearly all of South America, MENA, Eastern Europe and so on. Look at the amount of poor, sick, hungry, etc people in the world you really think we should keep a system because we don’t want to break eggs. We think not!

Why can’t we run Barbados like a credit union. With the members, the population, having the right to hire and fire our servants on Bay Street whenever we wish. Furthermore, you must know that if Stuart called an election today he might not even win a seat. However, that result will not help Barbados either. We have traveled to more countries than most, so don’t go there with that experience things. We’ve gone to all the countries that you would say we should not go to, and more.

10. @David
    There is a difference between a promise and a lie, I would characterise his statement as a promise which has been broken. When the statement was made he hoped that he would be able to keep it but subsequent events have derailed that promise.

@Alvin Cummings
    Has paranoia set in? Since you are late to the party I would advise you to reread some of the opinions that I have proffered on these pages.
    In the meanwhile since you are a sometimes resident of Hogtown, there is a wonderful facility at 1001 Queen St. West which can do wonders for your paranoia.

11. Note that Minister Jones referred to the change in UWI fees as a project. He stated all the stakeholders are welcome to the tale to discuss. In the mind of government there is obviously an uncertainty about the change to be implemented fron September 2014.

@Sargeant

Let us agree that he made the promise in 2011 knowing full well government finances did not support any optimism it would be kept.

12. We have duly taken cognizance of the fact that there are several ‘For Sale by Tender’ notices that have appeared in yesterday’s Saturday Sun and in today’s Sunday Sun.

It seems that Republic Bank in Barbados is on the verge of selling the building properties of many persons in this country, at such a time of increasing material financial hardship austerity in Barbados.

Indeed, we must state that this is the time for these persons who are on the verge of losing their homes, buildings, to the unfeeling actions of Republic Bank and other wicked financial institutions, as well as this is the time for many others who are groveling, starving and finding it extremely hard to make certain ends meet in this country to get up and take serious and overwhelming political action against the DLP/BLP and the money grubbing oppressors in this country.

13. @PachYou draw my attention to what has taken place in Egypt. that should serve as an example and warning to you. there are forces out there; countries, individuals, societies, groupings etc who will not be preparded to let you do as you would like. Morsi’s removal had nothing to do with the Egyptian people per se. International forces ans agencies took a hand in that matter. There is a yellow building you should take notice of. Nuff said.pick sense out of nothing.

14. @Miller
    How come in the BLP manifesto there is no talk of privatizing CBC? How come there is talk of giving out more licences when during the term of the BLP they had te perfect opportunity to do this during the fourteeyears they were in office/After promising to do these things before they were elected?Talk about broken promises.

15. alvin cummins don’t let them get u involved with a tit for tat about ‘Promises they had a leader who had no gumption about telling lies upfront not a broken promises but a bold faced Lies

16. Sargeant:
    Me paranoid? Never my mind is the epitome of clarity. . I know what I am talking about though. And Pacha..have you experienced a revolution? Are our people able to experience the results of revolution? Do we have the resilience to do like the Cuban people who revolted almost sixty years ago and are still suffering from the embargo? Are we suffering so greatly that our people are able to do like the Palestinian people and maintain a struggle for over sixty years? Because you see revolts and revolutions on Television the true impact of the suffering engendered by such things do not come through.I remember seeing a film as a young man with the title “Dead men tell no tales”. when you are dead that is the end you have no conception of what goes on afterward.that’s all.

17. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REASON WHY THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY SHOULD BE THE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS AT THIS TIME. ABSOLUTELY NONE.

18. BARBADOS IS OFF TRACK AND THE DLP CANNOT BRING IT BACK

19. @just asking

check the above video enough reason… hey that was budget 2011

20. THE SAME PERSONS WHO ADVISED THE GOVERNMENT IN 1991 ARE ADVISING THE GOVERNMENT IN 2013. LIKE A THUMB PRINT THEY CANNOT CHANGE -IT IS WHA THEY KNOW AND IT IS WRONG AND WILL PRESENT THE SAME RESULTS EVERYTIME-HARDSHIPS AND UNEASE

21. I DONT WANT TO HEAR ANYTHING FROM YOU AC-ANOTHER CUNT.

I GOT ONE THING FOR YOU AND THAT IS A SPOT ON THE PARADE SQUARE. YOU WILL BE THERE FOR A MINUTE.
    ASSEMBLE THE SQUAD
    WAIT FOR THE ORDER
    BOOM !

22. Did we hear correctly on CBC TV news earlier tonight the Prime Minister saying that recently importers were unable to get foreign exchange from financial institutions and had to instead go to the Central Bank of Barbados to get it?

If what we heard is correct, is this blanket statement true?

Does it really apply to a few small importers or all big importers?

Do big importers really get actual foreign exchange from the Central Bank to get to import goods/services?

If we heard properly what was reported on CBC TV news to have come out of the mouth of the Prime Minister in his address to a clearly flagging tired looking depression sapped audience of members of the DLP at the George Street Auditorium, it must mean that something surely does not add between what the Prime Minister said and what is the reality.

The Prime Minister is bold facedly lying some where along the line.

23. TOO MUCH LIES FROM THE DLP -AS USUAL
    VAT WILL BE REVERTED TO 15 % AFTER 19 MONTHS–LIE
    ST. VINCENT AND DOMINCA CALLED STINKLIAR A LIAR-

ST,VINCENT + DOMINICA -INVESTING IN 4 SEASONS–LIE
    ECONOMY STABLE- LIE
    ACTUALLY ECONOMY UNSTABLE
    MDFS -ABANDONED
    NO LAYOFFS –LIE.

THIS DLP GOVERNMENT CANNOT BE TRUSTED
    LET THE MARCHES BEGIN
    LET THE PROTEST BEGIN

24. Similarities?

25. @ Alvin Cummins

There is no higher law than the collective voice of the people of Barbados, irrespective of what is written, or the customs. The world is in the middle of tectonic transformation and, as a dependable, conservative you will have us maintain a system that can go no further. No! We say revolution today, revolution tomorrow, revolution forever! You really think that when people are hungry any amount of threats can stop them from doing what they have to do. Including pulling down this system, including your beloved DLP government and, the straw man, the BLP.

26. @ Alvin Cummins

Threatening us! How come you could never lock up the politicians, on both, sides that thief from the people of Barbados, lied, brought economic violence, benefited the .01 percent, illegally funded campaigns, taken kick-backs and bribes, and being idiots. When we see you carry these before your courts it is then we will be afraid. Until then you and your system are toothless tigers.

27. @ Pacha
    “We should run the place like a Credit Union”
    Obviously you missed Bushie’s clear, specific and detailed proposals – before the last elections, which explained EXACTLY how this could be achieved – and even identified a number of KEY PLAYERS who could guarantee success.

….but have you ever tried reasoning with a set of crockery.. ..especially of brass….?

BTW
    You REALLY arguing with Alvin Cummings? …shiite man, his initials are ac…..need Bushie say more…..
    He needs only be told one word……
    HUSH! 🙂

28. @ checkit-out… It is very difficult for one to disagree with your post of August 18th. at 9:18pm. Exactly how many medium to long term strategies have we been given by the current MOF? Still the synopsis tells us of no change anytime soon. I like Chris and would love to see him succeed,but such it seems is not on the cards.

29. We have elected the GREATEST PRETENDERS in Bim to run this country. Like pretending to:
    ….restart Four seasons
    ….build a new hospital
    ….keep University education FREE
    ….inject $600 million into the economy
    ….that there are investors lining up to invest in Barbados
    ….lower the cost of living
    ….that Barbados’ economy is immune to what is happening in the rest of the world
    …. That there will be no lay-offs
    ….That the central bank has put things in place so that Barbados won’t be affected by the world recession
    ….That we are out of the recession
    …. they are going buy Almond Beach with no money
    …..That international finance agencies are begging to lend Barbados money
    …..Barbados tourism is 30 year ahead of St. Lucia
    …..They will not lie, steal or cheat the Barbadian public
    …..that affordable housing projects are on stream and that most of the houses are occupied.

Shall I go on?

30. Do we have the resilience to do like the Cuban people who revolted almost sixty years ago and are still suffering from the embargo

The problem with Cuba is not the embargo but governance. Cuba is governed by a group of octogenarians who are out of tune with reality. Two of their youngest and brightest, former Vice-President Carlos Lage 60 and former foreign minister Felipe Perez Roque both seen as potential post- Castro leaders were suddenly fired in March, 2009 because their angling for leadership roles had become in the eyes of the old guard unseemly. Mr Lage is reportedly now a low level hospital administrator and Mr Perez works as an engineer at an industrial park on the outskirts of the capital.
    At the last congress , Comrade Raul named elderly revolutionary figures Jose Ramon Machado Ventura 80, and Ramiro Valdes,78, as his principal deputies on the 15 member party leadership council. The younger politicians were given lesser roles. The United States is cuba’s fourth largest trading partner.

31. So wait now we have the judge and jury from the BLP .formating and unleashing integrity . u yardfowls not realise that u guys neva sat in judgement of your leadership who told bold faced and perrogative lies operating under a cloud of suspicion for umpteenth years and not one of you yard fowls bother to pick a teet. YET u had the auducity of re-electing him over and over again……………………………..Look BT u can sing that mantra all day long u controlling freak .

32. @ Islandgal
    …shall you go on and say what?
    Steupssss

Those people are not pretenders, they are just incompetent. They NEVER ran anything challenging in their lives before and wunna (all like YOU so) big them up, vote for them and actually LISTEN to (and apparently believe) the shiite that they talk..

Wuh YOU must believe them to actually take stock of their promises..and feel a way when they fail…

So who then are the REAL idiots…?
    …not the BRASS BOWLS who listen to their every promise? Who feel let down when they fail to perform…?

You know what a BRASS BOWL is….?

A dumb container that;
    – responds well to polish for short periods, but easily looses its shine
    – accepts any shiite thrown at it…
    – is incapable of original creativity
    – noisy as shiite – especially when empty (case in point – ac 🙂 )
    – can always blame someone else for its condition

If Bajans can do no better that the current lot of morons on both sides of the political divide (don’t even mention the mental cases in the PDC or Commissiong) then the least we can do is STFU and accept our damn fate gracefully.

It was a FATAL ERROR, during the days of plenty, to think that any LACKY can be called to leadership. …Wuh any jackass can steer a boat in calm conditions in Carlisle bay….what wunna think going happen when a storm catch his bald pooch going round North Point….?
    ….wunna think that anything less than genius is capable of effective leadership in these days…?

33. “They NEVER ran anything challenging in their lives before and wunna (all like YOU so) big them up, vote for them and actually LISTEN to (and apparently believe) the shiite that they talk..You know what a BRASS BOWL is….?”

BUT Bushie you voted for them so that makes you the Biggest Brass Bowl bout here. So don’t come pontificating and criticizing the electorate when you are one of the guilty ones to put them back in office. I didn’t vote for these assholes the second time around because I had seen that they were totally incompetent.

34. What the government needs to focus on is what tactics are needed to rebuild and infuse confidence in the country. Listening to ac and ilk will not do it.

35. How can you build trust when you keep blatantly lying over and over to the people?

36. DLP is playing a nasty game
    with the lives of Ba.Jans
    Lies 1/2 truths + untruths = deceit
    keep noise people
    dont shut -up and accept no fate
    do not pay attention
    to the likes of Bush Tea

37. @ Islandgal
    Bushie did not vote FOR anybody…and expects nothing from anyone…

Bushie voted AGAINST someone who refused to answer a direct, public, allegation that he received a bribe from a CLICO bank while operating as Bushie’s representative.
    Bushie don’t play that….selling the bushman trust for pieces of silver…?

Bushie NEVER questioned that the beneficiary of this action was incompetent as a national leader….
    The Bushman’s master proposal of a COOPERATIVE model with people like Caswell, BAFBFP, David(BU) and even YOURSELF….playing key roles was laughed at….. 🙂

…of course if you are having second thoughts of splitting with the bushman, we can always talk ….. (Wink!!)

38. @ Bushie

people like Alvin Cummins like to forget that the history of Barbados is not as pristine as the pseudo-historians like us to believe. There were many events when Black people in Barbados attempted to make interventions in their affairs. Two in particular – The Bussa Rebellion of 1816 and the events of 1937 Riots. There were many more. Now that we have the most sophisticated means of ‘non-violent civil disobedience’ this system will not stand a chance in front of the popular determination of the Bajan people.

If Stuart could win an election by a few hundred votes and thinks he has some unparalleled mandate to rule like a dictator. We say even a dictator can be brought to heel by the people, absent this 5 yearly nonsense.

39. who is this BUSH TEA ?
    Reveal yourself

40. what Barbados needs is
    a One Party State
    B.dos needs to do business differently
    Bicameral system/West minister
    not for small country
    Singapore model anyone ?
    Barbados/revolution/needed /Burnett Alleyne old
    Arise new blood
    Barbados in need

41. @yagga rowe

If you don’t know what a Singapore system means then do some research. Do you think Barbadians have the discipline to mirror their success?

42. @ David

We see in the news today that Germany has legalized Bitcoin. Earlier a Texas judge determined it was legal tender. These are the types of things any MOF in a developing country should have in a budget. We said here more than a year ago, but nobody paid us any mind. All the systems in Barbados are based on backwardness, antiquated thinking. And people Sinckler, Arthur and a mis-educated lot on the Hill think that they are smart, can solve current problems with outdated economic bul*shite. If you don’t locate ourselves on the cutting edge we shall always be underdeveloped! David even BU could start our own currency for a currency is nothing more than what people decide to accept amongt themselves in exchange for good or services.

43. @Pacha

Bitcoin?

The MoF probably does not know of what you speak.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 19, 2013 at 9:06 AM |

How can the honest law abiding hardworking citizens have confidence in this MoF when he has a perfect track record of breaking promises and commitments even those made in the highest Court of the land Parliament?

For example, David, can you tell us what is the position with the much promised performing Arts Centre to be built in the MOF’s own constituency that was to be funded by the Chinese?
    Now how can the people rely on this liar’s word in respect of funding for the Almond and Silver Sands buyout and upgrades and also the sugar cane industry revitalization project?

This is what the MoF said in the 2011 budget re the Performing Arts Centre:

“Finally on a recent State visit to China the Honourable Prime Minister in his very fruitful deliberations with Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao engaged the continued interest of Barbados in developing a dedicated home for the performing arts in Barbados. The government of China equally expressed its desire to see that such a facility could become a reality in Barbados in the very near future.
    To this end, it would be remiss of me to let pass this opportunity to inform the country that following months of analysis and consultation, this government has decided to move ahead with the construction of a brand new multi-purpose state of the art Cultural and Performing Arts Centre.
    It is expected that the Centre will be financed and constructed through a grant from the Government of the People’s Republic of China and it is proposed that it will be located, once the Town Planner approves, on the land at Spring Garden opposite the Brandon’s Beach facility in the constituency of St. Michael North West. Further details on that too will be revealed shortly.”

45. yes bajans have the discipline
    persons slaves/ 400 years
    could be anything
    for next 400
    so there !
    up your channel
    with a windblast
    uuhhhh !
    aaaaah !
    ———————————————–
    Yaaaaaaaaaaaagga again !

46. Sir James Tudor, a founder of the DLP, said “ We are all like blind men in a dark room looking for a black cat”.

Apart from CCC and a couple of other DLP yard fowl, comments of the BU community suggest that, 40 or 50 years later, DEM still in the dark looking for the economic black cat.

47. But David, BU could start our own economy here. We can start by offering to pay contributors in a Bitcoin type currency. We have businesses and then you could sell us advertising space on BU thereby monetizing the value of the BU currency.

If the government were serious they could have started by giving students the option to pay UWI fees in Bitcoin type currencies. Then create all types of civil society jobs where the same students could be paid in Bitcoin. The UWI could then trade the Bitcoin type currency internationally for the things it needs.

48. Another scam artist pachaman making his moves on BU

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Barbadians seem to have a collective one-tracked mind and fail to analyse events to see how they interrelate. Many on this blog rejoiced when Dottin was removed as Commissioner of Police but fail to see that was only one of the events that was used to ensure that Bajans are kept in subjection.

1. Dottin was removed from office and replaced by someone who it is believed would be sympathetic to the DLP.

2. Ronald Jones talks about cracking skulls and shooting down protestors.

3. A budget is crafted that is punitive on the poor and friendly to the rich.

4. As a result of that budget people are calling for street protest.

I must warn that under the Public Order Act, a permit must be obtained from the Commissioner of Police before any public march. (There are a few exceptions). If permission is not granted and the march takes place anyway, you could probably get your skulls cracked or shot down. It would appear that Jones spoke too quickly and revealed the plan. You are still happy that Dottin has been removed?

All I can say is be careful what you ask for, you might just get it: you asked for Dottin’s removal.

50. AC-DC
    There is nothing that you, the DLP or Barbados has that we want. As the consummate pussy (AC), we do not expect that you will have the brain to recognize innovation. But as an ass (DC) you will wait until the powers to control alternative currencies and then have some sense (cents).