Mac Fingall
Mac Fingall

Mac Fingall’s column which appears in today’s press –  Abnormal behaviour – makes for interesting reading. He gets points from BU for daring to state an unequivocal position about a subject which Barbadians remain largely hypocritical.  His position on homosexuality and same sex marriage is one which accords with the Caswells and Bush Teas of this world Fingall uses the biological cum physiologically  flavoured with the philosophical and religious argument to good effect given his audience

However, there is the other argument to the homosexuality debate BU raised recently and which Fingall never addressed. No we are not referring to whether the right to be gay is a human rights issue. Doesn’t matter the arguments Barbadians bring to the table, as articulate as they may seem, a heavy dose of pragmatism must be accommodated as well.

There is a financial and economic impact which Barbados will have to wrestle with sooner rather than later. The issue is not whether Barbadians are ready to remove what some believe is an obsolete law from the statute book as it refers to homosexuals. Or whether legislation needs to be affected to safeguard the rights of same sex unions (marriages).

According to Barbados Sexual Offenses Act of 1992, “Any person who commits buggery is guilty of an offense and is liable on conviction on indictment to imprisonment for life.” The lesser, related charge “serious indecency” can result in up to 10 years in prison.” The law stands on its own for all those on either side of the argument to form a conclusion to its severity and relevance. The argument that no one has been charged is moot, irrelevant and redundant. The debate is now about the potential threat given the political consideration hitched to gay advocacy.

For Barbados the debate will soon morph to how a little country which depends on the developed countries for economic sustenance can/should maintain its current position by defending the status quo.  The emphasis on developed countries is to stress the point that in Canada, United Kingdom and the United States the rights of homosexuals are well on the way to being protected in law. The fact that Barbados and almost all of the English speaking Caribbean are service economies and depend on the UK, US and Canada as source markets shows how important is the economic argument which Fingall omitted in his postulation. Fingall and all like minded are free to hold their positions BUT are they prepared to deal with the repercussions?

The following 76 Countries Where Anti-Gay Laws Are As Bad As Or Worse Than Russia’s shows that Barbados is on the radar and will be targeted by an influential group. This group will hitch its advocacy on Barbados’ Sexual Offenses Act. Of interest is a comment posted in the link provided which states, “Rihanna, your gay fans in Barbados need some support”. It is only a matter of time before someone asks Rihanna, the Ambassador, to state her position on the issue at hand and it will not matter her response because Barbados will be dragged kicking and screaming onto the global stage.

To Mac Fingall BU asks: Can we afford this sort of publicity? The latest incident anti-gay incident last week does not help the our cause..

159 responses to “The Homosexuality Debate Absent Pragmatism”

1. From time to time de ole man does say dese strange tings and i sure dat i say dis already but i gine try to say it again in dis forum.

ALL UH DE MENS IN BARBADOS IS BULLERS!!

Now doan jump pun me yet, follow de reasoning….

Sinckliar and Fumble and Seethru has bin bending we ovah and doing unspeakable tings dem to us for such a long time, it is a wonder dat we can still drink soup!!

Tomorrow is going to be a great big swingers delight because tomorrow 13.8.13, all uh we gine get unfair in de rawest way, by de powers dat be.

I will not be going down to the “Feed my Sheep” programme in Nelson Square opposite Parliament Buildings causing it is possible that, Sinckliar, Fumble and We Jonesing gine send a police out dere en tell dem to bring in one de ole people dat dem alreading fxcki*g wid de taxes and VAT.

I fraid dat dem use de opportunity while dem pun TV to do de same ting to me publicly, dat dem been doing quietly to all of us for the last 25 years.

Jes’ in case, i going walk wid some grease cause by Wednesday a whole new set uh buggery going be tekking place here in Bulbados!!

2. @ Pieceuhderock
    Man Piece …. Bushie and Baffy won’t be having no OK Corral style showdown… Baffy has already made his preferences known on BU and he is skillfully using the legal services of Amused and RR (and the PR trickery of Miller) to accomplish his ends….
    ….first he is going for approval of the back door boys
    ….then he will redefine the meaning of “marriage”
    ….then he will lower the age of consent to 7
    ….then he will redefine partner
    …..and PRESTO….sheep time! 🙂

Of course you are right about what the politicians have been doing to our asses over the years…..
    Um is one thing – and bad enough- for a fellow to hold you down and put the grig in you…
    …but can you IMAGINE bloggers like RR et al arguing that we should change the laws to make it LEGAL for big belly Sinckler to fix we?…AND THAT WE ARE TO LIKE UM…?

3. @BushnTea

You still have not answered the question, how are we going to deal with the fallout.

4. @GP

Hoe do ordinary people determine who are the wolves or the sheep.

5. DAVID
    tHE pOPE AND TUTU SUPPOSED TO BE GOING BY THE BOOK………THEY CLEARLY ARE NOT. EASY

IT IS WRITTEN BY THIER FRUITS YOU SHALL KNOW THEM………..NOT BY THIER RANK

6. @ David
    Bush Tea…”You still have not answered the question, how are we going to deal with the fallout”
    !!! Sigh ..(as CH was wont to say…)

What fallout?
    ..you mean .the earth-ending predictions of three pooch-pushers and the retarded ac? ….Steupssss

Not one shiite ain’t going to happen as a result…..except perhaps some more DECENT. RESPECTABLE tourists may choose to come knowing that their asses will be safe…. LITERALLY!!

The actual answer is that we will take it LIKE A MAN?
    Do the RIGHT thing, and accept WHATEVER consequences result.
    …rather than like a LACKIE, bending hither tither and yon..

7. @BT

Thanks, we have you on record now 🙂

Interesting to hear the PM’s view on same sex as reported today. He says it is a very challenges matter which Barbados will have to resolve in a Christian way.

8. A common sense a realistic approach is what TUTU and the POPE are advocating. THese people have finally be able to do and examplify in their response by actions that are in deed reminesnce or Christ like reaching as far down in the anals of society and reaching out to those who society sees as different. Yes GP by their FRUIT ye shall know them FRUITS of Patience and forgiveness and LOVE .those are the fruits of christ spoke of.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“!!! Sigh ..(as CH was wont to say…)”

BTW, David or Bush Tea, what has become of Chris Halsall (CH)? Have not seen any contributions from him lately.

10. australia
    defeat
    by
    England
    imminent

11. @ Miller
    CH has been scarce ever since Jack Boremann threatened to meet him at the Garrison one day at noon and put some licks in his behind….
    CH is a talker not a fighter, but when licks threaten he does even back off from the talking…. 🙂 LOL Ha Ha ….Oh Shirt!!

12. England win series–3-0 (so far 0)
    Go England -Go

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 12, 2013 at 2:18 PM |
    “Yes GP by their FRUIT ye shall know them FRUITS of Patience and forgiveness and LOVE .those are the fruits of christ spoke of.”

Seems like you will make a “better” Christian than Zoe.

Look out GP, ac has just jumped the queue by a quantum leap to Heaven’s gates. She has satisfied the 3 criteria or entry requirements to inherit the Kingdom. She certainly sounds more convincing as a preacher (wo)man than you lot.

Imagine that though; ac, despite all the odds against her for slandering and maligning people- including the miller but OSA especially- she has done the impossible in finding salvation in a rich harvest of Corinthians’1:13-13 fruits.

Good for you girl. By their fruits ye shall know them; for narrow is the garden path that leads to the fruits of salvation.

Maybe there is hope for the sinful miller. Pray for the “I” and “I”, ac, that he would not be led further down the wide pathway of damnation where both Bushie and Caswell are already lost.

14. Homosexuality has been around before Christ, after Christ and Christ the God man can’t stop it and will never stop it.

How wunna think man found out about his sexual preferences? Wunna think he just knew what to do. Wunna ent think he tried a few different things to arrive about what he liked? Some liked other men , some liked women, some like them both. Mankind sexuality will always be up for debate. Those who try to support their views based on a book written by men calling it the word of God are hypocrites. They prefer to quote verses trying to convince others that they are wrong, yet the 10 laws that were laid down by Moses are been broken on a daily basis by these same people. Why not legislate that breaking those 10 laws illegal? Yet there is nothing in those 10 laws that says anything about homosexuality. Some of the biggest homosexuals are practising Christians.

15. Bush TEA u sound like u gasping for breathe…u need to turn on your oxygen tank. fuh sure your wind has been permanaetly knocked out of your sails leaving u gasping for breathe.unfortunately yourhead is so tighly stuck up inside the arss of the homosexual that it leaves no room for intelligent debate on yourb part. at this point even the oxygen tank is helpless as u slowly secumb and suffocates to a shitty death

16. @ Hamilton hill | August 12, 2013 at 7:01 AM |

“…Children adopted by gay parents will learn to be gay. So it stands to reason that they were also raised in similar households.”

Oh NO! Being around gays/lesbians from an early age doesn’t make one become or, to use your words, learn to be gay. There are so many older people who are gay and not once in their growing up they were among people who lived that lifestyle.

I know two men who adopted the children of a woman that one of them worked with, after she was killed in an accident. The children – a boy and girl, When they took the kids, one was about 5 months and the other was around 2 years. Those kids are now adults, married (to the opposite sex) and hold prominent jobs in society. There is nothing gay about them.

17. @Candid

Please share what conclusive findings exist to show that the raring of children by homosexuals produce the right result.

18. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LGBT_parenting
    Lots of evidence there David.

19. island gal/crap
    no evidence
    that Bulling / around for nuh long time
    no evidence
    can not produce one shred
    no evidential documentary
    but forgery
    island gal
    homosexing -no no no
    why why why
    has no value =produce no offspring
    homophobia-good ting
    homosexing-bad thing

20. No matter how hard ‘they’ try the unnatural will always remain unnatural.

21. @Miller

Chris is fine.

22. St George's Dragon Avatar

Accepting that a genetic basis for homosexuality is in no way proven, there are indications it may exist. This theory makes sense to me”
    “Important new evidence on a plausible mechanism for the evolution of “gay genes” has emerged from the work of Camperio-Ciani. They found in two large, independent studies that the female relatives of homosexual men tended to have significantly more offspring than those of the heterosexual men. Female relatives of the homosexual men on their mother’s side tended to have more offspring than those on the father’s side. This indicates that females carrying a putative “androphilia genes” complex are more fecund than women lacking this complex of genes, and thereby can compensate for any decreased fertility of the males carrying the genes. This is a well known phenomenon in evolution known as “sexual antagonism,” and has been widely documented for many traits that are advantageous in one sex but not in the other. This provides solid experimental evidence of how “gay genes” could not only survive but thrive over the course of evolution.”

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | August 12, 2013 at 6:30 PM |

Glad to hear that Chris is fine.
    Bushie, you must stop cracking ‘corny’ jokes. Leave that to C H.

24. Well Looky here………………..some of you guys need to check out what’s coming down……..

Index

Facebook Twitter Google+ Mail
    Back Top Print

APOSTOLIC LETTER
    ISSUED MOTU PROPRIO

OF THE SUPREME PONTIFF
    FRANCIS

ON THE JURISDICTION OF JUDICIAL AUTHORITIES OF VATICAN CITY STATE
    IN CRIMINAL MATTERS

In our times, the common good is increasingly threatened by transnational organized crime, the improper use of the markets and of the economy, as well as by terrorism.

It is therefore necessary for the international community to adopt adequate legal instruments to prevent and counter criminal activities, by promoting international judicial cooperation on criminal matters.

In ratifying numerous international conventions in these areas, and acting also on behalf of Vatican City State, the Holy See has constantly maintained that such agreements are effective means to prevent criminal activities that threaten human dignity, the common good and peace.

With a view to renewing the Apostolic See’s commitment to cooperate to these ends, by means of this Apostolic Letter issued Motu Proprio, I establish that:

1. The competent Judicial Authorities of Vatican City State shall also exercise penal jurisdiction over:

a) crimes committed against the security, the fundamental interests or the patrimony of the Holy See;

b) crimes referred to:

– in Vatican City State Law No. VIII, of 11 July 2013, containing Supplementary Norms on Criminal Law Matters;

– in Vatican City State Law No. IX, of 11 July 2013, containing Amendments to the Criminal Code and the Criminal Procedure Code;

when such crimes are committed by the persons referred to in paragraph 3 below, in the exercise of their functions;

c) any other crime whose prosecution is required by an international agreement ratified by the Holy See, if the perpetrator is physically present in the territory of Vatican City State and has not been extradited.

2. The crimes referred to in paragraph 1 are to be judged pursuant to the criminal law in force in Vatican City State at the time of their commission, without prejudice to the general principles of the legal system on the temporal application of criminal laws.

3. For the purposes of Vatican criminal law, the following persons are deemed “public officials”:

a) members, officials and personnel of the various organs of the Roman Curia and of the Institutions connected to it.

b) papal legates and diplomatic personnel of the Holy See.

c) those persons who serve as representatives, managers or directors, as well as persons who even de facto manage or exercise control over the entities directly dependent on the Holy See and listed in the registry of canonical juridical persons kept by the Governorate of Vatican City State;

d) any other person holding an administrative or judicial mandate in the Holy See, permanent or temporary, paid or unpaid, irrespective of that person’s seniority.

4. The jurisdiction referred to in paragraph 1 comprises also the administrative liability of juridical persons arising from crimes, as regulated by Vatican City State laws.

5. When the same matters are prosecuted in other States, the provisions in force in Vatican City State on concurrent jurisdiction shall apply.

6. The content of article 23 of Law No. CXIX of 21 November 1987, which approves the Judicial Order of Vatican City State remains in force.

This I decide and establish, anything to the contrary notwithstanding.

I establish that this Apostolic Letter issued Motu Proprio will be promulgated by its publication in L’Osservatore Romano, entering into force on 1 September 2013.

Given in Rome, at the Apostolic Palace, on 11 July 2013, the first of my Pontificate.

FRANCISCUS

© Copyright – Libreria Editrice Vaticana

25. @Miller

Did you listen to the PM in the news today? He appears to have intimated that the Christian Church is likely to not go against this matter under discussion given that it is a human rights issue.

On 12 August 2013 22:43, Barbados Underground

26. I am trying to confirm, but now is the time to keep eyes and ears opened wide, there is supposed to be mass resignations in certain countries……….stay tuned, it will effect the Caribbean just like everywhere else.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ St George’s Dragon | August 12, 2013 at 6:32 PM |
    “This is a well known phenomenon in evolution known as “sexual antagonism,” and has been widely documented for many traits that are advantageous in one sex but not in the other. This provides solid experimental evidence of how “gay genes” could not only survive but thrive over the course of evolution.”

Sorry to say but in spite of this theory having some “scientific” basis and relevance the vast majority of so-called educated Bajans don’t or can’t understand, don’t care or give a damn or interested in such ‘rational’ explanations only in Bible thumping bashing of people who are “different”.

However if you ask them to explain how come there are different “races” making up the species called human they don’t have the slightest clue except to make reference to some redundant situation involving Adam & Eve or more likely Cain & Steve (sorry Stephanie) if we were to follow the story to its logical conclusion.

Until those religious fundamentalist morons can explain why a percentage of all human population groups are infertile (not fecund) from birth, rational thinking people should dismiss their anti-gay bashing as pure evangelical hot air spewed from a fictional story book of lies and myths.

28. David | August 12, 2013 at 12:30 PM |
    @BushnTea

“You still have not answered the question, how are we going to deal with the fallout.”

David, Man, IF we go this rancid, abominable way, THEN you will SEE real FALLOUT!

GP is absolutely right, Tutu and the POPE are NOT Christians, never were!

In-depth research by Historians, Sociologist et al, have shown that ALL ancient civilizations BAR NONE, from the tiny South Sea Islands, to the great Roman Empire, ALL came crashing DOWN, utter ruination, WHENEVER they deviated FROM the God-ordained UNIT of Father and Mother, to SEXUAL DEBASEMENT, HOMOSEXUALITY!

David, and you want to KNOW about the FALL-OUT, if we DO NOT GO this evil, wicked way of RAMPANT SIN! Man on man, and woman on woman!

Think David, think!

29. St George's Dragon Avatar

I think the PM may have it right.
    There is a lot of talk by the religious believers who use the Bible to prove homosexuality is wrong. Fortunately, there is a separation between Church and State in Barbados, so while the Church can persuade, it cannot dictate.
    The Bible says that we can keep slaves, that adulterers should be put to death and that we should not eat pork.
    Perhaps we should be grateful that not all the rules set out in the Bible are enforced in Barbados as it would seriously affect our lifestyle.
    Homosexuality is a religious, an individual and a State issue. A lot of other countries in the world manage to balance the rights of the individual to allow people to do what they want to do in the privacy of their own bedrooms, with the rights of the religions to continue to frown upon it, while the state upholds the rights of homosexuals to have the legal rights that couples should have to transfer property etc. It should not be impossible for Barbados to do that as well.

30. @St. Georges

Mildly amusing to BU is that the PM’s flying a kite position or however you may want to describe it crosses two of his ministers.

31. Whether there is a theory to explain Gaybullurhomo
    We should not encourage Bulling.
    Dont care what explanation Blogging wid Bullers Bring , Bulling is Bulling and we in Barbados will not accept Bulling or Same sex marriages. I believe if we continue to rally against the Bullers, they will retreat again because you know they used to hide and then they got bolder and bolder and bullero.
    Plastic Bag even sang ” Nobody aint Bulling he”
    Now Fingall comes out forcefully against Bulling.

There is absolutely no need to Bull. It is just wuflessness ! There are many people who say that if there were no laws against this or that, they would do X, Y or Z. The law is there to deter you from doing crap.People have all kind of tendencies and urges to do crap and if they immerse themselves in doing crap, they get wrapped fully. Stealing is one such thing. Many persons stole things when they were small or when they work at X or why places. Are we to legalize stealing because people have the urge ‘?. Deal with your urges , it is part of your spiritual development and preparation for the next life and you reincarnation

Bulling is Nasty : Bulling is wrong
    We will not accept it in Barbados
    What you do in your Bedroom is of interest to the Public. You cant take an underage person , hide and sex them up and say that what happens in your Bedroom is your Business -NOT !!!!!!
    Same hitting with BULLING !!!!
    YES !!

32. @ David | August 12, 2013 at 3:52 PM |
    “Please share what conclusive findings exist to show that the raring of children by homosexuals produce the right result.”

I do not know or heard of any conclusive findings to the aforementioned, or have never seen statistics or results of research that proves the opposite.

Let’s not stereotype/try to paint everyone with the same brush.

33. Just Asking………….Geez, you just love that word.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | August 12, 2013 at 7:06 PM |
    “GP is absolutely right, Tutu and the POPE are NOT Christians, never were!”

Think what? Here is something for you and your ilk to cogitate on.

If neither Tutu nor the Pope are “Christians” what about the Anglican community headed by Bishop Dr. Rev. John Holder?
    Dr. Holder is the head of the Anglican Church in Barbados; a business organization having its genesis in the megalomania of an English king who wanted to have serial wives many of whom he killed making him one of the world’s earliest legalised serial killers.
    Up to this day this same Anglican Church has not apologized to the Bajan black population for the dastardly nefarious active role played in that black trade called slavery.

So who should we prefer to listen to, the non-Christian all-embracing caring Tutu and St. Francis or the hypocritical Anglicans headed by a real Uncle Tom called John?

We were of the view that you knew the real reason for the fall of civilizations like the Egyptian, Roman and South Sea Islands or even Easter islanders. We thought they came crashing down because the all failed to recognize and accept your Lord and God Jesus Christ as their Saviour.

BTW, Zoe you forgot to mention one other society that fell because of homosexuality and that is of King David and his friend Jonathan. After all what can you expect when a defective gene is passed from a murderous Father King David to Son King Solomon who had 700 wives and 300 concubines and indeed 1,000 eunuchs to service.

35. Miller…………..the Europeans are starting to put information out there that none of that was true.

36. @ Miller
    Why don’t you stop embarrassing yourself with these ridiculous arguments nuh?
    Bushie never knowingly hated a homosexual yet…(assuming that ac is not one – and if she is, then with that possible exception). 🙂

THAT IS NOT THE ISSUE.

The issue is that the practice is WARPED….and anything which we can do to protect future generations from falling victims, the better.
    WE MUST THEREFORE NOT ACCEPT THE PRACTICE AS NORMAL, even though we don’t blame the current victims.

If current victims feel driven to dip into each other’s toilet
    If they want to live with same sex partners
    If they want to have legal status

THAT IS THEIR BUSINESS
    ….but UM STILL UNNATURAL.
    DON’T ask Bushie to endorse the practice
    Don’t equate their arrangement with proper “marriage”
    Don’t try to make Bushie feel guilty for calling a spade a spade

You did statistics Miller…?
    Do you know that in all natural processes the distribution of any characteristic tends to follow the ” bell curve”? It is NATURAL that some percentage of humans will be DIFFERENT. The laws of natural selection generally tends to sort that matter out in the long term…

@ Dragon
    So if a homosexual is someone with a problem where he is “too much woman”, why are you surprised at a study finding that the SISTER of such a man tends to be NUFF NUFF woman????

Don’t mind Miller …he just catching at straws…
    Steupssss

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | August 12, 2013 at 7:49 PM |
    “The laws of natural selection generally tends to sort that matter out in the long term…”

We have you on the run today Bushie, back pedaling and painting yourself into a corner. Even ac has you on the ropes. No “ropadoping” on this one like Muhammad Ali.

You are so punch-drunk that you are even contradicting yourself.
    Skippa, in your book of “Id(e)ology” there are no laws of Natural Selection just your one and only BBE design flaws. Neither is there any bell curve on any spectrum of life’s rainbow; only black and white, right and wrong good and bad.

Leave that natural selection argument to the atheist miller and possibly Baffy.
    Talk about Adam and Eve and Cain & Abel and even fools like ac would ease up on you.

38. millertheanunnaki | August 12, 2013 at 7:39 PM |
    @ Zoe | August 12, 2013 at 7:06 PM |
    “GP is absolutely right, Tutu and the POPE are NOT Christians, never were!”
    Think what?
    IT IS CLEAR THAT YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR LEAGUE HERE.
    YOU HAVE OBVIOUSLY HAD AN EXPOSURE TO THE WORD
    BUT WITH OUT THE SPIRIT YOU HAVE NO UNDERSTANDING THEREOF. YOU HAVE NOT APPROPRIATED IT AND CANT APPLY WHAT YOU HAVE READ.

IT IS POINTLESS TRYING TO DISCUSS SPIRITUAL THINGS WITH YOU

39. @ Miller

Ditto what GP said above…..

40. Haha pure laughter as usual. By the way don’t forget a Christian Pastor recently said fellatio and cunnilingus were both UNNATURAL. All the unnatural-wagonist I hope wunna aint sucking or being sucked. BU is a real comedy fest at times. Popcorn please.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie | August 12, 2013 at 9:00 PM |

Agree. The miller is spiritually blind and lost. Only the Devil can save him.

But for the benefit of the BU souls looking for guidance could you please on the behalf of Zoe say whether or not Bishop Dr. Holder and his flock of Anglicans are “real” Christians but not in the mould of Tutu and Pope Francis?

42. I promise myself that I would never join in any discussion regarding homosexuality, bulling, bullers, botsy mechanics, stool lovers or whatever name relating to same sex behaviour. I was surprise (hic) with the PM dealing with the rights of Homosexuals. Let me tell wunna now. Dogs, cats, cows, horses, monkeys know the difference between a virgina and an anus. You ever see a dog going the one-way road? Man deliberately want to enjoy the anus and he know better than any dog, cow etc. Man simply loves bulling. This is the first time that any PM ever waste time about bullanology. No wonder we don’t hear him dealing with financial matters.

43. When yall start with the descriptive body parts, you take it to new heights.

44. @ Tell Me Why

You ever see cats, cows or dogs flying planes or driving cars…what about typing on a computer or reading?

45. There have always been people who prefer their own sex to the opposite sex, history shows it. Sometimes as a result of rigorous rulings on sex between men and women, sometimes just because they could. We all are aware of the scientific studies which show that some are more drawn to their own sex than the opposite sex. I have many gay friends and so did my parents who explained to me at a young age that some people are just like that. I am so bored with it now.
    However even though I think people should be allowed to do their own thing, I don’t accept that children should be indoctrinated that this is the norm. That’s just my personal opinion. Young pre-pubescent children can have their hormones turned around by their first experience of sexualisation; just look at the exploitation of boys by the priesthoods of today.
    All living creatures are on this earth to procreate so that’s why homosexuality has been frowned upon in the majority of societies. However, in a time when overpopulation threatens society, homosexuality is condoned. It may be not deliberate yet that’s what happens.
    Maybe you think that tolerance breeds an increase of sexually alien behaviour. That may very well be true. Yet watch the tolerance for homosexuality crash in cultures where there is a threateningly low birth rate. But does it? Look at post-war Europe after both World Wars. In the 20s there was a whole gay thing going on. There was a scarcity of men due to the massive loss of life in the first world war. As a result many women developed lesbian relationships rather than spending their whole life alone. Strangely, homosexuality amongst men also increased.
    Theories found in books like “Brain Sex” put this down to the fact that babies in utero undergo different hormonal changes in times of deep social stress like war, resulting in more homosexual offspring. The debate is, whether this happens as Nature’s way of preventing yet more war (eg Ancient Greece) or a social reaction of disgust at the loss of so many males.
    All of this makes for interesting ponderables. Are Caribbean nations so anti-gay because of the preponderance of females to males? Are the women trying to cling on to the fewer males available? Is that why being a gay male is so unacceptable here whereas in Europe and America it is more or less sacred by law to be gay?
    If you want to take a religious perspective on the subject, I think it would not go amiss for Bajans to examine their own family arrangements, where most families can identify incest, to a shocking degree, in their own family trees.
    Before you start dissing gay people and worrying about the influence they may have on your children, address THAT issue. How come the lovely island of Barbados has one of the highest numbers of children with AIDS in the developed world? Toddlers with AIDS. I wonder how that child got it? Oops Grandpa. Or older brother oops, how did he get it? Or from Dad, when he’s around.
    Disgusting, isn’t it?
    Almost everyone I know can give an example of incest in their own family. Who impregnated the 14 year olds you see wandering around?

46. millertheanunnaki | August 12, 2013 at 9:17 PM |
    @ Georgie Porgie | August 12, 2013 at 9:00 PM |

“Agree. The miller is spiritually blind and lost. Only the Devil can save him.”

“But for the benefit of the BU souls looking for guidance could you please on the behalf of Zoe say whether or not Bishop Dr. Holder and his flock of Anglicans are “real” Christians but not in the mould of Tutu and Pope Francis?”

Any Denomination, claiming to be ‘Christian’ who TEACH that one becomes a ‘Christian’ AT Baby Baptism, and subsequently ‘RATIFIED’ AT so-called CONFIRMATION, has the CART before the HORSE! as both of the DOCTRINE ARE UN-BIBLICAL.

A Baby CANNOT volitionally REPENT. Repentance must precede being Born Again, Justified, Saved; therefore NO ONE can IMPOSE being a
    Christian on a Baby, thus the Unscriptural FOLLY of Confirmation, as one CANNOT confirm what NEVER happened in the first place.

However, this is not to say, that SOME people, from these so-called traditional institutions, namely Catholicism, Anglicanism and Methodism, AFTER going through these FALSE rituals, Baby Baptism and Confirmation, as adults, having reached the age of accountability, CHOSE of their FREE WILL, to in their heart, sincerely Repent and by faith, accept and receive The Lord Jesus Christ, as personal Savior and Lord; as the LORD of LORDS, IS* always dealing with the INDIVIDUAL’s heart and intent towards HIM.

Only HE* KNOWS who there are/

47. well the PM is preparing a soft landing for the inevitable ,The PM is a deep thinker he knows as well and since being an avid reader understands the pschological as well as the economically impact negatively this issue would have on a country .the churches can preach till the cows come home and they tioo will eventually step in line on the premise “leaving it up to god” surely the churches are not divinely inspired by stupidy and would be forced to concur rather than to feel the impact of empty pews and decreased revenue from its members in part because of job lost occuring from this saga. , lets set the record straight for The STRAIGHT COMMUNITY. the gay and lesbian community is a world unto itself with its tentacles in schools ! GovtS! and every area of society world wide The financial Empire is more than that of the Straight community. and they will eventually get there way, the church have no hold on them. .it is the gay community that have all that the churches need to survived economically , as the bible clearly states a house built on sand would fall and it is evident that all the archaic laws and customs which were the foundations of the church are indeed falling like quick sand. .

48. ENUFF you miss the jest of my statement. I am dealing with animals knowing the difference between a vagina and an anus.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | August 12, 2013 at 9:55 PM |

So what you are saying, Zoe, in a most roundabout way is that Anglicans, unless the become filled with holy ghost in true Pentecostal spirit, cannot be truly called Christians (as things stand in the Anglican Church)?

In that case the miller would be in good company in Hell including the PM who seem to have a predilection for this religious persuasion given his interlocution displayed today while bullshitting through his teeth.

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Tell me Why | August 12, 2013 at 10:07 PM |

So how do you explain artificial insemination widely practiced in farm animal reproduction?
    Don’t you think this to be a major unnatural ungodly act forced on dumb animals?

Maybe humans should start practicing a similar technique of reproduction among themselves and get rid of this costly mammalian exercise in pleasure causing so much stress and conflict between women and men.