113 responses to “LIAT Reponds to Virgin’s Richard Branson…is this a joke?”

1. ummmmmm!

2. Thanks Afra.

3. Waaait where dem get dis wild woman from? Bushie is dat Mrs Bushie??? Dem ent got nuh shame at all, bunch of blasted idiots. A jitney bus service comparing themselves with a bullet train. Stupse

4. Liat should be apologising to the passenger…..they obviously didn’t read Sir Richard’s advice…”Always listen to your customer”.

5. the worst PR job ever. the lady look likes a train wreck. ,this ad stinks to high heaven. no class whatsoever. Really a simple commercial promoting the airline commitment to its passengers would have suffice BTW bushie u need to buy the woman an Afro pick!

6. I do believe LIAT should have stopped after this ‘rather stretching’ it diatribe about how wonderful they are before going headlong into what can only be termed as the most embarrassing advertisement evah (as shown above)…badly written (check the English), badly produced, badly acted and certainly badly thought of as good enough to broadcast to the world, it is such a sad reflection on this Caribbean island and God knows what a laughing stock we must be worldwide by now! Parris unfortunately looks as though she had her head out of the window of a flying LIAT plane…and should nevah have been put in front of the camera like this.

Whoever voted this production ‘in’ should be shown a front door.

The cost to produce this piece of horrendous silliness is borne by taxpayers…and hopefully Richard Branson will not see it fit to get his award-winning advertising agency to produce a comeback that could easily push LIAT further into the ground…its losses also to be borne yet again by the taxpayers..

I feel so ‘shame’ knowing this was actually seen fit to be shown…totally classless and not even reaching funny…I guess this is what they were trying. Hmmm. LIAT should have simply shut the you know what up, ensured the passenger’s ills were seen to in order to save face and if they had any creative brain in their head (the airline or their ad agency) they should have then used the irate passenger to read out his letter, and then show what the airline did to achieve his happiness …in fact a little more creative brain and they could have hooked him into doing a series of ads for the airline…dear God…what is inherently wrong with us these days????

7. Sorry…so irate …the above should have read…”it is such a sad reflection on our Caribbean islands”

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | July 8, 2013 at 9:49 PM |

Apologize! That is a word that does not exist in the dictionary of these tin pot dictators in this speck of the world.

But Richard is a man who likes “challenges” and he might just take on the LIAT sponsored braggadocio issued by the beautiful and articulate black woman.

Come on Branny, buy out the little ‘fly-by-night’ and show them how to run things.
    First change the name from Leeward Islands Air Transport to the Little Virgin Caribbean Airways.
    Just for sport Richard, move the damn island hopper from Antigua unless these airports become more user-friendly.
    And Richard Sir, you don’t have to worry about paying one red bloody Mary cent for LIAT as it stands.
    Just pay off the debts it owes to Tom Dickey and Mary the Virgin.

And if these financially strapped shareholder government leaders refuse to play ball or, in the case of Gonzy, are looking for kickbacks just let them know that you hold the keys in the cabin of Virgin Atlantic to the success or failure of future tourism in the East Caribbean especially now Cuba is one of your top favourite flying destinations.

9. This is so sad …imagine a donkey cart trying to out run a porshe. Lawd

AC yuh got me brekking up bout the afro pick ROFL ….I am sure dat is Mistress Bushie. She bushy enough and quite plump too. And looka dat fake smile , I cudda do a betta job dan dat woman. Poor rakey image poor rakey airline.

10. really miller u think Richard got time to waste helping out this financially strapped airline. Richard is a business man. not going to bite. it is obvious that this PR was intended to feed off any response which branson would have given. branson no fool. he is not going to play their game he is astute and well seasoned in this business. recently he took a letter of complaint against virgin and turned it into a media/campaign promotion for Virgin. without spending a dime and the media fell for it, that is smart, dumb would be if he gives liat such an advantage.

11. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I found the ‘amming’ a tad much,’some of our complaints is’ and the frazzled hair are the off-putters in her presentation.A confident and self assured representative of Liat.They should keep her and rid themselves of the dinosuars for management they have in Antigua.Barbados should never have put one blind cent let alone 64 mill in an airline run by and for Antiguans,the most obstinate people this side of the vineyard.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | July 8, 2013 at 10:46 PM |

Are you implying that LIAT is just as bad as the Barbados Transport Board?

So who is going to save their asses? If Simpson could buy out Shell and Esso why couldn’t he along with COW et al take over LIAT or even the TB?

Never underestimate Branson. If he gets LIAT for a song he might just take on the challenge of proving black people can’t even run a two bit airline far less a transnational corporation like the Barbados Transport Board (joke right, Baje?)

13. This add has no decorum or ta set the marketing team that put that add out should be all sent home imagine my tax paying dollars aging for stupidity they could have gotten so much if they did it the right way and not the distasteful way they did

14. The video has now been removed… XD XD XD

15. The video is private … What wunna talkin’ ’bout?

16. This response is sad, sad in so may ways.

17. My apologies to Bushie and Mrs Bushie….heard that dis woman pon de video got reel close connections to Onions LOLL

18. stay safe everbody. islan gal. u must be worried about your beautiful plants and garden.with the approaching storm.. BTW the only thing Onions can HOOK at his ole age is fish.

19. Storm what storm??? Chantal long gone got a few sprinkles earlier this am nothing to write about. Thanks AC …..I am not too worried about the plants, am more worried about my windowless house. Windows arrived on Sat. Started installing on Sunday got as far as two and six more to go. I have some temporary shutters on the windward side while the other side is open.

20. Would it have killed them to contact Branson directly and get tips from him on how to upgrade liat………..he gives tips freely on linkedin to business people all the time, he would never say no to them, that is not who he is, what is wrong with these people.

21. LIAT is not prepared to service its customers they are on one big ego trip. This video shows exactly what Liat is and what Virgin is not.

22. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

I cannot see the video.

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Islangal
    ……………………………FOlUOK U !

24. @Jeff

The Youtube video was made private. There must be a copy out there will see if we can find one.

25. Onions…….LOLL

26. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Thanks, David. To judge from the comments, it seems that they did the right thing!

27. I can’t see nor hear the LIAT ad and I don’t know what Richard Branson said but I like the lady’s hairdo.

I’ve flown LIAT and Virgin many times.

They squeeze them in on Virgin from London to Barbados, not roomy at all, good thing I was flying with family with whom I don’t mind getting up close and very personal. However I can say that the staff are always competent and polite. Although a security official (the official may have been an airport official and not a Virgin official) gave me a good, good, feel-up just as I was about to board a Virgin aircraft in London)

I’ve flown LIAT (probably many mores times that Branson has)and unless I am the only lucky one, truly I’ve had only one significant delay in decades of use, and the staff are always competent and polite.

I think that with LIAT it is a case of “give a dog a bad name and hang him” even if the poor dog hasn’t sucked an egg since he was a puppy

28. Imagine how the customer feels, to call customer service in Antigua you have to pay for the call. There is no 1800 number to call and dem want to swim in the same sea as Virgin. Wabeen can’t swim in salt water!

Customer service in Antigua is a WASTE OF TIME it should be called CUSTOMER DISSERVICE ! I hope Jean Holder is reading this or is his head buried in the sand like the rest of Liat?

29. @ David
    Bossman, do you appreciate the influence and impact of BU in Barbados?
    If you did you would probably begin to see the pivotal role that you have played in this place in promoting FOI and Transparency.

MORE IMPORTANTLY, you would by now be beginning to see the POTENTIAL that you have to positively impact out future.

Why don’t we set up a BU Finance Company with a minimum of 500 (but unlimited) shareholders to become the public face of BU?
    We can then set up a Board of Directors to collect funds and to support the work of BU….
    …things like legally challenging shady issues, funding private investigations where needed, buying Ads in the press…..or maybe even opening our own Media House…..

Wunna fellows does think too small with the lotta talent that wunna have been blessed with hear….? …like Caswell. 🙂

…just saying….

30. old onion bags Avatar

.Re Bushy’s comment
    …..I smell the stench of victimization and lock up….giving Bu a face..Blowgoat again ya lucky the boat haul in PStC …

31. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

What I found fascinating is that in Leesa’s longer video interview she stated that LIAT operates around 100 flights a day and carries around 3,000 passengers a day. With an average payload of 30 passengers, what on earth would you want to lease 70 seater aircraft for, or have I missed something? I appreciate many are double or triple drops, but if they are only operating on an average of 60 per cent load factors with 50 seaters, what are they going to do when several of the fleet have a 70 seat capacity.

http://www.liat.com/bransonchallenge/

32. Dat woman says that every airline gets a bad day sometimes but with LIAT it is always a bad day everyday.

33. We are very good and pulling down our own and idolizing others, but what are the facts?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/newsbysector/transport/9920468/Bransons-Virgin-Atlantic-faces-record-loss.html

34. …very good at pulling down…

35. LIAT is the only airline in our region and it is for this reason we need a LIAT which is efficiently managed. To add to the discussion is that a cash poor Barbados is 49% shareholder. LIAT must be managed like a business with due consideration given to the fact is serves a Caribbean good.

36. Strangely enough, Virgin Atlantic was itself the victim of a bitingly sarcastic letter from a customer.

http://www.jialat.com/2009/01/27/world-funniest-complaint-letter/

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | July 9, 2013 at 9:08 AM |

So when is the major shareholder going to call a spade a spade and demand that the LIAT HQ be removed from Antigua in order to save the airline from further mismanagement and eventual financial collapse especially if Bim is unable to continue to so heavily subsidize this money sinkhole?

I can tell you for sure that if (and it is looking more like ‘when’) this country comes under an IMF imposed programme of structural adjustment one of the first casualties will be subsidies given to commercially oriented entities like LIAT.

38. The original LIAT video is actually quite funny once you know the back story.

39. Brutus you have been sent here to do nuff damage control …,,So Brutus take us to your leader!

40. islandgal246 – your first assumption is that I can not think for myself or do my own research? If so, that is an incorrect assumption.

41. Not only is LIAT having a BAD day everyday, dat woman is definitely having a BAD HAIR DAY. Like she has just jumped out of bed and the cameras started rolling.

42. LIAT wishes to advise that due to the passage of Tropical Storm Chantal all flights to/from Barbados and St. Lucia have been delayed.

The George F. Charles Airport in St. Lucia remains closed and we are still unable to operate flights to/from the Grantley Adams International Airport in Barbados.

Flights throughout the LIAT network will be disrupted today due to the passage of the storm.

Passengers travelling today are asked to check the LIAT website, the LIAT Facebook Page, their local LIAT office, or to call the LIAT Call Centre from Antigua – 1-268-480-5582; toll free from the rest of the Caribbean – 1-888-844-5428 and from Puerto Rico and the US Virgin Islands – 1-866-549-5428 for information on the status of their flights.

Customers affected by the disruptions who wish to rebook for a later date will be allowed to do so without change fees or fare differences for a period of one week from the date of their original scheduled travel. Following the one-week grace period, passengers will be required to pay applicable fare and change fees when re-booking.

**LIAT also wishes to advise that passengers who decide to travel but are unable to complete their journey due to disruption caused by weather conditions, will not be provided with meals, transportation, hotel accommodation etc. Passengers with onward connections are advised to contact the respective carriers.**

Customers are advised to continue monitoring radio stations for further updates. LIAT regrets any inconvenience caused as a result of the passage of the storm. (Official Release, emphasis on Para is mine)

43. This from PennLawyer on the Huffington Post of July 1 “I’ve flown LIAT between Antigua and Montserrat. Nothing like being on the last flight of the day, looking out the window, and seeing your carefully packed bag filled with thousands of dollars worth of dive computers/cameras/equipment sitting in pristine glory on the tarmac! Hey, mon! relax – they’ll send it over on the first flight tomorrow. And they did. Nothing missing or broken. What I loved was when the Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda flies over to Montserrat for a meeting with the Premier of Montserrat, he’s sitting in those same tiny LIAT airline seats as the rest of the world. Helluva lot cheaper than first class or a private charter, let alone Air Force One.”

And I’ll add helluvu lot cheaper that a ride to Trinidad on CLICO’s private jet

44. @Simple Simon

We have established that LIAT does NOT fly to Montserrat. Beware of the ignorance which fly and is picked up by the gullible.

45. …and here we go again. Please note the comments under the story…now LIAT is trying to do some further damage control by scrambling around, wasting even more taxpayers money in order to make the videos private???…no no really. *hanging head in shame*

http://www.caribjournal.com/2013/07/08/liat-responds-to-richard-branson/

46. St Kitts also returned the offending video XD XD XD OMG me belly…. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sop3zbotucs

47. Thanks Ian, there you go Jeff!

48. @David | July 9, 2013 at 10:31 AM…”We have established that LIAT does NOT fly to Montserrat.?

My bad David.

Fly Montserrat flies between Antigua, Barbuda and Montserrat.

And SVG Air between St. Vincent and Bequai; and between Antigua and Barbuda