Kammie Holder, Director, Future Centre Trust

On 2 June Dr Denis Lowe sought to convince television viewers why Barbados should have a Waste To Energy Plant as one of the key elements of a waste management strategy for Barbados. We should recall Barbadosโ€™ participation in the United Nations Conference on Environmental & and Developmental Conference which was held in Rio Brazil June 3rd to 14th 1992. At this conference 27 Rio principles were adopted which now pervade international law and governance.  Of specific significance is and I now share Principle 10 which states:

Environmental issues are best handled with participation of all concerned citizens, at the relevant level. At the national level, each individual shall have appropriate access to information concerning the environment that is held by public authorities, including information on hazardous materials and activities in their communities, and the opportunity to participate in decision-making processes. States shall facilitate and encourage public awareness and participation by making information widely available. Effective access to judicial and administrative proceedings, including redress and remedy, shall be provided.”

In addition to Principle 10, the Manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party 2013 has listed โ€œGood Honest Governanceโ€ as one of its pillars for guiding Barbadosโ€™ development over the next five years.  The Hon. Freundel Stuart, Q.C, MP stated in the manifesto โ€œ Good Governance is characterized by the principles of participation, consensus, accountability, transparency, responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency, equity and inclusion, and the rule of law.  It assures that corruption is minimized, the views of minorities are taken into account and that the voices of the most vulnerable in society are heard in decision-making and the allocation of resources.โ€

In light of this,  every citizen must ask the following questions because research is showing that with the option of a  Waste to Energy Plant, the  disadvantages far outweighs its limited benefits.

1. Has the Cabinet of Barbados made a decision on a Waste To Energy Plant without consultation with the citizenry or the Environmental Protection Department and the Town and Country Development Planning Office, the designated Government entities charged with environmental regulation and control?
  2. If the Environmental Protection Department as regulators were consulted did they approve the setup of a Waste To Energy Plant and what were the Terms Of Reference provided on the approval?
  3. How will the by product of the burnt garbage be disposed of without causing contamination of our water supply or air?
  4. Will the feedstock be sufficient to  allow  this ‘energy hogโ€™ to operate at full capacity without decreasing the amount of material available to the current recycling operators including SBRC, B’s Recycling and other small operators for recycling?
  5. Can the Minister provide an example of another Small Island Developing State which has successfully adopted the approach of a Waste To Energy Plant?
  6. If the Government stubbornly and arrogantly ignores the environmental concerns and imperils the health of citizens and the environment, what redress is available to the citizenry?

What Barbados needs now more than ever is legislated recycling which would not incur any costs to the government and not the burning of garbage or more landfills.  I just cannot understand why the rush for the most expensive, dangerous, unsustainable option under the guise of renewable energy is being considered.

Dr Denis and Cabinet I am pleading, let rational thinking be your guide for the sake of future generations and not imperil the health of the country. We need to have open government for the people and not another Greenland which was shrouded in mystery.

With Greenland, Mr Richard Goddard was  truly a Mountie as the lone voice in the wilderness. He was vilified and suffered personal insults for speaking out on the environmental madness at Greenland. Will history repeat itself where egos and arrogance diminishes reasoning of our stubborn politicians and technocrats?

Neither can we put money above the potential health issues should our air and water quality be compromised from a Dioxin producing Waste To Energy Plant. Does the Ministry of Transport and Works or the Environmental Protection Department have the necessary equipment to continually test air quality for the many modern contaminants found on our highways, much less those that will result from burning municipal waste that often contain plastics and other toxic materials?

Let’s not be fooled by the tired clichรฉ used by the owners of these high risk plants “Our plants use proven  cutting edge technologies and are safe” the aforementioned was said of Fukishima, Chernobyl and Bhopal, we know today they lied.  We cannot tempt fate in a densely populated tiny 166 sq mile island dependent on tourism. If you think I am an alarmist look at the Shell leak at Pegwell Boggs and the contamination which now makes the land useless. Dioxin is much deadlier and linked to increased incidence of leukaemia and other cancers.

It is my opinion that this proposal needs further ventilation and to go through the rubric of good governance set out by the Honourable Prime Minister in the 2013 manifesto.  Not for once be unaware of the ability of the citizenry to mobilize the Villages, Unions, NGO’s, as well as international agencies to seek judicial review as set out within the constitution.

This fight is bigger than me and is not about me, to vilify or target me would be a betrayal of all Bajans. Vigorous open dialogue has always has always been the Bajan way, as wellbeing of country must be foremost rather than the bank accounts of a few.

83 responses to “Another Greenland: Environmentalist Says Government’s Waste to Energy Strategy Lacks Transparency”

1. “Has the Cabinet of Barbados made a decision on a Waste To Energy Plant without consultation with the citizenry or the Environmental Protection Department and the Town and Country Development Planning Office, the designated Government entities charged with environmental regulation and control?”

Consultation? The government would have to submit a planning application!!

2. “In addition to Principle 10, the Manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party 2013 has listed โ€œGood Honest Governanceโ€ as one of its pillars for guiding Barbadosโ€™ development over the next five years. The Hon. Freundel Stuart, Q.C, MP stated in the manifesto โ€œ Good Governance is characterized by the principles of participation, consensus, accountability, transparency, responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency, equity and inclusion, and the rule of law….”
    In order to remain true to my word is to remain silent and so it will be! If the public is clever enough to read my lips, so be it.

We are mindful of the Thompson ‘s statement going in to the election of implementing transparency legislation within 100 days, or was it meant to be 100 years?
    The Bajan public is fully aware of the ‘party in opposition’, always highlighting the short comings of the ‘party in power’ to gain office and when this goal is achieved, it is suddenly struck with a bout of amnesia.

We are burning ‘Bunker-c fuel at our power station today, a time when cleaner fuel is readily available. Harm to our environment is being carried out in the name of ‘profit margin’.
    ‘Not for once be unaware of the ability of the citizenry to mobilize the Villages, Unions, NGOโ€™s, as well as international agencies to seek judicial review as set out within the constitution’.
    We are ‘sheeple’, and the government of both political colours knows it. What is the reason our ‘Media, our Religious leaders, our Lawyers, our university professors etc, are silent on these and many more issues?

3. Don’t we have people at the UWI trained in this area who can lend leadership here?

4. should the govt be opened and transparent in critical issues such as these pertaining to environment . absolutely……however being paralysis by fear has kept us in a dormant state unable to make up or minds having a defeatist attitude and succumbing to fear rather than moving forward will watching others forge ahead. ,,,,many countries within Europe are today reaping the benefits of WTE… contamination has been limited over the years and the fear of dioxins being release in the atmosphere is very remote due in part to a better technological process

5. We have an expert in the house ….AC… girl you didn’t tell me that you were soo knowledgeable!

6. Oh Hell!!!
    Bushie agrees with ac ?!?
    …may have to rethink this…but

The are dangers with WTE. It is also expensive and requires ongoing good maintenance…
    …so no Barbados Government can do it successfully, but it can and should be done.
    Bajans cannot expect to enjoy the benefits of developed status while living in pristine unspoiled environment. Many developed countries pay the price of their standard of living by coexisting with nuclear plants, coal fired plant, dirty and dangerous coal mines etc…

We expect to live in unspoiled bliss while enjoying the “benefits” of development….?

WTE
    …but keep LOWE far for anything to do with it. Tell him to go and fix the discharge gate for Graham Hall swamp….

7. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David, Don’t you people read my blogs? Didn’t I tell you when there was a hullabaloo about the burning at the place in Cane garden that we have fully qualified persons in Barbados as well as the required equipment? What is the matter with you? I also tole you that when I returned to Barbados since in 1986 that I brought back from Canada plans and drqwings for w Waaste to Energy Plaant but of course no one had heard of it before so no one was willing to implement it. this was before the advent of Mt. stinkeroo. I had had discussions with the owner of one of the laboratories I worked at who was in the business of setting up these operations. Doubt me ask Keith Simmons. And for your information, as I already told you, Dioxins are destroyed bu burning, and the temperatures reached in a waste to energy plant are high enough to destroy Dioxins. Doubt me check it out

8. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bushie and Island gal;
    Mr Edmund Blades, from the Winston Scott Polyclin, Chief Technologist there, has experience in environmental matters, with regard to air polution, and the UWI also has experience in dealing with these matters, so don’t get on as if this is something new to you. don’t try to cause panic and create unnecessary obstacles.
    get your facts straight first.

9. for example Germany has about 66 WIP all burn waste and as of now no environmental hazards to people or environment has been cause for concern due to the fact that there laws are stringent controlling the amount of dixion permitted in exhaust air to a miniscule ,our society continues to beat itself over the head continual looking backwards for answers to questions that are more advance in these modern times we act as if others going to standstill while we hem and haw trying to make a decision, and as time marches on in the long run we still have to catch up with an advancing world and having to pay a much..bigger price,,,,

10. Alvin what de hell wrong wid you? You read anything I have posted in here ? What obstacles are you speaking about ? Man go to bed do you rambling!

11. It seems a key concern for the authour has been the lack of transparency. Talking to the people, putting the issues which we have to confront as a nation to the people. This is what a healthy democracy should aspire

12. @ Islandgal
    “Alvin what de hell wrong wid you?”
    Not sure if he is a typical brass bowl Bajan or perhaps just a Bajan brass bowl…but Alvin is some kind of BBB. ๐Ÿ™‚

Typical:
    – He know eva shite like if he is Bushie
    – He know eva body like if he is Well Well
    – he has been eva where like if he is a politician
    – he has suggested eva thing – but nobody listens
    – he has tried eva thing but nothing has succeeded
    All he does well – is write longgggg blogs eva day ๐Ÿ™‚ …like he is Dictionary…
    …..HAS to be a BBB

13. @ David
    You are right about the author’s real concern, and the author is right to have such concern. BUT why attach this concern ONLY to WTE?
    It is a dishonest attempt to impose a personal bias on a national issue by using a large red herring…

๐Ÿ™‚ Bushie would know this because the bushman does it all the time LOL …especially with BAFFY and PW

The matter of transparency is a GENERAL one, and the impression should not be had that it is a particular issue with WTE and that hence WTE is questionable.

Obviously there is NO transparency in government because almost ALL of what is done by government is crooked and questionable.

Even EXCELLENT projects are ruined because politicians, civil servants, staff and even down to the maids ALL see every project as an opportunity to enrich themselves and their associates.

-Appointing OBVIOUSLY incompetent friends to run critical institutions (want names? ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    -Giving contracts to undeserving associates
    -Extracting personal benefits via travel, per diems, personal allowances etc that are of NO BENEFIT to the country….
    -Stealing stuff…
    -Stealing time….
    -Un-productivity…
    -Downright incompetence

It is intellectually dishonest to tie this issue to WTE in any attempt to dismiss the option for Barbados. Too many successful models exists.

14. Alvin wrote “@David, Donโ€™t you people read my blogs?”

NO WE DON’T

Nutting nut a BBB…thank yuh Bushie sweetie pie!

15. @Bush Tea

Kammie is a well know social commentator who has written and commented voluminously on the issue of transparency/governance issues. He is also an environmentalist and Director of the Future Centre Trust which means he will promote/champion specific concerns given his environmentalist hat.

16. The average Joe in Barbados does not have a clue how the wind is blowing on the issue of WTE. As always the issues are bound in politics and agendas. It is an important national issue which should be promoted as such. Recently when Minister Lowe who is in charge of the environment declared that the ministry of home affairs was responsible for managing the Bs affair but that his ministry supported the exercise behind the scenes. He failed to grasp that the public looked to the head of the environment for leadership because there were real/perceived environmental concerns. Instead Lowe became married to a protocol although there was an opportunity to show leadership.

17. @ David
    Kammie is anti-WTE and instead of studying the issue and analyzing the pros and cons he seeks to bash it by playing the “government lack of transparency” card.
    This is simply DISHONEST.

How can a government that is opaque on simple matters be expected to be transparent on complex issues that are beyond their comprehension?
    if we discussing WTE let us discuss WTE
    If it is transparency let us talk transparency.

18. Hence the enviroment should be always be of concern ..however it is tatical error on the writers part by trying to use “fear” to get his point across . for more than twenty years WTE plants have been in operations and as now no accidents simliar to those of chernobyl have occured and it is most unlikely to happen .cause for concern baseless and unfounded “fearmongering” a low blow.

19. By now we should be familiar with those who suffer from the “a little knowledge is a dangerous thing” syndrome….
    Yes!
    WTE is potentially hazardous – if badly managed, poorly maintained, or if allowed to be controlled by ANY Bajan politicians.

…but so is practically everything else that we do.

If we are concerned about public health issues and potential contamination by dioxins etc where is the concern about the REAL POISONS that destroying our lives on a daily basis…. Things like the fluoride that we BUY everyday in our toothpaste and in many CUNTries poison drinking water with?
    How about the hormone-laced meats that we consume everyday – producing effeminate boys with female breasts and he-girls in abundance?
    Why is Kammie not concerned about the correlation between diabetes and our use of sugar and in particular the poisonous sweet drinks that BBBs PURCHASE and consume every day?

…..at least WTE addresses the matters of solid waste disposal, cleaning of the environment of litter AND reducing energy costs and fossil imports in exchange for any risks that are involved in its operation.
    …what benefits does the country get from the mass poisoning of our children with the sweet drink poisons that are PURCHASED and consumed every day? ..
    …future work for doctors administering insulin and for surgeons cutting off limbs?

20. Interesting we should be referring to fear tactics by the writer when the government used the same tactic in the campaign. Think transport board ad. We are a bunch of hypocrites.

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | June 4, 2013 at 8:41 AM |

And how much this WTE plant will cost again, ac?
    Is it part of the sugar industry revitalization package of building a brand new second-hand factory at Andrews to burn non-existent sugar cane fibre and other plant material right through the year to generate electricity to supply 50,000 households in Bim?

Bim can’t even borrow money to reinvigorate it Forex earning sectors (the very heart which pumps the financial lifeblood through the system that generates the same waste) how in the world of dioxins and holy evil smoke can this junk status country borrow money on the international market to finance such a polluting project?

Let’s us like simple primary school polluters start with the basic 3 R’s of effective environmental management: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle.

22. What are you saying David?
    The government used scare tactics with the bus on Bajan Brass Bowls, so Kammie is entitled to do so on Bushie?
    WTF(rance) !!!

The guvment is some kinda role model now…?

…you sleep last night…?
    This is real real David or the Mistress….?
    LOOKA !!!

23. Miller
    Where you have been…? Since Bushie tried to provoke you you went very quiet…?

Look Skippa
    Any kind of safe reliable power generation will cost millions
    Any kind of safe reliable solid waste process will cost millions
    Any kind of national cleanup will cost millions

A well managed WTE project kills all three of these birds with one stone.
    HOWEVER, Bushie agrees that if you or any of your cronies in politics get their paws on such a project, then it is a case of wasted $$$$. – a la Greenland, Sea Island cotton, Portvale, BADMC, BTI etc.

You have no point…unless you see a future without power generation, solid waste management and a clean environment.

These are no-brainer issues.

24. The BushMan of BushTea…………..Do you know who or what is dragging you around this blog by your little bushy?

25. @Bushie

The point here is that people have become sick and fed up with trying to use the process or advocate using accepted methods. It just doesn’t work in Barbados. Resorting to unconventional methods to defend particular interests has become the last stand. Hell even the political parties have adopted.

26. David

Never mind Kammy with this nonsense. The more important point to determine is who is Kammy carrying water for?
    Kammy can you tell us the true relationship between yourself, Bizzy Williams and Bizzy second man Dave Staples?

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea | June 4, 2013 at 9:35 AM

You still have not dealt with the “meat of the matter”.
    We all know it would cost millions in whichever form a waste management project takes.
    The question to you Bushman (and by extension your polluting savvy croney ac), where is the money going to come from?

The NIS like it is currently used to pay salaries and day-to-day-expenses of public administration? Ok, but what about the massive foreign exchange component required for such a technologically sophisticated project?
    Or are you of the myopically small island view that there are hundreds of foreign investors out there lining up to invest in Bim to allow the locals to burn their imported waste free of charge? Are you aware of the massive environmental levies and charges that will be imposed on businesses and by extension householders to repay for such a foreign investment in a WTE despite the commercial energy generation component?

Let us talk about the cheaper, easier and more appealing option for a small island state like Bim. What about proper environmental management?
    Are you the same Bushman who is always talking about taking care of the BBEโ€™s creation and cutting back on our unsustainable overly materialistic conspicuous consumption-driven modern lifestyle?

If you want to see a viable solution to alleviating Bimโ€™s energy needs why not look to that eternal source of lighr an denergy divinely given by your BBE in the sky? That ball of fire could not only supply much of your energy needs but might just also provide the fiery furnace to witness (with your great admiration) the likes of PW, MAM, OSA and the miller bawling in eternal pain and agony on the lowest rung of Danteโ€™s inferno.

Why not get some of your fellow citizens to join the Bushmanโ€™s โ€œmodus vivendiโ€ and retreat in the bush like a true Bajan Jimmy Bushman Jones? Ac might just be interested but certainly not Islandgal. LOL!!

As far as your political partisan goading the miller can only respond as follows:

The answers to your queries can be found in the same conundrum that holds the key to identifying the โ€œusefully social or foreign income generating assets that represent the increases in the national debt from $ 4.8 billion as at March 2008 (with all off-balance sheet financing projects brought to book) to almost $9 billion today.

When you find the key to your political life in George St. talk to me in Roebuck St. about the missing millions including Greenland which would soon be like the prodigal son (no pun intended) of the pseudo Doctorโ€™s cure for Bimโ€™s environmental pains.

28. It will certainly take the sun suddenly going dim or blinking out all together for the government and the people on the island to realize that it is still free and sustainable for their every want and need…………what is it going to take for them to realize that the sun is their free source of energy, with FREE being the operative word for those who lack analytical skills.

29. Some of these comments are just about shooting Mr Holder and defending a lack of disclosure as set out in Principle 10. The man is fighting for future generations against selfish decisions. I agree with him not to support the more riskier solution.

Government agencies such as EPD seem to lack the capacity to police our ground water against nitrates,how the hell they gine monitor a Waste To Energy Plant?

Many living over and away will spew their venom laced with contempt for civil dialogue and try to discredit Mr Holder who seems steadfast from what I have read online about issues that may imperil the environment.

As a person who formerly worked with Hazmat/EPA in the US I find this paragraph telling โ€œLetโ€™s not be fooled by the tired clichรฉ used by the owners of these high risk plants โ€œOur plants use proven cutting edge technologies and are safeโ€ the aforementioned was said of Fukishima, Chernobyl and Bhopal, we know today they lied. We cannot tempt fate in a densely populated tiny 166 sq mile island dependent on tourism.โ€

What about the Farmers in the Pegwell Shell Oil Leak and the GOB failure to be a plaintiff in the suit against Shell . The land at Pegwell is now condemned and not fit for growing food..

What about the old Mobil Storage Refinery at Gravesend and the contamination that was uncovered? Is it still in dispute as to who should fit the clean up bill, while the ground water remains contaminated?

30. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Bush Tea as a vocal blogger, you are full of crap and expect people to take your defence serious. Your should read the questions and respond to them individually if you want to make a worthwhile contribution.

31. The Chinese got so many billions they are willing to fund energy projects in the Caribbean, this is a golden opportunity, albeit the only opportunity to become one with the sun…………..
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/US-3b-for-region-209876301.html

32. Kammie Holder Avatar

Those who are in agreement of a Waste To Energy Plant being set up can buy a small island, set up such a plant and live down wind of such a plant. It would be also helpful if wunna could become farmers and rotate the byproduct from the burnt waste into your fields.

33. Kammie Holder Avatar

How often within the last 10 years were residents of Checker Hall and environs seen in the newspaper sweeping while complaining about ash and dust while not a murmur was heard from politicians. Why Are We Concerned?

Dioxins are widely distributed throughout the environment in low concentrations, are persistent and bioaccumulated, most people have detectable levels of dioxins in their tissues. These levels, in the low parts per trillion, have accumulated over a lifetime and will persist for years, even if no additional exposure were to occur. This background exposure is likely to result in an increased risk of cancer and is uncomfortably close to levels that can cause subtle adverse non-cancer effects in animals and humans.

Where Can Dioxin Be Found?

Dioxins can be commonly detected in air, soil, sediments and food. Dioxins are transported primarily through the air and are deposited on the surfaces of soil, buildings and pavement, water bodies, and the leaves of plants. Most dioxins are introduced to the environment through the air as trace products of combustion. The principal route by which dioxins are introduced to most rivers, streams and lakes is soil erosion and storm water runoff from urban areas. Industrial discharges can significantly elevate water concentrations near the point of discharge to rivers and streams. Major contributors of dioxin to the environment include:

Incineration of Municipal Solid Waste
    Incineration of Medical Waste
    Secondary Copper Smelting
    Forest Fires
    Land Application of Sewage Sludge
    Cement Kilns
    Coal Fired Power Plants
    Residential Wood Burning
    Chlorine Bleaching of Wood Pulp
    Backyard burning of household waste may also be an important source.
    How Are We Exposed to Dioxins?

Most of us receive almost all of our dioxin exposure from the food we eat: specifically from the animal fats associated with eating beef, pork, poultry, fish, milk, dairy products. Most of us get these foods through the commercial food supply. Since most of the meats and dairy products we consume are not produced locally but have been transported hundreds or thousands of miles, the majority of our dioxin exposure does not come from dioxin sources within our own community.

34. Kammie Holder Avatar

According to Heal (2010), renewable means simple energy which comes from natural resources as sun, water, soil and winds. A broader definition is provided by Delimatsis (2009) that are innovative instruments for the development of clean energy technologies to combat climate change and diversification of countryโ€™s energy supply. not much progress has been made in the use of renewable energy in the Caribbean countries. It has been argued that the issue gets prominence only when the price of oil is high. Since the price of oil has been relatively low during the last 15 years, there has not been much interest in alternative energy sources. While, to some extent the above may be true, it is also true that the providers of energy in the region are monopolies and, in the absence of competition, have not made any effort to reduce their dependence on oil.

35. Kammie Holder Avatar

Renewable energy in Curacao A key issues around the world is global warming. It is a great way to send a message to the government and residents of Curaรงao that there are alternative methods to generate electricity without the emission of greenhouse gases that are damaging to public health and our environment. WInd Farms and Solar farms is the model is used despite further away from the equator than Barbados.

36. @ Miller
    Cuhdear! ….That is a cheap shot!!
    By defining ac as Bushie’s cohort in this matter you have outright won the argument hands down….
    ..But in response to the question of where the millions would come from….why not the same place that wunna was going to get the $600M stimulus…? ๐Ÿ™‚
    You well know that there are some things that we HAVE TO HAVE unless you really want to join Bushie and become bushmen…. (Very few brass bowls would survive in the bush)….
    – Some form of energy
    – effective and sanitary waste disposal
    – a clean environment.

A LOTTA other junk would need to be sacrificed before these can be….

37. Kammy

Tells us about your relationship with BIZZY and STAPLES, please nah man?

38. Where is the money coming from!the question to be asked is how much would the WTE plant save the govt in high electrica bills and fuel cost plus energy subsidiesto public and private companies also included low income homes…all in all such a plant would give back to the economy enough savings in long term to actually pay for itself l

39. @ Kammie
    …let us therefore lie quietly by the beach least we disturb the air around us and spread those deadly dioxins….?

Skipper, living is a terminal affliction!
    EVERYTHING is about common sense and compromise…

…even Islandgal…..a LOTTA sweetness, but also a LOT LOT of stress…especially if she can get her hands on a piece of 2X4
    …you think that will keep Bushie from trying a ‘lil thing….?

40. Kammie Holder Avatar

Known end products of the biosphere incineration process are carbon black, pozzalanic ash or pozzolana, high alloy steel wire, and potable water.

41. Kammie u need to look up how much Dioxin is distributed in the atmoshere especially in the winter months when houheholds depend on nontraditional sources for heating..

42. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Ac. I know dioxin occurs naturally in the environment but not in the concentration a WTE will produce. The risk exposure for a 166 sq mile country far outweighs the social and economic benefits. 143,000 tons of trash per year can generating up to 15 megawatts of electricity.

43. I must be missing something or it occurred since i last visited Bim, but i never knew Bim had winter months, have i missed something?

44. With Kammie’s brilliant logic, we must surely dump our 100,000+ vehicles immediately.
    The power company must stop those generators NOW,
    ….cause the combination of these two makes emissions from WTE look like deodorant….
    It is all about compromise and cost benefits.

45. and as my best cohort so eloquently states the guzzler know As the automobile emmits more Dioxin than any WTE plant. Kammie how abouit giving up yours to save the enviroment! NO! one giant step for man

46. Kammy

Man tell the boyz you carrying the water for Bizzy Williams. Talk about a man singing for he supper, like a real grass canary.

47. Kammie Holder Avatar

Incineration’s inclusion in renewable portfolio standards is “greenwashing.” Not only is trash not renewable, but incinerators’ already slim energy output doesn’t account for the extra energy needed to produce virgin rather than recycled goods. Nor do modern incinerators fare well on the carbon front: Depending on the fuel, they can perform worse than coal plants in terms of carbon dioxide emitted per unit of energy.

48. Kammy

Why you dodging the Bizzy issue, fraid to tell the truth?

49. Ah, Kammie, you’ve really got to cite your sources:
    http://wwwp.dailyclimate.org/tdc-newsroom/2013/02/incinerator-fight

Otherwise, how can your readers know which thoughts are your own, and which to trust?

I believe it’s just a matter of general politeness (and basic prudence) for anyone rejoicing in the handle “social commentator” to make plain when they are copying someone else’s words and thoughts … in this case, copying the words verbatim.

50. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Kammy is a fraud? Everyone knows him.