Kammie Holder Advocacy Director Future Centre Trust
Kammie Holder
Advocacy Director
Future Centre Trust

The environmental NGO Future Centre Trust as part of its mandate dispatched a letter on July 3rd 2013 to the Permanent Secretary Ministry Of Environment seeking disclosure on the proposed Waste To Energy Plant.  It’s disingenuous to hear the Governor of the Central Bank and others including the Minister of the Environment  speak  as if this proposed plant is a done deal. Thus   the questions beg why all the secrecy  and lack of disclosure.  Perhaps arrogance has diminished reason.  It’s hoped that good governance  and commonsense will mean something to those mandated to look after our affairs.  The onus of disclosure and public consultation lies in Principle 10 as agreed to by the government of Barbados in 1992 during the Rio conference but never made law.

For the sake of future generations and the possible health risk associated with any breakdown of this Waste To Energy Plant we beg for public consultation and disclosure.  It’s also our intention to seek collective support on the need for disclosure on this plant from, UWI Student Guild, Cancer Society, BAMP and residence of Sandy Lane as well as environs.

We don’t seek confrontation all we seek respectfully is dialogue as enshrined under our constitution.

7 responses to “Future Trust Asking Government for Transparency About the Waste to Energy Plant”

1. I do not know which administration is responsible, but what I recently saw at the old Mount Stinkeroo is awesome … I could not believe that I was in Barbados.

Who ever is responsible, good fcuking job..

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@Baffy

Like the former Director of the Future Centre Trust Colin Hudson, GOD is dead and this government is like unto My Omnipotent Deity and like the previous government with its Greenland bungle to, answers to no one

It is of passing note that the current Chairman is none other than Vivianne Gittens of the Nation BLP fame which tinged this otherwise reasonable request with some concern.

Why would it be that under the former administration this Cerberus, guardian of the underworld (no pun intended as such relates to its garbage management mandate) was never on scope with regards to other ecological blunders but now comes rushing to the charge with this “done deal”?

Baffy we are waging wars on behalf of parties that by any other name are terrorists and who use a multitude of seemingly good causes to attack their common enemy.

In one breath we can acknowledge that there should be dialogue on this Waste to Energy ignorance that is being proposed but here it is being championed by none other that my feared Edotor in Chief.

Baffy you think I should use this opportunity to beg she for a job down dey at de Nation?

After all if I cud contrive some falsity bout Sankey Price or Carl de Mo’ de monkey climb de mo’ yuh does see he tail, and let she fyah one uh dem and get dem pick.

Whu you feel?

3. @above

Can’ remember the last time I pick’ up a Nation or a’ Advocate for that matter, names like Gittens, until you mentioned it earlier, had faded from memory. Of course dialogue is important… could be that the pubic feed back from the proposed wind mill energy project a few years back is still fresh in some one’s memory, but you like the contributor are passionate and that is what is required to force a response in what could be a drawn out battle. Good luck.

I am only pleased with what I saw at Mount Stinkeroo … I suppose the residents at Sandy Lane and the owner of the hotel and golf course were not only passionate, they were also in a position to seriously pose a threat to the well being of the country… they turned what was originally their problem into a country wide problem

4. What the latest is with this prime piece of real estate? Perhaps, part of the answer to Government’s economic woes.

Even a BOLT arrangement to deal with the environmental issues?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/needhams-point-at-risk/

Our Minister of the Environment appears to be coached by PM Stuart so don’t expect to hear any pronouncements on this issue and others.

5. We cannot even deal with the Shell issue at Pegwell Boggs which has not been cleaned up or the Mobil Spill at Needhams Point http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/needhams-point-at-risk/

6. Hopefully the cost legal and other has been factored into government’s contingent liability. Minister Lowe can’t be boasting of Barbados being a green economy soon with these two sores going gangrene.

7. Well he is the PM favorite Minister so he just as silent. What is happening with docile Bajans? Sadly Clement Osbourne Payne birthday will be celebrated on July 26th but why do we celebrate when we fail to let our voices be heard. I commend the chap for his passion and the Future Centre Trust as Barbadians seem not interested in their environmental health.