Kammie Holder, Director, Future Centre Trust

On 2 June Dr Denis Lowe sought to convince television viewers why Barbados should have a Waste To Energy Plant as one of the key elements of a waste management strategy for Barbados. We should recall Barbados’ participation in the United Nations Conference on Environmental & and Developmental Conference which was held in Rio Brazil June 3rd to 14th 1992. At this conference 27 Rio principles were adopted which now pervade international law and governance.  Of specific significance is and I now share Principle 10 which states:

Environmental issues are best handled with participation of all concerned citizens, at the relevant level. At the national level, each individual shall have appropriate access to information concerning the environment that is held by public authorities, including information on hazardous materials and activities in their communities, and the opportunity to participate in decision-making processes. States shall facilitate and encourage public awareness and participation by making information widely available. Effective access to judicial and administrative proceedings, including redress and remedy, shall be provided.”

In addition to Principle 10, the Manifesto of the Democratic Labour Party 2013 has listed “Good Honest Governance” as one of its pillars for guiding Barbados’ development over the next five years.  The Hon. Freundel Stuart, Q.C, MP stated in the manifesto “ Good Governance is characterized by the principles of participation, consensus, accountability, transparency, responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency, equity and inclusion, and the rule of law.  It assures that corruption is minimized, the views of minorities are taken into account and that the voices of the most vulnerable in society are heard in decision-making and the allocation of resources.”

In light of this,  every citizen must ask the following questions because research is showing that with the option of a  Waste to Energy Plant, the  disadvantages far outweighs its limited benefits.

1. Has the Cabinet of Barbados made a decision on a Waste To Energy Plant without consultation with the citizenry or the Environmental Protection Department and the Town and Country Development Planning Office, the designated Government entities charged with environmental regulation and control?
  2. If the Environmental Protection Department as regulators were consulted did they approve the setup of a Waste To Energy Plant and what were the Terms Of Reference provided on the approval?
  3. How will the by product of the burnt garbage be disposed of without causing contamination of our water supply or air?
  4. Will the feedstock be sufficient to  allow  this ‘energy hog’ to operate at full capacity without decreasing the amount of material available to the current recycling operators including SBRC, B’s Recycling and other small operators for recycling?
  5. Can the Minister provide an example of another Small Island Developing State which has successfully adopted the approach of a Waste To Energy Plant?
  6. If the Government stubbornly and arrogantly ignores the environmental concerns and imperils the health of citizens and the environment, what redress is available to the citizenry?

What Barbados needs now more than ever is legislated recycling which would not incur any costs to the government and not the burning of garbage or more landfills.  I just cannot understand why the rush for the most expensive, dangerous, unsustainable option under the guise of renewable energy is being considered.

Dr Denis and Cabinet I am pleading, let rational thinking be your guide for the sake of future generations and not imperil the health of the country. We need to have open government for the people and not another Greenland which was shrouded in mystery.

With Greenland, Mr Richard Goddard was  truly a Mountie as the lone voice in the wilderness. He was vilified and suffered personal insults for speaking out on the environmental madness at Greenland. Will history repeat itself where egos and arrogance diminishes reasoning of our stubborn politicians and technocrats?

Neither can we put money above the potential health issues should our air and water quality be compromised from a Dioxin producing Waste To Energy Plant. Does the Ministry of Transport and Works or the Environmental Protection Department have the necessary equipment to continually test air quality for the many modern contaminants found on our highways, much less those that will result from burning municipal waste that often contain plastics and other toxic materials?

Let’s not be fooled by the tired cliché used by the owners of these high risk plants “Our plants use proven  cutting edge technologies and are safe” the aforementioned was said of Fukishima, Chernobyl and Bhopal, we know today they lied.  We cannot tempt fate in a densely populated tiny 166 sq mile island dependent on tourism. If you think I am an alarmist look at the Shell leak at Pegwell Boggs and the contamination which now makes the land useless. Dioxin is much deadlier and linked to increased incidence of leukaemia and other cancers.

It is my opinion that this proposal needs further ventilation and to go through the rubric of good governance set out by the Honourable Prime Minister in the 2013 manifesto.  Not for once be unaware of the ability of the citizenry to mobilize the Villages, Unions, NGO’s, as well as international agencies to seek judicial review as set out within the constitution.

This fight is bigger than me and is not about me, to vilify or target me would be a betrayal of all Bajans. Vigorous open dialogue has always has always been the Bajan way, as wellbeing of country must be foremost rather than the bank accounts of a few.

83 responses to “Another Greenland: Environmentalist Says Government’s Waste to Energy Strategy Lacks Transparency”

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Another Greenland: Environmentalist Says Governments Waste to Energy Strategy Lacks Transparency@ No Transparency
    but we can see the Fraud.
    Transparency , before they think of Nation and its people needs they deal with big Boy crooks first. How will this affect their bottom line?
    So they will keep doing what they doing until they drain all the money from all pockets. We all want to know who making money of this waste?

2. Quoting The Dummy @ Dumo, June 4, 2013, 5:46 PM: “Kammy is a fraud? Everyone knows him.”

Nobody is saying that Kammie is a fraud, at least nobody I know. I don’t think he is (for whatever that’s worth, which is little).

But in the area of written communication, Kammie has a problem. The problem is that writing is not Kammie’s forte. He’s probably dynamite at a million other things. Maybe Kammie can strip down the engine of a Toyota Rav-4 in minutes, and tell you what the problem is.

The problem is that anyone who sees himself as a “social commentator” should be able to write above the level of an average 15 year-old. And that capacity, sadly, is not a gift that has been bestowed on Kammie. His gifts – and there can be no doubt that those gifts are otherwise endless – are perhaps better suited elsewhere.

The mature “social commentator”, even if she has been so unfortunate as to be born with ovaries and is therefore “balls-less”, knows that it’s a matter of the most basic intellectual honesty to cite your sources, and not try to pass off your sources’ thoughts as your own.

3. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Methinks Barbados needs a dictator
    Maybe Barbados more meaning participation from the people other than the 5 year exercise
    Maybe White people need to return to the reigns of Government.
    Why are white people staying away
    Where are the English expatriates who help to shape Barbados ?

4. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Bush Tea, Islandgal and Kammie.These are not my words, because Bushie thinks I don’t know anything. so…
    Waste to Energy
    Waste-to-energy (WTE) is a reliable and renewable process of converting waste materials into electricity. Municipal waste is collected by local authorities from residential, commercial, and public origins, disposed in a central location, processed, and then combusted to produce heat and/or power.

In WTE facilities, trash is either burned directly or processed and shredded to produce a fuel before being combusted. The heat from the burning garbage boils water flowing inside boiler tubes and turns the water into steam. The steam can be put to direct use in a heating system or a factory, but it is most often used to turn a turbine-generator to make electricity. After any incombustible residue (ash) cools, magnets and other mechanical devices pull metals from the ash. The remaining ash is as much as 90% smaller in volume than the fuel source, and it is either deposited in a landfill, or in some cases, used to pave roads.

Waste Heat to Power (WH2P) harnesses the electricity-producing potential of a different form of waste. Large industrial facilities, ranging from oil refineries to paper mills, generate large quantities of heat to conduct their operations, and in most cases that heat is simply lost. By implementing a recovery unit to capture the waste heat, industrial users can generate power for their own plants, or sell it back to the grid. WH2P equipment is also used at renewable power plants to capture unused heat.

Waste power can also be generated from landfills. As trash and organic material decays, it releases gases that can be harnessed to produce energy (see Biomass).

To learn more about waste-to-energy, visit the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) overview.

Facts
    The U.S. has 89 waste-to-energy plants nationwide, generating the equivalent of 2.5 GW of energy while annually disposing of 29 million tons of trash. (Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA))
    Waste-to-energy plants annually recover and recycle 1.6 million tons of ferrous and non-ferrous metals, plastics, glass, and combustion ash. (EPA)
    More than $1 billion has been invested to upgrade air quality control systems in American waste-to-energy facilities under the Clean Air Act. (Energy Recovery Council (ERC))
    Improvements to municipal waste combustion (MWC) units have resulted in a 90% reduction in particulate matter emissions from their 1995 levels. (EPA)

5. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@BU bloggers, for you rinformaation. and @Bush Tea and Island gal, I won’t give my opinions I will just direct you where to go and get information that I have. And for your further edification, especially on the topic of web address on solar energy, about two to three years agao I (me) organized a meeting with about fifteen persons (business men

6. Alvin…………you know when they hear another Bajan especially if you live outside did anything positive and uplifting they start to feel inadequate and have to attack, they hate to hear about any positive accomplishments and deem it thinking you know everything, thinking you know everyone, thinking you can do everything, who do you think you are, I hate to admit it but this crowd is on such a downward slide and not aware. Can you imagine you live on the island and don’t know someone you may never meet has patented your island’s name and sheep, they darn near patented you and probably did. So where will the people go from here, continue to attack every suggestion that may have the viable answers needed or listen for once and admit everyone has something to contribute. They better bare in mind there is always a Pacha waiting in the wings to make sure things get worse.

7. Should read: bear in mind………..for all those who have nothing better to do with their time but check for spelling mistakes on a blog.

8. @ Alviin

America is 3,794,101 sq mi yet only 89 or 1 per 42630 sq mile
    Barbados is 166 sq mi = 1 per 166sqm

9. Kammie Holder Avatar

http://earth911.com/news/2010/08/02/is-burning-trash-bad/

“There are so many economic reasons for local governments to look into expanding their recycling programs,” says Wilson. “Recycling programs create local jobs and feed materials back into local, regional and national industry […] That’s a really important thing to be thinking about instead of spending millions and potentially up to a billion dollars on a new facility.”

“It is important to talk about zero-waste in local government and to adopt zero-waste as a goal,” Wilson says. “It doesn’t mean we’re going to be at zero-waste tomorrow, but the only way to reach that goal is to set it.”

10. Kammie Holder Avatar

Yellow belly cowards do what they do best, insult,detract,libel and derail intelligent conversations using sobriquets.

11. Dr Love AKA Alvins Alter Ego Avatar
    Dr Love AKA Alvins Alter Ego

@Kammie
    Sobriquets. Like it Like it.!!
    Got any more ??
    “JOKEY” says I need to get some learnin real bad.
    I gettin a whole set a dem words en soon I ken speak an wunna understan Nuffin.

12. It is as assured as the setting of the sun….

Almost any time wunna see someone coming on an ANONYMOUS BLOG, run by an ANONYMOUS blogmaster, where there are licks like peas and no respect for neither man, woman nor beast…
    …..and this person chooses to use their REAL NAME, REAL PHOTOGRAPH, and give their REAL opinions……
    ….then we are either dealing with genuinely intelligent people who KNOW what they are about,…. or stupid bajan brass bowls.

There are VERY FEW of the former.
    Caswell, Adrian L (mostly),Jeff C…..a few.

It is not difficult to identify the SBBBs.
    1 – they continually complain that bloggers (on the anonymous blog, run by the anonymous blogmaster,) use nom de plumes.

2 – they come with their little pissy ideas which they are woefully unable to support with logic and facts – but seem to expect respect BECAUSE THEY IDENTIFY THEMSELVES.

3 – it soon becomes evident that theirs is an EGO problem, an attempt to impress with fluff. A “Do you KNOW who I am?” attitude….
    (YES WE DO! – and we USED TO think you were smart….)

…ON B.U.?!?
    Wuh dey got fellows dat does even curse DAVID pun he own blog. 🙂 Dey got a woman name ac dat does lambaste Bushie inside out, day and night…(…especially since she Huzzie moved to Arizona)

….NOBODY DON’T CARE WHO YOU ARE….Come with logic or tek yuh licks..

That was general.
    Advice to Kammie
    Stick with the ‘Nation’, where the editors can, and will edit all the comments that CLEARLY show that you are talking a bunch of shiite.

Follow Peter Wickham’s lead. He retreated to VOB where he can switch off anyone more knowledgable and intelligent than he is…

LOL you can always crawl back to BU under a Sobriquet….like Peter

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | June 4, 2013 at 6:49 PM

Ok, Alvin you have managed to convince us that the WTE alternative of burning trash is the theoretically sound option to be recommended for Bim and should not be viewed as a bogus WTE (Waste of Time and Enterprise).

Now let us get down to the “burning” matter of financing.
    As an old hand on the trash heap you very well know that just as the Mighty Sparrow said about “No Money, No Love” we can also say “No Funding, No WTE Project” implementation.

Now, Dear Alvin, like the Bruce Almighty tell us how this administration- with an international funding tag of junk status around its neck and facing an estimated fiscal deficit of $1.2 billion for the current financial year of which $600 million is for capital projects- is going to find at least $ ½ billion plus cost overruns to build a WTE plant of which 80 % of the equipment must be imported? You must remember that a WTE plant is not just 6 brand new reconditioned garbage collecting vehicles!

Maybe we can ask Dear Alvin our friend and your colleague Jepter Ince (a man with close ties to Wall Street and, like you, is on personal terms with high-flying investment bankers) to advise Mr. Low(e)down in the dumps 5 & 10% where is my cut man on this very burning “hot” matter.
    After all, he has a way of turning a fiscal deficit into a physical one just by the god-like pronouncements that emanate from his mouth.

14. Zero waste although a viable solution to “waste” and overuse of landfills and burning does not go far enough in resolving the burning issue of high energy cost in the same way as WTE

15. In an event unprecedented in the history of humanity, in an episode that surely will never be repeated before our sun goes supernova and consumes our blessed Mother Earth, disturbingly we find ourselves in complete agreement with Bush Tea on Barbados Underground.

We considered valium. We even considered rum, which is a poison we normally never contemplate. We considered counseling. But in the end there was just no getting around the fact that we agree with Mr. Tea. This has been a very depressing experience, but we have to admit, just this once, that we agree with “The Bushman”.

Bush Tea says, quite rightly (and, though it almost kills us to admit it, very perceptively): “it soon becomes evident that theirs is an EGO problem, an attempt to impress with fluff. A “Do you KNOW who I am?” attitude … (YES WE DO! – and we USED TO think you were smart….).”

That depressingly perceptive Bush Tea insight is here: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2013/06/03/another-greenland-environmentalist-says-governments-waste-to-energy-strategy-lacks-transparency/

Why is Bush Tea depressingly but completely and unbeatably right here, when he gets so much other stuff depressingly wrong?

Because he gets the “ego” stuff. Who, just who, who (?), writing advocacy for right-minded environmentalism would even consider, for a single second, signing off with the notion that “this fight is bigger than me and is not about me”. Yeah, I think we already got that, Kammie. I think that billions of people who have never heard of you have managed to grasp that it’s not about you … you … you.

But then we get the kicker: “to vilify or target me would be a betrayal of all Bajans”. Really? You’re sure about that? When did you become the Christ? When did your opinions take the place of “all Bajans?” When did your ego become so monstrous that you could even consider writing a thing so laughably arrogant?

You know, Kammie, I say these things with all due respect. But perhaps it’s better for you in the insulated little microcosm on Facebook, where you can be “friended” and “liked” and everyone applauds your every utterance. Your writing seems to be a little sub-optimal in the real world, where non-friends might challenge you, and you might not be “liked”, and your opinions—whatever the size of your ego—are not taken as some Messianic and irrefutable gospel truth.

Plus, cite your sources. It’s intellectually honest to do so. It’s intellectually dishonest not to do so.

16. Shoite Jocky Bormann…. You really pissed all over the Bushman there ….and while (for once) agreeing with Bushie). 🙂
    …just goes to show that, like a broken clock, even you can be right from time to time.

As you mature you will find yourself being ‘right’ (in concert with Bushie) more and more often. Have patience and “chin up” old chap.
    LOL Ha Ha

17. Bless muh soul ah never wudda see Bushie and Jocky drink from the same glass. Now Bushie doan get tooo hot under yuh ears now.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Jock Baumann | June 5, 2013 at 3:35 PM

What a literary masterpiece! Sweet, sweet indeed!
    What a mellifluous sound of a flowery petal of honeycombed flavour dropping to the ground of intellectual guerilla warfare to put these tin pot jump-ups in their miniscule irrelevant dictatorial p(a)laces!

You need to wage similar warfare against the other brand of fly-by-night pickpockets passing off as politicians choking to egoistical death by their own internationally-unknown shadowy hands.

Have another go matey, for enjoyment sake! Even Bushie might concede defeat, (again!).

BTW, go easy on Donna St. H. She means well and is willing to learn. She is not the stuck-up intellectual bitch you might want to make her out to be; unlike the local boy K H who might find Leroy Parris great company to keep; if you know what I mean intellectually focused, of course.

OK, pal?

19. islandgal246 and Bush Tea

But we haven’t even got yet to the bit (there’s usually this bit, with Kammie) when Kammie tells us that his profound and self-described “integrity” forestalls his acceptance of a “social invite” (the words are Mr. Holder’s) because he prefers to “tell it like it is” (the words are Mr. Holder’s).

We’ve read a lot of Mr. Holder’s writing, even when it was being diligently edited by Ms. Worrell. Most of it was very boring and almost all of it was pointless and none of it was the kind of thing that made you think: “Shoit! This is ground-breaking! This is pioneering! This is investigative journalism at its best! The prose! The insights!”

It tends to make you think: “Shoite! The talent at cut and paste!”

For the record, full disclosure, we don’t accept “social invites” because of our integrity and our commitment to bringing the truth to the People. Always have to put that People in upper case.

20. Where are the innovative skills that people are known for, it can be used for projects such as the same problem most people believe cannot be fixed, look at how innovative people used to be:

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=375000345945025&set=a.234646899980371.44289.100003051888859&type=1&theater

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Another Greenland: Environmentalist Says Government’s Waste to Energy Strategy Lacks Transparency@ @ Same dam crooks hiding what dont belong to them , Election crook and liars making up fraud Manifesto before the Voting , Fraud before , during and after the vote and we have to live with them 22 head crooks , and 8 other jackass.
    Call RENT TO KILL , get the RATS out the Peoples HOUSE.

22. The Truth is Hard to Accept Avatar
    The Truth is Hard to Accept

@ Jock Baumann, re. Kammie, his challenges in articulating himself and his use verbatim of other people’s work. It is not only Kammie. The majority of people in Barbados parading as academics, intellectuals, social commentators, artists, teachers, leaders and the like are all guilty of the same. Welcome to Barbados where you don’t even need to be mediocre because piss poor is the standard.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Truth is Hard to Accept | June 6, 2013 at 5:21 AM

One can vouch for that! Well said!
    The really hurtfully disappointing thing about it is that they feed on one another’s bullshit and the few enlightened ones, (like yourself with a more world-encompassing view of events and people), who can see right through the dank space of intellectual dishonesty can only watch in awful wonder at the rank piffle parading as informed debate.

What is even more heartbreaking is that the parody by the intellectual jesters is played out at its zenith in the highest court of the Land in that comical playhouse called Parliament.

24. For all the blacks who keep believing within themselves that they do not have the power to create and innovate, please view the below, the first black president and first president of the United States……….John Hanson, a Moor, from 1781-1782, today was the first day i learned his name and got a photo, been hearing about him for years………..file:///home//Desktop/7193_538280472874118_430511470_n.jpg

25. You may not see the image, will try to send another way, or you may have to google it, this is a photo that was hidden for centuries.

26. That photo from the video was so well hidden that even I am surprised that it made it out to the public.

27. Kammie,

We’re listening to tree-frogs sing their song here. Brrrb, brrrp, brrrp they go in our Bajan night-time, the same night shared by all Bajans. By ALL Bajans. For small but beautiful creatures, the frogs can make a lot of noise. Sometimes the nightbirds squeal at them, for reasons I know not. The squeal wakes me, because it’s unpleasant. It leads me to make tea too early for my wife.

But it’s a noise in which I take great joy. It’s a reminder of the impossibly gorgeous planet on which we live. Fight back at the nightbirds, Kammie. Fight back at me. Make your case in the best way you can. Never let an idiot silence you. Don’t even let non-idiots like me or Bush Tea silence you. Sing your song, man. The tree-frogs are in tune with the song, but some of us nightbirds don’t agree with the lyrics.

28. Ahaa, its pleasant conversation on the topic of this article at this place at this weblog, I
    have read all that, so at this time me also commenting here.

29. Just thought it timely to resurrect the blog from before Denis Lowe’s mother got very rich.

Still no transparency.

30. Thanks DD, added to BU’s Lowe Carousel.