Hal Austin
Hal Austin

Introduction:

By the time you have read this I would have carried out a promise to address the Caribbean elders of the Pepperpot club in what we used to call Ladbroke Grove in West London, which pompous estate agents have now renamed Notting Hill.These people are warriors, pioneers, unrecognised in their countries of birth and treated with disdain in their adopted home, Britain.

These are people who came to Britain in the early post-war years to labour in Lyons tea shops, the national health service, the army, and most of all on London Transport, because they wanted a better life.They are almost all now in their late 70s and 80s, ill-treated by the local Kensington and Chelsea local authority, the wealthiest in Britain, who want to deprive them of even the opportunity to meet in their lunch club to swap anecdotes and a few laughs until the good Lord calls them home.

These are people who left the sun-drench Caribbean to get out of their beds in a snow-covered city to look after the thankless patients, sweep tube platforms while remaining invisible to passengers, make breakfast in working menโ€™s canteens for a pittance, all the while sending money back home to their loved ones to feed and clothe them and to repay the cost of their travel to Europe. These are the pioneers that two of our prime ministers โ€“ one BLP and one DLP โ€“ are on record as saying did not make any contribution to the nation.Now, with great reluctance, it is recognised that their remittances were the backbone of the foreign reserves in the 1960s that we now talk so much about. It will be a pleasure to talk to them, to share memories of being a young man in West London, birth place of the world-famous Notting Hill Carnival, that demonstration of street theatre that the British, especially the media and police, still find so hard to accept.The invitation to talk to them from the clubโ€™s chairman, Barbados-born Rudi Brathwaite (Kizerman), one of our brilliant authors, was so much appreciated that unusual for me, it has occupied my thoughts ever since then.

Black Elderly:

The black British elderly are in many ways at the forefront of the battle to regain some of our pride and place; along with young black men, they feel the force of an unforgiving society, one that has no appreciation of what they have suffered with silent dignity. In Britain we have an awful situation in which the state is using the excuse of the economic crisis to withdraw benefits from the poor and underprivileged and the major victims of this social holocaust are black people โ€“ young and old. Who speaks for us? Where is the generation to take over from these pioneering warriors who braved the weather and violent social climate, from Moseleyโ€™s black shirts in the 1950s to the Notting Hill Dale police throughout the 60s, just to put food on their childrenโ€™s tables?

Elderly Poverty:

ย Most of all, these people are the real face of a growing global problem, pensioner poverty. People are now living longer, but not necessarily healthier or relatively prosperous lives. It is something that those of us who are pension nerds fully realise, but the basic arithmetic tells the story: people are living longer, but not necessarily healthier, lives. And, in a working culture in which they enter the workplace at the age of 21 (or 16 if they leave school without further education), and retiring at their mid to late 6os, after 45 to 50 years of working, their main long-term retirement income is from the state pension.

If they are lucky, they may top this up with an occupational pension. But all this is coming to an end since state pensions, in both developed and developing nations, are over-burdened. Since Bismarck, state pension schemes were designed with the assumption that beneficiaries will die either before they accessed their state pensions, or within two years or so of getting them. But, in contemporary society, the average person is retiring at 65 or so and living a further 20 years on state benefits. Further, in a pay-as-you-go system, in which the current generation of workers pay national insurance which goes towards the benefits of pensioners, the number of working people to pensioners is becoming unsustainable. The battle to design new long-term savings is one that has not yet been fully realised in Barbados by the policymakers and politicians. As the vast majority of Barbadians struggle on the breadline and the rich and powerful continue to enjoy life as if there is no tomorrow, it is rather interesting to take a further look at the gathering storms that threaten our social peace. As these dark clouds continue to build up, the DLP government, led by a helpless Freundel Stuart, continues to run around like a headless chicken while the leaderless people cry for help.

Youth Poverty:

But pensioner poverty is not the only social cancer tearing our society apart. Many of us are familiar with youth poverty, caused by poor education, prolonged periods of unemployment, ill health, single parent-hood and misfortune. There is also a abundance of economic and sociological evidence that a school leaver who falls in to long periods of unemployment without access to further education or skills training will most probably, throughout the rest of his/her life, live on the breadline. That is why it is so important to get young school leavers, who may not be at all academic, back in post-school skills training or in remedial education. The economic benefit to society and to the individual is simply incalculable. But one of the major causes of youth poverty in black communities throughout the western world is having single-parent families. To some young people, hormones running through their bodies, it may seem to be a freedom, even a democratic right to have children in their teens or 20s, especially women, often with the father not around. But having two pay cheques coming in to a home provides a security, ignoring for the time being the quality of the relationship, which gives confidence to the children. It is unlikely that both parents will lose their jobs at the same time and, as mature people, they can plan their home building and child rearing with the knowledge that at least one salary will be coming in to the home to provide food on the table.And, whatever the liberal view may say, marriage is the bond that keeps those two parents together in a way that unmarried relationships do not. At present, about 70 per cent of children born in Barbados are born to single parents; not to put too fine a point on it, this is scandalous, especially when we know often the fathers are likely to have children from other mothers, and the mothers to have children for other fathers. This is the social cocktail that makes poverty in later life almost guaranteed

Protection Insurance:

But there is one way many of us can hedge against such negative eventualities, protection insurance. Let us take life and home insurance companies, since that is the biggest corporate fraud in Barbados at present, and the conniving doctors who encourage them to rob their innocent policyholders. With the retreat of the state from providing a social safety net for those who have fallen on hard times, it is more important now than ever that individuals and families take out adequate protection insurance to cover themselves and family in the likelihood of unexpected misfortune. This can range from income protection, when a claimant who has lost his/her job can claim a percentage of their normal take-home pay for a period, usually up to six months. The idea is that if there is a sudden lost of job the policyholder would not suffer a fall in the standard of living during the time it may take to get a relatively similar job.

Next on the list is critical illness and private medical insurance, one covers for unexpected illnesses such as a stroke or heart attack, and the other for the gradual aches and pains of a weary body. But protection insurance is premised on the assumption of trust between the insurer and the insured, that when legitimate claims are made on the policy the insurer would not use fine print in the contract to avoid paying. Good governance, therefore, is the key, and it should be compulsory for companies to publish their claims records, how many have been honoured and how many denied.

For many of these companies, home, life and protection cover is just a milch cow, they take in money but are very reluctant to pay out. One major local insurance company has an excess of 33 per cent of the first Bds$60000 for the medical bill for policyholders aged over 35. What that means in real terms, is that if a policyholder develops a serious illness, such as cancer or stroke or heart attack and face a long period of medical treatment and recuperation, they must have access to an immediate Bds$21000.

So, if according to the CIA Factbook, the average salary in Barbados is BDS$25500, then ordinary people must have savings of $21000 just to cover medical costs, over and above their daily living. If so, then what is the purpose of insurance cover? But the fraudulence of insurance companies goes far beyond this to include conspiracy with the health authorities.

For example, private doctors treating their private clients (ie the PMI policyholders) in the QE Hospital, charge an average $500 to carry out a major operation, I am told, but pay the hospital authorities Bds$150 for the privilege. I am afraid, I am not too clever, but for the use of taxpayersโ€™ funded hospital facilities, including an operation table and staff for surgery that may take the best part of a day, is $150 economic?

Then, if that patient has to have chemotherapy, for example, that comes at Bds$5000 for each treatment, with the first two free. I am told one senior trade unionist has just paid Bds$500000 for treatment to a close relative aged under 35, which carried a 20 per cent excess. So, he had to find Bds$100000. In this fair? To have a major illness in Barbados is a life sentence.

Annuities:

The other area of blatant insurance dishonesty is in annuity contracts. In simple terms, an annuity is a contract for life. So at a given period an annuitant enters in to a contract with an insurance company, say at age 65, with a pot of $100000, for which s/he accepts an annual income of $5000. If s/he dies the next day, too bad, the rest of the pot goes to the insurance company; however if s/he lives to be 100, then the company is the loser โ€“ they have to bear the burden of the extra $75000.

It is up to the company to invest that money to give them a decent return; the other way of recovering that cost, however, is what is called in the industry โ€˜smoothingโ€™, which means the people who die prematurely pay for the ones who outlive the actuarial assumptions.That, basically, is what insurance is about, not picking the pockets of the poor and helpless as many foreign-owned, Barbados-based companies do. But, as with some annuitants, so-called variable annuities and other third-way annuities are often just new ways of robbery.Analysis and

Conclusion:

One of the age old problems with defining poverty is to separate relative from absolute poverty; it is like separating those who think they are poor, because they do not have dish-washers and the latest model of a popular car, from those who according to the United Nations live on US$1 a day. Using this measure, there is no real poverty in Barbados, or at the very least what there is statistically insignificant.

In modern societies, however, the persistence of poverty is a failure of government, of policy-making; in fact, what is often missing from the discussion about globalisation is that in the new environment there are winners and losers, both between nations and within nations, which is a monumental challenge facing politicians and policymakers. For those of us who are Barbadians, the great unarticulated promise of constitutional independence was the escape from poverty. This was the implicit settlement agreed at Marlborough House, that the black community will have political power while the local white community will retain business and economic power. Since then there has been a movement of overseas-born white people and other ethnic communities in that space, and political power has remained largely in the hands of the black community, but has failed to drive national development forward.

89 responses to “Notes From a Native Son: Pensioner Poverty and the Failure of Social Policy Planning”

1. Thanks for the insight Hal. The blood sweat and tears Black immigrants have invested in building the UK economy yet where are we as Blacks? Who to blame that we have allowed ourselves to become marginalized? There is no greater human strategy that can be visited on us then to witness how we have allowed such a position to reach across generations. It is as if we have to start over. Perhaps this is the shakeout caused by multiculturalism? Whatever it is we will have to wheel and come again.

2. CHARLES S. CADOGAN SR Avatar
    CHARLES S. CADOGAN SR

Wow! this is a very heavy piece of information. Most of the people between 65/80 worked with the understanding that they would be compensated when the day for retirement arrive. So during that time, they did all that they knew they had to do to support not only the family they have right there with them, but also the family members in Barbados, or any other Island in The West Indies. So at the end of the day, they placed all their stock in what they thought were savings through their jobs to provide for retirement.
    I

3. Lota space and breath taken to explain that the WHOLE DAMNED SHEBANG is a shot bag of Shite.
    Black, White and Yellow are being subjected to this,so that the insatiable greed and corruption of Poiliticians and Bankers can be fed.
    AND you still on your ASS just Talking.
    DONT let us talk colours and racial bullshit.
    They love that :DIVIDE and CONQUER!!
    EVERY working person in the WORLD suffering,it aint cos “I Black”,it cos of GREED and Corruption being, the ORDERS of the DAY.
    When are you people going to wise up and realize,to THEM we ALL DONT MATTER.
    Just SHEEPLE, JUST STOCKS, Just BEASTS of BURDEN.
    Just Human Crap to be wiped of the ARSE of EXISTANCE and Disposed off,FLUSHED away, by the likes of SEETHRU and Sidekicks; WORLDWIDE.
    SO WISEUP Brothers ,from time start to TIME FINISH, you JUS SHEEPLE.
    Sit and WHINE away your time till you “Shuffle Off to Buffalo”
    Lets BLOG the WORLD to Pieces.
    WE got FREEDOM OF SPEACH ; cos what you ent realize yet IS
    TUH DEM
    what you SAY doan mean SHITE.

4. @Hal
    the Failure is not because of WRONG Policies or Policy making.
    THEY .THEM, YOUR CONTROLLERS
    made the RIGHT policies but for the WRONG People.

5. @ Hal
    I had, private paid for Eye Surgery, in QEH . ONE hour cost was 4,000$
    Something Awry in your calculations.

6. I think we ALL SURE that Fumble when awake, is sitting up in Illaro Court;
    Thinking
    ” WHAT HE CAN DO FOR BARBADOS”

7. It’s sad…..i can’t even expand on it, everything that should be said has already been said.

8. Sad indeed!

9. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Hal,
    I have many thouhts on your blog.and will comment in depth later, but I want you to understand that what you speak about in regard to what the emigrants went through etc is not unique to those who went to Britain. Those of us who came to Canada and the U.S. also went through the same”problems”, for we were all from the same background. The wages were low, the struggles to “provide” not only for ourselves but the “folks back home” were the same, and the weather, depending on where you were, could be many times worse. We sere subjected to the same; and in some cases worse prejudices and discrimination. Don’t forget that even before the migration to the U.K. our foreparents were going to other places and doing the same things; sending back “something” frp, whatever meagre wages they got.. Remember the “silver men” of the Panama Canal? remember the Cane Cutters who went to Cuba, who still try to maintain vestiges of their Barbadian heritage, and whose children still long to connect with the relatives of their foreparents in Barbados; such as those of the Barbadian community of Baragua, where descendents still dance the Maypole and eat the same foods, and who live on the stories their parents would have told them about the wonderful little island that they originated from?
    Those days were “dread”; probably still are, for some, and as we all grow older the same struggle to ensure a comfortble retirement occupies our thoughts on this side of the pond as much as it does for you on that side. Your blog requires careful analysis because your biases still show through and cloud your contribution somewhat. It is too onesided.
    Wasn’t it Jesus who made the observation; “the poor will always be with us”. Define poverty for us. In real terms, not just nebulous suppositions.
    @ Well Well. Hello and good morning. Hope you are well. I differ with you. All has not yet been said that needs to be said.
    @Dr. Love. You have a serious problem! You lack self confidence, and try to show it in your anger, when there is no need for it.
    Later.

10. @Alvin

You need to reread what the man wrote.

11. Alvin……………….morning, i have to point out one thing, the cold in Canada is by far and large the worst i have ever experienced and would clearly sympathize with the many Caribbean people who had the guts to withstand such by going out everyday to work for someone else and facing a bunch of other challenges, I don’t have to do that in Canada thankfully, and would not want to…………..this does not take away from what other immigrants suffered in Europe and the US. Alvin, my comments partly stems from my having something else to do today and may not have a lot of time to participate.

12. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David;
    Which man? If you are referring to Hal, I said I havaea ato take time to comment on what he wrote and asked for his definition of Poverty. I am indeed rereading it and making notes.

13. @ Alvin

The definitions are there: relative poverty, absolute poverty, income-based poverty, it can be what you want. In absolute poverty terms, very few in Barbados are that poor; but in relative poverty terms, many are.

14. barbadainonoverseasvisit Avatar
    barbadainonoverseasvisit

@Hal

please enlighten us that u can have an annuity for life or for a specified period, in that way u can decide for how long u want ur annuity income.

We as blacks neeed to take a different prespective on life, the poor, the middle class etc. We are very found of ostentatious living, without investing continously for future generations. We are short sighted and can only see the immediate benefits. We are not prepared to make any sacrifice for gratification later. We have not leanrt the art of collective networking or lobbying, we are so much not a homogenous group that all ethnic groups have strategised against us to develop their agenda. We are quick ..to embrace other cultures which is to the detriment of our way of life. Barbadian and caribbean socities have alwasy been matrifocal and we have witnessed the development of a business class, but the strategy of the mnc has not been countered, and for this reason, culturla penetration was successful. Can u imagine that we have blacks not waning to accept their cultural identity, but europeans and indians have no problem eith their idenity.

Llook at the ways of major socialisation force; the women are embracing the alien culture such as the remi hair, the brand names, the false finger nails, not wanting or knowinng how to prepare our local culninary delights are rejecting our culture. When this happens, dont you expect the way to be paved for cultural penetration. On the other hand, a lot of the young men want their nasty underwears to bee seen, their musty smell is evident, and their lust for drug is increasing by the day

There are a number of programmes for those who left schools without the certification, but they prefer to stay on the block smoking and drinking and returning home to have their meals and then back to the blocks, Their put pressure on their friends who strive to have their education to join them. We are not seeing the grass root community person who could guide some of the young persons. If they are present they are normally politcal and look forward receive patronage thus their objectivty is swept under the table.

Blacks need to see themeselves as an ethnic group and redevelop srtaegies for their continued survival. the slaves did it. The politicians need to stop this crap of paving the way for continued exploitation of society. Young persons need to invest early, either in land, homes or get together and do like those barbadians who earned money in panama and bug cooperatively.

We are responsible for our survival. Just like the indians are amassing forttunes and keeping it in their ethnic community, we have to borrow from them and stop selling what little property we have, but instead expand our wealth bas.

15. @Barbadianonoverseasvisit

Bang on!

16. @ Barbadian

A conventional annuity is a lifelong contract, as I have pointed pout. But there are so-called third-way ‘annuities’, sometimes called variable annuities. They are products that are reviewed after about five years. But remember if you are 65 now, in five years’ time you are not going to be healthier and the insurance company would screw you for every penny.
    The other thing is that often companies would not tell you that if you have health problems you can get an enhanced annuity, which will give s higher income. This is because if you have diabetes or heart problems etc the assumption is that you will die earlier.
    By the way, the old people had an incredible collective investment vehicle, called meetings, partners, and so on.
    If only those who pretend to be so educated could take that basic vehicle and improve upon it, rather than ‘invest’ their money in funds in which the father of the chief executive is the chairman and the chief executive’s own company is a major shareholder.
    Boy, talk about s Ponzi scheme.

17. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Hal, I have great difficulty with you. You advocate independence and yet you propose schemes such as your “protection Insurance” and annuities which will put the same money (for investment) in the hands of the same wepole you rail against, and still want people to put their money in “Ponzi Schemes”. I had started to write my comments on your Notes, but just as I got to the end my computer acted up so I have to begin again. But I just had to answer this last contribution.

18. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Barbadianonoverseasvisit.
    The old people used to tell us: “Nobody ent got tomorrow put down”.
    Why do we keep referring to our “blackness?” As you say “we as black people need to take a different …etc.” Our colour is not responsible for our actions. Whatever exists with us exists with every other ethnic entity. We are no different from any of them neither are we of lesser importance than them. We have rich and poor, successful and unsuccessful. We have those that are good at business and we have some who are not. We as individuals have to follow the path that our brain tells us to follow and not try to emulate others through envy. There was just a tragedy in Bangladesh where over a thousand garment workers; working for less than three dollars a day died because of the atrocious conditions under which they worked to produce garments for the large North american and Europeans conglomerates, to sell to us at cheap prices to make them richer. Is this what you are advocating? In Barbados our government and strong unions prevented this type of tragedy because when the company that won the contract to build the new cricket facilities for World Cup wanted to bring in Indian workers and pay them the same kind of wages and subject them to the same kind of conditions there was a huge outcry and they had to cancel their plans. Based on the tragedy we might have been subjected to the same substandard work that is now evident. We are too self-critical and don’t see what we have. If we look carefully we will see that the grass on the other side is no greener than the grass on our side.

19. Alvin………..we got to embrace the melanin, not many races are blessed with melanin, there are those who would kill to have some, when people stop thinking of their blackness in a derogatory manner, they will come to love the gift that was given to them, we are people of the sun and blessed with melanin..

20. Lavone sobers Avatar

Hal is talking bare shit. Many people left these fair shores with and NEVER looked back or contributed a single dime to the rearing of the many children here. Those children ceased to exist. Now you all coming back here talking a whole load ot thrash about contributions. This land was built as it is today by the sugar plantation workers who slaved to send us to school for the free education. It was a hard work revolution by us. You all were in metropolitan countries playing better off. So get lost and look for your benefits from those for whom you worked. And please stop comong back as “returning national” burdening this country with old age ills. We do not have the cash to look after you. Stay where you are.
    Silverfox Bajan

21. Lavone sobers Avatar

I just fed up with these bad grammar want to be English people with the mildewed verbs trying to impose themselves on the real Bajans. It is sickening to hear the false british accents. How can afull adult loose his true bajan accent. They are putting on. False. You are a bunch of sore thumbs Hal. Get with it. Fall in line or be off. Leave Barbados alone. Why are there so many attacks and all ‘ wunnah running back here’.I really wish to tell you to go where the monkey stuffed the nuts. You are not better than us. You all are a bunch of cowards running from developing your country. Look get lost!
    Silverfox Bajan

22. @Lavone Sobers

It is obvious you come with an agenda.

23. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@David, In defense of Lavonne Sobers,Admit it we all come with an agenda, and to some extent she is right. I have been to the U.K a few times and I have been disgusted at the behaviour of some of “us” up there. Still doing the same things they did back home-gambling, swearing and cussing in the clubs and getting on the same way without any seeming ambition to change for the better. Some indeed have done that but for some it is the same..
    @Well Well
    We, nor anyone else, can escape the melanin, So why do we have to keep emphasizing it? Eyes and mouths and teeth are ther, they can’t be avoided yet we don’t keep pushing them.The act that we are melanin endowed should be accepted as naturally as talking.Why should we think of it in any deragotary manner?The sooner we get past that obstacle the better, for then we will see how blessed we are as a people and as individuals. I detest such phrases as are used by those who feel that this or that should be done because we are “black”. Enough of that.

24. barbadainonoverseasvisit Avatar
    barbadainonoverseasvisit

@Alvin

I think u missed most of my points. reread.

25. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Barbadianonavisit.
    I re read. My points are still the same. If you say “our people” isn’t that more all embracing than the emphasis on our Blackness? If you say young people need to make preparations for the future etc. I agree with you because I wonder what will happen when they reach the age when they can no longer work and have no one to depend on. It is impossible to avoid cultural penetration, as long as there is television, tourists and advertising. Methods have to be devised to counter. Then we have to determine what kind of influences we wish ti inculcate; influences that are coming from our own brothers. Watch the Africa and see the effects of cultural penetration in the heart of Africa.

26. Alvin……….was there an earthquake in your area this morning?, I understand there was one, but did not feel anything.

27. barbadainonoverseasvisit Avatar
    barbadainonoverseasvisit

@Alvin

I am sure that u have reread the blog and now got the drift. We should be proud of our blackness, and those of us who understand development issues must put strategies in place to counter-scoialise. I have spoken to a few young people advising them to invest some of the money they are spending on cell phones in some sort of savings until they have accumulated enough to invest in land or some pension plan, among others

The problem with our society is we ask what is in it for us without recognizing that we are helping prepare the way for future generations. How do u thinks that the whites have moved from plantation control, to mncs, to imf, among others, they develop strategies to stay that way. look at the internet, having they dominated it culturally, even though I read somewhere that the genesis for the internet came from the brains of a blackman..

28. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Well Well
    Yes I felt it while I was sitting at the computer I felt the entire building sway for a very short while.

29. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Barbadian.
    We have to encourage our young people to read their history; not the history of slavery, but the history of African achievements. Of Caribbean achievements, and of barbadian achievements. The must learn about our achievers (Barbadian) in all spheres and realize that they can become anything they want to be. In our midst we have a Physicist who was a professor at MIT who is an expert in Optics (LED and LCD). When you trun on your cell phone and see a blue light as the background, he has the patent for that and many other optical inventions. I have forgotten his name now. I think he is professor Wade. So we as Barbadians have lots to be proud of, and all these people came from poor backgrounds. That is the way to counter the influence of negative television oriented North American culture. It is a difficult task but if everyone pulled his weight in this regard it can be done. Glad you are trying. Emphasize the use of the Co-operatives, as a way of saving.As long as they keep breathing they will grow old.

30. Sugar plantation workers slaved so their kids could have a free education, that doesnt sound free to me somehow.
    The house I was working on was shaking, I thought it was a large compactor on the construction site.How is it the white people that cause these earthquakes cant just shake the black people around

31. Retirement in Third World is all we can afford and better than First World

32. Alvin cummins May 17 2013@8.09pm
    @barbadian.
    We have to encourage our young people to read their history; not the history of slavery, but the history of African achievements.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    why not encourage the youth to know the history of slavery , isn’t it all relevant to defining the people who we are. isn’t it not like planting a tree without root with the hope it would become fruitful and productive. I always find it amazing that of all the races the blacks are the only ones who continue to disconnect from the realities and the truthfulness of slavery . meanwhile for example the jews have used their history as leverage to gain political power as well as economical power

33. Teach the youth about slavery while making sure that the genius of our ancestors who built Africa into the greatest civilization that was copied from the 14th century coming forward, make that history the most important part of their education so they will understand their own capabilities and potential. The jews were sold out by their own rich nazi jews, they focused on their strengths and intelligence to build their own base, regardless what i think about them.

Our children must understand their strengths and abilities and how best to use them for advancement in an ever changing world, slavery must not be the deciding factor in how they perceive themselves or their race.

34. Missed out some information, should read:

Teach the youth about slavery while making sure that the genius of our ancestors who built Africa into the greatest civilization that was copied from the 14th century coming forward is paramount in that re-education, there are enough prolific writers in the Caribbean to produce books for that task to be distributed throughout the school system.

35. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@ac.
    This focus on “slavery” by some individuals is what hampers their progress. the past cannot be undone. Teach them that there was a thing called slavery (which we know nothing about except what we have read about) but more importantly teach them that the way to progress is to ensure that we do not allow the things of the past to prevent our progress. Teach them the ways to save, to be independent in thought and action and learn from the positive aspects of their ancestry, and not the negatives of things like slavery. The other ethnic groups who “invested” in slavery did not do it because they were anti-black, but because it was an easily available commodity; although expensive to maintain, and it was abolished, not because of the desire to “free Black people, out of humanity, but because keeping slaves became a money losing, or uneconomic undertaking. (Read Eric William’s Capitalism and Slavery) It does no good to keep dwelling on the fact that slavery was odious. Slavery still continues. Didn’t they just arrest two or three people in Barbados for “human trafficking”? That is a modern form of slavery, and who were the “slavers”? They were some of “us”. Why did some of “us” patronise this practise? Stop watching the Jews. Concentrate on ourselves and the ways to progress. We already have political power. Consolidate, support each other and we will attain the same economic power. We are small; that is a reality for 270,000 people will never become a world power. We can however achieve all that is needed to make our lives enjoyable-not necessarily satisfying because some of us will never be satisfied-and comfortable. Above all teach the children to be proud of who they are right now.Teach them to concentrate on the positives of life not the negatives because we can never advance by looking backward. Heed the words written by Well Well. She is wise and forward thinking. Above all teach the children to be proud, not envious, of each other’s achievements. Teach them to love themselves and to love one another. Teach them to help each other not bully the weak. These are the lessons to be taught not the hatred that is encouraged by those who keep dwelling on the pain and suffering of some of the slaves because all slaves were not hideously treated

36. @Alvin Cummins
    Spare me your PSUEDO PSYCHOLOGY.
    From the tone of your submissions,you are a “would be” intellectual .
    But like your Psuedo Psychology,you do not quite”Make the grade”
    From your “Ivory Tower” how does Barbados look to you,must be an ideal position “insulated” as you are from Barbados and even REALITY,to concoct your totally patronising braindamage. .
    But please persist, endomorphs are said to be benificial to the human body.
    I would miss mine if I didnt get my real belly laughs at the purile trash you emit in writing(And you an AUTHOR).
    I think your place of abode is at the end of a very long “Yellow Brick road”
    and you are the Wizard.
    Please conjure us up some more Hillarious recipes for the salvation of the Barbados Economy.
    You talk about “not letting things from the past impede our progress”.
    Careful what you wish for.
    YOU are about as prime an example of “something from the past impeding progress” as ever could be found as an example.
    Blatherings of an incompetant(I almost wrote Incontinent,altho that also would apply, I imagine).
    Move back “home” and then be so patronising and complacent.
    Before you do get a testostrone injection, you got to have WORKING balls to live in Barbados.

37. @Alvin Cummins

“These are the lessons to be taught not the hatred that is encouraged by those who keep dwelling on the pain and suffering of some of the slaves because all slaves were not hideously treated”

I suppose you would apply the same logic to Jews in the Holacaust and the GESTAPO.
    Tell me ALVIN do you wear and Tu Tu and pirouette around to the sound of Swan Lake scattering Rose petals, on the “ill informed” less understanding of humanity “than you” plebs.?

Get the damned testostrone jab will you,you are becoming sickeningly cloying with your ,”holier than thou” attitudes ,talking down to everybody and talking shite at the same time.

38. Slightly “off subject” .
    I am just reading that “Homeland Security” in US of A has ordered a stockpile of 400,000,000 hollow head bullets ,these a bullets that “shatter” as they strike the the human body,killing almost in every instance of a hit.
    I think I would feel very “Secure ” if I was a citizen of the US of A.
    Somebody expecting some serious Social Unrest.?

David Cameron PM of UK, has recently had passed into law an act that the police can “shoot and kill” if they “FEEL” life is being endangered(Who’s life).

Is there something we are NOT being told.
    Is the World Crisis really “at an end”
    Is Fumble still “SURE” that we can just sleep this one out.?

39. @ Dr Love
    …so are you saying that it was not absolutely clear from Alvin’s very first post that he was an idiot?
    …are you suggesting that you actually expected coherent inputs from someone with the initials ‘ac’?
    …come on Dr.!!!!

Bushie can’t wait to read one of his books…. LOL Ha Ha ๐Ÿ™‚

40. @Bush Tea.
    Yep as usual; 100% correct.
    Do you feel he and Fumble are family??

Iluminati:
    Has this ever crossed your thought path?
    I researched it.Frightens me to death. Like a Journal of the worlds path to today.

The 25 guiding rules of the ILLUMINATi

1. All men are more easily inclined towards evil than good.
    2. Preach Liberalism
    3. Use the idea of freedom to bring about class wars
    4. Any and all means should be used to reach the Illuminati Goals as they are justified.
    5. The right to lie in force.
    6. The power of our resources must remain invisible until the very moment it has gained the strength that no cunning or force can undermine it.
    7. Avocation of mob psychology to control the masses.
    8. Use alcohol, drugs, corruption and all forms of vice to systematically corrupt the youth of the nation.
    9. Seize property by any means
    10. Use of slogans such as equity, liberty, fraternity delivered into the mouths of the masses in psychological warfare
    11. War should be directed so that the nations on both sides are placed further in debt and peace conferences conducted so that neither combatant obtains territory rights.
    12. Members must use their wealth to have candidates chosen and placed in public office who will be obedient to their demands and will be used as pawns in the game by those behind the scenes. Their advisors will have been reared and trained from childhood to rule the affairs of the world.
    13. Control the press.
    14. Agents will come forward after fermenting traumatic situations and appear to be the saviors of the masses.
    15. Create industrial depression and financial panic, unemployment, hunger, shortage of food and use this to control the masses or mob and then use the mob to wipe out all those who stand in the way.
    16. Infiltrate into the secret Freemasons to use them for Illuminati purposes.
    17. Expound the value of systematic deception, use high sounding slogans and phrases and advocate lavish promises to the masses even though they cannot be kept.
    18. Detail plans for resolutions, discuss the art of street fighting which is necessary to bring the population into speedy subjection.
    19. Use agents as advisors behind the scenes after wars and use secret diplomacy to gain control.
    20. Establish huge monopolies that lean toward world government control.
    21. Use high taxes and unfair competition to bring about economic ruin by control of raw materials. Organize agitation among the workers and subsidize their competitors.
    22. Build up armaments with Police forces and Soldiers sufficient to protect our needs. (Note:My post about homeland security in USof A)
    23. Members and leaders of the one world government would be appointed by the directors.
    24. Infiltrate into all classes and levels of society and government for the purpose of fooling, bemusing and corrupting the youthful members of society by teaching them theories and principles that we know to be false.
    25. National and International laws should be used to destroy civilization and enslave and control the people.

41. I have been puzzling my head about the reasons for the events that have led to todays IMMINENT total financial collapse.
    The reason FOR it and the reason BEHIND it.

I want to understand more ,all I can about this group.
    Is this a Hoax?/
    If not we in real trouble.
    Anybody has more input?

42. Alvin is not alone in his /her views as many blacks especially those of west indian descent who for years through no fault of their own were brainwashed under colonial rule for for centuries and has lost the connection of their ancestral root brought about by the lack of education teaching them about themselves and their originality in and effort for colonism to take a stronghold and to flourish.

43. DR the financial world is in transition . A new world Order is being put I place . In order to begin anew the OLD House had to be demolished and a new House is Being rebuilt.

44. Dr. Love said:

Is there something we are NOT being told.
    Is the World Crisis really โ€œat an endโ€
    Is Fumble still โ€œSUREโ€ that we can just sleep this one out.?
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Dr. Love…………….there is plenty you are not being told, these things have to reveal themselves, for those who believe that the new world order is being built, think again, construction is long over, you are now a part of the new system, you are behind by years. Far be it for me to say anymore, since it is now unfolding and at different times people will understand. By the way, forget the local politicians, they don’t know ***t.

45. For all the Caribbean people who still believe the myth and lies that jews in Israel (i call it is (not) rael, are God’s chosen people……………here is a real eye opener.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    Israel Ethiopian Jews photo

Israelโ€™s leaders have recently made hateful speeches against Africans

AFRICANGLOBE โ€“ The director of the Ministry of Health in Israel, Roni Gamzo, has issued a formal directive instructing that gynaecologists should stop injecting Ethiopian women with the contraceptiveDepo-Provera without their knowledge or consent.

The directive, issued last week, comes after around 30 Ethiopian Jews who had emigrated to Israel said they had been told that they would not be allowed into the country without receiving the contraceptive drug.

Within Israel, Ethiopian Jews make up the majority of those given the drug, according to a report published in 2010 by Isha leโ€™Isha, a womenโ€™s rights organization; 57 percent of women who had received the drug in Israel are Ethiopian Jews, although they account for less than 2 percent of the overall population.

โ€œWe believe it is a method of reducing the number of births in a community that is Black,โ€ Hedva Eyal, the author of the report, told Israeli media. โ€œIt is indeed the first time that the state actually acknowledged that this procedure of injecting immigrant women with this drug, when they do not know the side effects and are given no other choice, is wrong.โ€

The directive was issued less than two weeks after a group of organizations representing the Jewish Ethiopian community, along with the Association for Civil Rights in Israel (ACRI), sent a letter to Gamzo asking that this practice be stopped immediately and that an investigation be started into it both in Israel and in the transit camps in Ethiopia.

Israelโ€™s Ministry of Health deputy spokesperson Smadar Shazo told reporters that while the directive was issued after the letter from the organizations, the ministry had begun investigating the matter a few months ago in an attempt to determine who was behind this policy in both Israel and the transit camps in Ethiopia.

โ€œWe started the research [for the 2010 report] after an article in one of the dailies reported a steep decline in the number of babies born in the Ethiopian community, which is a young, supposedly fertile community,โ€ said Eyal.

Over 120,000 Jews of Ethiopian descent live in Israel today; 83,000 of them were born in Ethiopia.

Between 1985 and 1991, more than 30,000 were airlifted in three rescue operations after years of civil war and famine had driven hundreds of thousands of Ethiopians into the capital, Addis Ababa, and refugee camps in Sudan.

But their integration into Israeli society has not been easy; about 52 percent of Ethiopian-Israeli families live below the poverty line, compared to 16 percent among the general Jewish Israeli population, they are also forced to convert to Ashkenazi Jewish practices and encouraged to discontinue the Ethiopian Judaic traditions of their religion.

Depo-Provera was first used on Black populations in White apartheid South Africa, the drugs destroys a womanโ€™s longterm ability to have children.

46. Who is this Charles S Cadogan now ???
    Another operative ?
    I am not reading Charles S Cadogan nor No Notes from No Native Son
    Native Son need to get out in the hustings and hustle, get a Soap Box and take up his cudgel and wield it, then I would believe you are serious, DO IT !!!!!!!