Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Short of a miracle and/or a radical change in the way we do business, it appears we have headed into one of the most challenging tourism summers’ in recent history, hot on the heels of a poor winter. With still no game changing strategies, other than one or two tinkering offerings on the horizon, is there more ‘we’ can do to avoid further widespread lay-offs and closures?

The answer has to be YES! And I think we can start by looking at further opportunities on our doorstep.

For ages, I have admired the work of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons. My wife and I have been members for a number of years and I cannot even begin to think of the savings it has brought us during that period, far outweighing any annual subscription fees. For a number of reasons, I only purchased my first public company shares just over half a decade ago, on the recommendation of our accountants. If we are lucky, our small capital investment will return to the level that we initially put into fund, by the end of 2013.

Ironically, in their latest quarterly report, the fund managers reminded us that during the last five years, cumulative inflation on Barbados reached 38 per cent and that any investment placed with them ‘should outperform money left in a savings account over the long term’. That same ‘investment’ would have attracted more than a 20 per cent plus return if we had left it in a credit union or similar financial institution, over the same duration. Okay, it still would not have kept abreast of inflation, but at least there would have been a smaller deficit.

Back to BARP. We do not eat out a lot, but have a few favourite restaurants, one of which used to simply take 10 per cent off the entire bill on presentation of the BARP card. Sadly, it has stopped offering an overall discount and cannot wonder if this is not being a little short sighted. As the impressive membership numbers confirm, BARP reaches a huge and largely better off section of the population. If anything, during these troubling times, more restaurants should be targeting this market. Probably this age group is more concerned with the ravages of inflation, as they are perhaps existing on a fixed income or pension.

Our banks also have to make a greater contribution. If like others, my monthly credit card statement is not settled in full, we are faced with an almost obscene 21 or 22 per cent rate of interest. Yet at the same time, net interest earned on savings, rarely exceed one tenth of those figures.

For the companies who issue credit cards and offer added benefits like miles or points, why not double them for specific periods with our local tourism offerings, including programmes like the BHTA StayCation packages?

Ultimately, its a win-win situation for everybody. Increased merchandising charges and market share, added business at a time when most enterprises need it, protection of employment, higher levels of VAT and other tax/NIS collection.

The list goes on.

Smart partnerships have to be the way to go. If you still harbour doubts, just try it for a specified period. Then analyse the overall benefits against the minimum cost of participation. The results might surprise you.

1. Perhaps we can discuss the decision by Virgin to replace the daily B747 service with the smaller A330 in October, they have brought this forward to 2 May, and are now operating the A330 (registration G-VINE) on every day, but Thursday which currently remains a B747. This means loss of up to 185 seats EACH day on the Gatwick/Barbados route or nearly 40,000 seats out of the UK by December 2013 end.

Yesterdays flight (Friday) flew half empty according to one of the passengers (TripAdvisor).

This despite the BTA spending $11 million (or 11 per cent of the entire BTA annual budget for the current fiscal year) on the Barbados Island Inclusive programme.

A loss of a possible 40,000 seats represents more than 25 per cent (one in four) of the entire UK long stay visitor arrivals each year.

The BTA needs to capitalize on the Emmerson Wigam success and fast!

2. it is not even a month that the the tourism stimulus has been put in place and here comes the nay sayers, . ….and pessimistic review….

3. @ac

There is something you need to understand. On BU we critique any thing. It does not mean criticism it means keeping the spotlight on policymakers and decision makers. Nothing the BTA and government has done to date has been able to buck the negative trend. Because tourism is our lifeblood it merits very close scrutiny by Barbadians who are affected. We will continue to discuss and broach ideas/suggestions as we see fit.

How is discussing the fact Virgin, an important carrier out of a key source market is cutting back on seats, being negative?

4. Adrian et al have been preaching for years about the need to take back the Gap from criminality based on the comments on TripAdvisor and other channels. Now we are hearing Adrian Donavon, the spokesman of the residents in the Dover and environs, admitting that tourists are being advised not to frequent the Gap. Only 5 years ago this was regarded as part of the gold coast. We always wait until the thing collapses. Now there is rampant stealing, drug pushing and harassment of tourist. Barbadians who live here need to get up off their asses and demand accountability from our decision makers.

5. As far as incentives goes barbadians also need to come into the real world of reality ,I recently read an article which focused on gay tourism and the the huge amounts of money which is spent yearly in tourism in countries like Europe . this should concern many in BTA and govt who continues to bury their heads in the sand and pretend that a community of people are not an assest because of their lifestyle . A group that can contributed 65billion dollars yearly to Tourism is nothing to sneeze at.

http://www.traveldailynews.com/news/article/51787/gay-tourism-matters

6. David is this forum one on which all must agree or can there be descent. my reply was based on the fact that you tie the virgin empty seats to the 11million incentive as one of concern,,, any how that is my perspective ….

7. The negative comments appeared on the back page of the Nation last week and we are all surprised. Guess what? Quickly responding to feedback on the Internet by employing a Digital Editor is no big deal. We wait, always, until the crap hits the fan. Note being proactive on these kinds of matters has nothing to do with the depressed economy.

8. @ac

People are very concerned about the Barbados Inclusive Program and the ROI it appears to be generating. We will continue to ask questions of this MoT and government who believe to be silent is to show leadership. Some of us can be constructively critical. We are not living in lalaland but in Barbados.

9. One has to keep repeating over and over and over that these types of forums are to let leaders know that people are not sitting idly by and being complacent, the blogs are necessary in the absence of government transparency and integrity legislation…………..blogs are not forums for having outs and malicious attacks……..what has been allowed to escalate over the years by both parties to the detriment of the taxpayers must end. If everyone sits and pretend they are nothing more or less than yardfowls with the limited intellects of yardfowls, pretty soon an island like Barbados that has been allowed to be systematically drained of finances over the last 40 years, acts of which both DLP and BLP failed to arrest because of their lack of care, will cease to exist……………

10. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

ac,

just ask a simple question. WHY would Virgin Atlantic and their tour operating arm (which is the largest to operate into Barbados), who have also known about the Barbados Island Inclusive programme for a month, bring forward their planned dramatic reduction in seating capacity to Barbados from October to May, if they felt the initiative was going to make a significant difference?
    A reduction of nearly 40,000 seats from May until December represents 23 per cent or nearly a quarter of our ENTIIRE UK long stay visitor arrivals for 2012 (173,519 persons).

11. Journalists in Barbados need to be more critical in their thinking and in their writings.

At this most important juncture in world history, they need to be these ways for so many reasons (and we are not going to even give an exhaustive list of reasons).

Given that quite a number of Barbadians still sense their output whether on paper, on the airwaves, on the internet, it must mean that they are still able to be in positions to influence many Barbadians to go in particular directions with their particular efforts.

Given that the tenets of journalism in Barbados are supposedly about the search for the truth they must use the logical positivistic approach more often in not just helping themselves to get to the truth, but also in helping to get many other people in Barbados there.

The PDC has written such against the backdrop of the Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados’s address to a recent gathering of the Barbados Association of Financial Advisors at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre.

There Governor was reported ( pg 3, Barbados Business Authority, Monday, May 6, 2013) to have said that, “the financial system does not serve the needs of retirees well because pensions are not adjusted in line with INFLATION in the typical domestic scheme. In less than a decade after retirement the average pensioner is unable to maintain his or her standard of living purely because of the ravages of INFLATION, unless they have supplementary income.”

Well, while we thank the journalists of the Nation Publishing Company for putting in the public domain that reported statement and other ones coming out of the address of the Governor, we wished that the particular reporting and publishing journalists were more critically objective in finding out that this thing called INFLATION does not exist at all other than in the minds of those who believe in the foolishness, that they were more critically courageous in telling the Governor that this thing called INFLATION does not exist at all, that they were more critical in putting across to the Governor that the methods used to so-called fight this thing that DOES NOT PROVIDE ANY EVIDENCE OF A DISTINCTIVE FORM OF HUMAN BEHAVIOUR TAKING PLACE have been doing the masses and middle classes in Barbados great, and in many instances irreparable, damage and harm, and that they were very critical in reporting and publishing what they ought to have been telling the Governor, so that many persons in Barbados would have been influenced by this fundamental truism.

But were many journalists so critical in their thinking they would have not only known that INFLATION does not exist outside of the minds of men, women and children, but also that it is used as a bogeyman by persons like the same Governor to remove as much money out of the money circulation system as possible so as to make as many persons in Barbados as possible poorer and more dependent on the use of money – which has long been declining in Barbados – to get such things in order to survive, through the use by the government of EVIL WICKED TAXATION policies and INTEREST RATE policies, government sector credit transfer policies targeting the core financial system, the government’s setting of prudential/cash reserve requirements/”liabilities” ratios, etc.

The fact that there will be much less money in circulation in this country at this stage is dreadfully primarily so because these visionless and intellectually bankrupt DLP/BLP governments have over the years been putting in place policies that would eventually see the coming about of such circumstances where more and more pensioners in this country in the long run like in Greece, Cyprus, Portugal, Spain, etc would get be getting less and less money than expected ( it has already started with the enforcement of just one pension each for those particular government workers in statutory boards).

So the Governor being reported as saying that the financial system has not been serving the needs of retirees very well because pensions are not adjusted in line with INFLATION is pure rubbish.

12. hmm, crime up tourism down,smaller planes from canada and england ,how long till they no longer run every day, soon i imagine, killing the goose,
    no longer advertising best we close the bta shutter the island, closed for business

13. Below are extracts from promotional material sent out by the BTA in Toronto:

“The Barbados Tourism Authority is running an incentive for BFF members.”

“Sign up for the Barbados Family and Friends Club and earn exciting rewards for your efforts.”

“The BFF producer with the most points accrued from May to July 2013 will win a trip for two to Barbados with accommodation at Rostrevor Hotel in July including return economy airline tickets.”

Question: Is the trip with accommodation for July 2013? If so, when the winner is announced (points are accrued from May to July) does this allow time for making travel arrangements etc. to coincide with accommodation availability?

14. You’d think, too, that the operators of the BurgerKing and Subway franchises would have also entered into smart partnerships with local food processors BEFORE setting up shop. Either they knew or they didn’t know about the high rates of duty existing on these imported products. If they knew, then they obviously were flying kites where they thought that once they set up they would squeeze tariff reductions out of the government. If they didn’t know, then they they are stupid!

15. @adrien ………..it could be a mirage of reason usually cost and a slugish market in the industry more likely than not Virigin might have made the decision based on those readings…..However one cannot make a general conclusion on Virgin decision alone when other airlines got on board

16. Adrian

Thought you might be interested to see the 2012 Annual Report of the Canadian Tourism Commission, which appears to be the Canadian equivalent to BTA.

See link below

http://en-corporate.canada.travel/sites/default/files/pdf/Corporate_reports/ctc_2012_annual_report_low_res_e_-_may_2_2012.pdf

While tourism does not have the same importance to the Canadian economy as it does to the Barbados economy, the report does suggest it is taken seriously by the Canadian government.

As just a casual observer an annual visitor I cannot presume to knowledgeably analyze or compare it to its equivalent 2012 report of BTA (if such a report exists).

Hope you find it of interest.

17. @peltdownman

We are disappointed more emphasis is not being placed on what is the quality deficit which George from Subway keeps talking about. It is processed meat for crissakes!

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Luvs Bim,

Thank you – very thoughtful and I shall read in depth tonight. I have long admired the quality of Canadian Tourism marketing and advertising. Back in the 80’s, I think Canada produced one of the very best TV ‘ads’ of all time and the Newfoundland and Labrador ‘ads’ aired over the last six years, are truly world class and perhaps more to the point, they work.
    Thanks again.
    In the annual BTA accounts, a sort of progress report was included, but
    I know they went many years without even producing publicly released audited accounts. In my view this should be mandatory.

19. According to the backpage story of the Daily Nation, Monday, May 13, 2013, it seems like another burger based outlet in Barbados is coming under tremendous financial pressure in relationship to this stupid TAXATION system in Barbados.

This time around this Mike King story highlights the horrible experiences of Burger King in its dealing with a horrific amount of duty (184 per cent) that has been imposed on their income by this increasingly senseless and stupid DLP government.

A couple days ago the Nation newspaper featured the harrowing troubles of Subway also in relationship to this amount of duty that is exigible on their income.

Well, it is high time that the principals of these businesses understand that they are some very indolent unproductive parasitic grudgeful minded people in the government who, in being hell bent on exploiting the wayward beliefs of many people in this country about there having to be some TAXATION system, are intentionally and unconscionably using this evil wicked TAXATION system to destroy many aspects of the businesses of many very innovative productive peoples in this country.

It is high time too that these principals recognize that they must not become victims of the evil intentions and outcomes of others but must use much of the monies they would otherwise put in these businesses to in turn help fight the government democratically politically conscientously on these very fundamental matters.

20. I know times are tough but can you all chip in and replace the ratty old barbados flag and cut the grass at the abassadors residence in ottawa.

21. Lawson……………at least you have a flag in Ottawa, try finding the consulate on Adelaide downtown Toronto, you could be walking around for some time.

22. Adrian

This year’s Newfoundland and Labrador newspaper and TV ads are spectacular.

See them at http://www.newfoundlandlabrador.com

23. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Luvs Bim,

YES! and made by a small local advertising agency in St. Johns.
    No Madison Avenue prices here.

24. Well Well wrote,”try finding the consulate on Adelaide downtown Toronto, you could be walking around for some time.”

Clearly you have a problem reading maps and numbers.Buy yourself a gps.

25. Maybe instead of living in rockliffe park the most expensive residential realestate in ottawa, they should move to more modest digs which would allow money for maintenance and repairs, more reflective of the situation the island is in..

26. Hants…………………i was across the street from it, i was looking for the flag, consulates of foreign countries always have their flags up, i even asked them what happened to the Barbados flag, why it was not flying, they said they did not know.

27. I remember years ago in NY, the Barbados government was trying to buy a residence in Forest Hills, Queens for millions, i mean there was some money around then, i don’t know if they did, but there were equally nice areas less expensive that they could have looked into purchasing. That was just before the recession started in the US………….makes you wonder who makes those decisions.

28. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

@Well,Well
    Whatever became of our property at Pelham NY where the dog biting diplomat got into hot water and was brought down by Errol.The mind boggles.

29. Gabriel…………..isn’t that higher up in the Bronx, Pelham Parkway, very expensive area……………makes you wonder what happens to these expensive properties once the diplomat moves out………….i always wondered why the were seeking to buy a property in the millions when there was an existing one.

30. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Adrian
    I commented a week or two on this whole tourism issue. I offered a number of ways to improve the tourism advertising and the product. Unfortunately , even though it was directed at you, you didn not think it worth a comment. And you are talking about the govt. The Bta, and other hoteliers. In my opinion at this stage, everything has to be tried. Any comments yet?
    I asked, what are You hoteliers doing on your own; you don’t have to be members of the BTA to act for and in your own interests.

31. please send up some black belly sheep lawnmowers some rope and a few stakes for the front grass at the ambassadors residence if they cant afford to cut it they should at least make it feel like home ,

32. Lawson…………….you killing me……….

33. @Lawson

Take a pic!

34. old onion bags Avatar

Which Black belly sheep you tink GO GET SEND ?…..D BIG BELLY OR D SLIM BELLY WUN?

35. Lawson wrote
    “please send up some black belly sheep lawnmowers some rope and a few stakes for the front grass at the ambassadors residence if they cant afford to cut it they should at least make it feel like home ,”

You mean to say dem bring dem bad habits wid dem??? Why yuh does always got tah know where black people does live? Stupse……. The gardener probably belong to the drainage unit and ent get paid as yet so he dun wuk.

36. Onions

Perhaps the better solution is to send two from the Oasis Program weedwackers and all.

37. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

.moneynews.com/StreetTalk/rupert-murdoch-irs-out-of-control/2013/05/13/id/504171?s=al&promo_code=13799-1

38. old onion bags Avatar

You really reachin far, dont you think?

39. so it seems like virgin airlines have not given up on barbados as they sales rep. were out and about on the island doing some on the ground promotion. for the airlines. ……

40. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

41. @Onions

Deadly serious, what we have allowed to go to far is political yardfowlism..

42. However we want to spin it Virgin has taken a decision to cut seats to Barbados.

Virgin Atlantic to Introduce Airbus A330 to Barbados
    Nov 09, 2012, 8:51 AM

Virgin Atlantic’s Network Scheduling Department is planning to cut capacity to Barbados from Winter 2013/14, while at the same time introducing new aircraft on the route.

Effective October 27th, 2013, the airline plans to replace 4 of the 7 weekly 747 services with their new Airbus A330-300 aircraft.

Current details suggest that the current 10:30am departure from LGW in the Winter will also be adjusted. Some days VS029 will depart at 10:30am, some days 10:55am and some days 1:25pm. Return flights from Barbados will depart some days at 5:45pm, some days at 6:05pm and some days at 7:55pm.

It should also be noted that the double drop service LGW-BGI-ANU returning ANU-BGI-LGW will also be terminated next winter.

St. Lucia, Grenada, Tobago and Antigua will get only A330-300 service from October 27th, 2013 as well. This means, Barbados, Havana and Montego Bay may be the only Caribbean destinations to see Virgin 747 service from LGW next winter.

Currently, Virgin has two configurations of the A330. Either a two class with 255 economy and 59 premium economy for a total of 314 seats OR, 33 Upper Class, 48 premium economy and 185 economy for a total of 266. This is a massive reduction from the current 455 seats on a Boeing 747-400 and Barbados stands to lose between 564 and 756 seats a week if these changes stand.

The biggest changes to the schedule will affect St. Lucia. St. Lucia’s flights will be increased from 3 to 5 flights a week, but only one will terminate in St. Lucia, that is the VS031/VS032. Two days a week, VS089/VS090 will operate London to St. Lucia to Grenada and VS097/VS098 will operate London to St. Lucia to Tobago.

This information is of course subject to change and any changes/updates will be posted here.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g147262-i230-k5890117-o10-Virgin_Atlantic_to_Introduce_Airbus_A330_to_Barbados-Barbados.html

43. old onion bags Avatar

I Really Wish Sealy well…..I like how he is on the job…we need the revenue or it gine B more TAXES….

44. Minister of Tourism Sealy is quoted in the Nation today that he is happy about the measures pout in place to arrest rising crime in the Gap. Guess what Minister some of us are not impressed that you et al would have allowed the damn criminals to lock down the Gap in the first damn place.

45. David this was part of my plan to see if the people who claim they do not read these blogs are truthfull. I will be going to Rockliffe on the weekend and will take a picture so lets see if they will spruce the place up before I get there. If you were going to hire a decorator and their house was less than spectacular you might wonder why should I hire them . Residences and embassies are little pieces of that country abroad and should reflect the best of that country. How can you exp[ect tourists to buy into what you are selling if you are not making an effort.

46. What i really want to know is, when the diplomats leave the residences paid for by taxpayer dollars from Barbados, what happens to the properties, are they rented out? who collects the money? are they sold? who collects the money? does the money ever resurface in Barbados again to re-enter the treasury?, after all it is bajan taxpayers dollars………..see, no transparency so there is no information on what happens with taxpayer’s dollars.

47. @ David
    Re: St Lawrence Gap – “Now there is rampant stealing, drug pushing and harassment of tourist. Barbadians who live here need to get up off their asses and demand accountability from our decision makers.”

Don’t worry, Commissioner Dottin probably will announce a task force for that.

48. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I have a sneaky feeling that Virgin would have seen forward bookings since last October for winter 2012/13 and realized that they would have been undersold on seats,but having already committed went with the tide.Planners in the airline would have set in motion post winter 2014 operations and decided on a cutback on seats into Barbados and so informed the BTA,but the Minister was in election mode and took his eye off the ball.With elections out of the way,he requested Virgin to withhold going public with their decision to reduce seats into Barbados and bought some time by announcing the 11 million stimulus.Evidently the rot had set in and Virgin did what they had to do.The fault lies in the election and everybody took off from their High Commissions and Embassies and came to Bdos to help re-elect the incompetent Dems.The result is that Bim is the loser all round.The BTA has too many yardfowls and in the Trini parlance all eatin’ a food and not thinking of the future of Barbados.Get serious BTA!

49. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Line should read post Winter 2012/13 operations