Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

Short of a miracle and/or a radical change in the way we do business, it appears we have headed into one of the most challenging tourism summers’ in recent history, hot on the heels of a poor winter. With still no game changing strategies, other than one or two tinkering offerings on the horizon, is there more ‘we’ can do to avoid further widespread lay-offs and closures?

The answer has to be YES! And I think we can start by looking at further opportunities on our doorstep.

For ages, I have admired the work of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons. My wife and I have been members for a number of years and I cannot even begin to think of the savings it has brought us during that period, far outweighing any annual subscription fees. For a number of reasons, I only purchased my first public company shares just over half a decade ago, on the recommendation of our accountants. If we are lucky, our small capital investment will return to the level that we initially put into fund, by the end of 2013.

Ironically, in their latest quarterly report, the fund managers reminded us that during the last five years, cumulative inflation on Barbados reached 38 per cent and that any investment placed with them ‘should outperform money left in a savings account over the long term’. That same ‘investment’ would have attracted more than a 20 per cent plus return if we had left it in a credit union or similar financial institution, over the same duration. Okay, it still would not have kept abreast of inflation, but at least there would have been a smaller deficit.

Back to BARP. We do not eat out a lot, but have a few favourite restaurants, one of which used to simply take 10 per cent off the entire bill on presentation of the BARP card. Sadly, it has stopped offering an overall discount and cannot wonder if this is not being a little short sighted. As the impressive membership numbers confirm, BARP reaches a huge and largely better off section of the population. If anything, during these troubling times, more restaurants should be targeting this market. Probably this age group is more concerned with the ravages of inflation, as they are perhaps existing on a fixed income or pension.

Our banks also have to make a greater contribution. If like others, my monthly credit card statement is not settled in full, we are faced with an almost obscene 21 or 22 per cent rate of interest. Yet at the same time, net interest earned on savings, rarely exceed one tenth of those figures.

For the companies who issue credit cards and offer added benefits like miles or points, why not double them for specific periods with our local tourism offerings, including programmes like the BHTA StayCation packages?

Ultimately, its a win-win situation for everybody. Increased merchandising charges and market share, added business at a time when most enterprises need it, protection of employment, higher levels of VAT and other tax/NIS collection.

The list goes on.

Smart partnerships have to be the way to go. If you still harbour doubts, just try it for a specified period. Then analyse the overall benefits against the minimum cost of participation. The results might surprise you.

1. Those confounded yardfowls again, is there no vaccine to eradicate them, they are like a fatal disease that require anti-toxin.

2. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Nostradamus | May 13, 2013 at 8:35 PM |
    Re: St Lawrence Gap – “Now there is rampant stealing, drug pushing and harassment of tourist. Barbadians who live here need to get up off their asses and demand accountability from our decision makers.”
    …………………………………………………..
    The ailments of St Lawrence Gap / Dover did not suddenly come about overnight. For many years now, Dover seemed to be the cooling out spot for ex Glendairy ,and later Dodds,unwilling guests. They laid on deck chairs opposite one corner of the playing field and harassed many a visitor passing by. In recent times , further up the road another lot could be been also harassing visitors, and right under a street camera. Very seldom, during those periods,while I was in the Dover area did I see a passing police patrol.
    For many years , the police and the authorities have turned a blind eye to the antics and behaviour of the bicyclist,and now that the bicycle is fast becoming the getaway vehicle of choice in the snatch and grad raids on visitors and locals alike, we are about to pull our hairs out of our heads, like we are doing over the ZR, Stunt motor cyclist , gun totters and a host of other issues , that could have been curtailed by nipping them in the bud at the earliest opportunity.

3. Just a word from the other side of the Atlantic on my take as to why the Virgin flights are half empty?
    Some 6 years ago we purchased as self catering holiday for £525 incl flights, the following year it had risen to £565.

Now it’s impossible to purchase a flight alone for less than £590!!

I used to be a twice-a-year tourist. I am returning in September for the first time since January 2012.

Over the last few years First Choice have as good as disappeared as being an option for package deals, BMI have disappeared for flights, they used to be the carriers for Virgin from Manchester and were excellent but no more.

Virgin are good and fly out of Manchester but it amazes me each time to see the empty seats, I just wonder how long am I going to have them as an option before they pull the plug because of falling numbers?

I get excited when I get an email stating Virgin have a ‘long haul Sale’ but then find NO reduction to Barbados but good reduction to Florida!!!! Practically same flight duration but no reduction!! Why?

The Air Tax has made it impossible for us Brits to be able to have repeat visits as much ad we would like plus seeing the recession hitting Barbados too. the hotel prices have had to keep increasing where long-stay friends I know, have reduced their 6 week stay to just 4.

My 2nd holiday of the year is now spent in Europe where flights can be picked up for less than £100!!

September is probably going to be my last visit to my favourite Caribbean island but what other choice do I have?

4. @Aidrahn.
    Note. Understanding your business.
    Virgin Do.

5. I remember some years back”The Gap” had army and police patrols together.
    They ent doing it now. WHY??

6. old onion bags Avatar

The Gap hardly see touristess Love…more under cover police than even parros….

7. An old and relevant Barbadian prayer.

As I lay me down to sleep,
    I wish old time Barbados was a ting to keep.

Lord help us find someone with the integrity, authority
    and discipline like Brigadier Lewis to clean up dis place.

Send us dis person fast before the criminals run all de tourists
    and before de IMF come and layoff 40.000 good Bajans.

8. Re 45,000 hotel rooms to be added in Cuba

In the old time days Bajans went to find work in Cuba in the cane fields, Looks like in a not too distant time Bajans might very well have to go and beg Cuba for jobs in their hotels and restaurants, assuming the Cubans would even want to take on sourfaced Bajan workers..

9. Went by residence yesterday, please send up some Guyanese hookers… must have previous experience operating a lawn mower

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | May 15, 2013 at 5:42 AM |
    “45,000 new hotel rooms will be added”

Barbados can forget about any new hotel investment for the time being. Cuba is where the new investment money will find itself. Cuba’s gain is certainly Bim’s loss. This has been on the horizon for the last 5 years. Expect those VS 029 seats reduction to be added to VS 063 in the coming months/years. BA will soon cut back on its flight schedule. A similar migration is taking place in Canada.

Cuba’s resurrection in the mass tourism Caribbean market would indeed hurt the tourism business in the Eastern Caribbean. Unfortunately Barbados with its expensive, costly to operate tired plant and experiencing more and more crime targeted at visitors will feel the greatest fall out from these market ‘adjustments’.

Cuba is the new hotspot in the Caribbean for Brits and other Europeans. Canada has been in the vanguard of the “Return to Cuba” travel movement for some time now. Hants can verify.
    Expect the Americans to follow suit as Cuba ‘comes in from the cold’ when Castro with the Cold War politically contrived anti-American bogey legacy is put to final rest.

All like now Barbados should be equipping its young people already trained in the hospitality industry with the added skills in foreign languages (especially Spanish) and cultural awareness if they are to be considered for work in Cuba like their great-grand and grand-parents did in the early part of the last century.

There is nothing more in Bim for them to aspire to.
    Time they get on their emigration bikes and follow in the path of their fore parents in order to earn their way in the world and expand their small-island mentality way of thinking and acting.

11. Miller……………i know quite a few Canadians who make Cuba, their away home from the cold or travel every year to the island like clock work, for years i have been saying Bajans should be versed in more than one language to truly enter the world of globalization,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,it’s not too late.

Lawson……………….looks like they either missed your comments or did not get there fast enough to mow the lawn at the ambassadors residence in Ottawa.

12. I do not see how Barbados shall compete with Cuba. A visit to their parliament alone, which has been kept working condition, and the others areas in Havana put the Barbados product in the shade.

13. Well Well I can see why they did not cut the grass, they now have a beautiful sea of yellow flowers…. dandilions are flowers arent they ..lol..

14. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

Barbados tourism got a boost post 1959 when the yanks were looking for an alternative to Cuba.USVI got a lot of development and a number of bajan artisans went and have been there since 1960/61.
    Canada and the UK never gave up and continued to trade with Cuba.Cubana airlines benefitted from Air Canada’s phased out DC 8’s one of which was blown up off the west coast of Bdos in 1976.Errol Barrow was in the forefront of establishing Caricom relations with Cuba.
    A consideration to bear in mind is that Cuba gets very cool in the winter months,so there will be room for tourism in Barbados to continue to market its product in the USA with success

15. Tack Gabriel said…… “A consideration to bear in mind is that Cuba gets very cool in the winter months,so there will be room for tourism in Barbados to continue to market its product in the USA with success”

What a DUMB comment to make, why don’t you stop wishing on a star! Bermuda gets cool during the winter months, Jamaica gets cool during the winter months, the Bahamas gets cool during the winter months and that NEVER stopped Tourists from going to those islands. SMH you are just too dumb to argue with.

16. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I spent a winter in Kingston and just after sunset it got beastly cold.One had to repair indoors.I would think its just the same in Cuba,Bahamas and moreso Bermuda.My point however is that our advantage is a cool and not cold winter.Price will be the determining factor,given our location.

17. Anything cool to us is Cold ………that coolness is quite pleasant to those who live in cold countries. Be sensible woman and stop comparing yourself to those tourist who really live in colder climes. YOU MAKE NO SENSE AT ALL!

18. Lawson

Do you have a pic of the beautiful sea of yellow flowers to send to BU share with us?

They could add the embassy to the Tulip Festival Tour

19. a sensible woman the only one I can think of off hand was attila the hen

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel Tackle | May 15, 2013 at 7:45 PM |
    “I spent a winter in Kingston and just after sunset it got beastly cold”

Which “Kingston” are you referring to? Kingston Ontario Canada or Kingston-Upon-Thames in the UK?
    Certainly not Kingston Jamaica a tropical island where temperatures hardly fall below 60 F unless “deep” in the Blue Mountains at night.

We are putting it to you GT that you will die and go to heaven before you can ever spend a “WINTER” in Jamaica unless there is some kind of pole shift and JCA ends up geologically speaking in temperate zones either North or South of the Equator.
    JCA can certainly get “cool” when there is Winter in the Northern hemisphere above the Tropic of Cancer (badly in need of a name change) 23.5 N. JCA which is max 18.23 N at Ocho Rios can get pretty cool but certainly not cold to freezing ‘beastly cold’; not even in the Blue Mountains or the coffee and marijuana won’t grow.

21. cold is relative … one of the coldest nights I can remember was in a minnie moke in barbados …it was drizzlin and I gave my future wife my shirt because she was freezing, I felt like I was getting hypothermia. -20 below in canada we have t shirts on playing hockey or skating it all depends on time .day. or activity .

22. If Tacky Gabriel can believe that a little coolness in Cuba will send Tourist to Barbados then we are really up shoite street!

23. BTA (finally) got media coverage in Toronto media

The Banner on the front page of May 16 Toronto Star Travel Section reads “THE BEST OF BARBADOS”

The banner for the FARE DEALS article on page 7 says “Bountiful savings in lovely Barbados”

Hoping to woo travellers away from their usual all-inclusive destinations, the new “Barbados Island Inclusive” promotion from the Barbados Tourism Authority comes with $150 – $200 (all prices U.S.) in vouchers, per person, for use at 30 restaurants and attractions across the island. A five night minimum stay gets you $150, per person, while seven nights or more is good for $200, per person, distributed in the form of $50 vouchers at check-in and based on a maximum of two people per room. Companies taking part in the deal include Aerial Trek Zipline Adventure, the Barbados Golf Club and Oistin’s Fish Fry. Car rentals are available too. The colourful Crop Over Festival also has begun in Barbados, with events throughout the summer. Trips must be booked by June 22 for travel through Dec. 21. See visitbarbados.org/islandinclusive .

See full article Travel Deals: Discounts for beautiful Barbados and a sleek hotel in Naples, Florida. at http://www.thestar.com/life/travel/2013/05/15/travel_deals_discounts_for_beautiful_barbados_and_a_sleek_hotel_in_naples_florida.html

Below the article in the print edition is a 1/4 page full colour Westjet ad for Aruba.

On page 3 of the Business Section is a 1/2 page full colour Westjet ad for St. Lucia, including referral to http://stlucianow.ca a website specifically for Canada