Roosevelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of Dominica - photo credit Dominica News
Roosevelt Skerrit, Prime Minister of Dominica – photo credit: Dominica News

On 27 April 2013 Barbados Underground (BU) posted the blog Who Are the Local Partners in Cost-U-Less?. Although the Prime Minister of Dominica Roosevelt Skerrit has denied the word making the rounds that he is a local shareholder, BU defends our right to ask questions of Skerrit or anyone in the interest of providing clarification.

In the interest of providing further clarification it should be noted that the Companies Act Cap 308 places sole responsibility of managing the company in the hands of the Directors. What this means is that unless a shareholder choses to be a Director the public is left to speculate who are the shareholders. The Act is drafted to protect the Shareholder who  – if not a Director – has no say in the conduct of the company.

BU reiterates our position taken in the original blog, in the interest of transparency the other names mentioned (Hartley Henry, the Estate of David Thompson and Leroy Parris) should state publicly whether they have an interest in Cost U Less (CUL).  The government has approved significant concessions to CUL and given the names mentioned the public has a right to know. It should be noted that Pricesmart has since denied receiving similar concessions. Also at the time of launch it was widely reported that David Staples represented local shareholder interest. Perhaps in the interest of protecting its goodwill CUL should make a public statement stating who are the local shareholders.

This report has generated a lot of interest in Dominica and across the Caribbean. Prime Minister Skerrit’s denial was carried in the Dominica News Online. BU notes also that on the 5.30PM Voice of Barbados (VoB) news of 7 May 2013 a report on Skerrit’s denial was carried. Interesting to BU was that the VoB report made no mention of the source of the report. It’s reference was to a Barbados ‘website’. It is no secret that ‘the blogs’ and traditional media in Barbados do not represent one love. However, we believe that in the interest of accurately reporting news the traditional media has a right to maintain the journalistic integrity of the Fourth Estate. The irony is that if the website was not a blog or even if it was a blog in ANOTHER country the name of the ‘website’ would have been mentioned. Members of the BU household cannot boast of being presented with the latest Blackberry from LIME or VIP tickets to functions etc. In other words we have no obligation to be soft when blogging on any issue.

1. Prodigal Son Avatar

And to think that David Thompson’s wife was deemed a queen and now sits in our House and is deputy Speaker to boot!

2. Miller thanks for letting me know that as a sharholder in microsoft i am rightfully the owner.

3. @Hal Austin | May 8, 2013 at 4:49 AM | “I have long called for a new Companies Act. Shareholders are the legal owners of the company under English law, which the Barbados Act is based on.” Total nonsense. The Barbados Act is taken from the Canada Corporations Act 1975, as David has pointed out.

@John | May 8, 2013 at 6:40 AM | “I recall hearing around 2000 that there was a change in the new act and it was possible to write the Secretary of a company for a list of that company’s shareholders.” Nonsense. That condition was always in the Act. BUT it is only available to you if you are a shareholder of the company yourself. Only then will the secretary be obliged under the Companies Act Cap. 308 to provide you with the names and addresses of shareholders. Without actually looking up the precise provision in the Act, my recollection is that a shareholder is allowed, upon notice, to attend the registered office of the company and make copies of the register of shareholders, including their addresses.

ALSO, @John. “The puzzle would be to figure out which Company to write and it might take some effort and persistence to uncover what someone has set out to hide.” Nonsense. If you are a shareholder, you will know who the secretary of the company is. AND, if you are NOT a shareholder, you can visit the very body you mentioned, CAIPO, call for the file of the company….and guess what? You will find the secretary’s name listed along with the other directors. Might be a good idea for you to read the Companies Act Cap. 308, which is available online. AND to pay a little visit to CAIPO. Just a suggestion.

@Miller. It is clearly AC’s time of the month, and I am referring to a full moon. Mind you, many argue that for AC the moon is always full. Enjoyed (and mostly agreed with) your comments, as always.

@Yagga Rowe | May 8, 2013 at 11:18 AM | “Carson is the scum of the earth ? Is Carson of this earth? People here dont seem to think so.” Hear hear!!!!

@Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right! | May 8, 2013 at 1:07 PM | Well said, my brother.

@David. The only answer as I see it is to find a shareholder of the company who is willing to invoke the Companies Act and demand copies of the shareholders’ register. Only in extraordinary circumstances will the courts order that the names of shareholders be declared. Hope that helps and gratitude to John for NOT having read the Companies Act, as his ill-informed submission reminded me that a shareholder can demand copies of the register of shareholders. I had forgotten.

4. David | May 8, 2013 at 9:37 AM |

BU is saying it it is in the interest of the local shareholders to come public. If Leroy Parris’ name continues to be tagged to CUL it will do nothing for goodwill.
    It’s becoming increasingly plain to see that the government and it’s supporters see absolutely nothing wrong with this type of scenario and also see nothing wrong with not addressing the issue to put the taxpayers minds at ease, that says a lot about how much they care about the opinions of the people who pay their salaries………

5. 175. (4) Any person may, during the usual business hours of the company and upon payment of a reasonable fee, examine the records of the company referred to in paragraph (c)of subsection (1) of section 170, and in subsections (2), (3) and (4) of that section, and make copies of those records or take extracts therefrom.

170. (1) A company shall prepare and maintain at its registered office records containing

(a) the articles and the by-laws, and all amendments thereto, and a copy of any unanimous shareholder agreement and amendments thereto;

(b) minutes of meetings and resolutions of shareholders; and

(c) copies of all notices required by section 66, 74 or 169.

(2) A company shall maintain a register of shareholders showing
    (a) the name and the latest known address of each person who is a shareholder;
    (b) a statement of the shares held by each shareholder;
    (c) the date on which each person was entered on the register as a shareholder, and the date on which any person ceased to be a shareholder.

(3) A company that issues debentures shall maintain a register of debenture holders showing

(a) the name and the latest known address of each debenture holder;
    (b) the principal of the debentures held by each holder;
    (c) the amount or the highest amount of any premium payable on redemption of the debentures;
    (d) the issue price of the debentures and the amount paid up on the issue price;
    (e) the date on which the name of each person was entered on the register as a debenture holder; and
    (f) the date on which each person ceased to be a debenture holder.

(4) A company that grants conversion privileges, options, or rights to acquire shares of the company shall maintain a register showing the name and the latest known address of each person to whom the privileges, options or rights have been granted, and such other particulars in respect thereof as are prescribed.

(5) A company may appoint an agent to maintain the registers required by this section to be maintained by the company; but the registers must be maintained at the registered office of the company or at some other place in Barbados designated by the directors of the company.

6. ac | May 8, 2013 at 7:51 AM |

The people,s right to know was not an intent to spy or trampled on an individual rights to privacy. In our endeavour to be puritanical we might be overextending our hand in destrying the rights of every individual the pursuit of life. libery, and pusuit of happiness.

It is not about the right to privacy or anybody spying on anybody else.

It is about the right to know how the assets of a country are being used or misused ….. and by whom.

“Any person” has a right to know!!

Enough ole talk now!!

Who going down at the Registered Office of Cost-U-Less, or whatever, and asking for an extract from the share register???????/!!

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

john

Can I go down to the registered office of PRICESMART and “asking for an extract from the share register???????/!!”?

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

miller

“Only goes to show you can never trust these black pols of today who see politics as the career path to get rich quick. ”

I take it for granted that you include yourself in the above quote!

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON(somebody told me)

Seems as though I mash your corns.

10. Amazing……the road to the answer was always available,but no one took time to read…..

11. Prodigal Son Avatar

Well, well, well. What nex?

4.30 VOB news…… Republic Bank refuses to cash government cheques for child maintenance. The lady interviewed is puzzled wondering how could the Bank not honour the cheque when her child father has paid in his money!!!

My friend, simple, the government is broke, so any monies paid in is used up. This government has a spending problem.

And so, this so called caring government has spent the poor people’s monies. Now the same poor people they pretend to care so much for……. their children will be without food! How cruel!

12. Now if i was in Barbados, i would go check out cost u less registered shareholders………..

With regard to Pricesmart, i know from experience that all their shareholder information is public knowledge……..

13. Prodigal……………….is that really true, the news i mean??

14. CUL is a private company in Barbados.

15. miller

@miller
    A common shareholder is normally entitled to four basic rights of ownership: (1) claim on a share of the company’s undivided assets in proportion to number of shares held; (2) proportionate voting power in the election of directors and other business conducted at shareholder meetings or by proxy; (3) dividends when earned and declared by the board of directors; and (4) preemptive right to subscribe to additional stock offerings before they are available to the general public except when overruled by the articles of incorporation or in special circumstances, such as where stock is issued to effect a merger.

16. CUL is a private company that falls under the provisions of the Companies Act….

17. Prodigal…………..someone just told me the same thing happened at the post office……..government cheque could not be cashed……………..that is the beginning of the crash…….

18. An individual or group of individuals can own shares in corporations and other legal entities, but do not necessarily own the entities themselves. .

19. That’s why they are called shareholders, they do however, have voting rights and privileges even if there is an IPO.

20. @welll
    DUHHHHHHHHHHHHH…………………………………………………………

21. Prodigal Son Avatar

Well well

Dont say that, CCC will say we are wishing Barbados to fall! VOB carried the lady’s voice, so it is true. This comes on top of the people hired to cut grass all over DLP constituencies before the election who had to make noise to get paid. Let us pray for Bim.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON(somebody told me)

“Republic Bank refuses to cash government cheques”

Somebody told you that too!!!

Well Well

“that is the beginning of the crash…….”

I pity you people.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

From Feb. 2008 up to the present, the economy is going to implode and the CountryIs is going to sink beneath the Ocean, if DAVID, PRODIGAL SON and now Well Well is to be believed.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

PRODIGAL SON

Licking your chops. The end is near for Barbados according to you.

You are so happy!!!

You BLP people are just WORTHLESS.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Protocol six signed off on by the social partners extending it for another year.

the social partners for all who don’t know , Government, Labour and Private sector.

26. AC…………….now you can tell us about the IPO

27. Carson…………..when there is a crash, the only way to go from that is up, i prefer hear there is a crash and upward movement after, than to heat it is in a constant state of stagnation…………..a crash means potential upward movement………………i don’t know how you are looking at this, the quicker it happens, the quicker the island can move forward or do you prefer the island to stay in a mode of uncertainty??

28. Carson C. Cadogan | May 8, 2013 at 4:09 PM |

john

Can I go down to the registered office of PRICESMART and “asking for an extract from the share register???????/!!”?

If and only if you consider the description “any person” applies to you.

If you do not think you qualify as “any person” then I guess not!!

…. but, ….do you actually know where the Registered Office of Pricesmart is and if you don’t, do you know how to find it?

29. Do you guys think that if these characters are involved that they will leave a trail for anyone to follow?

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

john

I can find any place in Barbados.

31. It usually comes out in the wash whether they leave a trail or not, you just cannot keep things secret forever………..what is disturbing is both government’s inability to recognize over the last 20 years that you no longer have a country if 90% of what your businesses sell on the island is imported and maybe just 10% of local products consumed with a nearly non existent export market, when it should be the other way around, businesses should be selling 90% of bajan made products on the island and only allow 10% imports, while having a vibrant export market to be able to boast you have a thriving economy.

Heard some white Canadians speaking just a few minutes ago, businessmen and women who do business around the globe and it is their opinion that Barbados has priced itself out of the market.

This is an opportunity for a fresh start with the implementation of new and progressive ideas, i hope they are seeing where they went wrong and try to remedy it……………………….

32. Prodigal Son Avatar

Is there a problem too with the NIS that claims are taking so long to be processed?

I am still waiting on my income tax refund from last year. I am waiting patiently as if and when they send it and they do not pay me interest, I am sending my lawyer to them. Believe you me!

33. Carson C. Cadogan | May 8, 2013 at 7:40 PM |

john

I can find any place in Barbados.

Try “Centipede Alley” and “Turn ‘Round Brisk”!!

34. The people of Barbados have a right to know what the Government is doing on our behalf. Also, we have a right to know who are the real beneficiaries of any concessions that the Government has given out on our behalf. Why the secrecy? Is there something that would embarass the Government if the information is known?

35. Carson, you know, there is no shame in asking for help.

The Registered Office of PRICESMART EXEMPT SRL is at Chancery House in High Street.

Looks like a good place to start as I believe this is a law office so unlike some of the pseudo lawyers (me included) who present themselves here and often get it wrong, the folks there should know the law and help you out.

… and if you want to kill two birds with one stone, COST-U-LESS (BARBADOS) INC. has its Registered Office is at Parker House, Wildey Business Park, also I suspect a law office.

36. Caswell
    “The people of Barbados have a right to know what the Government is doing on our behalf.”
    So wait! This just came to you recently?
    …or you just deliberately trying to piss the Bushman off…? 🙁

Does the people of Barbados know what happen on our behalf with the Marina Project?….the Oil Terminal? ….Dodds?…..the 3S episode? …..
    You know what happened with the Barrack bid for the now famous Warrens building?
    We know who was behind Barrack? …and that went through court MANY TIMES!

We know who own the ZRs, or why they seem to be untouchable?

…so what you expect to find out about C U L now?

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

We also have a right to know about all the others that you mention. Are you suggesting that every apparent misfeasance in public office should be swept under the rug because others might have gotten away with wrongdoing? I would like to lock them all up but it appears that you have gone soft in the head. Say it ain’t so Bushie.

38. Don’t be daft Caswell.
    …the point being made is that we have ALLOWED and even ENCOURAGED a society where these politicians and other ‘above the Law’ types have been doing as they like for DECADES now…

The horse gone long every since and you casually calling for disclosure of some low level scam like CUL?

What you may want to do is explore Bushie’s fool proof plan to WREST control back from the lotta idiots and crooks that running thing bout here…
    …using one of the FEW systems that has worked SUCCESSFULLY in Barbados over the past 30 years…. Cooperative organization.

BUP!

39. Bushie did you read the first paragraph of the Editorial on page 2 of BarbadosToday?

40. No Hants
    ….so much to read….so little time.
    LOL…and so many more fun things to do…

What it say?

41. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Since when does $2 million constitute a low level scam.

42. Ok Hants…seen!

What to say….? Where there is no vision….

43. @ Caswell
    “Since when does $2 million constitute a low level scam.”
    Bushie’s bedtime has passed, but the answer to your rhetorical question is ” since we now have an environment where $ 100 million scams have become ROUTINE and are even laundered through the court system.”

What do you think the Barrack case represents? … And do you understand what went down with the oil terminal and coast guard station etc…?

A $3 billion dollar economy has been brought to its knees by scams. ….Relatively speaking, CUL is crumbs ….
    Lol
    Don’t you see that the scamps can’t even see that it is WRONG..?

Bushie going sleep…. We launching BUP tomorrow…? 🙂

44. @David | May 8, 2013 at 7:32 PM | Precisely. But let John and that jackass CCC go charging into Trevor Carmichael’s chambers (apparently that is the registered office) demanding to see the register of shareholders. They will be asked to take a seat in reception and there they will sit for several hours. When they protest, they will be told that as they do not have an appointment, they just have to wait…….at which point they will probably storm out in high dudgeon, cause Trevor does not have a very good range of magazines in reception. If you read this, Trevor, take note and buy some better magaazines – with pictures please, as John and the jackass prefer pictures. If they wait, then eventually they will be told by a secretary that one of the counsel has told her that they have to phone and make an appointment. But that will be after some hours.

And after they have gone through the whole exercise time and again until finally, in about 2 years time, they have managed to make an appointment, or in 20 years time when they have referred the matter successfully to what is laughingly called the “justice system”, they will be allowed to inspect the register.

And do you know what they will find? That the shareholders are a series of closed corporations, some registered in Barbados maybe, but most registered in places like Cayman, Jersey, Gibraltar, Isle of Man, Marshall Islands and…..Switzerland.

And then do you know what will happen? Well, in the public interest, John and the jackass will take themselves off on a trip to each of these countries where, for many years they will work on uncovering, in the national interest, names of shareholders – a task taking maybe 100 years. But do not fear! When you are immortal like John and the jackass, 100 years is nothing to prove your point.

Meanwhile, David, someone like you, who is not immortal and has many other and much bigger fish to fry in the national interest (even though the jackass objects to you withholding your real name, because he wants to bray at you directly), you will simply find a sympathetic shareholder in the company and ask him/her to go, not upon appointment, but ON NOTICE to Trevor’s office and, using Trevor’s photocopier, copy the register……and then you will take it from there. But of course that process does not involve throwing your weight around and trying to be a big magufee, so it would not ever recomment itself to John and the jackass.

45. @ Bush Tea

I think your postings on this matter make most sense. The bottom line is that many commentators like to pick and choose pon de issues when it suit them political colour.

46. @Oilman

Correct, the lack of transparency in almost every thing we do in this society is mired in secrecy and lack of transparency.

47. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS
  48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Amused

Thanks for the information.

I will call today and make an appointment!