It is estimated that the cost of electricity has doubled in Barbados since 2008. We are curious about the process of sourcing Bunker C to fuel Barbados Light & Power (BL&P) generators. How are the generators which use Bunker C integrated into the distribution of electricity to the benefit of the consumer? How has the price of Bunker C trended since 2008 and have Barbadians consumers benefited?

BU fully supports government’s strategy to diversify energy needs BUT in the migration process we should hold BL&P accountable. It is not lost on BU that BL&P appears to be playing a ‘leading’ role in the alternative energy debate. This makes BU very uncomfortable given an obvious vested interest.  In this regard – is the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) a failed organization?

1. Do you know how difficult it is to get into Bronx Science or Stuyvesant, you have to be exceptional to be even allowed to take the test, these are not the only ones, there are a few other, then there are the ultra ivy league schools that the child is sent away from the parents when they have exceptional abilities, Ping, don’t even try to compare this to 11+ that is like comparing ackees to watermelons, there is just no comparison.

2. Hants………….Sacred Heart, New York

3. Ping…………….they are called specialized for a reason.

4. and the elitist snobbery continues even here on BU with much condescension. most of them priding themselves of going to the top schools but what have they done in respect to helping the country to grow. still stick with the “ME” mentality and criticism. when questions about another alternative, the answers always the same. “nutting wrong wid that one” it worked fuh me why can it work fuh them. meanwhile most of them desert the island fuh better pastures offering nothing in return to an island and not even a pittance from an education system they say did them well.

5. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Well well

Don’t you think you can give us a freakin break from your constant postings.

Right now there are about 14 messages on the board and 10 are yours.Please man,give us a break and find something to do.I am not going to read your postings but I think it is a shame that you feel the need to purge yourself that often and hog the show.

Enough already woman.

6. Required reading for all.

the first paragraph of the Editorial on page 2 of BarbadosToday.

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well Well | May 8, 2013 at 8:39 PM |
    GP………………You continue to prove my point, you are light years ahead in education in the Caribbean but own very few businesses in Barbados, so the other islands obviously have something that you do not although you are light years ahead in education………..

CANT YOU SEE THAT YOUR POST IS A NON SEQUITUR?

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE PURPOSE FOR EDUCATION IS TO HAVE MULTIPLE BUSINESSES IN BARBADOS?

THE SAME CLASS OF PEOPLE THAT OWN BUSINESSES IN THE ISLANDS ARE THE SAME CLASS THAT OWN BUSINESS IN BARBADOS

8. LOL @ Common Sense INC
    Well Well is ac’s overseas sister….

We all know the problem.

Everything was going as planned, with intelligent people (who did well in the CEE) like Dipper, Tom, etc running the place …until a certain fellow who could not otherwise find gainful employment, was handed leadership “because the bright fellows had made it look dead easy”

First thing that you found was that a lotta retards suddenly get promoted and REAL bright people leaving the government, the party, and even the country….
    Obviously mock leaders tend to avoid bright and assertive people (like the GPs, Caswell and Bushie’s of this world) and prefer the lackies and brown-nosers that we now see in socalled leadership positions.
    …it would be so easy to call names….
    Look at the Permanent Secretaries we now have….
    Look at the chairpersons of Statutory Corporations…
    Look at the managers and CEOs…
    ….practically all donkey lickers designed to kowtow to the second rate leaders….and therefore mostly THIRD rate.
    Look at the Police, Army, Court…..
    …the result of ignoring the statistical reality that the CEE seeks to exploit to the country’s eventual benefit…..THAT IS, that only a small percentage of persons have the CAPACITY to be successful leaders.

One of the roles of a meaningful education system is to IDENTIFY THESE ASSETS EARLY and focus on maximizing their development….hence something like the 11 plus.

Wunna mind that donkey Peter Wickham, and those other sour grape losers who continue to feel inferior because they failed to impress in this test…. Bushie still can’t work out how he got to Foundation….

9. In our 2006 pre-election manifesto, the PDC promulgated ( and since then a few revisions would have been made to them) the philosophy and policy of specialised secondary schools for Barbados, whereby such schools themselves would have to fall under specialised academies, each specifically arranged, et al, to instruct and elicit skills and abilities from among the particular student populations in the divisions of languages, business, sciences, technical/vocational, technological studies within the entire secondary school system.

Of much importance in the structure of this philosophy/policy has been that every school and academy must have a number of basic core courses: English and a foreign language of the student’s/parent’s choice (swahili, chinese, german, spanish, etc.): Caribbean and African History: Business development, etc.

And of importance too in that regard has been that each academy/school must have to attach itself to a government approved teaching business in which the academy/school’s specialty is more actionalized than theorized.

The teaching business is to be structured to allow students to learn business as it is done at various levels ( administration/management of partnerships/sales and marketing/accounting/business law, etc) and then be assessed by the teaching business based on their strengths and weaknesses in the particular areas

A student in the secondary school system would be permitted to leave – with the parent’s/guardian’s and the Division of Education’s’ consents – the secondary school that he or she would have been enrolled in for the past 3 or so years, and to go and be on contract as an apprentice partner in the teaching business that would be collaborating with the particular academy, so that he or she would be in positions to learn the ropes of business in whatever areas the business would be functioning in and with a view of establishing their own businesses in the future. The parents/guardians and Division of Education will be given reports on the apprentices’ business performances. These apprentices will receive Associate Degrees in Business Administration from these businesses at the end of their programs.

They will be remunerated by the partnership that would be managing the entire business of the government of the people viz-a-viz the Division of Education, every weekly or biweekly for the entire duration they are there at the businesses.

Finally, with such and other relevant social political legal material changes and incentives and symbioses coming into existence in this country, eg the creation of a post-TAXATION society for Barbados, it would clearly be the intention of a coalition government of which the PDC would be a part of to bring into existence a long overdue new entrepreneurial class for Barbados, seeing that without these types of changes there will never be this urgently needed new vibrant energetic entrepreneurial class for the country.

10. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

I am told that the France has a system whereby all fall into one of the following catergories and are streamed and schooled accordingly:-
    1.For the professional classes viz doctors,lawyers,dentists,architects economists,surveyors etc
    2.For the Managerial/Administrative classes:Senior Public servants,captains of industry,Managers etc
    3.For those in Sports and Games,Athletics etc
    4.For those in the Arts,craft
    5.For those in Technical and Mechanical,Artisans
    6.Borstal,Prison where skill training is mandatory.

11. Studies on Race and Intelligence

The Global Bell Curve

Richard Lynn’s new book shows that in many multi-racial countries, people of Jewish and East Asian ancestry average highest in IQ and socio-economic position, Whites next highest, South Asians and Hispanics next highest, and people of African descent consistently average at lower levels. Lynn argues that the average population group differences in socio-economic position (education levels, earnings, welfare dependency) are due to their average differences in intelligence. Since these differences also translate into fertility patterns, with the lowest IQ populations having more children, the specter of a dysgenic future is raised.

East Asians (Chinese, Japanese, Koreans) (Average IQ of 105)
    Europeans (Average IQ 100)
    South East Asians (Average IQ 87)
    North Africans (Average IQ of 84)
    Sub-Saharan Africans (Average IQ of 67)
    Australian Aborigines (Average IQ of 62)

Afro-Caribbeans in the UK score similarly on IQ tests to US blacks.
    – Wikipedia.

Low IQs are Africa’s curse, says lecturer
    Researcher accused of promoting racist stereotype wins backing from LSE – uk NEWS.

Playboy Magazine of Aug. 1980 carried an interview with Dr. Shockley.
    Dr. William Shockley is a professor at Stanford University in Calif. Basically the following constitute his views after many years of painstaking study and research.
    Quote :
    1) Historically, blacks have an I.Q. 15 points lower than that of the average White. The difference is due to heredity and not environment.

2) Positive traits found in high I.Q. people include honesty, resistance to cheating and physical capacity. It takes such good traits to develop and maintain a good society.

3) Parents who have high I.Q.s have high I.Q. children and the opposite is true for those with low I.Q.s.

4) We live in a Dark Age dogmatism which blocks objective studies of the I.Q. differences which exist.

5) Low I.Q. blacks and Mexicans are outbreeding Whites. This element is the major cause of poverty, crime and unemployment and a host of other human miseries that impose heavy burdens on society. Today we are breeding problem makers instead of problem solvers . People with the low I.Q. of ’80 make up a majority of the prison population of America. (Average White I.Q. is 105).

6) Low I.Q. blacks are bearing twice as many children as Whites and Aid to Dependent Children is doubling every 10 years. Thus it will be 1,000 times higher than it was 20 years ago in a century, creating a burden society cannot bear.

7) Negroes’ intellectual and social deficits are hereditary and racially genetic. Thus, they are not remediable by improving their environment. Negroes are genetically enslaved to a life of frustration and may be the root cause of urban decay. It is possible that welfare mothers have babies to increase their income.

8) Negroes have a spouse killing spouse mortality rate 13 times higher than Whites. A young black male in Harlem is more than 100 times more likely to be a homicide victim than a White male in Denmark.

Black People are Less Intelligent, Says Dr. James Watson, Nobel Prize Winner and DNA Pioneer.
    Dr. Watson said in an interview with the Sunday Times that he was “inherently gloomy about the prospect of Africa” because “all our social policies are based on the fact that their intelligence is the same as ours—whereas all the testing says not really.”

CNN online also reports:

In the newspaper interview, he said there was no reason to think that races which had grown up in separate geographical locations should have evolved identically. He went on to say that although he hoped everyone was equal, “people who have to deal with black employees find this not true.”

Harvard Law Student: Possible That ‘African Americans Are, On Average, Genetically Predisposed To Be Less Intelligent’

Quote:
    I absolutely do not rule out the possibility that African Americans are, on average, genetically predisposed to be less intelligent. I could also obviously be convinced that by controlling for the right variables, we would see that they are, in fact, as intelligent as white people under the same circumstances. The fact is, some things are genetic. African Americans tend to have darker skin. Irish people are more likely to have red hair.

Quote:
    Everyone wants someone to take 100 white infants and 100 African American ones and raise them in Disney utopia and prove once and for all that we are all equal on every dimension, or at least the really important ones like intelligence. I am merely not 100% convinced that this is the case.
    -Huffington Post First Posted: 06/28/10 .

HOW CAN OUR EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM RESOLVE THIS ?
    DO YOU THINK THESE STUDIES ARE RACIST?
    ARE THESE STUDIES BOGUS?

http://youtu.be/ytx1pdaQ6Ho?t=1m52s

12. Based on media reports Minister Ronald Jones has said that he will not be rushing to change the CEE any time soon. Clyde Mascoll in his column opines that the CEE is the best way to assign students to secondary based on merit.

So there!

13. Cuhdear David…..
    That is the biggest slap down for Bushie on BU since MME made the point about the 747 airliner….
    …you mean Jones and Mascoll agree with Bushie…??

….having a new look at the Bushman’s position bozie….. 🙂

14. The key point here is how does one remove the subjectivity of implementing ‘continuous assessment’ if there is not a homogenous standard/measurement for allocating students. It is fine to say we need to change but nobody is discussing the how.

15. @ akonu
    Is it not intuitive that any definable set of people emerging from four centuries of brutal slavery where they lost control of their own developmental path, and where they were effectively bred for manual labour and deprived of education – would be at a statistical disadvantage compared to those who executed this colossal crime against humanity…?… And benefited from the spoils….

Wuh um is only obvious.

….your point then is what? …..that after undergoing 12 generations of systematic cruelty and deprivation, blacks – rather than being completely decimated (as was the case with other races in so liar peril) have in two generations bounced back with REMARKABLE and almost DEVINE improvements…..

Clearly a superior race of people….the only original.

16. There seems to be a situation where many of those people who strongly believe in this school tie thing also strongly believe in the retention of this old antiquated backward unfair thing called the CEE.

Thus when it comes to objective criticisms of the CEE it becomes very difficult for them to assimilate the facts surrounding this ignorance called the CEE partly as a result of their emotions about this and that school being good and not the next, the sentimental nostalgia they harbour about some of the personal experiences that they gained at the schools that – could anyone imagine – they left many moons ago, the friendships they continue to treasure from school days, etc. – which are good things in themselves – but which whenever they are partly the basis for the making of certain business, political, financial, social decisions in certain places in Barbados by some of those same strong believers in the school tie, do show why – to some extent – the country is being so seriously run down into the ground.

17. islandgal246 Avatar

“Is it not intuitive that any definable set of people emerging from four centuries of brutal slavery where they lost control of their own developmental path, and where they were effectively bred for manual labour and deprived of education – would be at a statistical disadvantage compared to those who executed this colossal crime against humanity…?… And benefited from the spoils….”

Bushie you forgot to add that they took the slave master’s God and his religious books that continues to fcuk up their minds.

18. you mean Jones and Mascoll agree with Bushie…??
    Is there any better example of great minds thinking alike than Jones and Mascoll finding common ground with Bushie on the CEE? I am tempted to be less charitable and write that fools seldom differ but then the blog master might ban me so I will take the high road.

Progress is a strange thing someone once told me a joke about a man who rejected the “water closet” and kept the backyard pit because everytime he did a number the water splashed on his botsy. 🙂

19. David,

The subjectivity of implementing continuous assessment?

While it is entirely impossible to remove whatever reams of subjectivity from out of many social, academic, scientific, professional and other settings anywhere in this world, since individuals are subjects themselves and must therefore always see one another in this way whatever the settings, the propensity however to reduce continuous assessment to dissect for subjectivity variables when the primary purpose for putting such a program would be to CONTINUOUSLY assess for what is put in and for what is to be drawn out of the pupils/students themselves and which would be done via the teachers who would be indispensible parts of any process of continuous assessment would be to speak too for a national continuous assessment for teacher weaknesses relative to the entire national continuous assessment program itself, with a view to minimizing this subjectivity.

So, rather than seeking to say that pupils/students would be disadvantaged by this subjectivity which will always be there and which would be no fault of the pupils/students it must be eminently better to direct the focus of the Ministry of Education – not so much on the teachers themselves per se – but on the absolute need to minimize teacher biases prejudices etc throughout the present entire school system and to evolve from such treatments a mechanism for dealing with such biases, prejudices, etc under a national continuous assessment program for Barbados.

We in Barbados must not allow our own inherent human traits to prevent us from setting in place very important institutions and processes for the further development of this country.

Should some of the bad attitudes dispositions of many doctors, lawyers, nurses, teachers, architects, engineers, building contractors and all other professions stop these professions and the systems through which they engage clients from being carried on themselves in the country? NO!! Or should we, or they the practitioners themselves, seek to reform these bad attitudes dispositions as much as possible for the better of the professions themselves and the publics they deal with?? Yes!!

With regard to the other issue you raised that is part of the fundamental problem associated with the CEE, the problem of what you called a homogeneous standard/measurement for allocating students from primary to secondary, on the entirely false assumption that every pupil is to be equally subjected to this so-called homogeneous standard/measurement when each ought not to be.

It is wrong and unfair even to test for academic ability anyhow at that stage, when continuously assessing for strengths and weaknesses of pupils/students (now teachers) as we wrote about earlier is far far better more effective to do, since the Ministry of Education should be looking at moulding a pupil/student (now teacher, with continuous assessment for them too) into a stronger more secure citizen in many regards for this and the future world ahead.

20. In my view Jones is actually being pragmatic and i hope realizing that he actually hit the nail right on the head regarding why the 11+ should be reaccessed, all kids differ in the way the absorb education, some are quicker at digesting and regurgitation, some are slower but more analytical, etc. etc. this should not be taken lightly. He has made a good argument why all kids should not be lumped together for a few hours of testing only to be later labeled as the brightest or the dunciest which will forever impact their lives on such a small incestuous rock.
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/jones-say-on-11-plus/

No common sense………………….if all you can do is count my posts, you do not have any common sense…………

Akuno…………….i have come to realize that the people who are suicidally guarding and defending the 11+ would also be the descendants of the slaves who suicidally tried to stop slavery from ending, caused the lynchings of their own people by ratting out to the slave masters, and also caused the deaths of white people who were trying to free them from slavery. Small wonder that the testing of the black IQ continue to register such poor and low results…….

Bushy……………….i am surprised at you but all the people you now say are brown-nosers, incompetent, inadequate, low intellect………….tell me, did they not all take the common entrance exam? you need to explain to me why they are in such a state of not being able to effectively think for themselves?

David…………………the workers from the Minister of Education back down are being paid a salary by the taxpayers to devise ways and means for the children of the island to have the necessary tools they will need for an ever changing world……………..it is not the jobs of some permanent secretaries to be rude and sassy to the public, or the jobs of the others either to hide scholarship opportunities available to members of the public because their family and friends should benefit…………..they are the ones being paid to develop innovative testing that will benefit all levels of intellect and skills in our children.

21. Akuno………….i don’t know if you heard about Dr. Ben Carson, black brain surgeon, can’t remember the name of the hospital he heads,think it’s in Maryland, when he was at school in the US his white teachers would tell him he was dumb, would not amount to anything…………his mom used to force him and his brother to read, do homework and check their homeworks every night………..well the rest is history…………..they found out that he saw the brain in 3D imaging why he is so brilliant,.after he became successful as a world renowned brain surgeon, he found out his mother could not read nor right, so she was in effect pretending to check their homeworks, just to make sure they understood the importance and opportunities she did not have…………….

It has also been researched and proven, that kids with dyslexia, ADD, ADHD etc, etc, display exceptionally unique and skills of genius in the right environment………….these are the kinds of skills destroyed with a test like common entrance, these kids are deemed stupid because they scored 20 or 30……………or they may just be seeing in 3D, which does not help them during the exam……………if you must, why not make the 11+ for the ones who can digest and regurgitate at the speed of light……………and develop other testing to accommodate the pace of other learners? Trinidad is trying both the assessment and the SEA to try and relieve the nerve wracking stress.

22. As to Jones’ reasons for taking time to reaccess the 11+ i hope he takes into consideration that just as not all schools do preparations or testing etc, etc, at the same time……………so too all kids should not be tested at the same levels and certainly not at the same time…………they should not all be lumped together under the umbrella of one stress test.

23. Gabriel Tackle Avatar
    Gabriel Tackle

@Akonu et aux
    It never ceases to amaze me how some manipulate data to attempt to maintain a stereotype that does so much harm to a society.Now how on earth can one try to convince intelligent folk that a people who built pyramids in Africa and in the Americas,who established one if not the world’s first institution of higher learning at Timbuktu,a people whose system of government was superior to anything known to Europe or to the rest of the world,a people so skilled and superior in knowledge of the Arts and Sciences,that the Greeks learned from them so well and copied everything they did and then foisted it upon the world as their own,including the King of Instruments the pipe organ. Whose ‘new world’ descendants gave the world the refrigerator,the elevator,the vacuum cleaner, traffic lights,the automatic transmission,electric iron,top class musicians,entertainers and superior athletes,who laid out and built the capital of the US,Washington DC,that this ethnic group is deficient in intelligence?Now if this is not intellectual dishonesty,I say what next in the armament of the progeny of the proverbial cave dweller.It won’t work today as it did 400 years ago.And Holmes Williams need to know that too!

24. Gabriel……………………………you forgot the filament for the light bulb that is used across the world……………a black man who worked with Thomas Edison in Jersey developed this, he never got the credit or patents for it, without the filament, we would not have lighting as we know it…………..the company is known as Con ED to New Yorkers……………

25. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Akuno, and those who think like him.
    Examination of the world’s people (all kinds) will show that a lot of what was writtten by these “researchers” and their conclusions is just BULL!/ Einstin was dyslexic. for all of yu who talk and believe, that slavery had a negative effect on the black man to the extent that he should believe that t he is “worthless” think again. Black people have never been the only persons sold as slaves, and thus suffer so much psychologically that they cannot achieve. Your history will reveal that it is not so. didn’t the Bible speak in its opening chapter about the “hebrews SLAVES being held by the Egyptians? Who were the Egyptians? What colour were they? And if you want to talk about suffering and a people (nations) being taken advantage of read “The Trail of tears, and “Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee” books I read years ago, that have mede me a more understanding person. These boods detail the Ethnic Cleansing and genocide that took place in the United States. If these books don’t bring you to tears I don’t know what will. Blacks have suffered but it is illogical to think that the events of nearly three hundred years ago has such a devastating effect that we as black people are still allowing it to keep us back, although we should not forget it..
    @Akono, “First to thine own self be true”. Think in the present not dwell in the past. i dismiss any “studies” that try to show that I am less than what I know I am.

26. No Common Sense……………….i hope you are keeping score of the amount of posts i send today, would not want you to lose count now……have to keep a total jackass employed. I will go out later, but will be back so you can continue counting. Counting posts, have you ever?…………….

27. Morning Alvin…………..share the knowledge.

28. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Parados,
    You are spreading false information and misleading. I will answer yu on your claim that the Government is not leading in the fight . Further it is not the job of ‘Government to advertise Hybrid vehicles. It iis the job of the individual car dealers to advertis their vehicles. Again in defense of government, didn’t the Government (BLP) try to begin the process of utilizing Batural gas as an alternative fuel? I seem to remember a number of the vehicles owned by BNOC indicating they wer run on natural gas. As usual I might be wrong. In addition didn’t the present government install a number of solar panels on the roof of the Public Works department and begin generating electricity for that department? Drive down pine east west road an look and see. Didn’t they install a number of solar panels on street lights as part of the pilot projects? Didn the government (present) establish a seperate department under the aegis of the Prime Minisster’s office to deal with the switch to alternative energy? Didn’t the present government just last month advertise for tenders for the installation of solar panels on a number of homes (Closing date for tenders June 13th)/Dhy do people like you want “instant” gratification? All the wishes in the world cannot bring a baby to birth before its time. Under normal circumstances it takes nine months, and you have to wait until then to get a beautiful baby. Be patient.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well | May 9, 2013 at 10:57 AM |

I wanted to respond to “Common sense is not common” but decided to wait until you did because you are able to defend yourself against anyone on this blog.
    One would think that a person who chooses such a moniker would reflect a bit of intellectual substance in his contribution. Instead of attacking you at the personal level it would have been more interesting if this empty vessel had made some contribution to the discussion even if a measure of sense was not common in the presentation.

Let him continue to count contributions under the moniker the “Count of Common sense”. Maybe he would get a starring role in the local version of Sesame Street. He might just learn something.

But we must be magnanimous with people like Mr. Common Sense since it really is not common to be so. Just think of the words of advice offered in the poem Desiderata: “ and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.”
    Hi, Common sense, the miller is waiting by the millstone, fire away!

30. Miller…………….ya killing me

What is scary about No Common Sense is that he/she/shim actually is taking the time out to count the posts, with, according to he/she/shim no intentions of reading it mind you, but counting it, and with no intentions of contributing…………….I have been here all morning wondering if i should ask he/she/shim if they took the common entrance, then they would certainly be making my point of view stronger for re-accessing and/or making changes or scrapping the exam all together if that is what the island, assuming is someone from Bim, is producing……………this person is scary. Imagine someone sitting all day on the computer just counting posts………….talk about psycho central. Jeesh!!!

31. The Daily Nation, Thursday, May 3, 2013, reports the Minister of Education, Mr Ronald Jones, as saying that ” while people called for students to be transferred according to zoning, problems would occur because there were only three parishes on the island with more than one secondary school”.

Now, putting aside the fact that most Barbadians know that there are problems involved in 99 per cent of social political financial material systems in Barbados, the deeply insensate fallacious argument that Mr Jones was trying to make, that most secondary schools were located in three parishes and that therefore most pupils/students should end up going to secondary schools in those three parishes rather than be distributed through out the country, and which therefore for the PDC sees his fallacy terribly based on where secondary schools are located and on zoning according to parishes rather than on the pupils/students/parents proximity to the secondary schools/workplaces, partly means though that such an argument by him cannot reasonable be used against full zoning with reasonable exceptions being made for allowing parents/guardians who work outside the parishes they live and who do not have their own transportation and who along with the Ministry of Education see pupils/students placed in primary or secondary schools close to where they work, etc.

It cannot be in any reasonable way!!

Rather it strengthens the argument for full zoning with such reasonable exceptions.

Those parishes that have the most pupil/student populations in them will obviously have the most primary/secondary schools (St. Michael), and those with the least pupil/student populations will have the least number of primary and secondary schools (St. Andrew, St. Joseph, the St. John, and St. Lucy), and those parishes with growing pupil/student populations will have a growing number of primary/secondary schools (St. Philip, Christ Church) – all in line with the overall wider social and physical development of the country.

Down with the damned DLP and the blasted BLP!!

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins | May 9, 2013 at 11:20 AM
    “Further it is not the job of ‘Government to advertise Hybrid vehicles. It iis the job of the individual car dealers to advertis their vehicles..”

We couldn’t agree with you more! Government should not be in the business of advertising or promoting any individual commercial product or business entity. But what it must especially do is to establish policies that support a particular developmental path. It should concern itself with creating the type of environment through taxation options and economic incentives to facilitate private sector players who would wish to follow this path set by our elected officials, i.e., the people’s representatives.

Let us use, for illustration as you have done, the alternative energy policies and programmes being pushed by the government and pose a question to you, Alvin.
    Can you explain how this administration could have granted major tax concessions and incentives in this day and age to a mainly foreign owned retail business in one of the more established economic activities of importing and selling food and household products (forex consuming instead of earning) without requiring the same ‘new kid on the old and tattered consuming block’ to at least buy into the government alternative energy programme and ‘green’ economy policies?
    Why did this administration not insist that Cost-U-Less (CUL) install some solar panels on the roof of the building or put up a small windmill to generate some electricity to at least provide lighting for the compound?

We know this might be a bit too much of a ‘burning’ issue for you to handle but give us a shock by at least defending this blatant oversight on the government’s part. But remember this whole alternative energy propaganda goes back to even BLP administration (as you pointed out) so don’t insult our intelligence by saying the decision to grant these massively unbelievable inducements to CUL was made before the so-called green economy was part of government’s agenda. Remember also Government is a continuum and only the political actors are temporary.

33. Miller u and your political hogwash wait this a dmocracy an now u expecting govt to force its will upon private business by insisting that they installed solar panels. next you would be asking govt to put penalities onthese entiies for refusing to go green.

34. BTW everytime these corporations improve or upgrade the business the cost is passed on to the customerv .U thinkn it is FREE……shitt

35. But then again u claimed the shareholders own the company so maybe miller u might be expecting them to do all these big time refurbishing . jerk!

36. Ah just hear that somebody went to Parkinson School and assaulted Jeff Broomes
    Say it aint so !

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac:

We all know exposing this administration’s hypocrisy really hurts but you must admit that there is more in the CUL mortar than just the alternative energy pestle especially when your hero Leroy “Green” Verbs Parris is involved.
    Imagine giving away all these tax breaks while your own local and black-owned businesses like ShopSmart continue to feel the strain and pay the taxes but could still have prices competitive with Cost-U-the Same.
    Aren’t you ashamed of your’ black’ government?
    If you still think you have a little common sense remaining it would do you and your sidekick husband a world of good by staying away from engaging in any serious discussion involving corporate (company) law. Let us leave it at that and say a company is a separate legal entity distinct from its owners, alright!

38. Miller……………..as i just posted on another thread, Canada is mobilizing to spend millions from now to the next 5 years to find all those tax dollars hidden in the Caribbean, heard Bim got the largest amount $57 billion, that’s a lot of moola.

39. @ Well Well,

You do realise that they are looking for money that has been deliberately hidden.

The majority of Canadian companies declare their holdings that are in Barbados legitimately.

There is an agreement between Canada and Barbados that allows Canadian companies to use Barbados as a low tax jurisdiction.

The present Canadian Government wants to change that as well.

I suppose Barbados will have to allow more Foreign Banks to replace the 3 Canadian Banks that have dominated banking in Barbados for the last 50 years.

40. Hants……………..yes i realize that, but I have the feeling if the legal entities who are using the tax havens have 57 billion, you can guarantee the dodgers have maybe double or triple that amount.

41. Hants……….I heard if the present PM gets in, that is the plan…..

42. @ac

Your 1.55 pm May 9, 2013 post is bang on, from the point of view of the incremental approach that is used by some persons within and without government in Barbados to create bigger more unwieldy more impersonal government in the country.

The bigger more unwieldy more inefficient more unrational the government becomes the more the imbalance between individual rights and liberties and the power of the government becomes more skewed in favour of the government.

The government of Barbados wickedly stealing more and more of the incomes, payments and transfers of the relevant people, businesses and other entities and calling it TAXATION is a prime example of the majority of people of Barbados being hounded and pounded more and more by government as they lost more and more income, payments and transfers to TAXATION over time.

43. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Well Well Gabriel……………………………you forgot the filament for the light bulb that is used across the world……………a black man who worked with Thomas Edison in Jersey developed this, he never got the credit r patents for it, without the filament, we would not have lighting as we know it…
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Wasn’t he the same guy who was sent over to England to set up the first electrical street lighting there? Again no credit. Just like the watchman at Highland plantation , who discovered that sugar canes are able to grow from seedlings .

44. If alternative energy is a strategic priority of the government then we need to see and feel the energy from them as far as passing the required legislation to make feeding the grid a realistic exercise. It cannot be a strategy for our survival and sustainability but we leave it to the whims and fancy of consumers. This is do or die time!

45. In the Daily Nation Newspaper, Thursday, May 9, 2013, Mr Clyde Mascoll writes “that in the 11 plus, there is one examination for assessment not set by an individual teacher. This removes the total influence of one teacher or institution on the success of the child”.

Yet, again, Mr Mascoll demonstrates his very strong bias towards the CEE.

Many of the pupils who do well thank many of their school teachers of their particular schools for their influencing their own success in the CEE. Some of the pupils go as far as singling out certain teachers for influencing such success.

As a matter of fact, the role of the teacher in motivating and influencing success out of the pupil/student is one of the most important roles within the education sector in Barbados.

Sometimes when students succeed in any exams, the respective teachers see it as part of their being responsible for the pupils/students’ successes, and they too in turn are motivated to continue in their teaching professions, as some of their pedagogic objectives are realized.

The influence of teachers on students’ learning is impossible to remove in the testing process.

So, here is yet another fallacious argument that is being used by another person in view of his position on the retention for the time being of this old archaic backward unfair CEE exam in this country.

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

46. @PDC

Your contribution like Mascoll’s and other commenters is subjective and anecdotal. We need to see greater evaluation measurement analysis to help public discourse.

47. @ David
    It is also distracting discussion from the substantive moot, which is a critical one.
    Sorry for Bushie’s role in that…. 🙂

48. Is there not an FTC hearing on the subject today at Sherbourne?

49. @Bush Tea

There has been a lot of criticism about the role of the BL&P in the national policy to diversify our energy needs. Bizzy Williams made the point recently: why is the sole generator and distributor of fossil energy up front and centre? BL&P needs to be at the discussion table but not leading the discussion.