Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Chris Sinckler has promised to revisit the MTFS

How many more pleas must go unanswered? How much longer must we furl deaf ears? It should be a foregone conclusion by now that the present Barbados economy is about to stall, flat line even, if something drastic is not done by the current administration to revive the patient, who being in the ICU for sometime now, will soon be at a point of no return.

Barbados is in need of a stimulus injection to restart commercial activity and encourage consumers to spend. Not a $600 million stimuli towards capital projects and public works that will inevitable once more find its way feeding certain “big guts horse,’ but a package that will see the now sleeping money multiplier re-engaged. What’s the sense in commercial activity staggering while boasting of  lush green pastures of 16 weeks in foreign reserves on the other end?

Common sense must be exercised while being frugal, given desperate opportunity cash is needed in circulation to kick start the economy. Was it not the President of the BCCI Mr. Lalu Vaswani  during a recent pixel, who renewed the disinter call for the removal of a now arguable 2.5 % increase Vat? His rationale as with many others …. once short term taxation has become regressive, it must be removed, in hope of  re-gearing consumer spending power and encouraging employers to re-hire.

When construction magnate COW Williams has indicated that even his wages bill is not inexhaustible, and workers must be trimmed, when many small business premises in Bridgetown are closing daily (dropping like flies) and landlords are being accused of festering exorbitant rent, then is the time to reconsider your Medium Term Fiscal Plan (MTFP.  Is it really working?

To repudiate courts certain folly and does nothing but become dogma and infuriate the situation even more. It is time to take off the blinkers and be more receptive. We are not sitting it out as some would have it, but more like awaiting an inevitable avalanche. Time to take evasive action is now.

1. old onion bags Avatar

Ha ha finally ..this should surely grab acs and Carson’s attention….I await the fallout from Clone… and the others of course..lol

2. cuh dear onions ! but we not gonna Privatise! The bottom been falling out according to you and the other BLP yardflows for over five years and the captain been sleeping but somehow the ROCK still standing ground.

3. Clearly AC must mean Another C&$t. Where is the rock staining ground? The tourism sector? No. Agriculure? No. Manufacturing? No. Construction? NO. The distributive trade? No. Tell us please MR another C&$t where is the rock standing gound.

4. @AC
    U appreciate it took Japan more than 5 yrs before their ” bottom fell out” and had to be handed back to them. Japan is now 23 yrs into DEPRESSION! Panasonic and Sony et al getting killed by competition. Be caurous on the crowing!

5. St George's Dragon Avatar

Just a point of clarification. There is no $600 million stimulus package. $300 of it is normal capital expenditure which would have been in the Estimates this year (and previous years). The other $300 million is projects like the cruise ship terminal and Bay Street marina which were always planned.
    There is no new money. There is no stimulus package.

6. Before we descend into political tribalism take note that a big ingredient to Barbados recovery is the Prime Minister and his team working to infuse confidence in the people and by extension the market. It will not happen by the divisive environment which currently exist. The BCC, Private Sector Agency, ICAB, BHTA have all had their say not complimentary of government’s policies. Bottomline, the NIS cannot be used to ‘stabilized’ the economy forever. Something has got to give. Let us WAIT to see what these polices are which the MoF has promised.

7. There is nothing wrong with the Barbados economy that current model can really solve. This so-called Keynesian solution has been tried elsewhere with no positive results. The reverse of massive government spending has also been tried in many other places with no positive results either. We dare to argue that everything in between has been tried in all the other places with a lack of positive results. This suggestion that merely printing money, for printing money’s sake, will just temporarily stop the hunger pains in a few bellies but in the medium and long terms will either result in an indirect transfer to the corporate elites at home or abroad. So this ‘stimulus’ business as a solution represents an imprecision.

We suggest that if the government is to have a $600MM injection they should not be only thinking about ‘heads and guts’. They might want to consider investments that could include sustainably reducing imports; boost net foreign earnings; drastically reducing spending on health care while improving outcomes; liking education spending to the propensity of the system to produce knowledge which will must be turned into technologies that can be patented and industrialized; and target a new breed of entrepreneur. But all this is tinkering. Fundamentally, the very definition of Barbados as an island state need to be revisited. Barbados should be redefined in geo-political, geo-strategic terms. Concept of territoriality are fast becoming quaint. Meaning that Bajans living abroad would be recognized as FULL citizens, required to pay taxes, given rights to votes. Overnight the population base will increase to 1.5 million.

8. I like this quote……………..” Not a $600 million stimuli towards capital projects and public works that will inevitable once more find its way feeding certain “big guts horse,’

9. Pacha………………..on a perfect island with leaders who would listen, that is a start.

10. How does the Government of Barbados collect taxes from a “Barbadian” who is resident in say Hamilton, Canada, has Canadian residency and other than occasional visits home has no intention to return to Barbados to live?

11. Ping…………….i was just about to interject that Bajans don’t really see other Bajans who live abroad as true citizens, that was the one grey area i saw, however, i do believe Bajans who do business in Canada can either pay their taxes in Barbados and/or Canada unless things have changed, it’s a matter of choice.

12. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

hahahah More Jokes, stimulus package was spent to buy the last votes, all the money gone , Now time to raise the VAT to 20% to get it back , minus a fee for moving up the VAT ,,
    Every one run from the word Audit ,
    Chris Sinckler has promised to revisit the MTFS@ As Violet Beckles said he a good crook .

13. old onion bags Avatar

@ Well Well
    Irony of it all as St.George Dragon has ably put it….money? what money?
    Perceptions at their finest…..that is why one must consider removing the 2.5% Vat….more money in hand should translate in more spend….re-engaging of the money multiplier…more sales means.. more sales clerks, at least a realistic attempt to startup Bridgetown….fa real tings dat bad..

14. Long after the party colors have rotted away, the rock will still be standing……..people fade, rocks don’t.

15. Old Onions………….i believe it was last year that Sinckler said he was not putting money into the economy (people’s hands) just for them to spend it, guess he did not know at that time what the word stimulus (stimulating an economy) meant…………….it totally escaped him that when you put money in people’s hand to spend it circulates and stimulates the economy……now i am beginning to question what he thought it meant.

16. Maybe Pachamama is suggesting some sort of cess to be levied on Barbadians resident outside of Barbados. Citizenship of Barbados for those living outside of Barbados for more than a year will be required to receive permission to do so and to pay a yearly cess of $i 000 (US) or file income taxes (whichever is more) or lose their citizenship. So if there are 1 million Barbadians who live outside of Barbados who think it important to maintain their Barbadian citizenship this would contribute $1 billion (US) yearly to Barbados. Barbados then would guarantee certain benefits like education, health care, elderly care, pension schemes etc as incentives to maintain citizenship.

17. Let us admit it, the guys are making it up as they go along.

Wonder if BLPNationnewspaer read Pat Hoyos and Michael Howard columns today.

18. @Pacha

How can we reduce importation when the government has sent the signal recently to give concession to retailer Cost U Less? Where is the sense in it?

19. Obviously it made perfect sense to the government at that time, knowing it would definitely escape their sheeple and maybe if they were lucky, other people.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Ping Pong | May 5, 2013 at 11:24 AM |

……..worthy consideration

21. Ping Maybe you could tax the people that have houses on the island that they rent out abroad and just have the people go stay there without the money ever entering the island. They only pay property tax, not tax on income earned in barbados.Maybe that is one reason to keep residency.

22. @ David

The Cost U Less issue would represent an anomaly, of course. That is the nature of the ‘system’. That could be considered a political decision not economic, an ambiguity! Obviously destined to fail. The cost of food can only be lowered, in the medium and long term by locallizing or regionalizing production. In the best of worlds production should be near to the consumers (citizens), not coming from miles away. That model is too costly and can’t work for much longer. Some people seemed to have recognized this. You don’t like us to see ‘red’. But if Bajan are to take ownership of our food security problem we must talk about land reform/ownership, improved organic agricultural methods, etc. You will not want to argue that we should be working on other peoples’ land, would you? All the easy political-economy problems have already been solved. Those remaining cannot be solved in the absence addressing the underlying issues.

23. Let me state that I am not clear on Pachamama’s ideas but instead of just rejecting those ideas I am trying to see if there is some value to be had. Who knows? So continuing…

I do not know what life is like for those living outside of Barbados. I suspect that provision for things like education, health care especially major issues like surgery, cancer care etc, retirement particularly for those very old and infirm appear to be daunting for these Barbadians. It would appear that Barbados at present can provide all these services at near or even better level than the so called developed world and at a much lower cost. Therefore to induce Barbadians resident abroad to pay $1000/year, Barbados will ensure that state-of-the-art provision of these services be available here at the same price that resident Barbadians pay. These funds can be managed by the NIS which would own and operate boarding schools, hospitals, retirement homes, be part of the governing body of UWI etc. Barbados could even negotiate short term employment access to the USA, Canada and the UK for Barbadians on condition that health care, employee benefits (disabilty, sickness, etc) would be provided by Barbados. The idea is that Barbadians could access the world for work and investment but would invest their money in Barbados for the provision of social services and human development activities.

24. Ping………………….i see absolutely nothing wrong with that.

25. @ Ping Pong

No! We are suggesting a different vision of what the country is or can be. We are not merely talking about a CESS. We are talking about a strategic redefinition of the country in terms that are not limited to 166 square miles. For example, Bajan living abroad may have an unusual access to vast capital but they have no means to leverage the Barbados government and play a bigger role in the world in a way that could help Barbados, potentially more than tourism. A redefinition of Barbados should not stop at concept like ‘team Barbados’ that some people like to talk about but should start with a project to know what the population of Barbadians and they descendants are, everywhere. Why can’t Bajans living in California, let say, have a member of parliament in a Barbados assembly? Or Bajan living in England. This construction could bring all the talents of a far greater number of people to bear on current problems.

26. old onion bags Avatar

To further enhance the benefits of Ping Pongs proposal…a further five year guaranteed airport speed clearance on visits to self n souse…..if later wish to be a returning national enhanced benefits as to repatriated property and any taxations and the like …..all by retaining yearly status for $1,000 US…nice going Pong

27. @Pacha

And this is the point about CUL. The same decision makers who decided that CUL would SIGNIFICANTLY drive down food price are the same who would have to emancipate their minds to even entertain your brainstorming of creating a ‘virtual barbados’.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Onions bags writing again.

Do you think you will get it right this time around onions?

Or are you just writing because you have a lot of free time on your hands?

But I want to ask you just a couple of questions, do you think that Mia will survive to the next elections as leader?

Or you people plan to dump her again but early this time around?

After all a former American Ambassador said that she is not too bright!!!!!

29. Alvin Cummins Avatar

@Pachamama:
    Your quote, “We suggest…they should not be only thinking about head and guts. they might want to consider investments that could include sustainably reducing imports.(1)
    Alright, in this respect what have they been doing so far, and what have been the alternatives offered? first of all i have difficulty understanding a number of things profferred by a number of people. For instance, St George’s Dragon says that “there is no $600 million stimulus package. He says that “$300 million of it is “normal” [my quotation marks]. Capital expenditure.” Does he mean that it is “normal” to spend $300 million on capital expenditure every year? I think not. He also says that $300million is “projects like the cruise ship terminal and Bay Street marina, ” whichwere always planned”. They might have been planned but they were not implemented. So if they are NOW being implemented, this new injection of funds has to be considered a “stimulus”. According to the dictionary definition a stimulus is -among other things- anything that may have an influence or impact on a system, or quickens an action. So therefore both the injection of funds for Capital projects and the new projects has to be considered a “stimulus package.” So St. George’s Dragon’s attempts to denigrate Govt’s “simulus” package fall flat in the face of logic.
    Back to Pachamama; I would think that the messages Government have been sending about the need for using (a) alternative forms of energy, and putting theri money behind it, would be within the category of (1). You also blithely say “boost foreign earnings but offer no suggestions. In my opinion the grants to the hotel industry and the provision of additional funds to the Ministry of Tourism, and other incentives to diversify the tourism product, and the emphasis on buying more Bajan, and cutting down on imports indicates the intention to move in this direction.
    You also talk about “Drastically” reducing spending on Health Care, while improving outcomes.” This statement requires clarification since in the absence of specifics, as a calypsonian once sang “it ent saying a ping or a pang.” Similarly your statement of “liking education spending…and target a new breed of entrepreneurs. high sounding words that cannot stand up to scrutiny.
    All Barbadians regardless of location, are FULL citizens and should feel so, since they are able to enjoy the benefits of citizens living there (in Barbados) continuously. Even if they cannot vote in the elections; the advent of “streaming” of events, by both parties, still enables Barbadians overseas to connect with the homeland. I watched platform speeches by both parties every night of the last election from the comfort of my living room. A bajan living in England (pensioner) can still ride free on the Transport board busses. When he returns home(England or Canada) he still has to pay bus fare.
    @Old Onion Bags. How much more money was being spent before the 2.5% in VAT. Give me figures and facts. “fa real tings dat bad.” BULL!!. That slogan was used in the last election. DWD (Dun wid dat.)

30. Alvin Cummins Avatar
    Alvin Cummins

Further to Pacha.. Are you sugggesting that a Barbadian living in California or elsewhere overseas hsould be “granted” a seat in the House of Assembly? Should he not contest the seat by offering himself to the electorate? i am sure that there is no restriction on ANY Barbadian offering him/herself as a candidate in any election. So enter the contest and see if you win a seat. Regardless of who you are or where you come from you cannot just be “given” a seat. Come again.

31. TAXATION is one of the biggest problems that this country has faced since being settled by the English in 1627, and that has been creating other problems for this country.

TAXATION must be removed by a coalitional government from the political landscape of this country before it helps to reduce Barbados to essentially a barren desolate wasteland of opportunities.

TAXATION must be replaced by the appropriate political financial psychological strategies and approaches that are going to help bring back prosperity and progress to this country.

TAXATION is an abomination.

32. old onion bags Avatar

BWF…. Mathematician Alvin awake boi…You want figs. which at this time no one can accurately supply….but I can tell you what the MOF was sayin before elections and which I assure you would have continued in an all out effort not to lose votes…”$120 million Vat in bounce cheques” in July ( all uncollectable as businessmen were broke as hell after the last budget austerity measures).. .then I call upon your common sense Alvin….If local sales were on the drastic decline BEFORE the 2.5% Vat increase….unless your e-10 exponent in error. switched on….would you expect sales to increase, and Govt to collect more Vat at the higher rate?. Definitely not Alvin. …What elections mantra what Alvin…Vat never was up as an issue on any platform..but there again …you not being here..wouldnt know.
    Increasing Vat was a bad idea…..when in tandem with cutting middle class allowances….only the IMF would recommend such a doa doa

33. Tired and uninspired Avatar
    Tired and uninspired

@Pachamama
    Charge bajans overseas to maintain a barbados passport?! How ridiculous, which idiot would bother to pay? Anybody can come here for free as a tourist, why would an overseas resident bajan, who is paying taxes overseas spend $’000 a year for a passport?!? Especially if they already have another? So they can be treated like $hit in the caricom nationals line at the airport? just to visit family? Stupes I’d chuck mine in the bin and head to St Lucia for some sea and sun if they ever did that? Gov could as well go sell bajan citizenship to the highest bidder if taxing passports is the only way we can dream up to solve our economic problems.

It’s a moot point anyway, fact is we’re f*cked. Government ministers either sorting themselves out or if they give a $hit about the rest of us they are crossing their fingers and hoping for the best. It is blatantly obvious they have no idea what they are doing and the few things they actually know have to happen to make things better – like reforming the civil service and selling off costly inefficient state entities – they don’t have the balls or skills to attempt.

We could as well hunker down with the finger-crossers and hope we make it through the storm.

34. Observer posted the VAT numbers on another blog a couple days ago. Except for 2010 which buck the trend by a few million VAT revenues have trend upwards.

It is unfortunate we have Alvin and co who are not prepared to explore new idea/ways of replanking our economy. Old ways will not cut it.

35. old onion bags Avatar

One must be wary of bunching figures and posting without source…think you should know that…The fig we should be interested in is Domestic Consumer spend…which by all logic would be DOWN.

36. I have no brief for either political party.

I encourage readers to understand that this remark only seeks to promote a viable alternative

Some state categorically that Sugar is dead. Tourism, according to wiser commentators than I could ever be, is said to be dying. Offshore financial institutions are closing down and/or moving to other more “amenable” jurisdictions.

We have to look at alternative strategies to bolster our economy because this recession, and increasing violent crime, doesn’t really care if you are a DLP or BLP supporter.

I was trained to kill people and I can tell you that a bullet moving out of the barrel of a gun, at 3110 ft/sec, does not stop to ask if you are BLP or DLP.

Devaluation also will not give any preferential treatment or privileges to the money spent by the 5% “white people” , over that of the 95% Bajans who are black.

Recently, post the Boston bombing, the EU announced that it is seeking an upgrade to its cross border solutions to address the situation where “a visitor can enter Turkey” and disappear into the EU space”.

A few months before this bombing a child boarded a Jet2.com plane and flew all the way from Manchester to Rome, WITHOUT a passport.

Here we are in 2012 and a first world country like the UK doesn’t realize that a boy is on a plane and Barbados “a third world country” has a citizen who is the holder of the patent that inviolably manages this traveller information

My 2003 patent can be accessed by googling the internet. A careful read of the techie gibber show a system where the recent use of fake passports from EU countries and Australia (see the assassination of Mahmoud Al-Mabhouh) or this errant child flying from London to Rome would never have occurred if the Global Origin and Destination Information System (G.O.D.I.S) had been promoted by my regional governments as the Cross Border Solution to the rest of the World.

Imagine that, a regionally supported initiative, where one, or multiple governments, could have benefited from its US$1/ visitor record. In the USA, that is $253M visitors a year.

If the vision of our CARICOM governments then, was like that of the Department of Homeland Security in 2005, we might even have been reaping billions instead of millions of dollars.

See http://www.hrotoday.com/news/2837/accenture-wins-10B-border-security-deal

Yes, I always seem to be advertising my ICT solutions (or suing someboby).

I make no excuse for looking for honest work through promoting my solutions after all, imagine if I were part of the criminal faction looking to develop systems which bridged alarms, intercepted and scrambled CCTVs or wireless transmissions and pursuing other, (not-so-fanciful in today’s world) ideas.

Might I suggest something?

Instead of pursuing a few of these Emperor’s clothes ideas and building marinas for $300M or $600M (depending on which political party you ask) for tourists that Mr Loveridge and other tourism experts confirm did not arrive or are not coming, why not put 1/100 of that in an ICT Unit?

IP of “that madman Weekes” and other pragmatic “low hanging fruit ideas” could be funded there?

Is it possible for say the Office of the Ministry of Finance to craft an “intervention/project” where 11th EDF (or other) funds (some that currently seem so hard for ACP members to access) might be mobilized and allocated to an ICT initiative, one which bundles several “approved” initiatives, to meet immediate and practical solutions?

But then again that would mean “supporting that uppity fellow Weekes, the one who is suing CARICOM (and from the looks of it may sue the Geriatric Hospital) so we MUST confine his idea forthwith to file 99”

For those persons who may respond to my humble suggestions, I wish first to make the disclaimer that David Weekes is not suggesting that his ICT solutions will solve around the economic woes of Barbados, i only think that this is an alternative for consideration

37. @Onions

The point addresses your assertion the government has been collecting less VAT revenues.

Haven’t the BLP economists including Mascoll been saying that government has an expenditure and not revenue problem?

38. Sinckler got what he wanted, he wanted to be Min of Finance. The worst Min of Finance in the history of Barbados.

The Froon really giving him a long ass rope to hang himself.

39. How quickly we forget. When PRT operated from the Harbour Road a few years ago – a software company reported to support Fortune 500 companies, the lament by company management was that our ICT knowledge base was below par to adequately serve as a labour supply. The result, the Harbour Road became flooded with Injuns.

If we have a native son of the soil who appears to be a gorillaphant in this field why not hold hands to explore a new way? Instead we have these politicians in suits doing the same old bullshit and expecting a different result.

40. old onion bags Avatar

Besides…
    Under the perpetual system of accounting now adopted by Govt..$120 Million in bounced Vat cheques would be included in as Revenue receivable..til deemed uncollectable…inflated revenue figs. !
    We would need to know what is the current Admin. policy on when to recognise Revenue before further speakin on this one….but knowin they lookin for highest revenues to report.. one could well venture a guess.

41. Why would the PM knowingly allow Sinckler to do shite? Is Sinckler the minister of a rum shop in Black Rock?

42. @Onions

Very same point was made by Observer. How much of the VAT is owed by government agencies? BU has included the 25million reported to be owed by Courts Barbados.

43. David Weekes………………never apologize for your ingenuity, successive governments were yammering on and on about technology blah blah and has someone right their with patented technology, they will all be calculating the money you will make with their intensely evil bad minds instead of promoting you and bringing untold millions or billions to the island……………..they prefer suffer than see you be enriched.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Tired and uninspired | May 5, 2013 at 1:39 PM |

………….Never expected all to be patriotic….some will come to your party eat your food and drink you drinks and neva contibute a cent…such as.

45. Tired and uninspired,

Well said.

Remember the DLP senator that recently suggested such foolishness that persons who are bringing barrels filled with miscellaneous items for their own personal, medical or commercial purposes into this country, that their incomes, payments and transfers must be taxed over such barrels.

What idiotic foolishness!!

No creativity imagination were shown by the particular individual.

And this is so many times repeated in this country: where some ministerial fool lacks critical analytical thinking skills, wholly misthinks that simply TAXING the remunerations of individuals, businesses, and other entities in this country, is par for the course in addressing their own intellectual financial deficits; and that many Barbadians will continue to simply accept the government continuing to steal from the remunerations.

Well, eventually these louts must be given the rudest awakening ever as many country men women and children move toward achieving freedom from TAXATION.

46. @ Tired and Uninspired

You know very little about a lot and addressed what we didn’t say with your imperfect understanding, to put it mildly. Anybody, who is an American citizen has to file American taxes every year, regardless to where they may reside. There is precedence. But we are not suggesting a one way structure. On the one hand there are Bajans and their descendants in exile all over the world that need the protection of a sovereign government, with all that involves. On the other hand the government of Barbados needs to build strategic relations with citizens elsewhere for our mutual survival. You are talking about taxes but we see that issue as minor compared to all the other economic, political, diplomatic and cultural benefits we envision.

47. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

Freedom from Taxation ?
    Not in this world nor the next to come or the one that went before

48. There is absolutely no way that any person, business or other relevant entity in Barbados could OWE government any money in evil wicked TAXATION.

There is no where any body any business any entity OWES or can OWE the government any portions of income, payments, and transfers in evil wicked TAXATION.

Those who are told that they owe the government must refuse to give the government anymore of your remunerations under some false fraudulent pretense that you owe the government taxes.

The talk about anybody OWING the government money in TAXATION is akin to saying that any person owes a thief or a robber their property!!

49. @ Pachamama

“liking education spending to the propensity of the system to produce knowledge which will must be turned into technologies that can be patented and industrialized; and target a new breed of entrepreneur”

I hear you loud and clear. 4 lines that condense my “lot of long talk” 44.

Unfortunately, Pacha here is a reality check.

Barbados has 2 qualified patent lawyers, K2T is a huge spectrum and various technologies require specific expertise that may not be resident here.

Good patents, the ones which will withstand intense scrutiny in a court of law.

Ability to secure and pay for Legal Representation in the jurisdiction where your patent is infringed. $$ to travel and contest claims in the jurisdiction where patent infringed.

Capacity to effect product to market or productization. HR to effect commercialization via licensing, franchise, geographic regions, subdivided/prescribed by claim element,

Very few commercial local banks will finance ICT or intangible assets and of the 10 government micro enterprise Development institutions only two will venture out into this un-chartered space with government funding.

Withing those institutions 5% of staff know about ICT and .01% of the committee’s which are appointed to make the decisions know about IP.

Sometimes that is why it takes 44 lines to detail what your eloquent 4 can never convey.

50. @David Weekes and Pacha

This business about our ability to register and defend patents is why the Cultural Industries Bill is not worth the paper it is printed.