Submitted by Old Onions Bag
Chris Sinckler has promised to revisit the MTFS

How many more pleas must go unanswered? How much longer must we furl deaf ears? It should be a foregone conclusion by now that the present Barbados economy is about to stall, flat line even, if something drastic is not done by the current administration to revive the patient, who being in the ICU for sometime now, will soon be at a point of no return.

Barbados is in need of a stimulus injection to restart commercial activity and encourage consumers to spend. Not a $600 million stimuli towards capital projects and public works that will inevitable once more find its way feeding certain “big guts horse,’ but a package that will see the now sleeping money multiplier re-engaged. What’s the sense in commercial activity staggering while boasting of  lush green pastures of 16 weeks in foreign reserves on the other end?

Common sense must be exercised while being frugal, given desperate opportunity cash is needed in circulation to kick start the economy. Was it not the President of the BCCI Mr. Lalu Vaswani  during a recent pixel, who renewed the disinter call for the removal of a now arguable 2.5 % increase Vat? His rationale as with many others …. once short term taxation has become regressive, it must be removed, in hope of  re-gearing consumer spending power and encouraging employers to re-hire.

When construction magnate COW Williams has indicated that even his wages bill is not inexhaustible, and workers must be trimmed, when many small business premises in Bridgetown are closing daily (dropping like flies) and landlords are being accused of festering exorbitant rent, then is the time to reconsider your Medium Term Fiscal Plan (MTFP.  Is it really working?

To repudiate courts certain folly and does nothing but become dogma and infuriate the situation even more. It is time to take off the blinkers and be more receptive. We are not sitting it out as some would have it, but more like awaiting an inevitable avalanche. Time to take evasive action is now.

1. Miller………….AC, CArson, those two are quiet like church mice…. they must be listening to the debate in parliament……………Gotta admit, the IMF did not give them a long honeymoon period of boasting rights, we tried to warn them but they had that glow of…………GOTCHA…….. will guess who the IMF got now…………..all in all, the island will just have to rise again, unfortunately as according to Cheltenham, they will have to do so without the brightest or the best political leaders and i include both divides, and he should know of what he speaks.

2. old onion bags Avatar

Now we have brazen robbers going up UWI and stealing phones and wallets at gun point……when no money circulating to the bottom…..bottom will attack the top…. it’s not rocket science

…………..a stitch in time again can save nine..what will it take

3. @OOB et al
    Tell the robbers to attack the truly culpable ones, those who fail to lead the Nation and are corrupt and thieving the peeps $$$$ BUT NOT creating the right environment for JOBS CREATION!

4. BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT Avatar
    BARBADIANONOVERSEASVISIT

@Well
    what was chetlehams’s contibution to polical life in Barbados? I think we concentrate too much on academic brightness, and not commitment and dedication to political development. Those are the hall mark of a good politician, in addition to an understanding social and economic issues, These are factors that must not be divorced from one another. The problem is, politicans are using power to advance their political nepotistic agenda. Plain and simple.

5. gogo comments
    Barbadian
    –good toooooo go -comments
    like much

6. old onion bags Avatar

……BEST-esttttt part….MOST THEM now got pension fa LIFE (imagine)…cud ya want it any better?..TALK ? TALK bout wha? ..all ya better GET REAL..

@ BARBADIANLIVIN OVERSEAS

The problem is, politicans are using power to advance their political nepotistic agenda……..so why ya tink they here?

7. Message from you prime Minister Avatar
    Message from you prime Minister

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

8. Message from you prime Minister Avatar
    Message from you prime Minister

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

9. I really love your blog.. Pleasant colors & theme.
    Did you create this amazing site yourself?
    Please reply back as I’m trying to create my very own site and would like to learn where you got this from or what the theme is called. Many thanks!

10. Barbados is in need of a stimulus injection to restart commercial activity and encourage consumers to spend. Not a $600 million stimuli towards capital projects and public works that will inevitable once more find its way feeding certain “big guts horse,’ but a package that will see the now sleeping money multiplier re-engaged. What’s the sense in commercial activity staggering while boasting of lush green pastures of 16 weeks in foreign reserves on the other end?

Reserves @ 13weeks now…………bonds sunk ( ex-ante float)….tell me someone are we too late …wid d stitches i mean….newblood you hang tite I will deal wid u when I get back pun D rock……souse in Moscov ent like back home …… e-gadd !…who F-ing wid my IP back home…?

11. @old onion bags unfortunately the BLP would not manage the economy any better if they were in power. Owen had a good run in very good times when “land could be put to its best use” and the world economy was booming.

Barbados needs leadership that understands the need to dramatically change the economy.

The economy has been dependent on external investment to support the purchase of imported goods. Nobody expected that the world economy would enter a period of continuous slow growth.

Barbados at best produces about 10% to 20% of what it needs to support an island with 280,000 people.

Barbados has to become more self sufficient and accept that you have to trade in the Lexus for Corolla.

Begging and borrowing from the rich countries is not a sustainable solution.

12. @ Hants

So sorry for the late reply but I have been unintentionally ‘tied up’ lately….anyway bout your proffer….save it , you don’t sound like you able to convince even Ya self…..Tell me something Hants…..when last you been to the Rock ? ….Go down Batts Rock and have a look at that waste called Four Seasons….where millions after millions were just pumped into a Jacobs Horse nostril….$ 500 million or so….next time you here go have a look….I remember people from our side BEGGING DEM to stop D foolishness and save poor Almond still a going concern…but No ….we hear FS got investors lining up….how it will be the saviour of Barbados… a whole lotta shiite talk….People enuff on BU wrote articles begging DEM to ease up on taxes as the Laffey Curve Effect was evident ..but NO again….we heard ..”is we turn now, let us do it our way.”…Mo shiite…I remember OSA and Dr. Clyde Mascoll begging dem …don’t kill off the lil trade in B’town wid all dem taxes….using the analogy of a aeroplane tryin to take off…But Mo No….alota rasclott….Doan tell me bout the economy then Hants .tell me bout NOW!…..why Barbados cant even show a lil growth til 2016…and we got a GOCB saying don’t worry bout 2014 or 2015….think 2016…