Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Sir Leroy Trotman (l), Minister of Labour Byer-Sukoo (r)

For some time, we have warned that the trade union movement in Barbados was being marginalized. The coziness with employers brought about by the so-called Social Partnership, has long been a cause of concern to the Mahogany Coconut Group. The frequent love fests of the employers’ representatives and the union bosses were brilliant public relations stunts designed to fool those who don’t understand the treachery inherent in such exercises.” – Mahogany Coconut Blog 1/11/2013

BWU General Secretary, Sir Roy Trotman said more specifically, his union’s decision to cut ties with CTUSAB was simply put , in an effort to prevent a deliberate effort to marginalize the Barbados Workers Union…………….He explained that this meant his organization would not have a voice at the Social partnership.” – Barbados Today, 19/04/2013

We are not in the business of saying: We told you so. At the same time, we must state that the rumblings in the so-called Social Partnership have been rampant for some time. However, they reached a peak when the BWU refused to back down from its stance with LIME and certain politicians already in bed with LIME wanted to pressure the union.

The BWU is seen as the major block, by some power breakers, in selling our country lock stock and barrel in the name of privatization. We are aware of Sir Roy’s political journey and it has its historical birth in pro masses thinking and political orientation. We are therefore not surprised that he cannot abandon his philosophical moorings to accommodate political opportunism, cronyism and economic blackmail, as his leadership of the BWU reaches retirement. He would not want a legacy of having sold out the workers. We therefore stand squarely behind him on this occasion.

What we find even more alarming is the charge by Sir Roy of a conspiracy between the Ministry of Labour and other “trade unionists” to undermine the BWU. While we cannot identify the other trade unionists, we publicly call on the current Minister of Labour, Dr. Esther Byer- Suckoo to respond to Sir Roy’s charges which are essentially against the Government of Barbados. This charge by Sir Roy cannot be taken lightly.

We will not be moved from our position that those who are promising the world, if the unions were to disappear, did the same thing under Margaret Thatcher and Ronald Reagan. We warn workers in Barbados and the entire Caribbean, that the destruction of Unions will be the final blow against true social and economic justice. We are now seeing the results of Reagan/Thatcher policies, as countries climb to higher levels of unemployment, while the employers get richer and richer. We were therefore stunned, to say the very least, when Margaret Thatcher was so lionized on her recent passing. She and Reagan tried to dismantle the trade union movements in their countries.

We have some of similar ilk amongst us, and they must not be allowed to hold the sword of unemployment over the heads of workers, in order to get their way and execute the final rape of not only Barbados but the entire region.

The Social Partnership is nothing more than political/ corporate public relations. We firmly believe that its value to the trade union movement and workers is nothing more than a dangerous mirage.

175 responses to “Barbados Workers Union Boots CTUSAB”

1. old onion bags Avatar

Sometimes one must be cautious with moves by The Duke of York….(not NY)….for those who remember..

2. David this is well written however remenber the things we were warning about during the NUPW elections –well i shall get back to the whole issue tomorrow —you may and will see the relationship between the union leaders and Government . please recall that caswell had written a post about those who were rewared

3. @erice

Still see the NUPW result as mind boggling. About 1,000 members voting out of 10, 000. Incredible. Those elected should feel ashamed.

4. Is it not time for Sir Roy to depart the labour scene and enjoy his just rewards?

5. Sir Roy leaving the BWU is a matter for his council members not so? What matters here is whether his accusation is correct i.e. that the ministry of labour and CTUSAB have conspired to out him from representing at the ILO.

6. @David

The Union turn out, as with the political turn out would be low because the people are a bit fed up with the unions, yes they do protect workers etc. But a lot of underhand deals are made that somehow don’t seem as being in the interest of the workers. Only self gratifying. I was wondering though when Sir Roy goes, who is really there to lead the BWU? Now that young Julian Hunte is no longer there, some how it seems a little cloudy.

7. This stupid stance taken by Sir Leroy has nothing to about protecting BWU from anything. It is a dishonest attempt by him to mislead the country. This is all about Trotman trying to install his pet clown as Barbados’ labour representative at the International Labour Organization.

Prior to the formation of CTUSAB, there was no congress of trade unions in this country. Because of that BWU being the largest trade union occupied Barbados’ seat as the most representative body in this country.

Contrary to popular belief, BWU is not a member of the ILO: Barbados is the member and is represented by a representative from Government, one from the employers and one from labour. This tantrum in as teacup is Trotman’s way of trying to blackmail the Government and labour movement so that he can get his way in choosing his successor.

Trotman’s move might not hurt the labour movement: it might just unintentionally strengthen it. As a first step it might destroy the so-called Social Partnership which has been a tool to keep workers in subjection. It only springs into action when government and employers are seeking co-operation from labour. The workers do not benefit from this sell-out arrangement.

8. @Caswell

Do you deny that the BWU has the largest membership in Barbados?

9. There is a young female who has been working assiduously under Sir Roy. Hopefully, she has taken in most of what he has been passing on – I mean what bits of trade union philosophy and tactic parts they may have discussed.
    They are well on the way to having the leader they preferred all along, irrespective of the level of respectability, decency, common sense, decorum and the ability to look any employer in the face KNOWING that you have never begged them for anything. Hunte left there and then was subject to what Trotman hoped would be public ridicule in the newspapers. This hopefully only served too show what a nasty little imp Trotman is.

CTUSAB was threatened with eviction from the time it started to ask questions about the role of a Trade Union congress at ILO. When they realized the potential to upset the plan for Ms Moore, Roy started to rumble. These people must start telling the truth!

10. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

In 1984 BWU had 30,000 members that was its highest ever membership. Since then it numbers has declined steadily to the point where it is now collecting dues from just under 10,000 people. Trotman’s boast of 25,000 members is just propaganda.

11. CTUSAB, in my humble opinion is as Caswell says, ” only springs into action when government and employers are seeking co-operation from labour. ” Hopefully it would soon be allowed to RIP.

12. Trade Union/Human Rights leaders should know & do better than this; than to:
    Call female members of staff to their offices & present them with the “Morning-After Pill, stating that they will have to take it the morning after they give sex to the boss- since they don’t want to get pregnant.
    And then when the female refuses to give in, unlike so many of the others, will have privileges like being able to leave early to go to classes or pick up young children, revoked.

Clean your glass windows at Solidarity House.

13. Tell me who or what am I?:
    I gave her $7500 in 50’s & 20’s to buy Richards old car from our place. I then promoted her to the IR Dept as a reward for passing her 4th CXC. After that, to go with the new ‘office’, I bought a brand new Suzuki Swift for her for Christmas 2012. And of course, a $3500 Loius Vitton bag to place in the front seat, for her birthday a few weeks ago.
    Wanna see them? Come to Harmony Hall.
    But after 10:00 – when she gets to work. If she comes.

14. When institutions with the history of the BWU make the ill-advised decisions to get into bed with the so-called private sector to create a coup de tat against any popular government, march with their natural enemies through the length and breadth of Barbados and are so misguided by a man who suffers from Napoleonic syndrome there should be a price to pay for these high crimes and misdemeanors. And certainly when men like this who pretend to care about the masses of workers then accepts a knighthood from the very system that enslaved, colonialised and neo-colonialised us for 500 years, and continuing, there must be a way to rewrite the history of the organization (BWU), the country, in order to remove any vestige that he, Leroy Trotman, ever existed.

Twenty years ago many people knew that this social partnership was merely a ruse to append the aspirations of workers to the interests of capital at the height of this globalization epoch – an order that is unraveling. At the same time there was never any counter-balancing discourse – a narrative that would have seen capital embracing workers in the boardrooms, the ownership structure of corporations and the sharing of all rewards equitably. Leroy Trotman’s ‘legacy’ will properly defined him as a sellout. But he is not alone, Barbados has a rich culture of people like Trotman, Keith Hunte, Hilary Beckles, decent house niggers, who misused the confidence placed in them by the people to subvert the very interests they pretended to represent. And Bajans see these people, generally, as successes. This values system needs to be turned on its head. With all that that involves. Trotman is not a fool. And if ordinary workers could have seen this folly 20 years ago could it then be assumed that he deliberately carried the BWU into a developmental cul de sac? How can the losses in salaries, wages and prestige of the BWU and workers to be assessed? Seems like too high a price for the dispossessed to pay for the for Trotman to hobnob with the corporate elites under a guise of social harmony. David, we see red, again!

15. @ Mayers
    What about the one who was invited to a meeting at a hotel & when she got there, was told that it was not that type of “meeting”; that it was just for the 2 of them, in that special Needhams point room?

16. Pooch

Is she ‘taking’ it all in?
    Are you saying he is bowing at the alter of the ‘triangle’ and has lost all sense of control.

17. Yamma

Who got stuck in Needhams Point and what with?

18. No matter how much he has; and I hear he doesn’t have that much to give anyhow; “she” can take it all. That is not a normal kind of orifice- that is a giant maul worm into which many many many many men place their ……

19. Woe Pacha that was a bouncer.

Agree with you about [Sir] Roy. No way he should have accepted.

20. @ Virtuoso
    The young lady who misinterpreted what was meant by ‘cross-training’. Little did she know that what was meant, was that she would have to volunteer to be spread out cross-way.
    The fare you pay to get out of the Accounts Department is to behave like you picking a fare.

21. @ Yamma
    Is that how the new Dep Gen Sec/Financial Controller, who looks like she wears a balls guard with her tight jeans, get her recent elevation.

22. Yamma
    Did she volunteer or was she forced into an ungodly union lasting but a few minutes. Before the ‘cross training’ was any ‘chanting on the Mic’ required?

23. @Vituoso
    You like you like bare foolishness though!
    Well from what I hear, unless you’re a ‘fluffer’, you are of no use to him. And then after that, it will only be hard in certain parts.
    But the real point is, it is wrong to leave the former Nelson Street headquarters & try to turn a once respected property into the best little “Whare” House in Harmony Hall.

24. You will notice that in this interview done at 2011 ILO Conference in June 2011 she is referred to as Deputy General Secretary. This article was published in January 2012, 7 months after the 2011 ILO Conference- three months before the Executive Council of BWU was told that it had promoted her to Dep. GS, effective April 2012.
    Pay attention to the LIES about a programme designed to help domestic workers, or a hotline for these vulnerable workers to reach BWU. LIES, LIES, LIES

http://www.ituc-csi.org/spotlight-interview-with-toni?lang=en

25. Yamma
    Is this woman not known as the ‘rubber band’ trick master in her former profession?

26. RELOCATION NOTICE Has Pudding and Souse moved to BU?

27. Truthsayer
    She is the one?

28. @Virtuoso
    The Gen Sec in waiting, the next one, the one who tricked Veronica Griffith into giving up the chance to be the first female General Secretary. well, maybe that is not fair to say. VG has to be able to take more than 20 steps before she has to stop to wipe the sweat from her face and to catch her breath.
    But that is The One indeed.
    I have no clue what “Rubber band trick master” means; unless you referring to what was going on in that fancy truck when it was parked out on the beach that night!

29. “We are aware of Sir Roy’s political journey and it has its historical birth in pro masses thinking and political orientation. We are therefore not surprised that he cannot abandon his philosophical moorings to accommodate political opportunism, cronyism and economic blackmail, as his leadership of the BWU reaches retirement. He would not want a legacy of having sold out the workers.”

“He would not want a legacy of having sold out the workers”

this is all about Roy and his legacy. he is a sell out plain and simple. i really hope his time come very soon and he is seen for the fraud he is by all.

30. The time is ripe in Barbados for the formation of a national partnerships movement by some of the most politically conscious capable organized of the broad masses and middle classes. The principal aim will be to ensure that there is an epoch breaking transformation in the lives of persons occupying the lowly status/role of workers working in decrepit exploitative workplaces to these persons fulfilling the status/roles of powerful partners in the ownership of the business of the production and distribution goods and services in this country.

Too, the time is ripe for the only multi-member corporate business entities that shall exist in Barbados are partnerships that are owned by these partners.

The time is ripe in this island for there to be these partnerships that – by way of the enactment of local legislation giving rise to these partnerships – will make sure too that all critical information necessary to the functioning of these models of business organizations are – in whatever ways – accessible to and possessionable by each and every partner in these partnerships – that all remunerations are properly shared amongst each partner according to established criteria – and that each and every partner has a say in the management and coordination and direction of these partnerships.

Therefore, the time is ripe in Barbados for trade unions to be purposefully got the rid of by the broad masses and middle classes in Barbados, to make way for the above mentioned national movement of partnerships in the country.

The time is ripe in Barbados for the broad masses and middle classes to denounce any legislative political measure that is enacted to make sure that as many of them as possible remain workers in this country – Hence, in this regard the recently proclaimed Employment RIghts Act.

31. the points made in the article are clear precise and true . but to add the Powerstructure in Barbados have not forgot or forgiven the socalled racist statements made by Sir Roy over a year ago and for that he must pay a price.

32. @Caswell

Is it fair to state the decision to pull out from CTUSAB was approved by the Council?

33. My difficulty with Sir Roy is when he took over the BWU, he found a mercedes, but convinced the sheep on his council that if the private sector bosses turned up in big rides he MUST have one to. Hence, today he continues to drive a 5 series BMW paid for by the workers hard earn money. I still continue to have a big problem with that.

People followed him to Sam Lords Castle, Rooney’s place in Porters St. James, CBC, Jewel Shop on Broad St, Sandy Lane, Lime , Cable and Wireless. And all of those workers involved were eventually fired or gotten rid of; enormous wasted union energy has been misused by this Union of a man, Sir Roy. What is this legacy that I am hearing about on this blog. Is it a legacy of misadventure?

34. Forgot to mention the money from the port workers pension which the BWU utilizes when many of them, because they could not read and write too well, have not had access to. This is a group of men that the BWU under sir Frank and Sir Roy used as an effective tool as to threaten various governments. But treated them with disdain and contempt in their later years. I shall sit back and read the argument for this legacy of Sir Roy.

35. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Executive Council of BWU is at the very best a rubber stamp for the decision of the General Secretary. I spoke to a member of that council on Saturday who claimed that he agreed but could not tell me on what basis he and others approved the decision. Of course, I enlighten him, and needless to say he is not a happy man.

36. @Caswell

Of course it was a rhetorical question. The same can be stated for the NUPW, BPWCCU, BLP, DLP and BOA, BFA and many other NGOs. This is why a few shadows can so easily pull the strings. Something has serious gone wrong when year after year we spend half billion in education and this is where we find ourselves.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Lemuel

You forgot to mention that the big ride came duty free compliments of the Minister of Finance. And just like Dennis Clarke’s, it is done is done in secret since the BWU is only entitled to receive educational material for the Labour College duty free.

Someone told me that I should check last year’s financial statements and see that Sir Leroy got a hefty travel allowance in addition to his fully maintained car. I would be grateful if someone could let me have sight of theirs.

38. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I know exactly what has gone wrong. The leaders manipulate the elections to ensure that people, who have least benefitted from that 1/2 billion dollars in education, to be on the boards and councils of these organisations. As an example, in 1994, I questioned a member of the NUPW council who had voted to dismiss me, and he said that he did not realise that I was being dismissed that he voted to give me more money because he thought that I deserved it. He did not understand that the money was my severance package. He was continually elected for another 14 years. That is generally the type of membership that constitute the majority on most of these executives.

39. Duke of York ? More like The Duke of Pork. I am in bewilderment after reading the exploits on this blog. I wonder how many others in Big UP positions have been guilty of simular. Yet they toss all on poor Percy and want we to be NICEeeeeeeeeee.

40. Pettines! envy! an jealousy are some of the motivating factors behind lemuel and caswell comments………….The powerbrokers inthis systemwith their hidden agenda would be proud of the divisive tactics being used here to alienate and demonise Sir Roy…………A man by all means is not perfect but one who has been a voice for the voiceless.

41. Pettiness my brassbowl. Have you ever heard of sexual harrassment in the work place , that which all unions should detest. Not perfect just does not cut it Sir.AC, come again. This is one hat that just CANNOT be worn.on a union HEAD

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

What would you do if your boss called you to his office and say to you that he had consulted his obeah woman and that she had informed him that you were working against the interest of the organisation, and that he needs a written apology from you? You would probably say that you would call in your union. However, what would you do if the boss was a union leader?

43. CTUSAB not backing down. Don’t pull the Duke’s tail. Look to a very interesting period. How effective can CTUSAB be without BWU in the mix?

44. This is not about BWU and CTUSAB.It’s about pushing out the dinosaurs Leeeroy,Clifford and Gabby and once a new GS is in place move to down size the influence of BWU at BWA,GAIA and the PORT AUTHORITY ,the trump cards in the ‘strike firmament’ of the BWU.The free supermarket weekly groceries,free hotel rooms and free hotel food would probably continue to try to influence outcomes.Bobby and LeVere have been already sidelined.

45. The press conference say that de BWU was offered a spot on de labour delegation representing Barbados but de short man want to lead and pick who he want so he ent going ….must be had plans to tek de Swift one

46. Gabriel Tackle Avatar

The story is told of Eric Williams when travelling to Africa on his African Safari
    engaged in a game of poker with some of the ministers in the delegation.
    Everyone put money in the pool except Eric.No one had the guts to tell Eric that he ‘en come up’,so everybody waiting.After a while he said ‘seeing all ya ‘en willing to play I tekkin back mih money’and withdrew the entire pool.
    For years Frank and Leroy have been the gurus in the ILO delegations travelling to Geneva almost 3 to 4 times a year,holding down key positions there as Chairman of this and that.Well the young turks not having any more of that so as usual Leroy say he taking up his marbles,game over.’Lil boys games at play here.In cricket the owner of the bat or the ball determines when they are ‘out’ or game ‘on’.Same napoleon syndrome here.Murrell the next napoleon.Watch for a return of Jeff Broomes when he retires and his plans for Mz Redwoman and whoever else.Turbulent days ahead for Stuart and Jones too.Scores to settle guys….

47. Gabriel tackle
    Put up your hand man. But a good joke.

48. Ac
    i is only a little bumly boy; what do i have to be envious about. I can’t lead any delegation any where. How poor me get a power broker and have friends like Bushie.

49. It does seem extreme that Sir Roy pullout of CTUSAB over this matter given what CTUSAB has boasted all these years about what the social partnership brings to the table. Is Sir Roy saying that it was all a sham? Did he react with the same violence when Sandy Lane, Royal Shop and LIME spat in his face?

50. caswell
    What makes the whole thing so stink about the 5 series BMW is that the private sector that he Sir Roy should be at odds with is facilitating the purchase of the said same 5 series BMW. No wonder workers are being fired all over the place and Sir Roy and his cronies, including AC, are feathering their nests.