Submitted by Napolean Bonaparte

Ladies and gentlemen, this is your captain speaking, we have switched to auto pilot but for a short while…

As we sat momentary in silence, confirmation came from over the aircraft’s address system, that it was  business as usual.  Only weeks before, all incoming deputation were put on orange alert before release of any retrogress information.  In the interim, CA heads sought to prelist their take with an uncanny sense of urgency to defer any IMF pending  group therapy. Up pops a most laudable head of union suggesting congestions, which now transmits that certain underlying tectonics forces are at play.  More silence and still more silence…Of clever moves or deception?

All in the games we love to play.

1. Good news for the government that ONE rating agency has no plan to change the credit rating in the short term.

2. That clip is such a load of shit. I really got to consider changing my place ah birth tho’ … too many jackasses knocking around to be exploited by partisan alliances that really has benefit for them in the short, medium and long term. Foolish people … to easily lied to

3. have little benefit ..

4. Good news for the government, in the Tony Best article today Standard & Poor’s has reassured the nation, no downgrades in the SHORT term.

5. Operation Diazpam: it this some kind of a sick joke? This antipsychotic medication is use to control: bipolar disorder in the mentally unstable and schizophrenia in some respects. And you think that’s appropriate to stress the importance of a point that you’re endeavouring to convey?I find it rather offense as someone who is license to administer this medication to this population.

6. I am eagerly anticipating your reasoning for using such a title to emphasized relevancy of your point.

7. The shallowness of the commentary says a lot. Whether the interviewees were adlibing or delivering from a script it tells a story. The people behind the production of the video do not hold the audience in high regard…lol.

8. : is this some kind of a sick joke?

since when has diazepam become an antipsychotic or used to control: bipolar disorder in the mentally unstable and schizophrenia in some respects.

please kindly give your references sir

9. It is clear the author has used the reference to diazepam to suggest the pilot of the plane maybe suffering from its side effects…lol.

10. Valium (diazepam tablets) is indicated for the management of anxiety disorders or for the short-term relief of the symptoms of anxiety. Anxiety or tension associated with the stressof everyday life usually does not require treatment with an anxiolytic.
    In acute alcohol withdrawal, Valium (diazepam tablets) may be useful in the symptomaticrelief of acute agitation, tremor, impending or acute delirium tremens and hallucinosis.
    Valium (diazepam tablets) is a useful adjunct for the relief of skeletal muscle spasm due to reflex spasm to local pathology (such as inflammation of the muscles or joints, or secondary to trauma), spasticity caused by upper motor neuron disorders (such ascerebral palsy and paraplegia), athetosis, and stiff-man syndrome.

It is commonly used to treat anxiety, panic attacks, insomnia, seizures (including status epilepticus), muscle spasms (such as in tetanus cases), restless legs syndrome, alcohol withdrawal, benzodiazepine withdrawal, opiate withdrawal syndrome and Ménière’s disease. It may also be used before certain medical procedures (such as endoscopies) to reduce tension and anxiety, and in some surgical procedures to induce amnesia.
    It possesses anxiolytic, anticonvulsant, hypnotic, sedative, skeletal muscle relaxant, andamnestic properties The pharmacological action of diazepam enhances the effect of the neurotransmitter GABA by binding to the benzodiazepine site on the GABAA receptor (via the constituent chlorine atom) leading to central nervous system depression.

11. I’m concerned about the older folks who already made their contribution now having to pay taxes. I don’t care how much income they are making. They invested to have a comfortable retirement. Why cant the Government find a way to tax ‘’the drug economy’’ that way putting pressure on all those young (and old) miscreants and leave our senior faithful servants.

12. Wait Georgie

Do all doctors have to know all ah dah ..? Dah alone would tek me close to a year to assimilate …

13. ”SHERRY | April 21, 2013 at 11:11 PM |
    I’m concerned about the older folks who already made their contribution now having to pay taxes
    ——-
    You should be concerned about whether retirees will continue to get any pension at all, what with the NIS fund being used as a slush fund.

14. Apart from the tiff between GP and Obzocky what is to commented on here. This was a good political tool against the BLP in the last election, and it worked. CCC and AC should be very proud of this.

15. @Lemuel

There is a lot to comment. The video helps to question/support the view that the democracy which we hold up can be manipulated by a few with deep pockets. Most of what was messaged in the video was false and serve to act on the fears of Barbadians. As a country we have to decide if we have a place for this nonsense approach in our political landscape. If yes why do we need cognitive stimulation and education.

16. old onion bags Avatar

Man Napolean …wha you is a boss, your quark is well written… real provocative…..got Obzocky gine beserk….Baffy as usual (D) defensive….best of all the video works. Supposing the senario is near realistic…some pon Valium while we pon auto pilot. ( wonda how you know doa lol)…with accountants. dot org. begging for action or else…..Shiite man we would really be in a mess….

17. Sherry;

You said above “I’m concerned about the older folks who already made their contribution now having to pay taxes”. The real Irony is that this is true in more ways than one. This Government has initiated a system that ensures that pensioners who are making in excess of $40,000 annually and who have already paid the taxes on their NIS contributions over several years during their working lives, are now being taxed AGAIN on the pension benefits from those past taxed contributions. Since the pensioners contributed 1/2 of the contributions to pensions it seems grossly unfair that Government should now tax those individuals for the full NIS pension. There should be at least a 50% income tax allowance on the NIS pensions. But Government has been taxing them on the full pension since 2008.

The article in the Nation yesterday about the NIS pensions where NIS appears to be reporting to the Income Tax department contributory NIS pensions based on 13 or 14 months pension and not the 12 months on which taxes are normally based, seems to be a clear correctable error, but the reported response to questions on that matter by an NIS staffer suggests that it is more than that. They are not admitting the error and are demanding that pensioners should pay despite the fact that the error is eminently correctable. It seems more clear evidence of further attacks on pensioners by the Sinckler Ministry who are casting around everywhere for revenue and its easier to hit at pensioners. The portents to pensioners and workers alike are horrendous. But current workers should note that their time is likely to come and soon.

But we like it so!

18. David
    I do not take that position. The DLP saw it as a winning move and I say kudos to them. If we want to embrace democracy then we also have to embrace capitalism, big money and the political games it plays. Do you think that OSA would not have utilized a similar political tactic. There is a real fear in Barbados about the future and the DLP is playing it to its full potential. People are worried about keeping their jobs and feeding their children. Look at the front page of today’s Nation and see how people are dealing with the social frustration; most of those there were in spliff heaven.

But when people are pushed too far in one direction there is a tendency to push back and the DLP shall see push by its own followers who will be seeing right through their political schemes just now. When we feel there is peace, war breaks right out.

19. old onion bags Avatar

Best Joke when the Valium (Operation Diazepam) wears off ….what DEY go tell the people?….Fool me once shame on you…..fool me twice shame on me

20. Drug Free and amused Avatar
    Drug Free and amused

Back in World War II there was a fellow called Dr. Golbelles who was Minister of misinformation.This reminds me of such. Some should be warned of the dangers of mass hypnotherapy and hypnotic drugs

21. @Lemuel

What you have posted is a position which maybe described as going with the flow. However there is the intervention which any stable and thinking society would want to make if required.

22. Steupssss!
    What Diazepam what?!?
    …waste good Valium unnecessarily?
    Valium would be needed if we needed to turn SENSIBLE people dotish…..but the main characteristic of a brass bowl is its ability to adapt itself comfortably to any assortment of stuff…from pearls to shiite…

All this clip does is to reinforce Bushie’s characterization of our sheeple……and those in the video are no different to us here blogging on BU,…. or any other Bajans either……ALL are brass bowls!

For the last five years WE have been back and forth about all kinds of political shiite too…. From the same privatization issue, to foreign direct investment, to tourism, to AX, to agriculture etc…WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE?

…and all about a set of clearly incompetent jackasses called politicians…..
    …we are as clueless to any REAL VALUE in life as are the ‘victims’ in the video.
    The rich ones are unhappy and lost
    The poor ones unhappy, lost and hungry
    The smart ones unhappy, lost and confused
    The not-so-smart ones are lost, confused,…. and mostly poor
    (Wonder where Onions and ac fit… 🙂 )

No Valium needed….just business as usual.
    Normal everyday, brass bowl operations.

23. Don’t give up Bushie, where there is life there is hope:-)

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Lemuel
    i had no tiff with any one- just clearing up the pharmacology of diazepam
    Baffy
    Yes there is much to memorize in pharmacology.

25. Gp
    I was wondering who was the real GP.

If we had a sensible and thinking society, then your position could follow and apply, but alas we only want for the moment, tomorrow shall take care of itself. Bushie is right on the ball, although me and he ain’t too much friends since this Island Gal thing.

26. Listened to “Brass Tacks Sunday” yesterday, with David Simpsom, Ryan Straughn and the past president of ICAB, speaking to matters relating to the economy and the Central Bank’s report. Then came Maxine McClean to defend government’s policy, but when asked to elaborate on all issues she presented, as usual, said she does not have the figures or is not the minister. However, McClean sought to bring Straughn’s integrity into question, while admitting she was not an economist, found many flaws after analysing a paper prepared by him. McClean also refuted the fact that the civil service wages/salaries bill increased significantly over the past four years, she was however reminded that the Central Bank’s report contain the figures.

Essentially, this administration has become silent again on important matters relating to the economy and the economic development of this country. While ministers talk rubbish about tit for tat relating to exports and imports (which is foolish talk, because Barbados does not have any product that can be withheld to force the hand of its trading partners, rather it is the other way around), and about
    lawyer and doctor fees, giving the impression that he is actually doing something.

27. GP……thanks for the clarification…………i was wondering what the hell my doctor was prescribing for me, cause i know valium is supposed to relax my muscles from spasm due to an accident…….for a minute there i thought i would have to pay him a visit…………………Valium, however, should not be used on a daily basis due to it’s highly addictive nature.

28. old onion bags Avatar

The DLP Brass bowls is how comes we in this mess…..and the ones who tekk money and din care 2 farting less…now we got big men …just drawing $17,000.00 and cuunt care less…better analogy Bushie…whey D brassbowl 5 JOHN DEERE TRACTORS to plant the sweet potatoes….

29. Art………..we know McClean is a well placed fraud, whose only job is the continued deception of the Bajan populace started with Thompson and now obviously continue with Stuart.

30. Why did Senator McClean call in to the program and NOT Senators Ince or Boyce? Wasn’t the program about the struggling economy and wouldn’t aren’t the other Senators therefore more qualified to speak?

31. @ David
    snip
    “Only weeks before, all incoming deputation were put on orange alert before release of any retrogress information. ”

Does not matter who calls in on Brass tacks anyway (esp. kelly)..all will be sayin the same….they have no answers….

Like they not worrying with the barrells…affa all

32. Could not agree with you more. McClean is more of a damage control person. She may be articulate, but was clearly out of her depth and brought nothing of significant value to the program. Although McClean’s intervetion seemed to be primarily focused on attacking Straughn and his creditability, she challenged both he and Simpson to substantiate their analyses by providing figures. She also suggested they should have brought supporting documentation before coming to the program. Ironically, neither did McClean bring anything documents to substantiate what she was saying.

Having point out to her that their respective organisations, along with other private sector stakeholders, compiled and presented recommendations to this administration, the three gentlemen suggested to McClean that it is the responsibilty of the government to provide the public with the requisite information and its response to those policy initiatives.

But what can one expect from women like Maxine Mcclean and others of her ilk. These women earn degrees and think it is their God given right to be
    condescending and sanctimonious.

However, we must bear in mind that, over the last five years, this administration’s response to any questions relating to the economic performance of this country has been (ad nauseam) “it is the fault of the BLP and what they did in 14 years”; “the current economic recession”; “if USA catches a cold Barbados would sneeze”; “look at countries like Greece”. These repsonses are no longer valid, and in their absence it seems as though those in authority have nothing to else to say. Perhaps they have exhausted themselves from talking the usual political diatribe during the election campaign. It had some members so hoarse that they could not be sworn in.

33. “But what can one expect from women like Maxine Mcclean and others of her ilk. These women earn degrees and think it is their God given right to be
    condescending and sanctimonious”.

And fraudulent, deceiving the people of Barbados with a fake smile.

34. Sometimes it takes being bankrupt of ideas for the populace to appreciate that doing foolishness with their vote can lead to this stagnation.But we are way pass that stage now and we got to help out …..otherwise nothing is the result and maybe a no confidence motion. David Ellis was making a plea of this nature to down swords and shoulder ploughs to help raise the colors and sway being the laughing stock.

35. Barbados is failing!!! It remains a good country with good people with alot of potential but suffering from the imposition of weak leadership.

OSA will be proven right yet again. 2008 the DLP lied and said they will give away duty-free cars, remove VAT from electricity and building materials, lower the cost-of-living while OSA stated there are dark clouds on the horizon referring to the imminent economic collapse. In 2013, the DLP stressed all was well, the country was on firm economic foundation, there was no problem with the economy, no need to reduce debt. I will patiently wait on what they will do.

How can Bajans be so foolish to allow people to lie to them every election and then blatantly trick them?

Whether OSA had an extra-marital affair, drinks rum or hates Mia is irrelevant to the management of this country.

36. @haha 10
    It remains a good country with good people with alot of potential but suffering from the imposition of weak leadership.
    ………………..
    We have not fallen yet, but will someday if there is nothing done to re-stimulate commerce and get things back on track. Potential is there yes, but Stuart has to bite the bullet and privatize a few big foot horses and sack some of the army of occupation.Time to put aside elections gimmicketry and admit he pinochino-ed.

37. No Confidence Motion – Sandiford’s Longest Day
    “Give me my robe, give me my integrity; that is all I can call my own. Cromwell, Cromwell, had I but served my God with half the zeal I serve my king, he would not have left me in my age to my enemies.” – William Shakespeare’s Henry VIII
    The following is an extract from the book Eyewitness to order and disorder which is authored by Harold Hoyte. It makes for compelling reading and all the politicos in the BU family should purchase the book.
    Hope Harold doesn’t mind us sharing the extract from the book. If he does we will remove it.

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2013/04/no-confidence-motion1.pdf

38. privatization is result of economic hit men.
    there is nothing you can do .
    all these years of loans from banks is about to hit wunna hard,.
    ya had it good for a while .
    that time done .time to pay up.
    wunna did it to yourselves.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    cause ya just too greedy and ignorant.,