Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Alair Shepherd QC

The behaviour of a Queens Counsel toward a female judge, in Barbados, is another manifestation of the disrespect being displayed toward our women. According to published reports, the Queens Counsel demonstrated his displeasure with the judge by lifting his robe, backing the judge bending over and inviting her to kiss a part of his anatomy.

This single act reveals that disrespect for our women is now rampant at all social and educational levels. We will remain in the forefront of calling for our women to be respected but there is a bigger picture emerging here. Our Caribbean societies have always elevated some professions beyond godlike status. The medical and legal professions have been the chief beneficiaries of such adulation.

While we have had the occasional professional problems with our doctors, we suggest that such incidents have been for from widespread. We can therefore, with some objectivity, concur that the medical professional has maintained high professional standards. However we are aware that some will suggest that unprofessional conduct within the medical professional is not usually made public.

However, we have the legal professionals constantly escaping censorship for unprofessional behaviour. Sometimes they are given a slap on the risk or allowed to flee the country, leaving clients in financial shambles. It is essentially a group with entrenched support in the now powerful political managerial class. To put it bluntly, they are allowed to behave as if they are above the same legal system, they were trained to protect.

While we do not claim to be experts on the legal profession, we are aware that a Queens Counsel is considered to be a senior lawyer and have some professional privileges. We also understand that their fees reflect their professional elevation. We are therefore concerned that their needs to be better screening of those being elevated to the professional heights they enjoy.

While the Chief Justice may be expected to become involved in this sordid issue, we are uncertain of his reach. While we will expect him to at least comment, it will be folly to put pressure on him when this kind of professional vulgarity surfaces. We must bear in mind that this is more of a physical and personal assault on the judge than an outright legal question. We however believe that if a professional code of conduct has been seriously breached, that nothing short of censorship and the removal of Queens Counsel privileges are to be expected.

1. Georgie

Devo agora estar a aprender .. latino? Eu não sei muito sobre a anatomia, perdoar, ainda um pouco de uma virgem

2. @BAF, no, you mean you too busy wid pics of de woman magistrate and Maggie pun yuh wall…

Lol

3. Baf…………….the way things stand in the world right now, no one and I mean no one can truthfully claim whiteness without being pretentious liars and they know it…………

4. @Baffy

See you have been relegated to email and FB by PW. Mentioned it because you slipped in patience…lol

5. PW is a bit of a coward … knows that I know that HA HA HA

6. David

If I ignore my good friend Crusoe, you feel he would finally just go away …?

7. Men be advised Your time is up .What a waste. The disrepect for woman has been tolerated for much too long . In order to stamp out such behaviour woman must become more united and rally in defense of the victim and decry jack..asss the likes of Bush Tea because of old age who advocates beating woman with 2×4 into submission and having similar comments in respect to this indefensible act while talking about change ……….Maybe he is refercing “change” in respect to the mone which he hoards under his bed.

8. @ ac
    ASA

9. @ BAF

We didn’t know you were a classicist. What this means man!

Devo agora estar a aprender .. latino? Eu não sei muito sobre a anatomia, perdoar, ainda um pouco de uma virgem

10. @Jeff Cumberbatch

Please tell the BU family you will be analyzing the matter of an officer of the court mooning a sitting judge in the precinct of the court house and the consequences.

11. Pacha

Dah din for you … Georgire popping style so I countering … HA HA HA

12. ac | April 13, 2013 at 11:07 AM |

The act alone is unethical and comes very close to breaking of law

As we have seen in the very recent post on Bar dues, the law is allegedly actually being broken by attorneys who don’t pay their dues.

Yet, judges and the alleged offenders sit together every day of the week while the attorneys at law who are in alleged breach of the law “practise” the law as ossifers of the court.

It is clear that neither the attorneys at law nor the judges care about the alleged breach!!

…. and to think some of us bemoan the enforcement of the law!!!

What is that saying to the rest of us?

13. 112 comments because one aswhole skin his as at a Judge.

What offence has he committed and what is the minimum penalty?

I am only interested in the facts and would like one of our respected BU lawyers like Amused or Jeff Cumberbatch to give us a “legal” response.

I was once told we are required to respect the office the person holds in their official capacity.

There is no excuse for the alleged action of Alair Sheppard and he should be sanctioned if he did it
    .In the Barbados I remember only “low class” women would go to the extreme of exposing their backsides in a vulgar manner.

14. Man de longer yuh live de moreyuh does hear!

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What did Alair do that was wrong?

16. De man skinup he bolsi at she and wanna meking it aa big deal. Ain meking nuh sport, some people too gispy yuh hear!

17. I guess there is nothing wrong, if Lily Marlene (Alair) felt he was more woman than she (Sonia)…………….maybe nothing wrong with that, if they were not both public officers being paid with public funds.

18. Old man weighing in!!

Many of you young people on this blog wont know what goadies are.

I was tempted to take a picture, change my graviton and show what I was referring to in this submission but I know I would have been banned from BU for Life, like BAFFY!

It is really a hernia, a swelling of the stomach wall but localized in the groin area and one which the patient needs to attend to.

Depending on what stage of your life you are, it can have some consequences.

As a baby up to 12 years family members and people who your mudder tell bout it will pity de “po’ lil boy”.

At 14 to 35, as long as you dont show anyone the real cause of the underwear bulging, the girls refer to you as Donkey Kong and your men friends hate you and tell de admiring girls you is a buller, en ting.

From 40 to 60 something de wife and madam does pester you to go and get something do because “it is not fair to them when them got “de urges”

At 75 to older the madam doan really care cause the other machinery that in the same region really only there to pee but “them goadies reall disgraceful fuh and ole man you age doah” especially when “you does get the pension from England and cud tek care uh dis eyesore dat only mekking de Womens at de Church snigger when you sitting down in de pew”

Which bring me to wonder why when Alair pooch back an moon Sonia, she should not had gotten out of sorts over this matter.

Since he does not have goadies like me she could have gently said “why Mr. Shepherd, is see that your Mini has two swibbly flat tires and they are parked outside a big ass garage with a gate that is staring open (lacks elasticity)”

“Judging (no pun intended) from the size of your well used hole QC I would say that, given that I can see all the way up to your esophagus, you seem to have had cornflakes this morning and some man last night”

Or if she had the female equivalent to goadies (balls) “comtempt of court, Marshall arrest this man and lock up his ass forthwith”

A little bulling would have straighten up Alair!!

But hold on a moment, I seem to be having BAFFY rub off pun me, and here comes the CONSPIRACIST theory that only a BAFFY mind could think of, “What if the Hon. QC, did (does, the possibility still exist – Jeff Cumberbatch will confirm or deny) to want to get lock and bull?

Dere is a method to his madness!!

CJ Marston please do not satisfy QC Alair.

19. That is indeed another possibility…………..the last boy who thought he was white and was locked up at Glendairy for stealing funds out of Mr. Butcher’s account, they had to release him from prison and send him pronto to England to have his butt restitched…..now he is this respectable business man working for the COW…………..Alair might want to be careful what he wishes for if indeed that is a wish, even though he might have a dishpan for a butt.

20. Piece Uh De Rock

If Sheps did plan to get lock up for the pleasure of it, he would have dropped he draws … But Cas was there and Lemuel too, so he thought better of it.

21. Are they not Obsence laws in barbados under which this despicable characte AS can be charged for Willing and knowingly using a profane act as a protest in public view in the presence of a judge the person to whom the gesture was intended .

22. @Piece uh de rock, Funny post!

@BAF ‘Cuh dear, you want me go away’ yuh hurting muh feelings when I merely having a lil sport, I know you can tek sport lad.

@ac, one thing, yuh like a lil pit bull when yuh does hole on a topic…lawdy. What about on an on about men disrespekkin women, I keep telling you that is not what this is about. Or should women be excused from perceived necessary objection, just because they are women? That seems to be your opinion.
    And I re-ask…who xiss off ac?

Musse BAF, yuh know she does love he too bads. BAF, whuh yuh gone an do?

Quantcast

BAFBFP | April 13, 2013 at 5:04 PM |

Piece Uh De Rock

If Sheps did plan to get lock up for the pleasure of it, he would have dropped he draws … But Cas was there and Lemuel too, so he thought better of it.

Quantcast

← Older Comments

Newer Comments →

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU. For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Enter your comment here…

23. That is weird.

24. So if a person goes to court next week and skin their donkey at a judge can that person claim that a precedent has been set in the High Court and they cannot be charged?

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

There is really nothing to analyze. It was exceedingly rude behaviour and an egregious example of the utmost contempt for the court. It was a matter however for the sitting judge to act on. She should have done so immediately. In the absence of such, it might be that the matter is over to all intents and purposes.

I am not so sure that the CJ may act on a matter that did not occur in his presence, although the Bar Association might have something to say.

26. @ Jeff Cumberbatch

What about the contempt the court holds for the people ( the real sovereign) by for example taking too long to give rulings etc and all the acts and omissions we cited earlier. This top down mentality is about making a few people more important than the rest of us and those days are fast coming to an end.

27. @Jeff

As is the case with the Chief Justice of India which is based on Commonwealth Law, are you saying the Chief Justice of Barbados does NOT have responsibility for the “General and miscellaneous matters relating to the supervision and functioning of the Supreme Court“. Would the decorum/deportment of court officers not fall in the sphere of activity?

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Piece uh de rock

yuh mek muh laugh til uh cry!

29. ac | April 13, 2013 at 5:11 PM |

Are they not Obsence laws in barbados under which this despicable characte AS can be charged for Willing and knowingly using a profane act as a protest in public view in the presence of a judge the person to whom the gesture was intended .

If you are now saying that the act was one of public protest then perhaps you should seek to discover why it was necessary to make such a protest.

In democratic societies public protest is not frowned upon.

30. john i did not say it was public protest. “A protest”in public view. Not the same

31. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Go back and read my comment at 6:48 a.m. Jeff has confirmed my view. He should have been taken into custody there and then. All like now he should still be having a large grin on his face having spent a very good night at Dodds Prison.

32. Hi David,

What QC Shepherd did was contempt of court. It is for the judge to act or take the matter further. Not sure if the CJ can act on this matter , but surely the disciplinary arm of the Bar Association can.

I once observed Owen Arthur doing a similar act on the floor of our Parliament and proceeded to call the Parliament “poor rakey”

He even considered it important to run for the PM post again.

So where are we really heading ?

33. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I am glad Fractured BLP has taken that position. I wonder what he would say if it were discovered that there is a porn king in the House of Assembly.

34. And we wonder how the youth get so?

We mek dem so.

35. The has EVERYTHING to do with race AND gender.

36. You bet that even if he had a problem wid Sir COW or Sir Bizzy or any of the other rich white men that he would not skin his botsy at dem.

Nobody in Barbados skins their botsies at rich white men.

NOBODY.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Simple Simon

With all the comments on this matter, have you considered that Mr. Shepherd was advertising his services?

38. Alair Shepherd was doing a mating dance and the female rebuffed him. She should have fired a kick on his cojones!

39. He wudda be limbo dancing all the way to his office from the court house.

40. @”She should have fired a kick on his cojones!”

If she had kicked him in his ass, and she should have, we would not now be having this discussion. He would be at home with an ice pack on his blue balls and the judge would have got her satisfaction and be back to work.

Sometimes men forget how delicate balls are.

41. And we complain about boys on the block and ZR men who wear their pants low and show their polka dot boxers.

42. Simple Simon….what boxers does show? Some of dem boyz does show their crack.

43. From the time you publicly accept Bulling and same sex Unions –All hell breaks loose; anything is acceptabul -anything goes

If Bulling is accepted and same sex marriage the consequence, why is baring of the arse a problem ?

JUST ASKING

44. Crusoe

I like dealing with people with smarts … How much more time you think you need …?

45. Wait, , I log on and here is BAF too..lol.

Well, I aint too smart, so hopefully yuh wont run me too fast. Lol.

Have a good day, laddie. (Notice I use ‘laddie’, as our friend Bimbro like he dun wid dis).

46. @Just Asking,

How does everything now get blamed on same sex relationships and marriage?

That comment just like lil ac….incomprehensible.

People taking 1+1 and making 12…I don’t get it.

47. @ crusoe …….The term that some people can”t walk and chew gum at the same time applies to you..
    The point that JA makes is in relation to a breakdown in the moral fabric of a country and general acceptance of any thing. Similarties in this issue have been endorsed by some comments. There is some truth to what JA said. People of your intellect always have an aire of snobbery and quick to ponce and smart off at the mouth as to what others might be thinking when You dont understand the reasoning.

48. @ac..

‘People of my intellect’?? Lol I ‘don’t understand the reasoning’??

Look, it is quite simple ac. You cannot paint everything with a broad brush. Things are more complex than that. And to select one thing and put blame, is plain …simple minded.

Why not blame it on tiefing politicians. who show no example, on parents who do not teach their children respect and discipline, on greed leading to a failing society, on children having children…ad nauseum…. etc etc.

Yet, JA picks one thing that for some reason is embedded in his/ her mind…and goes off on a loop.

No, that is not reasoning, it is simple minded. One of the king makers in the DLP was allegedly a buller…but he was a brilliant man. Did his sexual choice stop him making a significant contribution to Barbados?

Come one, get real and stop looking for shadows where there are none and focus on the actual issues causing problems.