Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Alair Shepherd QC

The behaviour of a Queens Counsel toward a female judge, in Barbados, is another manifestation of the disrespect being displayed toward our women. According to published reports, the Queens Counsel demonstrated his displeasure with the judge by lifting his robe, backing the judge bending over and inviting her to kiss a part of his anatomy.

This single act reveals that disrespect for our women is now rampant at all social and educational levels. We will remain in the forefront of calling for our women to be respected but there is a bigger picture emerging here. Our Caribbean societies have always elevated some professions beyond godlike status. The medical and legal professions have been the chief beneficiaries of such adulation.

While we have had the occasional professional problems with our doctors, we suggest that such incidents have been for from widespread. We can therefore, with some objectivity, concur that the medical professional has maintained high professional standards. However we are aware that some will suggest that unprofessional conduct within the medical professional is not usually made public.

However, we have the legal professionals constantly escaping censorship for unprofessional behaviour. Sometimes they are given a slap on the risk or allowed to flee the country, leaving clients in financial shambles. It is essentially a group with entrenched support in the now powerful political managerial class. To put it bluntly, they are allowed to behave as if they are above the same legal system, they were trained to protect.

While we do not claim to be experts on the legal profession, we are aware that a Queens Counsel is considered to be a senior lawyer and have some professional privileges. We also understand that their fees reflect their professional elevation. We are therefore concerned that their needs to be better screening of those being elevated to the professional heights they enjoy.

While the Chief Justice may be expected to become involved in this sordid issue, we are uncertain of his reach. While we will expect him to at least comment, it will be folly to put pressure on him when this kind of professional vulgarity surfaces. We must bear in mind that this is more of a physical and personal assault on the judge than an outright legal question. We however believe that if a professional code of conduct has been seriously breached, that nothing short of censorship and the removal of Queens Counsel privileges are to be expected.

1. El Maestro…………Alair has also done all of the above that you accused the other attorneys of, the stories would make your hair grow, or maybe not………….wonder what makes you think he is any different???? it is a fraternity for god’s sake, just remember that Sonia was (is) also part and parcel of the same fraternity.

2. The disrespect continues to be to the judiciary and people of the island who continue to pay these idiots to pretend they are higher up and better than, instead of actually doing their jobs.

3. The act alone is unethical and comes very close to breaking of law and for such reason AS behaviuor should not be excused….. most importantly HIM being an Officer in the highest branch of govt can excute judgements of similar or lesser actions to citizens….A slap on the wrist is not good enough censorship of some sort is warranted for such unethical behaviuor.

4. We now have to wait and see if she or the CJ has the balls to deal with him…………then we will know for sure who the real asses are………

5. If the law supposes that,” said Mr. Bumble, squeezing his hat emphatically in both hands, “the law is a ass – a idiot”. (Charles Dickens)
    Shepherd was using his inner Dickens to express his feelings about the law in an inimitable Bajan manner. I don’t think the gender of the judge should be the basis of the article it is the Office, but does the “offence” amount to contempt of court or indecent exposure?

I don’t know if it is my age but I find the whole episode more comic than serious but then I find a lot of things to laugh about, ah wonder if I tell Freundel, Owen or Mia to kiss my posterior what charge would I be facing but some would say that they and many other politicians tell Bajans to kiss their behinds everyday.

Looka is “Shunna Frog’ still in de Police Force? He once arrested a man he had a beef with and charged him with indecent exposure for peeing against his own paling. De trouble is that de house was down a ‘line” or a dirt pathway and it was dusk to “Shunna” really had to be peering down dat line, so if “Shunna” was in de neighbourhood of that moon Shepherd would be facing some charges.

6. @ David
    “Isn’t the radical who leads the Bar Association now a QC?”
    … do believe that you are getting the hang of it….

Isn’t the radical who leads the UWI now a Sir?
    Isn’t the radical who leads the BWU now a Sir?
    ….we could go on….

Radicals (change agents) are either “deballed” with some shitty honour or title; dismissed like the ZR men; imprisoned as traitors or evil demons; or outright killed….

Brass Bowls running things…..

@ Pachamamma
    Skipper, you setting up the bushman to be de-balled now? 🙂
    tek it easy bozie, dey ain’t giving Bushie no Sir or silk so it would be Dodds in the bushman tail hear?
    BUSHIE IS NO THREAT. Bushies eyes only on BBE…
    But the bushman can’t help calling a spade a spade….if provoked lol

7. Bushie
    Pacha always talking about “We’ so that means there is quite a clamouring for you to be a “Sir’ but the collective on BU know that they short changing you, as we are of the mindset that “Sir” is too lowly nothing less than a “Lord” and if they wait too long they betta come up with “Duke” 🙂

8. @Caswell
    I like your remedy but I would play it safe if I were the judge.Firstly,I would commit him to Jenkins for 7 days.Then I’ll bring him back and slap a massive fine on his tail.Lastly,I will deport him back to Guyana persona non grata.
    Btw Caswell was the judge you speak of David Simmons?And did he also deny your friend and fellow Combermarian Hal,higher status?Was you and Hal not his political advisers in your respective constituencies?
    @At Watching
    Many on this blog will laugh loud and long when you said you trust only Stuart and Thompson.If you only knew,the truth will set you free of your blindness.
    @Blogger
    I think you are wrong.A policeman is an officer of the court.So is an attorney and of course a judge.
    My opinion on the way forward in this specific instance is Shepherd should be called to count and punished harshly for his stupidity and arrogance.I recall Beansie a mentally challenged street character doing the same to a magistrate and was committed.Secondly I would recommend withdrawal of his QC dispensation with no hope of reinstatement.If Ellyut(he would probably call his protege El Cock the cane cutter cum attorney) is unwilling to act,I would go over his head straight to Whitehall and Buckingham.

9. @Well Well
    I wasn’t defending, condoning, or endorsing the AS(s) incident or the man. Merely silently laughing at the uproar which comparatively speaking of the stories I’ve heard of egregious lawyer acts would not place this in the top 1000. I agree it is a poor way to vent his shared wide spread disenchantment with the legal system. Marston is cut from the same plodding cloth of do nothingness as the PM, so it will all continue to roll downhill. NOTHING will happen.

10. @ David
    Pacha is right about your attitude to change. It is much like those Christians who want to go to heaven but do not want to die.

Change must be systemic in order for it to be effective, anything else is just window dressing.

In other words, the solution to our political problems is not to just get a set of 30 intelligent, honest , hardworking MPs… That will last for six weeks…

The REAL solution is to get a SYSTEM that will encourage such a result, …that will dismiss any idiot who attempts to get elected, that will encourage qualified candidates to be interested.

Same with the police, DPP, Tourism etc…. SYSTEMIC CHANGE needed.
    ….and systemic change comes from dismantling the existing junk and configuring something that makes sense……not wishy washy dipsy doodling with foolishness.

With respect to the mooning thing though…do you think we can have an acronym on BU for the act so that Bushie can better communicate with ac…?
    …..Perhaps something like ASA – the A.S. Act…. 🙂
    LOL Ha Ha muh belly?

@ ac
    ASA 🙂

11. I like how El Maestro is projecting it…..Bushy……..AS(s) Act it is…….

12. @ Sargeant
    Ya see you and this “Sir/ Lord/ Duke” thing…. You got de wrong fellow hear?
    Bushie done got he eyes on a little pick working a weed whacker when BBE decide to set up he shop… Nothing more….!!
    …a good 4-stroke model, and a ‘lil Islandgal back home waiting in the cabin to administer a Bush bath – and Bushie in heaven hear…?

BU David and Observing and dem fellows so deserve the big honours …. Bushie will settle for Islandgal (dey ain’t going got no mahogany chair legs in Bushie Cabin so everyone should be OK…. 🙂 )

13. Hey Bushy
    I gotta come to AC defense since she show me a lotta love on BU, so betta be careful on how you cuss her on this blog as any reference to “mooning” her may make you part of the lunatic fringe as the “Full Moon” is associated with unstable people.

Look don’t let me re rescind my recommendation for your elevation to higher Office.

14. Seeing that the QC has a penchant for showing his rear, maybe Dodds can serve as an appropriate correctional facility … HA HA HA.

Pacha

I am on your side. You were a no-show when David brought up the topic of North Korea, but what the heck, these fellas ’bout hey ain’ all that good any way, LOL. David is by any stretch of the imagination, a Conservative. He just wants things to work as they were designed to work, that’s all. You, like me would rather replace the design altogether ..

15. Barbados is a place where to get by it is expected that one must approximate their labiae orae to the adipose tissue overlying an other”s glutei. So why the furore because one lawyer asks another to literally carryout this proceedure? lol

16. Georgie, care to translate …?

17. Georgie Porgie….the judge would have had to attach an adipose tissue (fake) to carry out that demand, that would have been too much work, enough to anger anyone, although I understand that one female attorney in opposition always has hers on call, but not for the likes of Alair.

18. Don’t hold your breath Well Well for the CJ to do anything about the situation. He, the CJ might get more than what Sonia Richards got. He, the CJ is not well respected among the very bright, well educated members of the legal fraternity. He can’t even write a judgement to save his lfe. He is just there getting taxpayers money for doing nothing to enhance the justice system. Ask him, the CJ, about going on the hotel scene and play and hold a glass of rum in his hand, he is good at that.

19. Can’t wait………..I understand a law was changed to accommodate this CJ………what is wrong with this picture.

20. baffy
    you never hear about kissing [approximate their labiae orae] aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa [to the adipose tissue overlying an other”s glutei.]

21. @Bushy
    Dat Duke ting gone to yuh head? Now yuh tink dat you is de Mighty Duke talking about a cabin in de woods to provide “Thunder”

22. @Baffy, Pacha & Bushie

You guys remind the BU household of of when the Americans and Co smashed Iraq but never planned for the reconstruction phase.

23. @ BAF
    The real problem with David is that what he is trying to conserve other people are getting the rid of. It is dying anyway. So to us he is not merely a conservative. He is a dangerous man that is trying to commit our country to a bygone era.

24. That exactly my point, Well Well. There are so many bright educated lawyers practicing law in Bim for so many………. years and a law had to changed to bring in someone who is now grappling to keep up with Commonwealth Caribbean laws and to lead persons like QC Alair who are well verse and steep in their craft? Give me a break. It just so happen that QC Shepherd is the only one who can call a spade a spade. The others who know of the short-comings of the system are just supping up to get QC picks, or, be appointed on state boards to harass workers.

25. @ David

What kind of twisted logic is this? All the people you mentioned where, I am sure, against the Iraq war.

26. Come on Pacha you can do better. The logic is about the execution nothing to do with who was against any war.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Gabriel Tackle | April 13, 2013 at 11:52 AM |
    “If Ellyut(he would probably call his protege El Cock the cane cutter cum attorney) is unwilling to act,I would go over his head straight to Whitehall and Buckingham.”

What a laugh! Do you, Gabriel, seriously think that we here in the UK give a ‘monkeys’ about what takes place behind the Bar and passes for the practice of Law in Barbados? Maybe if you lot were to turn the whole shebang that passes for Law into a serial comedy they might just be interested in the tragedy that the Bajan legal system has turned into. Ask “Amused”!
    Yeah, Whitehall might just respond to your concerns when Bajans come to the stark realisation that this QC shit does not add up to a hill of beans especially when our Q becomes a K.
    Go before the CCJ and settle this whole affair whether you should be QC, KC or even SC.
    Pity the fools! Nearly 50 years of umbilical severance and still no feeding on your own.
    Tackle, the Brits are not interested in you guys other than just being a place in the Sun to have fun. You are just a barrel of lawyer monkeys, Capiche?

28. Sheperd has his share of ass lickers on BU no surprise there I’m assuming the judge is it Justice Richards is black. Would be of interest to see if Shepherd would’ve disrespected one of his ilk similarly. Didnt know he is Guyanese does immigration know he is here? Does he have a work and reside permit? Here is where BU whistle blowers can earn some blenza.

29. Can’t wait………….I admit commonwealth Caribbean laws are challenging and are not as cut and dried as the American legal system, but I can’t see clearly yet what is stopping the new CJ from revamping the system, Simmons claimed he had no control over the attorneys who took great delight in breaking the laws while he was CJ and none of them went to jail despite pleas and outcries from the poor clients, i still don’t comprehend what he was being paid for. I think it is safe to say they could not very well put the likes of Alair Shepherd or any of the other attorneys in the CJ position or it would be decades of the same obnoxious, arrogant and criminal behavior practiced on the people of Bim………in saying that, will we see any changes??

30. Miller………..as you know, only in Bim would QC and all the other titles be considered life achievements, they don’t know how they are laughed at outside…… after all………..a white brit like Mark Thatcher does not need some stupid title to slither into Bim, break the law, have them all bow, scrape and kiss his ass, while he slithers right back out, only to do it all again…………….they will never learn.

I sincerely thought when i wrote that Alair is a wannabe white man people would understand…….this guy is more than likely more amerindian and black than you and I.

31. Only in Bim would black people look at him and call him white…………what is wrong with these people’s brain cells.???

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Pachamama | April 13, 2013 at 12:31 PM

well said.

33. @ BAF

http://www.presstv.com/detail/2013/04/12/297864/iran-key-to-us-global-defeat/

Finian Cullenham, best represents our views on the criminal aggression against North Korea people. Sorry, was traveling in West Africa.

34. @Pacha

Do you believe that Mr. Integrity himself Fruendle Stuart has the leadership qualities it takes to lead the change (revolution)?

Please Bushie no answer required from you…lol.

35. Watching…………….he has been in Bim for so many years and with him having no problem bending down and exposing his private hole, it is a cake walk that he will be buried in Bim at a ripe old age…………..after all, if you were reading what Georgie Porgie wrote, that is a requirement to own Bim.

36. Well Well, CJ Gibson has not done anything to try and revamp the system at all. Oh Lord, could I relive the days of Sir Rany Douglas when this judicial system was the best in the world. The ordinary man could walk in his chamber and lay a complain and was immediately dealt with. Gone are those days.

According to David Simmons, he was trying to revamp the system but was frustrated by the lawyers. The lawyers might have very good treason to frustrate him. He Simmons put a lot of square pegs in round holes such as in the Supreme Court Registry and the Solicitor General’s Chambers. We are reaping the effects now. The Myrie case is a good example of the incompetence that exists.. Even if Barbados had a good case, the kind of bundling that went on, the to and fro, back and forth with David Berry, Donna Brathwaite, Pat Cheltenham and Roger Forde left a bad taste in my mouth. Like they did not know how to start much more to end. INCOMPETENT PEOPLE IN HIGH PLACES it goes for SOME of the judges too

37. @ David
    No. We generally see people like these as useless in transformation. Otherwise he maybe be an honest fellow but he is, for certain, a coward.

38. @Pacha

Stay with your last comment. If the Prime Minister is at the centre position of government how do we achieve the kind of change you want unless there is a revolution read blood sweat and tears.

39. Can’t Wait……………there is more than enough blame to go around, the laws have not changed to suit the times…………but the same lawyers are allowed to continue in the same vein……….they are going around in circles, that will then manifest itself in an AS(s) Act………..more to come.

40. @ David
    More importantly, we don’t buy into this leadership thing. Why do we have to have a leader? Can we all not be leaders? Yours is a dying world view.

41. old onion bags Avatar

Is this the first time so called greater mortals of higher office (and who should know better) showed blatent disrespect for The Laws of Barbados?….Why if I remember right fragant changes were made to flippant laws, blinded eyes and heads turned the other way just to bee hive a few….not to mention the most RECENT and the clarion calls that followed.But you know what…these are but SIGNS OF THE TIMES….Black pot can’t call black kettle and expect no ramifications nowadays…When you are a player anything unorthordox can present itself esp when others can so nonchalantly get away with it….and some most injudiciously too..Such is life on this lil independent philtre called ‘two barbadoes nowadays’…..He that is without sin , let him cast the first stone…

Caution : Not if you is a lil body…..Dodds mekk and built esp. fa you….lest we forget…

42. @ David
    The PM is only PM because we say so. If tomorrow morning the people of Barbados get up and collectively decide that he is not he will be duly ignored. The USSR collapse without blood, sweat and tears. This is happening now in the MENA countries. This is nothing new. So the people could run ALL these politicians out of town or even build alternative governing structures to serve themselves. They only have power because we say so.

43. That sentiment needs to be reiterated to these politicians/lawyers.

44. @Pacha

What was Perestroika?

Who was Gorbachev?

45. ”There are exceptions like the PM and late david Thompson but the rest are nothing more than common criminals.’
    ————
    Hhahahahahahahahahhahahahhahahahahahhahahahaahahaa……………..

46. Has the late Prime Minister’s will been probated yet?

47. That’s another can of worms………………………

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Please note the Democratic Labour Party Christ Church South constituency branch meeting is scheduled for this Sunday the 14th April 2013 at St. Lawrence Primary school starting at 5:pm.

Our featured speaker for the evening is Mr. Sam Deane Senior health planner and his topic is Barbados health care system 2013 and beyond.

All are invited to attend.

49. Well Well

So I see. To be White one must be pure … 95% and up, but to be Black one can accept 50% mixture. Look, if the man say that he White, HE WHITE. Wah wrong wid the world nah. Yah mean Black ppl of all ppl, are the ones still holding fast to this “one drop” principle ? … Huh?

50. David

I glad Pacha dealing wid you … I ain’ got de patience. .. HA HA HA