Submitted by the Mahogany Coconut Think Tank and Watchdog Group
Alair Shepherd QC

The behaviour of a Queens Counsel toward a female judge, in Barbados, is another manifestation of the disrespect being displayed toward our women. According to published reports, the Queens Counsel demonstrated his displeasure with the judge by lifting his robe, backing the judge bending over and inviting her to kiss a part of his anatomy.

This single act reveals that disrespect for our women is now rampant at all social and educational levels. We will remain in the forefront of calling for our women to be respected but there is a bigger picture emerging here. Our Caribbean societies have always elevated some professions beyond godlike status. The medical and legal professions have been the chief beneficiaries of such adulation.

While we have had the occasional professional problems with our doctors, we suggest that such incidents have been for from widespread. We can therefore, with some objectivity, concur that the medical professional has maintained high professional standards. However we are aware that some will suggest that unprofessional conduct within the medical professional is not usually made public.

However, we have the legal professionals constantly escaping censorship for unprofessional behaviour. Sometimes they are given a slap on the risk or allowed to flee the country, leaving clients in financial shambles. It is essentially a group with entrenched support in the now powerful political managerial class. To put it bluntly, they are allowed to behave as if they are above the same legal system, they were trained to protect.

While we do not claim to be experts on the legal profession, we are aware that a Queens Counsel is considered to be a senior lawyer and have some professional privileges. We also understand that their fees reflect their professional elevation. We are therefore concerned that their needs to be better screening of those being elevated to the professional heights they enjoy.

While the Chief Justice may be expected to become involved in this sordid issue, we are uncertain of his reach. While we will expect him to at least comment, it will be folly to put pressure on him when this kind of professional vulgarity surfaces. We must bear in mind that this is more of a physical and personal assault on the judge than an outright legal question. We however believe that if a professional code of conduct has been seriously breached, that nothing short of censorship and the removal of Queens Counsel privileges are to be expected.

1. It is so, indeed; he is no less than a stuffed man:
    but for the stuffing,–well, we are all mortal

….. W.Shakespare :Much Ado …

2. Simon
    Why are you attacking Cammie like that. Don’t you know that Chris Sinker and David Thompson and Fractured BLP was his understudies. I know that Fractured like breaking backs but what do you leave me to think about Chris.

I hope you are not a BLP for Mia is not angel.

3. Neither B nor D.

But I think that Mia is a sweet girl.

4. Sweet until she gets the urge to beat or bite a vajjayjay.

5. Writers/poets/Calypsonians are always prophets.

Long time ago the Red Plastic Bag sand “the white people laughing at we”

6. Theodore Branker too.

DLP Cabinet Minister, long time MP, Speaker of the House, father.

My own mother saw him in the act with boy-boy.

And these same political partisan play they can’t decriminalize buggery.

Stupseee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

7. O Lord, he will hang upon him like a disease: he
    is sooner caught than the pestilence, and the taker
    runs presently mad. God help the noble XXXXXX! if
    he have caught the Benedick, it will cost him a
    thousand pound ere a’ be cured.

….for whom the bells tolls….

8. Brancker another fake with a sir title, I heard he does not even know who he is now, that was about 2 years ago……….took advantage of so many clients.

9. I see that Chris is now flinging off his hands like a girl; Simple Simon I now understand.

10. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!! Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!!

@ David [BU]

Hahahaha, hehehehehe, hohohoho.

Truly incredulous that both of them, supposedly not knowing the other’s real identity, can express such righteous indignation.

Imagine if they knew each others name, fuh real dennnn?

Dat is why poor ole men like me does blog wid dis pieceuh tingy, you know if Pastor Eloysius and Apostle Durant was to know who I was how many people in we church would be encouraged to pray fuh de ground to open up and swallow me?

Man i would not live 24 hours wid heaven’s floodgates open against me, plussing de Commish AND Seethru and Fumble?

Whuloss it be all ovah.

Now here is another mystery.

Caswell and Alvin and the other fellows who really got more conjones than me en ting will come on here and express an opinion, sometime true, sometimes flawed but an opinion nonetheless and bacausing our house is not in order, and we fling a little doggie here or there, we get weighed in the balance and bruggadown, when we say that the fellows who bun down Campus Trendz need to get hang, we does get character assassinate, one time.

Now if i was to admit dat i was Owen Seymour, alter ego, and in fact this is one of my purer personalities crying out for absolution and forgiveness of my Bajan bretheren and sisteren you know that within the space of minutes dat every ting dat i write thereafter would be countered by we doan really respect whu you saying bout issues pun dis blog Seethru causing how you could be concern bout people moving linemarks at 2 a.m when you was Minister in Charge uh Housing and Lands, you rezone land all ovah de cuntry so dat all uh you friends could benefit from Zone 2 changes.

@ Private and Confidential (i understand dat if i put dis in de text dat whu coming behind it going only be seen by who i want it to be seen by and i only want you to see it)

Now i gine share sumting wif you David and i know dat you gine keep it confidential,

For some time now i been having a hankering for AC and islandgirl. and i want to invite dem out but i doan want Baffy, Onions nor Bush tea to know my desires.

Now I got two problems one is dat i does write bout doing de right ting and all of dese tings and de nex one is dat here is is, at 81, a dirty ole man, wid dese hankerings!!

I doan want to write to dem personally causing i doan want dem to write back and expose my personal problems on this blog, wussa still suppose dem was to go out wid me, and after we get wussy, expose to evy body dat de ting is only really a water spout?

Ladies and gents please realise that this is just a blog and we come here because we feel passionate about a thing.

Sometimes our passions will rise because we are Bajans and for those things that we see dying around us due to corruption, incompetence and alacrity, we feel that if we contribute a little comment, maybe it might get those in power to do something about it.

At 81,I am still very radical and would left to my leanings, preach many a seditious thought, a time to sow and a time to reap, a time to build up and a time to break down, but I know that one needs to temper one’s comments and give a little when necessary.

Yes, yes yes, I too am not without sin but I believe that this Blog, with time, has matured into the bajan equivalent of WikiLeaks where no man/woman is safe from being exposed.

And therein is the redeeming grace of this blog, for unlike Whistlblower Acts and monetary compensation that the US and Canada employ to support/facilitate accountability/transparency, people can come here, and, unlike China and other dictatorships, voice their truths, quasi truths and blatant lies with a hope of keeping those in power on their toes.

If only for the short while, when such “truth” is visible as a newer comment or while it piques one’s interest

11. Enlightening!

On the part about rezoning surely David Shorey and cohorts must agree.

12. Crusoe | April 14, 2013 at 4:58 AM | @Just Asking,

How does everything now get blamed on same sex relationships and marriage?

That comment just like lil ac….incomprehensible.

People taking 1+1 and making 12…I don’t get it.

I DONT EXPECT YOU TO GET IT.

WHO HAVE EARS TO HEAR WILL HEAR AND EYES TO SEE WILL SEE
    Not me that said so
    Where there is no vision the people perish
    When Noah preached 120 years , nobody listen
    So whats new !

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!! Avatar

@David[BU]

When my wife come home from church I in trouble David.

I have done a terrible sin David with two parts!

I din feeling well dis morning so i cun go to Pastor ** church wid de madam and she lef me home to cook.

I sit down here at dis machination, tool of the “nameless one” (we pastor does call it so) and compose dat last text and i ent cook de food as she lef me to do so wunnan know dat i gine get cuss and admonish fuh de nex 3 hours!!

But here is how it gine be wussa.

David i tink i is a buller too!! Yes, yes, a late one at 81 and i gine explain dat statement now.

“Homosexuality is romantic attraction, sexual attraction, or sexual activity between members of the same sex or gender”. Dat is the dictionary definition.

Well David, i jes read an article which say dat AC, de same one dat i got a hankering for and want to invite out, IS A MAN!!

I taught dat AC was a woman but dis blogger remark dat “de husband does sometimes write de articles” so you see what dat mek me David!! A sometimes buller!! A pretend heterosexual!! I really confused right now!! (said while fling my hand in the air like Sinckliar)

When my wife find out dat i inviting out AC it all ovah man. I tru’ de edoes.

And when she tell dem barmaments at de Womens Fellowship, in two twos, i excommunicate!! Evy body in Bullbados gine know!!

I know i shoulda never say nufin bout Alair Shepherd causing I had a feeling dat dis ting going come back and bite me in de As*

IslandGirl246, by now you know i like you en ting, but i begging you to cum cross by you and get some Sunday lunch today? causing my boat dun burn and I cyan go by AC nuh more.

At 81 i does still drink soup, unlike Alair.

14. @pieceuhderock

You got it!

15. Piece………….stop……….yuh killing me!!

16. Wuh-law, wanna hear de mout on dis man? He sound like he ready taa guh taa Jenkins.

17. “Thus black people can’t moon.”

Simple Simon….have you ever heard of a Blue Moon???

Piece of de rock…….Thank you but I have have to say no……you know what you does like does not always like you back. Perhaps Perlixing Pearlie might be a better candidate since she sits be her window looking out hoping that Mr Right might come up her verandah steps. And she likes skinning she botsy at people too (she did dat to me when Bonny was here wid wee sniff sniff).

18. @ David
    “You are truly trivializing this event.”
    FUNNY DAVID!!!!

…OF COURSE Bushie is trivializing it….. THAT is the Bushman’s point EXACTLY? …and you should too… It is a molehill.

@ Pieceahderock
    LOL Bushie hope that your wife fix your a$$ with a a 2×4 and make you take her out to Champers….
    …not for forgetting to cook lunch, but for trying to make a pass at Bushie’s woman Islandgal…..
    ..try and keep your old tail quiet yuh hear? Bushie is a full 18 months your junior….

@ Islandgal
    What time to come for lunch honey bun…?

19. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

When you go by IG, I think I can still find my father’ old hollow-ground razor to clean her up. You would not be able to remove that old bushy silk with a Gillette. Failing that you might need a weed wacker.

20. Some Bajan males have never heard about wooing a fair maiden.

21. @ David
    You ever see a fair maiden welding a mahogany chair foot yet…?
    …different tactics needed skippa… 🙂

22. Caswell
    When you get to a more mature age you will better appreciate the wisdom of not taking dangerous weapons around some females….

@ Islandgal
    Bushie will take you as you are sweet pea….just without the 2X4 ..

23. old onion bags Avatar

Wonder what they see in this fair maiden that all the G-boys lookin for razors?….

24. So are we all agreed that what Alair Sheppard is alleged to have done is a despicable act. I have formed an opinion of BU bloggers like Bushie,Onions Caswell and I would bet that not one of them would do that to a Judge.

People in a position of privilege should have a modicum of decency and mooing a judge is not expected of a member of the legal profession.

I would like to hear the opinion of Jeff Cumberbatch and Amused as it relates to how a Lawyer is required to behave when dealing with a Judge.

25. @Hants

Jeff responded earlier by calling AS(s) act egregious.

26. @ Hants
    Bushie would not do that act…

Having said that however, what Bushie WOULD do, probably warrants crucifixion 🙂

LOL @ David re Jeff
    …”egregious” sounds like a good word for REALLY bad…
    Point to note however is that “egregious” and “appropriate” are not mutually exclusive.

SERIOUS …as Man David
    …explain how you propose that a badly broken, disfunctional system, saddled with square pegs in wrong holes, propelled by self-serving interests, can be changed WITHOUT any kind of disruptive behaviors from anyone?

..Is it your hope that, like Saul of Tarsus, a bright light will blind those involved in the bad behavior and force them to see the light?

Are you awaiting the intervention of BBE?

…Exactly how would you expect that chance could come to the courts WITHOUT some level of disruptive behaviors from CHANGE AGENTS?…..particularly radical insiders…

Are you aware that it is “goody two shoes” like you that empower the crooks and scam artists whom we decry everyday on BU?

VIVE ALL REVOLUTIONARIES! …..even if they are only moonies 🙂

27. @Bush Tea

If AS(s) had mooned the CJ or the AG maybe some logic could have been applied to the act.

28. hehheh! This blog jus too sweet!

But after the laughter comes the past pain o th ol’ cane;
    the blog makes wi skin-teeth smile to hide the blood-angers that bile
    as we who write the shite and blog the crap, tun wi back o the poor in the gap who cant speak, cant tweek, too weak…
    dem who ketch their tail o poverty every week, wi no voice; no email…
    but if y’all will listen underground you jus might make out the sound o the hurtin an scrunttin sufferin beings in de main an de orleans:;
    noises red wi blood and hate that might just miight reacth ur gate or mine….in time!
    NO BLOG FUH DE MASSES or DE WUHKIN CLASSES
    HUH DEN BLUggers,,,, WATCH YU ASSES!!
    I.T. fuh de MIGHTY! dE gun fuh some.. like de onlineless others an wi blogless brothas an den after… no BC laughter
    jus a whisper (at first): fu, bu, fu and it rises FU BU FU…(Me too!)
    IF WE CYAN PARTICIPATE DEN WI WILL JUST BOOD_FIAH HATE!
    KAISO

29. @ac /JA ”ac | April 14, 2013 at 7:30 AM |
    @ Crrsoe”’
    The Point of JA argument is society” ACCEPTANCE” of things immoral. In JA comment She uses “Same sex marriage ” which might be a little bit overblown and other sexual activity as an example to demonstrate the point and arguably can be applied to issues dealing with moral judgement or as in this case AS lack of moral judgement and the way he choosed to respond.
    JA example however seems to fit into how society can easily “accept ” immorality as normal which leads to more acceptance of these issues on a grander scale.
    Crusoe if one does not understand the point of reasoning behind a comment put forward it is easier to bypass than to insult or demean the person as stupid cause in this case one can if they choose can called you Stupid. However i think Not! since your interpretation might be limited in your ability to understand the ‘ Reasoning” embedded in a comment and your inabilty to decipher.
    ————–

Oh, I quite understand the direction both of you are coming from, the problem is that JA voiced it as a singular point within a specific context, as to the cause. Further, the point is in this case, moot because the whole issue is far more complex.

Same sex marriage was, in the context that JA stated, used as a ‘whipping post’ and not as a symbol of a broader argument. Look at the post and the wording, that is why I like the internet, phrasings and wordings are clear and can be revisited to determine intent.

Further, if, we develop the point about ‘what society is willing to accept’, that argument holds true for what Bushie, myself and others have been saying regarding the alleged ‘incident’.

Society has accepted mediocrity and unsatisfactory conclusions for far too long, hence, using the ‘what society accepts’ argument, Shepherd was actually, albeit in a misguided way (allegedly I was not there), rebuking the system and society for doing so.

To jump on Shepherd for doing so, is actually supporting exactly what you are trying to defend by saying that he acted immorally, when his acting is perceived to be in deep upset and rejection of the status quo.

Simplistic reasoning is what both of you used, very simplistic, when the issue is far more involved and has far greater repercussions and far greater cause, than you would believe.

Just ask Amused if , with the ‘talent’ currently there, he has any hope that things CAN get resolved.

His answer should be interesting. And maybe that will provide a clue as to Shepherd’s alleged rambunctious outburst, albeit inappropriate (if true).

Immoral? Mooning someone? Inappropriate in alleged circumstance, but not immoral by a long shot.

30. @Just Asking ‘JUST ASKING | April 14, 2013 at 12:32 PM | People taking 1+1 and making 12…I don’t get it.

I DONT EXPECT YOU TO GET IT.
    ——-

The point is I quite understand your ‘alleged’ reasoning, but it is both irrelevant and simplistic, in the context.

The whole issue is that societal breakdown includes every element of government and the ‘alleged’ action, a first in the island, is reflective of the issue.

To criticize it as reflective of decay is ignoring the reality that the action itself is an act of defiance against the same ‘decay’ you are now supplementing your post with.

The whole system is broke, yet your initial post was clearly intended to hammer ONE issue i.e. homosexuality to a tag line criticisng the action as immoral.

No the alleged act of defiance was not immoral, inappropriate maybe, but NOT immoral.

Bushie ‘GETS THIS’ whole thing very well. Maybe y’all need an afternoon under his tutorship to develop some reasoning skills.

As to the issue (my last word on this), I think everyone should take pause, including those in authority and realise that we are near breakpoint.

31. @Crusoe

Good comments but where we differ is that the act will probably prove not to be disruptive because it was not done in a way to FORCE an action or decision. See Jeff’s comment on the issue.

32. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght!! Avatar

@ Dercris

I am unsure if that is original or otherwise. forgive an ole man if i am not with it.

If it is original, you have, in the metre of that chant, encapsulated much of what some of us, during our saner, sans Cockspur ESAF or insulin deficient moments, voice in our erudite, non poetic, big words.

Today, in the ghetto and the emerging gaza strips of our dear BIM there is a seething a-birthing that does not have the privilege that we disconnected old fogeys have.

No ADSL, no IPAD, no computer and if these embryos have a smart phone, they are, for the most part, top up phones and not bill phones like we have.

Alair and Sonia have danced this song and are done, nothing is going to come of it.

What is seething in Marl Hole, Haynesville, Deacons (and what is migrating to the heights, slowly but surely) is bigger than what Gabby sung about.

Inexoribly, it is moving towards us (in our gated communities) and we sit hypnotized, like a deer in the lights of an oncoming truck.

When those two young men shot those tourists a few weeks back it insulted the sensibilities of “we, the privileged,

With all due respect to the victims of the crime, the tourists, the assailants struck out at what is an intangible, surreal tourism/lifeblood thingy

It should be noted that the act did not occur in the dead of night but in the glaring light of day, under the noses of our men in black and red.

If we do not do something to address this situation soon, WHEN the AK-47s start to chant their chorus to this cadence and your FU BU drum beat (and yes Decris i detect the veiled cussin of our hallowed space) it is going to reach a crescendo augmented by mothers and fathers wailing for their lost sons and daughters as we like Dante stnd poised at the gates of Hell bemoaning this Barbados as a Paradise Lost.

33. Dercris……..is the resident poet.

34. so who call the shots on morality . Well doesn.t the law provide guidlines? and is there a line drawn between right and wrong. so when does an indecent act cross the line to be called “immoral” . Also does anyone believe that an obscene gesture representative of “Asking a person to kiss their ASS is any thing other than immoral
    By law such an act performed by an ordinary citizen to a judge would have landed that person in jail. The act itself is immoral. falls under the guidlines of lewd and luscious act also known as obscenity and is against the law.

35. Well well wrote “of lewd and luscious act”

I think you meant lewd and “lascivious” act

36. Hants………………I think it’s AC wrote that, she tends to cause confusion.

37. @Hants it was ac that wrote ‘Hants | April 14, 2013 at 6:37 PM |
    Well well wrote “of lewd and luscious act”I think you meant lewd and “lascivious” act”
    ———

But I think ac really meant luscious….. 🙂

Yes siree, some would like dat….lollllll

38. Freudian slip??? to go with the ‘silk slip’ that was ‘slipped’??

🙂

39. @ac…a friend pointed this out to me recently and good news, I think we located BAF for you and he is available!!! Here you go, good luck!!

40. @ crusoe

To further expand on the Word ” immoral” here is the definition

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/immoral

41. Sincere apologies to Well Well.

42. Hants…………none necessary, don’t let AC cause you confusion.

43. @ Crusoe

HA! HA! i more believe that it is you pretending to be black.

44. @ac..cuh dear BA’F’ surely the ‘F’ stands for Fraser?? There yuh go.

45. @Hants | April 14, 2013 at 2:53 PM | No, I am NOT agreed that it was an egregious act by Alair. I think it was highly improper (and very funny) that an old man like Alair would have the mooned ANYONE.

IF (and only “if”) there was a functioning justice system in Barbados where the constitutional rights of Bajans was being upheld, instead of trampled on, by the justice system, I would then say it was and “egregious” act. However, given that there is NO justice system in Barbados and that the judges, far from upholding the Constitution, by their acts are undermining and denying the Constitution, all I can say is that Alair’s action was in bad taste – and no more. If the word “egregious” is to be used, it must apply to the justice system and its denial of the constitutional rights that it is sworn to uphold, not to a single act of bad taste.

My understanding was that this act took place, not in the court itself or in the judge’s chambers, but in a corridor in what was an ex parte situation solely between Alair and the Sonja Richards. I do not know what caused it, but I undertake to endeavour to find out and report on my findings on BU. I would also point out that Alair is a queens counsel and, as such, a deputy judge and that too has to be factored into things. For, if the judge was in the corridor discussing an “inter partes” matter “ex parte” with Alair, then her action in so doing would have been highly improper. So, I want to know the facts of the disagreement. Which is why I have not commented here yet – because I do not know all the circumstances.

I find that I cannot be reverent about a body (the judiciary) the vast majority of which is not doing its job well (if at all) and that is taking taxpayers’ money for nothing. In private enterprise, these people would be fired and AGM’s of shareholders would ensure they were fired. In a court situation, we the taxpayers/shareholders have to rely on the processes laid down in the Constitution, whereby the guidelines for the dismissal of judges from the CJ down, are clearly laid out, but remain unimplemented by those who act for the taxpayers/shareholders. Our AGM as taxpayers takes place every 5 years, unlike an AGM in a company which is required to be held not more than every 15 months.

That said, the PM is in a very awkward position on this one. He must in not interfere in the judiciary, as it is a body independent of the executive. If he does, then he too will have breached the Constitution. That does not mean that he is totally without power if the denial of justice reaches a stage of emergency and I maintain that it has reached a state of crisis. And it is time for the PM to go to the GG. After all, the denial of justice has turned Barbados into the judicial laughing stock of the Caribbean and, indeed, the entire Commonwealth. It has also seriously prejudiced foreign investment and as a result, the lives and well-being of Bajans.

46. Alair = deputy judge, according to amused………..waiting for when they make him judge Alair. no make that sir mu judge Alair……………bunch of jokers is what.

47. @ Amused

INSIGHTFUL!

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Amused

CRAP

49. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Caswell, you got there first. My sentiments exactly!!!

50. Does Caswell or Jeff……..more versed in local laws than I am, care to explain.