His ExcellencySir Elliott BelgraveGCMG KA CHB QC
His Excellency
Sir Elliott Belgrave
GCMG KA CHB QC

BU listened with interest to DJ and others at Voice of Barbados (VOB92.9FM) extending best wishing to Senator Tony Marshall on his appointment to the Upper Chamber of the Barbados Parliament as an Independent Senator. BU on the other hand withholds all plauditory remarks until Tony Marshall shows respect to the public he pretended to serve while he wasย  #1 afternoon talk show host and Chairman of the important National Insurance Scheme.

Some will see the irony of Senators Marshall and Byer-Suckoo being members of that Chamber in the current term. It was the then Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo who refused to renew Tony Marshallโ€™s appointment to the National Insurance Board. The usually loquacious Tony Marshall has not issued a public statement that we are aware of on the matter. There was rampant speculation at the time on BU about the โ€˜opticsโ€™ he would have exuded as Chairman of the NIS Scheme given his former role as a director on the CLICO Board. There was the other camp who believed it had to do with matters arising from the NIS on again off again decision to fund the problem plagued Paradise Beach Development Project (Four Seasons Project). Whatever the reason the public, taxpayers, are none the wiser.

Tony Marshall given his roles to date BU regards him as a person of public interest and we are within our right to place the former banker under the microscope. As the #1 talk show host in Barbados he never used the VOB92.9FM bully pulpit to speak out about CLICO from an insider perspective. Contrast his position with Tony Hoyos who resigned on principle from the Barbados National Bank Board (now Republic Bank) to express his disagreement at the time about the share price government was willing to accept from RBL (how this matter finally was settled is fodder for another blog).

The other issue- alluded to – which continues to concern some Barbadians was the abrupt way Tony Marshall was jettisoned by Minister Byer-Suckoo and government as Chairman of the NIS Scheme. The Minister at the time felt comfortable explaining that Marshallโ€™s contract was not renewed BUT does the public deserve a fuller explanation Senator Esther Byer-Suckoo?

Senator Tony Marshall has a chance to redeem himself in the Senate BUT we will not hold our breath. One can only wonder what was the criteria used by the Governor General to appoint Marshall to the Senate. Was it a backroom understanding? Is it the โ€˜fraternityโ€™ raising its head yet again? Rest assured if the status quo remains the public will never know. Hurray for democracy!

Another probing of the Governor Generalโ€™s picks for the Senate has been the โ€˜droppingโ€™ of Dr. Francis Chandler. Again one wonders the rational used by the Governor General.ย  Dr. Chandler has been one of the most vocal and active members of the last Senate. The fact that she is top of her field in the world of agriculture did not count Sir Elliot? Bear in mind Barbados is expected to focus more than in the past on this sector and environmental matters. Who better a person to have in the Senate than Dr. Chandler, a truly independent voice. If this reason is not good enough, the Governor General has not appointed one damn woman to the Senate.Should we expect Leader of the Opposition to be vocal on this matter? What about Santia Bradshaw MP, Maria Agard MP, Cynthia Forde MP, surely they have a vested interest? Needless to say the same inquiry can be directed at Deputy Speaker of the House Mara Thompson.

On this issue social commentator Agyeman Kofi posted the following to his Facebook page this morning:

โ€œAre no independent thinking woman existing in Barbados? How in 2013 a Governor General of a developing democracy appoint a senate and not one female is among appointees? What is even more appalling is the deafening silence of the woman organizations or perhaps they too may be compromised in their quest to remain mendicants to government largesse. Some may say I am an alarmist but hindsight is always 20/20 vision. Barbados is fastly becoming a place where the ostrich and sheeple syndromes are pervasive and excuses for mediocrity is now commonly accepted. Why are few willing to speak out and offer honest feedback? Too many are licorish and now place ethics and morality on the back bench to ensure cocktails invites continue. Thus,will a few honest unselfish Bajans stand up and be true craftsmen of our fate for future generations? Two Barbados will always exist if the current social order is not challenged and the bottom up approach is not taken in our need for social justice and equality. Long live Dr Francis Chandler a true independent woman!โ€

How can we have a democracy which is suppose to encourage participation but our leaders continue to make decisions which depart from commonsense?

1. @Caswell

I dont normally agree with you on most things, I too had observed that Dr. Chandler was out of her depth when discussing the public service, I too believe that her condescending way of dealing with the public service had the plaantation approach, but then again she would have come up in the era where the whites in Barbaados were the preivelege class and perhpas she was socailised to believe that she can talk to us like we are the slaves on the planatation, on the other hand, profeesor fraser seems all embaracing and has no problem with race or class, having married someone from outside his race.

If not Leroy who could he have chosen to represent Labour? should it be someone from the other big Union.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

honest I feel really sorry for you. I fear that very soon you are going to die from a broken heart.

Your grief at having lost the election is all pervasive.

Poor chap. We sat in opposition for 14 years and I cant remember any of us in this deep depression that you find your self in. You Barbados Labour Party people truly believe that it is your devine right to be always in power in Barbados.

This is really scary!

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I think I can see the direction that DAVID and his the Barbados Labour Party jokers will will take for this five year term.

The last term they wasted their time in fruitless attacks on the Govenor of the central bank and this term around it will be ceaseless attacks on our Esteemed Govenor General.

These Barbados Labour Party people are just plain sick in the head.

That is why they are on the opposition benches for another five years just as I predicted.

To repeat myself, Chandler: GOOD RIDDANCE TO BAD RUBBISH.

She should have never been in the Senate in the first place.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“It is continually drummed into us that Barbados isn’t only an economy, its a society, and while it is honourable and necessary to look after the vulnerable, I think Government has gone too far in its freeness to one sector of the society.”

FRABCES CHANDLER

And we all know that she is refering to poor Black people. People like her and her clique cant get enough help from Government.

5. After all Tony Marshall contract was not renewed ., What more should Byer Suckoo say… Was this a job for life that Marshall was entiltled to i don’t believe so. In my humble opinion he was a govt employee like all others who can be fired and no further need for comment by his employer should be necessary to protect the integrity of confidentiality between employee and employer. in any case if Tony felt he was wronged he could have challenged and pursued the action taken by govt for not renewing his contract by legal process ,Apparently he was satisfied or agree with the actions taken by govt to not rehire him.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BTW before I forget, SEETRU got his HAT TRICK of defeats just as I predicted.

Seetru…. beaten by the DLP in 2008

Seetru…..beaten by the DLP in the St. John bye election

Seetru…..beaten by the DLP in 2013

Take a bow.

7. i am not going to nit pick on how many women were chosen by the GG .however the Dlp has a record to show that it represented woman well in high appointments is serval offices over the four years in office in comparison to the fourteen years the BLP has been governing. I can”t recall a more sickening scene than that of the way the BLP handed a leadership role to a woman and then five men along with its leader back stabbed her to regain leadership and the rest is history .

8. Does the Governor General look or sound like a Governor General ?
    And how does a Governor General look anyhow ?
    Will the DLP behave in Parliament the way Carson is behaving on this Blog?
    Will the DLP behave in more arrogant fashion than the last term or will they be cautious considering that the very slim 2 seat majority squeezes their balls ?
    Will the Deception Lies and Proproganda come back to destroy the DLP ?
    What was the role of those “new churches” in instructing their members to pray for a DLP victory in the last election ?
    Why did St. Michael North West constituents benefit from the BUYING of votes by the DLP ?
    What will happen when vote buying is not possible?

Should the age of voting be raised to age 25 and be restricted to those –holding a job, working for in excess of 25, 000 annually or some other criteria ?
    Should people be allowed to vote at 18 years?
    Aren’t these same young people the ones more likely to sell their votes ?
    Is it time that we re-visit the voting age in this country ?

JUST ASKING ?

9. i don’t see MIA taking on the GG or DLP for not chosing women as representation cause that would be like opening up old wounds which she is too familiar with and a cause for reminder that those who live in glass houses should not throw “big rocks”

10. Rate This

ac | March 10, 2013 at 8:03 AM |
    i am not going to nit pick on how many women were chosen by the GG .however the Dlp has a record to show that it represented woman well in high appointments is serval offices over the four years in office in comparison to the fourteen years the BLP has
    ——————————
    THIS IS SUCH A TYPICAL RESPONSE FROM A DLP ‘GOON’
    IT IS SICKENING !!

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

JUST ASKING | March 10, 2013 at 8:07 AM

I really want to be around the day that write something worthwhile on this blog.

12. now that DR.chandler has been disposed of she can be reassured that her voice can still be heard by way of BU in submitting articles like adrien loveridge.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 2:14 AM |

“I would have tought by now that this partisan crap woild have come to an end and we would have been putting forward ideas to have some reform in the goverenamce structure in the private and public sector so that we can optimally uilise our resouces; financsi and economic among other things.”

There you go again, TPP, with your forked serpentine tongue in one bifurcation of venom attacking people for not dealing with ideas and proposals and in the other putrid breath of vilification bringing up issues and rumours from 10-15 years ago to inform today’s debates.

Why are you attacking OSA and denigrating the same ex-Senator Chandler because of her racial background and family history? Why go the same dirty, filthy nasty way of Carson Cadogan?
    Who is next on your agenda for personal attacks Mia Mottley and her family history going back to Park food days that save your hungry ass?

When we query the tquality of the decision to appoint so-called senators we are doing it on the basis of principles that ought to guide the selection of any so-called Independent Representative of any sector of society. We are concerned about their integrity and competence and not on any overreliance on rumours and hearsay regarding the personas involved or their private lives.

Now if you want others to rise from the political gutter then you must set the example and stop attacking OSA and others who happen to disagree with your partisan politics.

A set of questions has already been posed to you regarding the pending republican status of this country. So far you have refused to respond. We wait in vain but would be prepared to retaliate to your congenitally dangerous personal attacks on OSA, MAM and others.

Now itโ€™s your turn to lay an issue on the table for debate, Senator of BU roundtable family.

โ€œDignity consists not in possessing honors, but in the consciousness that we deserve them.โ€ ~Aristotle

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“now that DR.chandler has been disposed of she can be reassured that her voice can still be heard by way of BU in submitting articles like adrien loveridge.”

Come on, dont encourage that joker on here!!!

We got to put up with Adrian and foolishness now she?

15. THAT DAY HAS COME CARSON

READ AND WEEP——–YOU DLP GOON

The Barbadian Society is declining fast
    The election of 2013 is the worst in the history of elections in Barbados
    That statement -wunna loss -by one Gingerbreath Girl above is indicative of the kind of persons that inhabit this place nowadays. We have a person today in Barbados who does not know anything about what our forefathers did to bring this country to where it is. They know nothing about Slavery, emancipation, 1937 riots. adult suffrage, chiggers, lice, stand-pipes, burning cow-dung for fuelโ€”nothing so.
    Some of these things I did not personally experience but I grew up in a household with old people and I heard the stories. I am appreciative of people because of these stories. When I hear these stories, I realise that we all came here to the Caribbean with nothing and that we as a people were treated like dirt by the white slave masters and their descendants even after freedom . This simple fact makes me empathise with the unfortunate person who is struggling out there. I understand the need for us to be our brothers keeper and with this in mind, I want to see a political party put the people first.

I was happy therefore with the Barbados Labour Government for the 14 years that they were in Office. I was happy that they were able to bring Barbados from a very dark period between 1986 and 1994 to which the demise of Errol , the adamant and stubborn nature of Sandy and the nastiness of Cammie plunged this lovely country.

I remain eternally grateful to the Right Honourable Owen Seymour Arthur and the BLP for restoring my confidence, as citizen in Barbados. I wanted the BLP to have a 4th term in 2008. A lot of ignorant people including people like Harold Hoyte did not want Owen to get a 4th term because this would have made him better than Errol.

Enter David Thompson with his brand of stinking dirty nasty politics and with a big set of lies they won the election in 2008. I maintain that there were no reasons to change the Government in 2008 โ€“none. There were more reasons to change the Government in 2013 than they were in 2008.

But getting back to David Thompson who had a brand of politics that I simply abhored. His was a politics that would mow down anyone who he saw in his way of becoming Prime Minister. That is all he wanted. He salivated after this position from his days at Cawmere and his admiration of Tom Adams. The cheque waving thing that he was so obsessed with was a direct copy of the Sidney Burnett Aleyne cheque waving stunt by Tom Adams..

David Thompson brought a brand of politics that was dirty and nasty and a win at all costs approach. Nothing therefore was sacrosanct and if it meant destroying Mascoll or erecting Billboards illegally and jumping in bed with whoever, going to Penthouse, a known drug den, drinking Vodka or whatever, it was done.

If you want to talk about a legacy , this is the legacy of David Thompson. It has therefore culminated in what we have seen in the 2013 elections, a kind of nastiness unseen in Barbados before this time. The legacy lives on in people like Chris StinkLiar and his ilk who would do anything to win or theif an election. This is the new benchmark. It deserves a study

16. Observing(...) Avatar

@david and jeff and cyprian
    The thread has evolved to the more substantive question. What’s the point of the Senate? Seems like a damned expensive rubber stamp.

@miller
    Waiting with bated breath on the estimates and budgetary proposals

@baffy
    Ya saying that Jeff arse big enuff fa two noses? Lol

@caswell and TTP
    Wunna gine kill she cause she don’t know public sector? But looka, big maguffies IN the public sector don’t even know bout d public sector, lol. And she was clearly speaking as an outsider with an outside (albeit not fully knowledgeable) view on what we needed to do to get better. Generally speaking and in the long haul her contributions have been worthwhile.

@all
    Estwick remains on land where he didn’t want to be, and dependent on Sr. Sinckler to get anything done.
    Benn has been kicked out the pen
    Chandler has been put out to pasture
    Paul remains in the back of the sty
    The BAS, BADMC and farmers are “up in arms”

Where’s the way forward for agriculture?

The ideas in the throne speech sound good, but again, having read them over, there’s a seeming disconnect between the idea – the absent how – and the desired result. We seem to only have the long term in mind when short term solutions are needed to address the on the ground concerns now.

Good brains and sensible patriotic fellas and gals (not brothers) need to voice some more. Our leaders have a deficiency in listening and thinking. Does anyone have a megaphone we can borrow?

Just observing

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 10, 2013 at 7:50 AM |
    in any case if Tony felt he was wronged he could have challenged and pursued the action taken by govt for not renewing his contract by legal proces.”

That statement alone is the completely accurate measurement of the depth of your intellectual stupidity, total political ignorance of our system of governance and your daft stubbornness to understand legal issues despite continuing wasteful attempts by your other half.

Let us put it to you ac, Mr. Marshall was the Chairman of a Statutory Body to be appointed and disappointed at the whims and fancies of the relevant minister. He was not an employee like the CEO or the maid.

He got what he deserved by trying to stand up to the Minister of Finance with respect to the Four Seasons loan. But groveling and begging for forgiveness through lodge friends can be an alternative path to salvation and a yardfowlโ€™s method of coming in from the cold back to the warm inner sanctum of the George St. initiation temple.

Now go back to political primary school to study your ABCโ€™s in governance and law behind a faรงade of lies and deceit that will soon come to light.

18. Wait a minute Carson,
    I have written to agree with you many times

Man yuh mean you dont even consider that worthwhile ? —LOL !!

19. Observing(...) Avatar

@carson
    “I really want to be around the day that you write something worthwhile on this blog”

OH CRAP!!
    Wuhlosss!
    Muh belly!
    I reading right?!?!
    MUUUUUUURDAAAAA!
    Carson C. Cadogan ya gine kill muh dis early Sundee morning?

Talk bout a pot and kettle drama!! Ha ha ha I. love it!!

Observing

20. @Jeff
    Submitted on 2013/03/09 at 8:55 PM

@ David,
    I honestly do not know where we should go. I do acknowledge the importance of having the assumedly wiser ones among us having a say in legislation in its formative stages so as to act a check and balance. I do not believe however that a Senate is necessary for that purpose. In this context, there might be something to be said for the Parliamentary committee procedure, whereby the views of experts in a particular policy area could be obtained by the legislature.

Been thinking a lot about this comment posted by Jeff which accords with what Bushie, Baffy and many others on BU have been saying for a years now. How is it we have invested millions/billions in education but the current system we have continues to be greatly influenced by political patronage? How is this an effective use of our human resources? Then there is the fact that the Whitehall system of democracy calls for checks and balances and full participation. There is obviously an urgent need for reform BUT why would the two political parties with a vested be interested?

21. in any case what would you blp yardfowls want suckoo say in concerning tony’s dismmissal i still expect some level decency and confidentiality from those we hire to go about doing the people’s busineess, it was not as if Tony had embezzled NIS funds and there was an attempt by govt to cover up such wrongdoing.wether appointed hire or fired . conidentiality and integrity still applies to all as a means of respect something which was never a hallmark of the BLP. ask MIA.

22. yeah a need for reform is necessary. however the horse bolted out long ago way past the the starting gate about fourteen times and no body try catching it. the people were contented happy with money in the pocket. REFORM WHAT . not taking this call serious. LOOK a t the election . for many more of the past fourteen years would have suffice, the political landscape has been built and be damned if any one tinkers with it, ‘They like it that way” only when things not going the way one expects the call for reform .other than that every thing is honkey dokery..

23. All agree that a level of transparency should permeate how decisions are taken by government, it is comprised of people who have been elected to serve the people. It is why many of us have called for transparency legislation. The late David Thompson promised that his government would govern on the basis of being more transparent.

When the BLP was in power some may recall the incident where Ronald Toppin abruptly resigned over a ‘dispute’ at the Fair Trading commission which he had ministerial responsibility. Many have asked what happened and to day it remains a big secret. Toppin and the BLP have felt no obligation to advise the public. In more developed democracies there is the opportunity for the People and Fourth Estates to probe.

Recently we saw Ian Carrington at the NIS making the decision to move over to the FSC on secondment. A couple years later he has refused to stay on, why? Citizens are viewed by these people as a means to an end i.e. to get what they want and we the people (many who are sheeple) continue to allow our blind partisan lenses to affect our outlook. A people will always get the government it deserves.

To quote Sean Penn in the movie Fair Game, “Democracy is not a free ride.”

24. When all the dust is settled we have a Senate which is a rubber stamp some have agreed and we are happy with this situation?

25. The following link is useful to note the countries which have instituted a unicameral system, and there are those countries which have amended the role of the upper house.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Westminster_system

26. @ David
    “When all the dust is settled we have a Senate which is a rubber stamp….”
    QED
    Conclusion and Summary
    The GG made an excellent choice in Tony Marshall for the Senate, since there are few persons in Barbados better suited for talking shi#e on any available topic, and since there is no other purpose to the appointment than this.

Caswell Franklyn could really shut his trap on this topic, since Bushie has long outlined his critical role in changing this senate paradigm.
    Like Tony Marshall, he play he dressing up in a suit and writing a lotta shi#โ‚ฌ in the Nation and on BU instead of getting on with the job of using his knowledge for CHANGING the weak systems that impede our progress….. BUP!

Mrs Chandler is well-meaning, but like most whites of her vintage, she sees us as plantation boys who ought to thank our lucky stars and be grateful for small mercies.
    She is also right about the lotta lazy-ass civil servants bout here – don’t mind Caswell and his righteous indignation. The problem with her comments is that they ignore the lazy- ass and stupid -ass managers, business directors, leaders and moneyed class- largely her kith and kin, who have been many times lazier, stupider, more traitorous and destructive to Barbados than the lazy civil servants – who are largely so precisely because of the POOR SKILLS of the idiots who run things about here.

When those “lazy civil servants” migrate, they largely BLOOM and gain success and high praise from overseas employers.

When our businessmen migrate they generally sink to the bottom and disappear.

…what does that tell you…?

27. The comfort zone mentality, easier to manipulate and feed self-serving greed.

28. Bush Tea……..thank you very much for telling it like it is, and not how deluded people in Barbados would like it to remain.

29. @AC

dont mind miller this suanday morning, he cant handle me so he want to attack you. He thinks using big words is impressive, but he doesnt realize that a lot of us here can use bg words if we so desire. The point is he got his ass whipped soundly and he is a glutton for punishment. he was advisd not to wake a slleping giant, and he woulndt hear and now he feels usless, so he has to attack you as he aint gon get wah he did looking for from his party. Dont mind he and this foolish crap that he well off. The more the well off got, the more they want. He and Prodical got awhile to wait for handouts.

30. @David

i hope when you speak about reform that you are also implying that the private sector needs reforming as well.

31. @Bushie

i should call you tell it like it is. We have some private sector manager who only succees because the inbreeding and incestuous relationships allow them to rip us off.
    On another note, i visted the 2008 blog whre u and Ian Walcott were having a robust debate on jessie Odle. What has become of the chap, I know there is an ian Walcott living in Brasil. Is that the same laddy/

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 10, 2013 at 10:57 AM |

We want to hear from you about the abolition of the Senate (or even its reform) and the pending Republican status for the country.
    It would really make a nice 50th birthday present to the now grown-up nation, would you agree?
    But if things should happen before that like swapping a queen for a king why not do it in advance, gift wrapped and all?

If you can deal with that then you would be really putting licks in the miller, big words and all. He might even speak to your man upstairs and let you and your friends be the chief guests at the b/d party to deliver the ceremonial present to the “Nation”.

33. @TTP

Why do you believe some of us are stupid on this blog?

We are discussing the relevance of our system of government and how it can be reformed and you drag private enterprise into it?

34. I too was amused by Carson calling out somebody to write something worth while

Man, the DLP is the worst political party in the Caribbean and its supporters behave as though the politicians shite in their mouths.
    The Cash for gold problem is the fault of the DLP.
    The DLP never addresses CRIME and under the DLP crime always ==always increase
    The DLP are the biggest LIARS and Law Breakers in Barbados so they do not fight Crime.

Buying votes
    Selling and buying stolen gold is a DLP created problem.
    It now threatens TOURISM
    and the OFFSHORE business.
    THE DLP has failed on CRIME
    THEY HAVE FAILED EVERYTIME

35. Chandler cannot be as well meaning as some are trying to make us believe, if she still sees black people as plantation chattel, there is nothing well meaning about that type of downgrade in 2013, it is demeaning and degrading. Correct me if I am wrong, but chandler herself is reportedly from irish stock who were treated maybe one level above how Africans slaves were treated, I have met her and find she does indeed have a very nasty attitude in trying to present herself as better than blacks. She claims to be a Barbados Scholar, then in my view she should know a whole lot better, however, that is the normally disgusting attitude that majority blacks allow the lower form of white in barbados to practice.

36. lol elections done and some ass-idiots still campaigning, smh

37. Stale Blood and BLP Son, you can ramble along much like the BLP did in its 14years of rape of the Barbadians Taxpayers bjt you need to speak directly to the fight that took place on the day your party met to decide on who should lead, i maintain a lawsuit was the outcome of that meeting.
    May I ask what has come of the court filing by George Payne for damages against Edmund Hinkson coming out of their meeting to elect a temporary leader of the Opposition to replace Arthur, when Payne insisted that the members give Arthur 6 months at the helm to steady the ship and then hand it over to the party to elect a new leader and Hinkson stuttered something about who would listen to Payne a scamp a crook a fraud and a liar.

All heโ€™ll broke loose leading to Payne refusing to sit with or have anything to do with Hinkson and followed up his talk my going to court on Wednesday and filing Court Papers against Hinkson for damages for the stuttered utterances coming from Hinkson lips.

38. @David
    you as usual want to control how i think. We must also sthing about reforming the private sector which will not angage in coorupt prastices to decide which govt comes into being.

I for one dont hink any of us here stupid, all of us got we own sense, but you seem to think that because it is you blog that u can be a maguffy . We talking about reform the senate and look how you allowed the discussion to veer of course and i asked you one simple question and you want to eat me. as you normally say, carry on smartly.

39. @Well

being a barbados scholar doe not mean that you would know how to deal with people.

40. That’s is why Chandler never have been allowed to be a senator in a black majority country. I am no fan of Liz Thompson, but she and one of the Goddards had a falling out cause she told him she would not be dictated to by some white person, he threatened to punch her, these kinds of cretins should not be allowed to feed off the public purse. One bajan white with a nasty attitude toward the majority in parliament is one too many.

41. Look why don’t you guys question the decision of Mottley to not place a true woman in Senate let’s be honest as much as WALCOTT represents the female vote and the female interest he is not a true and health person to have there to speak on women’s matters but then again as Dr Lowe stated neither is Abrahams as he too is of uncertain balance and of uncertain persuasion and neither is he fit for that role.

42. @TTP

The problem with you is that when you are challenged and you have no coherent response you endeavour to put BU on te defensive. Why don’t you submit to BU how you propose to get private enterprise, who own their capital, to change? It all begins with a robust governance framework which is enabled/facilitated by government.

BTW name one forum in Barbados where all are welcomed to share views. Because you are challenged by BU it means your views are not welcomed? Grow up!

43. And if I am not mistaken, it’s the same one who went snitching, for payment, in the wikileaks scandal.

44. @Burning Red

You are aware that a matter such as you referred to becomes a public filing? Get the document and email BU or which ever medium you refer.

45. So although they may hold a senate seat, their loyalty does not lie with the majority whose tax dollars pay their salaries, when will these leaders see things as they really are and not through rose colored glasses?

46. @David
    you should grow up too. Why should i tax this brain when you have only persons you want to hear from. I emailed you a document which was a start for reparation and u never acknowledged it. It was not my ideas, it was showing that i think ford motors had agreed to pay damages relative to the apartheid regine.

As u normally say, you must have the last word, but carry on smartly. You dont find me using muscular language, unless i am forced to do so. Have a nice sunday and enjoy your lunch.

47. there is robust debate on barbados free press as well, dont u think so?

48. @TPP

Do you realise you are the only contributor who has complained that your submission was not posted,well besides Onions and he knows why this occurred.

49. And that should have read, Chandler should never have been allowed to be a senator in a black majority country in the first place. Do the leaders ever wonder how everything they do is always a secret to the majority tax payers, but never a secret to the bigger countries. That is because these minority senators have an agenda, their loyalties lie not with the majority in Barbados but who will pay them the most for information.

50. @well well

You really need to revisit your last comment. Why do you feel we need to attack Dr. Chandler because of her colour? Why not challenge the issues she puts in the public space? BU continues to be amazed frankly embarrassed by some of the views expressed.