His ExcellencySir Elliott BelgraveGCMG KA CHB QC
His Excellency
Sir Elliott Belgrave
GCMG KA CHB QC

BU listened with interest to DJ and others at Voice of Barbados (VOB92.9FM) extending best wishing to Senator Tony Marshall on his appointment to the Upper Chamber of the Barbados Parliament as an Independent Senator. BU on the other hand withholds all plauditory remarks until Tony Marshall shows respect to the public he pretended to serve while he wasย  #1 afternoon talk show host and Chairman of the important National Insurance Scheme.

Some will see the irony of Senators Marshall and Byer-Suckoo being members of that Chamber in the current term. It was the then Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo who refused to renew Tony Marshallโ€™s appointment to the National Insurance Board. The usually loquacious Tony Marshall has not issued a public statement that we are aware of on the matter. There was rampant speculation at the time on BU about the โ€˜opticsโ€™ he would have exuded as Chairman of the NIS Scheme given his former role as a director on the CLICO Board. There was the other camp who believed it had to do with matters arising from the NIS on again off again decision to fund the problem plagued Paradise Beach Development Project (Four Seasons Project). Whatever the reason the public, taxpayers, are none the wiser.

Tony Marshall given his roles to date BU regards him as a person of public interest and we are within our right to place the former banker under the microscope. As the #1 talk show host in Barbados he never used the VOB92.9FM bully pulpit to speak out about CLICO from an insider perspective. Contrast his position with Tony Hoyos who resigned on principle from the Barbados National Bank Board (now Republic Bank) to express his disagreement at the time about the share price government was willing to accept from RBL (how this matter finally was settled is fodder for another blog).

The other issue- alluded to – which continues to concern some Barbadians was the abrupt way Tony Marshall was jettisoned by Minister Byer-Suckoo and government as Chairman of the NIS Scheme. The Minister at the time felt comfortable explaining that Marshallโ€™s contract was not renewed BUT does the public deserve a fuller explanation Senator Esther Byer-Suckoo?

Senator Tony Marshall has a chance to redeem himself in the Senate BUT we will not hold our breath. One can only wonder what was the criteria used by the Governor General to appoint Marshall to the Senate. Was it a backroom understanding? Is it the โ€˜fraternityโ€™ raising its head yet again? Rest assured if the status quo remains the public will never know. Hurray for democracy!

Another probing of the Governor Generalโ€™s picks for the Senate has been the โ€˜droppingโ€™ of Dr. Francis Chandler. Again one wonders the rational used by the Governor General.ย  Dr. Chandler has been one of the most vocal and active members of the last Senate. The fact that she is top of her field in the world of agriculture did not count Sir Elliot? Bear in mind Barbados is expected to focus more than in the past on this sector and environmental matters. Who better a person to have in the Senate than Dr. Chandler, a truly independent voice. If this reason is not good enough, the Governor General has not appointed one damn woman to the Senate.Should we expect Leader of the Opposition to be vocal on this matter? What about Santia Bradshaw MP, Maria Agard MP, Cynthia Forde MP, surely they have a vested interest? Needless to say the same inquiry can be directed at Deputy Speaker of the House Mara Thompson.

On this issue social commentator Agyeman Kofi posted the following to his Facebook page this morning:

โ€œAre no independent thinking woman existing in Barbados? How in 2013 a Governor General of a developing democracy appoint a senate and not one female is among appointees? What is even more appalling is the deafening silence of the woman organizations or perhaps they too may be compromised in their quest to remain mendicants to government largesse. Some may say I am an alarmist but hindsight is always 20/20 vision. Barbados is fastly becoming a place where the ostrich and sheeple syndromes are pervasive and excuses for mediocrity is now commonly accepted. Why are few willing to speak out and offer honest feedback? Too many are licorish and now place ethics and morality on the back bench to ensure cocktails invites continue. Thus,will a few honest unselfish Bajans stand up and be true craftsmen of our fate for future generations? Two Barbados will always exist if the current social order is not challenged and the bottom up approach is not taken in our need for social justice and equality. Long live Dr Francis Chandler a true independent woman!โ€

How can we have a democracy which is suppose to encourage participation but our leaders continue to make decisions which depart from commonsense?

1. David
    Here is a truthful response.

I believe she was removed because she was like the third BLP Senator giving the Government real licks.

Now Let us see her achievements in agriculture.

You see David a lot of people get away with this nonsense of great this and that.
    Do some research on her achievements and publish them on your blog so that Barbadians would see that they have been deprived of hearing a great Barbadian agriculturalists in the Senate.

In fact I want another man in the Senate and that Is Richard Hoad. He is a true Agriculturalist. In fact he said she is his sister in law

2. @Clone

Thanks for your honest response. Given the limited representation of the Opposition in the Senate one would think that a Governor General would like some one like Dr. Francis Chandler in the Senate.

Do a Google search ‘dr. francis chandler” and see a 843,000 hits are listed.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A now deceased prosecutor said to me once that when a certain DLP POLITICIAN AND LAWYER was in deep doo doo before the courts that the current GG advised him thus. “You know that you dont have much going for you bout here. As a brother, and a brother and a brother I think you should leave the country!” [Think lawyer, DLP member, Lodge member].

4. France Chandler is not in the Senate because we don’t believe that agriculture is important.

Am I the only person who learned in Infants B (aged 6) that actions speak louder than words?

5. Dr. GP:

So where is Simmons now? Still in the good old USA?

6. The GG has made his decision and we should accepte it. Onle he would know why he chose those particular persons to sit in the senate. Life must go on.

Dr. Frances Chandler does not have to sit in the senate to make any further contribution to Agriculture. Perhaps she can volunter to work with the MOA to to assist with the implementation of its agricultural strategies.

7. I think that Richie Haynes should be Govenor General

8. May I ask what has come of the court filing by George Payne for damages against Edmund Hinkson coming out of their meeting to elect a temporary leader of the Opposition to replace Arthur, when Payne insisted that the members give Arthur 6 months at the helm to steady the ship and then hand it over to the party to elect a new leader and Hinkson stuttered something about who would listen to Payne a scamp a crook a fraud and a liar.

All he’ll broke loose leading to Payne refusing to sit with or have anything to do with Hinkson and followed up his talk my going to court on Wednesday and filing Court Papers against Hinkson for damages for the stuttered utterances coming from Hinkson lips.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

just asking

“I think that Richie Haynes should be Govenor General”

One of these days you will say something that make sense.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Simple Simon | March 9, 2013 at 6:25 PM |
    Dr. GP:So where is Simmons now? Still in the good old USA?
    I THINK SO BUT HE IS NOT THE DLP PERSON ADVISED BY THE CURRENT GG
    THAT MAN RETURNED TO BARBADOS AND WENT TO JAIL

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TO THE POINT”
    “Dr. Frances Chandler does not have to sit in the senate to make any further contribution to Agriculture.”

They need people to help pick cotton!!!!!!

12. @TTP

Understand that all Barbadians, voters, taxpayers are entitled to question any decision taken by actors in government. Some of us are not sheeple.

13. @Burning Red
    What disinfo ! There were two days of voting for a leader of opp, first day Mam received 6 votes , Kerri 5, and Dale 3

14. Burning red is another “new” DLP pimp on BU whose job it is to spread propaganda, hate and innuendo.

I went on the DLP’s facebook page and all I saw was OSA and Mia. Every post and nearly every picture was about OSA and Mia. A page which should be promoting the DLP is all hateful and spiteful postings on OSA and Mia.

OSA and Mia really got Dem bad! A bunch of sick political blood hounds!

15. Cyprian La Touche Avatar
    Cyprian La Touche

Please. I am not too bright,can someone please tell me what the senate(of Barbados) is? Where does it come from?What should it do?What does it do?What has it done in the past thirty odd years?

If my understanding is correct,and that the concept of representation is based on the english system of the House of Commons and the House of Lords,being designed to balance the powers between the monarchy and the people, between those who have had for centuries and those who now want.

What place does this system have in our “modern” democracy of 2013?
    PLEASE help me,I’m not too bright.

16. @Cyprian La Touche

You are correct there is a need for heavy reform to our parliamentary system. We do not have the courage to start the conversation. How many times in our parliamentary history has the Upper House overturn a bill passed by the Lower House?

17. The GG is a creature of this PM. It is a known fact that this GG with all due respects to the position, lobbied greatly to get the pick. He has to do what this PM wants. From the time the results were known, I said to my spouse, do not look for Dr Chandler to be returned as a senator. You can read the Dems so easily.

For sure, they would not want her speaking out like she did in the last session. No, appoint a drooling old has been like Harold Critchlow who fits the DLP and the GG’s agenda as he has been attacking the BLP during the last session. As an Anglican, I still want answers from the very Harold Critchlow over his tenure as dean of St Michael’s Cathedral. Let him account for that first before he could have the temerity to question the BLP.

The BLP has nothing to be ashamed of. It ran the country with great distinction during its 14 years and Barbados shone like a beacon in the world. People had money in their pockets and bank accounts because they were working. Businesses were booming! Cant say the same now! Can we???

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

It was once an honourably observed and mutually accepted convention under our Westminster form of governance that the Seven Senators appointed by the GG would reflect a large measure of independent thought, valued expertise and wise experience to represent those sectors of our society not necessarily politically represented in the other elected body.
    It was once taken for granted that sectors such as Farming, Manufacturing Industry, Tourism, Commerce, the Arts & Culture, the Professions and indeed Religious pursuits would find a voice to promote their interests individually or collectively for the advancement of the general society.

But it seems this is no longer the case. Membership of the brotherhood at either the political, alma mater or secret order initiation stage seems to have much influence in aspiring to that once august chamber.

Can one tell us where in the Senate does โ€˜our piggy in the middleโ€™ called Ms Agriculture is represented by an โ€œindependentโ€ voice? This sector has moved from a pigsty to a dog pound for political upstarts with too much barking ambition for top dog status.

By this action of muzzling another fiercely independent terrier this administration is making it known in no uncertain terms how much value it actually places on agriculture.

Just a load of rubbish outlined in the manifesto and the coming Estimates would show if this government is prepared to put taxpayersโ€™ money where its political electioneering mouth is.

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

David, it would be well-nigh impossible for that to happen without some interesting consequences. The Government senators outnumber the others 12-9. So long as a special majority is not required, the overturn of a legislative measure passed by the Lower House would necessarily involve a rebellion of sorts from the Government senators.

20. @Jeff

You have made the point better than we ever can. The Senate is a talk-shop_ read rubber stamp. If we accept this premise then the obvious conclusion must be, where is the value in the Upper Chamber to our system of government. Based on the Whitehall System it is suppose to be part of a check and balance no?

21. @David

why dont you get one of the bright spark put forward a thesis on how the senate could or should be reformed. Under the system owen was proposing for which huge sums were spent, how would the system have functioned and was there going to any reform of the politcal process. Where is that report and how much money was spent on same.

22. Carson C. Cadogan | March 9, 2013 at 11:51 AM |
    Great move, she was a nuisance.

I SUPPORT DROPPING HER 100%. She was serving no purpose at all and she seemed to have a real problem with Black people.
    ———————————————————
    Couldnt agree with you more given half a chance this annoying woman would send home every civil servant.
    Let her put her money where her mouth is lead by example go pick cotton. Barrow cut canes.
    Who Francis Chandler think she is? Dr. Fraser is a better pick and he’s in the Senate.
    Good riddance to her.

23. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

That’s precisely what an Upper Chamber is intended to be. Unfortunately, ours is configured to ensure that the business of the government gets done as a matter of course, save when some constitutional amendments are required.
    Once a measure gets past the Lower House, even with this current narrow division in the House of Assembly, its passage in the Upper House is assured.

24. @Jeff

Thanks, in a couple sentences you have delivered a stinging indictment on a people who lay boast of above average literacy and intelligence. So where do we go from here?

25. Prodigal
    I am starting to feel for you and miller. You are two deeply hurt individuals. I never knew that non candidates would take an election loss so hard.
    Maybe you were looking forward to feeding at the trough
    Go and relax yourselves because you cannot change none of the appointments made right or wrong.

This Governor General is one of the most down to earth Governor Generals we have had for a long time.
    He is being attack unlike any other Governor General. WHY?

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Prodigal Son | March 9, 2013 at 8:23 PM |
    “No, appoint a drooling old has been like Harold Critchlow who fits the DLP and the GGโ€™s agenda as he has been attacking the BLP during the last session.”

And to think that this same washout senatorial Neanderthal could continue in 2013 to represent a more โ€˜ecumenicalโ€™ religious landscape of a fast changing Barbados. What is wrong with other leaders of faith-based institutions?

It will be most interesting to listen to his contributions if he lasts that long in the Senate.
    The PM gives and the Lord can surely take away.
    Will he continue like a real clone of ac to blame the BLP for everything going wrong under his godโ€™s sun?

Will he continue to ask the BLP senators to account financially for the pre-2008 events or would he wake up like RIP van Winkle and demand that the present administration account for events between 2008 and 2013 which by a process of continuous government would automatically include prior yearsโ€™ transactions.
    We shall see if he dribbles his drooling way out of his biased political slumber or remains fixed in a time warp of drivel.
    His first question should be targeted at Senator Byer-Suckoo demanding that the NIS financials be submitted. We are sure that his other โ€œindependentโ€ colleague Senator Marshall will join in quiet unison.

27. Cyprian La Touche Avatar
    Cyprian La Touche

We are all anxious to speak about reform ,but I feel that the first and most important discussion must be about understanding. Understanding what the concept of our particular form of governance was, is and should be all about.

We take too much for granted, that the current systems we employ are too far beyond the understanding and ability to be questioned by the general public.
    We believe too much that people with paper degrees and liquid loquacious Latined language are qualified to interpret inscrutable laws for our grateful understanding. We must UNDERSTAND first and reform later.

This is the first step in bringing about the changes we so vocally voice and remonstrate.

28. jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff Cumberbatch

@ David,
    I honestly do not know where we should go. I do acknowledge the importance of having the assumedly wiser ones among us having a say in legislation in its formative stages so as to act a check and balance. I do not believe however that a Senate is necessary for that purpose. In this context, there might be something to be said for the Parliamentary committee procedure, whereby the views of experts in a particular policy area could be obtained by the legislature.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | March 9, 2013 at 8:44 PM |

You don’t have to feel for the miller. The miller has already made it clear where his political agenda lies and how his battle plan is progressing with the “appropriate” general now in place.
    Just follow the millerโ€™s contributions past and present and you will notice that the miller’s prophecy was not for the last outing but will be for the next outing one day coming rather sooner than full electoral gestation.
    BTW, my trough is already filled with goodies but not of this Bajan world.

30. David coming ‘cross like a real brown noser …. Hey Jeff I could kiss your ass too? You got space fa me …?

31. @Miller

the lord can take you and I before dean Crichlow. Your infantile rantings is becoming nauseating.

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 9, 2013 at 8:37 PM |

There will be a major event coming soon that will force the Government to make significant costly adjustments to Her Majesty’s loyal government.

We shall see if the government will be brave enough to make this Elizabethan age the last for a republican Bim or would it mockingly carry on attached to another irrelevant monarchical bandwagon with Charles or Will in the broken down driver’s seat.

Just wishing and hoping Sir Frederick is alive and kicking to see his professed wish comes true. The Republic of Barbados under President โ€œSirโ€ Elliot and PM Stuart has a nice ring to it. Do you agree, TPP?

33. @Baffy

Define ‘target’: BU…fire away!

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ TO THE POINT | March 9, 2013 at 9:11 PM |

You are right there! We have seen him in action before.
    But before he comes for the miller let him pay a visit to the likes of CCC and ac who have been wishing such visitation on poor sickly Owen Arthur for the last 2 years.
    But maybe OSA is preserved by another set of spirits.
    Those who live in glass houses must not throw stones at living โ€œduppiesโ€.

35. Colonel Buggy Avatar

@Cyprian La Touche
    The purpose of the Senate in Barbados appears to find places for those on both sides of the fence, who were unsuccessful in any general election. Those who were in the Parliament for the last five years,and were voted out, are given a chance to qualify for a hefty pension, by spending the qualifying other term in the Senate. Thirdly those Bajans who formerly supported the long defunct Conservative Party, and who have no intention of entering elective/abusive politics,are given a “scotch” in the Senate. Many of these same people are given Knighthoods, not the KA ,Knight of St Andrew, but the KCMG,Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George, and it has nothing to do with our two parishes of the same name.The KCMG comes with a stamp saying ‘Made in England”. The KA seems to be stamped “MM” after a Disney character.

36. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Unlike most if not all of the other politicians in parliament, who have to look over their shoulders before they can say or do anything, for fear of loosing out at the next general election, Mrs Chandler had no such restrictions, and I’ve admired her for speaking out even if it at times offended some and appear to be unpopular with others. This same eye on the electorate, has bugged us for many years , and that is why we are incapable of solving the ZR menace ; the increasing anarchy which prevails on our highways ; the indiscriminate burning and disposal of garbage; the noise nuisance , just to name a few. And it is simply because the perpetrators are also voters.

37. @David: All the discussions are about Government doing this or doing that. Where is the Private sector in this country? Why don’t people call on the private sector to step up to the plate? and for the information of Simple Simon, there are four women in the senate: Esther Byer suckoo, Irene sandiford Garner, Maxine McClean and they are all young. Senator Fraser is a Bajan white, and I don’t see the “old fogies” you are talking about. The onslaught against the government that has taken place since the election reminds me of 2008. It is following the same pattern, and if it keeps up the results for the next election will be the same

38. I forgot Senator Kerry-ann Ifill, who is President of the Senate. won’t you all be gracious enough to congratulate the government for appointing her to the Senate in the first place years ago?

39. @Alvin

In case you missed the thesis line of this blog, we questioned the criteria of the selection of the Independent Senators by the GG. As usual you try to obfuscate.

40. @ Clone,
    I am starting to feel for you and miller. You are two deeply hurt individuals. I never knew that non candidates would take an election loss so hard.
    Maybe you were looking forward to feeding at the trough
    Go and relax yourselves because you cannot change none of the appointments made right or wrong………………….

You are so wrong! I hurt for Barbados, not the BLP. I have told you DLP supporters on BU before (or maybe you were not on BU yet), I have never fed at the BLP trough unlike you who seems to be up front feasting on the fatted calf. I want for nothing from a government personally.

My only wants are for:
    (1) sound management of the economy so that the businesses can thrive and so employ people who will have money to look after themselves
    (2) Good police force to keep the country safe
    (3) Good education system
    (4) Good roads and well lit too
    (5) Good health system

So do not judge me by your standards. I want for nothing, I have a good life!

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | March 9, 2013 at 9:59 PM |

No wonder people of โ€˜independentโ€™ means with talent and worthwhile contributions to make to this society shy away from public involvement or service.

When we see the kind of treatment meted out to the former Senator who can blame them from shying away from offering themselves up for public service.
    As long as you are prepared to tow the political line of the PIP its OK to serve but dare one tries a Chandler โ€˜tell it like it isโ€™ approachโ€™ and we will see the vindictive decisions of the leaders followed by the vitriol emanating from the PIP hacks as observed on this thread against the goodly senator.

Senator Frances Chandler was right on the money regarding the Four Seasons NIS $ 60 million sinkhole and the master con artist behind its failed resuscitation.

42. @Alvin

Here is a question for you: the women selected by their respective political parties will ALWAYS vote party right? So what where is the obligation by citizens to feel honour in the appointments?

43. Black people mekkin noise fa white people well well I never heard any of dem white people mekkin noise bout de boys pun de block including Francis dem wud like to see all black people pun de block that would mean no competition but look wha some ah we doing mekkin noise fa dem it sad

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Former Senator Chandler hit the nail on the head a few times and was praised for her positions. Somehow it appears as though she was trying to maintain her reputation and at other times delved into a lot of condescending crap. I read her contributions on the Public Service and I can assure you that she had no idea what she was talking about, but she was praised for it because of this collective inferiority complex that black Bajans suffer from. Personally, I could not wait to get her out of the Senate. Except on Agriculture, Senator Chandler was out of her depth.

The GG had the good sense not to re-appoint Mrs. Chandler, but he fell down badly by retaining Sir Leroy Trotman. He is supposed to represent the interest of Labour but he seldom does that. His is a wasted seat.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Colonel Buggy | March 9, 2013 at 9:41 PM |
    “Many of these same people are given Knighthoods, not the KA ,Knight of St Andrew, but the KCMG,Knight Commander of the Order of St Michael and St George, and it has nothing to do with our two parishes of the same name.The KCMG comes with a stamp saying โ€˜Made in Englandโ€. The KA seems to be stamped โ€œMMโ€ after a Disney character.”

Colonel, do you think Bajans are aware that under a soon โ€œforced-uponโ€ Constitutional Republic those well sought after titles of Sir and Dame of KA, KCMG, and even Rt. Hon,
    must disappear if they are not to look like apish fools of the asinine cavity variety?

A total break from a Monarchical system to Republicanism must be a complete umbilical exercise and not one of name only while keeping the amusingly archaic monarchical trappings some of which we entertainingly witnessed with the recent opening of a new session of Parliament.

If there is one thing that would burst the bubble of republican status enthusiasm is the unpalatable thought of losing such elitist distinction and badge of brownnosing by the local black โ€œaristocracyโ€ inherited from their white ancestors in England, Scotland & Wales.

46. @Caswell

It seems a little harsh to criticised Dr. Chandler on her positions about our moribund public service. At the risk of being condemned by you BU agreed with many of her positions. Do you care to be specific about any of her positions delivered in the Senate to support your point?

47. One thing I agreed with her was when she spoke about the drain on our NIS funds.
    Nipples Incessantly Sucked.

Nipples Infinitely Sore

When she spoke about the laziness of public servants, even Haynesley Benn confessed that they were people in his ministry who did not drive a stroke each day.

I can tell you because of her that cultural industries bill was sent back to the house for further work on it.

Cant we get off of this black/white thing? How many of us were not at sometime hired by a white business? How many black businesses hire Barbadians today? Isn’t Dr Chandler a Barbadian? Are only blacks in this Barbadian?

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Don’t get me started. Haynesley Benn was only kissing up because of that same inferiority complex. She was way off the mark with respect to the Public Service. Her generalisations were at best condescending, slave mistress at worst.

Poor Benn demonstrated that he was a proper fool. He jumped in where sensible senators feared to tread. Lots of the people who do not work or are indisciplined gained their positions from politicians, like Benn, overloading he Public Service with their political cronies. The same Benn divulged that he interfered in the employment of public servants but he did not keep all the jobs in St. Peter.

49. Hamilton A Hill Avatar

As I read the posts of some here,particularly those of Prodigal Son and the Miller I am convinced that there is a mindset pervasive in the BLP that ruling this country is a divine right of theirs.From the governor of the central bank to the Governor General,they all feed on George St. Cool aid.Has it not occurred to you that the rejection recently suffered was directly related to this very brand of know it all arrogance?Too bad that do overs are restricted to polls only.

50. I would have tought by now that this partisan crap woild have come to an end and we would have been putting forward ideas to have some reform in the goverenamce structure in the private and public sector so that we can optimally uilise our resouces; financsi and economic among other things.

But no, we have the persistnce of people like Miller and Prodical in particular spouiins it partisan rhetoric, blog agter blog. As Hamilton has said, they need to understand that the electorate has rejected the BLP, however styled and there is nothing they can do to change the results unless evidence can be produced that the electorals law was broken which necessitate the changing of the results. Miller and Prodical, it is time for you to move on. I know that your hearts are heavy with defeat, You should accept the results like grown men, but then again the defeat is to hard to swallow as iit would appear that much was promised was to the two and little has been deleivered.

Over the last five years, we have witnessed this unrelenting attack on the Governor of the Central Bank by someone who should know better, the previous Prime Minister. Is this the said PM that bypassed the then Deputy of the Central Bank for Marion Wlliams. This is the saome man who had the tenacity to stand up to that lady whose name I dont remenber and let her know the development ideas of the bank are time warped and do not reflect the reality of the situation in coutries like Barbados, Mascoll, has also joined the tirade and perhaps he migh have been promised the position of the Governeor of the Central Bank when the BLP wins the elections. He might have to wait atleast five to ten years. before he can think of gracing the office of that noble institution.

Now we have this emphasis on the GG, and how partisan he is in in selecting persons to the Senate. The selection of the GG has not changed over time, neither do I think that the rationale for selecting the senators. Rather than try to impute motive for his selection, If we are so concerned we should be calling for reform, taking in mind that the objective of the Senate is to ensure that the Governemt of the day is able to get through with its programmes. do we want smething like America where the Presient is being hammered by the Republicans day afer day.

The electorate has said to the politicains, i am giving you a close results and both parties’ performance will be evaluated over the next five years to determine whether one party will have an extended term in either oppostion or in government.