Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition

Now that Minister of Agriculture David Estwick has been sworn in the political pundits will wait for The Estimates Debate to continue with the speculation. Unfortunately for the Stuart led government the slim 2-seat majority will continue to exert the weight of public scrutiny. Not sure if the public will ever achieve a comfort level in the current circumstances. This is a new political path for Barbados.

During all the post-general election debate the leadership transition from Arthur to Mottley – the heir apparent in the eyes of many – has avoided deeper discussion. This is the second bite of the cherry for Mottley since her removal by Payne, Marshall, Toppin, Clarke and Duguid – the so-called Gang of 5 – which paved the way for the return of Owen Arthur. The result of the 21 February 2012 is now history, it saw the defeat of Arthur and the BLP.

BU had hoped in the wake of all that has happened the disaffected members of the ‘Gang of 5” would have rallied behind Mottley, and in the process send a message to the world that old wounds were in an advanced state of healing. Unfortunately for Mottley the report of an 8 to 5 vote exposes a deep division within the BLP parliamentary group. And yes members of the group are entitled to vote conscience even though in the highest chamber of the land the idea of doing similarly is dispensed with.

Mia Mottley's second swearing in as Opposition Leader
Mia Mottley’s second swearing in as Opposition Leader

It was interesting also the position taken by Arthur to absent himself from the process of selecting the opposition leader. As a BLP member of parliament his participation was demanded. Even more so because of what he is on record as saying about Mottley’s leadership in a UWI interview after his other general election defeat in 2008. Does anyone buy the explanation offered by Arthur that he did not want to be a drag on the discussion to select the new leader of the BLP? By this single act he wedged the dagger a little deeper than it was lodged in 2008. Here was the perfect opportunity for Arthur and Mottley to show that the party was ready to shatter all doubts about the leadership of the party. What is to stop those Barbadians from believing that there is some angst still being shown by Arthur, and co, at the prospect of Mottley leading the BLP? What is it Arthur and co are not telling the public by their vote?

To some it seems that there is a bloc within the BLP parliamentary group who have sworn a pact to do all in their power to pervert Mottley from the path of ever becoming prime minister of Barbados. If there is a compelling reason by those in the BLP concerning Mottley becoming prime minister, the time has come to take the public into its confidence? If they don’t it will become a protracted issue which will have to be addressed the next time a general election is called. Why force Mottley to have to carry the spectre cast by this matter like an albatross on her back for the next five years? And to intensify the distrust enter Kerri Symmonds stage left.

Owen Arthur cannot regard the last parliament as poorakey and this time around suggests that he intends to fully participate.  The personnel is the same on the government side! His position reeks of hypocrisy. Perhaps the recent defeat has caused him to recant. We continue to navigate an interesting period in the political landscape of Barbados.

Mottley will have to demonstrate she has what it takes to lead the BLP into the next general election.

1. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Yes Mia has what it takes , She Took plenty for 14 years and will take more. Let hope the PM and the AG get to work and lock her up for crimes against the People .Owen Next

2. i take this opportunity to wishe her all the best and hope that she can hold the gang of five together.

3. weak! and indecisive! no margaret Tacher here

4. AC you are a two faced LYING Female DOG! Before you were calling for her to be reinstated as head of the BLP and now you talking with a forked tongue. Why can’t you be honest just for once?

5. @ac

Can you state where you believe she has shown weakness?

6. Does Mia have what it takes.

In two words… ‘of course’.

In more than two.

‘Form is temporary, class is permanent’.

7. @islandgal

Why are you surprised. All of those who supported MAM will now find reasons to rail against her. It is called partisan politics.

8. Mia is not a sly and cunning individual like some.

She is what you get.

I like that.

9. Fractured BLP Avatar

Hi David,

When it comes to Mia Amor Mottley (MAM) kindly choose your words carefully.

It is my humble opinion that when speaking about MAM, you should not use the words as outlined in one your sentences above , and reproduced here for illustration ‘ This is the second bite of the cherry for Mottley ‘

You can well imagine how some of your female readers SQUIRMED at the use of such language !

Then your HEADLINE ..MAM indeed has what it TAKES…….but many Barbadians are not READY …..to TAKE…..what MAM….GIVES !

Not even if MILLER flavours it with ONIONS…..that would simply be not ENUFF……Just OBSERVING !!!

10. @fractured

u on a roll to day, enuff said with a balanced view.

11. Here is a definition of political partisanship:

BLPites: we increased our seat count in parliament, we therefore have a stronger opposition.

DLPites: we won!

Apolitical: the result shows with a 60% voter turnout that the people are disengaged from the message of BOtH parties.

Which category do you slot into?

12. m#y take on partisanship is when u r not objective> Facts are something u can prove, the blp increased its seat take, thats a fact, the dlp won the elctions thats a fact, the turn out was aroud 69 per cent, thats a fact

13. around 60 percent, thats a fact.

14. All of this cloak and dagger about members of one of two institutions with NO legal identities …. The issue is as always, access to the billions of dollars that is the purse of the taxpayer and we are stuck with the intrigue that exist between a lawyer and a part time academic …. Please, not today

15. To The Point

The LARGEST minority of Babadians chose the THIRD option. Is that not what is referred to as the “People haven spoken” ..?

16. @Baf

and ur point is? relative to what I have said.

17. In being fair, mia is an articulate a speaker as one would expect from her many years of exposure to public life. However, all those skeletons in the closet are just waiting at the door to tumble right out, this does not help; all the shenanigans and nonsense will roll out soon and continue to be an embarassment.

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | March 5, 2013 at 6:44 AM |

We know where you are going with that. You can’t attack her political skills, policies or proposals with any degree of success, so you do the best thing within your skills set and delve into scandal and lies about her private life.

You are strongly advised to desist from this kind of foray if you don’t want to see the facade of respectability removed from the DLP and the skeletons hiding in the closet exposed for what they really are.
    As the Christian lady on the call in programme suggested: Why don’t you find a good wife for the bachelor old man? They are many single ladies in their 40’s and 50’s who would look the other way and make a perfect legal partner for the lonely man even if bedroom business is off the menu and separate sleeping arrangement is agreed upon. There is nothing wrong with a marriage of convenience. We, the Christian society that we are, don’t want to see another P J Patterson in action in “batty” Barbados.

19. Can anyone tell me of Mia Mottley’s accomplishments as a politician because I keep hearing words like brilliant,smart, future prime minister whenever her name is mentioned .

20. David
    When you said ‘second bite at the cherry’ we assumed no pun was intended.

21. Just looking on. Avatar
    Just looking on.

@ miller
    You are an obviously very unhappy man who betrays your innate bitterness, jealousy and downright bad breeding . But you know what ? You have FIVE MORE LONG YEARS TO CONTINUE GIVING VENT TO THOSE CHARACTERISTICS . We shall see if you are able to survive .

22. David;

Nice topic.

This is also a good one that speaks to the management of the minimum leader. (The Benn revelations, Barbados Underground, last night, pages 4 and 5)

Also noted in that paper that Francis Chandler, is no longer in the Senate.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Just looking on. | March 5, 2013 at 7:37 AM |
    “You are an obviously very unhappy man who betrays your innate bitterness, jealousy and downright bad breeding”.

You forgot one thing off your list.
    And a happy married man who doesn’t have to sleep alone.
    Tell your friend Fractured that those in glass houses not to throw stones.

Men of good breeding don’t collude in the breaking of the law.

24. Just looking on. Avatar
    Just looking on.

@ miller
    It would be infinitely better if someone else were to make the observation that you are happily married; you are in a sense behaving just like the BLP who throughout the campaign were spouting off how united they were; everyone else who was not a blind supporter knew different. On your part we should all say a prayer for that wife of yours.

25. MIIA Likable! charsmaticyes! opinonated Yes! however he abibilty to carry through on many issues/fall short.take alook at the CLICO issue of which she was the most outspoken she was unable to push the issuehard enough to where the DEMS would have been forced to make a commitment to the policy holders. CLICO was her baby and she failed to deliver what she promised as a matter of fact the RT hon seized the opportunity to take whtever momentum she had on CLICO away from her.

26. Does Mia Mottley have what it takes? The answer to today’s question is yes – for some Bajans- ( but she still has to convince her detractors on the BLP benches). Even the BLP diehards on this blog have been lukewarm regarding her elevation to the post of LOP (except for you know who)

Overall I would term her support as 21 miles long, 14 miles wide and an inch deep and that’s even among BLP supporters.

27. @Zeus
    “Can anyone tell me of Mia Mottley’s accomplishments as a politician because I keep hearing words like brilliant,smart, future prime minister whenever her name is mentioned ”
    I could not have said it better myself.

Mia Mottley was pushed at the Bajan electorate from Day 1 by the aristocratic, conservative elite that control the BLP and into which she was born.However, she has had a very ordinary record as a minister and sat in a cabinet that wasted the most money in Bajan history.
    Clyde Mascoll said that she was a disaster as minister of education and that she was sent to the Ministry of Economic Affairs and given nothing to do and basically did nothing in that ministry.She ignored the warnings sent about the situation at Glendairy and cost this country to have to find 30 million every year in foreign exchange for a prison.

Bottom Line – Mottley is a talker and communicator and a back slapping politician who will drink and smoke with the guys and girls and therefore personally is suited to politics.
    This should not be confused however with her ordinary and in some cases dismal ministerial record .Her performance however does not suggest any brilliance that should distinguish her from any of her colleagues.
    Those are the facts.

28. And so the guns have come out blazing. I knew it would not take long for the attacks to start.

What difference does it make if Mia did not get 14 votes? Did Fumble get all the votes when the king died? No…and the then GG knew that all was not well and he summoned all of them up there and one short man from the north held out his vote declaring that in exchange for his support, he wanted a ministry.

She is the leader, the party has said they are united beside her. Until we see otherwise, let’s give her her deserved honeymoon as we give the DLP the same. No one on earth is squeaky clean, Jesus was and they still found fault with him.

He that is without sin, let him cast the first stone.

29. @millertheanunnaki,

You pelting rocks at the PM’s house and brekkin de glass at Mia’s.

30. @! Bottom Line – Mottley is a talker and communicator and a back slapping politician who will drink and smoke with the guys and girls and therefore personally is suited to politics.
    This should not be confused however with her ordinary and in some cases dismal ministerial record .Her performance however does not suggest any brilliance that should distinguish her from any of her colleagues.
    Those are the facts…………………………………………….

Seems as if you are describing your leader, a failure who is only PM today because the DLP bought the election and brought our once great nation to shame. Tell me what has Fumble achieved as AG or PM?

31. @ ac wrote, “MIIA Likable”

you can’t spell? you left out the “c”

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Just looking on. | March 5, 2013 at 8:19 AM |

Pity you cannot offer up similar prayers for your bachelor friend.
    Listen up, just looking on, if you and your cohorts are to leave MAM’s private life to be indeed ‘private’ and avoid the nasty insinuations and down right untruths about the intelligent and beautiful (both in looks and in spirit) woman then the miller will have no angst or axe to grind against you or your leader.
    What is good for the goose is also just as good for the gander. The miller begs you and your ilk to leave MAM and her private life alone him and he would put away his sabre.

What next are you going to condemn her for? Being a smoker like how OSA is a rum drinker? At least she doesn’t faint in public.

Now please, we beg you to leave MAM alone where the scandal and lies are concerned.

At least you sound sophisticated enough to appreciate the level the miller is coming from, don’t you?
    Deal, or you want to carry on the diatribe?

33. Fractured BLP Avatar

Miller,

The battle royale now start. MAM maybe touted as brilliant but for many she raises more than an EYEBROW !!

And therein lies your RUB !

34. The Pyrrhic victories of both Stuart and Mottley will have little significance for Bajans. Maybe for some, these victories open a window, on both sides of the isle, to engage in certain types of bedroom politics as if the country claims a certain widely spread set of genetically bound proclivities. We forecast that this will continue for 5 years and will be the central issue of the next general elections. At a time when their colonial masters in Washington and Whitehall have ‘come out’ in support of certain pluralistic behaviors. How can 5 years of the long knives be helpful to the country? One is often surprised at the extent to which this narratives informs public policy making, the minds of Bajan from the man in the street to those occupying high office. No heterosexual or independent bystander dares supply a judgement about fundamental human rights for that innocence will became the target of whisper campaigns and outright vilification on the blogs and elsewhere.

WHAT IS REALLY PAINFUL TO THOSE WHO CARE ABOUT BARBADOS IS THAT WE HAVE AT LEAST 12 CRITICAL ISSUES IMMEDIATELY THREATENING HUMAN SURVIVAL AND THERE IS NEVER THE APPLICATION OF MASSIVE BRAIN MUSCLE TO HELP SOLVE ANY, EVEN AMONGST THE SO-CALLED ACADEMICIANS. Instead gossip and rumours will kill yuh dead, as the calysonian said. We are convinced that we need to find different ways to think about these issues, otherwise they will destroy us. Destroyed by distraction. Maybe we can see this issue as a human rights issue or a civil rights issue as removed from the moralistic confines of religion. Should we allow this issue to be the human rights issue of our generation? And if we do how can we catalyze those energies for national development? What does it say about black people everywhere when most of Europe, North America and elsewhere ( mainly white people) have found ways of dealing with these issues, with a degree of civility in the public square, while on the other hand countries in all of Africa, in particular, and the Southern hemisphere, more generally, are intent to perceive these issues through a religious lens?

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | March 5, 2013 at 8:53 AM |
    “MIIA Likable! charsmaticyes! opinonated Yes! however he abibilty to carry through on many issues/fall short.take alook at the CLICO issue of which she was the most outspoken she was unable to push the issuehard enough to where the DEMS would have been forced to make a commitment to the policy holders.”

You see how you are already backing away from commitments and promises made before and during the recent campaign.
    The DLP promised the CLICO policyholders that they will get back at least the principal portion of their investments.
    Are you telling us that the DLP never made such a commitment?
    Of course you will also shy away from this question posed to you.

36. Islan gal !the question was about abilty to be a good leader. i have and will continue her support but based on the events of the past three years .i have seen a lot of weakness in her inabilty to stand out alone. cause she has a complex of always wanting to please.one that would find her unwittingly compromising what ideas and Issues she wants to implement for country. BTW the myrie trial has started the audio can be listen on CCJwebsite just a note of interest to all so far many wobbles coming from her.

37. @ac

What an unreasonable response.

@Prodigal Son

MAM will have to conquer this beast. It calls for the stuff leaders are made of.

38. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

One has to assume that with the presence of so many new members the initial standard of this parliament,at least from Owen’s vantage point has to be even more poor talent.That’s why this country could do with the exit of the wicked old man,paving the way for leader of the opposition to be given the chance she deserves.The same chance the likes of Millertheneverneutral refuse to give this government.

39. @Pacha

Thanks, we needed your comment. Will anyone pay heed? Doubtful.

40. @ David
    Sorry about the jibe earlier

41. Hamilton A Hill Avatar
    Hamilton A Hill

@ Prodigal Son..Man how long do you intend to remain bitter?Let go of that nonsense about buying the election and wait until debate starts.Your team was beaten at its own game,plain and simple.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hamilton A Hill | March 5, 2013 at 9:21 AM |

What chance you want this government to have?
    This administration is just a continuation of the former. Same old faces in Cabinet. This is not a new administration as in 2008 needing a honeymoon period to get settle in or their feet wet. Even the PM said they need to hit the ground running.

I am sorry, Hammie, but no quarter can be given to this administration given their doublespeak and hypocrisy regarding the financial state of affairs of the government and their stance in regard to privatization and public sector restructuring.

43. Let go, never. I know it galls you all that all and sundry know that the thugs in the DLP stole the election. I am going to talk about t daily until the next election. So get use to it. The BLP was not beaten fair and square.

By the way, I am not bitter, I am a very calm, cool and collective person, one who is at peace with myself and who has nothing to worry about accept for my beloved country.

44. @Zeus
    “Can anyone tell me of Mia Mottley’s accomplishments as a politician because I keep hearing words like brilliant,smart, future prime minister whenever her name is mentioned ”
    I could not have said it better myself.
    @! Bottom Line – Mottley is a talker and communicator and a back slapping politician who will drink and smoke with the guys and girls and therefore personally is suited to politics.
    Those are the facts.
    Based on these statements it appears as if Ms Mottley is cut from the same bolt of cloth as the late Mr Thompson.

45. It might be in the best interest of the island to get rid of political families. I also have that opinion of political families worldwide, they tend to do more harm than good.

46. While we play bad/nasty TV reality games, offer abuse and call it political discussion Barbados is going down.
    Facts:
    1. We produced in 2012 in total Revenue approx $2.6 Billion Bds. But we spent just over $3 Billion. Barbados historically has managed the basic house-keeping but Sinckler can’t yet he is back in charge again.
    2. We export just short of $1 Billion Bds. But we import that figure x 3 ie $3.3 Billion . Our import budget is not based on any fiscal reality! So we borrow to eat!
    3. Our current account balance is minus $700 million ie over $1 million of overspend every single day!
    4. Agriculture has declined to just 3.1% of our GDP: we import what we eat, what we make rum with ,what we feed our tourists. Will Dr D make any difference? Our industries produce 13.6% of GDP but tourism and financial services providers 83.3% of GDP. What is very worrying is that tourism that keeps Barbados afloat is being fkd by the the down turn in the global economy particularly the substantial recession across Europe. (Just look at two tourist reliant economies Greece and Spain with over 26% unemployment and in Spain over 50% unemployment in the under 30s.) Jamaica cant pay its dues to International organizations.)
    5. But the truly horrendous big beast in the room is the astronomical production of debt since 2008/09. We are currently in external debt to the sad-tune of approx $9 BILLION. It wasn’t even 1Billion in 2003 . And further how much have we borrowed from the NIS?
    This is the conclusion from the Barbados Economic Society:

“We appear well set and hell bent on falling into a debt trap from which there is no easy escape. “

47. A 9 billion dollar debt is really huge for the size of the island, spending more than what you earn will definitely carry that huge debt to 10 billion, 11 billion………………………………………………..wow.

48. Polly wants a Pit bull Avatar
    Polly wants a Pit bull

I don’t know what some DLP polly dins are so gleeful about. This admin will fold like a pitt bull pack of cards sooner than they think when nothing gets pass Parliament and the GG is forced to act. Take it from this spitt-tance MAM will see to that demise. Give them 8 mnths before hot water

49. Just reading where Hanesley Benn, St. Peter is admonishing the his government for neglecting that constituency for all 5 years he represented it, while declaring he knows what they did and did not do but he apparently sees nothing wrong with keeping that information to himself instead of sharing it with the same voters who could return him or keep him out. They always tend to forget who they serve.

50. I am not being unreasonable it goes to her strenght . the fact that she was the first and lone voice in her party to speak on CLICO then in the end all but turn it over to The RT hon . speaks of a sign of weakness her inabilty to take an issue and use it io her advantage in the end it all but became an issue which the RT hon used against the DEMS instead of MIAholding the regins and capatilising on it..i like her but her leadership style must show more strength.