Stuart and Arthur, our political leaders in waiting

Whether you believe that the political manifesto of a political party is its intent to rollout certain policies if elected or that it is a social contract becomes an exercise in semantics. It is currently the preferred option which political parties have to outline a set of promises which they hope – if elected – to implement. In a growing democracy the electorate should have a reasonable expectation that a political party’s record over time should demonstrate the level of credence given to manifesto promises.

What is reprehensible is that with 10 days left to the 21 February 2013 both political parties continue to withhold manifestos (proposals) from the electorate as if it were a big secret. This is happening at a time when our tiny island continues to face unprecedented challenges posed by the global state of affairs. Both major political parties obviously see political tactics and gamesmanship being more relevant.  What does it say about us?

Until we achieve a higher level of maturity how we conduct political campaigns in Barbados the current reality which see political parties entertaining the party faithful and others looking for a good laugh will continue. Why would an intelligent electorate, and society, not demand from the candidates that they communicate their proposals to inform debate in the country well in advance of the election date? If ever there was a time in our history when we needed our politicians to depart from the same old same old the time is now surely. What does it say about us?

One is therefore left to ask, what has been the objective of the political campaigning so far? If both political parties and the handful of Independents have the national interest at heart, why not rush to deposit well articulated ideas and suggestions in the public space? The corn beef  style of campaigning described which served a purpose in the 60s and 70s cannot be relevant now. The irony is that more people, especially the youth, are becoming so cynical about politics and giving up their right to participate in our democracy? We have sunk billions into educating our people yet a significant chunk of our citizenry do not feel compelled to fully participate in our system of democracy. What does it say about us?

One manifesto item that will be of high interest to BU is how will both parties outline a media policy. This is a subject which is dear to the BU household. BU was conceptualized and given birth at a time when we detected deep hostility by Arthur and cohorts directed at the media in the 2006 to 2007.  In an information age it is evident significant institutional strengthening is required in the area of journalism and a supporting framework. Both parties should explore how resources can be strategically targeted at this segment which does not compromise its independence. It is 2013 and there is no vibrant body to represent media practitioners. What does it say about us?

Instead of discussing issues we have to witness politicians on both sides hurling abuse and otherwise vacuous statements at each other. However, in less than two weeks they will dress up in their finest Italian suits and enter the august chamber of parliament to assume the mantle of lawmakers. What does it say about us?

255 responses to “Manifesto WATCH”

1. @Stark mad jockey | February 12, 2013 at 4:27 PM |
    They will do that after they have demonstrated with cold hard evidence why the BLP should never run this country again unless and until a new crop of BLP candidates is introduced……….

And you dont have a problem with the slate of DLPites, who judging from the evidence of the last five years and the state our country is in have to gall to talk about the BLP slate of candidates.

How do you rationalise people like Kenny Worse, Jepther Ince, George Hutson, David Estwick, Haynesley Benn, Dennis Lowe, Michael Lashley, Chris Sinkliar, Donville Inniss, Adriel Brathwaithe, Freundel Stuart, Dennis Kellman, John Boyce and the list goes on who are again offering themselves to the people of Barbados having been such monumental failures?

Now you tell me this honestly!

2. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

@ Prodigal Son

I understand your concern about the DLP candidates. For the likes of you only certain class of ‘blacks’ are entitled to hold the reigns of government in Barbados. The DLP candidates in your view, should know their place and that does not include lording over the upper classes of Barbados.

I’ll take an honest trier any day over a lazy thief.

3. ALL DLP shirts were made and printed in St. Lucia. Posters and other stuff was also printed oversea. hence the reason the posters did not carry the name of the printers.

ALL BLP material was printed in Barbados. even this the DEMs would lie about? oh my word. shameful!

Crazy Horse Jockey
    you sure you want to go down that road? good luck.

4. @ ac
    “How could a woman of her intelligence allow herself to be so publicly humiliated…”
    The Sicilians have a saying, “Revenge is a dish that is best eaten cold.”
    Hers will have cooled nicely when she decides to dine.

5. DavidB on February 13, 2013 at 5:33 PM
    @Peltdown

While it may or may not be true that BLP the tee shirts were imported, compare that to all the DLP election paraphenalia being manufactured and printed overseas.

They are the government, and chose to heavily support overseas rather than local business.

If you are going to be fair than you have to assess all the evidence.

———————————–
    DavidB
    And the BLP foreign public relations consultants and advertising consultants are from which country ?

Are they working for free ?

Have they not been on the island for the whole campaign season thus far ?

Isn’t their work targeted to the entire Barbadian electorate ?

Compared to Luciano …….aren’t your PR strategists working in Barbados longer and repeatedly directing BLP messages to the barbadian electorate ?

So how can you BLPites FOOLISHLY claim that only the DEMS are showcasing CARICOM talent ?

Who is REDs advertising !

Blasted Lying Party (BLP)

6. “I’ll take an honest trier any day over a lazy thief.” – LOL!!!

i know what the problem is Crazy Horse Jockey, you really don’t know? go ask Richard about the money from the RiRi show he and the others made. not only are they dumb they are dumb and stupid.

it is said, never go in the gutter with a rat because he would beat you with experience. HOWEVER!!! if you have a good dose of rat poison, all will be well.

bring on “Operation Bang”.

7. @Crazy Horse

Your name says it all.

I am well aware that both parties get most of their election financing from sources that expect a quid pro quo after the election from the winning side.

So, how is your question even remotely relevant without discussing the financing of both sides.

Additionally, the DLP has the constituency councils, the UDC, the RDC and other government sources to raid for electioneering purposes.

You know about the gift certificates, cash, hampers and other merchandise that is being given away everyday from before the election was called?

I am one for election finance reform including limits on the size of contributions, disclosure of the source of funds, etc.

Of course, for you, the issue is about your party winning; so such a concept would not even cross you crazy horse mind.

8. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

David (BU)

Operation Bang is in the final launch sequence stage. The warhead I
    Has been tested and inspected. The senior munitions experts are currently overseeing the attachment of the warhead to the payload comparment and after that all that is required is the launch code being approved by the Boss.

9. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

DavidB

The BLP campaign is being financed by the personal wealth of former MP’s and their ‘friends’ in Trinidad.

10. @ ac| February 13, 2013 at 9:28 AM |
    “. . . . . now like a cahmelion he trying to change colors .FS was right in calling OSA a “political scamp” couldn’t have said it better myself.”
    ac, in the above statement would you be trying to use the word “chameleon” by any chance?

11. @ Crazy

So who is financing the DLP campaign? One for sure is the Bajan thief that mashed up CLICO and likely his Trinidadian pal.

Again, the issue is that election finance reform is needed.

I have a preference, but I am not bloody minded like many of the people on this blog, especially a group of DEMS.

12. yes dehood ! but you got the point! that is all that matters! BTW sparrow how are you doing! miss yuh input .

13. @ Fractured

At least you come back with a partially reasonable argument, unlike the crazy horse.

I think, though, that consultancy is a different ball game from entertainers and manufacturers.

Each consultant brings a unique set of skills, experiences and accomplishments. So, it is not so easy to conclude that a Bajan would necessarily the best person for the job.

I am therefore much more amenable to employing Caribbean consultants for election campaigns. However, I would hesitate about consultants from a vastly different cultural environment, such as North America.

14. Hi Miller,

I am at UWI at the moment and I just witnessed OSA asking a security guard to escort him to the room OSA once occupied up here . The guard enquired why ? OSA disclosed that he wanted to destroy the interview tape he conducted in October 2009 about MAM.

The guard said it is my pleasure.

Not sure why OSA would need to destroy that tape since he constantly says he “admires” MAM.

Oh what a tangle web they weave !

15. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

Fractured

He cant destroy it, the meeting was Press Conference. The video of the event is in the archives of CBC and the DLP have copy.

16. Crazy Horse Jockey Avatar
    Crazy Horse Jockey

I have it from a good BLP source that Barney’s statement about Dale being Deputy PM was not approved by OSA. Also OSA believes that Mia and Barney conspired to make this statement knowing it would be the kiss of death for Dale and cause the BLP to lose the elections.

Owen must have expecte that Mia put the knife in him before the end of the campaign.

17. @ Fractured

Why lie?

You expect us to believe that you happened to stumble across the encounter at the UWI that you wrote about?

Most people here are not that gullible.

18. The desperate BLP campaign through BLP yardfowl Sylvan Greenidge is complaining about Luciano, In that case why does he not ask Hott 95.3 to stop promoting and playing the man’s music or ask Al Gilkes to cancel Reggae on The Hill?
    If any of our Bajan artists were asked to perform in Grenada by a poilitical party , would the BLP go to the Grenada newspaper and insist that a Grenadian gets the gig ?
    The BLP only talks CSME when it suits them.Who can ever forget Owen Arthur publicly lambasting Mara Thompson as “that St. Lucian woman who want to be a queen in Barbados”.
    While the BLP hypocrisy is flowing, they should tell the people of Barbados why they promoted a showcase of Bajan talent at Haggatt Hall but no Bajan local beer Banks was not sold – a different “foreign” brand was on sale.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ! | February 13, 2013 at 8:31 PM |

Can you tell us where were the DLP electioneering poster printed?

And while you are at it find out when the Pickerings Project is going to start.
    It is going into the third year since the dead king turned both over and under the sod.
    Or is this project another DLP dud and the Bajan economy should sod off like the Four Seasons promised restart?

While you are still up North looking for projects like a private jet aerodrome you must tell Haynesly ‘Bend’ to shut his mouth before it runs down Benn Hill like a sick nigger backside.
    In January 2008 he blamed the BLP for being in cahoots with the merchants to rape the pockets of Bajan consumers. But now in 2013 it’s the international recession, stupid.
    Who is screwing the consumers now? The children from the incestuous relationship between the merchants and the BLP or is it BNOC and the DLP?

20. @!

Who is responsible for the beer; the party or the vendors? And of course, Banks really is Trinidadian now isn’t it?

Also, is there not a difference between a private promoter bringing in foreign artistes for shows, and political parties doing the same?

But did the overseas artist have the kind of impact you expected? I heard the crowd was modest.

21. @Miller
    Can you tell me why Arthur had his constituency office closed for such a long time over the last 5 years?
    Can you explain why St. Peter has been so neglected over the past 20 years since you are up north?
    What happened to the money in the St.Peter Development fund?

Can you tell Barbadians how much oil is produced locally as a percentage of our total usage? Can you explain how the BLP allowing significant debt to be run up at BNOCL compromised the company’s ability to expand production and supply?

22. Ask sandy lane who is financing the blp campaign

23. @David B
    “Who is responsible for the beer; the party or the vendors?
    – If the overseas beer company through its local distributor puts big money in the show, he dictates that his brand should be the only one sold depending on the amount of sponsorship. While Banks is Trinidadian owned ultimately , it is still produced in a plant here which employs Bajans at all levels.

@David B
    “Also, is there not a difference between a private promoter bringing in foreign artistes for shows, and political parties doing the same?”
    The DLP has been using local artistes- there were all local artistes at the Passage Road launch.If Allison Hinds was invited by a political party in Trinidad to perform and she accepted,would you come on the blog and complain?You cannot promote one Caribbean and give artistes the right to move freely and then argue because they come to our shores.

@DavidB
    “But did the overseas artist have the kind of impact you expected? I heard the crowd was modest.”
    Don’t swallow the BLP propaganda. There were thousands of young persons there who came out and had a good time to the conscious,positive lyrics of Luciano.
    Haggatt Hall was a bigger event promoted constantly for two weeks in print, radio and Facebook where all the popular entertainers in Barbados including Cover Drive had a concert and the BLP candidates showed up as the sideshow.

24. @peltdowman

ask reds advertising

25. ho shoite

didnt owen sell off our assets to foreigners waht all this ignorance about things printing overseas.

26. For the record, again, RED Advertising is a local company. Jutigar has been a resident in Barbados for 20+ years. RED is NOT a Trini company.

27. David | February 13, 2013 at 11:57 PM |

For the record, again, RED Advertising is a local company.
    ============

One again the DLP’s supporters are caught lying.

But as I said, even it it was a Trini consultancy, I would not have much of a problem for the given reasons.

28. Jus Mekkin Sport Avatar

Couple of things,cross my mind as I read these blogs.
    BNOC.
    Was put up for sale ,.Never sold.
    Why?
    Same question I asked myself.
    But that was a prime example of “the blind leading the blind”
    Cos I dont have one damned clue about oil and the makings of it etc.
    So I did ,what the Politicians DO NOT do.I asked a professional.
    By sheer chance I met a Geologist an eminent man,stopping in Barbados and over a cold beer in the yard,posed the question as above.
    Why the BNOC not sold? I mean OIL and OIL is MONEY big Money.YES?
    NO!
    The man laughed ,and told me a few home truths.
    IT AINT EVER GOING TO SELL.
    Cos Barbados is TOO exspensive to drill and produce oil.As a saleable item the BNOC ent worth SHITE.!
    He explained how in other countries the geology of the land was such that a drilled well can pull crude from generous distances away from the well in all directions.
    WHEREAS in Barbados ,that doesent happen.Ever noticed HOW MANY wells we have drilled and so close to each other.
    Because the structure of the formation below ground DOES NOT allow the oil to freely permeate.
    So the need for more drillings.
    Guess the most exspensive part of recovering oil?
    Yes. Clever boy.
    Getting it out of the ground.
    Question?
    Are we earning from oil or just performing a role as an employer and keeping some very well paid employees?
    Is some “Grease” from the oil company as uaual “keeping thing sliding”??
    Second point.
    A 700 ton coastal freighter is in Port of Spain moored for loading.
    A representative of the BNOC comes aboard and asks the Capitain of the said vessel to abort the intended loading and load 7 pallets of drilling mud for immediate delivery to Bridgetown Barbados.The & pallets weigh around 8 tonnes .The ship is 700tonnes.
    Payment for the overnight drop to BIM 15,000US$ plus free” in and out “(Means BNOC pay all exspenses as well).Does Mud run out that quick,that somebody SUDDENLY found they were OUT OF MUD?
    Like MUD has a “sell by date” so we cannot hold stock.
    Like the Mud could not have been put in a 20 foot container and shipped from Trini .Cost 1300$.Time 3 days.
    Does this start to raise questions in your mind??
    Like is “producing oil” in Barbados the “Same as ” EARNING A PROFIT from producing oil in Barbados.
    Or is that relevent.
    Or we just PLAYING that we doing something,like we playing we having democratic elections,like we playing we have a “PLANNED ” tourist Industry,Like we playing we have Law and Order FOR EVERYBODY and NOT JUST the CONNECTED,Like we Playing we have a WATER COMPANY.Like we JUST PLAYING.
    WE ELECT PEOPLE to JUST PLAY.

THEY PLAY and WE PAY.
    Strange the things you think isnt it??

29. I have not yet seen the BLP manifesto, although I expect to get a copy this morning, but plse tell me it was not printed by the Express Group.

30. Jus Mekkin Sport Avatar

At GAI International Airport Barbados
    on the wall a box and a sign that says
    IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY .BREAK GLASS AND PUSH BUTTON

On the THE SAME wall by the LIGHT SWITCHES. A sign that says ,
    IN THE EVENT OF A DLP VICTORY,LAST ONE OUT TURNOUT DE LIGHTS.
    🙂
    True true true!
    Well everything else lately a JOKE so WHY NOT?

31. @!

Don’t swallow the BLP propaganda. There were thousands of young persons there who came out.
    =====

I visited the DLP website and looked at the photos of the event. Lo and behold there were 20 pictures taken form the same angle, showing the same group of people. I actually counted them.

I read that as an attempt to cover up the fact that the numbers were disappointing. Show lots of pictures and people would assume that they were different segments of the crowd.

My conclusion is the the police estimate of 4,000 was accurate, if not generous.

32. HAPPY VALENTINES DAY to all the male cohorts on BU . Hope you have your own personnal Manifesto chock – filled with lots of goodies and freebies for your significant other. Don’t disappoint!

33. @David B
    You keep watching crowds- All I would ask you to do is not what Mark Williams and Anthony Wood did- they cursed their constituents when they lost.
    Remember last election, thousands of BLP supporters stood in the rain at Eagle Hall to get a manifesto. Keep fixated on the crowds and the music. That is a winning strategy for you.

34. @!

I am not fixated on crowds. You made your point about thousands of young people at the youth rally and I responded by putting the evidence before you that your assertion was questionable. Now that you have lost the argument, you want to change tactics and talk about fixation with crowds.

By the way, anyone following the crowds in 2008 knew full well that the DLP was going to win. So the size of crowds is one factor.

But I also take me cues from several sources, one of which is the reaction of children, who can be a very important barometer because they unwittingly reflect the views of their elders. Listening to the children across Barbados gives a pretty good sense that the Bees will win.

Polls are very important. I look forward to seeing what the CADRES poll says this weekend. It was done sufficiently close to the election date; and given its historical accuracy, it will give us a good clue as to what is likely to happen on Thursday.

Another factor is the invective and personal attacks emanating from the DLP platform, while on the other side, they are remarkably focused on the issues. Just read the daily reports in the Nation’s Campaign Xtra, or Barbados Today; or better yet watch the live streaming by both parties.

I, and others on this blog, have remarked on this stark difference before.

Your people are behaving like cornered rats!

Note, I did not say they are rats. I know how you guys like to twist things.

35. Hal Austin | February 14, 2013 at 5:08 AM |

I have not yet seen the BLP manifesto, although I expect to get a copy this morning, but plse tell me it was not printed by the Express Group.

I would think the BLP manifesto, like all other BLP printed material, will say where it was printed AS THE LAW REQUIRES.

Now ask the DLP hacks on this blog to explain why their printed material does not do the same?

36. Does anybody belive that the promises in the BLP manifesto would become a reality in an economy that needs to grow its economy based on high employment and which has been unable to do so. the fact that the economy is sluggish is in part to high unemployment, the first and foremost problem which is important in driving the economy and putting money into the economy and people pockets then and only then would the economny see a difference where people would have money in the pocket. as it is now the few employed would not be enough to jumpstar the economy with the giveaways by the BLP.it would create a defecit in the long term.

37. BTW if any one belive those promises in the BLP manifesto are feasuble and would strengthen the economy. i would sell you some beach front property in ST, GEORGE.

First the we have to fix the leaks in the boat. not give the crew what little is save for repair to go on a spending spree while the holes get bigger,

38. First and foremost on anygovt agenda should be the creation of JOBS! JOBS! and more jobs . the democratic way of putting money in the peoples pocket and taking the economy off life support, the two when mixed is a sustanible and realistic way to healing an ailing economy.

39. @Hal Austin

I got my copy of the BLP manifesto last night, and it was printed at Coles Printery.

So much for the silliness about Express Printery.

Nuff said.

40. The above is also for the mad ox who made the assertion that the BLP manifesto was printed for free in Trinidad.

Yuh see how yuh lies does come back to bite yuh?!

41. now lets see if the DLP manifesto will say where it was printed.

on another note, does the DLP care that it is breaking election laws by having this new radio station? or laws really don’t matter?

42. @ ac

The way to create jobs, jobs and more jobs is to expand the economy. Debushing the highways just before an election does not qualify as jobs.

Remember, Owen 35,000 jobs in 14 years and the DEMs destroyed 16,000 in 5 years!

As Mia said last night at the manifesto launch, “Job #1 is still Jobs.”

43. OSA must think that people live under a rock and do not understand how the golbal impact has affected the carribbean so much so that all the govts that had promised BETTER when changed some are asking the IMF for help in jumpstarting their economy. OSA plan is smoke and mirrors and in effect the very same policies that were unstainable in securing a healthy and vibrant economy in the long term.

44. the billions of dollars OSA is going to give away would be best spent in creating jobs. Pray tell me when he gives awaywhat is saved how is he going to find money to create jobs without further borrowing to do so burdening the taxpayer and adding to the defecit

45. @David(not BU)
    You have no shame talking about breaking election laws- and you supporting a party where Lynette Eastmond had up posters all over her constituency office before an election date was called or announced.
    People covering utility poles with cloth – get real man ! Find something else to try to score cheap political points.

46. The BLP propaganda television broadcast said that other countries in the Cariibean are thriving while Barbados is suffering. Must the BLP resort to blatant lies ?
    They could not be talking about the same Caribbean where I live – Where Jamaica in the hands of the IMF and rationing foreign exchange, where St. Vincent, St. Lucia, Grenada all have much higher unemployment rates than Barbados, where St. Kitts and Belize default on debt, The Bahamas tourism spending is also down significantly- Who is the BLP trying to fool?

47. I find it somewhat strange that the BLP yardflows have notcome outand give a ringing endorsement to the BLP manifesto.i guess reality is the key to PERCEPTION.

48. !

What is the law Lynette broke? i don’t know i’m asking. if she did, she was wrong but i will not take your word until i see the proof. where is the law that says “People covering utility poles with cloth” is breaking the law?

you ever hear two wrongs don’t make a right? give me a blasted break. wanna to lied. cause in point, Donvile

49. @!

Sorry to have to say this, but you are a boldfaced liar.

I pass Lynette’s constituency office and I know for sure that you are lying.

50. DavidB are you saying ! is Donville? 😀