Adrian Loveridge - Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel
Adrian Loveridge – Owner of Peach & Quiet Hotel

First in the interests of establishing impartiality, I think its important that I point out that I have never been a member of a political party during my sixty two years. I vote, whenever practical, because it is seemingly my only tiny contribution to maintaining anything close to a democratic system and consider it both a right and a civic obligation.

When the current administration swept into office just a month short of five year ago, while observing entirely from a tourism perspective, a number of stated objectives were contained within their manifesto. Included in these were to ‘restructure and strengthen the Barbados Tourism Authority’. At the time I remember asking the then Chairman, what was the time frame for this re-organisation. His reply still resonates in my ears. ‘Six months’ he confidently responded.

We all realise now that it wasn’t to be. And that has left me asking the same question over and over again. If a private sector entity, spent hundreds of million of dollars, employed upwards of 150 full and part time employees, consultants, contracted the services of advertising agencies, public relations companies etc., and didn’t produce any real growth for nearly five years, would it be deemed a failed business model?

• Is it not overdue that the mandate of the BTA is revisited, to see if it can play a greater role in generating increased visitors, extending average stay and influencing a higher per-capita spend?
  • Has in fact, any administration sufficient will and determination to address this issue and implement meaningful change?
  • We are told that the much vaunted Tourism White Paper will appear during the first quarter of next year. But is this yet another woefully optimistic promise and how close to reality is this statement?

Only the Prime Minister can call an election and if the information contained on various Government websites is accurate, that requires a timeframe of a minimum of three weeks and a maximum of six.

Presumably, any draft white paper will have to be debated in both sections of Parliament and then circulated throughout the industry for comment. Is it therefore even feasible or practical that this can be done, bearing in mind Parliament’s seasonal recess and that constitutionally, a general election must be held by April 2013. Once the ‘bell is rung’, the House of Assembly will be dissolved.

So not only are ‘we’ not likely to view even a draft document on where this industry is going, but the probability of enacting a Tourism Master Plan appears almost as remote now, as it was half a decade ago. Many within the industry, whether currently employed or victims of the downturn, want to see in which direction we are heading and ascertain if there is a future for them in tourism.

Those who have dedicated years of study at university, perhaps enticed by the constant message that this sector is our main foreign currency earner, want to know their time has not been wasted and ultimately there will be career opportunities.

The dismal failure to restructure the BTA cannot be one of the many issues blamed on the global recession. In fact, if anything, it was even more critical to ensure that our national tourism marketing agency effectiveness and performance was dramatically enhanced. This may prove to be one of the biggest lost opportunities in any period of governance.

1. @Adrian

You are correct that in the time allowed before the general election we will NOT see the semblance of a master plan. We will not see a new structure emerge which was promised after some Board members were sacked.

We knew from the beginning that the appointment of David Rice was square peg in round hole given his limited sales background. Just watch a Youtube of any of his interviews. Ralph Taylor the man with his fingers in all the pies, Whatelse can one say.

2. No No Adrian. The failure of the BTA is also a result of the global recession; we just dont have the insight, intelligence or understanding to appreciate it. I will wait on some DLP yard fowl on this blog to make that connection for us. Schupse. I have never been so eager for an election to be called

3. @FED UP

steupseeee!

4. And yardfowl AC had to eat the bait!

5. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David and Fed Up,

I really don’t think we will see the Tourism Master Plan (in an acceptable state) before the general election either. And Fed Up, what on earth does the recession have to do with restructuring the BTA or preparing a Tourism Master Plan. The cost of preparing a TMP was probably less than an Audu SUV Q5.

6. We focus a lot on the marketing but what about the product? As Hants is always suggesting, we need to put a coat of paint on the product.

7. The product needs more than a coat of paint.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You must really think that BLACK people are stupid!

You, on the behalf of others who look like you, are fighting a terrific battle to make sure that Bajans and the Bajan Government continue to put all their eggs in one basket. Who is that going to benefit the most? Certainly not people who look like me.

You should have been at the Democratic Labour Party’s meeting last night at the St. Leonards School, you would have gotten good answers to all of your one sided questions!

9. And another called Arson swallowed the bait!

10. Correction And another yardfowl called Arson swallowed the bait!

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246 |

I told already to stick to dress making.

12. @Adrian

Are you able to do a pulse check on how the winter season has been going so far? Remember this is suppose to be important!

13. Carson C. Cadogan | December 3, 2012 at 8:47 AM |
    islandgal246 |I told already to stick to dress making.

If the crap she writes is anything to go by she must be terrible at dressmaking , a old time botcher.

Adrian Loveridge did you hire secuirty guards at your hotel as yet and stop blaming the police when your guests lose their belongings because no one is minding the store?

14. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

David, I expect the BHTA will be trying to monitor forward bookings based on their accommodation members that respond.

15. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Awake,

Sadly, we cannot afford to employ sufficient security guards to make Long Beach, Inch Marlow, Silver Sands and the entire surrounding area safe, where there is not a regular police presence.

16. TORONTO – Ontarians living in Toronto and around the Greater Toronto Area can expect colder temperatures and plenty of snow as opposed to last year’s mild winter weather.

Read it on Global News: Global News | Ontario winter forecast: Snow and frigid temperatures ahead.

Dear BTA. Please start an AD campaign in Ontario soon. Don’t wait for Cuba, the Dominican and Sandals to outwit you again.

Nuh lotta long talk. There at 6 million people in Toronto (GTA). Surely you can entice a few hundred to run from the freezer for a week or two.

Adrian while you and your fellow hoteliers(BHTA) are waiting for “The Master Plan” put your own ads in Toronto newspapers.

17. Toronto to BTA. The cottages up north have been battened down for the winter. We primed and ready to travel to warm climes

18. @Hants

How do you respond to the argument that people don’t make decisions on a dime to travel on vacation to some tropical island paradise?

19. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Don’t worry.
    The Rihanna promotional ‘campaign will be launched in September in time for the winter season’ – BTA Chairman

Lots of time left to make a BIG difference – 11 days

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Who does Sandals resorts marketing?

The Jamaican Government?

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian

“Adrian Loveridge did you hire secuirty guards at your hotel as yet and stop blaming the police when your guests lose their belongings”

You still have not answered “Awake’s” question.

22. @Adrian

Please ignore any attempt by political hacks to put you on the defensive.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

So you are handling Adrian with kid gloves?

I would bet the last five dollar in my pocket that if Adrian was Black you would not be telling him that.

You would be encouraging attacks. Remember the issue with the Audi SUV and its Black driver?

24. @Adrian
    Do not let a few political semi-illiterate racists stop you from informing us about tourism and other issues about the hotel industry.

Just keep on keeping on.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

To refresh everyone’s memory:-

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/ml634-audi-jeep-owned-by-some-statutory-corporation/comment-page-1/#comments

Even Adrian posted on the thread and i did not hear you tell him to ease up.

BTW is “John Dillinger” and Adrian one and the same?

JUST ASKING!!

26. Think Feather in He cap Avatar
    Think Feather in He cap

Carson,
    BTW you don’t get tired of talking shote? Ask your Granny about Sig Nigga Pooch

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | December 3, 2012 at 1:12 PM |

How does race become an issue here? Why are you attacking Adrian because of his racial origins? If he were the owner of jada or preconco would you be using his racial status to attack him also?

@ Adrian:
    Just take GP’s advice on board and dismiss that racist clown called Carson.

28. Think Feather in He cap Avatar
    Think Feather in He cap

Carson is a jack- ask and he got no brains!

Carson let us hope someone send you new brains for Christmas.

29. @ Adrian

We were FIRED or as you like to claim, had your appointment (by the Cabinet in Barbados) REVOKED. In other words the DLP administration thought you would be a good person to put on the Board of Directors. You did not help matters, in fact all you reportedly did was keep noise, object to everything under the sun (no pun intended) and looked for personal benefits, the end result being Minister Sealy had to go back to Cabinet to have your appointment REVOLKED.

1. Is Peach & Quiet currently open?
    2. If no, will Peach & Quiet be open during this winter?
    3. If no, do you intend to ever re-open Peach & Quiet?
    4. Has the Peach & Quiet property been sold?

Admit it Adrian, as a hotelier you are a complete failure. Anyone can keep a hotel or any other business in business when the economy is roaring and doing good but its the good ones who can survive the harse period which inevitablely always come.Your problem is you want to BTA and by extension the DLP administration to take responsibility for your failure as a hotelier. If you can make this happen, you will feel better about yourself.

It ain’t going to happen Adrian, you appointment as a director of BTA was REVOLKED for a good reason and you only have yourself to blame, similarly Peach & Quiet closed for a good reason, namely the failure of the hotelier/owner to be able to run a business in a recession.

30. David asked “How do you respond to the argument that people don’t make decisions on a dime to travel on vacation to some tropical island paradise?”

In these modern fast paced environments people in private enterprise don’t have the structure like civil servants and will book a vacation when there is a “window of opportunity”.

I know people who go on vacation when there is a slow down in their work load.

One of the proven triggers to vacationing for Canadians in big cities is freezing weather and snow storms.

Every country/region is different. I can only speak to Ontario.

31. Thanks Hants!

Is it not interesting was after Barney Lynch and the last government the DLP politicos had no issues with him. Anybody who calls it as they see it is labelled. No wonder!

32. @ poorest he

Adrian cant run a hotel in a recession –check
    The DLP CANT RUN THE GOVERNMENT IN A RECESSION

33. @ Georgie (TOP HAT) Porgie

Yah can’t wait to get back into Bay Street to fill yah craw again. You is the one responsible for that stinking Barrack mess. You and Girlie Girlie, the transverstite from St.Joseph is who fashion that nastiness, no?

Girlie Girlie still carrying on with Xavier in St. Lucia?

34. POOREST HE
    ONLY TIME I WAS IN BAY STREET WAS WHEN I ATTENDED BAY ST BOYS LOL
    I AM NEITHER B OR D
    JUST TRYING TO ESTABLISH SOME BALANCE HERE LOL

35. Ok so when wunna tek Hants and Miller advice an clean the streets and beaches an paint the hotels etc, the BHTA has to pool their “limited resources” and do their own marketing.

Put ads in big cities that have regular airlift to Barbados.

Waiting for an effective workable Master Plan to be produced by the BTA is a gamble and rest on them choosing the right competent Ad Agencies.y.

The small hoteliers have to be resourceful and do some level of marketing while waiting on the paint to dry.

36. Greetings GP. Hope all is well.

37. HOLDING ON HERE IN FL HANTS
    HOPE YOU ARE TRIM AND FIT AND IN FINE FETTLE AND STILL PLAYING WELL IN THE “V” LOL

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Think Feather in He cap

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

You all really dont see what is at play here.

Let me give you a hint, it has to do with self interest. Dont be fooled that it is national interest.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | December 3, 2012 at 4:05 PM |

Let me give you a hint in return.
    It will also be in your party’s interest to clean up Barbados. It is looking real stink tattered and rundown. Or do you like it looking so to run away all the white people from North America and Europe and be right up your street of being a true shanty town.

Did you give instructions to have removed the piles of garbage lining the streets of inner and outer Bridgetown especially the piles along the JFK Drive?

40. Awake | December 3, 2012 at 9:18 AM |

Carson C. Cadogan | December 3, 2012 at 8:47 AM |
    islandgal246 |I told already to stick to dress making.

If the crap she writes is anything to go by she must be terrible at dressmaking , a old time botcher.

AWAKE…. tek yuh hairy rass clat and GO BACK TO SLEEP ! Yuh don’t know one shoite bout me!

41. Cannot dismiss Carson just so. Isn’t he an executive in the Hotel Industry too?

42. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

I don’t think the attacks on Adrian are warranted. He is asking the questions that need to be asked and he should continue to regardless of who is in power.

43. Why not attack BU that the Food and Wine Festival is still on the BTA website even though the event ended TWO weeks ago?

What does it say about professionalism and execution by those in our most important industry?

http://www.foodwinerum.com/

44. Is there any truth in the fact Loveridge opens his little hotel for a mere six months of the year if so is he is disqualified to be taken seriously on how to run a 2billion $ tourist industry.

45. Stewpz………and what other Tourism business do you run apart from yuh mouth?

46. I keep saying these hotel owners really need to join together and do their own marketing, they are the biggest benficiaries of the product. Stop depending on taxpayers money, it is unfair. When things are good u benefit, when things are sour u want taxpayers money, what is wrong wqith this picture??

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian and the other like minded must realise that taxpayers are tired subsidising the hotel industry.

I can tell you from experience that a lot of these hotels are poorly run. hence they are always in trouble. Many of them have a lot square pegs in round holes. Why doesnt he talk about that.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Unfortunately the Hotel sector is a prime example of trickle down econoimics.

Always cap in hand.