BU has to agree with former Opposition leader Owen Arthur when he described the current parliament as poorakey. Never in the history of our parliamentary system have we assembled  such a motley crew of MPs. BU disagrees however that the poorakey label should not excuse former Prime Minister Arthur from taking his seat  in that august chamber.

As if to ram home the growing reputation of the current parliament William Duguid MP took it to a different level during today’s session. It seems he has an aversion to the fact Minister Donville Inniss has accumulated great personal wealth from the IBCs he use to – maybe he still does – manage which peddled ‘skin’.  We all know that Minister Inniss may not be managing his offshore portfolio but it doesn’t mean he hasn’t put an arrangement in place for others to have an eye while he is doing national duty.

William Duguid MP lost it during the debate today in what will be regarded forever as a dark day in our parliament. He directed an asinine remark at Minister Inniss. No doubt the remark will not be recorded in Hansard but those who were following the debate just after 2PM would now have a greater appreciation for their mothers.

It is satisfying that Duguid will be jetting off to Canada to settle permanently when his term expires. There is no place for his base behaviour in the highest Court in the land.

1. Geezus the blog gets too libelous. Somebody soon get sue for libel.

2. I would like to ask youngobserver why should Mr Duguid resign? Did you call for Dr Estwick to resign when he pulled a gun on Dale Marshall? Which infraction was worse?

Any man would get irate if another man questions he paternity of his children. Would Donville like someone to question the paternity of his children? You Dems like to do evil unto others but do not like the repercussions.

Donville should be the last to call someone a fat slob, has he looked in a mirror lately?

3. Hi David,
    We are seeing the tsunami effects of the Duguidism in Parliament on Tuesday…. A lady just walked stark naked up Broadstreet .

She was heard telling the shocked onlookers…this WHAT Dr. Duguid was talking about.

C…U….later !

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Youngobserver | November 22, 2012 at 2:14 PM |

Duguid is a political dead horse. There is no media mileage (or should we say furlong lengths) to be gained from whipping a political deadbeat.
    The only damage that can be done is to temporary stain the image of the BLP. The BLP can always claim him to be a loose cannon that has been fired off to Canada with his proxy piccaninnies whose godfather is the known King of Pornville.

Pornville Inniss better watch himself since he has no moral ground whatsoever to stand on. He has a lot of naked skins in his wealthy closet which he would not want to see prised open and which might reveal more than naked pregnant women having sex with animals down on the farm.

The massive evasion schemes used to avoid paying local income taxes might just come to light.

5. @Observing

Don’t you think the incident will reinforce the public perception of a poorakey House?

6. Bajans got to ask why the BLP leadership aint offer no apology yet to the country and come out against Dobad’s behavior. It is two days now and I take their silence to mean they endorse Dobad’s insulting comments about women, in particular the mothers of Barbados. Why Cinty Forde din get up at once and say “No Dobad shame on you”. She was seen laughing. The women of Barbados should tell she go to hell. The BLP has use women like a football for many years. We see few years back how they really feel about women, especially Owing After and the unkind things he had to say about Mia. Who could forget how he treat Liz though some say she did deserve um because she did get to pompous. I vex as hell because the DLP allow she to go to the UN to get dat job. Wuh did she bring to the table? She should have been made to stand home and run Sermac. That is what suit she.

7. @David
    can you reinforce dried cement? lol.

Parliament descended to the ranks of poor a while ago. One would have thought these fellas would have improved over the years…. while some have done so it’s only been marginal. People have very little respect, admiration or adoration for Parliament and Parliamentarians

that’s just the way it is.

Just Observing.

8. Opposition MP’s Vile Comments in Barbados’ Parliament

Below is the website link of a video/audio clip of a BLP Opposition MP’s tirade and despicable comments on the floor of the Barbados House of Assembly on Tuesday, November 20, 2012.
    Listen to his very clear, vile and filthy words to a Government MP: “Like Yuh Mudduh C u – t”.
    Also, watch a female Opposition MP laughing and thumping the desk in support as he harangues.
    Well, well! Look what our Parliament has come to!!!

Fair Play

9. @Miller

How can you refer to William’s children as proxy? I take my hat off to him. He did what a lot of Bajan men in his position would not have done. He married a poor girl, from a poor family and raised a child which he knew was not his. THERE IS NO JACKET!!! The second child is his. I may be mistaken but I am almost sure the girl had the first child before they were married.

If I were he, I would have punched Inniss in the kisser.

I may be up North, but I know tings. He ran around, YES, but paying for it, HIGHLY UNLIKELY. The man CHEAP, CHEAP, CHEAP!

10. Forget the clowns in Parliament. We need to find and assist the development of those children in Barbados who may be like the one featured in the video below.

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOLOLrUBRBY&w=560&h=315%5D

11. The man say scunt … wunna don’ listen …!

12. The other people on that day did boring as scunt anyway HA HA HA

13. Rape is fun, you really must try your hand at it

14. Pong I wid u

15. The Dems too desperate.#vomit

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ping Pong | November 22, 2012 at 5:47 PM |

Good one!
    The young fella is a potential technology genius.

If only we can find a local equivalent and let him run wild in the solar energy business. Now that would be true entrepreneurship instead of the import and sell ‘shite’ we are pushing.

17. Duguid’s colleagues in Canada will be impressed with his performance in Parliament.

Dentists are usually very boring fellas.

I am disappointed that Duguid did not use the Bajan word but chose to use the Trini/guyanese version of the word in a Barbados parliament.

18. Hants

I wid u …HA HA HA … He cudda a do much much worse … HA HA HA …

19. All jokes aside.

Why are we complaining about the moral decay in Barbadian society when our parliamentarians are behaving like bottom feeders of the society?

Fish market,Parliament,rum shop….same difference.

20. The truth is that %% of men are not the father of children that believe to be theirs. And this 5% includes princes, Prime Ministers, prelates, pompous fools and Peter down the road.

The truth is that without a DNA test no man can know whether he is the father of his children.

And men are always surprised when they discover the child/children aren’t thiers.

21. Hants | November 22, 2012 at 7:44 PM |
    I am disappointed that Duguid did not use the Bajan word but chose to use the Trini/guyanese version of the word in a Barbados parliament.

Dugiud said the C word Bajan/ Rihanna style not guyanese/trini he said it as you hear it on the blocks 24/7. The BLPite apologists are on the wrong side of the repulsive outburst by Duguid one to be condemned by all and sundry.

22. I was going to vote “B” but this bad behaviour really got me.

I can’t think a a single current Parliamentarian that I would sit down to eat a bow of pudding and souse on my back step with.

And “No” none of them could sit at my kitchen table.

Bad behaved crew.

The naked woman on Broad Street today is very likely mad. But what is wrong with our Parliamentarians?

Come on men and women – both sides – surely you can do better.

23. And just to remind you of the latent hatred pent up in these people here we have Gline Clarke spewing his RACISIM on the people of Barbados .

Gline Clarke With Racist Undertones Speaking On Behalf of the BLP During the 2011 Budget Debate

24. Duguid (where dah name originate from tho …) said that it was immoral for Innis to mek money from women taking their cloths off … hmm … So wah ’bout the couple of other physicians in the House …?

25. @Simple Simon
    And men are always surprised when they discover the child/children aren’t thiers

This has been celebrated in song

26. Rational Son did you not hear the pronunciation.

Please be accurate.

He said skuntee with an s no a c

27. @Hants

The meaning is clear, and that is what is the issue.

Good to hear Duguid and the Opposition will be addressing the matter publicly:

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/say-sorry-to-us/

28. David I just having some fun with this tempest in a tot.

You ole enough to know wha we does call a tot?lol

On a serious note.both of them were wrong.

29. @Hants

What is wrong is:

What about the fact the Committee of Privileges has not met to rule on the Estwick gun matter?

What about the fact the Public Accounts Committee has not bee called by the Leader of the Opposition to discuss the many matter raised in the Auditor General’s Report?

What about the fact the Leader of the Opposition does not attend parliament?

The indiscipline of the parliament has been at play for some time now. What are WE the PEOPLE going to do about it?

30. The BLP has demonstrated once again that it has no moral compass. The BLP waited for 3 days while the entire was thrown into shock how one of its members threw the Parliament of Barbados to its lowest…..for the main culprit (Dr. Duguid) to declare “we’re sorting it out”

No wonder Miler and Onions has drop this thread !

They too are SHAME….at such display .

31. @Fractured BLP

Do you know if Minister Inniss plans to apologize as well?

32. @fractured BLP

Did he throw it to its lowest because of
    a) what was said (which then implicates ANYONE who has said similar, such or worse while in Parliament) or
    b) because he was caught on the microphone?

I’ve followed this for a while but we really should be careful in exactly what we are condemning lest we descend to the realms of hypocrisy and false morality.

Oh crap, I forgot, alot of us already live there.

Just Observing.

33. Hi David,
    Minister Inniss called Dr. Duigid a fat slob.

A slob….means a sloven person.

Can you tell us the meaning of the WORD Dr. Duguid used ?

Dr. Duigid’s contribution in Parliament on Tuesday even before he used his choice ” word” was already unparliamentary.

As usual we all know you have your BLP party to stoutly defend !

There are those of us in the BU community still waiting to see when you will publish those photos of Owen Arthur….blind drunk outside John Moore’s shop.

Or have you placed them In file 13 ?

34. @Fractured BLP

And the meaning of FAT when you put the two words together?

How you spin it Inniss needs to step up. It would help if he does it before Duguid. A read of comments and feedback generally should force him to reconsider.

35. @fractured BLP

OK, now i understand. it is all right for Parliamentarians to call each other fat slops on the floor of Parliament while in session .

and here I was getting all confused about it. Got ya covered now.

Just observing.

36. David and Observing,

Why you all fretting yourself about apologies ?

The chief cook and bottle washer (INDENTURED SERVANT….Owen Arthur) never apologised when he branded Terry Ally on the floor of the Parliament.

Indeed….David of BU nor Observing raised their voices in protest !

They both saw it as the high standards of “how great thou art OWEN”.

The only person who is right on this one is Owen Seymour Arthur….he had long declared the Parliament of Barbados POOR RAKEY….his silence on this latest display only confirms his view.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Who are the WILD BOYS now?

An apology now is a waste of time, the damage already done. The Barbados Labour Party trying to close the stable gate long after the Horse has bolted.

38. Telling it like it is Avatar
    Telling it like it is

David you are clutching at straws Inniss may have called Duguid a fat slob Duguid may have acused Inniss of peddling porn thats normal parliament cross talk. Yelling “yuh mudda c**t ” in parliament is not. Its disgusting not to be tolerated by either side or the country. Shame on you for splitting hairs on Duguid’s universally unacceptable behaviour.

39. @Telling it like it is

A visit to social media and this blog should satisfy you how many feel about Inniss’ comment ‘fat slob’. Going into an election we shall see how it pans out but why take the risk? Maybe like Duguid Inniss’ millions makes this a non issue.

40. Look the man say a bajanism, but at the time he was NOT standing and addressing the House/Chair. IT WAS AN ASIDE. The mikes and the cameras should not have picked him up.

41. @bafbfp
    U hit the nail on the head

@fractured
    Owen’s behaviour also deserves condemnation. I would even suggest that he set the “standard” for this genera

@telling it like it is
    There’s a fine line between “normal cross talk” and where we’re at now. Where do we draw it and who’s responsible for drawing it!?

42. Telling it like it is Avatar
    Telling it like it is

Observing (…) | November 23, 2012 at 9:15 AM |
    We draw the line at a remark like Duguid’s whether you D or B we all know he crossed the line in a most unacceptable way. Why argue? He must be roundly condemned and at least made to apologise to the country before we move on. I

43. According to the Nation

When asked yesterday if he was going to publicly apologize Duguid stated: “We’re sorting that out.”
    What is there to “sort out”? Here was Duguid’s opportunity to rise above the morass and try to put this issue behind him instead he malingers and allows it to fester like an open sore. These politicians seem unable to admit they made a mistake even if it is caught on an open mike.

Apologize? Not in the lexicon of Bajan politicians.

44. It is amusing to read how many here, save one, can pick on the one thing that Duguid said, which I agree was not right.

However, after listening to the actual recording, one HAS to put this is perspective … while on his feet and speaking (as part of his speech) Duguid did NOT say any curse words, he was simply on at Donville Inniss’ alleged business activity which is said to have included pornographic material … when the Chairman asked Duguid repeated to desist (from that line) and he finally sat down, at which point Inniss let fly a ‘… Big Fat Slob’ and Duguid off the hip (split-second), obviously without proper thought, came out with a ‘… ya mudda sc….’ (I particularly heard the ‘s’ in front of the better known ‘c’ word), HOWEVER … Inniss continued TWICE more to say ‘ya big FAT slob’ trying to get a further reaction.

Now tell me, we all have our weak times and instantaneous reaction is usually when such times occur, does anyone here think that Donville Inniss was ALSO out-of-order??? Fair is fair, and two wrongs don’t make a right … same goes for the one-sided debate here!

45. Furthermore, who said that anyone was thumping the desk at the insult? Could it not have been for what Duguid had the guts to say – in proper words, no cursing, in his (standing) speech – regarding Inniss’ past? Come on people! You showing how stupid you the public can get TOO.

46. I notice too that there are some spaces in the recording … could someone be trying to cover up something worse said on the DLP side, and this recording (here) also tries to cut of the Third ‘ big fat slob’ remark … I wonder how many more he (Inniss, et al.) said that were not stopped by the Chairman either.

47. @BAFBFP

It was an aside which is being soundly condemned because it went public. This is the reality which Duguid, Inniss, BLP and DLP must deal with.

@David Brooks

The issue has moved on, Duguid needs to do the right thing as a person. The fact the aside has gone viral makes it an imperative as he tries to redeem himself. There is an election looming and time will tell if Inniss gets fall out from the incident if he stays silent.

48. Anonymous in Pink Avatar

MY DENTIST’S MOUTH IS DIRTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOLLLLL THE IRONY!

49. Brooks
    Your points are well made and true.Cynthia was thumping at Willie waxing hot,hot pelting some warm revelations at the chairman which is not news really to the informed.I never saw Willie so ‘exuberant’yet!He was fit to be tied because the man has children and is aghast that an mp could be involved in such skulduggery and get away with it.Only in this today buhbaydus.Willie is a highly qualified professional but he was so incensed he lost it for a split second.One cannot however fault his english that is his use of the possessive noun and the apostrophe ‘s’.Now in today’s weekend nation Harcourt is suggesting the people of ch ch west and st james south bear in mind these revelations true or not and vote accordingly in the next election.And seeing birds of a feather another fellow of the order throws in his expertise in the planting of ideas in people’s heads to do similarly but for a slightly different reason.Meanwhile all the public works concentrating on tarring de roads in ch ch west in the hope that those folk will forget tan abed and his 75 to 5 victory in which he lost the battle but hope to make his mark in the war!Some bajans tink we the people foolish but we gine show ya when the bell ring.

50. @tellign like it is
    where is the line???!
    Is it talking about “biting” in a Parliamentary debate?
    Is it inferring “wuk fa wuk” across the aisles of the House?
    Is it “indentured servants”?

Duguid’s “caught” comments only reflect what has been the norm. This is what David has been trumpeting from post #1. Condemning Duguid while avoiding censure of the poor level of Parliamentary debate on both sides and the high instances of invective, insult and injurious personal comments that are spewed left, right and center in the highest house of our land is to pick and choose and put on convenient blinkers,.

Just Observing.