William Duguid MP

The unfortunate comment uttered by William Duguid MP has rightfully upset right thinking Barbadians. We are upset because his comment is reflective of a free fall in values and morals afflicting our society. Yes it was an aside (although not whispered) in parliament  but the public heard so deal with it. It is ironic that Duguid’s tagline sposted on his website is Do Good and good shall attend you…

Days after the incident Duguid apologized. BU joined many Barbadians to applaud him for taking responsibility for his action. In his apology he revealed that he was taunted in a crass way by Minister Donville Inniss, if the grapevine is accurate, it has caused many to sympathize with Duguid while not condoning his behaviour. Minister Inniss will get a chance very soon to test if his political stock has been negatively affected by the episode which occurred last week.

The old people favour a saying that behind every dark cloud is a silver lining. Here was an opportunity for the government and opposition to expose the silver lining. If after this incident members of parliament from both sides of the House had joined hands – figuratively or literally – and condemned the behaviour with the assurance that better would be done. Imagine the potential for positive outcomes if such a scenario had played out on the population of Barbados. Talk about turning a negative into a positive!

Instead the opportunity has been lost because ugly partisan politics reared its head, again. This is what is missing from Barbados at this time, LEADERSHIP. Imagine on Tuesday or Wednesday night ALL the MPs standing in parliament yard, TOGETHER, to renounce the poorakey behaviour and pledging for it never to recur.

Clearly opposition leader Owen Arthur has opted to distance himself from the behaviour of Duguid. We are not surprised because the Duguid incident has served to reinforce Arthur’s declared position that the current parliament is of a poorakey calibre. However as leader of the opposition Arthur cannot avoid responsibility for the standard of behaviour exhibited on his side of the House, so too Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. Where there is a vacuum of leadership confusion is bound to flourish.

Today’s comment by Louis Farrakhan that we need to lead and provide opportunities for our youth or not they have the potential to go rogue and disrupt Caribbean societies should be a warning. Our members of parliament missed the boat last week and their behaviour is another crop of seed sowed predicted to yield a rotten harvest in years to come.

1. @100% Hardcore

You are incorrect. BU was responding to a comment. Get your facts straight.

2. He is who he is, he say so.

3. The Arthur non tribute is something worth having by video and audio clip on this site, it may actually challenge Duguid’s for nasty content.

4. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

so if i understand this correct ….do good who was sitting at the time with his mic still on curse somebody just so??? what is it that would have caused him to do that ???? and was mike lashley or donville mic on?? i don’t believe ah man would tell somebody bout da mudda just so DLP peafowls

5. Where is onion? Things hot the old bag lost. Onion did you eat or cook yourself? Emerge my freind DR. Duguid the cuss bird needs you.

6. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

and by de way parliament does run like ah secret society, do ah song and dance for de masses but at de end of de day they all get along may not be friends but get along,that is why certain things u will never know and ppl would not call others names and this body would not attend this meeting and so on and so on

7. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

BU so wait what is going on here. Since you ban Ole Onions,and Miller ignoring the site, BU nowadays REAL POORAKEY with all DLP rants.But is elections season so even BU in silly mode.DLP mania on BU like a virus, piss poor I must say

8. Sumbudy told me that they see onins stuffing he face wid pudding and souse de other nite at the BLP meeting. onions it is/all right tocome out de coocoon.

9. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

Stuff this, when you and your DLP cohorts get oust (and that is no empty rant such as we hearing nowadays) stuffing ole faces may be a true privledge for some.Tell Stuffing Chris the writing is everywhere but on BU walls nowadays the new DLP comfort haven. Piggy felt super on the way to market too. You know the bajan saying ‘Sweet life duz don’t last too long’ so enjoy the DLP glory days. Is the morning after elections that all the headaches going start.

10. @Onions aka Poorrakey gone viral

We have banned no one. The fact you are able to post this comment exposes your intent.

11. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

We realise you calling everybody who inquire about Old Onions Bag,is now onions.But you are so wrong. I have investigated and it is true .Onions cannot get onto the blog for what ever reason. Added to the fact just check the Ip # of this computerit is not the same, had you a doubt. We all remember only too well the week you said you had plans of banning multiple monikers. We all know too full well he was not the only one who comes in with more than one name..Get ur fact str8 or check and see why heshe is unable to access the blog.

12. 100% Hardcore Bajan Avatar
    100% Hardcore Bajan

@ Poorrakey gone viral

But the privatisation fishbone stuck in the BLP throat. Them coughing and coughing and sticking them finger down them throat but try as they might the fishbone lodge crossways and them choking to death.

Quick quick someone call a doctor, not the loud stink mouth cussbird, Duguid, we need a real doctor to help revive the BLP.

__^^^______^^^__________^^^^___________________________________

TOO LATE BLP PATIENT FLAT LINED, DEAD DEAD DEAD.

13. Poorrakey gone viral Avatar
    Poorrakey gone viral

Not only has BU become a dumping ground for losers,sleeping toads and giants but askHles as well.Flat line ? You want to see flat line, wait till elections morn. It won’t be a mint he will be calling for this time, but smelling salts as well. DLP has as much chance of winning this one as a snow ball in hell. That’s why you all silenced nemises like the onions who’s there to give DEMS hell. Carson who ? Doan make mekk sport chum.A monkey as a zoo has more persona….dead dead indeed

14. @poorrakey

BU has been at this too long. Onions has always communicated via email or the Confidential Link at the top of the page. If he believes his comments are being blocked he is free to communicate as he always has in the past instead of being what he is presently doing. Let BU state again we have banned no one.

15. Poorrakey gone viral “Onions cannot get onto the blog for what ever reason.”

Tell him he has to turn on the computer.

16. Poorakey oniions welcome back see the fact that i saw yuh stuffing yuh face seems to have stuck a raw nerve. onions unmasked but why “Poorakey” The onion bag must be real musty fuh trute.

17. The fact of the matter is this – some people use phrases and words that they are comfortable with or accustomed to. They CANNOT willingly change their writing style anymore than they can change the colour of their skins.

For instance, I can spot Colonel Buggy a mile off. Just ask him. I would also spot Hants if he used another moniker. His English is always good, polished and without fillers (concise). I dont need to see the moniker for Amused. I am accustomed to his language and if someone read his post to me, I would know it is he.

I will bet dollars to doughnuts that “Ole Poorakey” is Old Onion Bag. The OOB has told some porkers on here in the past, so dont believe Ole Poorakey when he says he is not Onions. Just check the language folks.

18. Ah boy….. yuh poorrakey onions bag,

I had long promised you that as the election date draws nigh you would change your name on this BU site.

Well I hope you realised how David called you out….even by your method of contribution and submission of information on BU.

We all knew you are not foolish…after the licks the BLP 15 point DISASTER plan got…..you too decided to give it a lash…..hence your new name…..POOR RAKEY !

Poor BLP tormented soul !

19. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

well ya know i aint as bright as some ah wunna pun hey but i have ah question can government keep the public servants employed and still continue paying subsidies to the statutory corporations ??

20. But looka my crosses Fruendel trick Harold Hoyte, Albert Brandford, onion, miller, Wick-ham,Owen, MIA and the Bees all in one fell swoop. THERE IS NOT GOING TO BE ELECTIONS IN 2012.

That list of political pundits told us with certainty elections would be called this year. They were convinced Fruendel would be forced to ring the bell in 2012. Buss luck for them Fruendel calmly and quietly as is his style out thought the BLP rag tag army leaving their credibility shattered they only bumping gums. Cuh Dear.
    More Fruendel quiet moves in the offing to keep the Bees yardfowls off balance, stay tuned.

21. From the Nation which is quoting Speaker Carrington “Carrington…said he had listened to the debate after Duguid’s behaviour was reported to him, and it was an embarrassing affair that all Members of Parliament should be ashamed of.

Thanks Mr. Carrington for telling off the rascals…all of them. I agree with you.

Shame, shame, shame on them.

22. Simpleton Simon a.k.a Dr. Duguid

It was you who sullied the House with that foul mouthed outburst and then try to pin it on a DLP parliamentarian.

What you should be applauding Speaker Carrington for….is the fact that, after reviewing the video clip 8 – 9 times…. he is yet hear any body cuss Dr. Duguid family.

So it is clear that yet again you told a big lie….since you cannot / have not identified who provoked you.

For your sake….I hope it was not kerrie symmonds ?

23. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

was not the other ppls mic off ?? @ Fractured

24. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

as for de speaker of de house de ppl in parris gap and goodland waiting pun ya da say da cant wait …

25. @Fractured DLP “Carrington for….is the fact that, after reviewing the video clip 8 – 9 times”

Dear Fractured BLP:

Who had custody/access of the video clip from the time of the incident to the time Carrington reviewed it?

First put ya hand on the Bible and swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth and then answer the question

26. Equal Rights and Justice

Where you catch the red herring that you have now introduced – other peoples mic turned ?

Where is the proof of that ?

Remind Dr. Duguid in order to gain credibility on this one he has to identify who “provoked” him when , where and how ?

He who alleges ….must prove. That is the test.

By the way, is this the same duguid that during a budget speech claimed he was reading from a letter penned by a female constituent….when the Speaker of the House ask him to submit the “letter” it turned to be a blank sheet of paper !

This duguid has a history of lying…years ago !

27. EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE. Avatar
    EQUAL RIGHTS & JUSTICE.

so ah man gine just tell somebody bout da mudda just so….please da got to be more to it

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Laughing | November 28, 2012 at 6:33 PM |

You mean the man is laughing at himself.
    He can dilly dally, procrastinate, vacillate, hesitate and even obfuscate as much as he likes but there is one date he cannot go pass that is the 13th of February 2013.
    We will se if he will suspend the Central Bank Governor’s report on the economy for the full year 2012 due in January 2013 or have it doctored before announcing the elections.
    We shall see if Mr. Integrity is prepared to break the Constitution as far as the annual Estimates and Appropriation Bill for 2013-14 are concerned.

29. William Duguid would fit right in. Welcome to Canada Willie D, Hope you become a politician in Ottawa. lol

“OTTAWA — York-Simcoe MP Peter Van Loan has apologized for using foul-language during a shouting match in the House of Commons yesterday that nearly turned into a bench-clearing brawl, national media are reporting today.
    According to reports by Ottawa press gallery journalists, the Conservative House Leader left his seat in the House and crossed the floor to berate his NDP counterpart Nathan Cullen.
    Microphones did not record the incident but video shows a visibly upset Van Loan pointing his finger at Cullen while speaking in a heated manner.
    “I do acknowledge that I did use an inappropriate word when I was discussing this matter with the Opposition House leader,” he told the Commons today. “I should not have done that and I do apologize for that.”