BU has to agree with former Opposition leader Owen Arthur when he described the current parliament as poorakey. Never in the history of our parliamentary system have we assembled  such a motley crew of MPs. BU disagrees however that the poorakey label should not excuse former Prime Minister Arthur from taking his seat  in that august chamber.

As if to ram home the growing reputation of the current parliament William Duguid MP took it to a different level during today’s session. It seems he has an aversion to the fact Minister Donville Inniss has accumulated great personal wealth from the IBCs he use to – maybe he still does – manage which peddled ‘skin’.  We all know that Minister Inniss may not be managing his offshore portfolio but it doesn’t mean he hasn’t put an arrangement in place for others to have an eye while he is doing national duty.

William Duguid MP lost it during the debate today in what will be regarded forever as a dark day in our parliament. He directed an asinine remark at Minister Inniss. No doubt the remark will not be recorded in Hansard but those who were following the debate just after 2PM would now have a greater appreciation for their mothers.

It is satisfying that Duguid will be jetting off to Canada to settle permanently when his term expires. There is no place for his base behaviour in the highest Court in the land.

1. Keep Duguid on Barbados. We have enough dentists in Canada.lol

2. What Duguid say? Does BU have the actual words or recording?

3. So David what exactly was said after 2 today, and did it have something to do with Donville’s mother or all mothers?

And has Duguid even met Inniss’ mother?

4. BLP "no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons" Avatar
    BLP “no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons”

Owen Arthur likes to talk foolishness about the other side and not “controlling its members”.
    Instead of spending money on stupid cartoons, the BLP should spend some of the millions that they are soliciting to print an apology to the people of Barbados especially the mothers and those young people listening. Duguid’s behaviour and utterance was disgusting and inexcusable knowing well that the camera was there and radio listeners were tuned in.
    He clearly has no respect for the people of Barbados.
    How can the BLP leadership condone this behaviour ? There must be a public reprimand. This is not disputable. We must still have some standards.
    I am growing in my appreciation of the decency of Freundel Stuart day by day when compared to the likes of Duguid.

5. i would never defend what Duguid did, he is a joker and a fool for doing it BUT its going to be funny to see the DEMs piss parade on this given the fact that a man pull a gun on a man.

6. Normal or abnormal? Avatar
    Normal or abnormal?

Tempers flare in Parliament – William Duguid

BY: GERALYN EDWARD

Tempers flared earlier today in Parliament when debate degenerated into a verbal assault on a Government MP, while an Opposition member was barred from continuing his presentation and threatened with further sanction.

The drama unfolded during the post-lunch session of debate on a resolution to grant $614 000 from the Consolidated Fund to support Government’s National Summer Camps Programme.

During the session St Michael Central MP Steve Blackett accused the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) members of behaving as though they did “not liking poor people” because of their refusal to support programmes such as the free summer camps and free bus rides for school children.

However, when Christ Church West MP Dr William Duguid took to the floor, he charged that the entire Summer Camps Programme was a grand design by the ruling Democratic Labour Party (DLP) to win the next general election.

The Christ Church West MP then launched a verbal attack on St James South MP Donville Inniss questioning his suitability even to serve as a camp counselor.

And with wild cross talk from floor, chairman of committees James Paul stopped Duguid in his tracks blasting his behaviour and preventing him from continuing his address to the House.

He also instructed that the offending comments be struck from the records.

And what the Nation did not report was what really was said by Duguid, from a totally unprovoked position.

Well, well, well, today we saw the lowest of the low this evening coming from the mouth of the out going MP Duguid to have the shock and disgrace of listened to him say loud and clear coming over the radio this evening CARRY YOUR MOTHER C__T as part of his contribution in Parliament this evening.

This was triggered and he is annoyed because last week Minister Inniss said that instead of Owen asking about the assets of DLP MPs he should ask how is it that Duguid can live in Toronto and only visit Barbados for Parliament sittings.

The Nation carried the Minister’s comments and he was angered that Minister Inniss asked that publicly and that the press picked it up and carried the story.

The nation and our decent people call on Duguid to apologise to the entire nation and our children, he was no example of decency to a child here today, he should do so immediately as a result of his vile conduct in Parliament this afternoon his outburst was disgraceful and uncalled for and not expected from someone who has served in Parliament for too long.

7. William Duguid is fortunate to be a member of the Barbados Parliament and this blatant disrespect and provoking behaviour is how he repaid the electorate.. we all know in this Island for some one to disrespect or curse some ones Mother that is the the ULTIMATE of Insults … the words that has come from his mouth can not be taken back and these are the people who wants to be our leaders again sorry but I too prefer the decency of Freundel Stuarts’ Government smh

8. BLP "no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons" Avatar
    BLP “no workable solutions, just gimmicks and cartoons”

@David(not BU)
    You were there to see who pull what on who ? As Dr. Estwick so clinically showed in his response to Kerry “I like attention” Symmonds, you cannot really beleive much that Kerry Symmonds or Dale Marshall says.

I was not in Parliament today but like many Barbadians, I heard as Bajans would say “with my own two ears” Duguid who knew Barbadians were listening and showed utter disrespect for all Barbadians especially women.

Duguid needs to apologise immediately and the BLP needs to take some of the cartoon ad money and put out a press statement of apology. I doubt it though as they are more interested in putting out ads about Chris Sinckler.

9. Bdos Underground Talkshop Avatar
    Bdos Underground Talkshop

Wow.

10. visitor from England Avatar
    visitor from England

I listened to the debate from my hotel room today….to say that I was aghast at Dr. Duguid’s choice of words is an utter understatement.

Unparliamentary and uncouth….I wait to see if the Opposition leader Owen Arthur would publicly condemn the vile display of one of his MP’s.

Although I have been informed that Mr. Arthur himself have relied on such vile language as well – albeit not in Parliament (except for the Indentured Servant epitaph he placed on a journalist)

Truly….is the BLP ready to return to office….obviously not with such…..SOILED PAMPERS ON !

11. Mr.Duguid should be banned from Parliament, he also needs to publicly apologize to the people of Barbados.Its a disgrace and he as a Member of Parliament should know better, Is this how you represent your people….I say don’t let him back in Parliament he don’t deserve to be there!

12. I am not surprised that Miller , Enuff and Onions have steered clear from this article.

They are too shame to return.

These are the people calling for elections…..to get those BLP thieves and vagabonds back in office.

No way….Barbados deserves better.

DEMS….better for Barbados!

13. @Fractured BLP

its not the BLP alone calling for elections. its the ppl of Barbados. even the ones who can’t vote.

14. Looks as if Rihanna was right after all. Even in Parliament the ‘C’ word is used. And we wonder why our youth are the way they are, when the supposedly role models and pillars of society ,when push comes to shove, revert to the gutter.
    Perhaps we should echo the same words to the goodly MP when he asks about his pension before he goes off to Canada.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ dntgiveadamn | November 20, 2012 at 10:23 PM |
    “but I too prefer the decency of Freundel Stuarts’ Government smh”

Do you now! Well why not advise Mr. Decency to strike while the iron is hot and call elections tomorrow?

What are your criteria or yardstick for being “decent”?
    Is it getting up in the same Parliament and swearing undying support and admiration for a crook, fraud and a pal of suspect habits?

Is it, having sworn to the Crown, keeping in a puppet cabinet not only men ready to stab you in the back but ministerial servants of the Crown alleged to be involved in money laundering, kickbacks corruption and peddling movies of bestiality and shocking porn all behind the guise of offshore IBC business orgasm.com?

I hold no brief for MP Duguid and strenuously oppose his lack of decency and decorum.

For some sort of defence, one can only add that he has been badly influenced by our superstar and cultural ambassador Rhianna who sees nothing wrong in using the “C**t” word. She could even make it a selling point and tag line in marketing tourism since she claims that word to be part of the Bajan everyday vernacular and is used at all levels of society to bring home the point of an argument instead of the brandishing of a gun especially in a poor-rakey talk shop full of drunkards.

16. I did not hear the remarks but from what I heard, I am of the view that the only course of action opened to Duguid would be an apology to all the people of Barbados, followed by his resignation from Parliament. Nothing justifies that type of behaviour anywhere and especially not in the House of Assembly.

William, my friend, do the decent thing and resign. That is the best thing that you can do right now for your country and party.

17. This visiting MP can belief he can curse people as he likes maybe because his attempt to do another term as visiting MP from Winnipeg as his rational for trying to hold the seat as a visiting MP is that he and the woman whom at one stage he supported to replace him have grown apart over a money issue that he has said the she has defrauded him of money from his office and more recently to Herbie Yearwood he has described her as lazy, useless and dishonest.

I do not know the lady but if a long standing member tells me she lazy and she carried away some of his vast wealth he must know the person but he today stole decency and good manners from Parliament.

18. Nuterednaki you are as dumb as the day is long, one of the party the you worship calls fellow MP to tell him To Carry Your Mother’s C__t and you attempt to defend him for his depraved actions.
    You to are acting in the same play with Duguid and holding hands in doing so.

Don’t even try it with us we have used the FREE Education granted to us by the DLP and have a functional brain at work we don’t need you to explain the actions of Duguid he has done all that we need to see hear or know, to know to stay far as hell away from him and if you have a mother let her stay even further,

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Fractured BLP | November 20, 2012 at 10:48 PM |

Your man Molasses should take advantage of the 2 openings (heated controversial privatization debate and Duguid’s un-parliamentary and disrespectful language and call elections immediately (this week).

If he allows the DLP favoured iron to cool and like true thick molasses drag the election date into the new year he will lose hold of the momentum and traction. Bajans have short memories and almost all of them did not listen to the live debate.
    Since the distasteful remark has been struck from the parliamentary records it cannot be repeated in the media or on any political platform since it would be deemed in contempt of Parliament or Court.

While he is at it he can up his “decency and integrity” stakes and in lieu of passing the promised Integrity legislation he can make a sacrificial lamb and deliver Leroy Parris to alter of Truth to be slaughtered as a sacrifice to the god of retribution.

He can be a real PM in true Westminster style by distancing himself from corruption and fraud. Follow the British PM Cameron who dumped his former pals-Andy Coulson
    Rebekah Brooks- and handed them up to the demands of Justice.
    Mr. Pseudo Integrity should follow suit and allow the arrows of Justice to be fired at its known target Leroy hiding behind your cloak of protection and cover up.
    Give him up to the angel of justice and you, Mr. ‘Self Acclaim’ Integrity would be seen in a different light. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Mr. Parris is now more of a major electoral liability to you than an erstwhile large and generous financial backer.

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn | November 20, 2012 at 11:11 PM |
    “William, my friend, do the decent thing and resign. That is the best thing that you can do right now for your country and party.”

If he does that and it become immediate he will automatically trigger a by-election within 21 days (Caswell could confirm). This will force Freundel’s hand. Something I predicted could just happen before the constitutionally due date.
    Will Freundel have a by-election and then general elections in 2 or 3 months’ time? I don’t think so.
    What about his pension? I don’t think William would forgo that with just 3-4 months to go.
    What are the constitutional implications of such a political emergency, Caswell? Will we soon see such another emergency at play?

21. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

This incident is a clear indication that the leader of the BLP has lost control of his party . He himself has never set the kind of example which would keep people like Duguid in check . In this regard he is not providing the kind of influence over the rank and file of his membership . Another outrageous incident surfaced last week when Kerrie Symmonds was allowed to falsely represent the Williams document and led Barbados to believe that the Government was throwing away the tax payers’ money on three molasses tanks. He has not yet apologised for that act of falsehood and for whic he received the edge of Dr Estwick’s sharp tongue . Duguid’s outburst is also an indication of the extent of the state of desperation that has set in among the BLP membership . This may be contrasted with the calm sense of assurance that Prime Minister Stuart has brought to the ranks of the DLP. Barbados is particularly fortunate to have him around at this time to bring a degree of confidence and sobriety to the country.

22. The BLP imploding.

23. Miller

If Duguid resigns the PM would have a minimum of 21 days and a maximum of 90 days to call a by-election.

His resignation would not mean that he would lose his pension: an MP qualifies for a pension after he had served 8 years.

The real emergency would occur if the PM does not advise the Governor-General to dissolve Parliament by February 12, 2013. After that date, Parliament would automatically dissolve unless Barbados is at war. The election and the resumption would have to be completed by the end of the second week of March so that the Estimates could be passed by March 31, 2013. Failing that on April 1, 2013, Government would not have any money to pay any bills, not even pay wages and salaries.

This is unchartered territory and the GG might have to declare a state of emergency and rule by decree.

24. Miller yuh nutmeg,

The Owen Arthur led opposition is imploding. Driven by greed , lies and corruption Dr. Duguid faux pas is just a tactic to draw attention to the fact that Owen Arthur is cornered…..and will be exposed publicly in the month of January again !
    Take it from me….he will be cruelly exposed by these “P” words……PAC – PEGASUS – PEOPLE.
    The last one will be tested in the coming days….as the PEOPLE of Barbados await his reaction to the DUGUID…..CURSE.

Barbados deserves BETTER.
    Only the DEMS…will do.

25. After reading all the above comments, it is ironic that no one mentioned what Minister Donville Inniss said when he responded to Mr. Duguid comment. His reply was also *distasteful. It was very poor on both sides. Having said that it is important to know what lead up to the war of words. In my view there was to much “heated” cross talk and i thought the speaker should have taken control of the house long before this occur. This was POOR leadership on the part of the speaker of the house.

Mr. Duguid behavior was unacceptable and he needs to apologise to the members of the house and the country. But keep in mind that we are still awaiting disciplinary action to be taken on other member for similar behavior including the brandishing of a fire arm.

26. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

Mr. Franklyn,

I notice that for a bi-election the minimum notice is 3 weeks and maximum 90 days, yet for a General Election various websites (Vote Barbados) indicate that the minimum is 3 weeks and maximum 6 weeks.
    Is there a rationale behind this?

27. To clarify. the House was in Committee which means the Chairman was in the Chair.

28. “Dr.” Duguid needs to apologise to the ppl of Barbados.

Who is going to repay those contributing to the many ads the BLP is putting out there? Will it be the taxpayers if that party is elected, and how will they be repaid?

29. Why was Duguid not tossed out of the House yesterday? Is it because of some old rule which says if the comment was not addressed to the Chair it shouldn’t be recognized/heard by the Chair.

30. Watching Carefully and Listening. Avatar
    Watching Carefully and Listening.

Maybe the Chairman of Committees was too shocked to act . Or maybe he might have been dreaming that he was in the Oistins Fish Market .

31. @Watching Carefully and Listening

Maybe so but there was an adjournment after the incident and there was time for a cooling off to have occurred. All in all a dark day in our parliament and truly deserving of the title of poorakey. They all should be ashamed!

32. David the indecency of his actions were he a decent person he would have excused himself I agree that seemingly he is collecting money under false pretenses he should fast forward and do the honorable and right thing and resign and let someone who has been representing the people do it officially via the house of Assembly and do the work as the people want Mrs Verla Depieza to her to dom.

This guy Duguid Aka The Philsbury Dough Boy has humiliated the Honourable place the House of Parliament once too often and being no friend of Arthur if he Arthur had balls he would fire Duguid for bringing the house into disrepute and disorder, but we all know that Arthur has no Balls it is Mottley who has the Balls and she wears them well.

33. What Duguid did was wrong..dead wrong and disgusting. However if we call out one we must call out all. Why is no one speaking of the constant and distasteful attacks on Mia Mottley at every sitting of parliament whether through cross talk or through the microphone itself? I have heard equivalent nastiness from the mouths of DLP MPs as well on a regular basis and this shows that Freundel doesn’t have control over them either. Why have we elected such a classless bunch ( on both sides ) into our Parliament?

34. Apologize … ? Wah foolishness I hearing … Mediocrity can find need fah polish. And since when does a collection of wind bags represent the “Highest Court in the land” …? This West Minister process is a shite system

35. In 2008 when there were those fetes held by the DLP with money being given away wrapped up in t- shirts ( i was a recipient) no one was complaining. But as the BLP puts out ads it’s a travesty. If this is nor hypocrisy I do not know what is.

36. @Rational Son

The parliament has not earned the reputation because of the action of one or two MPs. Imagine if students were in the Gallery yesterday.

By the pay why has government members been boycotting the sitting of the Committee of Privileges on the gun matter?

Why has the PAC been dormant?

What a joke!

37. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

When will seethru call a PAC meeting to deal with the Marina issue as he told the country he would do?

38. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

“But as the BLP puts out ads it’s a travesty”

Thats because non of the info they contain is truthful.

39. David as you know the PAC is called to meet by the leader of the opposition you would have to ask one of his lackys why he has not bothered himself to convene a meeting of the PAC.

40. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

“The Owen Arthur led opposition is imploding. Driven by greed , lies and corruption Dr. Duguid faux pas is just a tactic to draw attention to the fact that Owen Arthur is cornered…..and will be exposed publicly in the month of January again !”

The Barbados Labour Party is reaching the burn out stage. Expect more of this.
    We have them on the run.

41. But Carson, Duguid isn’t running for reelection so what non- point are you making? I see this as Duguid being frustrated that he can’t get reelected but nothing more and nothing less. You seem to be grasping at straws and you are in denial that your party is a failed administration.

42. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party members are desperate to get their grubby hands back on our Treasury.

Offshore bank accounts need replenishing.

43. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

Nikita

We have the Barbados Labour Party on the run. Mitt Romney also painted a picture of failure of the Obama administration however only Mitt Romney and the Republican Party believed that.

The people knew different!

The Republican Party of Barbados(BLP) will find out the samre thing when the time is right.

44. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar

Five more years on the opposition benches for the Republican Party of Barbados(BLP).

45. There is also a question to be asked re these very advertisements, why is it necessary that Red Advertising deems it necessary to have a team of Trindadian Advertising personal based in at Red Advertising to be associated with the BLP advertisements?

It also begs the question of the public domain you feel comfortable placing your advertising work with Red Advertising with their full on political involvement?

The crass and vile style of Jutugir to have spearheaded the ad campaign that depicted Ms Mara Thompson in a Throne and his sick attempt on Facebook with a Page call Fire Freundel that even hard core BLP supporters resented and found vile and nasty was also the work of the Red Indian from Trinidad from Fed Advertising.

If I were looking for an advertising company to work for my Bajan company it could not be a Trindadian in Red who had come to our island and so disrespected our people and our workers by outsourcing all the work to Trindadian for work that can easily be done here.

Also bear in mind that the same Jutugir bogged on these sites under the name DAVID AND LEROY with some of the most sickening and revolting post seen at the time.

We do not need of wages for work that can be done by Bajans being done and paid to Trinidadianss who have been brought here by the BLP and Jutugir of Red Advertising.

Barbadians and Barbadian business owners wake up and do not put your hard earned money in the hands of the indecent uncouth and vile person with his high advertising fees in Jevan Jutugir and Red Advertising the agent of the BLP and one without decency or morals or one that has any concept of what is decent and reasonable conduct versus lewd and uncalled for PR and advertising this guy is just unfit for your business as a Barbadian or a Barbadian business.

46. William Duguid should be made to publicly apologize for his action on the floor of Parliament at the next sitting. His behaviour was reprehensible. It is not surprising that it came from him. If one follows his contributions in the house it is clear that he does not take it seriously. He has definitely gone to far. He knows that the debates are carried live on the radio and online. He has disgraced the house and brought shame to the people of Barbados.

47. Let those who criticise children who act based on the examples they see reflect. Duguid was distasteful, but no different to the poor standards and values that are displayed by many in high position.

The BLP is allowing the debate and message to move from the issues. First privitisation, now this. At this rate we could as well just have a beer drinking competition, a beauty pageant and an arm wrestling contest or two to decide who to vote for.

Just observing

btw, does anyone have a copy of the commissioner’s report that was laid yesterday?

48. I still can’ wrap my head around somebody apologizing for something that they meant …! Care ’bout he public, particularly a public that finds time to listen to these Jack Asses parade ..? None ah dem shoulda been in dah place in the first place. People get wah people deserve …!

49. This guy Duguid Aka The Philsbury Dough Boy= mwhaaaaaaaaaaa

50. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Rational Son | November 21, 2012 at 6:43 AM |
    “…. if he Arthur had balls he would fire Duguid for bringing the house into disrepute and disorder”.

Fire from what, idiot? If you were really a rationally thinking person you would have known that Duguid holds so constitutionally established post in Parliament.
    Fire from Parliament? He was elected by the people of Ch Ch West not Owen Arthur.
    A sitting member can be removed from Parliament only under the provisions and conditions set out at section 45?? of the Constitution.

If you want to see someone fire from Parliament why not ask the leader of the party on the other side that you represent to get rid of Denis the low(e)down where is my cut man from the East of Ch Ch or let the FBI deal with lashes the north philipian dirty launderer. He can then move to the upper house and get rid of Darcy the marina scam man.

Why don’t you live up to your moniker for once and check out the back page of the BarbadosToday e-newspaper and see why idiots like you must not get between or foolishly put your neck on the block for politicians. Your intellectual rations are running very low.
    A picture is worth a billions words in politics, my friend!