Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Former Prime Minister Owen Arthur
Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur says the Bees are ready.

Time we face up to facts. Too often now, plasters are to quick to be offered for every sore. Like Mathew Farley the said megalomaniac. Though some can see the truth behind the unfortunate situation, they would rather cower to a defensive stance and represent like a pit bull, giving all to their cause.  Oh how we love not to face up to the truth and call a spade a spade. It has become contagious now. It is as if by some strange complexion, we would rather be blinded, than to take the path to truth.

So what is so wrong with looking at a shovel and saying its another word for a spade? Why must we take the round about route with mundane discourse? For those who are accustomed playing dominoes, if the board calls for sixes and duces, fours or threes cannot play. It just won’t be right. If by accident, a mismatch, the result will be chaos when coming to near end of the game.  A six is a six and a duce a duce. There can be no substitute.

Why then in life’s situations we are tempted to play the  wrong cards? A three for a four…..a blank for an ess? Why do we attempt to do such hubris and sabotage or cause problems to life’s domino game? Why can’t we be honest with ourselves sometimes when we know of the obvious error? Why continue to throw good time and money after bad? Like The Four Seasons. $400 millions now sunk and irrelevant past cost to any future decision making.  Sometimes we know different but blinded by the folly of our error, continue to hold tether, hoping for change.

No one in their right minds would disagree, given the state of affairs in Barbados today, we are headed on the wrong path. Excuses don’t cut it, nor believing, given another term, some miraculous change. Simply we drew a bad hand this game. A spade must be called a spade. Finding all kinds of faults in a polls for instance, that has been proven correct 100% time with 90% accuracy, is just another plaster. Because it  does not suit one’s betterment, must we find fault rather than face the truth? Minister Donville Innis deserves full kudos here, being man enough to accept the results of the polls and seeing how best to manoeuvre, however bitter the pill. For other professionals and politicos to  speak of skew and bias is playing a six for a five, and complicates the game. Rather than face up to the present situation, they would rather lament later.

Time we learn life is like a domino game, sometimes we draw a good hand, other times a loser. We must learn to play the hand we draw (this game )and hope for a better one. So when asked next time to ‘wash the rice’ and reshuffle, make sure we sit up and draw, reaching prudently, pulling those ivories, hoping not to find one’s self with bare blanks again, when the board demands for aces. Remember blind men don’t play dominoes, this coming elections, we got to try and pull a proper hand or face the consequences.

143 responses to “Blind Men Don't Play Dominoes”

1. Old Onion Bags wrote “Like The Four Seasons. $400 millions now sunk”

Who sunk $400 million in Four Seasons? Tell us what was spent on hard assets. Surely the Four Seasons site has value in its current state.

Please explain.

2. We know the political temperature is rising by the number of law suits being filed. The latest by the BLP side is suppose to be filed this week, Arthur suing Sinckler and the CBC for saying he will send home 10,000 public servants.

3. Four Seasons is another of those projects which will be used to play political football. The issue for many is the lack of transparency in the use of NIS funds to mobilize the project and not the project it self. It is the silly season.

4. so the Mia was right in saying that not even the elections Stuart can call cause the election call itself. how said.

5. @Old Onion Bags,
    If the BLP win the next election in a year or so the new prosperity you and the magical MiaOwen can restart Four Seasons and collect the usual veal on the persaud perhaps with the bannister bolted on.

David you were right. I should be careful what I wish for.lol Onions is back!

6. David

Owen has no choice, he must either sue Sinckler or forever be condemn as a liar and a despicable person who cannot be trusted.

The DEMS decided, as part of their campaign strategy, to scare Barbadians into voting for them. One of the scare tactics was to allege that the BLP was planning to send home 10,000 civil servants if they were returned to office. The other intelligent spokesmen for the DEMS made the allegation without coming close to identifying any of the conspirators. However, up comes clown prince, leader of the Eager 11 and named names and even a location where the meeting took place. By so doing he left Arthur with no choice other than defend what is left of his good name. If there is no suit, the country would have no other option than to believe Sinckler and that would mean certain electoral defeat for the BLP.

7. By the way, you should recall that Carson and AC were hammering home the allegation about the 10,000 on this blog. I would like to hear them on this revelation.

8. Excuse me caswell ! but point me to any such statement where i said such in your above comment! you are a bearer of false truth and misinformation. i await your response as well as my legal counsel.

9. Why would GOB funded construction projects have a confidentiality agreement attached to them? Is this a national security reason or is it the hiding of the real project cost and awarding of contracts?
    Shouldn’t taxpayers have the right to know how their “blood and sweat” money is being spend by the government of the day?

10. @Caswell

Donville should take not because he repeated the charge at the QC meeting last week and challenge the BLP to sue him.

11. AC

I was almost certain that you were one of those who were parroting the claim that the BLP would send home civil servants in order to balance the budget. However, if I accuse you wrongly, I humbly apologise.

I did not associate Donville with being that dumb, but if BFP is right about him: he can afford to pay for his mouth.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onions

I see the Barbados Labour Party has ditched Billie Miller to lead them into elections and has choosen you.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If you beleive that thousands of civil servants are not going home, then I have some swamp land to sell you as prime beach front property!!!

What is in dispute here is the number, not the fact that civil servants will be sent home.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

While we are at it dont forget that there will be deep and painful cuts to the Education and health budgets.

Bajans will be called upon to pay for their childrens education and user fees wiil be introduced at the Queen Elizebeth hospital for all services renderd there and at the polyclinics.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 7:44 AM |

You must stop leaking your party’s instructions given by the IMF to “restructure” the economy. It’s a bit premature to disclose these mandated ‘secrets’ before the elections.
    Want to wager a bet that elections will be called in a few “weeks”?

If you win (not the elections but that the date for its calling goes past January 2013) we will let you keep the laptop you, should we say, forcibly requested from the Constituency Council.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

What has the other side fearful is the fact that this news got out too early.

It will help to keep them on the opposition benches for a further five years and they are petrified,

They wont be able to get their grubby fingers back on our treasury.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I should have added “anytime soon”!!!

18. David

Why is all the pressure being placed on the DLP and not one journalist is willing to ask Owen Arthur how was it possible for the DLP to develop the Scotland District in the four years under such economic hardship and he had FOURTEEN YEARS and only could waste millions of dollars in a dump? All of the orchard crops were allow allowed to run to ruin in the last eight years of the BLP government

The roads in the Scotland district deteriorated under the BLP fourteen year government. This man is getting a free pass.

The lead news item in the 7.30 VOB news would be a good clip to use at election time to show that this man feels that Barbadians really have short memories

Onions I must confess, I just comment but never read your articles which are predictable.

19. David I promise to write another article on this political party thing but I gun let this Onions guy blow himself out first.

Clone
    “Onions I must confess, I just comment but never read your articles which are predictable.”
    My sentiments exactly …!

20. @Caswell
    I do not agree with you. Arthur did not have to sue Sinckler to keep his good name. The charge that Owen et al wanted to send home over 10 000 should have to be proven by the person making the charge or else anyone can make a claim about you and then you would have to prove your innocence when it has to be other way around. As a trade unionist you should explain that the unions would kick hell about this statement if it could be true, There about 30 000 or so civil servants and any attempt to send home 1/3 of the civil service would be counter productive, so I would expext that you would have put Sinckler right. It is the propostrousness of the claim and the obviously untruthfulness of the claim. that i thought you would pay attention to. I expect you the help an unknowing public, Think on these things

21. @BAFBFP

Noted.

@Clone

It is early days yet but the MO of media houses is known. This Scotland district agenda is something which Mascoll has pushed when he was on the other side. He also put out there the possibility of using technology to build in water zones.

22. Clone
    “Onions I must confess, I just comment but never read your articles which are predictable.”
    My sentiments exactly …!

……flattery will get you both nowhere….you all just can’t help….who nah tink nah fooling…a duppy and a couple six?….pull a fresh hand do…LOL

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 22, 2012 at 8:47 AM |
    “He also put out there the possibility of using technology to build in water zones.”

Fish farming is one of the economic development activities on the cards for the Scotland District and parts of St. Lucy. It would be interesting to find out how much foreign money we spend to import fish like tilapia from China and other places.

24. That is owen clandestine approach of trying to intimidate the opposition from speakling the truth. why wouldn,t he try the same with Stuart who catspraddled his behind at Queens College when he refered to the conversation between himself and OWEN a liitle tin horn dictator in the making that is the RT HON now got the mitigated gall to use the justice system to silence the opposition. but that not going to happen.He just wasting his time

25. @ ac (excuse me you on a onions thread ?…wow) you could play dominoes like baffy doa?….Awite I have a pass for you…check this..

I would like to know who come up with this WISE ‘ask’ IDEA of licensing DOGS again……How much money will this collect annually anyway? $ 50,000, $75,000…..boy I don’t know…is this prudent in an elections year? Some just not reading the board and just swiping…

26. in the 14 years of his administration he let transpor and water and BNOC ran into the ground and now takling about how he going to fix the scotland district the man talking bu…lll shit cause when he had the finances to do so he built a monstrasity called a prison instead which the taxpayers paying for not counting interest he needs to tell the people where he is going to get the financial where withal from.

27. @Miller

Don’t we current buy Tilapia imported from China? Why do we need to grow a fish farm? Amazing!

28. @ac

when he had the finances to do so he built a monstrasity called a prison instead which the taxpayers paying for not counting interest he needs to tell the people where he is going to get the financial where withal from.
    For your information ac, the $700 mill spent on Dodds is like GOLD DUST now, in comparison to Four Seasons boondoggle.. $400 Mill sunk down Paradise… of rusting rebarrs and concrete holding up vines and bush. Where are your comparable assets ac? At least our $ 700 Mill keeping outlaws off the streets…..so in future hold your tongue , as you are the one spewing BS…Ha Ha…facts

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Campaign Manager

You can tell all and sundry on your side no one on our side is afraid of them.

Using the law to try to defeat the Law will not work anytime soon. Your Barbados Labour Party is scheduled for round two of the opposition benches.

No amount of political semantics will prevent that.

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Campaign Manager

Since you all are now saying the figure is not 10,000 civil servants that you will be sending home , just between me and you, I wont tell anyone else, what is the real number, is it 10,500 or 11,000 civil servants you all will be sending home?

I will keep it a secret too, ok?

31. @ Hants
    Structurally given another 2 yrs……all that rusting rebarr and concrete at Four Seasons will have to be pushed down…as the salt water has compromised the structures’ integrity…..$400 Mill turned to rubble fill going for $300 a truck load……SUNK…..fa real boss…in more ways than one…..going to the St. Lucy marina as land fill…..

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

“Want to wager a bet that elections will be called in a few “weeks”?”

One should live and learn, but that does not apply to you.
    The same foolishness over and over.

I believe that you are related to the blog owner, he has 29 Nov. 2012.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mr. Campaign Manager

why are you not answering me?

34. why put so much money in 4 seasons, when 95% of it is own by 2 multi millionairs.

35. Isn’t it the ultimate switch for the DLP to be talking about some Opposition plan to send home civil servants when the government has an agreement with the IADB to “reduce personal emoluments” in a country where civil servant salaries cannot be cut?

How are these personal emoluments going to be reduced other than by sending home civil servants?

36. The actual terminology used in paragraph 3.6 of the IADB project document: Fiscal Consolidation Programme – Project Number BA-L1026 is ” rationalising the cost of personal emoluments.”

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

………but, but wunna pretending that wunna in sending home nuh body.

38. @ Carson

Didn’t Donville Inniss not say that the only thing that stands between the civil servants losing their jobs is the DLP? I know he said something very similar at QC last week.

It is this disingenuousness on the part of the DLP and its supporters that I find so appalling.

You cannot have an agreement to send home civil servants, then accuse the Opposition of planning to do what you know is already on the cards, and then say openly that you don’t plan to do what you have already agreed to and ask the civil servants to trust you as their protectors from the bad opposition.

This is Barbados, man! And we all have to be seeking after its best interests. We are not (or should not be) political savages.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Pending law suit and all sort of rubbish. Trying to pull the wool over Bajans eyes.

You know what this reminds me of, the Bridgetown sewage Project when it was going to be constructed.

The BLP went up and down telling the people of the city, “dont move, dont move, they cant make you all move”. That location is wrong location for the plant.

When the Barbados Labour Party came to power what was the outcome, THEY MOVED EVERYONE with a few exceptions, and these were relocated recently to Barbarees Hill.

The Barbados Labour Party is just full of hot air.

40. @ Carson

I apologise if my tone was a bit rough, but let us have a debate about what is best for the county.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

No matter how you try to sugar coat it.

The plan is, if the civil servants are stupid enough to vote for the BLP, to send home thousands upon thousands of civil servants.

A vote for the Barbados Labour Party is a vote for loosing your job if you are a civil servant.

If you are a Nurse, a Public Health Inspector, a teacher, A Custom officer it makes no difference!

Tru de eddoes.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DavidB

Dont worry about tone, I can dish it out and I can take.

We are still buddies.

43. BUT CARSON WE DONT KNOW THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN

WHAT WE DO KNOW IS THAT THE DLP TOOK 8% OUT OF CIVIL SERVANTS PAY IN THE EARLY 90’S WHICH THE BLP EVENTUALLY PAID BACK

SHOULDNT WE BE FAIR AND BALANCED

I HAVE NO HORSE IN THE RACE

44. @ Carson,

I think that discourse should remain civil so for me it is not a matter of dishing it out and taking it.

Just seems to me, that however you sugar coat it, thousands of civil servants have to go home under the DLP or the BLP. Your guys have agreed to it with the IADB, so why the scare tactics?

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 22, 2012 at 2:50 PM |

Why are you attacking the BLP so viciously regarding the sending home of public sector workers? That number bandied about by Inniss and Sinckliar was picked up from this blog.
    It was the miller who has been pushing the shedding of workers from the public sector payroll and the ensuing privatization. Ask David of BU if you doubt that.

But the miller can be wrong with the exact number as he was wrong in advising your stupefied leader to call elections before May gone of this year. You see what 6 months can do in making a difference to success or failure? The longer the PM delays in calling elections before the Constitutionally due date the higher will be the number of public sector workers on the termination list.

Timing, CCC, is the key. Let Mr. Molasses explain the bind he is in with the IADB, IMF and credit rating agencies. Imagine having to sign away the country’s sovereignty for a meagre US$ 33 million?

How many public sector workers (aka transfers to statutory bodies and pay out of the supernumeraries from CRA merger) do this BoP support loan represent?

46. @DavidB “You cannot have an agreement to send home civil servants, then accuse the Opposition of planning to do what you know is already on the cards, and then say openly that you don’t plan to do what you have already agreed to and ask the civil servants to trust you as their protectors from the bad opposition”.

DavidB,

CCC and the Dems are so dumb and so full of their own bullshit that they forgot that whatever they have committed to with the IMF, would be made public. So to detract from the information, they decided in true DLP Alinsky styled politics to blame the opposition.

Sinckliar has committed to reducing the bloated wages bill that is why they are now in a rush to call the election because the date for this reduction is on hand. Is this the reason that we have not yet had the Central Bank quarterly report? Where is the Governor, is he in Washington with Sinckliar as we know Sinckliar would be out of his depths at this World Bank/IMF meetings.

You just have to step back and study the nasty way the DLP hacks play their politics, they learnt well from the dead king.

Can you imagine Fumble Stuart, a man who hated DT and whom DT hated, could say with a straight face that DT had values which he spreaded across Barbados and that these values will eventually help Barbados out of its economic woes?

What values what??? From Mr “I will not steal, lie or cheat”? After the revelations from the Judicial Managers that the dead king laundered money from CLICO and then from Wikileaks that he took 34 million as campaign money? Are these the values to take Barbados forward? Give me a break!!

CCC, the only public officers I want to lose their work are the yardfowls like you who do not work but are ripping off the taxpayers. Those constituency councils are a cesspool for DLP corruption and will be disbanded. So there you go CCC, your job is gone. Your feast at the fatted calf is gone!

47. @ Carson
    You are too funny. Tell us how the DLP will “rationalize public expenditures” and contain “transfers by rationalising the cost of personal emoluments” as promised to the IADB to get the USD$150 million loan.

48. so Prodigal Son, that is what the cabinet meeting this morning was about?

49. Miller
    I did not notice when you started calling someone Mr.Molasses. Are you referring to Mr.Stuart?. Are you saying he is too black? If it is being use as a derogatory term then I am offended because he is the Prime Minister of a predominantly black country. I know that you worships people of a lighter colour but unfortunately that is our history of House slave mentality .

50. @Prodigal Son

Note the Governor is in Barbados.