Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

“I am afraid we have awakened a sleeping giant” is a famous quote attributed to Japanese Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto, one of the most famous Japanese naval admirals, after the attack on Pearl Harbor. The quote was used in, and shortened for, the movie ” Pearl Harbor,” which depicted the attack through a personal storyline. The actual quote was said to be “I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.”
“Mother of All Battles”-US Gulf War, “Mountains shall labor and give birth to a mouse“- Horace. Behold the Sleeping Giant Awakens…. from his weekend gad, an ensuing battle line. Prime Minister Stuart throws down the ’other’ gauntlet, informing the Opposition and the rest of Barbados, of his readiness to resume business and or obliterate with fury and furore.”

Wait a minute, tarry a while…having done some research, one should ponder this latest marauding. The actual quote was said to be : – “I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.” Could this be what PM Stuart really meant? That the DLP is now about to further provoke the Opposition, (and any and all ) with this his latest military infusion. Here lies the problem, as all should be quick to admit. As with the teachers and principal of Alexandra School, it is most difficult to interpret the PM’s mauve epigrams. “I have gone passed that stage a long time ago…you all need to play catch up. Sounds familiar? Not the easiest to play catch up with.

“Awaken the Sleeping Giant“…hmm. Let’s not give up yet. As we make another fervor attempt to crack Stuart‘s wit. Giant – associated with tall. Sleeping – in a state of unconsciousness, temporally unaware of one’s surroundings. Awaken – rise to the occasion with a renew vigor and life. One regular patron to the call in program suggests, that Stuart has now finally awaken from a four year slumber on hearing the bugling election’s call. That would be too much to fathom. No amount of  fanfare or fandango could be that evasive.

Could Stuart be really ready now, to deal with matters in hand? Alexandra teachers in all earnest, CLICO pensioners that were promised, Barrack that begging, Integrity Legislation now flamming, Bagatelle Dump  gibberish, Deloitte Report vanish? Which ever way we choose to cut it, Stuart has signaled an intentional readiness….and this as all would attest, is looked forward to with  greatest earnest. Elections too of course….if to be included.

127 responses to “The Sleeping Giant Awakens”

1. Drink the Kool-Aid

I just noticed your comment at 9:44.

The DLP can win the next election with Freundel at the helm but he has to show the country that he is his own man. Right now the country, despite his new found bluster, perceives him as weak. It appears as though he is being led from behind and is afraid to discipline his troops. His heads will roll speech leaves him looking like a wimp: he needs to fire rather than defend Lowe and Sinckler, and put a muzzle on Kellman. Those few steps would give the electorate a reason to vote for him. I believe that the country is just looking for an excuse to vote for the DLP since they don’t really want Arthur but Stuart is not inspiring confidence. And you know what they say, before none any.

2. the DLP would continue with the same defiance and determination seen on sunday night not bowing to nobody wishes or agenda set out in the media. the dlp would continue to go out in the highways and byways educating the public and listening to their concern because at the end of the day it is the election polls that counts.Peter wickham has a major credibility issue coming from the wikileaks as an informant for the USA govt.

3. Enquiring minds Avatar

Jerome oops miller the PM said Owen Arthur cornered him notifying him he Arthur would not be attending the foolish disrespectful Talkback meeting. Yet still Mia with an uncomfortable smirk on her face was at the head table pompasetting. Jerome opps miller you certain Owen and Mia gree back since the severe cursing laced with insults Arthur pelt in Mia backside at UWee?
    If Arthur think the Nation talkshop was a trap and nonsense why his reunited political sweetheart Mia was there? Something smells stink.
    Methinks Owen and Mia are not on the same page they still hate each other and the obzocky posing grinning they doing together is window dressing to fool the public.
    You sure Mia and Owen not lying to us jerome oops miller?

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 7:40 PM |

For once I want to offer some comfort to you, ac.
    The DLP deserves to win back the government.
    When one sees what’s ahead and the decisions that must be made one would not wish that on one’s worst enemy. And ac is the miller’s friend.

People like you ac used to laugh at Guyanese and Jamaican. But Bim time is here and the Mighty ChalkDust “Seawater and Sand is more relevant now than ever. The day the tourists stop coming to Bim crapaud smoke your pipe, Mr. Stuart.

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Enquiring minds | October 16, 2012 at 8:00 PM |

Why don’t you ask the author of the reported meeting Jerome poops Freundel?

Or don’ t you know that Freundel’s middle name is Jerome poops Jennifer for Cammie?

Now let us discuss the IADB loan application and its implications for Bajans. Or is this too high poops above your intellect poops enquiring mind to discuss?

6. miller we will not allow you to set the agenda we (DLPITES) would set the agenda for ourselves. .high poops lowpoops,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

7. miller since 2008 you and all the blp talking heads had barbados falling off the cliff OSA had put barbados on. all like now stil talking the same crap and barbados still standing, now it is the Loan ! everday something new the BLP conjure up but we already got plans fuh wunna behind,

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 16, 2012 at 8:33 PM |

Now let’s see how much money the DLP has borrowed since coming to office.
    At last count (April 2011 ? or December 2011 ? not sure, avid ac to verify) it was
    $ 2 billion. With this $ 66 million and those borrowings from April or December 2011 it must be close to $3 billion by now in less than 5 years

If I lie, ac, put me right before I die. Tell us the $66 million is to pay back OSA debt.

9. @miller it is a shame we have to borrow after having so much and wasting it all in fourteeen years and then have to be left with a pauper mite of 2billion which couldn’t pay off the astronomical interest on the dodds prison and the interest and the monies owed to barrack, if only barbados had good leadership back then we wouldn’t be in this quadmire at all .

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“When one sees what’s ahead and the decisions that must be made

Still wunna hyprocrites fighting tooth and nail to win back power.

Power hungry pack of Gangsters.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)

“Notice you are avoiding the miller’s questions ”

Poor you, you dont know if you are fish or fowl.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“Now let’s see how much money the DLP has borrowed since coming to office.”

If your Barbados Labour Party had not stolen and wasted so much of the taxpayers money there would be no need to borrow anything.

13. ac miller another one of mycomments on Privatisation

@ miller ………..aren.t you an advocate of PRIVITISING every thing under the sun in barbados then how can you be complaining about the fees they charge it is call free enterprise design in a capalist market to make the rich richer and the poor poorer.that is Privitising at work the bottom line is always the dollar

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 17, 2012 at 1:28 AM |
    “millertheanunnaki(neitherBnorD)
    “Notice you are avoiding the miller’s questions ”
    Poor you, you dont know if you are fish or fowl.”

I know who I am. A dog like you. You know the type of dog I mean with a pedigree called Ca-DOG-An. The one that called Mia a “bitch” similar to the one that sleeps in your bed.

We are still awaiting the answers. Is Chris a liar or what for promising to pay Al Barrack and resolve the CLICO issue?

Why is this DLP administration borrowing again $66 million with nothing to show by way of capital assets other than a school and the ABC road expansion for the in excess of
    $ 2 billion borrowed since 2009? Forgot to include in the $2 billion the many dog kennels and big breed dog food eaten given to the DLP appointed lap dogs and sardine tin retrievers in the Constituency Councils with a pit bull called Carson the chief watchdog barking and biting and all.

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 17, 2012 at 5:46 AM |

Ac, do yourself an intellectual favour and read the editorial titled “Covering the Sore” in the BarbadosToday of October 16.

You will find an excellent case being presented why privatization of many government own and controlled commercial entities and functions is absolutely necessary to save the country from economic self destruction, fiscal implosion, break down in law and order in the management of the affairs of State especially in the realm of financial management and control probably leading to social unrest.

We just can’t carry on fooling ourselves that we can carry around such a bloated parasitic public sector around the taxpayers’ waist thereby compromising the health of the economy and body politic.

The miller may not be an opinion shaper in the realm of Peter W but it does look as if some opinion shapers in the media and political circles are singing from the miller’s hymn sheet on “Privatization cum Divestment” unlike your cuss book of lies and retraction.

16. Miller you blp operatives are all the same try to twist .tur. and sway opublic sentiment for your own seklfserving purposeswhat was previouly stated/by you and other BLP yardflows as SALE has been turned into DIVESTMENT a term used for partial sale of assest real or unreal such investing in the buying of stocks also where there is an area that is underperforming financially such can be divested still leaving most percentage wise tol ownership not the same concept which the BLP first had planned

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Heard Maureen Holder on CBC radio this morning call-in programme demanding a caller to come up with specifics for fixing the economy.

What should have been told to her is that the BLP will be copying the 2008 DLP manifesto and implementing them within 1 year along with the myriad budgetary proposals since 2009 to be implemented including the $4.00 p/m tax on cell phones and tax on lottery winnings.

It seems the DLP is in a state of suspended animation since she keeps demanding answers and solutions from the BLP. Now that giant that was sleeping for 3 years is now awaken she can ask him what he plans to do to get things going in this country before Jack cuts the beanstalk from under him.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The one that called Mia a “bitch” ”

I am a decent person, I dont use language like that.

I leave that type of language for GUTTERSNIPES like you.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

…….and if per chance I had to use the word, it would be use to define you.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Maureen Holder

She is stuck in the Barbados Labour Party”s craw!!!!!

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 17, 2012 at 11:02 AM |
    “The one that called Mia a “bitch” ”
    I am a decent person, I dont use language like that.
    I leave that type of language for GUTTERSNIPES like you.”

Carson the bitch lover view of Mia in March 2012:
    “ Carson C. Cadogan | March 12, 2012 at 3:52 PM |
    “I have a female dog at home that I treat better than Seethru treated Mia Amor Mottley.”

Millertheanunnaki response to the bitch lover view of Mia:
    “So CCC, we did not know you had a caring side to you. Good for you! We will nominate you for the Animal Welfare & Rights Award. You treat so well and love your bitch so much as to have her sleeping in the same bed as you when the night comes. Imagine a doggie without panties under the sheets! Seethru would get ravishingly jealous of your bitch called “Amor”.
    Hope you get the message as to how low your contribution has fallen by comparing MIA with your female dog! Those dogs who bark must also be able to bite!
    Now return to your kennel!”

So Ca-DOG-an, what is Mia now that she has made up even if not in bed with Seethru the way you sleep in bed with your female dog aka bitch? A daughter of a bitch?

22. The BLP has absolutely no ansers to the economic woes they had 14 years to restructure and they failed miserably.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 17, 2012 at 12:53 PM |
    “The BLP has absolutely no ansers to the economic woes they had 14 years to restructure and they failed miserably.”

The BLP has a turnkey solution, ac. Just adopt the DLP 2008 manifesto lock, stock and barrel (with a few airbrushing amendments like the Pierhead marina redesign, of course).

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

There is very little that you say that makes any sense.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 17, 2012 at 1:43 PM |

The Truth hurts, doesn’t it, CCC? Next time be very careful how you accuse people. Remember the BLP will be forming the next government if they so desire. An option I would not wish for. Let the DLP go down as the party that oversaw the socio-economic dislocation of Barbados under the dark shadow of a pending devaluation like 1991/92 over again.

26. CCC

Why dont you go and do some work to justify taking the taxpayers’ monies under false pretenses?

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You would not know the truth if it fell on you, that is why you are supporting the Barbados Labour Party.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

prodigal son

“taking the taxpayers’ monies under false pretenses?’

Your Seethru spent less than 20 hours in the last four years in parliament, yet he continues to receive a huge salary as whatever he is.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 17, 2012 at 2:04 PM |

The Truth, CCC, is that “I WILL NOT LIE, CHEAT OR STEAL”.
    Sounds familiar to you?
    Three liars in boat called the damned lying party (DLP) lost at sea with a crew of a Thompson, a CCC and a ? ??? (Sinckliar). Now which one would the Devil save?

The one that farts the loudest and asks the devil to write his name on it? Which one is that CCC? Will it be you to be saved?

30. ac | October 17, 2012 at 12:53 PM |
    The BLP has absolutely no ansers to the economic woes they had 14 years to restructure and they failed miserably
    FOOLISH FOOLISHNESS- TALK
    WHY DONT YOU TALK ABOUT SUCCESSES OF THE BLP OVER THE 14 YEARS
    YOU PEOPLE –ARE AMAZING
    THIS BLOGGING THING SEEM TO BE FUN !

31. Really, that Arthur the BLP group is thrilling and suspenseful. Film producer, Michael Bay should consider them for movie making. First, Kensington oval, the stadium was built on land that belongs to Violet Beckles not the Barbados government. That woman, Violet Beckles produced land deeds proving that property on which Kensington Oval was built rightfully belongs to her. Beckles had land deeds proving she was owner of at least 200 other properties that includes the famed Sandy Lane Hotel Resort in St. James. Beckles had in her possession the land deeds and a will. The will, incidentally was reviewed in 1990 by then Attorney General, Mia Mottley. Mottley in 1990 confirmed Beckles as beneficiary of the will. Clyde Denny, another victim of land theft willingly gave up his house and land to the Barbados Government for construction of the Eagle Hall Market. Denny was relocated to Passage View, Passage View Road in St. Michael by government but never compensated for the loss of his property. So, Bajans are not surprised that the property of which sits the home of BLP member Gline Clark rightfully belonged to a private owner but seized by government.

Wait! No wait! There’s more BLP theft, The BLP around August 2007 created a look-alike version of the Barbados Free Press site and used their logo. The BLP attempted to confuse the public and to draw traffic from the genuine Barbados Free Press posts. In doing this, they, the BLP entered into plagiarism and copyright theft. . . Mind blowing. That’s mind blowing but character of the BLP. The Barbados Labor Party prompted a website that involved arson, rape and murder of a political opponent of the government. Arthur refused to acknowledge a letter from the victim of death threats and the police would not investigate because some of the death threats were forwarded from a computer used by a BLP member. . . Mind blowing. That’s mind blowing but character of the BLP.

VECO is yet another BLP embarrassment. Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and Dale Marshall gave the VECO Corporation (Alaska) a government contract WITHOUT TENDER. VECO built the prison at Dodds in St. Philip and VECO had no record of building prisons. What was the OVER BUDGETED AMOUNT? Who is accountable for it, the over-budgeted figure amount? Seems to me Arthur and the BLP is responsible for a lot of mess-ups, want to publically advertise any and all errors linked to the DLP but hide and or over look their own, NOT WORKING.

The path of the DLP involving David Thompson is non-delightful. The path of the BLP (1994-2008) involving Owen Arthur and several BLP members is also non-delightful. They, all BLP members could and should sit at dinner table, pass it all around, their own non-tasting food.

Massive Land Theft

Contractor Al Barrack mega mess

VECO Corporation mess

Three (3) S&P down grades

Arch Cot, Britton Hill Deaths linked to Mia Mottley

Copyright theft involving the Barbados Free Press

75,000 Campaign Cheque

BLP involvement/Violence and Letters of Threat

The DLP house is not spotless. They know this. The BLP house is also not spotless. They know this. The BLP, though, barks at the DLP as though its house is clean or cleaner than the DLP; it’s not. Bajans could do better than Stuart but without Arthur. Let that dog lie dead, Owen Arthur.

32. You realise that you have just made out a case for a third party.

33. Caswell for PM!!!!!!
    Unity Labour Party!!!!!!

34. “The will, incidentally was reviewed in 1990 by then Attorney General, Mia Mottley.”

Next!

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Have you read LOOK’S comment?
    Very uncomfortable reading for you I am sure!!!

LOOK | October 17, 2012 at 6:07 PM |

Re read it and then continue to tell us that we ought to vote your Barbados Labour Party Scoundrels back into office.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I bet that the blog owner would never in a million years make LOOK;S comment into a thread as he has done to so many BLP favourable comments.

37. Carson
    You is a real sour fly…..like the one’s under granny golden apple tree….always looking into MESS…lol..goodbye

38. Has the DLP really started campaigning or not? I hear of a BLP political mass meeting in St.Philip, this weekend Sandra Husbands also got one in Haynesville, but nothing from the DLP as yet.

Sleeping Dragon, please don’t doze back off again.

39. Awakened sleeping giant my rxxx. Sleeping giant read de Clico report yet? And effin de giant sleeping did sleeping, he did doing so pun de job?

Last four plus years?

I tink we dealing wid xxxxxxxe idiots.

40. it is about five days and counting since the “sleeping Giant” gave a scathing report on the RT HON and not a peek or any response. ! good character is a requirement of a leader and the RT HON has so far not demonstrated his desire to distance himself from the accusation PM stuart level against him . SAD!

41. Hey All
    Has the Giant gone back to sleep? Why is that I wonder. Could it be that there is a plan to disolve Cabinet by December 11 and elections follow 3- 6 weeks thereafter in January. Giant then in snooze mode.

42. @ AC

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE
    IT IS BETTER TO SHUT YOUR MOUTH AND BE TAUGHT A FOOL- THAN TO OPEN IT AND REMOVE ALL DOUBT

ALSO
    A WISE OLD OWL SAT ON AN OAK
    THE MORE HE HEARD THE LESS HE SPOKE
    WHY DONT YOU TRY TO BE LIKE THAT WISE OLD OWL?

43. The minister of Tourism is trying to make us believe tourists are coming back to this country. However, news just in indicates that many of the hotels
    on theWest Coast ( PLATINUM COAST) have closed their doors, including the MIGHTY Sandy Lane. These are hotels, especially Sandy Lane that always opened year round and boast of 90% repeat visitors. Waht is Happening in this country?

44. @ bajan boy

I hope your news is not true. I know tourism down between 9% – 12% in the third quarter. That is why we can’t get the Central Bank Quarterly Report . . . just silence..

But the tourism sector can’t take anymore battering.

PM Stuart, just hurry up and call the election and let the other guys get a chance to try to fix it before it’s too late!!

45. The big danger we face is that since Almond has closed down, the airlift has shifted to St. Lucia. They will fight very hard to keep it.

Remember ARC Yacht Race and Jazz Festival, among others? We mess up and they clean it up – the business that is.

46. @ DavidB
    Sorry but once gone St.Lucia …. it’s lost forever more.. Let’s be real. Why do you think Butch Stuart by passed Almond …..wages and other ancillary cost too high….. for instance a receptionist there gets $300 EC per week …here $450 Bds….do the maths.$1 EC = 0.75 Bds

47. @ GEORGOE PORGIE

A WISE OWL ONCE SAID TO WHOM MUCH IS GIVEN MUCH IS TO BE EXPECTED
    QUESTION WHAT HAVE YOU GIVEN? OL FART! APART FROM CRTICISM AND HYPERBOLE! AND CONDENSATION OF OTHERS WITH WHOM YOU DISAGREE! LIKE MINDS THINK ALIKE AND ITS IS APPARANT THAT YOUR QUICK DEFENSE OF THOSE WHOSE MORAL CHARACTER IS QUESTIONED PUT YOURS IN SIMILIAR VAIN > NOT GET OFF YOUR PIOUS HIGH HORSE AND SAY OR DO SOMETHIMG OF REAL VALUE .AND NEXT TIME YOU ATTACKED ME BE CAREFUL CAUSE I WONT BE SO KIND> GOOD GRIEF!

48. Well even if the Central Bank decides not to release the 9 month report on on it normal release date ( Might be due to MoF being out of the island) BSS still release the Previous 6 month Unemployment number and Inflation report. Inflation now stand at 8.4% on a twelve month average and unemployment at 12.5%.

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/IRP_Bulletin_June_2012.pdf
    http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/LFS_Bulletin_2Q2012.pdf